Iron Man 2

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 887 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 887

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    Many have expressed their disappointing about this sequel. I personally think that it is just as good as the original. Robert Downey JR is great as usual, the action has been improved and Mickey Rourke is entertaining as the terrible Russian. Even thought there are improvements to the sequel, there are also too many characters in the film and the final action scene is quite anti-climactic.Many have expressed their disappointing about this sequel. I personally think that it is just as good as the original. Robert Downey JR is great as usual, the action has been improved and Mickey Rourke is entertaining as the terrible Russian. Even thought there are improvements to the sequel, there are also too many characters in the film and the final action scene is quite anti-climactic. Still a high recommendation to fans of the original Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2010
    6
    I'm a big fan of Downey but even he couldn't bring this film to life. His character, arrogant yet funny in the first installment was simply just arrogant this time round. At least Paltrow and Johansson provided some enjoyment and the hope that the film might continue just that little bit longer. Cheadle also at times outshone Downey's own character. The action scenes were enjoyableI'm a big fan of Downey but even he couldn't bring this film to life. His character, arrogant yet funny in the first installment was simply just arrogant this time round. At least Paltrow and Johansson provided some enjoyment and the hope that the film might continue just that little bit longer. Cheadle also at times outshone Downey's own character. The action scenes were enjoyable though. However, even more annoying than the lacklustre script was the feeling that the ending had suddenly been tacked on and then was over far too soon Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Jon Favreau has done it again!
  4. Jan 24, 2012
    6
    I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed the first film. I thought it did a good job at cameos as well (building towards the Avengers film). The acting and the action was solid as well. It was just a little too corny and generic for my taste. Also I did not like the main villian in the film, Im sure there could have been a better one for them to pick.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The movie is just an awesome creation of science fiction and this movie is glorifying the name of iron man in the top super hero names .The movie has great visual effects and Robert Downey jr has done a great job
  6. May 31, 2013
    8
    This is the first Iron Man movie I've ever seen. It was actually pretty good. My only problem with this movie is that Iron Man isn't seen that much in the film. But all in all, it was a good sequel.
  7. Mar 2, 2015
    8
    Good movie, sets up well after the first Iron Man. RDJ still seems like he was born to play the part, his sarcasm and arrogant wit totally make the movie worth. Gweneth Paltrow, despite me not liking her personally, seems to be coming more on her own as Pepper Pots. I thought Don Cheadle replacing Terrance Howard as Rhodey seemed a bit awkward and he seemed out of place, kind of similar toGood movie, sets up well after the first Iron Man. RDJ still seems like he was born to play the part, his sarcasm and arrogant wit totally make the movie worth. Gweneth Paltrow, despite me not liking her personally, seems to be coming more on her own as Pepper Pots. I thought Don Cheadle replacing Terrance Howard as Rhodey seemed a bit awkward and he seemed out of place, kind of similar to Maggie Gyllenhaal replacing Katie Holmes in The Dark Knight. I felt Vanko/Whiplash had a lot of potential but seemed to take a backseat a bit to Justin Hammer by the movies end and I felt he was killed to easily. Rourke was great but by the time the movie was over, you felt as if his potential was wasted. Expand
  8. Sep 28, 2010
    4
    I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed the predecessor of this Iron Man franchise. Well it was not exactly cerebral as The Dark Knight (its Summer opponent of 2008), it was fast-paced and indeed had enough action to fill its run time. I wish I could say the same about the sequel, Iron Man 2. What was a franchise known for its action, is now a dull plot-developing movie. The majority ofI have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed the predecessor of this Iron Man franchise. Well it was not exactly cerebral as The Dark Knight (its Summer opponent of 2008), it was fast-paced and indeed had enough action to fill its run time. I wish I could say the same about the sequel, Iron Man 2. What was a franchise known for its action, is now a dull plot-developing movie. The majority of the movie focused on the foolishness of Robert Downey's character. Although well-acted, I wish there was more "Iron Man" than of Tony Stark. The final scene of the movie does go back to it comic-book roots with the duo of War Machine & Iron Man, but it feels empty because there was not much to support it. It is an acceptable and somewhat enjoyable blockbuster, but I could not get over the mindless drama and lack of action. Expand
  9. MikeB.
    May 17, 2010
    7
    I would have given it a 7.5 if they hadn't shown Mickey Rourke's rotten fingernails so many times. Actually, they would had to have shown his fingernails zero times to get my 7.5 Dear Mickey Rourke's Fingernails: See you in my nightmares.
  10. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    im not sure why this movie is rated so low? it had the perfect mix of action and comedy, had great acting ,an interesting storyline and some killer special effects. honestly what more could you ask for?
  11. Jan 28, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The whole movie was crap. The movie never had its "climax". All was pre-pre-pre-pre-pre- final scene. All the movie i was thinking "so...whats next... i already saw this at iron-man 1...boring....joke not funny..."

    The scene protagonized by Scarlett Johansson sucks... In general i think the writers said :
    - "how we can make a better movie"
    - "Iron-man 1 was great"
    - "oh, i know! what if... if 1 iron-man is great, then we should put 30 iron-men in scene"
    - "yeah!! spectacular"
    - "but the story?"
    - "does it matter? Fill it with anything"
    Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2010
    5
    the first iron man was really enjoyable the second one just fails to deliver . downy is still fun to wach as stark but thats about it . the plot doesnt seem near as entertaining as the first and it feels like theres even less action then the first and what action it has feels so ho hum it just doesnt grab you. the final battle especially basically just iron man running around for 10 minthe first iron man was really enjoyable the second one just fails to deliver . downy is still fun to wach as stark but thats about it . the plot doesnt seem near as entertaining as the first and it feels like theres even less action then the first and what action it has feels so ho hum it just doesnt grab you. the final battle especially basically just iron man running around for 10 min then the last 1 min is the final battle . it all felt so anticlimactic and just not very enjoyable . such a shame. Expand
  13. Sep 15, 2011
    5
    With a baffling story and really unnecessary humor, Marvel's "Iron man 2" doesn't seem to have the prominent blockbuster spirit its prequel contained.
  14. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Sure, it isn't The Dark Knight, but its the near-perfect blend of action, drama and humor that makes Iron Man 2, one of the best comic-book films of all-time, and undoubtedly, one of this year's best films as well. A 10/10.
  15. AustinT
    May 22, 2010
    3
    I found this film to be highly disappointing. When I saw the first Iron Man, I was blown away by it. It was an epic, action packed adventure. Which included an excellent, easy to follow script and a great, entertaining story. One of the best super hero movies I had ever seen. This movie however couldn
  16. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    "Iron Man 2 is one of the sequels that by far beats out its Predecessor .. I loved every second of this thrill to the min Extravaganza ,Robert Downy Jr. Was Brilliant as Tony Stark .. a MUST SEE for everyone!" .. A
  17. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    I'm giving this a 1 since it fails on so many levels. I go to the movies to escape reality / this film had too many political overtones. It felt like whatever script was available fell away only to be replaced with a jabbering/chattering Robert Downy Jr. His character seemed like a horny 11 year old amped up on caffeine and sugar. The first Iron Man had some meat to it, a decent story withI'm giving this a 1 since it fails on so many levels. I go to the movies to escape reality / this film had too many political overtones. It felt like whatever script was available fell away only to be replaced with a jabbering/chattering Robert Downy Jr. His character seemed like a horny 11 year old amped up on caffeine and sugar. The first Iron Man had some meat to it, a decent story with a great mystery which was portrayed with great acting and outstanding special effects. This film just has special effects, nothing else. Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2010
    3
    I was pretty bored to tears while watching this movie. It's a real shame since the first one had some nice moments to it, the film just stays within the constraints of those people who would be satisfied with classifying every no-brain-required movie as "hey, it's just entertainment". Once again it could have more than the sum of its highly expensive parts and give us something otherI was pretty bored to tears while watching this movie. It's a real shame since the first one had some nice moments to it, the film just stays within the constraints of those people who would be satisfied with classifying every no-brain-required movie as "hey, it's just entertainment". Once again it could have more than the sum of its highly expensive parts and give us something other than by-the-book action sequence after sequence. Stark is pretty much the same except that now he has a bit of angst, but don't worry that's quickly solved by some BS that the writers threw in to wrap things up quite nicely. Nothing has importance or impact, and I was just waiting for the happy ending that inevitably followed. The only glimmer of light in the whole movie was Mickey Rourkes and Sam Rockwells performance. Let's end these superhero movies while we still have some diginity...or take a freakin leap of faith and someone start writing better ones instead. Expand
  19. Bill
    May 30, 2010
    3
    Felt promising for the first 15 minutes or so, then it just didn't go anywhere. There was absolutely no suspense, no payoffs, no real emotion, not even any good laughs. To top it all off the film had some of the most boring action sequences I've seen in a recent superhero movie, and surprisingly few at that. It was as if the entire thing was just filler.
  20. Feb 29, 2012
    3
    Its a 2 hour movie with what feels like 15 minutes action. Endless babbling plus a bad story. Waste of time except for kids. Great animations though. Its probably a good movie for the youngest.
  21. Steve
    May 17, 2010
    3
    This movie was stupid. I dare anyone out there, including the script writers, to tell me what the point of the movie was. There are some dorky references to other super heroes, some things that seem like inside jokes to the geeks that think their comics are "good source material." The hero doesn't risk anything, nothing is lost, he's never really threatened by the villains, This movie was stupid. I dare anyone out there, including the script writers, to tell me what the point of the movie was. There are some dorky references to other super heroes, some things that seem like inside jokes to the geeks that think their comics are "good source material." The hero doesn't risk anything, nothing is lost, he's never really threatened by the villains, every problem was resolved easily and required no cleverness. SPOILER: Building a particle accelerator in your basement and creating a new element to fix his heart device is stupid - it's not even a level that Star Trek writers would sink to. Sam Jackson's side plot was distracting and pointless. The jokes were L-A-M-E...like tongue-in-cheek 1960's Batman lame. The only thing I can say good about Iron Man 2 is that Downy Jr. and Rourke are good at what they do. But I have a feeling if they weren't recovering drug addicts, we wouldn't be rooting for a 45 year old alcoholic corporate superhero fighting a 58 year old vodka-drinking villain. Expand
  22. JmieC
    May 26, 2010
    3
    The movie was almost totally devoid of true excitement and tension. The closest it came to a a thrilling scene was the Monaco face off with Whiplash but that was over very quickly and what follows is largely a CGI-fest that was silly and boring. Very disappointing sequel.
  23. AndyA
    May 16, 2010
    5
    For an action movie in my opinion it fails to excite. Downey plays the flamboyant Tony Stark well as do the other actors but its divergence
  24. ChristiB.
    May 18, 2010
    4
    The 1st one was good (rate it 8). This one not so much. Unbelievable action scenes, not much of a story. Hoping the Avengers movie will be better. Couldn't wait for this one to be over.
  25. JamesH
    May 19, 2010
    5
    Beware! We've all seen this predictable plot before many times! After the first 10 minutes of the film it was clear what would happen the rest of the movie. Robert Downey carries this turkey on his back with his fun Stark character. Without him this movie would fail miserably. The sequence where Tony Stark creates a new element was ridiculous, but then the movie is purposely over the Beware! We've all seen this predictable plot before many times! After the first 10 minutes of the film it was clear what would happen the rest of the movie. Robert Downey carries this turkey on his back with his fun Stark character. Without him this movie would fail miserably. The sequence where Tony Stark creates a new element was ridiculous, but then the movie is purposely over the top and we know that going into it. Some of the CGI was surprisingly lame, especially the fight between Cheadle and Downey at the house, but most of the CGI was very good. Expand
  26. BKL
    Nov 5, 2010
    9
    Iron Man yet again rocks the house in this hair raising thriller when he faces his newest rival, Ivan Vanko. With better effects, sound, picture, & action, Iron Man 2 will have you wanting more before the credits even roll.
  27. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Although the first movie was much better, this was still a lot of fun! Highly recommended for all to see. Don't forget to see Robert Downey Jr. in Sherlock Holmes, too!
  28. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Even though the movie is not as exciting or surprising like the first installment, this second part is still great superhero entertainment with a good script and nicely done action scenes. Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow stand out once again with their great characters even more on this film. Yet, the change of the actor of the lieutenant may have not been for the best, because DonEven though the movie is not as exciting or surprising like the first installment, this second part is still great superhero entertainment with a good script and nicely done action scenes. Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow stand out once again with their great characters even more on this film. Yet, the change of the actor of the lieutenant may have not been for the best, because Don Cheadle does not show enough emotional friendship with Tony Stark. Still, it is a movie worth to check out! Expand
  29. Oct 4, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a let down, I thought the first movie was pretty good (except for the fact that Iron man gets his %$# kicked by the bad guy and then defeats him without the need of his iron man powers!). The action scenes were boiler plate stuff, nothing special, the final battle was short and lame, and Downy's character was just plain annoying throughout the movie, and yes, once again Iron Man could not beat the bad guy with his Iron Man suit, he needs help this time around. Glad I waited to rent it! Expand
  30. Oct 6, 2010
    2
    a big disappointment yet again all the summer blockbusters are overhyped rubbish as usual the sequel is not nearly as good as the first.All of us wait in anticipation and for what?
  31. Oct 8, 2010
    1
    terrible, just awful. the clever discovery and good action and characters and humor and everything else from the great first movie is replaced by pure stupidity and disappointment.
  32. Nov 9, 2010
    7
    Good, but not nearly as good as the first one. Somehow Mickey Rourke builds a super suit and still gets his ass kicked by Ironman?? Can't stand the good guy always winning every battle no matter what the odds storyline. I guess it's worth watching
  33. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    When ironman 2 started I thought wow impressive, the effects were quite impressive, but then the story ends up spoiled, like a pair of spiked pants. The whole it becomes alot disorientational and uninspiring, I mean what the hell is going
    On here.
    Stark himself is a **** guy, suit gets robbed, drones, the wrestler with whips lmao seriously get a grip.
  34. May 6, 2013
    6
    This film was a major step down from the first film. I was not a fan of how they took Crimson Dynamo and Whiplash and turned him into a villain that was nothing more than a punching bag for Iron Man & War Machine. This movie just didn't feel like it had high stakes and started playing too much for humor instead of taking the source material seriously. Black Widow was definitely a niceThis film was a major step down from the first film. I was not a fan of how they took Crimson Dynamo and Whiplash and turned him into a villain that was nothing more than a punching bag for Iron Man & War Machine. This movie just didn't feel like it had high stakes and started playing too much for humor instead of taking the source material seriously. Black Widow was definitely a nice touch though. Expand
  35. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man 2 is not exactly a worthy followup to the original. My problems with the film: The fight between Rhodey and Tony in his mansion with DJ AM in the background was really dumb. These two guys are supposed to be best friends? Yeah Tony was being a douche, but that doesn't mean you steal one of his suits and proceed to try to beat his ass and tear up his whole damn mansion in the process. It just felt like they needed an action beat, like they said "Oh hey, it's been x amount of pages since we've had some action to entertain the audience, we need to stick a fight scene in here according to this scriptwriting 101 guide." It seemed very forced and unnecessary to me.

    Justin Hammer was cheesing up the joint and just acting way too goofy.

    Tony and Pepper's playful banter had turned into a lot of bickering that wasn't that fun to watch.

    Tony's father had hidden away his secret formula for an amazing new element as... the overhead blueprint for his **** Stark Expo? What the hell, why would anybody... what? That doesn't even make any sense. How would he know that Tony would possess a nifty holographic projector that could strip away the details and reveal this magical wonder element? Why not just write down the formula on a piece of paper, why hide it as the layout for a stupid ass expo? This... this **** stinks.

    How is Tony's new power source poisoning his blood? The palladium core goes right into his arc reactor, why would this end up in his bloodstream? His bloodstream seems completely segregated from the reactor. Couldn't he just invent some filter between the reactor and his body? He seems good at inventing stuff.

    At the race track, when Vanko attacks... why don't the security guards just shoot Vanko in the chest with their guns? His exoskeleton doesn't seem to cover his chest, they could shoot him to death.

    Rourke's Vanko spends most of the second half of the movie in a factory building robots. That's kinda boring, you shouldn't have your main villain squirrelled away that much.

    The final battle with Vanko was way too short and just involved IM and WM doing some stupid high-five with their repulsors. Vanko also opens his helmet for no reason, making his head incredibly vulnerable. But other then that, I thought it was an enjoyable experience.
    Expand
  36. Mar 30, 2012
    4
    Okay Iron Man 2 is better than the first because the new actors but yet again there isn't much action and when there it is it sucks. More stupidy throughout the film. But hey its an improvement from the first.
  37. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    Ficou muito abaixo do primeiro mais divertido.
  38. May 1, 2015
    10
    This movie may not have such a battle against an enemy but it was very well composed, there are funny aspects in the movie, there's action (but not that much as expected), and the story behind makes it worth.
  39. Jan 5, 2016
    3
    WHAT I LIKE: After the success of their first Iron Man, Marvel rushed to make a sequel - and it shows. What's good? The action scenes are okay (especially the Monaco scene), as is the overall plot, and the same cast appear on point and excellent again.
    WHAT I DON'T LIKE: This is a genuinely poor film on so many levels. The first act is forgettable and only really serves to logistically
    WHAT I LIKE: After the success of their first Iron Man, Marvel rushed to make a sequel - and it shows. What's good? The action scenes are okay (especially the Monaco scene), as is the overall plot, and the same cast appear on point and excellent again.
    WHAT I DON'T LIKE: This is a genuinely poor film on so many levels. The first act is forgettable and only really serves to logistically set up seeds for the rest of the movie. The second? You get to see Iron Man protrayed in an oddly comical and horribble way, it actually makes you angry... Act 3? A long, dull action scene unfolds with a distinct lack of humour where it's needed, plus a distinct lack of Terrence Howard. Really Marvel, you should have taken the time to get this one right.
    VERDICT: A completely soleless and dull sequel to the fantastic 'Iron Man,' the second film does little to impress. Shame - the trailers looked rather promising.
    Expand
  40. stans
    May 26, 2010
    4
    The villains were never scary, and some of the action redefined dumbness, even for a superhero movie. Pepper and Happy driving in the opposite direction on a racetrack? Tony Stark building a particle the accelerator out of found parts in his basement? Ivan (the villain) suddenly building a zillion drones and an even more powerful Iron Man costume? Plus, the fight sequences moved so fast The villains were never scary, and some of the action redefined dumbness, even for a superhero movie. Pepper and Happy driving in the opposite direction on a racetrack? Tony Stark building a particle the accelerator out of found parts in his basement? Ivan (the villain) suddenly building a zillion drones and an even more powerful Iron Man costume? Plus, the fight sequences moved so fast that it drained any human drama from them. Expand
  41. IsaacV
    Jun 6, 2010
    9
    Even better than the first but only by an inch.
  42. BuckmanB.
    May 15, 2010
    5
    All action and fireworks and no story line. Not nearly as good as the first.
  43. SteveB
    May 15, 2010
    6
    I felt no real story here and no underlying themes which would have helped the story had there been one. If you enjoy Paltrow and Rourke, two actors who don't work as much as they use to then go see the film.
  44. carlosl.
    May 17, 2010
    8
    A blast to watch! Keep an open mind when watching tough cause the movie does not do a good job explaining things.
  45. JuneQ.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Cool movie. You got action, you got drama.
  46. MarshallC
    May 30, 2010
    7
    Not nearly as good as the first, but still entertaining enough. Tony Stark is a caricature of his comic counterpart and that's what makes this inferior to its predecessor.
  47. ANTWIANF
    Jun 11, 2010
    8
    I liked it but won't watch it again. scarlett was a major plus but should have had more action scenes. the final fight scene with mick was way too short and confusing.for mickey to be a genius he should have lasted longer. paltrow as ceo,hmm, nevertheless it was a good action flick.
  48. JacobL
    Jun 5, 2010
    7
    I like super hero movies and I liked the first Iron man. After hearing all the hype and after numerous interferences I was finally able to check Iron Man out. AFter seeing it all I can say is that it was worth seeing but it wasn't as gripping as the first one. Iron Man 2 picks up shortly after the previous film The government is either considering Iron Man a threat or they want him I like super hero movies and I liked the first Iron man. After hearing all the hype and after numerous interferences I was finally able to check Iron Man out. AFter seeing it all I can say is that it was worth seeing but it wasn't as gripping as the first one. Iron Man 2 picks up shortly after the previous film The government is either considering Iron Man a threat or they want him to hand over the suit;but that's not that important. Also, there is a new villain on the scene called Ivan. On top of that Tony is dying. Here's my take on the story. The whole dying thing is interesting but it never really feels that critical. Now that the bad is out of the way lets talk about the good. Ivan is an awesome villain. The actor who plays him does a great job at bringing the character to life and making him interesting. On top of that, the villain's motivation is much more clear that the previous one's. As far as action goes the movie does not disappoint. All the action was awesome. However, I couldn't really get into. This was due either to the fact that I'm more mature or the fact that people were talking during the movie. Either way I was still able to enjoy the action but wasn't fully engrossed in it. One final thing I'd like to bring up is as always Robert Downey Jr. gives a spectacular performance creating a like able protagonist thats interesting. All and all Iron Man 2 is a good movie. The characters are interesting and the action is good. What prevents it from getting the solid 10/10 is the fact that it didn't suck me in as well as the first. Long story short if you liked the first Iron Man go see this one;but, if you didn't like the first one then don't see the sequel because it won't change your mind. P.S. For those of you who decide to see it, make sure that your expectations aren't set too high because if they are then this movie will probably disappoint you 5x more than it did for me. Expand
  49. EricJ.
    May 14, 2010
    8
    Definitely better than I was led to believe. They touch on all of the major Iron Man plot components that my comic geek friends said they should (such as Tony Stark's alcoholism) while still being entertaining. Not as good as the first onr, but still worth the price of admission.
  50. JeffB.
    May 15, 2010
    8
    Lots of fun, preserves quite a lot of what made the first one fun while carrying the narrative forward. Definitely settings things up for the Avengers!
  51. BethC.
    May 17, 2010
    7
    The story doesn't have the depth of the original, and Mickey Rourke's motivation for revenge is left a little murky. And I can't believe Gwyneth Paltrow's character as a CEO. But Robert Downey's still convincing, Scarlett Johanssen gets to kick butt, there's a great car chase at the Grand Prix - and, hey, it's a lot a fun.
  52. imS
    May 18, 2010
    5
    Disappointingly boring. None of the first movies' charm was present. Confusing story with pointless characters. Not enough action and boring special effects. Flat and dull.
  53. DanF
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Don't understand all the hate myself. I've seen it twice now, and it's tremendously enjoyable. Like Star Trek, this movie is a super good time, and I love Downey Jr. Lots of funny moments, good fight sequences and really, not remotely confusing. I love Rockwell as the Hammer industries guy, and the senator is great in his role. I think people just want to hate on sequels. Don't understand all the hate myself. I've seen it twice now, and it's tremendously enjoyable. Like Star Trek, this movie is a super good time, and I love Downey Jr. Lots of funny moments, good fight sequences and really, not remotely confusing. I love Rockwell as the Hammer industries guy, and the senator is great in his role. I think people just want to hate on sequels. I'm pretty picky about my movies, and this was on par with the first Iron Man. I don't think they were trying to create Batman; that's not who Iron Man is, so, naturally, the movie isn't about that. He's a cavalier super hero, and it's a cavalier, entertaining time. Expand
  54. DougR.
    May 21, 2010
    4
    A lot is different.: Pros: the action at scenes is good Downey Jr. played well Scarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrlet!!! Cons: Not enough Iron Man Stupid villain idea Why change Omega Red's name to Ivan? Get original!
  55. DominicD
    May 22, 2010
    9
    I enjoyed this movie, it wasn't as good as the first movie, but it still kept me entertained and that's what I expected going into this movie. The best things about this movie was Scarlett Johanssen's fight scene, Mickey Rourke's and Robert Downey's acting chops and Samuel L Jackson as Nick Fury.
  56. Marcus
    May 24, 2010
    8
    Great movie. Decent plot, solid acting, a lot of action and many "Laugh Out Loud" moments. In my opinion, it's just as good as it's predecessor. Either way, I definitely recommend watching this movie. Comic fans should definitely stay for the after-credits. Can't wait for the Avengers this 2012!
  57. BenS
    May 16, 2010
    7
    I have a lot of complaints about this movie and I ultimately think it could have been great if they had gone in a different direction. That being said, I thought it was alot of fun, which is all that counts. Downey is great once again. The story line of Tony Stark's barrillium heart killing him and his subsequent self-destruction is the main point of interest. The Justin Hammer I have a lot of complaints about this movie and I ultimately think it could have been great if they had gone in a different direction. That being said, I thought it was alot of fun, which is all that counts. Downey is great once again. The story line of Tony Stark's barrillium heart killing him and his subsequent self-destruction is the main point of interest. The Justin Hammer character was a hoot. The scene with Whiplash at the Grand Prix was very good, as was the house fight between Stark and Rhodey, which is greatly enhanced by the mashup work of the late DJ AM. Jon Favreau again does a very good directional job. And while they ultimately didn't need to be in the movie, I can never complain about the presence of the ultrasexy Scarlett Johannsen or the so-cool-he's-ice-cold Samuel L. Jackson. Those are the positives, there are some negatives, but I won't mention them because the good outweighs the bad. Expand
  58. Darrius
    May 18, 2010
    8
    Better than the first; more action, deeper plot. However, there are some UNREALISTIC scenes. Overall a good sequel.
  59. AnthonyB
    May 18, 2010
    8
    If you liked the first one, you'll like this one. It's basically the same movie.
  60. DavidR.
    May 18, 2010
    9
    Great movie funny action way more action well done director special effects were awesome. best film of the year 2010.
  61. HamblamHamblam
    May 24, 2010
    10
    One of best super hero movie ever!
  62. JamesP
    May 27, 2010
    9
    Not terribly original nor subject area accurate, but quite a lot of fun and LOL throughout. Good acting and amazing SFX.
  63. RayeS.
    Jun 11, 2010
    4
    I really wanted this movie to be good. Great cast, loved the first one, but this one is off its mark. I wanted to see more development of the characters relationships not a bunch of words thrown at each other. Felt let down. Makes me sad so much promise so little delivered.
  64. SabrinaF.
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie! is was like the perfect sequel to iron man!
  65. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    I'm going to go out on a limb and say that I preferred this film to 'Iron Man'. It is funnier, the action sequences are more creative, and the presence of Mikey Rourke does wonders for the film.
  66. Oct 18, 2010
    6
    The sequel lacks giving us something else to offer that wasn't already in Iron Man. However, Robert Downey Jr's performance makes this movie worth watching.
  67. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    When "Iron Man" was released in the early summer of 2008 it took the box-office and critics for a ride they would soon never forget, its huge critical and commercial success and Robert Downey Jr.'s natural charm and appeal as the hero Tony Stark landed this larger than life comic book adaptation amongst the ranks of greats such as Tim Burton's "Batman" and "Batman Returns",When "Iron Man" was released in the early summer of 2008 it took the box-office and critics for a ride they would soon never forget, its huge critical and commercial success and Robert Downey Jr.'s natural charm and appeal as the hero Tony Stark landed this larger than life comic book adaptation amongst the ranks of greats such as Tim Burton's "Batman" and "Batman Returns", Christopher Nolan's "Batman reboot "Batman Begins" and the number 2 greatest Batman film of all time, "The Dark Knight", "Richard Donner's "Superman" and "Superman II" and many other great comic book films. "Iron Man" also brought back to life the fledgling career of Robert Downey Jr. Shooting him straight to the top of superstar status after "Iron Man" finished it's run in theaters everyone had one question on there minds, when is the sequel coming out? Moviegoers waited anxiously to hear any news at all of a sequel to Jon Favreau's smash hit film. A few months after the closing of â Expand
  68. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    It's sufficiently entertaining but it could have been a lot better. The plot doesn't make much sense, and a lot of the characters are just annoying.
  69. Sep 5, 2010
    6
    A bit underwhelming and slow compared to the first one, but still mostly fun due to un-pretentiousness and playful irreverence so rare in superhero movies. Robert Downey Jr. is the (polonium) heart of the franchise both as the playboy Stark and the Hammeroid fighting Iron Man, Sam Rockwell makes a great weaselly villain, Mickey Rourke speaks Russian like a real Slavonic soul, ScarletA bit underwhelming and slow compared to the first one, but still mostly fun due to un-pretentiousness and playful irreverence so rare in superhero movies. Robert Downey Jr. is the (polonium) heart of the franchise both as the playboy Stark and the Hammeroid fighting Iron Man, Sam Rockwell makes a great weaselly villain, Mickey Rourke speaks Russian like a real Slavonic soul, Scarlet Johansson has only one proper super-spy action scene as Natasha Romanov/Black Widow but her ballet-like kickassery steals the show and begs her own movie. A decent popcorn movie. Expand
  70. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Iron Man 2 is a very good superhero film. The action scenes are pretty awesome,the story gets very well,but for my letdown size is that it gets too much corky scenes and it has dumbest dialogues for getting over the top. Mickey Rourke was so awesome as Whiplash,that will be my favorite villain in my top. Scarlett Johansson was awesome as Black Widow and she's kind of hot in the way,but farIron Man 2 is a very good superhero film. The action scenes are pretty awesome,the story gets very well,but for my letdown size is that it gets too much corky scenes and it has dumbest dialogues for getting over the top. Mickey Rourke was so awesome as Whiplash,that will be my favorite villain in my top. Scarlett Johansson was awesome as Black Widow and she's kind of hot in the way,but far the hottest marvel chick ever! Don Cheadle did good,but the same person like Terrence Howard does,but I prefer Howard better. Robert Downey Jr. plays very good,but not much as good since the first one. I've just seen him every scene that gets more dumber and to be so stupid in the way and like I said it's more over the top and even gets weirder. So I really like this movie,but I heart times that I love is the first Iron Man movie that I always love to watch. But enjoy,not bad but in the good way. Expand
  71. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    It had some flaws, but overall I thought it was a great film. Robert Downey Jr. is one of my favorite actors from Iron Man and Sherlock Holmes, he's definitely great. This movie definitely entertained me, it didn't get boring like some movies do on sequels at least.
  72. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    A fun movie to watch even with the lack of plot. Story was so-so, acting was pretty good, but it just felt as if this IM2 was a bridge to the 3rd Iron Man movie who will hopefully be much better.
  73. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    Meets expectations. That is all I wanted to say but there is a 150 character minimum for reviews, 131 more characters then I needed to make my point.
  74. May 10, 2011
    9
    The first Iron Man was very good and enjoyable. Iron Man 2 was bigger than the first one. Bigger explosions, funny dialogue, and a great performance from Robert Downey Jr. as he basically embodied Tony Stark with an updated change to his character. But the sequel is no "The Dark Knight". I still enjoyed but I just felt like something was missing.
  75. Aug 27, 2010
    4
    It's easy to write off "Iron Man 2" as easy enjoyment, but let's look at what we have here: Mickey Rourke plays the blandest Russian villain imaginable; Robert Downey Jr. pulls off the role of Tony Stark as well as last time, but the bickering between him and Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper gets worn thin pretty quickly; Scarlett Johansson shows up supposedly to introduce romantic strain betweenIt's easy to write off "Iron Man 2" as easy enjoyment, but let's look at what we have here: Mickey Rourke plays the blandest Russian villain imaginable; Robert Downey Jr. pulls off the role of Tony Stark as well as last time, but the bickering between him and Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper gets worn thin pretty quickly; Scarlett Johansson shows up supposedly to introduce romantic strain between Stark and Pepper, but it soon becomes apparent that she is more there for the audience to ogle at (which I did). Saddest of all, the most interesting part of the movie was the Avengers subplot, which in the end really has no influence in the realm of the movie. And the discovery of Thor's Hammer at the end of the closing credits reveals all - "Iron Man 2" really isn't much more than a mediary between the (deserved) hype of the first "Iron Man" and the hype of the upcoming "Thor" movie. And this is why no one likes a critic. But seriously, Scarlett Johansson is hot. Expand
  76. Dec 5, 2010
    7
    It doesnt out-do its predecessor like The Dark Knight did, but it gives the original justice. It's the effective sequel and it does an amazing job with what its given. The action is still great, the jokes are still funny, the acting is still great, and the character's are still interesting. Although with Stark's condition it's a little less optimistic than its predecessor, but that doesntIt doesnt out-do its predecessor like The Dark Knight did, but it gives the original justice. It's the effective sequel and it does an amazing job with what its given. The action is still great, the jokes are still funny, the acting is still great, and the character's are still interesting. Although with Stark's condition it's a little less optimistic than its predecessor, but that doesnt ruin it, nor does it make it bad. It's not as good as the first but it's still a grest and effective sequel Expand
  77. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    I quite liked it. A couple of plot holes (like, if Scarlet Johanssen could hack Rhodey's suit from the Hammer terminal, why couldn't she call off the drones, etc), but all in all a fun, enjoyable movie, and I thought everyone onscreen turned in great performances.

    The complaints about confusing plots and multiple villains are really pretty laughable. The first had multiple villains, and
    I quite liked it. A couple of plot holes (like, if Scarlet Johanssen could hack Rhodey's suit from the Hammer terminal, why couldn't she call off the drones, etc), but all in all a fun, enjoyable movie, and I thought everyone onscreen turned in great performances.

    The complaints about confusing plots and multiple villains are really pretty laughable. The first had multiple villains, and the plot is pretty straightforward assuming you were kind enough to leave a little paste uneaten in grade school.
    Expand
  78. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    I personally thought it was same old, same old. I didn't love Iron Man 1, but I still liked it. Same goes for this sequel. However, this movie did get me pumped for movies like Thor, Captain America, and the Avengers!
  79. Oct 25, 2010
    0
    Paycheck movie extraordinaire.
    Just awful. RDjr's and Don Cheadle's talents are utterly wasted on this exercise in big budget Hollywood garbage. Gwynth Paltrow has no talent, so she's well within her element here. The writing is so uninspired, and the BIG part Jon Favreau plays is frankly lame, and not a little self serving. Where were the editors on this movie too, because it has massive
    Paycheck movie extraordinaire.
    Just awful. RDjr's and Don Cheadle's talents are utterly wasted on this exercise in big budget Hollywood garbage. Gwynth Paltrow has no talent, so she's well within her element here. The writing is so uninspired, and the BIG part Jon Favreau plays is frankly lame, and not a little self serving. Where were the editors on this movie too, because it has massive balance problems, and endless filler scenes? This was no doubt a bridging movie to get us into the much vaunted trilogy territory. If there is an I.M.3, and it seems impossible there won't be, you can count me out.
    Expand
  80. Oct 18, 2010
    7
    The second Iron Man film by its own standards is a fun comic book film that stands tall over your basic comic book efforts. However it generally comes across so flat in tone, lacking any real danger that it comes across more like a pointless and unneccessary extension of the first Iron Man. It is however filled with great performances from Robert Downey Jr. and the supporting cast but aThe second Iron Man film by its own standards is a fun comic book film that stands tall over your basic comic book efforts. However it generally comes across so flat in tone, lacking any real danger that it comes across more like a pointless and unneccessary extension of the first Iron Man. It is however filled with great performances from Robert Downey Jr. and the supporting cast but a sequel that has so much potential that instead settles for being merely mediocre is close to being unforgiveable. That said however, it still could have been much worse and still remains a fun watch. Expand
  81. Nov 4, 2010
    6
    I was looking forward to this as i enjoyed the last film, even though i didn't think it was fantastic, but this film seemed to be all over the place and was very annoying and tedious at times, especially between the exchanges of dialogue between Downey and Paltrow.
  82. Oct 15, 2010
    5
    Wow....what a disappointment this was. More action to be sure, but for me, just having more action doesn't cut it. you have to bring over everything that made the first one great: A coherent, well told story, and interesting characters...which the second one did not. While I don't think this is the train wreck that a lot of people make it out to be, I just do not understand how so manyWow....what a disappointment this was. More action to be sure, but for me, just having more action doesn't cut it. you have to bring over everything that made the first one great: A coherent, well told story, and interesting characters...which the second one did not. While I don't think this is the train wreck that a lot of people make it out to be, I just do not understand how so many people can say this is BETTER than the first. Expand
  83. Oct 27, 2010
    6
    I knew what to expect from this movie and i wasn't much disappointed. Some good action scenes, some funny lines is what characterizes Iron Man and Robert Downey Jr. the perfect actor for this role. He is very charming and funny
  84. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    10 SUPERB!

    This movie is sublime in every way. I totally love it :) I heard a lot of negative stuff about it, and because of that i didn't go to the theater to see, but man, am i sorry i didn't go!!!
    I do NOT understand the criticism it has hat...in no way!
  85. Nov 14, 2010
    4
    Very disappointing movie. The first Iron Man movie (2008) was a thousand times way better then this one. It was a long boring pathetic two hours strait. At the end, we were all expecting the big fight between Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) and Ivan Vanko (Mickey Rourke), but it lasted like 45 seconds. It's a little bit stupid because, Ivan was preparing for that fight through almost theVery disappointing movie. The first Iron Man movie (2008) was a thousand times way better then this one. It was a long boring pathetic two hours strait. At the end, we were all expecting the big fight between Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) and Ivan Vanko (Mickey Rourke), but it lasted like 45 seconds. It's a little bit stupid because, Ivan was preparing for that fight through almost the whole movie. All a long the film, was a bunch of dialogue with a few action scene.This movie was a big waste of my time. While watching, I couldn't wait until it was over. Expand
  86. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    Though not nearly as inspired as the first, this summer sequel boasts solid effects, some sweet action scenes, comedy and with characterization by a great cast. It is a good film, not the best, but definitely worth a good look.
  87. Nov 30, 2010
    2
    This movie is a dud. It's just as bad as "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen." Mickey Rourke as a Russian scientist? Give me a break, or at least my money back.
  88. Nov 30, 2010
    6
    This movie suffers from what i call the "the second movie drop." The first movie had sparks flying and this intriguing edge that made you want more. This second addition to the Iron Man series was interesting for a bit but then became obvious and dragged on for long period of the movie.
  89. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    After the first Iron Man movie I was expecting a great sequel, but this fell short because they tried to add to much drama (think Spider-Man 3) and took out a lot of the humor and action that made the first one pop, while the first one was awesome this one was just ok.
  90. May 28, 2011
    7
    I was a bit disappointed with the first movie and to be honest, I think this sequel is better. Great special effects and Mickey Rourke was fantastic as well as Robert Downey Jr. who was as energetic as always.
  91. Jan 11, 2011
    7
    There is something exciting every time we watch Iron Man. Complete action-packed, great characters interest, and interludes with effective humors. Tony Starks is an eccentric, self-centered (even sometimes looks childish) but genius multi-billionaire who builds Iron Man suit. Thiz time, he faced health issue and ready to confront another threads from his business rival, Justin Hammer (SamThere is something exciting every time we watch Iron Man. Complete action-packed, great characters interest, and interludes with effective humors. Tony Starks is an eccentric, self-centered (even sometimes looks childish) but genius multi-billionaire who builds Iron Man suit. Thiz time, he faced health issue and ready to confront another threads from his business rival, Justin Hammer (Sam Rockwell) and mysterious Whiplash (Mickey Rourke). In the first Iron Man two years ago, I said to everyone that Tony Starks was too humanist on the movie, that was wrong. Starks should be appears more **** to fill his original character (If you asked me thiz kind of stuff, well, comics was my world. I remembered my dad bought me first Iron Man issue from overseas). But on thiz sequel, Iron Man character really fills my expectations. Robert Downey Jr. acted amazingly well, continues his first exhilarating performance. The most powerful element in Iron Man movies is definitely Downey Jr. Mickey Rourke is our other attention after his Oscar-nominated THE WRESTLER (2008). He is playing save on his villain-character and it looked well. On the fight scene, Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow was surprisingly kick-ass. I did not know was the camera angle or the fight choreography which made it worked, but Johansson really left behind her girly image. Unfortunately, I do not like Nick Fury character (Samuel L. Jackson) which reconstructs from Fury original character. Other Casts were: Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, etc. The movie directed by an actor who luckily thrived on thiz franchise, Jon Favreau. Some of his Directing credits were ZATHURA: A SPACE ADVENTURE(2005) and the comedy ELF (2003). It is almost very difficult to say thiz movie is not a good one. Apparently it is an excellent and entertaining movie for everyone. Cannot wait for another Starks Expo!

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  92. Jan 22, 2011
    8
    It's disappointing that Iron Man 2 has a case of sequel-idus, with too many characters crammed and a few too man plot lines for you to really be engaged with all of the characters. Still though, Iron Man 2 has excellent acting, stellar and improved action, great special effects, and good humor. It is not as good as the first, but for a fun summer blockbuster, you can't go wrong with Iron Man 2.
  93. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    Though not as smart or inventive as its predecessor, Iron Man 2 is an entertaining follow-up to the 2008 movie. In fact, in terms of action scenes and villains, this movie is better. Sam Rockwell is good as Justin Hammer, Tony Stark's oily competitor and Mickey Rourke presents a threat as Whiplash. However, the movie isn't as witty or as clever as before. Iron Man 2 is constructed like aThough not as smart or inventive as its predecessor, Iron Man 2 is an entertaining follow-up to the 2008 movie. In fact, in terms of action scenes and villains, this movie is better. Sam Rockwell is good as Justin Hammer, Tony Stark's oily competitor and Mickey Rourke presents a threat as Whiplash. However, the movie isn't as witty or as clever as before. Iron Man 2 is constructed like a typical superhero movie and while this is not the worst thing in the world, it does make the story feel a little more by-the-numbers. Performances are good all round, especially Downey Jr., who clearly enjoys playing the eccentric billionaire. Expand
  94. May 30, 2016
    5
    Tiring and uneventfully, continuing the great Iron Man is predictable and too big, not honoring the expectations created for a sequel that was going to happen.
  95. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    I find exactly what I expected, and that was exactly what I found in the first part. It's fun, entertaining, and compared to other recent action movies of this kind, has much more sense and not having that many absurd action scenes of those you sometimes don't even know what's happening.
  96. May 6, 2012
    6
    Passable effort which lacks a real unstoppable super villain. Downey is excellent as usual and the movie works the storyline well to get Nick Fury involved. Lacking real action scenes until the final battle it concentrates on character and storyline development so those expecting an action packed CGI dream may be disappointed.
  97. Jun 4, 2011
    5
    I think this film isn't as good as the first. A lot of Scenes weren't needed and felt they needed a better plot. Yes Tony Stark found out he was dying, that's sad. But there are only two main action scenes between him and the Villain and most of the film Tony Stark thought he was dead. I'm sorry I cannot give this film a good review. It's not a terrible film its ok but it's lacking of PlotI think this film isn't as good as the first. A lot of Scenes weren't needed and felt they needed a better plot. Yes Tony Stark found out he was dying, that's sad. But there are only two main action scenes between him and the Villain and most of the film Tony Stark thought he was dead. I'm sorry I cannot give this film a good review. It's not a terrible film its ok but it's lacking of Plot just bores me. Expand
  98. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Great follow up of the first Iron Man. Tony Stark is yet again well portrayed by Robert Downey Jr. and the cast got a really nice add from the Avengers (yes, I'm pointing out Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow). Plot is great, action is great and acting is great. Great super-hero movie!
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    60
    Rourke and Rockwell make satisfying, complementary villains, while Downey Jr. delivers again. Shame this sequel feels inessential, over-busy and a little, well, mechanical. Nothing they can’t put right for Iron Man 3.
  2. Well, that didn't take long. Everything fun and terrific about "Iron Man," a mere two years ago, has vanished with its sequel. In its place, Iron Man 2 has substituted noise, confusion, multiple villains, irrelevant stunts and misguided story lines.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Isn't as much fun as its predecessor, but by the time the smoke clears, it'll do.