Iron Man 2

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 878 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 878

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 1, 2016
    4
    A very underwhelming sequel, that lacks the excitement of the first. This movie is very boring and has so much going on it is hard to get invested in any of it.
  2. May 30, 2016
    5
    Tiring and uneventfully, continuing the great Iron Man is predictable and too big, not honoring the expectations created for a sequel that was going to happen.
  3. May 1, 2016
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was pretty excited for this film before it's release due to the unique takes of the superhero genre that the previous film took. I was also excited to see what direction the story would be since it ended with Stark revealing his secret identity. In some regards, the film does take some risks like showing Stark's fame and the price he pays. Once again the best part of this film is Robert Downey Jr. with his charisma. He is an expert at playing the likable jerk. One of the strongest moments was when he was wondering what to do with his life after he discovered that his chest piece is slowly killing him. Mickey Rourke is a pretty good villain as Whiplash but unfortunately he is not on the screen that much. The villain with the most screen time was Justin Hammer who is supposed to represent what Stark used to be as a war monger but the Iron Monger already played that role. As a matter of fact, the Hammer in the comics was a suave business man who was an old man that is always one step ahead of Iron Man. The Hammer in this film however was a young cocky industrialist who takes up too much screen time that deserved to focus on Rourke. Scarlet Johansson did as good of a job as she could have considering that she barely had a purpose in the story. The film is right with humor including a funny segment with a dud weapon humorlessly called "the ex wife" and Stan Lee's cameo as Hugh Hefner. The story line is really nothing more that filler for the Avengers film but it will keep you entertained for a brief period of time despite its flaws. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2016
    5
    Definitely not the best Marvel film, this movie is convoluted, incoherent and messy. The good thing about it is of course RDJ's Iron man and also Don Cheadle's War machine. Except that, there is not much to the film, very generic, cliché and tiresome. There's to much bad guys and sub plots to handle, so none of it is well written and developed enough. Its big CGI mess, with sparkle of goodDefinitely not the best Marvel film, this movie is convoluted, incoherent and messy. The good thing about it is of course RDJ's Iron man and also Don Cheadle's War machine. Except that, there is not much to the film, very generic, cliché and tiresome. There's to much bad guys and sub plots to handle, so none of it is well written and developed enough. Its big CGI mess, with sparkle of good in it and a great performance by RDJ. A one-time watch Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2016
    5
    I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed the first film. I thought it did a good job at cameos as well (building towards the Avengers film). The acting and the action was solid as well. It was just a little too corny and generic for my taste. Also I did not like the main villian in the film, Im sure there could have been a better one for them to pick.
  6. Mar 29, 2016
    5
    This movie was a shell of the first one, lacking the heart which made Iron Man an outstanding entry to this franchise. The movie was plagued by weak villains, which have now become a trend in the MCU, and some forced comedy.
  7. Mar 28, 2016
    1
    Proof that while Downey deserves due credit for being the only actor who could take on the role of Tony Stark, Iron Man 2, much like Iron Man 3, shows that the franchise doesn't work well with Tony as a stand alone character, and there's only so many gimmicks a movie can throw at the audience before if gets tiring.
  8. Mar 28, 2016
    5
    Take out the epic final fight or the opening sequence with the villain, and you have a movie that feels unnecessary and doesn't do anything new with the idea of Iron Man, not a good sequel in my opinion.
  9. Mar 27, 2016
    4
    A very underwhelming sequel, that lacks the excitement of the first. This movie is very boring and has so much going on it is hard to get invested in any of it.
  10. Mar 23, 2016
    6
    Well, Iron man is back, with nothing interesting to show, with dull story-telling, not really action-packed but not as romantic as the first one, at least. This film with unremarkable characters and a very simple plot it's not the best and neither the worst of marvel universe.
  11. Mar 20, 2016
    6
    “Iron Man 2” isn’t as much fun as its predecessor, but by the time the smoke clears, it’ll do. Much like “The Dark Knight,” this Paramount release brings an enormous stash of goodwill to the party, thanks to a well-crafted origin tale whose popularity fueled anticipation for a follow-up. Yet while the first go-round for this lesser-known Marvel hero benefited from its freshness and visual“Iron Man 2” isn’t as much fun as its predecessor, but by the time the smoke clears, it’ll do. Much like “The Dark Knight,” this Paramount release brings an enormous stash of goodwill to the party, thanks to a well-crafted origin tale whose popularity fueled anticipation for a follow-up. Yet while the first go-round for this lesser-known Marvel hero benefited from its freshness and visual flair, the beats here are more familiar, the pacing more uneven. Given the demand, though, that will hardly matter, and this armored adventure promises to be a money-making machine that clicks on all cylinders.

    In a sense, the virtues and weaknesses of the latest movie are reversed from those of the original. That film cleverly buzzed along in detailing how Iron Man came to be — while establishing Robert Downey Jr. as a niftily cool, smartass superhero — then fizzled a bit toward the end, amid a so-so CGI melee.

    Here, the movie bounces through various travails assailing its hero, Downey’s Tony Stark — whose high-tech heart gizmo is also wreaking havoc on his body — in less compelling fashion. Fortunately, that gives way to a final 35 minutes or so that delivers the goods, with two Iron Men (with the sidekick now played by Don Cheadle) in full-throttle action. Throw in Scarlett Johansson kicking butt as an acrobatic super-spy in a skin-tight suit (perhaps wisely never referred to by her comicbook name, Black Widow) and, well, what’s not to like?

    If there are more heroes around, as is so often the case with sequels, there’s villain inflation as well. Stark’s enemies include a Russian physicist (Mickey Rourke, much closer to his role in “Sin City” than “The Wrestler”) with his own access to advanced technology and a long-simmering grudge against the Stark family; and Justin Hammer (Sam Rockwell), an oily defense contractor desperate for his own super-suit.

    There are enough fun moments in Jon Favreau’s playful direction (from Justin Theroux’s workmanlike script) and Downey’s performance — a tycoon who’s equal parts Warren Buffett and Kid Rock — to satisfy a weekend audience, but one needs a forgiving nature to get past the flabby midsection. The special effects, meanwhile, are more plentiful and polished once they fully kick into high gear, though there are still shots where that gleaming suit looks a bit more animated than it should.

    All told, “Iron Man 2” suffers the same fate as many a sequel. Where the first film felt buoyant and occasionally inspired in helpfully demonstrating that, done right, there’s considerable treasure to be culled even from second-tier occupants of the Marvel universe, the new pic feels more duty-bound and industrial. As further evidence of the apparent desire to cover all bases, there are cameos by Christiane Amanpour (then still at CNN) and Fox News’ Bill O’Reilly, as well as a slimy senator (Garry Shandling) being interviewed on MSNBC.

    That’s not to say the movie lacks its charms. But as Tony Stark’s free-spirited CEO might attest, while serving the needs of a major conglomerate has its perks, the task also comes with more than its share of obligations.
    Expand
  12. Mar 2, 2016
    5
    For a sequel to one of the greatest superhero movies ever made, I gotta say, I was quite disappointed! It's not a terrible film in any way, the action was fine and Robert Downey Jr is still awesome as Tony Stark! But the movie is just trying to be so big that it it gets tiresome and nothing goes anywhere!
  13. Feb 24, 2016
    2
    I didn't like this movie. Sorry guys. It just din't work for me. Robert downey junior was trying so hard to save this movie from the catastrophe it was but he just couldn't The war machine was cool but after a very good first movie this one is laughably bad. The villain is a joke and the story this movie was given didn't do much for me. The scrip and most of the acting is way off from theI didn't like this movie. Sorry guys. It just din't work for me. Robert downey junior was trying so hard to save this movie from the catastrophe it was but he just couldn't The war machine was cool but after a very good first movie this one is laughably bad. The villain is a joke and the story this movie was given didn't do much for me. The scrip and most of the acting is way off from the first This movie just was not very good. The fight scene with war machine was good but that and Robert downy juniors performance cannot save this movie. I think this movie will go down as one of the most hated iron man sequls Expand
  14. Feb 21, 2016
    9
    La primera película fue todo un éxito, era inevitable una secuela del héroe blindado y necesaria respondiendo lo que dejo la primera, su relación con Pepper y el dilema de que haya revelado su identidad de super héroe al mundo, eso le trae consecuencias al gobierno para que ceda su armadura, aunque a la vez trata con la muerte que lo orilla a perderse en sí mismo, acarriándole másLa primera película fue todo un éxito, era inevitable una secuela del héroe blindado y necesaria respondiendo lo que dejo la primera, su relación con Pepper y el dilema de que haya revelado su identidad de super héroe al mundo, eso le trae consecuencias al gobierno para que ceda su armadura, aunque a la vez trata con la muerte que lo orilla a perderse en sí mismo, acarriándole más problemas, no será un problema de borrechera como en los cómics, pero cumple bien con ello, la historia no está enredada del todo, de ello tiene mucho que ver, la envidia y venganza de ambos antagonistas y su alianza son muy claras, a pesar de que muchos dicen que esta película es mala, a mi me parece mejor que la primera en muchas cosas como la acción, aparte ha sido un buen cimiento para algo más grande que iba a venir, como la introducción de la Viuda Negra (interpreta por Scarlett Johansson) que aparte de hermosa, da caña, Rhodey, ahora interpretado por Don Cheadle me convence más que Howard con el personaje, aparte fue genial que ahora lo introduzcan como Máquina de Guerra, aparte que tiene buena química con Downey, Mickey Rourke le falto poco para que pudiera ser un gran villano, pero al final no lo fué y entiendo su molestia en este proyecto, seguro tiene mejores papeles en otras películas, Sam Rockwell me parecío mejor villano que Rourke, pero no en el sentido de maldad, si no de lo rídiculo que es y su carisma, si esta película me gustó más que la primera por todo lo que he dicho y sobre todo al quedarme más tiempo noté que había cierto objeto que sabría de más para el año siguiente. Expand
  15. Feb 11, 2016
    5
    Iron man 2 was the first sequel in the Mcu that went into development almost directly after Iron man. One of the best things about this film is a great introduction of the characters Black widow and War machine. As well as that the action is improved over Iron man and so are the costumes. However there were many elements of this movie that did not improve over iron man. Firstly the villainIron man 2 was the first sequel in the Mcu that went into development almost directly after Iron man. One of the best things about this film is a great introduction of the characters Black widow and War machine. As well as that the action is improved over Iron man and so are the costumes. However there were many elements of this movie that did not improve over iron man. Firstly the villain continues the marvel movie trend of not having great villains, with yet another bland villain plotline. The plot was very average at best and the returning cast are less enjoyable, especially Robert Downey jr. Altogether Iron Man 2 is an average marvel movie and although it has sparks of enjoyment it is down there with the Mcu's worst. Expand
  16. Jan 16, 2016
    7
    I thought this sequel worked just fine for Iron Man. However, it's not as great as the original anyways, but who really cares about that? Just plain action as you people really wanted.
  17. Jan 5, 2016
    3
    WHAT I LIKE: After the success of their first Iron Man, Marvel rushed to make a sequel - and it shows. What's good? The action scenes are okay (especially the Monaco scene), as is the overall plot, and the same cast appear on point and excellent again.
    WHAT I DON'T LIKE: This is a genuinely poor film on so many levels. The first act is forgettable and only really serves to logistically
    WHAT I LIKE: After the success of their first Iron Man, Marvel rushed to make a sequel - and it shows. What's good? The action scenes are okay (especially the Monaco scene), as is the overall plot, and the same cast appear on point and excellent again.
    WHAT I DON'T LIKE: This is a genuinely poor film on so many levels. The first act is forgettable and only really serves to logistically set up seeds for the rest of the movie. The second? You get to see Iron Man protrayed in an oddly comical and horribble way, it actually makes you angry... Act 3? A long, dull action scene unfolds with a distinct lack of humour where it's needed, plus a distinct lack of Terrence Howard. Really Marvel, you should have taken the time to get this one right.
    VERDICT: A completely soleless and dull sequel to the fantastic 'Iron Man,' the second film does little to impress. Shame - the trailers looked rather promising.
    Expand
  18. Nov 2, 2015
    7
    The sequel to the Iron Man franchise isn't as bad as people say it is. However, it isn't as good as its predecessor. With fun action scenes, and entertaining characters, Iron Man 2 can be a fun movie to watch, but its atrocious villain was a low point in this movie.
  19. Aug 6, 2015
    8
    Iron Man 2 cuenta con un increíble reparto, con grandes actuaciones (Robert Downey Jr sigue siendo brillante y excelente) y unos excelentes efectos especiales. Pero a diferencia de su primera parte (que es de las mejores películas de super héroes que eh visto) pierde ese toque de humor negro que se presentaba en su antecesora, ademas, las secuencias de acción no solo dejan mucho queIron Man 2 cuenta con un increíble reparto, con grandes actuaciones (Robert Downey Jr sigue siendo brillante y excelente) y unos excelentes efectos especiales. Pero a diferencia de su primera parte (que es de las mejores películas de super héroes que eh visto) pierde ese toque de humor negro que se presentaba en su antecesora, ademas, las secuencias de acción no solo dejan mucho que desear, sino también hay muy pocas secuencias de acción, de hecho hay mas dialogo que acción en esta segunda parte. No es una mala película, pero sin duda deja mucho que desear. Expand
  20. May 23, 2015
    8
    I honestly think that this Iron Man is the best of the 3 (that are out as of 2015). The original comes in a close second. This movie features more more action, more blowing stuff up, and more Iron Man! It also introduces War Machine, who serves as a nice addition to the movie. It's written well with some humor and some dark parts. It still stands as one of my favorite Marvel movies (butI honestly think that this Iron Man is the best of the 3 (that are out as of 2015). The original comes in a close second. This movie features more more action, more blowing stuff up, and more Iron Man! It also introduces War Machine, who serves as a nice addition to the movie. It's written well with some humor and some dark parts. It still stands as one of my favorite Marvel movies (but this isn't to say it's fantastic). Expand
  21. May 15, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a good film with good action scenes with an interesting hero, but one of the major flaws is villain, or if the bad guys, they are not very interesting and occasionally get to be boring, and the producers made the same thing they did in the first film, using armor to face Iron Man, do not need to use a similar equipment with the iron man, he could have done differently, in short is a good movie but does not compare to the first. Expand
  22. May 11, 2015
    7
    Iron Man 2 was a really solidly entertaining sequel to the first movie. Robert Downey Jr's health problem throughout made for an interesting basis for a conflict, as it isolated him while also providing opportunities for personal reflection and growth on his part. The back story with his father was also a neat opportunity to explore Robert Downey Jr's character, while the introduction ofIron Man 2 was a really solidly entertaining sequel to the first movie. Robert Downey Jr's health problem throughout made for an interesting basis for a conflict, as it isolated him while also providing opportunities for personal reflection and growth on his part. The back story with his father was also a neat opportunity to explore Robert Downey Jr's character, while the introduction of Scarlett Johansson's character gave him a good reason to argue with Gwynaeth Paltrow and develop that romantic interest. I thought there was a good pace and a lot of action, and I always really enjoy the planning scenes where he's tinkering in his workshop--the special effects for all the displays are visually engaging, and some of the best banter is between Robert Downey Jr and his computers. Also, this movie has really good villains--the Russian villain is menacing in his efficacy, and he has a great foil in the inept and utterly detestable CEO who's hired him to try to ruin Stark. Overall I thought this was a solid addition to the franchise. Expand
  23. May 2, 2015
    5
    Lackluster. this movie is boring as hell and is not a good sequel! what a total cash grab! this movie was a complete joke and continually dissappointed as it went along. Not good. aside from the score, the acting, and the very little action still looked visually stunning
  24. May 1, 2015
    10
    This movie may not have such a battle against an enemy but it was very well composed, there are funny aspects in the movie, there's action (but not that much as expected), and the story behind makes it worth.
  25. Apr 22, 2015
    5
    he first Iron Man arrived at cinemas an oddball underdog — it was, lest we forget, a minor-property superhero movie from the director of Zathura, starring Zodiac’s third lead — and blasted out a gold-and-red-plated megahit. Now, two years on, things have changed. Robert Downey Jr. is, for the first time in his 40-year career, a giant star, while Ol’ Shellhead’s steely visage is famous fromhe first Iron Man arrived at cinemas an oddball underdog — it was, lest we forget, a minor-property superhero movie from the director of Zathura, starring Zodiac’s third lead — and blasted out a gold-and-red-plated megahit. Now, two years on, things have changed. Robert Downey Jr. is, for the first time in his 40-year career, a giant star, while Ol’ Shellhead’s steely visage is famous from Peru to Timbuktu. And here comes the sequel, hotly awaited as one of the year’s biggest releases, the second instalment of a metallurgy-based action franchise that’s sure to roll on and on. The Wrath Of Can, if you will.

    Like the sequels to Stars Trek and Wars, Iron Man 2 is a tale of revenge. But, unlike those films, this is one of the breeziest blockbusters you’re likely to see. There’s potential for darkness here: when we meet Tony, he’s hiding from everyone the fact he’s being gradually poisoned by his suit; villain Ivan Vanko (Mickey Rourke) is hellbent on avenging perceived injustices done to his father; and Jim Rhodes (Don Cheadle) is considering betraying his pal by teaming with rival arms dealer Justin Hammer (Sam Rockwell). But Jon Favreau, it seems, didn’t want to make his Part Two a downer. He’s out to have fun, not only in front of the camera (his chauffeur character, Happy Hogan, has been bumped up from cameo to supporting role, helping out Tony in two action scenes and getting pinned between Scarlett Johansson’s legs) but behind it too, focusing on gyrating cheerleaders and gleaming tech over inner turmoil.

    Not that there’s anything wrong with fun, of course, especially in a film about a millionaire with a magic flying suit. It’s just a shame it rarely feels there’s much to threaten Tony Stark’s perfect world. In the movie’s stand-out sequence, Vanko launches an assault on his nemesis at the Monaco Grand Prix, twirling twin whips that fizz with megavoltage electricity. As he effortlessly slices up oncoming cars and advances, cackling, on a suitless and scared Stark, it actually feels like there’s something at stake, that our hero has met his Waterloo. It’s a feeling that’s sadly absent from the rest of the runtime.

    Maybe it’s the fact that two of cinema’s most charismatic, weathered actors perform their most dramatic moments with faces cloaked by metal. The climax is a particular disappointment, a beefed-up re-run of the last film’s final reel, in which featureless metal men thump each other until one falls over.

    Rourke and Rockwell make satisfying, complementary villains, while Downey Jr. delivers again. Shame this sequel feels inessential, over-busy and a little, well, mechanical. Nothing they can’t put right for Iron Man 3.
    Expand
  26. Apr 7, 2015
    6
    Iron Man 2 is the typical cliched marvel film. A bad guy wants to be really bad and a good guy wants to stop him. Oh, well, watching Robert Downey Jr. in another movie as Iron Man is always going to be really awesome.
  27. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    Robert Downey Jr. personifies his role as Iron Man; his dry humor, his one liners, his ability to handle fan fare, and an ego the size of Antarctica. Despite the reviews, I liked seeing Sam Rockwell in this too, I thought he made a good rival. This is not a straight superhero/supervillain fight to the death kind of movie; there is a lot of dialogue and plot that helps lead to theRobert Downey Jr. personifies his role as Iron Man; his dry humor, his one liners, his ability to handle fan fare, and an ego the size of Antarctica. Despite the reviews, I liked seeing Sam Rockwell in this too, I thought he made a good rival. This is not a straight superhero/supervillain fight to the death kind of movie; there is a lot of dialogue and plot that helps lead to the Avengers. I enjoyed it though, and I think you will too. Expand
  28. Mar 2, 2015
    8
    Good movie, sets up well after the first Iron Man. RDJ still seems like he was born to play the part, his sarcasm and arrogant wit totally make the movie worth. Gweneth Paltrow, despite me not liking her personally, seems to be coming more on her own as Pepper Pots. I thought Don Cheadle replacing Terrance Howard as Rhodey seemed a bit awkward and he seemed out of place, kind of similar toGood movie, sets up well after the first Iron Man. RDJ still seems like he was born to play the part, his sarcasm and arrogant wit totally make the movie worth. Gweneth Paltrow, despite me not liking her personally, seems to be coming more on her own as Pepper Pots. I thought Don Cheadle replacing Terrance Howard as Rhodey seemed a bit awkward and he seemed out of place, kind of similar to Maggie Gyllenhaal replacing Katie Holmes in The Dark Knight. I felt Vanko/Whiplash had a lot of potential but seemed to take a backseat a bit to Justin Hammer by the movies end and I felt he was killed to easily. Rourke was great but by the time the movie was over, you felt as if his potential was wasted. Expand
  29. Jan 17, 2015
    5
    Being the sequel to the film that started it all for the MCU, I had high hopes for Iron Man 2. Unfortunately, the sequel was shockingly underwhelming and dull save for a few good action sequences. This was due to more than a few unnecessary subplots, dialog that just didn't feel as witty or funny as the first, and the villain is completely underdeveloped. Downey is still great as IronBeing the sequel to the film that started it all for the MCU, I had high hopes for Iron Man 2. Unfortunately, the sequel was shockingly underwhelming and dull save for a few good action sequences. This was due to more than a few unnecessary subplots, dialog that just didn't feel as witty or funny as the first, and the villain is completely underdeveloped. Downey is still great as Iron Man, although Mickey Rourke was severely miscast as the villain.

    5.3/10
    Expand
  30. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    Iron Man 2 è un film spettacolare,con una trama fantastica ed emozionante,il migliore della trilogia dedicata al supereroe ed il miglior film Marvel assieme a The Avengers e Captain America: The Winter Soldier.
  31. Dec 22, 2014
    5
    Most of us enjoyed watching the first film ,now most of you are excited to watch Iron Man 2 but after seeing it you're damn Unsatisfied and Disappointed.Iron Man 2 is not the sequel we wanted it to be,boring and Has weak Plot with a very weak villain.despite Scarlet Johansson and Robert Downey Jr's Great performance the movie still falls flat..
  32. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Iron Man 2 has some things that were better than Iron Man (better effects and action) and some things worse (character development and pacing). But Iron Man 2 is still a great and fun movie to watch even if you aren't a die hard Marvel fan. 8/10 (Great)
  33. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    Iron Man 2 is an awesome movie which features plenty of action and great CGI. It has an interesting plot and is highly recommended for everyone. Overall, this is a pretty good movie.
  34. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    The movie is cheesy at times but it was overall a very good movie. i think that the special affects were really good and it had the same quality as most marvel movies.
  35. Nov 13, 2014
    4
    Whereas Iron Man featured much character development in his first movie, his personality is on reset for...MONEY!!!!$$$$$. This movie does its best to be the original Iron Man, but fails in the fact that its sole purpose is a cashgrab and a year-filler until the Avengers came out. I would still enjoy it if didn't follow overused plot devices and had less than 13 minutes of action (when itWhereas Iron Man featured much character development in his first movie, his personality is on reset for...MONEY!!!!$$$$$. This movie does its best to be the original Iron Man, but fails in the fact that its sole purpose is a cashgrab and a year-filler until the Avengers came out. I would still enjoy it if didn't follow overused plot devices and had less than 13 minutes of action (when it claims to be an action movie!). Expand
  36. Oct 25, 2014
    6
    Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Analysis: Iron Man 2 (2010)

    With "Iron Man" earning its marks for its success, it doesn't come by surprise that the continuation tries to be just like most sequels -- Which means it's bigger, bolder and filled with new characters and story arcs. What if I say that "Iron Man 2" doesn't quite live up to its predecessor's intelligence, but it still manages
    Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Analysis: Iron Man 2 (2010)

    With "Iron Man" earning its marks for its success, it doesn't come by surprise that the continuation tries to be just like most sequels -- Which means it's bigger, bolder and filled with new characters and story arcs. What if I say that "Iron Man 2" doesn't quite live up to its predecessor's intelligence, but it still manages to be a rock, solid installment in the franchise? A lot of things work here but they are no match to other MCU movies. This, along with "Thor: The Dark World", is one of the most inferior MCU films to date, which is not saying much because they're still fine on their own. And even if I was a little bit disappointed with this one, I reckon that it's not as bad as people make it out to be.

    With the world now aware of his dual life as the armored superhero Iron Man, billionaire inventor Tony Stark faces pressure from the government, the press, and the public to share his technology with the military. Unwilling to let go of his invention, Stark, along with Pepper Potts, and James "Rhodey" Rhodes at his side, must forge new alliances - and confront powerful enemies.

    The performances from the returned cast and new actors stay stable. Robert Downey Jr is, once again, fantastic. His character, Tony Stark, is the same eccentric, irresponsible and energized man that he was in the first movie. Robert practically is Tony Stark. Gwyneth Paltrow also returns as Pepper Potts and new characters such as Black Widow, Whiplash, Agent Coulson and Justin Hammer appear. But only Black Widow and Nick Fury are going to be very important in this large universe. One performance I really liked it was from Sam Rockwell, yeah that guy is awesome. I saw him in Matchstick Men, which was a pretty good movie. He basically supports the movie, by delivering fun dialogue. And what about Mickey Rourke? Well, he looks menacing and he also helps the movie overcome its flaws. The movie should have dug his story a little more, though. Because the character didn’t seem to have much depth or complexity.

    The plot also adds action sequences, and they are better than the first movie. We go from a racetrack battle in Monaco to a sexy Russian spy defeating dozens of officers in a building. And I gotta say, not only is Scarlett Johansson hot and charming, but she’s also athletic and packs a wallop. The final battle really disappointed me because I was expecting an intense and exciting fight between Ivan and Tony, and I only got a 1 minute battle. *sighs* Oh well…

    Things start getting too goofy in the movie when Tony organizes a party and starts pissing in his pants. Or when he starts yelling at the guests only to frighten them. Super-heroes are goofy in general but I don’t think they could get this silly. It’s this ridiculousness that tears the film apart and I feel disappointed because this movie deserved to be so much better than its predecessor. As I am doing a MCU marathon, I would love to see this movie have some references and easter eggs (it has some though) to enlarge my excitement for The Avengers, but the movie kinda comes up with its own story, unfortunately. The best thing related to MCU that really excited me was the post-credits scene, where we see Mjölnir, Thor’s hammer and then we see a lightning bolt sound effect in the background as the movie ends. AND that’s the next movie I’m going to review!

    Final Score to Iron Man 2: 6.5/10. I had to lower my score because this sequel is a bit disappointing. Its occasionally thin plot sometimes feels weird but ultimately, the film is saved by fine performances (mostly from its main lead) and some pulpy action. Next movie to review: The Mighty God of Thunder! Thor (2011)
    Expand
  37. Oct 18, 2014
    7
    In Iron Man 2, the world is aware that billionaire inventor Tony Stark is the armored super hero, Iron Man. Under pressure from the government, the press and the public to share his technology with the military, Tony is unwilling to divulge the secrets behind the Iron Man armor because he fears the information will slip into the wrong hands. With Pepper Potts and James "Rhodey" Rhodes atIn Iron Man 2, the world is aware that billionaire inventor Tony Stark is the armored super hero, Iron Man. Under pressure from the government, the press and the public to share his technology with the military, Tony is unwilling to divulge the secrets behind the Iron Man armor because he fears the information will slip into the wrong hands. With Pepper Potts and James "Rhodey" Rhodes at his side, Tony forges new alliances and confronts powerful new forces. Expand
  38. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie possesses many of the same elements as the first movie, but it wasn't as "calm and collected"; the scenes seemed sometimes unrelated without an actual thread to tie them firmly together. Don't get me wrong, it isn't as bad as it sounds, and I'm sure viewing the movie again will make it seem different.

    And believe me, if you'll like this one, you'll want to see it again. Soon.

    I had very high expectations, perhaps because "Iron Man" was and is one of my all-time favorites. I was disappointed that Rhodey's actor had been changed, but I like Don Cheadle and he did really well. He had a bigger part to play in this movie than the first one, for sure.

    Same cannot be said for everyone else. The character played by Scarlett Johansson was one of the weakest, and not because of her acting, but because of the script. She just didn't have any real point being there, and many of the characters seemed to drown into the mass of events that took place around them.

    Many elements, alongside Johansson's character, were very quickly introduced. Nick Fury and the involvement of S.H.I.E.L.D. were all based on the quick piece at the end of the first movie (has everyone seen it?), and it seemed a bit too much to ask to immediately bring them in without explanations.

    Other than that, I must say I liked the movie. Robert Downey Jr. was brilliant, Tony Stark even edgier, more erratic than ever, struggling with multiple difficulties at once (SPOILERS: USA government wanting his armor, old family "colleague" wanting revenge, his blood poisoned by the very thing keeping him alive, and a rival company wanting him out of the game for good /SPOILERS).

    There were several insanely funny scenes, not to mention plenty of cracks at the comics, of which some were lost to me since I'm not overly familiar with them. All the action looked good, although there was a bit too much going on on the screen at places.

    Either way, this movie shall go to my favorites, and no doubt stick there.

    Ps. there is once again a little treat waiting at the end of the credits.
    Expand
  39. Aug 9, 2014
    5
    This movie is visually impressive, but the story is boring, some of the jokes fall flat, they got whiplash of all of Iron Mans villains, even though Black Widow and the movie's climax are the best parts of this Iron Man movie
  40. Jul 29, 2014
    8
    It might not be as awesome as the previous installment of Iron Man, but it's still entertaining to watch.

    The things that really impress me is the great CGI, the opening scene, the music and the great action of Tony Stark's Iron Man. The movie truly is entertaining and cool to watch, even though there might have been a little to much (and boring) conversations between the actors, and
    It might not be as awesome as the previous installment of Iron Man, but it's still entertaining to watch.

    The things that really impress me is the great CGI, the opening scene, the music and the great action of Tony Stark's Iron Man. The movie truly is entertaining and cool to watch, even though there might have been a little to much (and boring) conversations between the actors, and that the amount of action was lower than the in the first Iron Man film. Iron Man 2 also felt more unserious than the previous movie.

    Not as entertaining as the first Iron Man, but it's great to watch!

    Iron Man 2 gets a 8/10
    Expand
  41. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    Iron man 2 fails to be even close to the first movie but its still an alright superhero flick mostly thanks to Robert d Jnr acting as Tony Stark.

    my ratting 7.2/10 action/special effects 7/10 acting 8/10 story 7/10 style 7/10 characters/character development 7/10
  42. Jul 8, 2014
    7
    הסרט איירון מן הכי גרוע, לא כולל את הערימת חרא שלא ראויה להיקרא סרט "איירון מן 3" ותכלס סרט לא כל כך גרוע כמו שכולם אומרים, יש בו מלא סצינות יפות, פחות אוהבים אותו בגלל שהוא פשוט פחות טוב מהראשון
  43. May 4, 2014
    5
    Oh boy they really dropped the ball here. clearly just another cash grab before the avengers. Very boring and all around stupid sequel Few good action set pieces, casting, and music. other then that a very underwhelming movie.
  44. Apr 21, 2014
    5
    I really felt like something was lacking from Iron Man so when i heard about the sequel i was of, coarse, very skeptical. Iron man 2 is an enjoyable film, none the less, yet has so many flaws that kinda out way the positive, first the Humor is funny, the action and fight scenes look amazing and spectacular and the acting is solid plus it hints at a future Avengers movie, yet despite allI really felt like something was lacking from Iron Man so when i heard about the sequel i was of, coarse, very skeptical. Iron man 2 is an enjoyable film, none the less, yet has so many flaws that kinda out way the positive, first the Humor is funny, the action and fight scenes look amazing and spectacular and the acting is solid plus it hints at a future Avengers movie, yet despite all this the things that matter to me the most are just Terrible, the characters come of as annoying and i really didn't care what was happening i just wanted to see stuff blow up, the Villain in appalling and is very forgettable, the plot doesn't really have any focus and feels boring and slow at times also whilst Iron man had a really weak final act this one has an awesome astonishing final act yet the rest feels like pointlessness that really served no purpose.

    Overall i wasn't really surprised that this sequel didn't live up to the good original film, yet, still i recommend siting down and watching the film cause it is pretty entertain when it wants to be.

    5/10
    Expand
  45. Apr 1, 2014
    5
    I really liked the first Iron Man, it was a solid film telling the retelling the story of how Tony Stark became Iron Man. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said about Iron Man 2. This entry felt pretty bland and lacked the action and the excitement that the first film have leaving me dissatisfied. I did think that there were some somewhat humorous parts, but overall I just felt that thisI really liked the first Iron Man, it was a solid film telling the retelling the story of how Tony Stark became Iron Man. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said about Iron Man 2. This entry felt pretty bland and lacked the action and the excitement that the first film have leaving me dissatisfied. I did think that there were some somewhat humorous parts, but overall I just felt that this film just focused too much on stupid plot points that were not at all necessary making this mess known as Iron Man 2. Robert Downy Jr. is a good Iron Man, but if you want him to be in an excellent film, go watch the first Iron Man, The Avengers or Iron Man 3 because those films rocked, this one...not so much. Expand
  46. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    Ficou muito abaixo do primeiro mais divertido.
  47. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    A not bad/not-great sequel to the original Iron Man. The fault lies in the films inability to stand on its own and instead becomes the prologue to "The Avengers"
  48. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    Iron Man 2 is a junkyard.
    The movie takes off where its prequel left off, an explosive beginning with intriguing storyline behind a possibly great villain. Then after nearly no storyline or explanation for most of the following events, the movie finally finishes with a drawn out fight scene. The entertainment is barely there, and the elements that were the keys to success for the original
    Iron Man 2 is a junkyard.
    The movie takes off where its prequel left off, an explosive beginning with intriguing storyline behind a possibly great villain. Then after nearly no storyline or explanation for most of the following events, the movie finally finishes with a drawn out fight scene. The entertainment is barely there, and the elements that were the keys to success for the original aren't apparent.
    Expand
  49. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    Rather a dull, mundane superhero sequel to an extraordinary action film. It has some of those moments that shine in its predecessor, mostly due to the charisma of Downey Jr., but the whole film is uninteresting and Downey is the only thing that builds interest. Shame, was a good movie, its predecessor was.
  50. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    "Iron Man 2" is not as good as the first, but it's still worth watching. Robert Downey Jr. returns as Iron Man and does a great job portraying him. The visuals and the CGI are still brilliant but the problem with "Iron Man 2" is the script.
  51. Oct 17, 2013
    4
    this film exaggerated a little in jokes and it ended up spoiling a bit on the seriousness of the film, it would be good since it was a continuation of a good movie.
  52. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    After the excitement that was the first Iron Man, the sequel contributes little of anything notable. The story is simply not as entertaining and the action not as captivating as before.
  53. Sep 22, 2013
    6
    "Iron Man 2" is able to continue its predecessor's wonderful visual effects, however, the writing feels a bit unstable. Many sub plots are not well executed, and ends up to being pointless to the film. Along with this thought, I often found myself annoyed by the protagonist, Tony Stark, and felt that the lessons learned in the original film felt off put in this sequel. While many things"Iron Man 2" is able to continue its predecessor's wonderful visual effects, however, the writing feels a bit unstable. Many sub plots are not well executed, and ends up to being pointless to the film. Along with this thought, I often found myself annoyed by the protagonist, Tony Stark, and felt that the lessons learned in the original film felt off put in this sequel. While many things irked me in the film, the story isn't horribly crafted, and maintains a nicely put action-packed story. With a surprising finale that overpasses the middle section of pointless scenes, "Iron Man 3" manages to make it to an above average super hero film. Expand
  54. Sep 20, 2013
    5
    Mickey Rourke makes for an okay antagonist to the story, but doesn't seem to pull it off all the way. Unlike the first one, Iron Man 2 is more depressing and dark, and this takes away from it. It's less fun than its predecessor.
  55. Sep 18, 2013
    4
    Iron Man 2 isn't as good as it's predessessor but is still a good film. This film is all suspence and build-up, and at points is a bit boring. But the times when there is action, the film is at it's very best with brilliant special effects, camera-work and exciting sequences, but these moments are short and do not appear in the film enough. The film is disjointed and often trails fromIron Man 2 isn't as good as it's predessessor but is still a good film. This film is all suspence and build-up, and at points is a bit boring. But the times when there is action, the film is at it's very best with brilliant special effects, camera-work and exciting sequences, but these moments are short and do not appear in the film enough. The film is disjointed and often trails from it's story, and at points when watching it, I felt that these moments were fairly boring and pointless. The actors did exceptionally well and their characters developed reasonably well. I felt the comedy aspects of this film were overly used and at some points ruined the feel.

    Iron Man 2 is disjointed, is overly long and over-uses the comedy aspects, yet when the action appears and the camera-work is it's very best, the film is brilliant. But, overall, the film isn't as good as it should've been; so I give this film a... 72/100!
    Expand
  56. Aug 3, 2013
    7
    Although it doesn't contain the depth that made the first Iron Man memorable, it still has plenty of wit and humor that the first one had and enough explosive action to go around.
  57. May 31, 2013
    8
    This is the first Iron Man movie I've ever seen. It was actually pretty good. My only problem with this movie is that Iron Man isn't seen that much in the film. But all in all, it was a good sequel.
  58. May 24, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was nowhere near as good as the first one. First of all, I hate when they replace main characters in movies. I understand that it's not necessarily the fault of the film but replacing Terrance Howard with Don Cheadle affects the feel of the movie; similar to when they replaced Katie Holmes with Maggie Gylenhaul in Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy. Also, a technology that was pushed to be so incredible and impossible to replicate in the first installment is thrown around in this movie like if it's no more rare than an std. Lastly, similar to the first film, there were some huge plot holes. If a villain's weapons are a sort of lasso, wouldn't common sense tell you to just fire on him from outside of the lasso range? I would certainly think a genius like Tony Stark would be able to figure that out. Also, if you access the main computer and can reset the War Machine, why couldn't you also reset the others? Nonetheless, Robert Downey Jr. once again proves to be a top notch actor in Hollywood and the movie's transition to the "Avengers" adds some excitement to an otherwise quick and overrated ending. Still, I was a little disappointed. Expand
  59. May 24, 2013
    5
    This was a good movie. A little thin in a few places but the actors and actresses pulled it off okay. There were some really good scenes in the movie like when the car alams all get set off. That was good they needed more scenes like that.
  60. May 6, 2013
    6
    This film was a major step down from the first film. I was not a fan of how they took Crimson Dynamo and Whiplash and turned him into a villain that was nothing more than a punching bag for Iron Man & War Machine. This movie just didn't feel like it had high stakes and started playing too much for humor instead of taking the source material seriously. Black Widow was definitely a niceThis film was a major step down from the first film. I was not a fan of how they took Crimson Dynamo and Whiplash and turned him into a villain that was nothing more than a punching bag for Iron Man & War Machine. This movie just didn't feel like it had high stakes and started playing too much for humor instead of taking the source material seriously. Black Widow was definitely a nice touch though. Expand
  61. May 5, 2013
    5
    I was so bored when I went to see this at the movie theatre. It never really caught my interest or kept me entertained the whole time and the only really cool part was when Micky Rourke was attacking the race cars with his scorpion whips. Other than the boredom of it, everything else was fine. The acting, dialogue, and the special effects are why I did not give it a 4.
  62. May 4, 2013
    8
    I think the numbering of the Iron Man movies is appropriate, With the first one being the best by far, this one being the second best, and the third one failed as far as following the comics go. Ironman 2 is one of the best action movies to date. I could watch that last scene where War Machine and Iron Man are back to back any day. Although the movie took a while to get up to speed, thisI think the numbering of the Iron Man movies is appropriate, With the first one being the best by far, this one being the second best, and the third one failed as far as following the comics go. Ironman 2 is one of the best action movies to date. I could watch that last scene where War Machine and Iron Man are back to back any day. Although the movie took a while to get up to speed, this is still one of the best Marvel movies to date. Expand
  63. May 1, 2013
    6
    It's not as fun and exciting like the first Iron Man movie, but it tends to still be a decent sequel. The first 45-50 minutes of the movie are just fun and exciting. It really relates to the first Iron Man movie. But then you reach the middle of the movie where the story starts to progressively slow down a lot. That's when it really feels like your watching a drunk version of the firstIt's not as fun and exciting like the first Iron Man movie, but it tends to still be a decent sequel. The first 45-50 minutes of the movie are just fun and exciting. It really relates to the first Iron Man movie. But then you reach the middle of the movie where the story starts to progressively slow down a lot. That's when it really feels like your watching a drunk version of the first Iron Man movie. The middle really sags unlike the first 45-50 minutes. It just "in a sense" drops. Near the end, it tends to kick it back into gear. As far as characters, Tony is still as enjoyable as the first movie. The actors are still about average. Except for Ivan Vanko (Mickey Rourke). He was incredible at the beginning of the movie, but (just like the storyline) it starts to become progressively slow and boring once he meets Hammer (Sam Rockwell). I wish Vanko could have been in the movie much longer and be bad-a** throughout and not just in the beginning and the end of the movie. Overall, with it's progressive slowness during the middle, in the end, it still turns out to be a decent sequel. Collapse
  64. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    Many have expressed their disappointing about this sequel. I personally think that it is just as good as the original. Robert Downey JR is great as usual, the action has been improved and Mickey Rourke is entertaining as the terrible Russian. Even thought there are improvements to the sequel, there are also too many characters in the film and the final action scene is quite anti-climactic.Many have expressed their disappointing about this sequel. I personally think that it is just as good as the original. Robert Downey JR is great as usual, the action has been improved and Mickey Rourke is entertaining as the terrible Russian. Even thought there are improvements to the sequel, there are also too many characters in the film and the final action scene is quite anti-climactic. Still a high recommendation to fans of the original Expand
  65. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Against my expectance, this movie marks as the seldom case, in which the sequel is just as good as the original. Iron Man 2 is funnier, louder and provides a lot more explosions. Nevertheless, Jon Favreau doesn't leave good performances and a proper screenplay out. Additionally, the technics and the FXs are great, which helped the movie to become as awesome as it is. My critic point isAgainst my expectance, this movie marks as the seldom case, in which the sequel is just as good as the original. Iron Man 2 is funnier, louder and provides a lot more explosions. Nevertheless, Jon Favreau doesn't leave good performances and a proper screenplay out. Additionally, the technics and the FXs are great, which helped the movie to become as awesome as it is. My critic point is that too many things in this film are unrealistic and as in Iron Man, there are a lot of so-called “Cinema Sins” like stupid dialogues, obvious goofs or simply illogicality. That is quite an issue, but doesn't prevent this movie from being an even better superhero-movie than the original. Expand
  66. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    There have been three films that I have seen in the cinema where I have left after the credits, not quite sure what to think of what i had just seen, not necessarily a bad film, but one which I just wasn't sure I enjoyed to the extent I thought I was going to, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Quantum of Solace, and now Iron Man 2.
    This was a big film, it had big ideas,
    There have been three films that I have seen in the cinema where I have left after the credits, not quite sure what to think of what i had just seen, not necessarily a bad film, but one which I just wasn't sure I enjoyed to the extent I thought I was going to, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Quantum of Solace, and now Iron Man 2.
    This was a big film, it had big ideas, and don't get me wrong, it delivered..but only to an extent.
    Picking up after the revelation of the first instalment, life goes on for Tony Stark, he has re-opened his fathers brainchild of Stark Expo, hoping to change direction away from weapons of mass destruction.
    Short-lived, in another world away sits Ivan Vanko, son of Anton Vanko, the man who drew up plans with Tony's father in regards to the expo.
    Back at home, Tony has to deal with his own government requesting that he hand over the Iron Man armour, but increasing health issues concerning his failure to find a substitute for the palladium he used to save his life has spawned reckless behaviour on Tony' part.
    What was surprising about this film was its failure to zero in and develop on the ideas at hand, Stark was basically dying in this feature, but this was brushed over with a few scenes Nick Fury and a cringe-worthy dance and drink in the Iron Man suit. On the subject of Nick Fury, there was a silly amount of characters in this film, all with under-developed stories that never led anywhere, Sam Rockwell also appears in this as a rival to Tony Stark, but he was just annoying and slightly orange. There was perhaps too much of a S.H.I.E.L.D presence that took over the movie. They had to play their part, but this wasn't a good movie with them in it, this was a moderately decent film until they were in it.
    Downey Jr did shine as usual, he has embraced his role to the point of belief that he could be Tony Stark, perhaps his best was shown in this film as it was quite an emotional journey, but with Iron Man himself only appearing a very small amount in this film, it didn't justify the over-abundance of characters and the messy and very anti-climatic ending, this could have been so much better on multiple levels, and unfortunately didn't deliver compared to the first effort.
    Expand
  67. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    I'm actually disappointed about this movie. I'm big fan of the first
  68. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    Another great action, superhero movie. Definitely not as good as the first, but I still absolutely loved it. Robert Downey Jr. is great, and Gwyneth Paltrow is again, perfect. The addition of Scarlet Johansson was very nice as well.
  69. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    A massive disappointment after the brilliance of Iron Man. It is overstuffed and bloated. Seemingly satisfied with mediocrity. Not painful to watch, but lifeless and forgettable.
  70. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    Doesn't even flick a booger in the direction of the first film, but it still remains a pretty entertaining action bout.
  71. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Iron Man 2 is the direct sequel to Iron Man and continues the series well. Robert Downey Jr proves once again that he is very good at portraying characters who have a literal personality. Plot: Iron Man 2 begins where Iron Man ended, after Tony Stark revealed to the world that he is Iron Man. As the US government attempts to copyright his suit, Ivan Vanko (Mickey Rourke) wishes to avengeIron Man 2 is the direct sequel to Iron Man and continues the series well. Robert Downey Jr proves once again that he is very good at portraying characters who have a literal personality. Plot: Iron Man 2 begins where Iron Man ended, after Tony Stark revealed to the world that he is Iron Man. As the US government attempts to copyright his suit, Ivan Vanko (Mickey Rourke) wishes to avenge his father's legacy that he believes has been ruined due to Stark's father. He attempts to recreate the arc reactor which is also powering Stark's heart as a power source to fuel his electric whips as he becomes Whiplash. Stark meanwhile is dying due to the stress on his arc reactor, as he is losing his lustre. After Vanko attempts to murder Stark, he is abducted in prison by Stark's buisness competitor, Justin Hammer (Sam Rockwell) as they form an alliance to bring down Stark industry's. Compared to Iron Man: Iron Man 2 makes for a very well made sequel and should definently be viewed by those who enjoyed Iron Man. Opinion: Very well done a worthy sequel Expand
  72. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The movie is just an awesome creation of science fiction and this movie is glorifying the name of iron man in the top super hero names .The movie has great visual effects and Robert Downey jr has done a great job
  73. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    This sequel has everything it's predecessor did, but the dialogue doesn't flow and the action isn't exciting. Sequels of this genre need to bring new ideas and visual brilliance to the screen. Iron Man II had neither.
  74. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    A lack of depth, little real story and far too many fast-talking scenes means that IM2 never really hits the heights it should. But don't let that make you think it's not entertaining - it is and it certainly has it's moments, however it also most certainly has it's fair share of scenes where you can grab a non-pause pee-break too. I really hope they make another cut of this with about 20A lack of depth, little real story and far too many fast-talking scenes means that IM2 never really hits the heights it should. But don't let that make you think it's not entertaining - it is and it certainly has it's moments, however it also most certainly has it's fair share of scenes where you can grab a non-pause pee-break too. I really hope they make another cut of this with about 20 minutes trimmed off as it could really work with some of the fat cut out, and having said that it does work as it is - just not to any mind-blowing degree. Decent enough and never an effort to watch, an ideal film to put on when with mates or your partner if you want a film you can talk through. Expand
  75. Aug 11, 2012
    6
    Robert Downey's Iron Man returns after his first film outing two years previous, with director Jon Favreau again at the helm. As with Iron Man, Favreau delivers another fun ride and allows Downey to steal the show as Tony Stark. Downey's egotist, smarmy and arrogant but ultimately likeable Tony Stark is the film. Other characters are purely used for Downey to show off in front of, flirtRobert Downey's Iron Man returns after his first film outing two years previous, with director Jon Favreau again at the helm. As with Iron Man, Favreau delivers another fun ride and allows Downey to steal the show as Tony Stark. Downey's egotist, smarmy and arrogant but ultimately likeable Tony Stark is the film. Other characters are purely used for Downey to show off in front of, flirt with or talk over. In honesty, this becomes a little frustrating by the end of the film but it doesn't become a terminal problem because of the hidden weakness and humility Stark shows on occasions. Also, it makes a change for a superhero to be so public with his identity and arrogance.

    Facing pressure from the US government on one side and the film's nemesis Whiplash on the other, Stark also struggles to cope with the ill effects of his power source and becomes isolated and irresponsible with his powers. The main antagonist is Whiplash, the son of a Russian inventor formerly employed by Stark Industries, who out of spite for the Stark family develops his own power source to rival Iron Man. The Russian factor brings about inevitably thin Cold War references but it is the idea that the US government sees Iron Man ans his technology as their property and does not wish to be dependent on Stark's alliance for protection that is the strongest plot string.

    When given scenes without Downey present, the supporting characters are a mixed bunch. The introduction of Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow to the Marvel Universe is flat and the same can be said for Gywneth Paltrow, who is talked over by Downey for all of her lines. Don Cheadle plays Iron Man's sidekick James Rhodes (aka War Machine) complete with some Robin-esque cheesy lines ("Get a roof"). The positives come in the form of Mickey Rourke as Whiplash and Sam Rockwell as Justin Hammer. Rockwell injects some brilliant humour to proceedings for when you've had your fill of Downey.

    The action is evenly paced, although the action sequences towards the end of the film are a little robotic, literally, as Iron Man and War Machine take on Whiplash (in a similar suit) and his army of Iron Man suited drones.

    Overall, perhaps not as fresh as the original but still a better than average entry to the Marvel catalogue.
    Expand
  76. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    I did like Iron Man 2, the comedy and action was still there, but you knew what the final 'Boss fight' would be almost from the beginning, iron man vs the bad guy who makes a suit for himself.
  77. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    While Robert Downey Jr is as great as always and the action visuals are nicely done, this sequel is nowhere near the same league as the first. There's lots of plotholes, Mickey Rourke was one-dimensional and Scarlett Johannson was bland and the plot in the third act took a back set to Avengers tie-ins. Not as bad as Spider-Man 3 or X-Men 3, but it could have been a lot better.
  78. May 18, 2012
    6
    While I really liked the first Iron Man for some reason I, just could not get into the Iron Man 2 like I could the first one. The movie is still is funny and has action moments but not like the first one. The first one was truly great Iron Man 2 was only okay.
  79. May 11, 2012
    10
    I find that Iron Man 2 is just as good as the first. Robert Downey Jr. gives another great performance, the story is plentyful, and the action is brilliant.
  80. May 6, 2012
    6
    Passable effort which lacks a real unstoppable super villain. Downey is excellent as usual and the movie works the storyline well to get Nick Fury involved. Lacking real action scenes until the final battle it concentrates on character and storyline development so those expecting an action packed CGI dream may be disappointed.
  81. Apr 19, 2012
    7
    This movie was good,but I'm disappointed about the action scenes,I mean there were too many people talking and there was a few minutes of action,the first one didn't have much action because it was the start,but I expected this one to be better,the action might be bad but it is a good movie.I hope Ironman 3 will have more action scenes.
  82. Mar 30, 2012
    4
    Okay Iron Man 2 is better than the first because the new actors but yet again there isn't much action and when there it is it sucks. More stupidy throughout the film. But hey its an improvement from the first.
  83. Mar 13, 2012
    5
    Slightly boring, with not enough zing and character development like the first one. For an action film, there was too much explosions and fighting which substituted for the storylines - I couldn't even hear myself think. Also, I wasn't sure who the villain was, and if he was who I thought he was, he didn't have much depth to his character. Although, I did love Scarlett Johansson,Slightly boring, with not enough zing and character development like the first one. For an action film, there was too much explosions and fighting which substituted for the storylines - I couldn't even hear myself think. Also, I wasn't sure who the villain was, and if he was who I thought he was, he didn't have much depth to his character. Although, I did love Scarlett Johansson, especially when she was kicking everyone's ass, and the fact that what was keeping Stark alive was also killing him, but his portrayal of a dying man was still unconvincing, seeing as he mainly acted arrogant, instead of his versatility of emotions in the previous film. In conclusion, this failed to live up to the promise of what could have been a good sequel. Expand
  84. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    This second part of Iron Man have great things: 1) The Cast,2) Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man, 3) War Machine ,4) Black Widow, but the biggest problem, is that is not like the first part. Is some tired. But is a great film.
  85. Feb 29, 2012
    3
    Its a 2 hour movie with what feels like 15 minutes action. Endless babbling plus a bad story. Waste of time except for kids. Great animations though. Its probably a good movie for the youngest.
  86. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man for me was something I was looking forward to, but I wasn't necessarily jazzed about it. It was a pretty good though, and it actually might be my 2nd best comic book origin film, next to X Men First Class. So going into this sequel to Iron Man, I kind of felt the same way, I was looking forward to it, but I wasn't super stoked about it. But let me tell you, I think you might be somewhat shocked about this, but I think Iron Man 2 is actually a bit better than Iron Man. I won't say everything that is better than Iron Man, but I will say parts in the middle of Iron Man dragged for me. Not that the movie was too long, but for some reason it dragged in the middle for me. Now getting on with Iron Man 2, Tony Stark in this sequel haves three main things going against him. The government wants Tony's suit, Tony's health condition is getting worse, and than there's a mysterious man that seems to feel wronged by Tony's actions from the 1st movie. As far as the villians in this movie, I feel Mickey Rourke as the villian in this movie is the strongest performance just behind Robert Downey Jr. This time there seems to be less action in this one. The plot though is good and there's good character development. The cgi and action in this is great. The only real flaw in the movie is I thought Ivan Vanko could have used a few scenes in the middle of the film. Also the last encouter when Ivan uses his ultra suit at the end, went a bit too fast. Overall I thought this movie was great and funny. Compared to Iron Man, I give that an 8.2 out of 10, and I give Iron Man 2 an 8.4 out of 10 Expand
  87. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    Though not as smart or inventive as its predecessor, Iron Man 2 is an entertaining follow-up to the 2008 movie. In fact, in terms of action scenes and villains, this movie is better. Sam Rockwell is good as Justin Hammer, Tony Stark's oily competitor and Mickey Rourke presents a threat as Whiplash. However, the movie isn't as witty or as clever as before. Iron Man 2 is constructed like aThough not as smart or inventive as its predecessor, Iron Man 2 is an entertaining follow-up to the 2008 movie. In fact, in terms of action scenes and villains, this movie is better. Sam Rockwell is good as Justin Hammer, Tony Stark's oily competitor and Mickey Rourke presents a threat as Whiplash. However, the movie isn't as witty or as clever as before. Iron Man 2 is constructed like a typical superhero movie and while this is not the worst thing in the world, it does make the story feel a little more by-the-numbers. Performances are good all round, especially Downey Jr., who clearly enjoys playing the eccentric billionaire. Expand
  88. Feb 7, 2012
    5
    This movie was disappointing. The problem with this movie is that the action sequences are 10 seconds. As well, the plot is less entertaining and more tedious. Scarlett Johansson's character is in the movie so that people can gawk at her. This movie is a step back from the first Iron Man.
  89. Jan 24, 2012
    6
    I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed the first film. I thought it did a good job at cameos as well (building towards the Avengers film). The acting and the action was solid as well. It was just a little too corny and generic for my taste. Also I did not like the main villian in the film, Im sure there could have been a better one for them to pick.
  90. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    After the first film I waited a little bit more. I don't say I didn't enjoy it because it was great but the story line was too predictable. Robert Downey Jr.'s performance was awesome.
  91. Jan 17, 2012
    4
    I liked the first Iron Man. It was an origin story but didn't get overly bogged down in that. I also agreed with a lot of others in that Robert Downey Jr made an excellent Tony Stark, but upon seeing this movie I disagree and believe I was maybe wrong in the first place. I'm a comic book geek and I grew up with Tony Stark as a character. He is someone who wants control in order to doI liked the first Iron Man. It was an origin story but didn't get overly bogged down in that. I also agreed with a lot of others in that Robert Downey Jr made an excellent Tony Stark, but upon seeing this movie I disagree and believe I was maybe wrong in the first place. I'm a comic book geek and I grew up with Tony Stark as a character. He is someone who wants control in order to do the right thing or what he thinks is the right thing, he is a good man at heart but he is misguided, stubborn and egoistical. What's the problem you ask, is that what Downey is playing? Yes, but a shallow version of that, mixed with playing Robert Downey Jr. He's half acting now at best and it's less Tony Stark is Iron Man and now more Robert Downey Jr is Iron Man. We are told who he is but not really shown any depth other than the motivation of being a former arms dealer and the guilt of that. The racetrack scene is exciting though and well filmed as is the final fight, but the rest of the film is pretty dull. The villain Whip Lash just turning into another Iron Monger when he gets the suit bothered me too. Scarlett Johansson is totally miscast. Although I did like the casting of Sam Rockwell as Justin Hammer. Expand
  92. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    The biggest flaw of the film is how they pause the action just to show you upgrades to the suit. It was interesting to see what was so different about each suit but to do it right in the middle of a fight takes away all the excitement of the fight that is happening. I didnt mind the plot either but it could have been a lot more interesting and it could have taken a lot less time toThe biggest flaw of the film is how they pause the action just to show you upgrades to the suit. It was interesting to see what was so different about each suit but to do it right in the middle of a fight takes away all the excitement of the fight that is happening. I didnt mind the plot either but it could have been a lot more interesting and it could have taken a lot less time to explain.

    I did like how it featured a lot of interesting action through out. I liked the addition of Don Cheadle (as Terrance Howard's replacement) and Robert Downey Jr gave a great performance as well. I suprisingly liked it a lot more then the first film.
    Expand
  93. Dec 27, 2011
    7
    Enjoyable, not as enjoyable as the first - dragged a smidge in the middle and the whole thing felt at times like a giant trailer for the Avengers. B-. I am sure anyone who was going to see it already has though. On a random side note, I am positive the trailers for this movie showed a scene with Tony jumping out of a plane and saying to Pepper "You complete me!" - This did not appear inEnjoyable, not as enjoyable as the first - dragged a smidge in the middle and the whole thing felt at times like a giant trailer for the Avengers. B-. I am sure anyone who was going to see it already has though. On a random side note, I am positive the trailers for this movie showed a scene with Tony jumping out of a plane and saying to Pepper "You complete me!" - This did not appear in the movie, I hate it when trailers show scenes that aren't actually in the release version of the film. Expand
  94. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    Iron Man 2 is well acted, but is quite boring. This action scenes were uneventful, the fight scenes were short, but the humor was good though. I was disappointed, it could have had more stuff in it.
  95. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man 2 is not exactly a worthy followup to the original. My problems with the film: The fight between Rhodey and Tony in his mansion with DJ AM in the background was really dumb. These two guys are supposed to be best friends? Yeah Tony was being a douche, but that doesn't mean you steal one of his suits and proceed to try to beat his ass and tear up his whole damn mansion in the process. It just felt like they needed an action beat, like they said "Oh hey, it's been x amount of pages since we've had some action to entertain the audience, we need to stick a fight scene in here according to this scriptwriting 101 guide." It seemed very forced and unnecessary to me.

    Justin Hammer was cheesing up the joint and just acting way too goofy.

    Tony and Pepper's playful banter had turned into a lot of bickering that wasn't that fun to watch.

    Tony's father had hidden away his secret formula for an amazing new element as... the overhead blueprint for his **** Stark Expo? What the hell, why would anybody... what? That doesn't even make any sense. How would he know that Tony would possess a nifty holographic projector that could strip away the details and reveal this magical wonder element? Why not just write down the formula on a piece of paper, why hide it as the layout for a stupid ass expo? This... this **** stinks.

    How is Tony's new power source poisoning his blood? The palladium core goes right into his arc reactor, why would this end up in his bloodstream? His bloodstream seems completely segregated from the reactor. Couldn't he just invent some filter between the reactor and his body? He seems good at inventing stuff.

    At the race track, when Vanko attacks... why don't the security guards just shoot Vanko in the chest with their guns? His exoskeleton doesn't seem to cover his chest, they could shoot him to death.

    Rourke's Vanko spends most of the second half of the movie in a factory building robots. That's kinda boring, you shouldn't have your main villain squirrelled away that much.

    The final battle with Vanko was way too short and just involved IM and WM doing some stupid high-five with their repulsors. Vanko also opens his helmet for no reason, making his head incredibly vulnerable. But other then that, I thought it was an enjoyable experience.
    Expand
  96. Sep 15, 2011
    5
    With a baffling story and really unnecessary humor, Marvel's "Iron man 2" doesn't seem to have the prominent blockbuster spirit its prequel contained.
  97. Aug 28, 2011
    5
    Iron Man 2 is a satisfactory sequel to a kick-ass comic book movie. It is nothing more than that: satisfactory. Some will call that a good thing, and some will call that a bad thing.
  98. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    Like the first movie the humor and action are still there but this one dealing out more action while going hand in hand with the storyline of the comics. A fantastic watch and well deserving the acclaim it's getting.
  99. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    I usually hate recast sequels. It's just the principal of continuity. Whether it be The Mummy 3 or the Matrix sequels I hate to see actors get yanked in favor of other actors or replacement characters. Sometimes it can work. Iron Man 2 isn't made better by the inclusion of Don Cheadle, but it doesn't suffer either. Cheadle creates his own take on Rhodes/War Machine. There are few actorsI usually hate recast sequels. It's just the principal of continuity. Whether it be The Mummy 3 or the Matrix sequels I hate to see actors get yanked in favor of other actors or replacement characters. Sometimes it can work. Iron Man 2 isn't made better by the inclusion of Don Cheadle, but it doesn't suffer either. Cheadle creates his own take on Rhodes/War Machine. There are few actors that can step into a role they didn't originate and not screw it up. I consider IM2 one of the pleasing exceptions of recasting. Kudos. Expand
  100. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    I find exactly what I expected, and that was exactly what I found in the first part. It's fun, entertaining, and compared to other recent action movies of this kind, has much more sense and not having that many absurd action scenes of those you sometimes don't even know what's happening.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    60
    Rourke and Rockwell make satisfying, complementary villains, while Downey Jr. delivers again. Shame this sequel feels inessential, over-busy and a little, well, mechanical. Nothing they can’t put right for Iron Man 3.
  2. Well, that didn't take long. Everything fun and terrific about "Iron Man," a mere two years ago, has vanished with its sequel. In its place, Iron Man 2 has substituted noise, confusion, multiple villains, irrelevant stunts and misguided story lines.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Isn't as much fun as its predecessor, but by the time the smoke clears, it'll do.