Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jack and Jill is a comedy focusing on Jack Sadelstein, a successful advertising executive in Los Angeles with a beautiful wife and kids, who dreads one event each year: the Thanksgiving visit of his identical twin sister Jill. Jill's neediness and passive-aggressiveness is maddening to Jack,Jack and Jill is a comedy focusing on Jack Sadelstein, a successful advertising executive in Los Angeles with a beautiful wife and kids, who dreads one event each year: the Thanksgiving visit of his identical twin sister Jill. Jill's neediness and passive-aggressiveness is maddening to Jack, turning his normally tranquil life upside down. Katie Holmes plays Erin, Jack's wife. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Nov 10, 2011
    63
    What's more genuinely wacky is what a kick the movie can sometimes be, completely in spite of its big, flat stunt.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 10, 2011
    50
    Though the Jill problem is too insurmountable to ignore, almost everything else in this comedy succeeds.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Nov 10, 2011
    40
    Jack and Jill is a barrage of fart jokes and fat jokes and mean jokes that sincerely thinks it deserves to end with a hug. It doesn't deserve awwwws - and it doesn't deserve your money.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Nov 10, 2011
    30
    In the wake of "Bridesmaids," Sandler's lipsticked tomfoolery - and inability to share the screen with genuinely funny women - feels particularly regressive and stale. Both movies have diarrhea gags, but only one feels defined by such humor.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 10, 2011
    25
    The unapologetic laziness and ineptitude of Jack's impersonation, which is played for cheap laughs, is just as lazy as Sandler's performance as the real Jill. You don't buy it for a minute.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Nov 12, 2011
    16
    What makes Jack And Jill worse than the average Sandler vehicle is Jill, who's been conceived as little more than a dude in drag, hold the jokes.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A total bust, a stupefyingly unfunny and shamelessly lazy farce packed with cringe-worthy jokes and overt product placement.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 84
  2. Negative: 56 out of 84
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    I think that it very interesting film about brother and sister. Every Critic, who wrote something wrong about this film is very stuped!I think that it very interesting film about brother and sister. Every Critic, who wrote something wrong about this film is very stuped! Because this film has got meaning in contrast Mission Impaseble: Ghost Protocol! Collapse
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Great movie. Just an overall treat. Adam Sandler does an amazing job filling two roles in the movie and bringing both characters to life.Great movie. Just an overall treat. Adam Sandler does an amazing job filling two roles in the movie and bringing both characters to life. Doesn't actually deserve a 10 but it's given that to attempt to even out the unfair 0's Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    It was awful but awful in a decent way since it was so bad it was funny but it was suppose to be bad so what's the point in criticizing it?It was awful but awful in a decent way since it was so bad it was funny but it was suppose to be bad so what's the point in criticizing it? Personally I thought it was pretty funny and it had a good life lesson. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2012
    1
    This is the worst Adam Sandler film I have ever seen! Fell asleep while watching it and eventually walked out of the cinema; after many otherThis is the worst Adam Sandler film I have ever seen! Fell asleep while watching it and eventually walked out of the cinema; after many other patrons had done the same. Don't watch this period! Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    A truly terrible movie that is a 100% waste of time and money. It's been a long time since Adam Sandler could make anyone laugh and AdamA truly terrible movie that is a 100% waste of time and money. It's been a long time since Adam Sandler could make anyone laugh and Adam Sandler in drag is even worse. I can only pray for the day that he stops making movies all together. Don't see this movie whatever you do, staying home and staring at a blank wall for two hours would be more stimulating (and humorous) than this movie. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Adam Sandler still acts? could've fooled me after watching his latest abortion of a movie. face it sandler, you had it good with BillyAdam Sandler still acts? could've fooled me after watching his latest abortion of a movie. face it sandler, you had it good with Billy Madison, Waterboy and Little Nicky, but your last few movies (especially anything with Kevin James) have been complete and utter failures Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    It deserves less then a 0! It deserves to be non existent like Sandler! I'll be honest I tried to enjoy his movies in the past even EightIt deserves less then a 0! It deserves to be non existent like Sandler! I'll be honest I tried to enjoy his movies in the past even Eight crazy nights, ugh! But it was impossible especially that abortion Don't mess with the Zohon. Every one of his movies he uses the same lame characters, references homosexuality in some way and used the same tired jokes over and over with his annoying voice. He's never funny in his movies. The Wedding Singer was the only movie I enjoyed because of the subtlety and the humor coming from everybody else not just him. It was hard to take him seriously in Reign over me and Don Cheadle was amazing as always. Expand

See all 84 User Reviews

Trailers