Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1595 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,452
Mixed:
85
Negative:
58
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
DesmondW.May 2, 2008
Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting you a real feel for the suit. Suprisingly this movie will bring you alot of laughs..Yes its weird but it sure wll. I LOVE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PriyanthT.May 2, 2008
thye movie was awesome the graphics were done greatly and it was fun watchin and it was no less than spider man, superman or batman, and wish a sequel wuld be made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamilleMay 30, 2008
Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of the special effects and dynamics between the characters. This is a film not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TeryMay 3, 2008
I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go the restroom or buy anything, and that says something! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.May 3, 2008
Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more dramatic. Good start to the series can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.May 30, 2008
I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the standard by which all future Marvel movies will be judged. I simply cannot praise this movie enough. It's as good as Batman Begins, but "lighter" and more suitable for children, and it has enough sly humor that the adults will be entertained as well. RDJ gives the performance of a lifetime in the role he was born to play. I have seen this movie six times now and I'm going back this weekend for yet another serving of metal-suited terrorist-punching awesomeness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattAMay 6, 2008
This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to something...better...in which it was. So when the sequel comes around...i may be giving this a nine, but until then, this serves as a good backstory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RienyeN.May 8, 2008
Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Best marvel comic adaptation to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonP.May 8, 2008
Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and succeed in once again providing all they can to the world: their judgment of someone else's brilliance. This movie was the perfect mix of snide wit and explosive special effects. It not only does the comic book justice, but sets itself apart from its printed origins and in fact all other movies in its genre. It is so rare to see Oscar worthy performances in what should be a simple shoot-em-up, but that's what you get for your money. This is a must-see, and one of the best of all time; believe it. Mark my words: this film will break the billions, and birth a new tinsel-town dynasty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormanX.Apr 30, 2008
Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel with Warhammer made me hunger for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveS.Apr 30, 2008
If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in his portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man blending arrogance, some self realisation and lighter comedic moments well. The visuals and special effects are a credit to the production and special effects teams. Simply put, this is the best Marvel movie I have seen in a long time, and quite frankly I'm willing to see it again in the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisR.May 10, 2008
I thoughts this was a very well done movie. the only problem I had with it was the amount of action. this movie really doesn't get going until the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidW.May 1, 2008
Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same time cause he's so cocky. The ending is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanmikS.May 10, 2008
Very very entertaining and visually awesome. Great script for wit and humor and acting covers the somewhat typical superhero movie plot. 'Tis worth your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bluezboy8May 10, 2008
All the CG and gadgetry of a summer blockbuster, but surprisingly, all the well-drawn story and acting of a fall season Oscar contender. This movie just has it ALL!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadShiiraMay 19, 2008
When Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporaryWhen Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of the century by European hands. Although Marlowe wasn't an imperialist, per se, he did foster the ongoing tyranny by simply being in that tug boat. In "Ironman", as Stark rides across the desert in an army utility vehicle, our anti-hero gets closer to his unbeknowing nightmare, the discovery that he's enabling the enemy. The horror, the horror. In that cave, he turns into Oskar Schindler(an ex-war profiteer), as a Marvel superhero. But if you're looking for a Kurtz stand-in, it's pretty hard not to miss Jeff Bridges' bald head. Bridges manages the neat trick of being a megalomaniacal tyrant with a god complex(in other words, Marlon Brando in Francis Ford Coppola's "Apocalypse Now"), and Preston Thomas Tucker(the car manufacturer in "Tucker: The Man & His Dreams; again, Coppola), a man of vision, albeit an evil one. "Ironman" also impresses with its Mulder/Scully dynamics between Stark and Pepper Potts(Gwyneth Paltrow). When Stark says, "Admit it. This isn't the worst thing you caught me doing," to his assistant, fans of "The X-Files" will nod knowingly. Mulder was a porn aficionado. "Ironman", predictably, has the requisite action to satisfy its target demographic(something that Ang Lee's "Hulk" failed to do), but it's the suppressed love between boss and employee that's the real story here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenH.May 2, 2008
What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it was hilarious . What we need to keep in mind when rating this movie that it is a comic action flick, and as such i will rate it so.. there was no great meaning or artsy fartsy metaphors. For me this was the perfect comic book action movie. It was far better than any of the other marvels movies i have seen so far and made Transformers look like a joke. I will be going to the movies again soon for this one. 10/10 from me, i hope there is a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarrodD.May 2, 2008
OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know,OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals. I didn't find myself once thinking about how good/bad the effects were. I know that they were incredibly well done, but I also was so into the !&^#% story that I wasn't paying attention to that....which I've never done. Robert Downey Jr in my opinion does his best work to date. I couldn't have asked for a better actor....absolutely perfect. I think RDJ can relate to Tony Stark cuz they've both had/have problems with drugs or women or whatnot, so it worked pretty well. Jeff Bridges, I couldn't see him as the antagonist in my mind before the movie. During and after the movie, I was all for him playing the villain. I don't know about all of you, but for me, it's hard to like or even really care about the "damsel in distress" in super hero movies. I could care less for Mary Jane in Spider man, or Rachael Dawes in Batman Begins. Their characters were just there to be in trouble and add a little sexual flavor to the movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, I honestly cared and liked her character. She was there for more than just, HELP! In fact, she was pretty bad @%#. The acting from all these people was great. They couldn't have done better. There was just enough comic book references in there to keep a nerd like me happy. I could myself a few times clenching my hands in anticipation and glee for what I was about to see or seeing. I was seriously like a 7 year old again watching a combination of Robocop, Superman, Batman, and the x-men cartoon for the first time. It was so @%^$ sweet to see such a good adaptation on screen. I can't tell you how critical I am of comic book movies. As adaptations they #^#*$ suck. As movies, they are usually just passable as entertaining, with the exception of a few. This was a great adaptation (the 8 people around me in the theater thought it was the best adaptation of a book to a story they've seen) Just enough action in it to keep everyone wanting to see what the hell that suit can do (and it is a lot) and just enough character development and story to keep everyone interested and caring for these characters. I can honestly say that I wouldn't have changed a single thing. There was everything in there that needed to be in there, without any of the #&$%@@#$. I would've added one thing. IT'S DIFFERENT THAT CHANGING THINGS! It's not a spoiler, just an awesome Iron Man line that was in a comic. There was a scene in the comic where Tony Stark is flying around in the suit and the guys on the ground are noticing he's slurring words and I think he's even singing. The people observing the test yell through the communication line, "Tony, are you #&$% drunk?!" to which it cuts to a panel of Tony Stark in the suit laughing and saying "Have you seen this thing!? Do you really think I'd get into it sober!" haha, everytime I let anyone read that series, they always remember that line and laugh. So, in conclusion, @&*$%^@#! Go see it immediately. I'm available for lunch if you want to go then! Also, when you do see it, stay till after the credits. I don't care if you get a phone call that your baby is birthing right then and there. You sit your @$$ down and watch the #*$%@# end! I honestly felt like an Arsenio Hall audience member after the end scene, I stood up and pumped my fist and gave a "woot woot woot" so awesome! Truly surprised. Alright, I'll shut up. Go see it already Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekC.May 2, 2008
This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a perfect cast. Makes you want to be a kid again and build your own ironman suit out of cardboard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EugeneM.May 3, 2008
Superb comic based movie. RDJ was perfect for the role. I did not give it a perfect 10 because I still wanted to see more ironman action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SorenKMay 3, 2008
Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The casting/acting is top shelf, but too much of it is wasted on exposition (not to mention a lack of any real chemistry between Downey and Paltrow). Favreau's direction is mostly plodding and unsure of itself - antithetical to the movie's protagonist. By all means go see it, but let's hope Marvel picks a better director for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReyA.May 30, 2008
This is by far the best superhero movie of all time. I used to be a big fan of spiderman until Iron Man came around. Also, what I liked alot is the technologically advanced weaponry used in the film. It really caught my attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DplummMay 3, 2008
I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and Jeff....what a cast! A must see!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaddyH.May 3, 2008
A great film......brilliant gadget wise! definately would recommend it to other people!!!!!!!!!!!!! go watch it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.B.May 3, 2008
I was very skeptical about with Downey playing Stark. I was wrong, no one else could have been Ironman. The movie had plenty of action with well timed humor. I will be taking my sons to see it again next weekend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnnyD.May 3, 2008
If you liked the previews, this movie won't disappoint. There were equal parts action, humor, and storyline. I can't wait for a sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickG.May 3, 2008
Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the film credibility. Ironman also looks amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.May 3, 2008
I have been waiting 25 years for this movie and it was worth every second of it! Terrific movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanR.May 4, 2008
This movie was really cool and one of the best comic book movies yet. Just make sure you stay until after the credits!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanB.May 4, 2008
Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Very believable and well written. Don't miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreF.May 4, 2008
This is one of the best comic book movies that I have seen in quites sometime. The acting was on par with Batman Begins, and it gave hope to reviving a franchise with what I believe was a poor sequel in Spiderman 3. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalvinC.May 4, 2008
The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait for the DVD or Blu-ray. Watch it now. You won't be dissapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethE.May 4, 2008
Fantastic. Downey is perfectly cast, plot is smart, special effects are terrific, dialogue is clever. It is the rare action movie in which even the non-action scenes are compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RDalviMay 4, 2008
Awesome film. Cool Visual effects. Robert Downey Jr, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Terence Howard and all others were great. COOL WITH A HUGE C.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffL.May 5, 2008
The Dude abides.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonanonL.May 5, 2008
Expected Much Much Worse. Even with all the "summer movie" moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimD.May 5, 2008
I'm a huge fan of comic film and this is one of the top 5 comic films. Robert Downey Jr is amazing, Favreau weaves an amazing story
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AustinM.May 5, 2008
This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was phenomenal, and after watching the movie, I yearned to be that Tony Stark, brilliant, funny, awesome, billionaire of a guy that he was in that part. The soundtrack wasn't anything memorable, but it certainly didn't detract from anything. The special effects, as always by ILM, were amazing, and the entire visual aspect of the piece was great. The story as well, was admirable, and much, much better than that crap the Spider-Man movies keep throwing at us. This is probably because it stuck very loyally to the comics, with the added "Tony Stark is awesome" thing. Overall, just a really good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferMay 6, 2008
Good movie. I'll admit that I don't really like superhero action movies, but there were some thrilling scenes (like RDJ taking his Iron Man outfit out for a test drive). All the male actors are great. Paltrow is "meh."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Fullys.May 6, 2008
this is an amazing movie, aguably with transformer to be the best movie during last 12 months
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dr.C.May 7, 2008
It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering it's a comic book fer cryin' out loud! Attention Robert Downey, Jr.: Stay sober, man... You are a fantastic actor & you pull off this anti-macho, cool cat, hipster industrialist Big Time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
NOMay 8, 2008
Movie was great better than i expected retard that gave it a 4 was a transformers loser. Transformers and Iron are 2 TOTALLY different categories of movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcC.Jun 1, 2008
Awesome flick. I don't know what "Brian L" was watching. But it's like every start of a franchise. It has to start from scratch and told from the bottom to work it's way at the top. This movie has that and then some. Very Awesome flick. I don't know what "Brian L" was watching. But it's like every start of a franchise. It has to start from scratch and told from the bottom to work it's way at the top. This movie has that and then some. Very entertaining and a cast that does the job well done. Downey Jr. played a good role and shows he's having fun doing so. Worth the money and your popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
The casting of Downey as Iron Man is as perfect as Heath Ledger as the Joker. Downey plays a great hero, and is funny throughout. There are very few low points to this movie. The only drawback is the final fight scene, it could have been a The casting of Downey as Iron Man is as perfect as Heath Ledger as the Joker. Downey plays a great hero, and is funny throughout. There are very few low points to this movie. The only drawback is the final fight scene, it could have been a bit better. But other than that, a great movie that will have you gasping in awe and laughing until your sides hurt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilOct 11, 2008
This is one of the best movies of the year. However, my only concern is the absurdly short boss battle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WickedS.Oct 4, 2008
This is the most fun a comic book fan can have. Iron Man truly comes to life and entertains. If you like Batman or Spiderman then Iron Man will not dissapoint you. I am not a fan of Terrance nor Gwyneth but everyone else was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AliR.Oct 8, 2008
Nice Effects, Power Suit is just like comics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdayH.Apr 30, 2008
at first, i didn't expect much from it, but it turned out, i was wrong. the movie is finely done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GordonT.Apr 30, 2008
I was absolutely wowed by this movie. This is how to make a comic book movie ... Sam Raimi, eat your heart out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RMApr 30, 2008
Everything a movie based on a comic should be and I'm not even a fan of the Iron Man comics. But it's a whole different ball game on screen. Robert Downey Jr. is the perfect Tony Stark. Can't wait to see it again. This is a Everything a movie based on a comic should be and I'm not even a fan of the Iron Man comics. But it's a whole different ball game on screen. Robert Downey Jr. is the perfect Tony Stark. Can't wait to see it again. This is a movie that isn't to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaG.May 1, 2008
It's been a long time, but finally I had fun watching a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.May 1, 2008
Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then you could probably say the same for Pepper, Rhodey and Obediah Stane as well. This is the first fully marvel produced movie, its smart, funny and action packed and it bodes well for the future of the Iron man and marvel franchise. Solid gold. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcoM.May 1, 2008
The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the movie was right on time with each appearance. The movie has a great montage to get you up to speed with who Tony Stark a.k.a Iron Man was and who he is today in that movie. Robert Downy Jr. played a great Tony Stark. Downey had some great moments where he just told you through his eyes. Then the lovely Gweneth Paltrow played a great side kick through out the movie holding her own, and never being left behind in the story. The movie was about two hours, and I could have possibly seen a three hour version, because the movie was so good. I just hope that with the sequel they stick to what worked and not try to cram so much like Spiderman 3 wah wah! I am going to see this movie at least two more times. Amazing Movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnMay 11, 2008
Very good movie worth seeing in a theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattKMay 12, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was hopeful that this was a sign of what's to come this summer (it was perfectly matched with the new Dark Knight trailer), but after Speed Racer, I'm not so optimistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PDiddyMay 1, 2008
The perfect comic book movie. Brilliantly cast, utterly faithful to the characters. There is no flaw, I just wish it could have been longer. I could honestly have watched this film all day long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeL.May 1, 2008
As a marvel superhero movie this was great. Funny at parts and serious at others. I recommend it, even my wife liked it and she only likes chick flicks usually.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneR.May 10, 2008
Downey shows what a true master he is, putting his stamp on this movie, a movie where he his remembered and not the character, 10 out of 10 for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlfredG.May 1, 2008
Lot's of fun! Won't exactly tax your mind, but for pure enjoyment, regardless of whether you're an Iron Man fan, this is the one to beat this summer blockbuster season. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielK.May 10, 2008
I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert Downey Jr. fit perfectly the character. The effects, the story and the action is fantastic. You will want to see it again, for sure. For me the best movie I've ever seen for long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrevorH.May 1, 2008
This movie is a solid B+. The first in the Marvel series to actually adapt real scenes and real storyline from the comics with integrity and modesty. Downey Jr. is perfect as Tony Stark. Gwenyth is a great Pepper. And most important, Jeff This movie is a solid B+. The first in the Marvel series to actually adapt real scenes and real storyline from the comics with integrity and modesty. Downey Jr. is perfect as Tony Stark. Gwenyth is a great Pepper. And most important, Jeff Bridges shows his stripes as an evil villan. Bring on Doctor Doom in Iron Man 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottG.May 14, 2008
Best superhero movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyM.May 1, 2008
Robert Downey Jr's amazing perfomance elevates this film to epic heights. Equal in quality to Batman Begins while providing even more flash and eye candy. Best in genre to date, a triumph!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RogB.May 19, 2008
Best popcorn movie in recent memory!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrederickM.May 2, 2008
its an awesome movie... get that right before you read my review... my reviem does not have any major criticisms so i wont even bring them up... solid performance by downey... great cg effects... decent story and plot... and overall a kickass movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PawelA.May 2, 2008
The best superhero movie I've ever seen. Downey Jr. and the rest of the cast at their best. A must see for all comic book fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenK.May 2, 2008
Best superhero movie in ages!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillG.May 2, 2008
One of the best comic book movies. Downy nailed the part as tony stark. and It is good Marvel is starting to put the Marvel U in movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrenK.May 2, 2008
So much better than most comic book movies. It manages to tell a compelling story AND have good performances from the entire cast. This is probably the only comic book movie I've seen where all the acting was actually good. The effects So much better than most comic book movies. It manages to tell a compelling story AND have good performances from the entire cast. This is probably the only comic book movie I've seen where all the acting was actually good. The effects are fantastic and there is enough spectacle to keep everybody happy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanH.May 2, 2008
Easily the best superhero movie I have ever seen. Perfect measure of plot, action, CG, physical props, and little subtle additions that the casual fan may not catch, but hard core Marvel fans will feel rewarded for getting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobJ.May 2, 2008
Just so damn good I have to see it again. Look at the teaser at the end of the credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JMB.May 2, 2008
The exposition took up most of the movie, but every bit of it was enjoyable. Robert Downey Jr is easily the most likable, badass superhero we've seen in the theaters so far. Bring on the sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickyQ.May 20, 2008
An entertaining film that feels too much like all the other superhero movies before it. Fairly funny, good acting, and cool effects throughout make this a fun night at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeH.May 24, 2008
This movie was amazing! I was actionpacked and alot of sci-fi bombing. The movie had alot of talking I found and not enough fighting although I thought Robert Downey Jr. played the part perfectly he was funny and herioc. Although, the movie This movie was amazing! I was actionpacked and alot of sci-fi bombing. The movie had alot of talking I found and not enough fighting although I thought Robert Downey Jr. played the part perfectly he was funny and herioc. Although, the movie was pretty short of action, but besides that this movie was amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregQ.May 25, 2008
This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little disappointed. However there is something to be said for the superhero who is not a "superbeing" but decides to become a hero, rather than the "superbeing" who becomes the hero out of obligation to use his (or her) powers. The dynamic between Potts and Stark is especially well done, and I like how they close out that part of the movie. This is a great movie and you should go see it in the theaters while you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamG.May 2, 2008
Excellent movie, worth every penny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeS.May 2, 2008
A decent movie but ultimately lacking. It's 8 parts set up and 2 parts action, and I definitely would have liked more action. The villian choice was a bit lacking, but after the Spiderman 3 fiasco, I'd rather have less than way way A decent movie but ultimately lacking. It's 8 parts set up and 2 parts action, and I definitely would have liked more action. The villian choice was a bit lacking, but after the Spiderman 3 fiasco, I'd rather have less than way way way too much. A decent movie but I wouldn't recommend seeing it unless you're going to see Iron Man 2 right after it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Marc-AndreK.May 2, 2008
This movie was amazing. From the beginning to the end, you keep being involved in this never ending action process.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamD.May 3, 2008
Firmly establishes itself as one of the best comic book movies ever and, at the same time, is a very good film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EddieMMay 3, 2008
O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief ending, needed to go a little more instead of tony stark confessing that he is iron man at a press conference and the credits roll. That was the only downside to this movie, other than that, Iron man is the sh*t, i think its better than the dark knight is going to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyK.May 3, 2008
Extremely awesome. There's not much else to say. It's awesome, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterS.May 3, 2008
Iron Man was great. The theatre broke out into cheers and applause seven times at the showing. Seven. You probably know what scenes it happened at. It's awesome, funny, and doesn't require a lot of thinking to understand Iron Man was great. The theatre broke out into cheers and applause seven times at the showing. Seven. You probably know what scenes it happened at. It's awesome, funny, and doesn't require a lot of thinking to understand what's going on. Go with the user vote instead of the critic vote on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraT.May 3, 2008
Awesome movie. I never read the comic and didn't even know much about the movie before going (my boyfriend wanted to see it) and I LOVED it. I feel like going again tonight. It's so great to see Robert Downey Jr. in something Awesome movie. I never read the comic and didn't even know much about the movie before going (my boyfriend wanted to see it) and I LOVED it. I feel like going again tonight. It's so great to see Robert Downey Jr. in something really good again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbertoR.May 3, 2008
Makes 100 % justice to its comic book counter part great movies one of the best super heroes movies ever made im really glad this movies was so good from character development and deep to great effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidN.May 3, 2008
The cast shines, the storyline is surprisingly believable for the most part, and the effects are a treat to the wide-eyed ten year-old hiding in all of us. Downey is downright soulful as Tony Stark. A great mix of wit, action, intrigue, and The cast shines, the storyline is surprisingly believable for the most part, and the effects are a treat to the wide-eyed ten year-old hiding in all of us. Downey is downright soulful as Tony Stark. A great mix of wit, action, intrigue, and yes, intelligence. I'm not a huge fan of the genre, but I will anxiously await the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoolzLMay 3, 2008
Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in this film. Also being the obligatory "Origin" story it's hard to stray very far from a story that any marvel fan would be familiar with. It was a good effort and a far cry from some of the painful films of this genre we've been subjected to in the last few years. And despite all odds I look forward to an even better sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielD.May 3, 2008
Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The show is very very realistic, and epic. The way their morphed the terrorist complex was very good. Had a few amazing jokes too (and I'm not talking, Spiderman jokes, I was cracking up here! but it wasn't a comedy it still kept pace with the story, and the action). The movie had a lot of acting but not a movie like Shoot 'Em Up who just had acting 24/7 with a weak storyline (but I enjoyed Shoot 'Em Up a lot but this movie is 1,000,000,000,000X better!) A must see! Also in the previews there is a preview for the new Hulk. THE GRAPHICS ON HULK ARE CORNY! DON'T SEE IT! But reach early to see the previews for Batman, and Indiana Jones, and a few good comedies with Mike Myers, and Adam Sandler. GOOD MOVER! 1790/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenM.May 3, 2008
Fun to watch, but riddled with plot holes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalMay 3, 2008
Its sick..what else do you want from a superhero movie man, this was no Incredible Hulk or Catwoman which were both flops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaAMay 4, 2008
Fantastic movie, especially RDJr!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WalterRMay 4, 2008
Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero dramas go...love interest, villain with similar powers, etc. Won't give away the ending, but it's nothing creative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeP.May 4, 2008
Iron Man is proof that comic book movies can be done right. Everything from casting to special effects was top notch and done perfectly. The acting could not have been better. What a great beginning to a new movie franchise! I am eagerly Iron Man is proof that comic book movies can be done right. Everything from casting to special effects was top notch and done perfectly. The acting could not have been better. What a great beginning to a new movie franchise! I am eagerly awaiting the sequel, and I am now a certified Iron Man fan for life! Support this movie any way you can! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulOMay 4, 2008
Real Good. Everyone else has already said it better than me. Just go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilD.May 4, 2008
Slid writing, pacing, direction and acting (Downey has found his character) - only problem is the ending fight sequence - boring and silly
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.May 5, 2008
An amazing movie, with clever and unexpected (occasionally) dialogue, great action sequences (albethem few and far between), not to mention the whole thing is a gadget lovers wet dream.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JrWilliamsMay 5, 2008
Marvel cant go wrong. Fun and high flying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielA.May 5, 2008
This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to tie his power pak into high gas prices it would have been solid. cgi was great with only a few flaws ( or features I like to call them). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnMay 5, 2008
Superb film, superb acting, slightly predictable but nonetheless you will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AzuanS.May 5, 2008
The best superhero film ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomSMay 5, 2008
Great summer action flick! Nothing negative at all. Sure some of the action was over the top, but it's a super hero movie folks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful