Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    80
    A modestly scaled and highly pleasurable sequel to Wan’s low-budget 2011 smash that should have genre fans begging for thirds.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Sep 12, 2013
    70
    Though Wan is stepping away from horror, at least for now, to direct the next The Fast And The Furious sequel, the latest Insidious entry suggests he’s a long way from running out of new tricks, or at least finding infinite variations on old ones.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    Wan remains a crafty enough director to draw your eye warily across the frame. You shouldn't feel so daft for flinching this time.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Setting aside the movie’s tediously lame dialogue, self-conscious performances and frequently predicable scares, the narrative’s compulsively shifting chronology intermittently manages to engage, although it does little to obscure the distracting shortcomings of both plot and character development.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Patches
    Sep 13, 2013
    40
    Even before Wilson goes full Jack Torrance and Barbara Hershey shows up to investigate an abandoned hospital Scooby-Doo-style, one could technically call this sequel a gorefest—thanks to the guts of every other horror movie being splattered across the screen.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Sep 13, 2013
    37
    A bustling, overly busy mess.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 15, 2013
    11
    Insidious: Chapter 2 is perhaps an even more scattershot mess than its predecessor. Whannell's script is so rife with portentous backstory, third-act goofiness, and a denouement that practically screams "Insidious 3: Same Old Shit," that the film as a whole is jarring, and not in a good way.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51
  1. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    James Wan and Leigh Whannell's Insidious Chapter 2 fully delivers in terms of exploring the mysteries left behind in the previous installment, while also expanding on its intriguing mythology. However, the sequel also embraces the first film's quirkier, campier aspects, which makes for a few good laughs, but also some less-than-terrifying horror sequences. It's an excellent horror piece to swivel into the spiral of its previous film. Collapse
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Chapter 2 will surely be a greatest hit on this years scale.
    I went to see this movie expecting a lame chapter 2 like most movie make but it
    really surprised me when I got there. I jumped and loved this part 2. Al though the sounds are a bit...bad...I still loved this movie!
    I recommend this movie to anyone.
    Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    One of the best horror sequels, if not the best horror sequel ever and one of the main reasons for that is because unlike most horror sequels it is original and scary.
    Another good thing about this film is that it ropes you in at the beginning by picking up from were the first one left off and throughout the film it explains a lot about the first one, for example it explains why the ghostly old woman decided to haunt Josh.
    Like the first one this film focuses on the Lambert family, who are now trying to find out who or what killed Elise (Lin Shaye.) And they also soon find out that the ghosts that were haunting them in the first film aren't done with them yet.
    But even though at first the film builds up suspense and gets more scary at a very fast pace, towards the last half hourthe film goes a bit downhill and tries to focus more on action than on horror, which I thought wasn't a very good idea. Another bad thing about the last half hour is that at times it got a bit confusing and a bit hard to follow.
    I think my favourite part in the film is when Lorraine (Barbara Hershey), Specs (Leigh Whannell), Tucker (Angus Sampson) and Elise's friend, Carl (Steve Coulter) are trying to find out more about the old woman thatis haunting Josh and they go to her old address where she lived when she was a child. I like this scene because it keeps you on the edge of your seat with a mixture of action, horror and suspense. I thought it was particularly suspense-filled in one bit were Specs and Tucker find a mysterious little girl in one of the bedrooms.
    I would recommend this film to people who liked the first Insidious and to people who like horrors that will make you jump out of your skin. And I would give this film an 8 out of 10. And if you asked me to choose between Insidious and Insidious 2, I don't think I would be able to choose, they're both as good as eachother.
    Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    7
    Insidious: Chapter 2 wasn't as scary as The Conjuring and it's predecessor, but I still had a lot of fun watching the movie. It continues where the first movie left off and from then it's a ride of mystery, scares and some laughs. The movie wasn't really that scary like the first one but some scenes still gave me goosebumps and chills. When an intense or horrific scene is happening at the moment, a comedy part was involved and I found that a bit weird. It was a bit weird for me, because some of those scenes were really intense and adding a funny tone to it just doesn't really help. There were plot points that I found really interesting and those things kind of overshadowed the main genre of the movie, horror. It was really interesting that this movie was connected to it's predecessor but I still wanted scenes that would really convince me to leave the theatre. James Wan still did a good job with Insidious: Chapter 2, even though it didn't beat it's predecessor. I am going to give Insidious: Chapter 2 a 7/10. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    It doesn't live up to James Wan's previous works like The Conjuring or the first Insidious, but it still manages to provide a somewhat entertaining experience even though it does lack fear. The music and atmosphere are still creepy, but the film ends up relying too much on lame jump scares that failed to elicit any sort of reaction. The film also ends up being intentionally funny at times. All of these flaws really should have killed this sequel for me, but there's something about this film that did keep me thoroughly entertained throughout.

    I really enjoyed the continuation of the original film's plot and I liked how it added more details as to what was going on, even if not everything is as well explained as I would have liked. This movie ends up feeling refreshingly self aware, using it's goofier characters to its advantage. I was never scared but I found myself enjoying the film despite that. It's kind of like a haunted house at a carnival or something. You go into it with a couple of friends and end up having a blast and getting more than a few good laughs at just how not scary the whole things is.

    I ended up enjoying this throwaway sequel to one of my favorite horror movies just because it was a sequels to one of my favorite horror movies. If you liked the original then you should like this one for the same reason I did. It might be throwaway and lacking in any sort of scary moments, but if enjoyed the first then you should give this one a look. However if you didn't watch the first then this isn't for you, as you'll probably just view it as another one of those lame, non-scary horror movies that just end up being a waste of time, rather than the goofy, thrill-ride continuation of the first movie that it is.
    Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2013
    5
    This film was as good as the first. Horror films lately to me haven't been putting me on the edge of my seat. It seems that all horror comes down to nowadays is around 2 scares out of it. Nothing felt original in this movie and more or less felt like a remake with scares from the first one. Even the order of events were the same, "scares", arguments, "more scares", arguments, get professionals, more and more "scares", into dream, and more "scares", end. And these scares we've seen way too many times in horror movies and it's time to grow up and think of something new. People around me and my friends were jumping out of their seats and I'm sitting leaning on my hand like "Really?" If you scare easily and are a novice to horror movies, I guess you'll get the experience more than I did. But if you're not scared from dark corners and jump scares, which was basically what this movie was like, then I suggest giving it a miss. People will disagree and say the build up in music tenses you. Sure for the first time it happened, not for the 10th time in a row. This feature felt as though it was getting shoved down my throat and I'm getting bored of it. This movie did have a few chuckle moments in it even though they were quite funny. I was honestly hoping it to be a good scare and not be able to sleep last night, but I slept absolutely no bother. Also, at the beginning it shows Elise when she was younger and they dubbed her voice in with the actress that plays her. It was a really lame part of the movie in my opinion. Although, the good things I can say about the movie was that the ending was good and the acting was very believing.

    Good Points:

    +Good acting
    +Better story than the first
    +Thumbs up to the make-up and props

    Bad Points:
    -Barely frightened or scared me
    -Too predicable
    -Dubbed over voice of Elise
    -Brought nothing new to the horror genre
    -Jump scares are not scary
    -Followed the same timeline of events as the first one

    To me, this a miss. For novice horror movie fans, go ahead you'll probably get a scare. But tough horror movie fans like me, you'll find yourself being more entertained by watching novices themselves.

    5/10.
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    0
    Liked the original but thought this film was just a recycling that was no where near as good. Incredibly boring, Not scary, and rather predictable. Would not recommend. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Trailers