User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1146 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dr.C.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering it's a comic book fer cryin' out loud! Attention Robert Downey, Jr.: Stay sober, man... You are a fantastic actor & you pull off this anti-macho, It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering it's a comic book fer cryin' out loud! Attention Robert Downey, Jr.: Stay sober, man... You are a fantastic actor & you pull off this anti-macho, cool cat, hipster industrialist Big Time. Expand
  2. MorganB.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie was-and how amazing Robert Downey Jr was. No one, absolutely no one could have played this character better. It's the best casting I've seen I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie was-and how amazing Robert Downey Jr was. No one, absolutely no one could have played this character better. It's the best casting I've seen since John Barrowman in Torchwood. Amazing story, fantasticly snarky, and the genious of Robert Downey Jr, who could ask for more! I saw it twice the first weekend:) Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    It's an origin story minus the boredom. There's a whole lot of action, drama and humor that will keep you on the edge of your seats. Intensely exciting, you can't keep your eyes off the screen because any moment, something intriguing may unfold. Great script, great director, great actors, what more can you ask for?
  4. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Jon Favreau made some great effort in making this superhero epic hit with some talentive acting from Robert Downey Jr.
  5. DesmondW.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting you a real feel for the suit. Suprisingly this movie will bring you alot of laughs..Yes its weird but it sure wll. I LOVE IT!
  6. Camille
    May 30, 2008
    9
    Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of the special effects and dynamics between the characters. This is a film not to be missed.
  7. Tery
    May 3, 2008
    9
    I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go the restroom or buy anything, and that says something!
  8. DavidR.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the standard by which all future Marvel movies will be judged. I simply cannot praise this movie enough. It's as good as Batman Begins, but "lighter" and more suitable for children, and it has enough sly humor that the adults will be entertained as well. RDJ gives the performance of a lifetime in the role he was born to play. I have seen this movie six times now and I'm going back this weekend for yet another serving of metal-suited terrorist-punching awesomeness. Expand
  9. RienyeN.
    May 8, 2008
    9
    Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Best marvel comic adaptation to date.
  10. JasonP.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and succeed in once again providing all they can to the world: their judgment of someone else's brilliance. This movie was the perfect mix of snide wit and explosive special effects. It not only does the comic book justice, but sets itself apart from its printed origins and in fact all other movies in its genre. It is so rare to see Oscar worthy performances in what should be a simple shoot-em-up, but that's what you get for your money. This is a must-see, and one of the best of all time; believe it. Mark my words: this film will break the billions, and birth a new tinsel-town dynasty. Expand
  11. NormanX.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel with Warhammer made me hunger for more.
  12. SteveS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in his portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man blending arrogance, some self realisation and lighter comedic moments well. The visuals and special effects are a credit to the production and special effects teams. Simply put, this is the best Marvel movie I have seen in a long time, and quite frankly I'm willing to see it again in the cinema. Expand
  13. ChrisR.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    I thoughts this was a very well done movie. the only problem I had with it was the amount of action. this movie really doesn't get going until the middle.
  14. DavidW.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same time cause he's so cocky. The ending is awesome.
  15. JanmikS.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    Very very entertaining and visually awesome. Great script for wit and humor and acting covers the somewhat typical superhero movie plot. 'Tis worth your money.
  16. Bluezboy8
    May 10, 2008
    10
    All the CG and gadgetry of a summer blockbuster, but surprisingly, all the well-drawn story and acting of a fall season Oscar contender. This movie just has it ALL!!
  17. ChadShiira
    May 19, 2008
    9
    When Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of theWhen Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of the century by European hands. Although Marlowe wasn't an imperialist, per se, he did foster the ongoing tyranny by simply being in that tug boat. In "Ironman", as Stark rides across the desert in an army utility vehicle, our anti-hero gets closer to his unbeknowing nightmare, the discovery that he's enabling the enemy. The horror, the horror. In that cave, he turns into Oskar Schindler(an ex-war profiteer), as a Marvel superhero. But if you're looking for a Kurtz stand-in, it's pretty hard not to miss Jeff Bridges' bald head. Bridges manages the neat trick of being a megalomaniacal tyrant with a god complex(in other words, Marlon Brando in Francis Ford Coppola's "Apocalypse Now"), and Preston Thomas Tucker(the car manufacturer in "Tucker: The Man & His Dreams; again, Coppola), a man of vision, albeit an evil one. "Ironman" also impresses with its Mulder/Scully dynamics between Stark and Pepper Potts(Gwyneth Paltrow). When Stark says, "Admit it. This isn't the worst thing you caught me doing," to his assistant, fans of "The X-Files" will nod knowingly. Mulder was a porn aficionado. "Ironman", predictably, has the requisite action to satisfy its target demographic(something that Ang Lee's "Hulk" failed to do), but it's the suppressed love between boss and employee that's the real story here. Expand
  18. BenH.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it was hilarious . What we need to keep in mind when rating this movie that it is a comic action flick, and as such i will rate it so.. there was no great meaning or artsy fartsy metaphors. For me this was the perfect comic book action movie. It was far better than any of the other marvels movies i have seen so far and made Transformers look like a joke. I will be going to the movies again soon for this one. 10/10 from me, i hope there is a sequel. Expand
  19. JarrodD.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals.OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals. I didn't find myself once thinking about how good/bad the effects were. I know that they were incredibly well done, but I also was so into the !&^#% story that I wasn't paying attention to that....which I've never done. Robert Downey Jr in my opinion does his best work to date. I couldn't have asked for a better actor....absolutely perfect. I think RDJ can relate to Tony Stark cuz they've both had/have problems with drugs or women or whatnot, so it worked pretty well. Jeff Bridges, I couldn't see him as the antagonist in my mind before the movie. During and after the movie, I was all for him playing the villain. I don't know about all of you, but for me, it's hard to like or even really care about the "damsel in distress" in super hero movies. I could care less for Mary Jane in Spider man, or Rachael Dawes in Batman Begins. Their characters were just there to be in trouble and add a little sexual flavor to the movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, I honestly cared and liked her character. She was there for more than just, HELP! In fact, she was pretty bad @%#. The acting from all these people was great. They couldn't have done better. There was just enough comic book references in there to keep a nerd like me happy. I could myself a few times clenching my hands in anticipation and glee for what I was about to see or seeing. I was seriously like a 7 year old again watching a combination of Robocop, Superman, Batman, and the x-men cartoon for the first time. It was so @%^$ sweet to see such a good adaptation on screen. I can't tell you how critical I am of comic book movies. As adaptations they #^#*$ suck. As movies, they are usually just passable as entertaining, with the exception of a few. This was a great adaptation (the 8 people around me in the theater thought it was the best adaptation of a book to a story they've seen) Just enough action in it to keep everyone wanting to see what the hell that suit can do (and it is a lot) and just enough character development and story to keep everyone interested and caring for these characters. I can honestly say that I wouldn't have changed a single thing. There was everything in there that needed to be in there, without any of the #&$%@@#$. I would've added one thing. IT'S DIFFERENT THAT CHANGING THINGS! It's not a spoiler, just an awesome Iron Man line that was in a comic. There was a scene in the comic where Tony Stark is flying around in the suit and the guys on the ground are noticing he's slurring words and I think he's even singing. The people observing the test yell through the communication line, "Tony, are you #&$% drunk?!" to which it cuts to a panel of Tony Stark in the suit laughing and saying "Have you seen this thing!? Do you really think I'd get into it sober!" haha, everytime I let anyone read that series, they always remember that line and laugh. So, in conclusion, @&*$%^@#! Go see it immediately. I'm available for lunch if you want to go then! Also, when you do see it, stay till after the credits. I don't care if you get a phone call that your baby is birthing right then and there. You sit your @$$ down and watch the #*$%@# end! I honestly felt like an Arsenio Hall audience member after the end scene, I stood up and pumped my fist and gave a "woot woot woot" so awesome! Truly surprised. Alright, I'll shut up. Go see it already Expand
  20. DerekC.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a perfect cast. Makes you want to be a kid again and build your own ironman suit out of cardboard.
  21. EugeneM.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Superb comic based movie. RDJ was perfect for the role. I did not give it a perfect 10 because I still wanted to see more ironman action scenes.
  22. ReyA.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best superhero movie of all time. I used to be a big fan of spiderman until Iron Man came around. Also, what I liked alot is the technologically advanced weaponry used in the film. It really caught my attention.
  23. Dplumm
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and Jeff....what a cast! A must see!!!!
  24. PaddyH.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    A great film......brilliant gadget wise! definately would recommend it to other people!!!!!!!!!!!!! go watch it
  25. J.B.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I was very skeptical about with Downey playing Stark. I was wrong, no one else could have been Ironman. The movie had plenty of action with well timed humor. I will be taking my sons to see it again next weekend.
  26. JohnnyD.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    If you liked the previews, this movie won't disappoint. There were equal parts action, humor, and storyline. I can't wait for a sequel!
  27. NickG.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the film credibility. Ironman also looks amazing.
  28. JohnF.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I have been waiting 25 years for this movie and it was worth every second of it! Terrific movie!
  29. DanR.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This movie was really cool and one of the best comic book movies yet. Just make sure you stay until after the credits!
  30. SusanB.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Very believable and well written. Don't miss!
  31. AndreF.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best comic book movies that I have seen in quites sometime. The acting was on par with Batman Begins, and it gave hope to reviving a franchise with what I believe was a poor sequel in Spiderman 3. Great movie!
  32. CalvinC.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait for the DVD or Blu-ray. Watch it now. You won't be dissapointed.
  33. ElizabethE.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    Fantastic. Downey is perfectly cast, plot is smart, special effects are terrific, dialogue is clever. It is the rare action movie in which even the non-action scenes are compelling.
  34. RDalvi
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Awesome film. Cool Visual effects. Robert Downey Jr, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Terence Howard and all others were great. COOL WITH A HUGE C.
  35. RonanonL.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Expected Much Much Worse. Even with all the "summer movie" moments.
  36. TimD.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    I'm a huge fan of comic film and this is one of the top 5 comic films. Robert Downey Jr is amazing, Favreau weaves an amazing story
  37. AustinM.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was phenomenal, and after watching the movie, I yearned to be that Tony Stark, brilliant, funny, awesome, billionaire of a guy that he was in that part. The This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was phenomenal, and after watching the movie, I yearned to be that Tony Stark, brilliant, funny, awesome, billionaire of a guy that he was in that part. The soundtrack wasn't anything memorable, but it certainly didn't detract from anything. The special effects, as always by ILM, were amazing, and the entire visual aspect of the piece was great. The story as well, was admirable, and much, much better than that crap the Spider-Man movies keep throwing at us. This is probably because it stuck very loyally to the comics, with the added "Tony Stark is awesome" thing. Overall, just a really good movie. Expand
  38. Fullys.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    this is an amazing movie, aguably with transformer to be the best movie during last 12 months
  39. NO
    May 8, 2008
    9
    Movie was great better than i expected retard that gave it a 4 was a transformers loser. Transformers and Iron are 2 TOTALLY different categories of movies.
  40. MarcC.
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    Awesome flick. I don't know what "Brian L" was watching. But it's like every start of a franchise. It has to start from scratch and told from the bottom to work it's way at the top. This movie has that and then some. Very entertaining and a cast that does the job well done. Downey Jr. played a good role and shows he's having fun doing so. Worth the money and your popcorn.
  41. ClarkW
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    The casting of Downey as Iron Man is as perfect as Heath Ledger as the Joker. Downey plays a great hero, and is funny throughout. There are very few low points to this movie. The only drawback is the final fight scene, it could have been a bit better. But other than that, a great movie that will have you gasping in awe and laughing until your sides hurt.
  42. Phil
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best movies of the year. However, my only concern is the absurdly short boss battle.
  43. WickedS.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    This is the most fun a comic book fan can have. Iron Man truly comes to life and entertains. If you like Batman or Spiderman then Iron Man will not dissapoint you. I am not a fan of Terrance nor Gwyneth but everyone else was great.
  44. GordonT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I was absolutely wowed by this movie. This is how to make a comic book movie ... Sam Raimi, eat your heart out.
  45. RM
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Everything a movie based on a comic should be and I'm not even a fan of the Iron Man comics. But it's a whole different ball game on screen. Robert Downey Jr. is the perfect Tony Stark. Can't wait to see it again. This is a movie that isn't to be missed.
  46. EmmaG.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's been a long time, but finally I had fun watching a movie.
  47. PaulB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then you could probably say the same for Pepper, Rhodey and Obediah Stane as well. This is the first fully marvel produced movie, its smart, funny and Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then you could probably say the same for Pepper, Rhodey and Obediah Stane as well. This is the first fully marvel produced movie, its smart, funny and action packed and it bodes well for the future of the Iron man and marvel franchise. Solid gold. Expand
  48. MarcoM.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the movie was right on time with each appearance. The movie has a great montage to get you up to speed with who Tony Stark a.k.a Iron Man was and who he The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the movie was right on time with each appearance. The movie has a great montage to get you up to speed with who Tony Stark a.k.a Iron Man was and who he is today in that movie. Robert Downy Jr. played a great Tony Stark. Downey had some great moments where he just told you through his eyes. Then the lovely Gweneth Paltrow played a great side kick through out the movie holding her own, and never being left behind in the story. The movie was about two hours, and I could have possibly seen a three hour version, because the movie was so good. I just hope that with the sequel they stick to what worked and not try to cram so much like Spiderman 3 wah wah! I am going to see this movie at least two more times. Amazing Movie! Expand
  49. PDiddy
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The perfect comic book movie. Brilliantly cast, utterly faithful to the characters. There is no flaw, I just wish it could have been longer. I could honestly have watched this film all day long.
  50. JoeL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    As a marvel superhero movie this was great. Funny at parts and serious at others. I recommend it, even my wife liked it and she only likes chick flicks usually.
  51. WayneR.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Downey shows what a true master he is, putting his stamp on this movie, a movie where he his remembered and not the character, 10 out of 10 for me.
  52. AlfredG.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Lot's of fun! Won't exactly tax your mind, but for pure enjoyment, regardless of whether you're an Iron Man fan, this is the one to beat this summer blockbuster season. Highly recommended.
  53. GabrielK.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert Downey Jr. fit perfectly the character. The effects, the story and the action is fantastic. You will want to see it again, for sure. For me the best I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert Downey Jr. fit perfectly the character. The effects, the story and the action is fantastic. You will want to see it again, for sure. For me the best movie I've ever seen for long time. Expand
  54. TrevorH.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    This movie is a solid B+. The first in the Marvel series to actually adapt real scenes and real storyline from the comics with integrity and modesty. Downey Jr. is perfect as Tony Stark. Gwenyth is a great Pepper. And most important, Jeff Bridges shows his stripes as an evil villan. Bring on Doctor Doom in Iron Man 2.
  55. ScottG.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    Best superhero movie yet.
  56. TroyM.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Robert Downey Jr's amazing perfomance elevates this film to epic heights. Equal in quality to Batman Begins while providing even more flash and eye candy. Best in genre to date, a triumph!
  57. RogB.
    May 19, 2008
    9
    Best popcorn movie in recent memory!!
  58. PawelA.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    The best superhero movie I've ever seen. Downey Jr. and the rest of the cast at their best. A must see for all comic book fans.
  59. StevenK.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Best superhero movie in ages!
  60. BillG.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    One of the best comic book movies. Downy nailed the part as tony stark. and It is good Marvel is starting to put the Marvel U in movies.
  61. DarrenK.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    So much better than most comic book movies. It manages to tell a compelling story AND have good performances from the entire cast. This is probably the only comic book movie I've seen where all the acting was actually good. The effects are fantastic and there is enough spectacle to keep everybody happy.
  62. SeanH.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Easily the best superhero movie I have ever seen. Perfect measure of plot, action, CG, physical props, and little subtle additions that the casual fan may not catch, but hard core Marvel fans will feel rewarded for getting.
  63. BobJ.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Just so damn good I have to see it again. Look at the teaser at the end of the credits.
  64. JMB.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    The exposition took up most of the movie, but every bit of it was enjoyable. Robert Downey Jr is easily the most likable, badass superhero we've seen in the theaters so far. Bring on the sequel!
  65. JakeH.
    May 24, 2008
    9
    This movie was amazing! I was actionpacked and alot of sci-fi bombing. The movie had alot of talking I found and not enough fighting although I thought Robert Downey Jr. played the part perfectly he was funny and herioc. Although, the movie was pretty short of action, but besides that this movie was amazing!
  66. GregQ.
    May 25, 2008
    9
    This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little disappointed. However there is something to be said for the superhero who is not a "superbeing" but decides to become a hero, rather than the This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little disappointed. However there is something to be said for the superhero who is not a "superbeing" but decides to become a hero, rather than the "superbeing" who becomes the hero out of obligation to use his (or her) powers. The dynamic between Potts and Stark is especially well done, and I like how they close out that part of the movie. This is a great movie and you should go see it in the theaters while you can. Expand
  67. WilliamG.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Excellent movie, worth every penny.
  68. Marc-AndreK.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    This movie was amazing. From the beginning to the end, you keep being involved in this never ending action process.
  69. SamD.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Firmly establishes itself as one of the best comic book movies ever and, at the same time, is a very good film overall.
  70. EddieM
    May 3, 2008
    10
    O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief ending, needed to go a little more instead of tony stark confessing that he is iron man at a press conference and the credits roll. That was the only O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief ending, needed to go a little more instead of tony stark confessing that he is iron man at a press conference and the credits roll. That was the only downside to this movie, other than that, Iron man is the sh*t, i think its better than the dark knight is going to be. Expand
  71. JoeyK.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Extremely awesome. There's not much else to say. It's awesome, go see it.
  72. WalterS.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Iron Man was great. The theatre broke out into cheers and applause seven times at the showing. Seven. You probably know what scenes it happened at. It's awesome, funny, and doesn't require a lot of thinking to understand what's going on. Go with the user vote instead of the critic vote on this one.
  73. LauraT.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome movie. I never read the comic and didn't even know much about the movie before going (my boyfriend wanted to see it) and I LOVED it. I feel like going again tonight. It's so great to see Robert Downey Jr. in something really good again.
  74. AlbertoR.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Makes 100 % justice to its comic book counter part great movies one of the best super heroes movies ever made im really glad this movies was so good from character development and deep to great effects.
  75. DavidN.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    The cast shines, the storyline is surprisingly believable for the most part, and the effects are a treat to the wide-eyed ten year-old hiding in all of us. Downey is downright soulful as Tony Stark. A great mix of wit, action, intrigue, and yes, intelligence. I'm not a huge fan of the genre, but I will anxiously await the sequel.
  76. DanielD.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The show is very very realistic, and epic. The way their morphed the terrorist complex was very good. Had a few amazing jokes too (and I'm not talking, Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The show is very very realistic, and epic. The way their morphed the terrorist complex was very good. Had a few amazing jokes too (and I'm not talking, Spiderman jokes, I was cracking up here! but it wasn't a comedy it still kept pace with the story, and the action). The movie had a lot of acting but not a movie like Shoot 'Em Up who just had acting 24/7 with a weak storyline (but I enjoyed Shoot 'Em Up a lot but this movie is 1,000,000,000,000X better!) A must see! Also in the previews there is a preview for the new Hulk. THE GRAPHICS ON HULK ARE CORNY! DON'T SEE IT! But reach early to see the previews for Batman, and Indiana Jones, and a few good comedies with Mike Myers, and Adam Sandler. GOOD MOVER! 1790/10 Expand
  77. Sal
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Its sick..what else do you want from a superhero movie man, this was no Incredible Hulk or Catwoman which were both flops.
  78. JoannaA
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Fantastic movie, especially RDJr!!
  79. MikeP.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Iron Man is proof that comic book movies can be done right. Everything from casting to special effects was top notch and done perfectly. The acting could not have been better. What a great beginning to a new movie franchise! I am eagerly awaiting the sequel, and I am now a certified Iron Man fan for life! Support this movie any way you can!
  80. PaulO
    May 4, 2008
    9
    Real Good. Everyone else has already said it better than me. Just go see it!
  81. JasonL.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    An amazing movie, with clever and unexpected (occasionally) dialogue, great action sequences (albethem few and far between), not to mention the whole thing is a gadget lovers wet dream.
  82. JrWilliams
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Marvel cant go wrong. Fun and high flying.
  83. AzuanS.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The best superhero film ever!
  84. TomS
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Great summer action flick! Nothing negative at all. Sure some of the action was over the top, but it's a super hero movie folks.
  85. Chris
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Do yourself a favor and go see this movie. it was very good in every way. the idiot comparing ironman with batman begins obviously doesn't know what a good movie is so ignore him. the other FEW ppl who gave it low scores were just looking for something bad to write. go see the movie
  86. mr.banks
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Considering the obstacles that an origin story usually faces, Ironman is easily one of the best first installment comic book movies I have ever seen. That considered: Top Five Superhero Movies Ever: 1) Spider-Man 2, 2) Batman Begins, 3) Ironman, 4) Superman, 5) 300. Do yourself a favor, and go see it!
  87. AlexS
    May 6, 2008
    10
    The best superhero movie yet, can't wait for iron man 2.
  88. TimS.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Actually I was so impressed that Stark was able to be pulled off by Robert Downey Jr. And I was looking for a real Redhead ot play Pepper... Her hair seems to go redder through the movie... And she seems to gain freckles... I love it!!!
  89. DavidJennings
    May 6, 2008
    9
    I was very impressed with this movie over all. Maybe because I didn't expect much out of it. VIsuals were great. Robert Downey Jr. was a very interesting Tony Stark. I was never bored when he was on screen. Not to mention the set up for expanding on the universe in which Tony Stark/Iron Man exists.
  90. Ben
    May 6, 2008
    10
    We need more superhero genre films like this!
  91. GrahamS.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    An epic to start to what is sure to be an epic trilogy...if you like superhero flicks, you can't go wrong, if on the other hand you are " grown up" and have lost all child like wonder in this life then you'll probably hate it...but hey, you're likely all dried up and bitter anyway so no one cares...lol.
  92. BrianP
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Wonderful, fun movie ...loved all of it except the casting of Terence Howard....he was kind of a wussy for a fighter pilot.
  93. MaxC.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    This was a pretty great movie and I can't wait for the sequel! This is easily one of the best superhero movies that have ever came out. Watch it!
  94. ColinG.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    Genuinely entertaining and fun from start to finish. Robert Downey Jr. is brilliant and at the top of his game. As a HUGE Spider-Man fan even I have to say Iron Man is the best comic book based movie I've seen yet.
  95. MargaretC.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    I am now excitedly torn between Iron Man and Batman Begins as my favorite comic book movies. I've always been a comic book fan, but it doesn't always translate to the big screen well. Iron Man looks good, feels exciting, and Robert Downey Jr. does a great job as Iron Man. His acting is subtle and perfect as he pulls off the gloriously snide and alternately humble hero. His I am now excitedly torn between Iron Man and Batman Begins as my favorite comic book movies. I've always been a comic book fan, but it doesn't always translate to the big screen well. Iron Man looks good, feels exciting, and Robert Downey Jr. does a great job as Iron Man. His acting is subtle and perfect as he pulls off the gloriously snide and alternately humble hero. His character development makes you feel like you believe a man like Tony Stark could go through hell and come out a hero. I am so looking forward to more Iron Man in many movies to come!!!! PS: Hi T! Expand
  96. MatthewD.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a long time, there are no low points and it keeps ticking over at a great pace. Good to see a movie with robots and mechanicals that show the trails and errors of making machines. I will go back to see this again next week.
  97. JingH.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Best marvel film ever. Marvel did a good job by making this film independently. Special effects were stunning.
  98. ShammyS.
    Jun 3, 2008
    9
    Movie was a wonderful experience. At first glance Robert Downey Jr. seems less likely to fill the role but as you go deeper into the movie you realize he was the best choice in the end. Lot's of funny moments, and alot of terrorist being pounded by the Iron!
  99. DawnishA.h
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    this movie deserves a higher rating, it was one of the best marvel movies i have seen in a very long time!!!
  100. Dave
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    I think this may have been one of the best superhero movies ever made. It appeals more to a broader audience than the hardcore Iron Man comic book fan. So far, I know of at least 4 people who originally didn't care to see it but were dragged to the theater anyways and ended up loving it.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Downey plays off his own bad-boy image wonderfully. The writers give him great lines to work with and ditto that for his Girl Friday, Gwyneth Paltrow's Pepper Potts, whose own svelte lines cannot be improved on.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Ever-eclectic director Jon Favreau, who briefly pops up onscreen as a Stark minion, maintains a brisk but not frantic pace, and, in concert with lenser Matthew Libatique, production designer J. Michael Riva and the first-rate visual effects team, has made an unusually elegant looking film for the genre.
  3. Loyal assistant, Pepper Potts, isn't much of a part, but Gwyneth Paltrow is a presence. She stands around looking amused and flabbergastingly pretty, slinging wisecracks with serene aplomb.