Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender star in the romantic drama based on Charlotte Brontë's classic novel, from acclaimed director Cary Fukunaga. In the story, Jane Eyre flees Thornfield House, where she works as a governess for wealthy Edward Rochester. As she reflects upon the people and emotions that have defined her, it is clear that the isolated and imposing residence – and Mr. Rochester's coldness – have sorely tested the young woman's resilience, forged years earlier when she was orphaned. She must now act decisively to secure her own future and come to terms with the past that haunts her – and the terrible secret that Mr. Rochester is hiding and that she has uncovered. (Focus Features)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 11, 2011
    100
    Jane Eyre is a passionate, impossible love story, one of the most romantic ever told. But it's also a cold, wild story about destruction, madness and loss, and this movie captures its divided spirit like none before.
  2. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Mar 8, 2011
    90
    Fukunaga has made his Jane Eyre an intimate, thoughtful epic, anchored by strong lead performances and the gorgeous, moody 100-shades-of-gray cinematography of Adriano Goldman.
  3. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Mar 17, 2011
    80
    The new version of Jane Eyre is far and away the best I've seen, thanks largely to the skilled young actress Mia Wasikowska.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 11, 2011
    75
    After 160 years, this is a story that still grips the heart and the mind.
  5. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Mar 24, 2011
    75
    A seven-word review: Very good performances. Much too much weather.
  6. Reviewed by: John P. McCarthy
    Mar 10, 2011
    70
    Cary Joji Fukunaga's romantic thriller Jane Eyre is to 19th-century literature what "Black Swan" is to ballet: a thoroughly cinematic, occasionally exhilarating reimagining of a repertoire standard.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 17, 2011
    50
    This latest adaptation of the Charlotte Brontë novel is careful, respectful and even enjoyable, and yet dry, singularly humorless and played without the lavishness of spirit that makes sense of Gothic melodrama.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    From the introductory sequences of director Cary Fukunga's Jane Eyre, it is obvious that the adaptation would lead towards emphasizing the Gothic elements of Charlotte Brontes original novel. The film opens, the audience sees 18-year old Jane Eyre running into the country in a directionless path. While context is absent within the opening segment, this so-far meaningless fragment of the film is devastating. The striking cinematographic images and the poignant score within this scene quintessentially evokes a modest subtlety of sorrow. With this subtlety the director forms an expansion of this subtlety throughout the film, creating an adaptation that is undoubtedly haunting and a true representation of Brontes original vision. This film based on the novel of the same name is a coming-of-age story of orphan Jane Eyre (Mia Wasikowska). The film first tells its story by alternating between memories of the protagonists dreadful experiences at her charter school, and her present-day growth into an independent and expressive woman. After the background of the character is established, the film primarily focuses on Jane Eyre, and her romantic relationship with her employer, the Byronic character of Edward Rochester (Michael Fassbender). Much of the novelâ Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Well done! I watch a lot of period pieces, and everything about this movies 'fits', including its casting, acting, and cinematography. Mia provides a strong axis around which this complex tale spins. We are
    left still amazed at the depth and complexity of her character.
    Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Catches the book's essence flawlessly. The mood it evokes is one of gloom, human plight and a longing for love. Both the lead actors capture the significant traits of their characters with precision. Stays true to the source material and does it justice. If the other classics are adapted in this manner, I don't see why readers should have a problem with their beloved books adapted for the big screen. Expand
  4. POV
    Apr 12, 2011
    7
    I think Fukunaga really managed to make a visceral film on a tandem far different from Welles' dark, b&w thrilleresque interpretation of the tragic and the romance. I loved the pastel dominance of the cinematography. If I have to pick let-downs, one is that it does not show extreme depth of character in anyone other than Jane ( We wanna see more of Mr. Rochester's complexity!). Otherwise, it is the perfectly slow-paced movie to watch for a shiver, just enough Hollywood cheesiness and just as much as I can handle. A film for the time you want to be a hopeless romantic, if only for 120 minutes. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    I've never been a fan of Jane Eyre the book or the Joan Fontaine film version. But I was interested in seeing this because of Michael Fassbender. It's not bad but it's not great and it's not great simply because there just isn't a lot to work with. Both Fassbender and Wasikowska are pleasant enough to watch but there wasn't enough depth to either of them as there was in say Sense and Sensibiltiy or Pride and Prejudice. The cinematography is first rate and the score is pleasant enough. Judi Dench is a standout in a rather thankless role. The direction seemed stifled and stilted. If there supposed to be sexual tension between Rochester and Eyre this film certainly didn't find it. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    I wasn't particularly sure if I reviewed this film right, because I don't think I found it more entertaining than other films I've seen. I think my decision was based on the fact that it was adapted from a book, so my assumption was that if it's adapted from a famous piece of literature, it had to be good. Silly me. I was kind of coaxed into it by my family and English teachers, so my heart really wasn't in it. To be honest, I found it kind of boring, but they tried their best. But of course, in the film world, that doesn't excuse you from depressing acting, even Judi Dench looked a bit sour. And why, oh why, did it have to stick so firmly to the book? I hope the purists are happy. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've seen many film and TV adaptions of the book, but this has got to be one of the worst. It's clinical no emotion whatsoever, especially from Mia Wasikowska. Her portrayal of Jane Eyre is that of a woman who, traumatised by her past experiences, can only go through the motions of everyday life expressionless and do what is told of her. It makes it all the more unbelievable that Rochester (Michael Fassbender) would say he has fallen in love with her because she is "fresh" (young, yes, but stale as 3 week old bread), and able to "regenerate" him (what on earth did he base this assumption on? The fact that he had not seen her smile once?). More scenes seemed equally ridiculous because of this, such as the fact that St John Rivers (Jamie Bell) would call her ambitious (again, what did he base this assumption on? Her lively conversations about her big dreams?). Because it is filmed out of sequence, with a series of flashbacks (whose bright idea was this?) for someone who has no prior knowledge of the book it would seem she acts exactly the same around these two main male characters in her life, again making it hard to guess not why, but actually when did she fall for one and not the other!
    As for the rest of the cast, I cannot say they did much better -with the exception of Judi Dench as Mrs. Fairfax leading me to believe this sterile atmosphere was intentional. Even Fassy seemed to be struggling with his portrayal of Mr. Rocherster, which came across as cranky, and not in that there-must-be-something-else kinda way. Overall, a disappointment.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers