User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film is interesting, not too heavy, but delivered a healthy good news. Dolly has been a long time, I like, I almost forgot how much fun she can. Hope for the whole family can take away the noise from the joy of the message. Who knows the Queen Latifia can singI like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film is interesting, not too heavy, but delivered a healthy good news. Dolly has been a long time, I like, I almost forgot how much fun she can. Hope for the whole family can take away the noise from the joy of the message. Who knows the Queen Latifia can sing so wonderful? This is an all-star cast of talented young people, a witty twist, a great, from start to finish optimism.
    You can watch her momomesh.com

    I want to see the movie people can use a good laugh for the suggestions!
    Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    Loved it for the music, especially Keke Palmer's fabulous Man in the Mirror. Story's fairly corny but has some sweet moments, so no wonder it got brutalized by critics. You got to love gospel and feeling uplifted. Good for Queen Latifah championing this project. And interesting how it spotlight our troubled economic times.
  3. Jan 14, 2012
    7
    I thought the movie was quite entertaining, and elevated by fine performances from Queen Latifah, Dolly Parton, and Jeremy Jordan. Can't remember the last time I walked out of the movie theater grinnig from ear to ear. http://luhathoughts.blogspot.com/2012/01/joyful-joyful-i-adore-thee.html
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    The singing in this film is what makes it good. The story is fun but some points could use some work. Loved the interaction between Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton, especially during the fight scene in the restaurant.
  5. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie....I love music and will definetly be getting the soundtrack! I was loving the song at the end with all the remixes :) its was a good kind of corny and so much fun to watch
  6. Jan 28, 2012
    8
    Angels:
    This movie is entertaining. If I was going to pigeon-hole this show, I would call it a musical/musical comedy. Perhaps the most important ingredient then, is the music. And the music was very enjoyable-uplifting, vibrant, pulsating, tuneful gospel music. The movie is worth the price of admission just for the music! The plot was a standard one about group competitions-it could
    Angels:
    This movie is entertaining. If I was going to pigeon-hole this show, I would call it a musical/musical comedy. Perhaps the most important ingredient then, is the music. And the music was very enjoyable-uplifting, vibrant, pulsating, tuneful gospel music. The movie is worth the price of admission just for the music! The plot was a standard one about group competitions-it could have been basketball teams, cheerleading teams or in this case church choirs, but the resolution of the competition was perfect. I cannot say more or I will spoil it for you. The Queen, and Dolly did just fine. The script did not ask them to stretch their acting talents, and they both carry a tune nicely. I would say that the situations were not drawn as clearly or as plausibly as they might have been. One example: why was there so much animosity between the Queen and Dolly? I still don't really get it. But, this movie was a vehicle for the music, and once you understand that, you will enjoy the movie because you enjoy the music.
    Glow Brightly tonight Angels.
    Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2012
    6
    This movie was okay enough but it kind of slow moving and some of the plot elements seemed to be disjointed. I thought the language was kind of crude and the sexual innuendos were out of place given the overall subject matter.
  8. Jan 15, 2012
    4
    I felt this was geared toward religious groups but then had obvious conflicts of profanity and sexual inferences so it therefore hit no particular audience. It was REALLY loud in my theatre and this also took away from the enjoyment. On another note, I just could not get past the vast amount of cosmetic changes in Dolly Parton's face and her inability to show basic emotions, especiallyI felt this was geared toward religious groups but then had obvious conflicts of profanity and sexual inferences so it therefore hit no particular audience. It was REALLY loud in my theatre and this also took away from the enjoyment. On another note, I just could not get past the vast amount of cosmetic changes in Dolly Parton's face and her inability to show basic emotions, especially during close up shots. She has had one too many botox injections and lip stuffings. It really took away from her performance and could have added so much to the sensitive plots if she could have really acted. On another note, some of the music was nice but seemed a mix-mash of different genres. Dolly had to get a few of her songs in the movie so this did not necessarily mesh with the gospel theme.

    If you are into religious themes and can handle the "noise" and a little profanity and sexual inferences, it might be for you.
    Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2012
    3
    I know that many like Latifah and Dolly...I definitely do. However, this movie was either poorly written or sponsored by a church membership drive. It is more cliche than anything I've seen from Disney. A 3 minute song that simply says "fix me Jesus" is nauseating. Dolly's corny remembrancewith Kris made me roll my eyes. The voices in the movie sing wonderfully. However, the camp andI know that many like Latifah and Dolly...I definitely do. However, this movie was either poorly written or sponsored by a church membership drive. It is more cliche than anything I've seen from Disney. A 3 minute song that simply says "fix me Jesus" is nauseating. Dolly's corny remembrancewith Kris made me roll my eyes. The voices in the movie sing wonderfully. However, the camp and cornball littered with an obvious plug for churches made even the heartwarming moments Gravol-ready. The voices keep this movie from being rated a 1. Wait for late night TV for this one folks. Expand
  10. Jan 24, 2012
    4
    I would have enjoyed this movie more if they had better writers and got rid of Parton who didn't really do much anyways. My biggest problem is that they tried preachIng about goD every other scene which gets very annoying I would understand once or twice. The music was ok.
  11. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A really incredible film, this new work of Todd Graff (BandSlam) is great, I love Joyful Noise, with a really normal trama, you can pass a really good time.
  12. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    A mild blend of Glee and fundamental christian values, 'Joyful Noise' will fail to satisfy either parties that would be willing to see it. It has too much sexual content to appeal to those who love gospel choir (though, on the whole, it is still very PG-13) and it is too preachy to be accessible to those who would enjoy the choral arrangements of pop songs. Queen Latifah and Dolly PartonA mild blend of Glee and fundamental christian values, 'Joyful Noise' will fail to satisfy either parties that would be willing to see it. It has too much sexual content to appeal to those who love gospel choir (though, on the whole, it is still very PG-13) and it is too preachy to be accessible to those who would enjoy the choral arrangements of pop songs. Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton make for formidable opponents, but their clashes never go for the throat and come off as subdued. The plot is also really predictable, almost groan-inducing. So then, what is there for audiences to grab a hold onto? Not much. Expand
  13. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Pure joy. How many movies can move us spiritually anymore -- and really make our hearts be lifted? The story was relevant (especially for my 14 year old son, who questions God, as the young man did in the film). I had heard that this got mixed to negative reviews in Hollywood....It's hard to believe, given the beauty and talent here. This is one that Mom's should take the time to sharePure joy. How many movies can move us spiritually anymore -- and really make our hearts be lifted? The story was relevant (especially for my 14 year old son, who questions God, as the young man did in the film). I had heard that this got mixed to negative reviews in Hollywood....It's hard to believe, given the beauty and talent here. This is one that Mom's should take the time to share with their kids. We have put four children through faith based parochial education, and yet in just over an hour, they got a stronger message from Queen Latifa, Dolly and an AMAZING group of performers. Amen to that! Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible plot. Bad romance. I couldn't take it looking at Dolley Partons fake face.
    And her freakin southern accent. Keke Palmer apparently is a strong christian in the film but makes out with a guy in every scene. Stupid, Dumb, and an idiotic film
    Expand
  15. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    " this is the reason why musical movies are sepical . the fact that i watch this Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton are two reason why i came to see this film . Grade A+
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. 60
    A Joyful Noise overcomes. The big numbers are a gospel-pop-funk fusion that made me think, Hmmm, this seems very processed - before I noticed my feet were tapping of their own accord. How can you resist that wah-wah funk guitar?
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jan 16, 2012
    50
    The critic in me can authoritatively declare that the film is crap. The fan in me sent his shirt to the dry cleaners for tear removal.
  3. Reviewed by: Kevin C. Johnson
    Jan 14, 2012
    38
    Nothing more than uninspired mushiness.