User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 500 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 500
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    2
    A Virginia Civil War soldier is transported to Mars, where he helps the good guys fight the overlords. As imaginative as that sounds (actually from a series of Edgar Rice Burroughs books), there's nothing original about the story, the style, the action, the look or the direction of this tedious bomb. So much is derivative that it feels like a really awful, long-lost "Star Wars" spinoff.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    Far from perfect but still manages to entertain. "John Carter" starts off unbelievably slow and almost as dry, barren, and lifeless as Mars itself. But it does manage to quickly pick up the pace. Featuring fantastic special effects and an enjoyable, if sometimes stale, plot. The action is satisfying and the cast great. Other than the slow opening this movies flaws are with a predictableFar from perfect but still manages to entertain. "John Carter" starts off unbelievably slow and almost as dry, barren, and lifeless as Mars itself. But it does manage to quickly pick up the pace. Featuring fantastic special effects and an enjoyable, if sometimes stale, plot. The action is satisfying and the cast great. Other than the slow opening this movies flaws are with a predictable romance and the main characters lame backstory. But these flaws don't manage to ruin the movie when it's firing on all cylinders. With humorous moments and great action scenes the movie succeeds at being an enjoyable experience, even if it's not what I would call a great movie. The main character's powers are what gives the action scenes an edge. Watching "John Carter" leap through the air like Marvel's "Incredible Hulk" is constantly entertaining, and put the feats of enhanced strength put the new Superman movie to shame. So overall "John Carter" is an enjoyable experience, but it does have some issues holding back from greatness. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    6
    "John Carter" is pretty much your average enjoy-action summer blockbuster where only striking visuals and big-scope fight scenes matter.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    3
    John Carter looks great one of the more visually pleasing movies of the year, but the story is pointless and by the end you just don't care what side wins or loses.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Who would have thought that the highest professional critic score for a movie like John Carter would come from the Village Voice?? I thought I'd check this one out after reading about the massive loss that Disney would be taking on this film, wondering just how bad it could possibly be. I was shocked to find how much I enjoyed it. Other than the Dark Knight films and the first Matrix, IWho would have thought that the highest professional critic score for a movie like John Carter would come from the Village Voice?? I thought I'd check this one out after reading about the massive loss that Disney would be taking on this film, wondering just how bad it could possibly be. I was shocked to find how much I enjoyed it. Other than the Dark Knight films and the first Matrix, I can't remember another superhero-style movie that kept me so interest during it's full length. It's immensely satisfying. The marketing campaign - from the billboards, to the trailers, to the TV spots - revealed nothing of the charm of this film - and it has it in excess. The John Carter character and the double-pronged story are interesting as hell. The "green" inhabitants of Mars feel completely real to me - unlike any of the beings in the Star Wars prequels. (If only Jar Jar Binks had been one of these suckers - or even the massive space dog - which I loved - The Phantom Menace wouldn't have been such a joke.) The romance between Carter and the princess is somewhat reminiscent of Han Solo and Princess Leia - if Leia kicked a ton of ass, that is. I'd MUCH rather see this movie again than The Green Lantern, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, or just about any of these Marvel/DC films which felt so hollow. An easy recommendation. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Visually, it feels like a mix between Avatar and Mars Needs Moms. The special effects are amazing and there is a great twist to the ending. It is a lot of fun.
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    John Carter has some amazing visual elements that are some of the best I have ever seen; the cgi is absolutely fantastic and certainly makes the film easy to watch. It's easy to see where the money was spent on this project. However, it suffers considerably due to major pacing problems, making the film feel uneven. Thus resulting in a film that, unfortunately, is disappointing and forgettable.
  8. Sep 3, 2012
    6
    Disney's John Carter seemly doesn't have many original ideas, but what you've got to remember is that the source material the film is based on pre-dates all the movies this film appears to be referencing - it's a bit of a paradox really. You feel like you've seen it all before, but everything is executed extremely well. Visually, John Carter is superb, with some of the best sci-fi actionDisney's John Carter seemly doesn't have many original ideas, but what you've got to remember is that the source material the film is based on pre-dates all the movies this film appears to be referencing - it's a bit of a paradox really. You feel like you've seen it all before, but everything is executed extremely well. Visually, John Carter is superb, with some of the best sci-fi action since the Star Wars prequels. Taylor Kitsch's star is on the rise, but perhaps he isn't the best actor to lead a film, as excepting one notable scene that makes very effective use of juxtaposition, he is rarely able to demonstrate much emotional depth to the titular Carter, but he can certainly handle the physical demands of the role. Lynn Collins manages to emotionally ground the whole film and Mark Strong makes another effectively creepy villain. Unfortunately the usually brilliant Ciaran Hinds and James Purefoy play pretty much exactly the same characters they did in HBO's Rome, and Dominic West's performance is pedestrian at best. The film makes use of some hugely convenient plot devices to avoid slowing the story, the script is so-so, and many of the key characters' motivations remain annoyingly unclear throughout. I'm also yet to decide whether the framing device for the main story on Mars works or not - is it clever and unusual, or just tonally misjudged? You end John Carter with a feeling that you've only just scratched the surface of this rich world, and I sincerely hope that the film makes enough money to justify a second installment, as a great sequel has been set up, a sequel which wouldn't require anywhere near as much clunky exposition, and in which we might be allowed to finally learn what on Earth (or Mars) Mark Strong's villain is trying to achieve. Expand
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    One word I keep reading in relation to John Carter is inconsistent. I felt that choice of word was excellent because the biggest crimes of John Carter is that it buries the fact it actually has emotional resonance underneath cheap thrill action sequences and comedy sequences designed for the Disney family (the Disney family that in the end, didn't go to see the film). The character of JohnOne word I keep reading in relation to John Carter is inconsistent. I felt that choice of word was excellent because the biggest crimes of John Carter is that it buries the fact it actually has emotional resonance underneath cheap thrill action sequences and comedy sequences designed for the Disney family (the Disney family that in the end, didn't go to see the film). The character of John Cater is a conflicted one having suffered severe loss prior to his transportation to Mars. However this issue is glossed over as he begins leaping around the planet and getting involved in a war that's justification is NEVER given. In fact the film explores different parts of John Carter's personality at different times in the film so you have to struggle through his problems with wars in general before you really get to why he is the way he is. There is a sequence halfway through that is so powerful and poignant that it almost saves the film because it finally gives the viewer someone to support, someone to root for, but then the film returns to its predictable action and linear storytelling and everything that was good is bad again. Taylor Kitsch does a decent job portraying Carter regardless of the bad script and storytelling but he is let down by most of his supporting cast. Lynn Collins puts little effort in and never seems comfortable in the role making her scenes irritating, Dominic West tries to get by on charm but he fails to realise he doesn't have any and Ciaran Hinds looks as bored as he must have felt. The films 250 million dollar budget is evident in some truly stunning visuals but at times they can be a bit jarring in that the humans and creatures never really mesh when they are on screen together. However the CGI and the world created by Andrew Stanton is beautiful in the way Avatar was despite the large amount of sand. The film at times borders on cute because its a Disney film but overall it doesn't provide enough character to even pull that off. It's a shame as they advertised the film as '100 years in the making' as Edgar Rice Burroughs published the first of his John Carter novels in 1912. I wonder if it was made sooner, would it have been any better than this uninvolved yet beautiful mess of a picture? Expand
  10. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    I had no idea what to expect going into this movie. Now, I've got to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought it was allot of fun. A really novel idea with some great effects and interesting characters. But if I have to gripe, I would say that the story feels like it was condensed a bit. This almost feels like they took three movies and condensed it down into one. I felt like thereI had no idea what to expect going into this movie. Now, I've got to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought it was allot of fun. A really novel idea with some great effects and interesting characters. But if I have to gripe, I would say that the story feels like it was condensed a bit. This almost feels like they took three movies and condensed it down into one. I felt like there could have been more. I feel this movie would have worked better if fleshed out a bit more and perhaps done as a TV series or even a mini-series.

    Overall:
    John Carter is an enjoyable movie that just feels a bit incomplete. Otherwise still fun to watch.
    Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    5
    John Carter tries so hard. Part Star Wars, Dark City, Avatar, Prince of Persia and Incredible Hulk (the jumping around) and others, it never feels original. Every attempt at humor in the film fell flat and you could hear crickets in the theater when there was supposed to be laughter. The acting was sub par, and the dialog was at times laughable. They spent a fortune creating all theJohn Carter tries so hard. Part Star Wars, Dark City, Avatar, Prince of Persia and Incredible Hulk (the jumping around) and others, it never feels original. Every attempt at humor in the film fell flat and you could hear crickets in the theater when there was supposed to be laughter. The acting was sub par, and the dialog was at times laughable. They spent a fortune creating all the aliens, who all look alike. They had to make the bad guy have a broken tusk or we would never know who was who. I saw it in 3D IMAX. The 3D was good, not great. There were some good special effects interspersed throughout, but in the end I simply didn't care enough about the characters and didn't feel the chemistry between the two leads. I was bored at times and looked at my watch, never a good sign. This is not a terrible movie, but not quite good enough to recommend. Expand
  12. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Incredible film, the effects are awesome, the story is amazing, the 3D is innecesary, but all in John Carter is amazing, the cast is incredible, this is one of the most interesting films of the year.
  13. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie. I cant believe people say bad things about yet hpe up movies like The Hunger Games. If you like movies that take you to another world this is a must watch. I actualy watched it a couple months ago and have yet to watch a movie at it`s level. I don`t care what other people think but wish more people liked it so that could make another one.
  14. May 31, 2014
    7
    John Carter is actually not that bad of a film when you think about it sure it may have not lived up to the hype but that was because we had already seen pretty everything the movie had to offer also the fact that they placed the movie between "The Lorax" and "The Hunger Games" which was a completely stupid idea still though i had an enjoyable time watching the movie and wouldn't mind aJohn Carter is actually not that bad of a film when you think about it sure it may have not lived up to the hype but that was because we had already seen pretty everything the movie had to offer also the fact that they placed the movie between "The Lorax" and "The Hunger Games" which was a completely stupid idea still though i had an enjoyable time watching the movie and wouldn't mind a sequel but that will never happen at least not for a really really long time. I thought the cast all did solid performances Taylor Kitsch wasn't so annoying in this movie as he has been in others, Lynn Collins was so freaking gorgeous with all her outfits and those damn blue eyes so gorgeous, i totally forgot that
    Bryan Cranston was in this and i thought he did a good for how little he was in it, Willem Dafoe does more great voice work guy has a amazing voice, the only actor i did really care for was Mark Strong. The CGI was spectacular, the action was good, and the story was decent, it was also cool to see it go from a western to a full blown sci-fi extravaganza. What i didn't like about the movie is that it seemed crowded what i mean is like the first hour of the movie felt like at least an hour and a half because of how much stuff had already happened then it pretty much does it throughout the second half but not as bad that's what really kills the movie.

    Overall i give it a 7.0
    Expand
  15. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    John Carter is an experience worth experiencing and it is most definitly not a bore. However the film does have it's faults. This film seems rushed by thedirector. The editing is sloppy and many things in the film that seem like large and key pieces to the plot are rushed when there are 2 minute long scenes of drama that ultimately does not affect the viewer. Too bad because the film hadJohn Carter is an experience worth experiencing and it is most definitly not a bore. However the film does have it's faults. This film seems rushed by thedirector. The editing is sloppy and many things in the film that seem like large and key pieces to the plot are rushed when there are 2 minute long scenes of drama that ultimately does not affect the viewer. Too bad because the film had many scenes that are so well done but when i think of this film i will only be able to think of it's faults. Expand
  16. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    I think much of the negative press this film got was because of the enormous amount of money it cost to make. And yes, I can see it has extremely high production values with many exciting battle/chase/fight scenes all using very high quality CGI. I admit I have never read the Edgar Rice Burroughs ‘John Carter of Mars’ books but I’m sure those that have will have got a lot more out of thisI think much of the negative press this film got was because of the enormous amount of money it cost to make. And yes, I can see it has extremely high production values with many exciting battle/chase/fight scenes all using very high quality CGI. I admit I have never read the Edgar Rice Burroughs ‘John Carter of Mars’ books but I’m sure those that have will have got a lot more out of this film than me. It’s an exciting adventure that (I’m afraid) has a storyline that doesn’t quite hold up today. Yes, it’s visually quite stunning in places with some very exciting action sequences along the way but the plot is a tad too over-complicated, particularly for a younger audience, and the main premise that Carter can jump is, quite frankly, very weak. So, does it deserve the vitriolic reception it received? I have to say no; it is a better film than many have made out. Was it worth spending that amount of money on making it? Again, no; although it’s not as bad a film as many have said; I still find it hard to justify the amount of money spent on it. Would I watch it again? Probably not; but I’m glad I did see it the one time.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (just watch it once)

    My score: 5.8/10
    Expand
  17. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    Alright, to start off, lets get one thing straight for some people out there. This is not a ripoff of Avatar or Star Wars. They are ripoffs of John Carter. This is book one of a book series written over 100 years ago. James Cameron and George Lucas have even said they got their ideas from the John Carter of Mars book series, so don't judge it saying its a ripoff of those two films or anyAlright, to start off, lets get one thing straight for some people out there. This is not a ripoff of Avatar or Star Wars. They are ripoffs of John Carter. This is book one of a book series written over 100 years ago. James Cameron and George Lucas have even said they got their ideas from the John Carter of Mars book series, so don't judge it saying its a ripoff of those two films or any other scifi films without getting your facts straight. Now that thats out of the way. John Carter (the movie) was a fun, and exciting adventure, although it gets pretty boring through the middle. I wouldn't say as a fan of the book series that im anywheres near 100% pleased with how Andrew Stanton made "A Princess of Mars" a movie. Besides the absolute basics like the characters looks and the looks of Barsoom, Andrew Stanton pretty much made this his own. Their were countless amount of differences from the book to the movie. VERY big differences at that, which as a person who read the book, it angered me alot, but i understand why he changed it around. I know he changed it around so the people who didn't read the book could follow the story, but I just wish he didn't change it completely, like the key elements to the story like how John Carter and Dejah Thoris met, how they fell in love, and how John Carter made it to Barsoom, and the ending, they were all completely different. Does this mean the movie was bad? No not at all. I enjoyed the movie, but i was really hoping Stanton wouldn't make it a cliche type of film. He made the love story reeaaalllyyy corny and too cliche, the whole love story between Dejah and John was changed alot, and it seemd to be overshadowing everything else involved in the story, and he put a little bit too much humor into a story thats supposed to be serious. It was still a fun movie, but they cut alot out of the book, especially in the middle because the middle of the film just dragged on, it got really boring whereas the book had action all throughout, which on another note, the action in John Carter was actually very good. It was pulse pounding and it was incredibly entertaining, but this film cost them over 250 millions dollars to make and i do really hope this installment makes enough money for them to make "The Gods of Mars" (the second book in the series) into a film adaptation, and hopefully if they do, it follows very closely to the book. Judging the movie from a fan of the books point of view, i give John Carter a 5/10, the looks of the locals of Barsoom and Barsoom as a whole was spot on, and Woola was perfect in the film, i've always loved Woola and i'm sure hes going to win America's heart and sell ALOT of action figures, but story wise, everything was changed around in some manner, but as just a movie i give it a 7/10. Overall the action that was in the film was amazing, very beautiful effects and i'd say Taylor Kitsch and Lynn Collins did a pretty good job with what they had in the script. Their is a little something for everyone in this film. Love story, action, great story (although different from the book) and comedic relief. Although this is a Disney film, parents might wanna stay away from this movie, somethings (like the white apes) might be too frightening for small children. Overall I give John Carter a 6.5/10 Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    I think I agree with Rotten Tomatoes' verdict, it's ridiculous fun. "While John Carter looks terrific and delivers its share of pulpy thrills, it also suffers from uneven pacing and occasionally incomprehensible plotting and characterization."
  19. Apr 8, 2012
    3
    I knew that John Carter was a big failure. Disney done it last year with Mars Needs Mars and now John Carter. When I saw the commercial for the movie, it was supposed to be the "first big blockbuster of the summer," but they blew it. 3 Disney movies that have the with or without the word "Mars" on it and I can't take it anymore. Once they making a sequel soon, I hope I will not see it inI knew that John Carter was a big failure. Disney done it last year with Mars Needs Mars and now John Carter. When I saw the commercial for the movie, it was supposed to be the "first big blockbuster of the summer," but they blew it. 3 Disney movies that have the with or without the word "Mars" on it and I can't take it anymore. Once they making a sequel soon, I hope I will not see it in 3-D. It's even worse than Green Lantern. Disney, I'm very disappointed at you. John Carter is one of the worst movies of 2012 for me this far. Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2012
    5
    With a name worthy of being a USA president, John Carter goes for an adventure in Mars instead, although there's no oil there. It appears Mars, or Barsoom as they call it, is not as inhospitable as we thought. It's a planet populated by overly-tanned fitness models and a hybrid species between Goro from Mortal Kombat and Jar-Jar from Star Wars. Just as any fantasy adventure plot demands,With a name worthy of being a USA president, John Carter goes for an adventure in Mars instead, although there's no oil there. It appears Mars, or Barsoom as they call it, is not as inhospitable as we thought. It's a planet populated by overly-tanned fitness models and a hybrid species between Goro from Mortal Kombat and Jar-Jar from Star Wars. Just as any fantasy adventure plot demands, there's bound to be a vagabond protagonist and a princess in distress whose fates are entwined together. But wait, John Carter doesn't only have one, but two princesses in distress, one being alien chieftain's daughter and not romance-able.



    Usually I don't put much spoiler, but you can obviously see that it's not Earth, so screw it. John Carter is a mediocre intergalactic adventure, it has few appeals but the pacing is uneven and characters are not fully realized. It actually opens up in a rather interesting fashion, fast paced and quite funny. The difference between Earth and Mars is visually adequate as each style transforms smoothly. However it comes to a slow sludge about one third of the movie in an attempt to establish barely existing chemistry between John and the princess, then it's pushed rushingly in latter half, practically shortening any dramatic battles in progress.

    Taylor Kitsch as John Carter (Gambit in X-Men Origins : Wolverine) does a decent job on his role as John Carter. He holds the main spot quite well, but not as aspiring as a redeemed cavalry officer turned Mars adventurer might be. Lynn Collins as the princess, Dejah Thoris is physically notable, if they want some Amazons leading female, she's there. Unfortunately her acting is subpar, her first monologue is ironically about how she sucks at monologue. Her delivery is rigid and forced like a commercial of some sort, doesn't exactly invoke a strong leader character.

    As you might expect from countless other adventure movies, in a twist of fate, John saved her and it's like love at first life threatening situation. Of course, for 30 minutes she put up her tsundere shield, but ultimately madly swooned by John's charm and the fact that he air-walks like nobody's business. It's all very familiar, in fact it's near replica of Dastan and the princess of Prince of Persia, but those were better cast. The similarity doesn't end there, John Carter also use wallet shattering budget of $250 million, even more expensive than Princeâ
    Expand
  21. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    John Carter is too boring to enjoy the whole movie . With a bad script , bad dialogues and lifeless acting made the movie too hard to enjoy even with those amazing effects and animations .
    Andrew Stanton 's direction was only good when there was no human in the scene . He should have stick with animation movies only. Taylor Kitsch have the John Carter look but his acting was the worst of
    John Carter is too boring to enjoy the whole movie . With a bad script , bad dialogues and lifeless acting made the movie too hard to enjoy even with those amazing effects and animations .
    Andrew Stanton 's direction was only good when there was no human in the scene . He should have stick with animation movies only. Taylor Kitsch have the John Carter look but his acting was the worst of all .Lynn Collins was bad most of the time . Mark Strong should have done a better job but somehow he seemed so dull and boring . Only Willem Dafoe's Voice Acting had the power of good acting. Effect was the best thing and The Animation was super . But the sound effect of the movie was the worst and this is one of the reason the movie is super boring.
    Overall John Carter is totally joyless movie with a very good effect .
    Expand
  22. May 27, 2013
    5
    Some time has passed since I watched John Carter and I certainly hold no grudges against it. It wasn't the complete write-off I was expecting, although it is certainly not without it's flaws. I think I preferred it to Battleship, although I can't think of what I must have done to deserve being forced to choose between either.

    There are times during John Carter where you could really be
    Some time has passed since I watched John Carter and I certainly hold no grudges against it. It wasn't the complete write-off I was expecting, although it is certainly not without it's flaws. I think I preferred it to Battleship, although I can't think of what I must have done to deserve being forced to choose between either.

    There are times during John Carter where you could really be watching either Indiana Jones or Star Wars (Episodes I-III) such is the old fashioned, character-led, gung-ho adventure and sci-fi nature of the film. However, despite it being an adventure film of massive budget, I struggle to recall any action set pieces that took place, with the exception of the picture below, despite knowing that there must have been some. This cannot be a good recollection for an action blockbuster.

    I am not familiar with any of Burrough's stories and the screenplay certainly didn't help matters. Although the screenplay doesn't assume any knowledge of the character and the universe he belongs to and I appreciate that the writers are working with the original material, they made a seemingly simple plot far too complicated through the method of delivery. Surprisingly, and the surprise is relative, the script is only slightly clichéd in places and didn't stink to high heaven in the way Battleship's did. I did really like the context of the story being told from a young Burrough's perspective and the twist at the end was unexpected and satisfying.

    My biggest gripe with the acting, and being such a massive fan of The Wire it pains me to do this, was with Dominic West. I thought he almost looked embarrassed to be on screen in most scenes and delivered one of the hammiest performances I think I've ever seen. Sorry Dominic. Lyn Collins was a vibrant presence and I felt Taylor Kitsch did enough in shouldering the responsibilities of the lead role, considering the film's inherent flaws. He certainly can't be held accountable for the films failings at the box office.
    Expand
  23. Jun 8, 2012
    5
    Yeah..it flopped. The reason for it was bad marketing they say. But let's face it, while a lot of films were inspired by this story, including AVATAR, John Carter felt derivative. While Andrew Stanton is a good director, the whole film felt like any other Disney 'blockbuster wannabe' in recent years that includes TRON LEGACY. Expensive but somehow missing that extra spark that makes aYeah..it flopped. The reason for it was bad marketing they say. But let's face it, while a lot of films were inspired by this story, including AVATAR, John Carter felt derivative. While Andrew Stanton is a good director, the whole film felt like any other Disney 'blockbuster wannabe' in recent years that includes TRON LEGACY. Expensive but somehow missing that extra spark that makes a film a must see event. Expand
  24. Aug 21, 2012
    8
    I wasn't sure what to expect from this film but i enjoyed what i saw. it has a very throw back feel to it with modern efects . i kept thinking of the old flash gordon movie with all the queen music in it . it also reminded me of many other older films. it feels very simple and i would not say thats a bad thing in general since this is disney after all they are trying to make this familyI wasn't sure what to expect from this film but i enjoyed what i saw. it has a very throw back feel to it with modern efects . i kept thinking of the old flash gordon movie with all the queen music in it . it also reminded me of many other older films. it feels very simple and i would not say thats a bad thing in general since this is disney after all they are trying to make this family friendly . i know my 6 year old nephew really enjoyed it and over all i thought it was a pretty solid film . if i had to complain it would be the dry acting and weak dilouge in the film and also the pacing is abit slugish. over all though worth a see especially if you have kids who like SciFi films. Expand
  25. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    It is obvious to say that John Carter's visuals are simply awesome and its action scenes are fun to watch, but I would still say it suffers enough from other factors to not completely recommend it. It has a very convoluted plot and some unmemorable - but not bad - performances. Andrew Stanton seemed like he could make the foray to directing live action, but he doesn't seem to notice thatIt is obvious to say that John Carter's visuals are simply awesome and its action scenes are fun to watch, but I would still say it suffers enough from other factors to not completely recommend it. It has a very convoluted plot and some unmemorable - but not bad - performances. Andrew Stanton seemed like he could make the foray to directing live action, but he doesn't seem to notice that there is an enduring tone of seriousness throughout that takes the fun away from the picture. This is what can be said for most studio releases these days, so compared to the norm, John Carter isn't actually half bad, its just the other half isn't magnificent enough to sustain the gigantic budget supporting the film. But in the end the question remains - would I recommend John Carter? Eehhhhhh . . . I guess so. Expand
  26. Apr 5, 2013
    0
    Beyond bad. Where the heck did they dig up Taylor Kitsch to star in this I saw him in 'Battleship' which bombed as well, and he was one of the main reasons. He has absolutely NO charisma, and that in turn makes each and every one of his lines...laughable. This entire movie is a nauseating mess, where one scene is worse than the next. Anyone who sits through this deserves a medal of honor.
  27. Mar 11, 2012
    6
    A ne pas descendre John Carter pour son manque d'originalité, le film étant l'adaptation d'un livre (datant de 1911) qui lui même inspira bon nombres d'auteurs et réalisateurs célèbres, tel George Lucas. Par contre, on ne peut pas laisser passer le côté "gnangnan" du film. La faute auA ne pas descendre John Carter pour son manque d'originalité, le film étant l'adaptation d'un livre (datant de 1911) qui lui même inspira bon nombres d'auteurs et réalisateurs célèbres, tel George Lucas. Par contre, on ne peut pas laisser passer le côté "gnangnan" du film. La faute au fait que ce long-métrage est une production Disney, obligeant ce spectacle d'être accessible aux plus jeunes avec des dialogues insipides, un humour qui ne fera rire qu'eux, une musique qui en fait trop question émotions... Bref, le film Disney par "excellence", le studio gâchant ainsi un spectacle qui aurait bien pu rivaliser sans problème avec Star Wars. Car, en effet, on ne peut rester de marbre face à cet incroyable univers visuel qui nous est proposé (effets spéciaux, costumes, décors, bestiaire...). En bref, John Carter se présente comme Tron, l'Héritage : soit vous accrochez à l'univers est le film vous emballe, soit vous n'accrochez pas et ce divertissement ne sera qu'un spectacle à gros budget de plus. Expand
  28. Jan 25, 2015
    4
    Weird film. I do not even know how to rate it. Visually it is very good at some points, it has entertaining moments, and the lead actor has some charisma and looks hot. But overall it ends being like a mix of many other different films with very little consistency or continuity. It will not be a problem if you skip it. Maybe for your kids. The ending was a nice touch.
  29. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    John Carter part 2!!!! bring it on! what a fun movie to watch! Threre were 3 moments in the movie, where I thought to myself, this movie is great! Overall the movie is far from being a "classic", but alot of fun to watch! it was intresting till the end, the movie gave a closer to the story, with the end getting ready for a sequel! 8 out of 10 for sure!
  30. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    I actually really enjoyed this flick. I don't understand all the negative press and why it just didn't seem to catch on. The story of a civil war guy traveling to mars and fighting aliens, saving a princess, and what not is pretty cool. The effects were nice. The pacing was great and the movie never felt like it was dragging on. Overall definitely a good movie. If it's still in theaters II actually really enjoyed this flick. I don't understand all the negative press and why it just didn't seem to catch on. The story of a civil war guy traveling to mars and fighting aliens, saving a princess, and what not is pretty cool. The effects were nice. The pacing was great and the movie never felt like it was dragging on. Overall definitely a good movie. If it's still in theaters I suggest giving this one a chance. Otherwise pick up the dvd for sure. Expand
  31. Jun 11, 2012
    6
    Disney's marketing department almost killed this 250m$ film by animation director Andrew Stanton with their incompetence. It's based on the book by Edgar Rice Burroughs, has tons of computer animation and doesn't look too bad, but I didn't find the story overly interesting or original and the 'long jumps' Carter can make, look fake (the physics don't compute) and the green aliens look tooDisney's marketing department almost killed this 250m$ film by animation director Andrew Stanton with their incompetence. It's based on the book by Edgar Rice Burroughs, has tons of computer animation and doesn't look too bad, but I didn't find the story overly interesting or original and the 'long jumps' Carter can make, look fake (the physics don't compute) and the green aliens look too much like creatures from Attack of the Clones. Taylor Kitch (who also played in 209 m$ flop 'Battleship') does an ok acting job (they dug him up from a TV series apparently), but the supporting cast (mostly Britisch actors) is luckily somewhat better. From a quarter billion dollar scifi flick you would expect it to be at least epic, but this film is nothing more than a sunday afternoon snack, so don't feel bad if you missed in at the cinemas :) Expand
  32. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    John Carter is a majestic adventure movie, reminiscent of many of those titles of the 70's and 80's that so many of us remember from our childhoods and loved because we all wished we'd end up in an adventure like that. It is never too violent, there is never a dull moment (despite the movie lasting 2 hours and 12 minutes) and it is beyond me why anyone would rate this movie with a 6 orJohn Carter is a majestic adventure movie, reminiscent of many of those titles of the 70's and 80's that so many of us remember from our childhoods and loved because we all wished we'd end up in an adventure like that. It is never too violent, there is never a dull moment (despite the movie lasting 2 hours and 12 minutes) and it is beyond me why anyone would rate this movie with a 6 or less. The acting, CGI and story are all top-notch. Apparently it is based on a book but who cares? The movie is what it is; a masterpiece of cinematized storytelling. It reminded me of Star Wars and Dune. Readers of Storm (Don Lawrence) will get a huge kick out of this movie and those who enjoyed the movie should waste no time discovering Don Lawrence's brilliant work. Expand
  33. Jul 5, 2012
    6
    John Carter of Mars runs hot and cold. The martian CG was pretty decent but the leads weren't up to the task and the story dragged on at times, needed some more editing. The high-jumping thing that Carter does isn't very realistic either, especially his landings, so that detracts too. However the final 20-mins of the film recover nicely and provide for a decent overall experience, mildlyJohn Carter of Mars runs hot and cold. The martian CG was pretty decent but the leads weren't up to the task and the story dragged on at times, needed some more editing. The high-jumping thing that Carter does isn't very realistic either, especially his landings, so that detracts too. However the final 20-mins of the film recover nicely and provide for a decent overall experience, mildly recommended. Expand
  34. Jun 16, 2012
    7
    I was sceptical about John Carter from the minute I saw the trailer. It looked like James Cameron and George Lucas had brainstormed a science-fiction film together. But then I saw Andrew Stanton's name in the credits and decided to give it a try. It wasn't great.- the acting was flawed, there was some choppy cinematography and the story didn't flow so well- but it was enjoyable. NotI was sceptical about John Carter from the minute I saw the trailer. It looked like James Cameron and George Lucas had brainstormed a science-fiction film together. But then I saw Andrew Stanton's name in the credits and decided to give it a try. It wasn't great.- the acting was flawed, there was some choppy cinematography and the story didn't flow so well- but it was enjoyable. Not perfect, but fun all the same. Expand
  35. Jul 29, 2013
    1
    hammy plot tired predictable this is why mars died as a habitable planet. Sci fi takes another body shot bad acting performance yet again from Taylor kitsch.
  36. Jul 21, 2012
    6
    John Carter had some nice battle scenes and a good plot, but throughout the movie, you just felt like something was missing. Don't get me wrong, I liked it, but i just didn't think it was as good as i expected. But if you are at a Red-box machine on a boring Friday afternoon and you need something to watch, I would most definitely recommend John Carter. By the way, I heard that theJohn Carter had some nice battle scenes and a good plot, but throughout the movie, you just felt like something was missing. Don't get me wrong, I liked it, but i just didn't think it was as good as i expected. But if you are at a Red-box machine on a boring Friday afternoon and you need something to watch, I would most definitely recommend John Carter. By the way, I heard that the sequels that were planned got cancelled. How unfortunate. Expand
  37. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    They really don't make them like this any more. Enjoyable from start to finish, those familiar with the books will undoubtedly get more from it - many plebs find names like Dejah Thoris and Tars Tarkas difficult to remember, credit to the film makers; John Carter doesn't appear to be motivated as a money-maker, isn't diminished for broad appeal and doesn't insult the intelligence. TheThey really don't make them like this any more. Enjoyable from start to finish, those familiar with the books will undoubtedly get more from it - many plebs find names like Dejah Thoris and Tars Tarkas difficult to remember, credit to the film makers; John Carter doesn't appear to be motivated as a money-maker, isn't diminished for broad appeal and doesn't insult the intelligence. The story is modified slightly from the books (for those familiar with them) but is still, instantly recognizable. Reminds of cult classics like Star Wars, Flash, Dune, Willow, etc. The work of ERB predates them all. Expand
  38. Mar 9, 2012
    3
    Even with its gorgeous special effects, numerous set-pieces, and massive budget of $250 million, John Carter leaves me with a booming thought in my mind: "That's it?"
  39. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    John carter is an amazing sci-fi/action adventure movie with a bit of cheese. It's got incredible special effects and 3D, very good action scenes, really good music, an awesome story-line (it's a little confusing at times), and good acting (mostly). I really recommend watching it, do it for Disney (they're losing money), let them make a sequel!
  40. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. I saw it in 3D and I think that did help. Totally crazy story and plot but to me that has to be a good thing when every other movie is a sequel or remake. At the same time it can't help but remind you off some sci-fi classics like Star Wars and Avatar, with a bit of Thor thrown in. Even some of the comedy moments work with a sixI wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. I saw it in 3D and I think that did help. Totally crazy story and plot but to me that has to be a good thing when every other movie is a sequel or remake. At the same time it can't help but remind you off some sci-fi classics like Star Wars and Avatar, with a bit of Thor thrown in. Even some of the comedy moments work with a six legged dog! A few good action scenes but for such a big budget movie I don't think there are enough of them. Transformers is an example of too much action and this is an example of not enough. All in all worth a watch in 3D. Expand
  41. Mar 9, 2012
    2
    A bad action movie that's visual candy is rarely short, but it's stupidity in story line and plot pacing are it's major weaknesses.
  42. Apr 13, 2012
    4
    Once upon a time, the folks at Disney wanted to make a movie that combines the qualities of Westerns, War Epics, and Science Fiction. 250 million dollars later, and we are introduced to the vast and zealous vision of â
  43. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    Typical storyline. But quite interesting... It reminded me of Star Wars a lot. (John Carter was written decades before Star Wars)
  44. Jun 1, 2012
    2
    The movie starts off good. It's funny, interesting, and looks very different from most other sci-fi movies. But after the first half hour it starts to regress into worn out cliches. The effects are the only things that is consistently good throughout the movie. The middle of the film is it's weakest point. It spends a lot of time developing a very stereotypical romance between the heroThe movie starts off good. It's funny, interesting, and looks very different from most other sci-fi movies. But after the first half hour it starts to regress into worn out cliches. The effects are the only things that is consistently good throughout the movie. The middle of the film is it's weakest point. It spends a lot of time developing a very stereotypical romance between the hero and the heroine, it doesn't really advance the plot, but it goes on for so long that the climactic battle is kept far too short and feels like a let down considering the movie spent two and half hours building up to it. Then there is the "twist" ending that seems like it was thrown together at the last minute. Of course by then I was so ready for the movie to be over that I didn't end up caring much. My advice to director Andrew Stanton: stick to Pixar movies, because you're great at making those. Expand
  45. Mar 12, 2012
    8
    John Carter is a blast. From the fast-paced action sequences to the brilliant special effects this truly is a very good film. However, some of the acting can seem a little stale at times, making what could have been a fantastic film merely a great one. It also seems to be aimed more at younger teenage boys, a more family-orientated film then. But it suprised me so much at how good it was,John Carter is a blast. From the fast-paced action sequences to the brilliant special effects this truly is a very good film. However, some of the acting can seem a little stale at times, making what could have been a fantastic film merely a great one. It also seems to be aimed more at younger teenage boys, a more family-orientated film then. But it suprised me so much at how good it was, so everyone should go watch it, it's very fun. Expand
  46. May 29, 2012
    4
    What the film makes up with interesting plotting, it fails in creating something new, exciting or different. Subpar alien people, mediocre visual effects, and some bad dialog characterize a film in which Disney put all its eggs ($250 million) in one basket. Too bad they were rotten eggs. Feels like a cross between National Treasure and Avatar, not a great combination.
  47. May 24, 2012
    4
    Based on a book series considered to be the father of modern day space operas (from Star Trek, to Star Wars, to Avatar), John Carter had a lot to live up to. Unfortunately, and ironically, it was vastly inferior to the very films that it inspired. With a story this traditional and recycled, it was important that filmmakers made extra efforts to give the movie a voice of its own, theyBased on a book series considered to be the father of modern day space operas (from Star Trek, to Star Wars, to Avatar), John Carter had a lot to live up to. Unfortunately, and ironically, it was vastly inferior to the very films that it inspired. With a story this traditional and recycled, it was important that filmmakers made extra efforts to give the movie a voice of its own, they however failed to do so. Everything on the screen has been done before, and better. Coupled with cheesy visual effects (especially considering the size of its budget) and clumsy direction, the film had very little to offer. Some of the action sequences (particularly the white ape scene) and it's pulpy qualities were fun and the characters were very easy to root for, but in the end the film misses, bringing its epic premise down to mediocrity. Expand
  48. Mar 10, 2012
    3
    So strange. You have brillant director, yet this film is a formula. It is like the producers and writers all ganged up to make a known quantity; that is really much better as a novel (exposition that never stops, just tedious). I was disappointed to say the least. Way too many story lines that have you more confused than interested. Only die hard fans of this type of genre will like it.
  49. Mar 10, 2012
    3
    A mess. It is pretty amazing that an established director, with Disney as the studio and 200 million dollars can actually make a movie that is this disorganized.

    How can you have quality like A Separation or The Hurt Locker for 10 million dollars and a mashed up piece of whatever for 200 million?
  50. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    Really wasnt good. Boring at times lengthy and kinda a terrible plot. And disney wonders why this movie didnt make much in theaters. It just wasnt good.
  51. Apr 19, 2012
    4
    Andrew Stanton has directed two amazing movies; Finding Nemo, and Wall-E. These pictures are both masterpieces, and favorites of mine. Now, Andrew Stanton directs his first live-action movie, John Carter. John Carter is based off of an older-novel, that inspired Star Wars, Avatar, and others. We owe a lot to John Carter, but this movie adaption certainly doesn't pay any debt. John CarterAndrew Stanton has directed two amazing movies; Finding Nemo, and Wall-E. These pictures are both masterpieces, and favorites of mine. Now, Andrew Stanton directs his first live-action movie, John Carter. John Carter is based off of an older-novel, that inspired Star Wars, Avatar, and others. We owe a lot to John Carter, but this movie adaption certainly doesn't pay any debt. John Carter is, simply put, a cheesy, melodramatic, overlong, cliched, unfunny, predictable, non-thrilling "adventure." Some aspects of the film seemed promising, but crashed and burned. There was potential here, but in the end, it all burns out. The beginning does a decent job of making us wonder what's going to happen, what did happen, etc. In fact, the beginning was pretty entertaining, albeit predictable. But after John Carter gets to Mars, the whole story drags. However, there's a lot of incredible visuals on Mars, and though that doesn't make up for stale characters and confusing plot, it helps a little. The CGI is incredible. Amazing. Absolutely gorgeous. If John Carter has one strength, it's the visual effects. Also, the score by Michael Giacchino is another winner. Giacchino never disappoints. Unfortunately, the more important aspects of the movie, like the plot and characters, are less polished. The plot (in addition to John Carter) focuses on the princess of Mars, who wants to avoid marrying a villainous man, but feels she must do it to save her people. Sound familiar? Almost any Disney Princess movie has the same or similar plot. Also, the characters have no personality. Aside from John Carter and limited other characters, there is no one with a true personality. And even those who have one are usually generic types. The action scenes are bland and predictable. The CGI and musical score make up for the awfulness, but a movie can't run on looks and sound alone. Also, there was a lot of potentially good space ship scenes that never truly happen. HOWEVER, the last 10 minutes are amazing. There's an incredible twist, and that was easily my favorite part. Andrew Stanton is a force to be reckoned with, but John Carter makes me rethink that. You saw my list earlier, the film is long, cheesy, predictable, cliched, none of the jokes are funny, etc. Aside from some visual thrills, the score, and a wonderful ending, John Carter fails. I feel like if some of the violence and revealing garments were cut out, this movie could've been PG, as opposed to PG-13, which would allow it to become a family or kid's movie. This would've worked much better, because the movie is too silly to work as an adult/teen movie. There will be at least one sequel to John Carter, but don't expect me to tell you how it is: I'm avoiding John Carter for life, and it's probably best if you did too. Edit: Due to disappointing box office performance, there will not be a sequel after all. Expand
  52. Nov 7, 2014
    4
    Having heard the reviews about this movie, I went in with expectations below sea level. Now it was better than what I expected, in that it wasn't absolutely awful, having said that, it wasn't good either. Really this film falls down due to a charisma less leading performance, a silly plot which makes less than no sense, and really it's just terribly dull. Although Mark Strong, as always-Having heard the reviews about this movie, I went in with expectations below sea level. Now it was better than what I expected, in that it wasn't absolutely awful, having said that, it wasn't good either. Really this film falls down due to a charisma less leading performance, a silly plot which makes less than no sense, and really it's just terribly dull. Although Mark Strong, as always- is a fantastic screen presence, and those big white monsters fellows are quite impressive. Expand
  53. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    The critics are right. It is disjointed and wildly incoherent. But it is based on the most influential work of science fiction E-V-E-R. Seriously, "Avatar" and "Star Wars" would NOT exist without the book "The Princess of Mars" by Edgar Rice Burroughs.That being said, perhaps you need to be of a certain age to fully appreciate this film. I am not of that age. However, I really did like theThe critics are right. It is disjointed and wildly incoherent. But it is based on the most influential work of science fiction E-V-E-R. Seriously, "Avatar" and "Star Wars" would NOT exist without the book "The Princess of Mars" by Edgar Rice Burroughs.That being said, perhaps you need to be of a certain age to fully appreciate this film. I am not of that age. However, I really did like the stylistic melding of Renaissance-fair-sword-and-sorcery, and laser-beams-science-fiction. Expand
  54. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    This one's an adaptation of the Edgar Rice Burroughs' "A Princess from Mars" which was published almost a century ago. While the cast seem to fit their roles, their delivery falls between poor and fair. The costumes may be eye-catching, sometimes you'll get to think whether it was appropriate in a planet farther away from the sun compared to Earth. Anyway, we can not question that muchThis one's an adaptation of the Edgar Rice Burroughs' "A Princess from Mars" which was published almost a century ago. While the cast seem to fit their roles, their delivery falls between poor and fair. The costumes may be eye-catching, sometimes you'll get to think whether it was appropriate in a planet farther away from the sun compared to Earth. Anyway, we can not question that much since John Carter is sci-fi. The visual effects, sound, and cinematography are satisfactory. The movie brings a lot of memories from some of the famous movies with the same genre. However, it still deserves a "good one". Expand
  55. Jan 22, 2013
    2
    "John Carter" is just a mess. It's story is incompetently told, the characterization is ludicrous, the motivation of the different fractions diffuse, and the casting is all wrong. Taylor Kitsch and Lynn Collins are very pretty, but lack a whole lot of charisma. And using the original terminology of the novels just adds to the confusion. I'm all into challenging movies, but this is just"John Carter" is just a mess. It's story is incompetently told, the characterization is ludicrous, the motivation of the different fractions diffuse, and the casting is all wrong. Taylor Kitsch and Lynn Collins are very pretty, but lack a whole lot of charisma. And using the original terminology of the novels just adds to the confusion. I'm all into challenging movies, but this is just bad, stupid writing, and there are more silly scenes than in some comedies. "John Carter" is just a huge bore. Expand
  56. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I just gave John Carter a 10 but after months of reflection. I grew up reading the Princess of Mars and in fact all of the books in the Barsoom series. They were transformative. I remember picking up the first one, probably out of order, as a child in the school library. I read about the Green Man from Mars and my life changed. So, I approached this film with huge skepticism and watched itI just gave John Carter a 10 but after months of reflection. I grew up reading the Princess of Mars and in fact all of the books in the Barsoom series. They were transformative. I remember picking up the first one, probably out of order, as a child in the school library. I read about the Green Man from Mars and my life changed. So, I approached this film with huge skepticism and watched it with an eye jaundiced by what I perceived to be the Disney-fication of it. Meanwhile, I read about the marketing mess, the high budget, the overreach and the staleness (these were the critics and the Hollywood blogs). But no other film, short of perhaps one of the early Star Wars films, has touched me as when John Carter at the end whispers the incantation followed by "Barsoom". My God this was a romantic story. Not perfect, but on a scale of 1 to 10, it touched my heart and soul (or certainly the heart and soul of the little girl who first imagined the distant worlds and the fiery Princess and the brave John Carter and his friend, the Green Man Tars Tarkas) at the level of 10. Barsoom. Expand
  57. May 20, 2012
    8
    John Carter was an interesting take on Burroughs' book. The film had the right amount of action, science fiction, and save the world talk. The only thing that could have been a little more consolidated was how many times John would finally realize he wanted to stop thinking about himself. I think there were four different "I need to change" speeches in the movie. Other than that, the filmJohn Carter was an interesting take on Burroughs' book. The film had the right amount of action, science fiction, and save the world talk. The only thing that could have been a little more consolidated was how many times John would finally realize he wanted to stop thinking about himself. I think there were four different "I need to change" speeches in the movie. Other than that, the film was entertaining. Sadly, Disney lost the bank on this movie as the chance of seeing John Carter again in future films is pretty slim. Expand
  58. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    Exellent movie: what most people doesn't realize is that the story of the movie is a big classic by Edgar Rice Burroughs, the creator of Tarzan, and was written in 1912... Don't believe the critics or mindless public that doesn't known the roots behind this one, or the classic books. Do you think the movie has cliches? Well, I guarantee that the book was written years and years before theExellent movie: what most people doesn't realize is that the story of the movie is a big classic by Edgar Rice Burroughs, the creator of Tarzan, and was written in 1912... Don't believe the critics or mindless public that doesn't known the roots behind this one, or the classic books. Do you think the movie has cliches? Well, I guarantee that the book was written years and years before the cliches existed... It's a great classic made in a great movie, and I'm sorry that that the sequence movie doesn't seem to be made. Expand
  59. Jun 24, 2012
    5
    John Carter is silly. Those are the four defining words for this mega theatrical flop. The story was very corresponding to both big hit cinema films in Avatar, and the Star Wars sage. you been there, done that, but seen better. The movie starts off well, and keeps my mind on the movie with a couple humorous scenes, and a good action sequence. Then, the movie picks up even more when JohnJohn Carter is silly. Those are the four defining words for this mega theatrical flop. The story was very corresponding to both big hit cinema films in Avatar, and the Star Wars sage. you been there, done that, but seen better. The movie starts off well, and keeps my mind on the movie with a couple humorous scenes, and a good action sequence. Then, the movie picks up even more when John Carter is first transported to Mars. You then learn that he has a special gift that allows him to jump extremely high. All of this was very intrigueing to me, and I was defiantly enjoying the movie, but them the movie catapults straight down. The plot becomes full of holes with uneven pacing. John Carter became lifeless with mediocre action scenes and added characters with maps depth. yes, the movie has amazing visual effects that are outstanding, and very good looking set pieces, and with the acting being bi-able, with Taylor Kitsch playing a decent role. the movie becomes very forgetting. John Carter had potential, but with a lot of flaws and not a lot of rights, John Carter became a below average syfi adventure. Expand
  60. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    Angels:
    This is not a great movie-but it is an entertaining one. The special effects were impressive-and I saw it in 2d- so 3d may have been even more eye-popping. I try not to criticize movies as derivative. I read somewhere, could have been my Bible, that there is nothing new under the sun. People complain that this is an Avatar rip off, yet Avatar was not exactly original either.
    Angels:
    This is not a great movie-but it is an entertaining one. The special effects were impressive-and I saw it in 2d- so 3d may have been even more eye-popping. I try not to criticize movies as derivative. I read somewhere, could have been my Bible, that there is nothing new under the sun. People complain that this is an Avatar rip off, yet Avatar was not exactly original either. If you saw that beautiful, cheerful (well the characters were funny) cartoon Ferngully, you were watching the blueprint for Avatar. So John Carter reminded me a bit of Star Wars, and the Tharks reminded me of Jar Jar Binks-but so what? Like my Bible say, (so we have known this for more than 2,000 years), there is nothing new under the sun. Anyway, the Tharks were much more appealing and more believable than Jar Jar. What is important, is that I enjoyed the movie, and my date enjoyed the movie. The princess was astonishingly attractive-almost as pretty as my date. (Yes, I am a lucky fella). John Carter was rugged, and good looking, like a dashing ex-confederate cavalry officer, but he did not have a southern accent, and did not project a lot of manly charm. I think a tighter plot, and sharper dialog would have helped the movie. The ending however was surprisingly good.
    Angels, blow my ship into safe harbor.
    Expand
  61. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    Es decepcionante ver como la adaptacion de un libro que inspiro tantas grandes peliculas, se queda corta en todos los aspectos. John Carter podra tener unos buenos efectos especiales, pero eso es todo. Le falta muchisimo para poder ser lo que uno espera. Tiene un grave problema de secuencia y la banda sonora es obsoleta. Una de las peliculas mas decepcionantes que he visto.
  62. Oct 7, 2013
    2
    An extremely fine comedy... wait what? It wasn't? It was supposed to be a sci-fi adventure film? My bad!
    In that case, this movie fails completely as that genre. It is so mind-numbingly ridiculous; the movie ends up being funny for the wrong reasons. Because of that, I'll give the movie some credit but overall:
    If you're going to watch it a 2nd or 3rd time, treat it like a comedy; don't
    An extremely fine comedy... wait what? It wasn't? It was supposed to be a sci-fi adventure film? My bad!
    In that case, this movie fails completely as that genre. It is so mind-numbingly ridiculous; the movie ends up being funny for the wrong reasons. Because of that, I'll give the movie some credit but overall:
    If you're going to watch it a 2nd or 3rd time, treat it like a comedy; don't take it too seriously.
    Expand
  63. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Is it a bit dated and corny, sure. But, that's what John Carter of mars was, and while the movie wasn't any Avatar, it was a fun show, with heart and nice effects. You won't need your copy of "the scientists guide to alien technology"; --- But, bring a large bag of popcorn, sit back, and prepare for a couple of hours of enjoyable vintage comic book style science fiction / science fantasy.Is it a bit dated and corny, sure. But, that's what John Carter of mars was, and while the movie wasn't any Avatar, it was a fun show, with heart and nice effects. You won't need your copy of "the scientists guide to alien technology"; --- But, bring a large bag of popcorn, sit back, and prepare for a couple of hours of enjoyable vintage comic book style science fiction / science fantasy. This movie is a romp, rather than an epic... and it was far better than we expected going in. Expand
  64. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    Edgar Rice Burroughs is famous for literary creations that have inspired countless generations and given birth to numerous film and television projects. You would be hard-pressed to find anybody not familiar with Tarzan, one of Burroughâ
  65. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Great movie for the whole family. John Carter is a funny, action packed movie. Yo will enjoy the time spent on the script, and effects. I watched it with my parents and they laughed more thank I did.
  66. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    Wow, did this movie look beautiful. "John Carter" is a fun adventure movie that'll keep you entertained. Unfortunately, it's a little hard to follow and drags a little towards the middle.
  67. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To the reviewer who claimed this film "evokes pretty much every sci-fi classic from the past 50 years" and so on: John Carter was written in 1912. That's right: 1912. It predates "every sci-fi classic from the past 50 years", you complete tool.


    No, John Carter is not a great film. It's pretty shallow. It lacks heart, and Taylor Kitsch has only one facial expression. The problem is that it's all largely too easy for the titular character, but I assume that's most likely a reflection of the source text. The lead character bounces around Mars without really much consideration for the fact he's on another planet. That's a failure of the director, and he hasn't injected any breathless wonder at being lost and far from home (in a spectacular setting).


    The CGI is great, as you'd expect these days, and the story passable. The plot is a little vague and weak as to the purposes of the bad guys, but it's good enough. The female lead is suitably hot, and does a good job. The ending left me wanting the lead to return to Barsoom after possibly losing everything, and rooting for the main character is a reasonable sign of a decent film.


    It's clean, reasonably wholesome entertainment that the kiddies should enjoy, and the adults won't mind either. I don't know if it's been successful enough to spawn a sequel (although it hasn't done badly, despite the critics), but with another sodden Twilight teen angst-fest on the horizon, and the blandness-cum-pointlessness of The Hunger Games, it was something different and therefore refreshing.
    Expand
  68. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    this film to my expectation was a complete and great way to show the mixing of star wars with avatar. its cgi and the essence of religion and creativity with the transporting of humans to different planets was a smart move. this film really had me on the edge of my seat. making me think "what next"and for the first time in my rating history with films this is one im giving a 9.5. its athis film to my expectation was a complete and great way to show the mixing of star wars with avatar. its cgi and the essence of religion and creativity with the transporting of humans to different planets was a smart move. this film really had me on the edge of my seat. making me think "what next"and for the first time in my rating history with films this is one im giving a 9.5. its a great film and recommend it to the lovers of Disney and others who are interested to see what others say...well this is one of them :D enjoy. Expand
  69. May 15, 2012
    3
    Not bad,

    But for a film encompassing the character John Carter, it is ultimately depressingly mediocre. Good Points; - Awesome visuals; - John Carter's, pseudo-super powers (It's not a spoiler, it's in the trailer); - Interesting character dynamics; - Intricate world; Bad Points - Goddamn DISNEY-ISMS! (a cute animal does not a good movie make!) - Ridiculous dialog at points; - Lack of
    Not bad,

    But for a film encompassing the character John Carter, it is ultimately depressingly mediocre.

    Good Points;
    - Awesome visuals;
    - John Carter's, pseudo-super powers (It's not a spoiler, it's in the trailer);
    - Interesting character dynamics;
    - Intricate world;

    Bad Points
    - Goddamn DISNEY-ISMS! (a cute animal does not a good movie make!)
    - Ridiculous dialog at points;
    - Lack of story coherence (feels like The Phantom Menace)

    Overall;
    Don't waste your time
    Expand
  70. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    the movie is worth seeing. plain and simple. Avatar did the same type of thing better a couple years ago and unfortunately a big part of being successful is getting there first (no matter when the material originated)
  71. Mar 12, 2012
    8
    Well, I went this week to see â
  72. Mar 9, 2012
    5
    Imagine a mash up of Prince of Persia and Avatar: except not as good as the latter by far. John Carter is a blend of amazing visuals and great CGI characters to then fall short on plot and character development. A guilty pleasure kind of movie that was similar to Avatar's plot, John Carter focuses on the main character who gets thrust in a different world only to end up helping fight forImagine a mash up of Prince of Persia and Avatar: except not as good as the latter by far. John Carter is a blend of amazing visuals and great CGI characters to then fall short on plot and character development. A guilty pleasure kind of movie that was similar to Avatar's plot, John Carter focuses on the main character who gets thrust in a different world only to end up helping fight for the princess who he falls in love with. Take the time and energy that James Cameron took to develop that relationship in Avatar and don't expect it here. Disney's fast paced sequence is much like Prince of Persia with little creativity added in the script to make an entertaining movie with nice action sequences, just not enough of a story in between. While it didn't happen to be the amazing blockbuster that if could have been, if you are to see this movie anyway, go ahead and watch it in theaters. The 3D and mars visual effects will make the movie worth the two hours. Expand
  73. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Thia movie is brilliant! I absolutely LOVED it! The action was incredible, the effects were gorgeous and the story was absolutely amazing! Please, please, PLEASE, help support this fantastic movie and go see it RIGHT NOW!
  74. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I have never watched a movie that made me feel sad after I watched it because it was getting a bum rap. I almost didn't go see it because of all of the bad publicity now I am glad I went. John Carter is a good film, fun, entertaining, funny and visually stunning. Strong interesting characters, good storyline. I blame Disney and its small mindedness for its failure. It is a fantasy film,I have never watched a movie that made me feel sad after I watched it because it was getting a bum rap. I almost didn't go see it because of all of the bad publicity now I am glad I went. John Carter is a good film, fun, entertaining, funny and visually stunning. Strong interesting characters, good storyline. I blame Disney and its small mindedness for its failure. It is a fantasy film, it should be marketed as one. They should have never changed the name from John Carter from Mars, they should have hit up the fanboy network, and yes there are lots of fangirls out there too who would rock this movie in cosplay.. Disney opened the door and practically begged the critics to pan the movie. The trailers sucked, there is a fan trailer on youtube that is fantastic which is 1000 times better than the lame ones Disneys put out. Give this film a chance, it is a fun ride and worth seeing. Expand
  75. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    A little bit slow at the beginning it starts a good pace at the middle end of the film. As many people say, when you go to see some films, you enter with some expectations, and for me this was suposed to be a super-action adventure non-stop film, but despite the fact it was a pretty average film I wouldn't recommend watching it it beyond a BR/DVD release.
  76. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie, it had great action, great CG and a lot more romance than any of the trailers showed. The ending was well thought out and it really brought the film to a wonderful conclusion that left you wanting to see the next movie... which I hope they make!
  77. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    This was actually a really good movie. I didn't expect much in terms of story, but it delivered the goods in full. I really hope they make a sequel sooner rather than later.
  78. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    John Carter has a good story and even though its a full 2 hours it never gets boring which is a real achievement these days. The setting and its aliens and red humans are interesting and most of the CGI is very good. It totally overdoes the jumping thing in the 1st half of the movie but it looks good and there are good battle scenes.
  79. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    The movie was given to me as a gift for Father's Day and I was a little nervous wondering if I would really like it. I thought I would like it after seeing all of the trailers for the movies and many people online who said they liked it have enjoyed the movie for the same reasons I thought I would. They said it was a fun adventure that had some great special effects. However, it receivedThe movie was given to me as a gift for Father's Day and I was a little nervous wondering if I would really like it. I thought I would like it after seeing all of the trailers for the movies and many people online who said they liked it have enjoyed the movie for the same reasons I thought I would. They said it was a fun adventure that had some great special effects. However, it received mixed reviews upon release and it did not do well at the box office. After viewing it I have to say I really liked it!

    I am not going to go into great detail about the movie but I will say what I did and didn't like about the movie. In the beginning there is a short prolog that tells the story of the conflicts between the civilizations on Mars, known as Barsoom to the natives. I wish that part was just a little clearer because for a while it was confusing for me to understand who was who and what was going on. I also think the early part of the movie before John Carter arrives on Mars could have fleshed out his character a little better. However, once you are on Mars and the confusion clears up the movie is very enjoyable with good character development with both John Carter and Dejah Thoris, a Princess of Mars who must enter into an arranged marriage in order to resolve the global conflicts. When John Carter arrives on Mars he is captured by a very tall green skinned multi-limb race of humanoids called Tharks. This warrior tribe eventually assists John Carter in his aid to save Dejah Thoris. John Carter's character development is an essential part of the story as his motivation goes from wanting to leave Mars and return to Earth to falling in love with Dejah Thoris and wanting to rescue her and resolve the planet's civil discord.

    I found as the movie goes along it gets better and better and really becomes an exciting action and adventure movie. I don't want to put too many spoilers in my review but the movie did hit a slight snag for me toward the end. Spoiler alert for the next part if you haven't seen the film: When John Carter gets transported back to earth against his will, his journey to return to Mars seems rushed. It also resolves some of the confusion form the opening of the movie, which is in reality setting up the ending. Its not that this part of the movie was bad, it wasn't, its just that coming so late in the movie the pace of it seems hurried.

    I wanted to make a comment about leading actor Taylor Kitsch as John Carter. There have been some complaints that he has been miscast because he doesn't portray a larger than life persona one would want in a warrior hero. To some extent that is true. His screen presence is not the best. Yet in the framework of the film it works. He is supposed to be just an average guy that is placed in extraordinary circumstances. When John Carter defeats the Giant white gorillas and Tal Hajus you finally see the larger than life warrior emerge. As I stated that is later in the film. All in all Taylor Kitsch is fine for the role of John Carter.

    Although I really enjoyed the movie it does have some flaws, which all movies do, and I do not think that it is bad at all. The saddest part for me is that the ending sets us up for a sequel and the movie really cries for one but with the poor performance at the box office we will probably never see one.
    Expand
  80. Mar 12, 2012
    4
    A dull Prince of Persia/Avatar clone. The only thing that could have saved this movie was if David Lynch wrote the script and Takashi Miike directed it, now that would be a messed up movie I'd actually want to see.
  81. Apr 29, 2012
    7
    John Carter was surprisingly a fun filled ride from start to finish. Not sure what the hate is all about and why Disney could lose so much money on this venture. It was a tough book to adapt to the big screen, but I think it was done fairly well.
  82. Jul 29, 2012
    6
    Not a great movie by any means and a few really rough performances. But there is something to be said for the grand scope and the pretty cool effects of the aliens. Would not recommend paying a whole lot for DVD/Blu-ray, but if you can find a copy for $5 or so you wouldn't be completely wasting your time. So much potential...but sadly that's all that remains for most of the film.
  83. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    Although John Carter was directed by Andrew Stanton (the genius behind two of Pixar's greatest masterpieces: WALL-E and Finding Nemo), my expectations for the movie were pretty neutral, but once again Mr. Stanton has directed a good movie and exceeded my expectations. I agree with a lot of critics on the movie's pacing issues, but apart from that, the special effects are outstanding, theAlthough John Carter was directed by Andrew Stanton (the genius behind two of Pixar's greatest masterpieces: WALL-E and Finding Nemo), my expectations for the movie were pretty neutral, but once again Mr. Stanton has directed a good movie and exceeded my expectations. I agree with a lot of critics on the movie's pacing issues, but apart from that, the special effects are outstanding, the action scenes are tons of fun, and the story is complex and interesting. I give this movie an 8/10. It's not as great as WALL-E and Finding Nemo (those are BIG shoes to fill!), but John Carter is a thrilling, fun-filled sci-fi adventure that is definitely worth seeing. Expand
  84. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    Love Love Love! The main guy was a dream and the story line was pretty decent! For Walt Disney, this was one of there better 'teen' films. Enjoyed it lots!
  85. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    If I were capable of encapsulating how awful this film was, I'd have invented a new language based around the word "bad". The trailers looked terrible, but I suppose at that point the marketing budget had already been spent and two-thirds of the way through production there was no turning back, but surely the most prudent decision would have been to postpone the release and continue theIf I were capable of encapsulating how awful this film was, I'd have invented a new language based around the word "bad". The trailers looked terrible, but I suppose at that point the marketing budget had already been spent and two-thirds of the way through production there was no turning back, but surely the most prudent decision would have been to postpone the release and continue the test/edit process until a satisfactory cut was found like Into the Blue. John Carter was simply horrible. Expand
  86. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    John Carter story (book) predates Star Wars so I can see where Star Wars got some of its ideas from John Carter. The visuals were a master piece although I wasn't too impressed with the 3D, sorry but Avatar raised the bar pretty high. The story pretty much is the usual guy saves the girl then saves the world scenario, nothing new there. Remember this is a science fiction so turn off yourJohn Carter story (book) predates Star Wars so I can see where Star Wars got some of its ideas from John Carter. The visuals were a master piece although I wasn't too impressed with the 3D, sorry but Avatar raised the bar pretty high. The story pretty much is the usual guy saves the girl then saves the world scenario, nothing new there. Remember this is a science fiction so turn off your common sense sensor and you should have fun watching all the action in this flick as I did. Not sure if there is a part 2 in the works but they certainly left the door open for it. Expand
  87. Sep 23, 2012
    5
    John Carter is a very imaginative yet B rate movie that calls itself science fiction. Though the special effects are wonderful, the characters are all one-sided, the plot is very simple and predictable, and it blatantly ignores many scientific facts that even an elementary school student should know. However, the movie can be very creative at times, with dazzling scenery and intricateJohn Carter is a very imaginative yet B rate movie that calls itself science fiction. Though the special effects are wonderful, the characters are all one-sided, the plot is very simple and predictable, and it blatantly ignores many scientific facts that even an elementary school student should know. However, the movie can be very creative at times, with dazzling scenery and intricate landscapes, as well as creatures. I get the impression that this would be what Mars would be like if it actually did have an atmosphere.

    But now we get to the really big HOWEVERS. Good graphics and special effects the movie might have. HOWEVER, as mentioned before, the movie's characters are all very simple and do not evolve hardly at all over the course of the movie. The protagonist (John Carter, as if you wouldn't have guessed) is your standard action hero with lots of brawn and lots of bravery but little brain. The princess of the City of Helium (I kid you not, one of the cities is named Helium) is your standard damsel in distress. Though she does participate in some action scenes, she is never shown to be capable of really defending herself, thus forcing upon her the mantle of "one who is good only for being rescued". And the support characters (of which there are a disappointing few) are hardly elaborated on very much, and I didn't feel as though I really knew any of them very well at all by the movie's end.

    Meanwhle, the plot is very simple. I won't go into any detail beyond this, since doing so would require me giving out spoilers. However, I will say that there aren't really any twists to the story, least of all during the climax (which especially surprises me). There are some points where it seems like a twist might be about to happen, but then it never really does. It seemed like the writers were always holding back, and even when it came time for them to actually take the plot to a new level, they decided not to for some reason.

    And now we reach the largest HOWEVER. The flaws mentioned above are bad. But of all of them, the obvious illiteracy that the writers had regarding scientific concepts is the worst. Because this is a Disney movie, I can forgive a few messups regarding realism, even for a "science fiction" themed movie (it is really complete fantasy, but I digress). HOWEVER, there are certain gaffs in the movie that were so horribly bad that it just made me angry. Perhaps the most obvious example is that, of course, Mars doesn't actually have an atmosphere. The movie tries to dispel this in the very beginning by saying something like "that's what they say, but it's not true". Like hell it isn't!. Movie, are you trying to tell me that in your universe, astronomers for hundreds of years have misinterpreted multitudes of evidence to the contrary? Give viewers a break, they deserve better treatment than this! I could go on about this example, but I don't think I need to. Anyways, the next huge realism gaff is how John Carter can jump to insane heights, with the only explanation being that Mars has lesser gravity than Earth. While this may be true, it is only about 38% the gravity of earth. So that means that Carter should only be able to jump 1/0.38 (about 2.6) times higher on Mars then he can on Earth. Perhaps about 10 or 15 feet, assuming that he's somewhat of an athlete. But a skyscraper's height? Hell no! And what makes this particular gaff even worse is the effect for jumping. Now, to be fair, most of the effects in this movie are great. But the one for Carter's jumping is the one exception. He could not more obviously be on a rope, during the early scenes. And later on, during the battle scenes, it just looks completely ridiculous. Lesser gravity means that you fall slower. It doesn't mean that you increase your height but fall at the same speed. That's just stupid. Now, you're probably thinking: knowing that this is a Disney movie, why am I being so particular about realism? After all, none of the other Disney movies are realistic at all, right? So why get worked up about this one? The reason is actually very simple: it's not because I expected the movie to be realistic (I didn't, of course). It's because it shows how little the producers actually know about science. The stuff they get wrong in this movie is the kind of stuff you learn about in middle and high school (even elementary school, for some cases). And the fact that the producers got this stuff wrong honestly makes me wonder about their IQs. Taking some liberties with realism is okay. But pretending that physics doesn't exist is just careless.

    To sum up, John Carter is actually quite fun, very imaginative, but also quite simple (and stupid, in some places), as well as underwhelming as far as the plot is concerned. I give it a D-.
    Expand
  88. May 25, 2012
    7
    An entertaining film, sound and visual effects very good, the story could have been better but was not the case, Andrew Stanton has made a film acceptable.
    The best: the end, just waiting ... well done.
    The bad: love (typical Disney) the same cliche as ever ...
  89. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's great to look at. Disney does that well. You gotta give it up for them on this aspect. The original score is good as well. On the other hand, despite the reasonably good acting, the characters were simply not very likable to me. Story-wise, it feels familiar, which is generally never good in a sci-fi/fantasy movie, and it lacks a bigger differentiation between the people from Zodanga and the people from Helium, as well as a background on how the war started. I felt bored a couple of times watching it. Overall, this movie is just passable. It had a lot of potential, though Expand
  90. Jul 10, 2012
    7
    Taylor Kitsch is a bad actor. But besides that, John Carter is actually quite good. The plot has some pacing issues, and the movie can come off as a cheesy cliché at times, but sci-fi buffs should really try this one out for themselves.
  91. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    I was very skeptical of this movie, I had read the plot of the books online and it sounded just too hard to accept. Then the commercials did not really shine--they focused so much on action. My father told me that the movie was great, watch it, and basically shut up on the criticisms til I had seen it. He was totally right. The richest parts of the film are the internal conflicts ofI was very skeptical of this movie, I had read the plot of the books online and it sounded just too hard to accept. Then the commercials did not really shine--they focused so much on action. My father told me that the movie was great, watch it, and basically shut up on the criticisms til I had seen it. He was totally right. The richest parts of the film are the internal conflicts of the main character. The flashbacks do a beautiful job of explaining so much in mere seconds. Combine that with the civil war and lost causes and bam...great stuff. The suspension of disbelief was quite easy and about 15 minutes in it was easy to accept this view of the solar system and forget all about rovers on Mars and what we scientifically know. The final 15 minutes are a brilliant, simply brilliant ending with some twists that I won't ruin for you. A must see! Expand
  92. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    John Carter is an unjustly dismissed sci-fi masterpiece...grossly unjustified. What was wrong with it? Specifically, what was wrong? Pacing? It was intense!!! Coming from someone who uses this word sparingly, this movie was "EPIC". I am almost certain that time will enable objectivity, and objectivity will redeem it from the stinging taint slapped on it due to a predictably simplisticJohn Carter is an unjustly dismissed sci-fi masterpiece...grossly unjustified. What was wrong with it? Specifically, what was wrong? Pacing? It was intense!!! Coming from someone who uses this word sparingly, this movie was "EPIC". I am almost certain that time will enable objectivity, and objectivity will redeem it from the stinging taint slapped on it due to a predictably simplistic aversion to what is "mainstream" by film critics. If a studio other than Disney could have created the same film with half the budget it would have been heralded as a cinematic achievement within the sci-fi genre, but its budget was viewed as ostentatious and its production studio as childish, so it became "cool" to hate on it before anyone had even seen it. Who makes something and how much they pay to have it made has nothing to due with the quality of what is actually produced, it may be indicative of quality or lack thereof, but the final product speaks for itself. Reviews of John Carter tell us more about film critics than the critics told us about the film. It was practically perfect. "Incomprehensible plotting"??? They laid the groundwork for the presumed sequels by deliberately leaving a few questions unanswered, which I hope they still make and answer because I loved this first one! Mars was epic, and then in the end we are reminded that the story began on Earth and the film ends stronger than I could have hoped for! An excellent story masterfully told on screen. Expand
  93. Apr 9, 2012
    5
    I went into this movie with an open mind, having never read the books I wasnt sure what to expect. I have to say I agree with the general consensus that this is just an average movie, kind of a nice starter before the summer movie season but not something I would see again. The action was ok but I never really bought into the whole romance and towards the middle i found myself glancing atI went into this movie with an open mind, having never read the books I wasnt sure what to expect. I have to say I agree with the general consensus that this is just an average movie, kind of a nice starter before the summer movie season but not something I would see again. The action was ok but I never really bought into the whole romance and towards the middle i found myself glancing at my watch. If your bored on a Sun afternoon and its still showing go see it especially if its cheap....still much better than the Hunger Games which I thought was terrible Expand
  94. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic looking movie with a wonderful story. The shame is that Disney sabatoged this movie before it was even released. For months leading up to the movie release a certain website advertised this movie as Ghosts of Mars. The travesty is that a bit of marketing could have saved it. It was a huge mistake not to push the love story or to include Mars anywhere in the title. There is a hugeFantastic looking movie with a wonderful story. The shame is that Disney sabatoged this movie before it was even released. For months leading up to the movie release a certain website advertised this movie as Ghosts of Mars. The travesty is that a bit of marketing could have saved it. It was a huge mistake not to push the love story or to include Mars anywhere in the title. There is a huge following of the books that probably overlooked it because they did not use "Princess of Mars" or "John Carter of Mars". It is a shame because now we will never see the others. Expand
  95. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    The film is exactly what you expect going in. There is a decent plot supplemented by gorgeous backgrounds and the occasional action scene. Shakespeare this is not, but is a genuine good time with its mixture of humor, scifi, and western themes.
  96. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Fun and enjoyable movie! Forget that the dialogue is predictable and the acting uneven. Forget that it doesn't follow the book. Just watch the action, wonder about the landscapes, enjoy the rescues, and hope that they get together in the end. The 3D is lame so stick with the 2D version. And remember, the critics don't like it because they are mostly sourpusses and have forgotten we go toFun and enjoyable movie! Forget that the dialogue is predictable and the acting uneven. Forget that it doesn't follow the book. Just watch the action, wonder about the landscapes, enjoy the rescues, and hope that they get together in the end. The 3D is lame so stick with the 2D version. And remember, the critics don't like it because they are mostly sourpusses and have forgotten we go to the movies to have fun with family and friends! Expand
  97. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    "John Carter " is a fantastic movie, the scale is enormous and the story is moving. The secondary characters are alive and well developed. A worthy adaptation of the now classic novels by Edgar R. Burroughs.
  98. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    I went into this movie with my family not expecting too much for what I was gonna see. We just wanted to see a cool movie in the theater because we hadn't been to the movie theater for a long while, up until March. Let me tell you though, I thought this movie was very surprising. My family and I have never read the book of John Carter on Mars, so that might be why I was surprised by howI went into this movie with my family not expecting too much for what I was gonna see. We just wanted to see a cool movie in the theater because we hadn't been to the movie theater for a long while, up until March. Let me tell you though, I thought this movie was very surprising. My family and I have never read the book of John Carter on Mars, so that might be why I was surprised by how the story turned out. All the sort of alien creatures that John Carter meets, are awesome. The acting involved with the aliens are quite believable. The plot is well told as well, and with a good supporting cast, it makes for some good dialogue. Okay maybe not outstanding dialogue, but it is well done. My point is, if you go into this movie not expecting much out of it, and maybe if you haven't read any info or read the book, except maybe seeing a trailer or TV spot, than you'll probably be quite surprised by John Carter. So the verdict on this movie I give John Carter, a 8.1 out of 10. Now it's not the most amazing movie I've seen, that's for sure, but it is quite good. Expand
  99. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    John Carter was pretty terrible. Everything felt completely out of place. The characters were drab and uneventful. The plot was cliche and boring. Good attempt but horrible product.
  100. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    Having just recently just read the books in preparation for this release I was really excited to see this movie. The character work was well done. The special effects were amazing. The story line staggered at times. But with all of it's supposed short-comings, I felt that this was a very cool movie. I will agree that this movie could do with a directors cut when it comes to the DVD/Blu-rayHaving just recently just read the books in preparation for this release I was really excited to see this movie. The character work was well done. The special effects were amazing. The story line staggered at times. But with all of it's supposed short-comings, I felt that this was a very cool movie. I will agree that this movie could do with a directors cut when it comes to the DVD/Blu-ray release only to address some of the finer story points that I felt could do with some further exposition. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Mar 19, 2012
    40
    Burroughs invented a primal fiction: a man winds up on another planet, and has to find his way among strange creatures. Sticking to that fable, which was central to "Avatar," might have saved John Carter, but Stanton loses its appealing simplicity in too many battles, too many creatures, too many redundant episodes. [26 March 2012, p.108]
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Mar 18, 2012
    60
    Get your ass to Mars? A handsome new sci-fi adventure that feels rather familiar. Enjoyable enough while it lasts, John Carter is big on ambition and disappointingly short on action.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 18, 2012
    20
    Dejah, with her seen-it-all-before smirk, is not a very sympathetic heroine, and Kitsch is stolid and dull. And as for the red planet, the answer to David Bowie's famous question is no. What a sadd'ning bore it is.