Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 14, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 499 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
318
Mixed:
89
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ThegodfathersonMay 22, 2013
Jumper is a average night out movie. Teleporting skills, chicks and a sissy character who plays the lead. There cannot be worse movies out their like Jumper which is a fast entertainer that is at least- understandable and enjoyable. I got myJumper is a average night out movie. Teleporting skills, chicks and a sissy character who plays the lead. There cannot be worse movies out their like Jumper which is a fast entertainer that is at least- understandable and enjoyable. I got my copy on Bluray, it looked cool from the cover so, I bought it for 4.99 and watched it. I was surprised why critics didn't pan The Sixth Sense because its a hell of a confusing film. Jumper, on the other hand was a exciting thriller and I did like it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
One of the reasons superhero comics so often get held in contempt is because the shallowest (and commonest) ones are wish-fulfillment fantasies for adolescent boys, and adolescent boys tend to be pretty unnuanced, id-driven critters. ForOne of the reasons superhero comics so often get held in contempt is because the shallowest (and commonest) ones are wish-fulfillment fantasies for adolescent boys, and adolescent boys tend to be pretty unnuanced, id-driven critters. For instance, they should be pretty pleased with Jumper, a naked power fantasy in which an ordinary kid abruptly gains a super-ability, quickly followed by wealth, ultimate freedom, no-strings sex, and the panting admiration of his hot dream-girl. What did he do to earn any of this? He was so very, very special and different from everybody else that he gets to do whatever he wants, and still get framed as the film's shining hero.

First seen standing atop the Sphinx in Egypt and boasting to the audience about how he used to be "a normal person, a chump, just like you," Hayden Christensen plays a mildly dorky kid who discovers he can teleport. So he runs away from home and starts robbing banks. Eight years later, he's a smug **** living in a swank high-rise full of stolen cash and shiny toys, and he's using his power for trivial things like approaching a random bar hottie a little faster, or getting the TV remote without having to lean forward. But then Samuel L. Jackson appears and opens up a case of Mace Windu-style whoop-ass on him. Shortly thereafter, Christensen learns that there are other teleporters—or at least one, played with rakish charm by Chumscrubber star Jamie Bell—and that they're being hunted by fanatics called paladins. Why? The paladins' supposed philosophical underpinnings come out in one tossed-off line about how only God should be everywhere at once, but basically, they're around as an excuse for a lot of big, explosive fight scenes, which director Doug Liman (The Bourne Identity) seems to have imported directly from an X-Men movie.

Those scenes are easily the best part of Jumper: They're unlimited by logic or physics, which makes them dynamic and unpredictable, and Liman brings them off well, with a lot of literal flash and bang. But no exciting action can cover the film's profound shallowness and repulsive attitude toward everyone but Christensen. It isn't bad enough that he's a swaggering bastard who uses his powers exclusively to break laws and get whatever he wants—one scene even pointedly shows him ignoring a situation where he could save otherwise unsaveable lives. Another has him using a moving car as a weapon by jumping it to Chechnya, then leaving the startled driver to be crushed by a tank. And a good chunk of the film is devoted to him easily impressing his high-school crush object Rachel Bilson, who's less a character than a bright-eyed mirror for his awesomeness. Come to think of it, maybe adolescent boys won't like Jumper after all; its irritating protagonist is more school bully than underdog hero.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ChristieC.Feb 20, 2008
I couldn't sympathize with any of the characters. The protagonist was a horrible person. How am I supposed to care what happens to him? There were so many other things wrong with this, but I don't even know where to start. It was I couldn't sympathize with any of the characters. The protagonist was a horrible person. How am I supposed to care what happens to him? There were so many other things wrong with this, but I don't even know where to start. It was just awful. I left feeling terrible and not the slightest bit entertained, other than simply commenting that the effects were cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinM.Mar 7, 2009
True this movie was lacking in quite a few things, including character development and an ending, but at least this was more fun than Push (oh god!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SparkusNov 25, 2008
Hayden Christensen is still an awful actor, but the effects and other actors make up for it. Pure thought-abandoning entertainment. I expected worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DevonC.Oct 3, 2008
It's a movie to like and enjoy with it's extraordinary design and brain-free fun. But it still falls real short on being a pathetically dumb movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JaspreetS.Feb 16, 2008
Starts off good but kinda drags and too many loop holes left in the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveKFeb 20, 2008
Very mediocre action flick. Disjointed, but entertaining enough IF you go in with very modest expectations. Lotta potential here for a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DecepticonPomMar 8, 2008
Not as awful as the reviews lead me to believe. Apart from a fizzler ending, it does exactly what it says on the tin. And bonus point for including the brilliant "Blackenned Blue Eyes" by The Charlatans over the end credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristianP.Jul 4, 2008
This movie is a letdown, the trailer tricked me to see this movie. I though this movie is suppose to be a superhero like movie but instead we got a supervillian movie. The storyline is very weak and the character designs are boring. This movie is a letdown, the trailer tricked me to see this movie. I though this movie is suppose to be a superhero like movie but instead we got a supervillian movie. The storyline is very weak and the character designs are boring. It's worth watching it only once but not twice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EricG.Sep 8, 2008
It was like, the movie where everything makes sense but you still expect more thinking/reasoning from the characters. Everything in it spelled out the word shallow: Characters, plot, development, even the twist at the end wasn't needed It was like, the movie where everything makes sense but you still expect more thinking/reasoning from the characters. Everything in it spelled out the word shallow: Characters, plot, development, even the twist at the end wasn't needed (the one during the last like, 2 minutes). Good concept, terrible way of flowing with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesGFeb 19, 2008
To start with, I must make it pretty clear that...well...it isn't very good (in my opinion). However, and this is a big however, I did enjoy it nonetheless. If you're just after an excuse to go to the cinema, munch on some popcorn To start with, I must make it pretty clear that...well...it isn't very good (in my opinion). However, and this is a big however, I did enjoy it nonetheless. If you're just after an excuse to go to the cinema, munch on some popcorn and watch some action, then sure it's worth seeing. Just don't expect some deep sci-fi movie with a good plot or anything interesting to tell us; it's just another run-off-the-mill action movie in my eyes. Sure, I won't be buying this on DVD or anything, but I don't feel like it exactly wasted my time either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DrewFFeb 20, 2008
Ok-scifi action flick that suffers from a horridly written romance that gets shoehorned into the story. The action is solid, and Jamie Bell steals the show as the guy the movie SHOULD have been about. Not sure if there will ever be a sequel, Ok-scifi action flick that suffers from a horridly written romance that gets shoehorned into the story. The action is solid, and Jamie Bell steals the show as the guy the movie SHOULD have been about. Not sure if there will ever be a sequel, but this DOES introduce a world with a lot of potential for future stories... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
kayleighmsMar 28, 2008
Jamie Bell is highly entertaining as the veteran jumper who unwillingly befriends our hero, and Max Thieriot and AnnaSophia Robb are wonderful as young versions of our main characters (though we hope AnnaSophia doesn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TheSpiritchaseRMar 28, 2008
First off... Very nice action scenes. U could enjoy it just for that. Pretty nice romance - Rachel Bilson is a attractive woman. Cant say the acting was bad either. But god the story... it feels very disconnected, leaving far to many First off... Very nice action scenes. U could enjoy it just for that. Pretty nice romance - Rachel Bilson is a attractive woman. Cant say the acting was bad either. But god the story... it feels very disconnected, leaving far to many questions unanswered. If u didnt read the book, like me, ull prolly have a hard time understanding it. It does make sense, but it lacks depth. U can watch it for the action tho. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ColinC.Jun 15, 2008
I enjoyed this movie, although I see where a lot of the crits are coming from. You don't really end up caring about any of the characters and the dialogue, while workable, doesn't have any of the snap of say, Iron Man. But the I enjoyed this movie, although I see where a lot of the crits are coming from. You don't really end up caring about any of the characters and the dialogue, while workable, doesn't have any of the snap of say, Iron Man. But the action sequences are still fun, and the premise is cool. Definitely would love to see them take another shot at this franchise, since the potential is there for a really cool story, one with much better character development. At the end of the day, I enjoyed the movie, then pretty much forgot about it 10 minutes after watching it. (Except for writing this review.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Jun 4, 2008
Well I thought it was a fun movie, it's not outstanding but it always held my interest and I enjoyed some of the creativity involved. The performance were fine, particularly Diane Lane. Empty, but fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PaulK.Feb 14, 2008
I don't expect movie adaptations to be super strict, but the screenwriters completely bastardized theoriginal book. A shame really, because the writers could have done a great job fusing a "Bourne" type style into the plot, especially I don't expect movie adaptations to be super strict, but the screenwriters completely bastardized theoriginal book. A shame really, because the writers could have done a great job fusing a "Bourne" type style into the plot, especially since the book's end plot revolved around davy hunting down the terrorist, who killed his mother. Instead, we get new characters (Bell/Jackson) who aren't compelling because we're given absolutely no character development and old characters with completely different backgrounds (Lane). And what about this ongoing war between jumpers and Jackson and his crew? Completely undeveloped, and absurd. What were the writers thinking? What does Steven Gould think about this adaptation?! I found it a major disappointment to say the least. If you're a fan of Sci Fi and/or fantasy and are on the fence with this one, skip it or wait for video. Better yet, read the books which are infinitely superior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArmandoD.Feb 14, 2008
Special effects were not enough to engrose you in this dull story. I agree that you never knew who to cheer for. This could have been better shown on an episode of "Heroes" than a movie theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ThatGuyFeb 21, 2008
Needed a lot more backstory and exposition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobM.Jun 19, 2008
Just an OK movie. Not really worth watching
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
roddersj04Jan 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The premise is more interesting than the actual film. Not a good sign The trailer made this film look so good, but overall, the films quite dissapointing. The film moves quite fast, but its too fast. Plot developments and significant points just go straight past you, not looking back and you'll be left confused. The "origin story" with main character David discovering his powers, escaping his alcoholic father and leaving behind his love, took place in barely 5 minutes. We didn't have enough time to care for the characters David's leaving behind (well, maybe for his love interest, but Annasophia Robb plays the part well) A wider world and a wider mythology is hinted at for both the Jumpers and The Paladins, but nothing comes from it. It's just mentioned then forgotten about It's not all bad, though Samuel L Jackson does what he can do best, be a motherf*@/ing badass, hunting after Hayden Christensen. Whats with the silver hair, though? It's just out of place Jamie Bell is the best thing about this movie. Griffin is just such an awesome character, killing Paladins, jumping a car through Tokyo to avoid traffic. The fight scene between Griffin and SLJ's character, Roland (don't laugh or SLJ will hunt you down) is pretty epic. Griffins multiple jumps towards Roland into one super punch and jumping a double decker bus is immense. The second fight though, with Griffin VS David, felt quite forced. Like the writers were trying to make us believe in their characters developing from a team up into that. And then one final fight, David VS Roland. Roland attacked his dad, maybe killed him, David's learning with his powers, should be the best fight. What do we get? Nothing. David just jumps Griffin away, remarking he's different. Dissapointing! All in all, I expected more from this film. Quite dissapointing, no significant character development. Watch it if you just want something thats just mindless fun. Otherwise, don't bother Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Everyone in the movie seems so miserable. How can anyone expect US to be happy with it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
The movie isn't terrible, but leaving the story open for a sequel and not getting a sequel to me makes a movie less interesting. The only thing less appealing than leaving an opening for a sequel and not getting one is using completelyThe movie isn't terrible, but leaving the story open for a sequel and not getting a sequel to me makes a movie less interesting. The only thing less appealing than leaving an opening for a sequel and not getting one is using completely different actors/actresses to complete a sequel with the same characters. I would say it's worth watching if you have time, but I wouldn't go out of your way to watch it as it doesn't have that great of a story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews