Instructions Not Included Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 29, 2013
    70
    Some of the comic bits are a little too broad and silly, but Derbez, in his feature debut, makes Instructions Not Included a balancing act more successful than it should be.
  2. Reviewed by: Annlee Ellingson
    Sep 4, 2013
    70
    There's a lot of movie here with unexpected developments, held together by the irresistible chemistry between Derbez and his adorable pint-sized co-star.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Sep 6, 2013
    63
    The film’s counterintuitive success is largely due to Derbez, who demonstrates why he is beloved, both south and north of the border.
  4. 50
    The ending of the movie is a real grabber, the sort of thing that lifts and improves a tediously long and otherwise mediocre film and tricks you into thinking it was better than it really was as you leave the theater.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Sep 5, 2013
    40
    Instructions Not Included is a sporadically amusing but unduly protracted dramedy that slowly — very slowly — devolves into a shameless tearjerker during its third act.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    This movie has the emotional intensity of BELLA, the humor of JUNO, and the social ramifications of KRAMER vs KRAMER. (I know I have watched a good movie when a year later, I scan the video store shelf and I can remember the plot of the movie. Trust me,you will remember everything from this film.) Loved the line sincerely expressed by a friend to the new Mexican father, "You better learn English so you can understand your American baby when she starts speaking." Don't let the subtitles keep you away. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Congratulations Mr. Eugenio Dervez. “Instructions Not Included’ turned out to be a good job. The Oscar for Best Foreign Film will be a good prize.

    Widely recommend it because the person can go to the movies, spending time enjoying the comedy. Good job!
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Si. Yes. Oui. Ja. Imo. Etc. This movie is the best I have seen so far. It is actually the FIRST movie to actually make me laugh. it was a masterpiece beginning to end.
    and the ending. What a mind-twist.
    Those few bucks for that ticket are all worth it for this film.
    Collapse
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Comedy drama and the whole range of emotions in between; the story has definite cultural characteristics that make it more powerful if understood.

    However, the conflict of values generated by the plot -a single, freedom loving beach bum in Acapulco faced with the responsibility of raising a daughter, traveling to a country he does not understand, and forging a happy life in the face of the most devastating adversity, is universal and should touch everyone's heart.

    When an artist has the inspiration to move the audience from laughter to tears he has accomplished his goal of touching people's lives.

    The critics have spoken, now the public is raving! A masterpiece of a great comedian.
    Go see it for yourself. Highly recommend it.
    Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    One of the best family movies I have ever seen. Eugenio Derbez has directed and starred what I feel to be one of his best movies. As a father I would recommend this movie to any father out there no matter what language you speak. The underlying message can be appreciated by all. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    6
    This is the highest grossing Spanish-language film to open in North America and it's aimed squarely at the family-film audience that Disney targets. Eugenio Derbez (who also co-wrote & directed) plays a ladies' man, whose life is upended when one of his former girlfriends drops off her baby at his door. Seven years later, she shows back up to re-claim the daughter he's raised. This is big on sentiment: broad comedy, dramatic conflict and tender emotion. Loreto Peralta (the daughter) is sweet and appealing. The audience around me was enthusiastic (some of the references are strictly cultural) and the movie is not without charms, but it's not likely to appeal to English-speaking families because of the subtitles. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    This movie is a really waste of pesos, well thats great cos im not going to pay more than pesos to see this **** Come on mother **** this movie is like a bad taco. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews