Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 22, 2008
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1178 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
478
Mixed:
337
Negative:
363
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KarthikP.May 30, 2008
Fun, entertaining, and made With an abundance of what appears to be honest genuinely amusing, Indiana Jones And The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull is a worthy addition to one of the great movie franchises. Im happy that Steven Spielberg and Fun, entertaining, and made With an abundance of what appears to be honest genuinely amusing, Indiana Jones And The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull is a worthy addition to one of the great movie franchises. Im happy that Steven Spielberg and George Lucas set out to make one for the fans and delivered it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RhodyT.Oct 15, 2008
I can't be the only one who doesn't live in a dream world where aliens are less ridiculous than a box that melts faces, right?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillS.May 19, 2008
True to tradition. Just have expectation of CGI like in previews, and you will enjoy it more.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SimonC.May 22, 2008
If you liked the others you'll like this one. Even Shia Labouf (or whatever) did a surprisingly good job. My only gripe (if I must have one) is that try though they did it still looked like a current style movie with CG and what not, If you liked the others you'll like this one. Even Shia Labouf (or whatever) did a surprisingly good job. My only gripe (if I must have one) is that try though they did it still looked like a current style movie with CG and what not, but hey, no big deal. I hope they do another! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.May 23, 2008
Good clean fun, never dull, and good to see him back. The story is a bit bizarre, Blanchette could have been a little more sympathetic - but it's simple to follow. Better than Temple of Doom, which at least serves to elevate this new Good clean fun, never dull, and good to see him back. The story is a bit bizarre, Blanchette could have been a little more sympathetic - but it's simple to follow. Better than Temple of Doom, which at least serves to elevate this new offering. Rated 10 to increase the average to what this film deserves! (about 7-8). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EvanTMay 24, 2008
This movie stays defiantly true to the previous films. There was only one problem that I myself had with this film, but I still rated it a ten becuase it is just my tastes. With the expanded tech in recent years, most of the effects are This movie stays defiantly true to the previous films. There was only one problem that I myself had with this film, but I still rated it a ten becuase it is just my tastes. With the expanded tech in recent years, most of the effects are digital, which is a dissapointment, but my good sir do not fret, this is as genuine an Indy experience as you will get. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeQ.May 27, 2008
Very fun movie. Don't listen to all these fanboys complaining about aliens. This is no more far fetched than the other 3. I really enjoyed this movie and cant wait for the next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveLMay 31, 2008
Been a big fan of the Indy movies. Was a bit worried about this one, but it did not disappoint! Harrison Ford is a great as ever! He's still got that wit and charisma about him thats so suited to the character. Top performance by both Been a big fan of the Indy movies. Was a bit worried about this one, but it did not disappoint! Harrison Ford is a great as ever! He's still got that wit and charisma about him thats so suited to the character. Top performance by both Ford and LaBeouf. Plenty of action, fun and humor which is what makes the Indy films so great! A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardC.Jun 2, 2008
Lazy, lazy viewers. Can't even just sit back and enjoy something breathtaking, new, overwhelming and beautiful if it isn't in accordance with what your depressingly limited expectations laid out for you. What a tremendous hulking Lazy, lazy viewers. Can't even just sit back and enjoy something breathtaking, new, overwhelming and beautiful if it isn't in accordance with what your depressingly limited expectations laid out for you. What a tremendous hulking mess of a movie. Not fresh material? Storyline too much to handle? You poor limited souls. Go back and eat some more McDonalds. Haters are being virulent these days... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredK.Oct 25, 2008
This is an underated gem. I'm not surprised so many complain. Some won't give anything a chance. Still, it's great.
5 of 10 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.May 18, 2008
Indiana Jones 4 has been a 15 year wait. and its worth it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TysonF.May 21, 2008
One of the best movie's ive seen in years!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IndyFanMay 22, 2008
Not perfect, but a great ride!!! Well worth the visit to the theater, and I will see it again and again. Skull needed to look a little more like crystal, and a little less like a halloween trinket. Beyond that, awesome movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshNMay 22, 2008
This movie is classic. hahaha, I loved how cheesy it was, yet still very intelligent
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickDMay 22, 2008
It's An Indy Film! But how does it stack up against the classics? Crystal Skull is most definitely a true blue Indiana Jones film. That being said, it is the worst of the Indiana Jones films. Not that that is all bad. I'd still It's An Indy Film! But how does it stack up against the classics? Crystal Skull is most definitely a true blue Indiana Jones film. That being said, it is the worst of the Indiana Jones films. Not that that is all bad. I'd still take Crystal Skull over any modern action film (Spider-Man, Pirates, Casino Royale, and Iron Man included) hence the perfect score. Anyone and everyone should see Crystal Skull, Indy fan or not, as it is the best movie is a long, long time. Still, when stacked up against the classics, it does fall short (just barely). From here on out, expect many SPOILERS: First off, Harrison Ford is NOT too old. I never once thought, "gee, he's sixty-five." And the movie is very tasteful at making fun of his age where appropriate, but not overdoing it. From the minute it starts, Skull will blow you away with how it looks. It is shot like an old Indy film. I thought I was in a theater in the 80s (which is impressive, cause I would have have to have been an infant to pull off such a feat). The opening at Area 51 is great! Jones at its best. I'd stack up the opening action sequences with all my favorites from the classic films. We see Indy fight in the warehouse, we get a glimpse of the Ark, and we see our hero survive a nuclear bomb. I'll admit, I was worried about the bomb part, having heard about it going in, but it was executed brilliantly, and fit in well with classic Jones. The 50s vibe of the film is great. It really takes advantage of the Red Scare, and Greasers, and aliens, really everything that makes the 50s the 50s. We see Jones deal with CIA and FBI and KGB in a way that would make Bond jealous. There is a great bit with Greasers and a 50s style brawl in a 50s diner which Mutt fits into perfectly. Really, the first half of the film is top notch. Almost classic Indiana Jones. The second half is not quite as good. A lot of clue following broken up by some respectable action scenes, but nothing that comes close to Raiders, Doom, or Crusade. The dialogue is always so on the nose! Even when the audience has already figured something out, Mutt or Indiana will repeat an earlier clue and then tell them again what it means. The River Boat action scene was not as good as I had heard. I actually like the opening one at Area 51 better. It really seemed that Mutt was doing much more action than Indy, which bothered me a bit. Also, The only part of the movie I truly hated came in this action scene. Mutt is taught to swing by Monkeys? Come on. Lame! Plus, this is the most CGIy part of the film. Everywhere else is seems tasteful and unnecessary, here it is a little over done. Ah, Mutt (Shia's character). What can I say about Mutt? He starts off fine. His greaser character aspects work surprisingly well and he is a fine character. But, as the film gets into its weaker half, he begins to pick up more and more of Indiana's slack until he's doing more in the River Boat chase than Indiana is! Is Mutt destined to replace Jones? (God, when he almost put on the hat at the end I was about to leave the theater. Thank you, Spielberg, for having Indy take what was rightfully his). let's hope not. I was open to the idea going in, and he was an alright character, but he is NO Indiana Jones and after seeing the film, a Mutt spin off is a horrible idea! Lots of other good secondary character here that fit the Jones films. Mac is great, Irina Spalko is a fine baddie (though she pales in comparison to Donavin or Belloq), and Marion is a welcome return to the series. The Macguffin is fine with me too. I have seen the power of God before, and now I have no problems with aliens and psychics. Some Jones fans may be turned off by aliens, but are they any more ridiculous than the power of God melting people's faces? To Sum It All Up: Good action, looks and feels like the classics (90% of the time), good wit, and lots of Indiana Jones! The best action film you can get in this millennium. Still, Mutt and Monkeys, a wee bit too much CGI in the River Boat scenes, some weak dialoge, the kinda lame wedding ending, and the fact this film was made 20 years after the others keeps it from beings as good as Raiders, Doom, or Crusade. So go see it for God's sake. And Lucas, if you are listening, I'd be fine with a 5th true Indy film, but NO MUTT MOVIE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WargamerMay 23, 2008
This film was everything I hoped it would be. It felt every bit as thrilling as the old trilogy, and it is going to take some beating. Indy 4 is lining up to be my Film of The Year!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuanC.May 24, 2008
I dont see why people say so much trash about this movie? are they dumb? what did they expect? you have to be dumbt to expect a lot from this movie and let yourself be dissapointed... if you expect a good and fun movie, you'll love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Gustavo²May 25, 2008
It has all the magic and adventurous elements that made Spielberg the King of Hollywood. Already an underrated masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaG.May 25, 2008
The world is different but Indy is the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichSMay 25, 2008
I liked it. It wasn't as good as the first or third one but it's definitely a good movie. I would highly recommend this as it's a lot better than 99% of the crap that's out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasC.May 25, 2008
A complete re-invention of a classic hero ! Indy 4 is a great 1950's sci-fi movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeP.May 25, 2008
Indy is back and quite frankly - it had better not be for the last time - I want more Indiana Jones! I'll be seeing it at least three times this week, and likely once more after that. Guys - bring us more Indy! George, Steven, Harrison Indy is back and quite frankly - it had better not be for the last time - I want more Indiana Jones! I'll be seeing it at least three times this week, and likely once more after that. Guys - bring us more Indy! George, Steven, Harrison - I want at te very least two more. Harrison proved he not only isn't to old, but that he was once again born to wear the hat and carry the whip! Don't say goodbye - give us a new Trilogy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekT.May 26, 2008
Dr. Jones is back! For all the little cry babies out there saying this movie sucks and the ending is ridiculous, go watch the first three movies and tell me that this is any more ridiculous than the others. It is the same. Which means it is awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarthDeadMay 29, 2008
Indiana Jones 4 is like the other Indy Movies. It is genius especially the dialogs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackMay 29, 2008
This movie was exactly what I expected: another indiana jones movie. This movie is getting trashed in the exact same way Speed Racer got trashed. The critics and audience seemed to have expected some deep philisophical dialogue, but they This movie was exactly what I expected: another indiana jones movie. This movie is getting trashed in the exact same way Speed Racer got trashed. The critics and audience seemed to have expected some deep philisophical dialogue, but they forgot what Indy is all about. This movie is packed full of adventure, and the humorous dialogue is still just as funny as the original movies. So what if it's unbelievable? Spirits coming out of the ark are just as unrealistic. In my opinion, Lucas and Spielberg did a fantastic job at making another Indy thrill ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucaM.Jun 17, 2008
A true master piece! Everyones needs at least to 2 view to be capable of fully appreciate all its potential !!! Better than Raider to me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeJun 2, 2008
A great movie, one of the best in the Indy Franchise and well worth the price of admission. Probably the best movie I have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZaneA.Jun 20, 2008
To all how didn't like the film I say you all have no imagination! This was the best film I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KieranSFeb 26, 2009
As another user has said, Indiana Jones hasn't always been realistic, nor does it have to be. Maybe it has some scenes where any ordinary human would die, but he is Indiana Jones after all! Just like James Bond, he cannot be killed. You As another user has said, Indiana Jones hasn't always been realistic, nor does it have to be. Maybe it has some scenes where any ordinary human would die, but he is Indiana Jones after all! Just like James Bond, he cannot be killed. You may say "This movie is terrible because it has CGI in it" well: A) So does every-other movie today B) When Raiders, Temple and Crusade were released back in the 80s, they used Matte-Paints, CGI is the "Matte-Paints" of today. If you say it has terrible CGI, well, I would like to see YOU try and do CGI, CGI is if not, one of the hardest parts in movie as it is extremely complex to achieve something that is realistic, Indy IV DID achieve that. You could go "Why did Mutt swing on the vines with those monkeys??!? That was totally stupid and unrealistic" Well, how else would he have reached the vehicle in time? Well? Exactly. There was no other way (except for Running, even then would he encounter animals and not be able to reach it in time) Well, it does make perfect sense. In the 50s Aliens were a popular topic, the government were apparently hiding Aliens from the public, all the UFO "Sightings", not to mention the Roswell incident. It was the perfect topic because Aliens were associated heavily with the 1950s. Of Course the ending would be Alien because what creature has a skull like that? Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is probably one of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and nothing is better seeing a classic hero come back after 19 years and kick ass! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
EmilyH.Dec 19, 2008
Oh come on, Indiana Jones was never realistic - did you miss the shrieking woman and the Voodoo dolls in the second one? This film was great! It had Indiana Jones, as.....Indiana Jones and a load of other people you have accidentally already Oh come on, Indiana Jones was never realistic - did you miss the shrieking woman and the Voodoo dolls in the second one? This film was great! It had Indiana Jones, as.....Indiana Jones and a load of other people you have accidentally already met in the other films, wound in the plot in a somewhat cunning, if cheesy way. Indiana Jones 4, made when Harrison Ford is what.............66? was never going to be the same as the others and the filmakers have emphasized this to their credit. I particularly like the tip-offs to the other films, it feels like a well-deserved 'good-bye' to the franchise. The nods to comparitative archaeology are well woven in and you get a brief sense of what Indiana Jones might do in his time off adventures. Overall - amazing!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful