Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Born in Virginia and a veteran of the Civil War, John Carter is an honorable and courageous man. However, the war let him dispirited and broken. Accidentally transported to the planet of Barsoom, he soon finds his strength and jumping abilities greatly amplified. He must use these newfound powers to survive the centuries-old war between the native inhabitants and save this dying world. (Disney) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Mar 10, 2012
    80
    The achievement of John Carter is that it takes the elements worn to nubs by everything from "Star Wars" to "Avatar" to TV's "Fringe" and makes them fresh again.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 8, 2012
    75
    Against the odds, John Carter is itself pretty amazing - an epic pulp saga that slowly rises to the level of its best imitations and wins you over by degrees.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 8, 2012
    70
    If you're willing to suspend not just disbelief but also all considerations of logic and intelligence and narrative coherence, it's also a rip-roaring, fun adventure, fatefully balanced between high camp and boyish seriousness at almost every second.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 9, 2012
    58
    So why is everything so thuddingly fun-free?
  5. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Mar 8, 2012
    50
    Unlike Stanton's memorable animation features, this is surprisingly devoid of humor or winning characterization, though the special effects are fantastic.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 8, 2012
    40
    This new Disney film, marked by myriad lapses and marketing follies, bears the woefully familiar earmarks of a big studio production that was pulled and hauled every which way until it lost all shape and flavor.
  7. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Mar 6, 2012
    12
    As film theorist Siegfried Kracauer once wrote, to paraphrase, art often blooms in the most hostile soil. No such luck here.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 203
  1. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Fantastic movie, I absolutely loved it. I have read the entire works of Edgar Rice Burroughs and I believe he
    would endorse this movie. The
    story was written in 1912 and the movie is a good rendition of the book.
    The 3D and digital effects and film technology available today have made it possible to bring to life this
    great story by one of the greatest writers of all time. Tarzan, Journey to the Center of the Earth and other of
    his stories have been made into movies before. I sincerely hope sequels follow as there are more novels
    in the series.
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I have never watched a movie that made me feel sad after I watched it because it was getting a bum rap. I almost didn't go see it because of all of the bad publicity now I am glad I went. John Carter is a good film, fun, entertaining, funny and visually stunning. Strong interesting characters, good storyline. I blame Disney and its small mindedness for its failure. It is a fantasy film, it should be marketed as one. They should have never changed the name from John Carter from Mars, they should have hit up the fanboy network, and yes there are lots of fangirls out there too who would rock this movie in cosplay.. Disney opened the door and practically begged the critics to pan the movie. The trailers sucked, there is a fan trailer on youtube that is fantastic which is 1000 times better than the lame ones Disneys put out. Give this film a chance, it is a fun ride and worth seeing. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Great action, great story, great fun! It was entertaining from start to finish and it is definitely the best movie of 2012 so far... who could ask for more? This is a must see! Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    I don't remember a movie that I liked so much that was reviewed so poorly. It is not Casablanca but if you're in the mood for an adventure film with a solid story a really great special effects and aratsy visions of alien cultures, this is it. It's a matinee adventure with classic hero/heroine/evil doers. The bad rap it has so universally received from paid movie reviewers is very unfortunate and does not jib with the audience reaction, which has been predominately positive. . The movie deserves much better. I have seen a half dozen of this genre in the past year or so that were far less entertaining, Green Lantern, Percy Jackson. . and I'm a fan. . .to name only two. Go see this movie. Drop your Andrew Sarris precious-ness, open the kid-part of your brain (if it still exists, and I hope it does) and you'll have fun. My 12 year old son and I both liked it a lot. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. I saw it in 3D and I think that did help. Totally crazy story and plot but to me that has to be a good thing when every other movie is a sequel or remake. At the same time it can't help but remind you off some sci-fi classics like Star Wars and Avatar, with a bit of Thor thrown in. Even some of the comedy moments work with a six legged dog! A few good action scenes but for such a big budget movie I don't think there are enough of them. Transformers is an example of too much action and this is an example of not enough. All in all worth a watch in 3D. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    6
    I went in on a 5$ Tuesday in my cites Century Theaters hoping wanting to see the biggest adventure blockbuster thus far this year. And Ieft quite satisfied I felt a Star Wars-ish vibe and enjoyed it. I saw some flaws that could've been simply fixed and saw things that probably used up the budget that could've been without and replaced with stronger storytelling. Overall I agree with some critics but am very disappointed of how terrible its currently doing in theaters because when the movie came to a close I was hoping for a sequel. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2013
    0
    Beyond bad. Where the heck did they dig up Taylor Kitsch to star in this I saw him in 'Battleship' which bombed as well, and he was one of the main reasons. He has absolutely NO charisma, and that in turn makes each and every one of his lines...laughable. This entire movie is a nauseating mess, where one scene is worse than the next. Anyone who sits through this deserves a medal of honor. Expand

See all 203 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.