• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
8

Overwhelming dislike - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Christian O'Connell (Ivan Sergei) has met the girl of his dreams in Alison Marks (Jennifer Love
    Hewitt). Unfortunately, Christian told Alison (who happens to be a rabbi’s daughter) that his name was Avi Rosenberg, and that he was Jewish- neither of which are true. Desperate to keep up the
    Christian O'Connell (Ivan Sergei) has met the girl of his dreams in Alison Marks (Jennifer Love
    Hewitt). Unfortunately, Christian told Alison (who happens to be a rabbi’s daughter) that his name was Avi Rosenberg, and that he was Jewish- neither of which are true. Desperate to keep up the illusion, he turns to his childhood best friend, Adam Lipschitz (Joel David Moore) to teach him how to "act Jewish." But Adam has problems of his own, with a fiancé (Jamie-Lynn Sigler) pushing him closer to a mental breakdown as their wedding approaches. With the best intentions, Adam and Christian attempt to help each other out.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Sep 19, 2013
    30
    Jewtopia feels like a failed sitcom pilot that might have been created by Jackie Mason.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Sep 19, 2013
    20
    Even if we had never heard of Woody Allen or Adam Sandler, this schlocky effort would feel about as fresh as a week-old bagel.
  3. Reviewed by: David DeWitt
    Sep 19, 2013
    20
    On screen, where visuals reign and the simple pleasures of language are less paramount, the expanded Jewtopia is just a flat premise, uncomfortable not only because the clichés are groaners, but also because you feel sorry for everyone who’s working so hard to prop up the farce.
  4. Reviewed by: Diana Clarke
    Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a movie that thinks it stands for openness and cultural understanding, underneath the poop jokes, when in fact it manages to be offensive to almost everyone, including people who like to laugh at something because it's funny, not just because it makes us uncomfortable.
  5. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Sep 19, 2013
    0
    To call this winkfest toward an astoundingly retrograde sliver of Judaism offensive would be, well, offensive to the word offensive.
  6. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Sep 22, 2013
    0
    About an hour in, if you haven’t walked over to the nearest stove and shoved your head inside, the sinking feeling sets in that you’re stuck with this unpleasant asshole.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 7 out of 10
  1. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    The movies observes and tries to interpret the different levels of religion and understanding. The reason why this movie as low reviews isThe movies observes and tries to interpret the different levels of religion and understanding. The reason why this movie as low reviews is because people can not see the art put into this film. The intricacies and communication make this film a solid 8/10.

    Being Jewish is hard and the film makes sure to communicate and show us that you cannot simply "act" as such. The movie teaches us that you shouldn't lie about religion at to be yourself when talking to people.

    Dont let the deceptive nature of the name fool you. This movie will be remembered as an occult classic and remembered as the film adaption that brought this Broadway act to the big picture.
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    6
    Here goes...I found it funny and pretty spot on. I'm married into a family where many of the older aunts and uncles pretty much fit theHere goes...I found it funny and pretty spot on. I'm married into a family where many of the older aunts and uncles pretty much fit the stereotypes...I know that is not P.C., but so what? This is a comedy. Plenty of movies out there that make WASPs look ridiculous. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    the movie,performances,performances,performances,story is total hellstorm of negitivites i won't recommened to anyone for those who curious orthe movie,performances,performances,performances,story is total hellstorm of negitivites i won't recommened to anyone for those who curious or those who don't. all in spells f*** you minus. this movie will never be exist in the first place. take this out to the garbage & destroy it. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    0
    crap..........................................................................................................................................crap....................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    0
    Why does this movie exist??? Please, I need an answer or otherwise I will go to the police and I will say to them to go and arrest theWhy does this movie exist??? Please, I need an answer or otherwise I will go to the police and I will say to them to go and arrest the director of this rubbish!!! Stay away!!!!! Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    Awful movie, awful performances, awful script, awful development, awful story, all in Jewtopia is A W F U L. Definitely one of the WORSTAwful movie, awful performances, awful script, awful development, awful story, all in Jewtopia is A W F U L. Definitely one of the WORST movies of this year. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2013
    0
    This movie is just dreadful i urge you not to see this movie, you time would be better spent watching grass grow that way you will be justThis movie is just dreadful i urge you not to see this movie, you time would be better spent watching grass grow that way you will be just bored and not wanting to tear your eyes out...... Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers