Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1338 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,067
Mixed:
113
Negative:
158
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
PeterJFeb 14, 2010
I loved pulp fiction , this movie is insensitive , ridiculous, insulting to jews and germans. Sorry quinten your time is up , this was your swan song , you have just lost a big fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimD.Feb 23, 2010
Only Christoph Watlz's excellent performance, good cinematography and a great soundtrack keep this from being a 0. It is one of the most repulsive, offensive movies I've ever seen, and the people that gave it a 10 obviously delight Only Christoph Watlz's excellent performance, good cinematography and a great soundtrack keep this from being a 0. It is one of the most repulsive, offensive movies I've ever seen, and the people that gave it a 10 obviously delight in seeing a theatre full of people being burned alive, mowed down by machine gun fire, and ultimately blown to bits by, get this, Jewish suicide bombers. That the victims are Nazis is beside the point. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
1
JacksonAug 24, 2009
I really disliked this movie. If this movie had not had Quentin Tarantino's name attached to it I'm fairly sure most reviews would have said this was garbage. It's just a movie people watch to say "It's good because I really disliked this movie. If this movie had not had Quentin Tarantino's name attached to it I'm fairly sure most reviews would have said this was garbage. It's just a movie people watch to say "It's good because it's bad, and since I'm smart I can see what the movie was -really- trying to say". Unfortunately this movie was completely directionless, devoid of purpose, and did not say anything any other WWII hasn't said better. The violence also felt way too forced, which just made the experience pointlessly uncomfortable. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
2
ricosAug 30, 2009
Well, let's all lean back, shall we.. Have a drink and smoke our pipes and talk, then talk some more.. And then, just when you think we've talked enough, let's continue the conversation in french, with a german translation.. Well, let's all lean back, shall we.. Have a drink and smoke our pipes and talk, then talk some more.. And then, just when you think we've talked enough, let's continue the conversation in french, with a german translation.. Or vice versa. You choose. I don't care. When we've finished talking, someone else will take over. They too will smoke sigars, drink whiskey, maybe even milk. They'll eat cake and talk some more, some in french, then in german. This film had me leaving the theatre in pure boredom. I think I lasted about 90mins before I had worn out every imaginable sitting-position you can cram into a cinema seat. I did this for Tarantino; because I've thought he was a genius. Until now. Apparently this basterd of a movie lasts for 153mins, and something cool probably, eventually happens. But I don't care. QT has grown overconfident in his ability to produce lengthy dialogues. And here there are no "charming m*f* pigs" either.. You wait for them, of course: Those nuggets of clever conversation. But they never come.. At least not within the first 90mins. So, I didn't see the whole thing. I think if this weren't Tarantino, alot of people wouldn't. All the overrated reviews of this proves QT has reached a point where he gets a good rating by default.. I think he's developed a speech impediment. It's a damn shame. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
BillSep 10, 2009
Unless you are a sadist who revels in blood, human butchery, and overly long preposterous stories with many tedious scenes in which case it would be a 10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
IgorE.Jan 24, 2010
Never liked Tarantino. This movie made me hate him! The most stupid movie I've ever watched.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
BrandonSJan 2, 2010
Overlong and boring, punctuated by periodic scenes of incredibly uncomfortable violence. It's like Tarantino's other movies, only without the charm and wit. Very disappointing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JohnSJan 31, 2010
You sit through the drudgery of prolonged and monoyomous dialogue only to be met by ridiculous shootouts. And it doesn't even have the decency to be short.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
steveOct 15, 2009
Could be used as a clinical test for diagnosing brain atrophy.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JamesROct 10, 2009
QT still proving he's got the subtlety of a bull with a chainsaw and the ability to turn promising subject matter into dross. Even taking into account the offensive subject matter the film could have at least had a cartoon appeal; QT still proving he's got the subtlety of a bull with a chainsaw and the ability to turn promising subject matter into dross. Even taking into account the offensive subject matter the film could have at least had a cartoon appeal; instead it just angers and alienates the viewer. The only film I've ever walked out of at a cinema. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
StanS.Aug 21, 2009
Tarantino is the King with no clothing. Lauded by critics and film aficionados, but truth be told he is an abject failure as a storyteller. His films drag and sag and never have anything beneath them besides slapstick mayhem. The Basterds Tarantino is the King with no clothing. Lauded by critics and film aficionados, but truth be told he is an abject failure as a storyteller. His films drag and sag and never have anything beneath them besides slapstick mayhem. The Basterds are no different 2 and 1/2 hours plus ending as Eliot would put it "not a bang but a whimper." Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful
1
EvinC.Aug 22, 2009
I went in this film expecting the best. Unfortunately, i came out feeling oh so disappointed and sad. There's no doubt, i love Tarantino and his work. But all i ask is why? Why did this film have to be bad. I permit this film the I went in this film expecting the best. Unfortunately, i came out feeling oh so disappointed and sad. There's no doubt, i love Tarantino and his work. But all i ask is why? Why did this film have to be bad. I permit this film the biggest letdown of the year. I only enjoyed one performance, not by brad pitt, but by another individual. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JamesLAug 23, 2009
I feel sorry for Brad Pitt as this is the second consecutive major bomb he has starred in. This film is simply not entertaining, funny, enjoyable, or worth your time and money. Tarantino seems to have forgotten that you need a plot, I feel sorry for Brad Pitt as this is the second consecutive major bomb he has starred in. This film is simply not entertaining, funny, enjoyable, or worth your time and money. Tarantino seems to have forgotten that you need a plot, character development, dialogue that matters, and respect for the intelligence of your audience. Once can not just throw crap on a wall and see what sticks. That appears to be his film making approach now! This was more of a cartoon, a bad cartoon, than a movie that one could appreciate in any manner. Tarantino is washed up! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PaulSAug 25, 2009
Not very good at all. QT is and always has been a one trick pony.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ScottYAug 27, 2009
Chad S. You are usually a decent critic. But you missed the hear. Does everyone have Tarantino goggles on when he makes a movie. Everything in here, save for a few brilliant scenes, are awkward and embarrassing to watch. It is "film student" Chad S. You are usually a decent critic. But you missed the hear. Does everyone have Tarantino goggles on when he makes a movie. Everything in here, save for a few brilliant scenes, are awkward and embarrassing to watch. It is "film student" level amateurish which is to say there is no excuse for that at this point in his career. People, his lack of film making etiquette shows through his inexperience. He has not had proper training as of yet apparently. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JaredZAug 31, 2009
After releasing three masterworks--the KILL BILL series and the wonderful GRINDHOUSE, Tarantino's latest is one of his greatest disappointments...easily one of his worst. A monotonous, dreary epic, where excessive use of subtitles are After releasing three masterworks--the KILL BILL series and the wonderful GRINDHOUSE, Tarantino's latest is one of his greatest disappointments...easily one of his worst. A monotonous, dreary epic, where excessive use of subtitles are used as a substitute for his usually fascinating dialogue. Brad Pitt's laughable excuse of a southern accent could just as easily have been derived from watching a few episodes of "My Name is Earl". Devoid of style and an intriguing plot, this is a stiff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DWillySep 16, 2009
Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family he killed, the officer hating German getting set loose, and on and on). True, there's some Tarentino quirky artistry in moments, but his indulgent camp is more often cringe inducing. I feel bad for the folks all over America who go to see Brad Pitt in a bad-ass WWII movie and get this odd bit of a turd. Pitt has probably less than 30 min of screen time (and is very thin here, anyway), and two thirds of the dialog is subtitled French or German. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RalphMSep 20, 2009
Despite my actually leaving the cinema with a bad taste in my mouth, I have to concede that there were some excellent character dialogues and cinematography dotted throughout this film and I was impressed that such a high profile film could Despite my actually leaving the cinema with a bad taste in my mouth, I have to concede that there were some excellent character dialogues and cinematography dotted throughout this film and I was impressed that such a high profile film could get away with so much German and french dialogue. However all of this was tarnished by over the top ultraviolence that makes you sad to think that so many people revel in it. It made my stomach churn to think people paid to see this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChrisLSep 4, 2009
The guy sitting next to me walked out. I should have followed him. The trailers make this movie seem like it's about Brad Pitt and his gang, killing Nazis in all kinds of entertaining ways. Instead you get people sitting around, The guy sitting next to me walked out. I should have followed him. The trailers make this movie seem like it's about Brad Pitt and his gang, killing Nazis in all kinds of entertaining ways. Instead you get people sitting around, talking, drinking, and smoking in German and French for 95% of the movie. Normally, Tarantino's strength is his dialogue and acting, but when almost all of it is in a different language, it's just tedious. The plot is absurd, the scenes are uninteresting, the dialogue is pointless, the cinematography is ok. This movie was so bad, I started rooting for the Nazis. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BobJ.Sep 6, 2009
Great acting. Well shot. Poor story. Terribly boring, long drawn out scenes. Easily the worst movie I've seen in a while.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EdSSep 9, 2009
A truly dreadful film. Gratingly attention, seeking directing. Ponderous, pointless, humouless dialogue, which neither develops plot nor character, or provides even a modicum of insight or superficial entertainment. An utterly inappropriate A truly dreadful film. Gratingly attention, seeking directing. Ponderous, pointless, humouless dialogue, which neither develops plot nor character, or provides even a modicum of insight or superficial entertainment. An utterly inappropriate soundtrack. A convoluted, over elaborate plot which clunks to a predicatable conclusion. Maybe it wasn't predictable, I was too bored by the end to care. Do not see this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BrookeR.Jan 14, 2010
Landa is the only good thing in this movie. An outstanding performance in an otherwise long, boring,piece of crap of a film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JackM.Jan 17, 2010
Unwatchable on several counts. In Pulp Fiction all the characters mattered. In Kill Bill also. What happened here? None of them were human beings.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KeromeJan 24, 2010
Tarantino's world-war 2 effort is a very mixed bag: although it is a cinematographic tour-de-force and wonderfully polished in its technical execution, the nihilistic story feels like a waste of some great performances by the Tarantino's world-war 2 effort is a very mixed bag: although it is a cinematographic tour-de-force and wonderfully polished in its technical execution, the nihilistic story feels like a waste of some great performances by the star-studded cast, Christopher Waltz and Diane Kruger being particularly excellent as Hans Landa and Bridget von Hammersmark. Although the violence may shock and the slick scenes may briefly hold the attention, ultimately this is as soulless and empty as Deathproof, and less likable in many ways. Pulp Fiction it is not. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful
0
JBbMar 11, 2010
Horrible movie with absolutely ridiculous story
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisMOct 16, 2009
This movie suffers from a flimsy script, boring dialogue, and a fantasy that is not even entertaining. The violence is over done and is not artistic and it rather comes across as cheesy. Many of the characters was not properly introduced. This movie suffers from a flimsy script, boring dialogue, and a fantasy that is not even entertaining. The violence is over done and is not artistic and it rather comes across as cheesy. Many of the characters was not properly introduced. Brad Pitt fake southern accent is the most annoying and irritating part about this movie. Tarantino cannot even get a southern accent right. Many of the major characters were poorly introduced which makes for a weak story/plot. Soshanna was the only compelling character in the movie but we do not see her pain. The entire 2 and half hour movie comes accross as one of Tarantino's wet dreams. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RobGDec 10, 2009
Yes is so bad that many people think it's a good movie. Awful, boring and don't tell me that mr tarantino believes in all that c**p. Worse Tarantino movie, period.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AllanFDec 15, 2009
How can you call it a masterpiece without taking anything away from it. The characters never develop, Brad Pitt was definately annoying through out it. If world war 2 were fictional this may have been a decent movie. Given the subject matter How can you call it a masterpiece without taking anything away from it. The characters never develop, Brad Pitt was definately annoying through out it. If world war 2 were fictional this may have been a decent movie. Given the subject matter you must be very careful with the way you present the story, or you must give good reason for taking such a stance. Either there was so much going on that none of it seemed important, or there really wasn't much going on and they were telling us how important it was. Like the Godfather series, the first two are excellent because they make you get to know and love the characters while they drive the story along. Inglorious would be the third, a whole movie made to tell you one thing. (Either QT hates nazis or he loves blood and facism, not sure which. In Godfather threes case it was two hours two tell you, yes, one day Michael Corleone can die. Inglorious Bastards would make an excellent short story. But it was truly hard to get through... And I mean c'mon, who watches a QT movie to read it. GAH Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SheldonHOct 4, 2009
I thought had potential, but was just too violent for me (first time I've said that)... too predictable.... oh well. Had some laughs be QT is just too predictable now.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
lawrencealtafferAug 22, 2009
Some great acting and great lines but for a film that is 2.5 hours or maybe a little more there is almost ZERO character development. You have a Nazi Loyalist who completely flips in the period of 30 secs for no reason, and its neverSome great acting and great lines but for a film that is 2.5 hours or maybe a little more there is almost ZERO character development. You have a Nazi Loyalist who completely flips in the period of 30 secs for no reason, and its never explained.. just one of many holes. Many long boring moments with characters that could have been left out...very long and overall boring film...with a few great moments sprinkled in.. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful