Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Judy Moody was in a mood… a best-summer-ever mood! R A R E ! But that was before she found out that Mom and Dad were heading to California and Aunt Awful was coming to stay. Not to mention, her two best friends were going splitsville on her, for the whole entire summer! Will she, Judy Moody, be stuck with her little brother Stink? Stink, who has Bigfoot on the brain? Just when summer is starting to look Bor-ing with a capital B— Eureka!—Judy Moody (with a little help from Aunt Opal) comes up with the most thrill-a-delic plan ever. She challenges her friends in a thrill-point race for the most mega-rare NOT bummer summer. Can Frank Eats-Paste Pearl help save summer? The race is on! All she has to do is…learn to walk a tightrope, surf a monster wave, ride the Scream Monster—no hands!—make it all the way through an Evil Creature Double Feature, and survive… a poop picnic! Take a few thrills and chills, add a treasure hunt for Judy’s teacher, a midnight stakeout, a runaway ice-cream truck, and a chase scene with a dash of Bigfoot. What have you got? The Judy Moodiest summer ever! (Smokewood Entertainment Group) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 10, 2011
    80
    A young Aussie actress who seems as all-American as a Magic 8 ball, successfully walks the tightrope from precocious to exuberant, never once falling into obnoxiousness. That could describe this crackerjack of a kids' movie as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jun 9, 2011
    60
    The whole film is a celebration of messy, colorful, vigorous creativity, echoed in Cynthia Charette's gloriously cluttered hodgepodge production design, with barely a product placement in sight.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jun 9, 2011
    50
    Mosteller might be the movie's real discovery. He twists his lisp and slurry speech around the dialogue in a way that exudes far less attitude than the kids.
  4. Reviewed by: Lael Loewenstein
    Jun 3, 2011
    40
    Picture comes off as an exaggerated slapstick romp rather than the breezy, affecting tale of an 8-year-old tomboy it might have been.
  5. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jun 7, 2011
    40
    The books' ingenious wunderkind is MIA here, replaced instead by a generic eye-rolling, motormouthed preteen bopping around rote set pieces.
  6. Reviewed by: Sandi Angulo Chen
    Jun 9, 2011
    38
    With summer comes theaters filled with superheroes, sequels and forgettable family fare. In the last category, we find Judy Moody.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 10, 2011
    12
    The mystery is why the filmmakers thought third-graders or anyone else would be willing to pay for this master class in tedium.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Judy moody is a fun,exciting,and funny movie. It's great for kids. I love the movie and I am sure you will too! It so creative and wonderful. It's and exciting adventure through Judy Moody's summer. They are such good actors and actresses. Just watch it! It might even give you some ideas for the summer. The only thing that you might want to worry about but maybe not is that they say a word that you might or might not consider a curse word. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    I enjoyed LeahAndNic's review. Right on. I saw it with a full house opening week - and, while I would have enjoyed a few more quieter, less frenetic moments in the film - it thoroughly entertained the kids - and adults - in the audience - including me. The CG graphics were a fun nod to a world-gone-gamified - and, aside from some unnecessary fixation on poop jokes (of course, getting some of the best "ewwws!" and laughs from the kids), the film provided a playful romp with decent messages. Loved that Aunt Opal is a walking creativity-maven. And if this film gets kids reading the book series it was based on, that's not such a bummer summer either. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    I get confused by critics and their reviews of kids movies these days. I'm not a huge fan of them myself. So I stay away from discussing them in terms of rating other than good or bad. But with such overwhelming negative reviews I thought I would jump in.

    It's good. It's fun. It's completely unbelievable. But what I can tell you is that my 8 year old really smiled through it watching a character she read about come to life. Judy can be annoying as any kid can from time to time But I loved the idea of a list of Bummer Summer Killers. And my daughter made one for herself on her own after seeing it. She chose challenging, exciting stuff to try for her first time. And I'm proud of her for it. And this movie got her to try it.

    So by all accounts it's a done it's job. It's made a kid smile, a parent not angry and it's challenged my daughter. I know it's not talking cars, dancing penguins or cowboy lizards.
    Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    Cute kids' comedy plays like a more girl-centric version of Diary Of A Wimpy Kid, as plucky young Judy Moody (Jordana Beatty) sees her big plans for summer break go down the drain when her two best friends wind up going out of town for the summer. Things look up when, inspired and aided by her free-spirited Aunt Opal (Heather Graham), Judy comes up with a wacky list of dares and adventures to be undertaken by both her and her faraway friends. Nothing hugely original here, but Beatty (an Australian actress doing a flawless American accent) is appealing, Graham is tremendously sexy and loveable, and in one of the more surprising bits of casting this summer, Jaleel White - yes, I'm talking iconic TV nerd Steve Urkel - is genuinely charming as Judy's teacher. I know the reviews are crummy and the Megacritic scores reflect that, but I'd take this over Mr. Popper's Penguins or (God help me) Transformers: Dark Of The Moon any day. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    1
    I took my neice to see this, it was the worst movie i have ever seen in a long time. Why are the vast majority of films that are being released nowadays sucking so bad? It was horrendous. Even my 8 year old neice hatted it. Collapse
  6. May 15, 2012
    0
    One of the most terrible movies ever!. The Judy Moody books are really cool, and funny, when Relativity Media do the announce of this movie, I think: wow, great idea. But what happen? This movie is a big disaster. The story is really stupid, and the development is slow, strange, stupid, is like a freak show. The performances are horrible, any have a great moment. Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer is one of the worst movies of the last year. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews