User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1163 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. C.B.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get their twisted kicks... Expand
  2. GeorgeR.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    This movie is funny, beautifully acted, and charming all at the same time. A great movie!
  3. JackR
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I started watching this movie on my iPod as I was sitting on the toilet. I was releasing. One hour and thirty-six minutes later I was still on the toilet way passed being done. That was the longest time I've ever spent being on a toilet. I enjoyed every moment. I'm now immune to bad smells.
  4. JohnZ
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    So funny. omg. what a great movie.
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    Ellen Page shines as Juno MacGuff! She delivers a bright and shiny performance. I don't know if many audience members are aware of this, but Diablo Cody, who wrote the screenplay for this film was inspired by her life when she was 16 and pregnant in which it shows exactly what can happen during pregnancy and how it can guiltily affect your boyfriend that got you pregnant from sexualEllen Page shines as Juno MacGuff! She delivers a bright and shiny performance. I don't know if many audience members are aware of this, but Diablo Cody, who wrote the screenplay for this film was inspired by her life when she was 16 and pregnant in which it shows exactly what can happen during pregnancy and how it can guiltily affect your boyfriend that got you pregnant from sexual intercourse. Juno MacGuff acts like she doesn't care if she's pregnant, but she was smart about it and she does act like she is facing the challenges of being pregnant and she still does care about her boyfriend, Paul Bleeker (Michael Cera). Paul Bleeker still cared about her also. He felt guilty about getting her pregnant, but they still love each other and Page and Cera play cool characters. But what's great is the coming-of-age-type of love story between the two where they have great and intelligent chemistry with each other. And where the film's soul comes from is from the strong character development between the two from start to finish and where she faces a lot of hard decisions about being pregnant around her family and friends and between giving it up for adoption or the other. And strangely enough, it was romantically funny between the two. It's directed like a sitcom, but Jason Reitman makes a wonderful image out of it; especially the hilarious and moving performances of Michael Cera and Ellen Page and the impressive dialogue. Juno MacGuff (Ellen Page) is obnoxious as hell, but Ellen Page was great at her emotions and her obnoxious, yet very smart and intelligently written script. And hey, thanks to Diablo Cody's writing that was inspired by her 16 and pregnant life, it was well done with Juno MacGuff's smartitude, because her smartitude is what made her smart about her pregnancy. Diablo Cody's writing is also what made the script intelligently clever, smart, and not funny but beyond that: Hilarious! To give the audience an experience of being pregnant during high school, it gets the job done with impressive writing from Diablo Cody that made it so smart and intelligent. The love story between Juno and Paul was well-inspired. Especially due to the fact they played great characters. If you hate this wonderful movie, I would feel bad for you because where is your soul? Let me remind you haters this is a very touching movie that gives you clues of what being 16 and pregnant is like since it shows exactly what can happen when a some is pregnant - even when she gave birth and the guilt her boyfriend faced. Besides, wasn't it emotionally intense when she gave birth? Because this film shows how pregnancy can be in every way effective. Besides, It is romantically funny between Juno and Paul, so don't underestimate their character development and chemistry either, because hating this movie would be just soulless. Besides, like I said, she is obnoxious as hell, but she is cool like that, she's bright, sweet, charmingly and cleverly funny, smart, and intelligent. You would be an idiot to underestimate Juno MacGuff's awesome personality. Also, DO NOT underestimate Diablo Cody's superb writing and/or the romantic development between Juno and Paul either! Even if you hate the film considering Juno to be annoying, you are still an idiot, because she is very cool like Ellen Page. One of the coolest things about her is hamburger phone: that was clever as hell! I honestly think Juno was flawed, but thanks to Jason Reitman and Diablo Cody, writing and acting inspired from life of someone (yes, Diablo Cody) who was pregnant at age 16 gives it a coherent soul to captives your heart into a wonderfully explanatory experience of teenage pregnancy - especially since it shows how teenage pregnancy can be both personally and emotionally effective - even on your friends and family - well done by it's sweet and charming qualities - and Ellen Page, who helped made it sweet and charming due to her character and performance. Thank her and the rest of the cast also! And you know what, how can you hate this? You would be a disgrace to hate it. This movie has soul and it would be the perfect movie to watch in Health class in High School to give students clues of teenage pregnancy. Hating this movie, would be soulless. Shame on ANYONE who hates Juno! And yes, I mean you also! You haters would just make me sick! Although you haters may find Juno annoying: She is actually very sweet and clever! DON'T UNDERESTIMATE HER and/or Ellen Page. Especially Diablo Cody's writing. That would just make you haters inconsiderate with no soul. And haters, have you seen the show 16 and Pregnant on MTV? If so, that TV show ACTUALLY shows what I mentioned about teen pregnancy before and depicts it between Juno & Paul. I would also like to point out again that the screenplay of this film was inspired by Diablo Cody's life as a 16 year-old pregnant girl so think twice before you hate. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    My favorite movie! Ellen Page is the only person who could have done this part. The movie shows how fun life can be, while blending that with the up and down rollercoaster of teenage life. I cried when she had the baby because I knewthat even though the baby was not going to be brought up by Juno, that she was still eternally, and forever the baby's mother
  7. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Very funny PG-13 movie and Ellen Page plays the greatest role on the movie. Also, the soundtrack is amazing and all of the jokes on the movie are hilarious.
  8. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Very cool movie!!! Great acting and the plot is not tired. Look!!!
    the film is about a strong girl who overcomes the difficulties of life and learn new things) Film with a deep meaning which will transform your life and you'll never the same.
  9. TracyR
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Fabulous movie. Smart, real and hysterical. Could not be better written and acted. Just terrific. One of the best movies I've seen all year....
  10. SteveL
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Wow, a lot of hate for this movie. Most of the complaints concern the hype for the film, so maybe I lucked out, having heard none. In any case, I thought Juno was one of the better movies I've seen in a while.
  11. MattA
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    The film Juno featured sharp dialogue and interesting characters, which add up to be one of my favorite films of the year. The dialogue is hilarious and there is so much subtle humor that not many notice (those who only understand blunt statements as jokes). Ellen Page played an amazing, and believeable character who adolessence doesn't mask her heart. This movie is very adult themed The film Juno featured sharp dialogue and interesting characters, which add up to be one of my favorite films of the year. The dialogue is hilarious and there is so much subtle humor that not many notice (those who only understand blunt statements as jokes). Ellen Page played an amazing, and believeable character who adolessence doesn't mask her heart. This movie is very adult themed however, and i feel that ignorant teenagers may misinterpret the meaning of this film as a advocate for Pre-teen sex (but does anything ever stop them anyways?) Great Film. Made me laugh more than any film in the past few months. Expand
  12. MarcD.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Fantastic movie. The acting performaces are all top notch and incredibly "real." This is the biggest no-brainer of the holiday season.
  13. AndersM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, you'll likely realize that the name Juno could not be more appropriate, nay, perfect. Initially wearing something non-descript, the audience has to At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, you'll likely realize that the name Juno could not be more appropriate, nay, perfect. Initially wearing something non-descript, the audience has to observe her mannerisms and hear her cant to begin to develop an understanding of who she is. And the screenwriter, Diablo Cody, director, Jason Reitman, and lead actress, Ellen Page, do an amazing job of showing this through her brusque, mannish, sarcastic, juvenile-idiom-laden speech, her resolute gait, and her brutally-honest and witty utterances. Juno, while--not coincidentally--being the goddess of motherhood, is also infamously the bitchiest of the gods. One must take into account, however, that she always had reason to be filled with hatred or jealousy; her husband was constantly philandering with mortals of both sexes. Juno, also representing monogamy in marriage, is justified in her rage and her firm expression of her feelings is respectable rather than hysterical (and by the way, the monogamy/infidelity issue plays a key role in the film). As I was watching a preview screening at the Lagoon theater on Nov. 28, it was difficult for me to rid myself of the notion that I wasn't watching the goddess Juno herself, except here mortal, adolescent, and Midwestern. In this film as in reality, the company that every character holds describes his or her personality in a more profound way than their characters in isolation and they become exponentially more complex as they interact. The adoptive couple, the Lorings, initially come off as two-dimensional, but as we discover that Mark (Jason Bateman)--instead of being the nesting, Bed-Bath-and-Beyond-type like his wife Vanessa (Jennifer Garner)--is rather is an aging, frustrated, sellout of an ex-hipster and one can take this to illustrate a whole history to their relationship. Juno springs from her lower-middle class, disciplining yet disaffected parents (J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney) as logically as the theory of gravity. And the fact that Juno, the self-described goth librarian, is best friends with Leah (Olivia Thirlby), an animated, cheerleader-type ginger who lusts after her English teacher describes both girls better than either one alone; the inter-clique connection happens when both people mutually see something unique beneath the surface. Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera), Juno's baby-daddy, is the headbanded track star (maybe he's working off the baby fat he appears to still have) that occasionally reveals passions his meekness would otherwise belie. You see what they saw in each other, as in the movie's Moldy Peaches theme song "Anyone Else But You". I confess myself to be blown away at having learned that seemingly the most of the mother-loving soundtrack owes its brilliance to the actress who plays Juno, Ellen Page. Reitman asked her what she thought her character listened to and she said, "The Moldy Peaches," which isn't quite the 70's-era rock the character explicitly says she listens to, but lends its charmingly puerile tones and jaded/sentimental lyrics perfectly to the film's general milieu (especially with the solo music of band-member Kimya Dawson). The music immediately distinguishes the movie as one targeted at young people of the artistic temperament, but never self-consciously or crudely, eg. Garden State. The opening credits, animated by Shadowplay studios, which also did the one for "Thank You For Smoking", seemed somewhat incongruous to the rest of the film. The cartoon outline of Juno walking around the squiggly, pastel neighborhood drinking a gallon jug of "Sunny-D" suggests that the rest of the movie will be equally cartoonish and the main character a potentially-mentally-challenged outsider. Especially paired with the first scene where Rainn Wilson plays a 7-11 clerk that harasses Juno about the pregnancy tests she continues to buy and fail, the opening credits prepare you for a movie like Napoleonette Dynamite. Reitman, when asked about the similarities, said that unlike Napoleon Dynamite, Juno isn't set in an alternate universe, but rather firmly in reality. As the movie develops, he is proven correct because the characters quickly stop acting like quippy caricatures. That's not to say it isn't funny. In fact, it is much funnier than Dynamite. The frequency and intensity of the jokes is blistering. Don't zone out for a minute or else you'll miss jokes that are hidden in the background or muttered under someone's breath. Almost as quickly the mood will change from hilarious to heartbreaking and, although jarring, it's also pleasantly sobering. The story is as well-constructed and unpredictable as one could ever desire. In the end, there will be tears guaranteed for the saps among us and those willing to make themselves vulnerable to images and sounds. In the end, you will feel that the older characters will find a newer understanding of themselves and that the younger characters will discover their identities for the first time. You will be convinced that they will grow into the people you want to be friends with. In the end, you will feel the long-lost reverence for the miracle of motherhood that makes mother goddesses of any name smile. Read my blog at: violaceleste.blogspot.com Expand
  14. Ram
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    great film, witty dialogue, and most of all, one of the most lovable lead actors in a long , long time. hail Juno!
  15. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    Great movie-only a few instances of unbelievable dialogue. I'm really happy this is getting the attention it deserves.
  16. OrchidX
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    In one word the whole thing was great. A lot of people may not understand the movie or even get the whole idea of it. It's not meant to be just as it may seem at first, it goes deeper, you just have to look for it. Also, it's not like other movies that have a "commericial" plot that would be filled with overused phrases and mediocre scenes. It's definately worth watching.
  17. Brandy
    May 1, 2008
    10
    If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness in Ellen Page's performance! This movie will be my top movie from now on. I just wish that it came out sooner in my life so that it could hold If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness in Ellen Page's performance! This movie will be my top movie from now on. I just wish that it came out sooner in my life so that it could hold the top spot for longer! Expand
  18. NChunn
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    ah, the critics... what a waste of space they are... Peter Travers tells us (rolling stone) what a special kick it is to discover a new star.... !!!?? Huh ? Ellen Page you say?

    You mean the star who agve an almost academy award-winning level performance years earlier in Hard Candy? An already cult, popular and highly-praised film....? Wow Peter.... tell me this, are you not ashamed
    ah, the critics... what a waste of space they are... Peter Travers tells us (rolling stone) what a special kick it is to discover a new star.... !!!?? Huh ? Ellen Page you say?

    You mean the star who agve an almost academy award-winning level performance years earlier in Hard Candy? An already cult, popular and highly-praised film....?

    Wow Peter.... tell me this, are you not ashamed at the standard of your reviews?

    I would be if I was saying the BS you did.

    Don't get me started on the critic who gave No Country FOM a 50 and made it receive a lesser overall score than There Will Be Blood, which is inferior in almost every regard to NCFOM. Fact.
    Expand
  19. Americanbeauty
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she can't even grip into the steering wheel is just like me. I can't grab something when I crash I'm so broken. And like her I hide things and my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she can't even grip into the steering wheel is just like me. I can't grab something when I crash I'm so broken. And like her I hide things and I'm not openly emotional. Some lines are so great that I want to have an orgasm. This film really needs to be watched with subtitles. I've watched this movie an easy 10 times(so far) and everytime I found something new. Brilliant. Expand
  20. NicholasP.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This is the best film i have seen all year, better than Atonement even.
  21. PeterK.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    This is a great true-to-life film about off-beat characters living in a "normal" world with a great deal of tongue-in-cheek sensitivity and love. It made my whole family laugh at its eccentric comedy and whole-hearted decency.
  22. kevina
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Saw Juno last night a preview screening - it's got my (2nd annual) "Children of Men" award for my favorite time at a movie for the year. Realistic, witty dialogue, engaging characters, and fantastic music. I can't recommend any more strongly.
  23. JH
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    An absolute joy to watch. Ellen Page and Michael Cera delivered.
  24. DavidP
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    The haters are clearly intimidated at the very thought of Diablo Cody and/or the concept of the character Juno. This is a smart, delightful film that will appeal to reasonably intelligent moviegoers.
  25. TheDude
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    I loved this movie. I didn't know what to expect, but I ended up very happy I went. Actors are great. Characters are fantastic. Just a great, quirky, fun film.
  26. DouglasS
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    The characters were believable, the plot was original and the music and acting were great, all around an amazing film.
  27. JohnN.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Best film of the year. I can see the backlash is already starting.
  28. JoeE.
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    Probably best not to watch this film if you have passionnate views on abortion as you'll be completely sidetracked by the relatively small part that the issue plays in Juno. That would be a shame, because the film is beautiful. The characters are real, natural and honest, but most importantly for me they never descend into cliché or cheap parody. The dialogue is idiosyncratic Probably best not to watch this film if you have passionnate views on abortion as you'll be completely sidetracked by the relatively small part that the issue plays in Juno. That would be a shame, because the film is beautiful. The characters are real, natural and honest, but most importantly for me they never descend into cliché or cheap parody. The dialogue is idiosyncratic but never incomprehensible and gives a wonderful sense that the characters are real people with their own in-jokes and phrases. The fact that sentimentality is never shovelled into your face makes the touching moments resonate in a way that few other films achieve. I think this is a film that will be hard to forget. And that's before I even mention the soundtrack! Brilliant. Expand
  29. BMiller
    Feb 2, 2008
    9
    Some people don
  30. DavidC
    Feb 7, 2008
    9
    This isn't a film about birth, Matt Ties above, jeez - you want to watch an educational film about birth as that is what you seem to compare the film to. It a witty, warm film that at first you think, Juno is drawn to be too clever and wry to be a natural character, with her sharp dialogue and wry humour. But see it thorough and all the characters provide a warmth & vulnerability This isn't a film about birth, Matt Ties above, jeez - you want to watch an educational film about birth as that is what you seem to compare the film to. It a witty, warm film that at first you think, Juno is drawn to be too clever and wry to be a natural character, with her sharp dialogue and wry humour. But see it thorough and all the characters provide a warmth & vulnerability that is presented in a natural fasion, that by the end warms the heart and leaves a non-cloying sentiment that resonates and, at least for me, left me with a smile. Really recommend. Expand
  31. CoolBoi
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Even if i only saw 1/2 of the movie...I saw enough to know that is was great.The acting was phonomenal (my favorite performences were by Ellen Page and Jennifer Gardner).The dialogue was fresh...Why do people say that the dialogue is so bad?I loved it as much as I did the whole film
  32. MarandaD.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    this was an amazing movie i laughed and cried and i just thought it was amazing the whole way through.
  33. JayH.
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    I loved everything about this film, especially the performances by Ellen Page and Allison Janney, but everyone is outstanding. The score is wonderful and original, the direction is excellent as is the writing. It is touching, funny and always moving. A great and intelligent film.
  34. Jennifer
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Great movie!! I really think there are some people, the ones on this site going off on how bad this movie was, are going into a movie with all these expectations and then when the movie doesn't turn out the way they felt it should the kill it in a review. I felt it was a great movie. There are some parts in there that I feel would not be true to form in real life but an the end of Great movie!! I really think there are some people, the ones on this site going off on how bad this movie was, are going into a movie with all these expectations and then when the movie doesn't turn out the way they felt it should the kill it in a review. I felt it was a great movie. There are some parts in there that I feel would not be true to form in real life but an the end of the day this is not a documentary film. Juno comes off in the beginning of the movie as this overly mature teengager, the best friend/boyfriend not so much, but in the end was not as grown up as even she would like to think. Which she even points out herself telling her step mom she was out dealing with things beyond her maturity level. Do let the negative reviews keep you away from this one. Expand
  35. Michelle
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    I don't know what movie some of you were watching but my boyfriend and I loved this movie as did all of my friends who have seen it. It has actual humor instead of the slap stick, punch people in the nuts "comedy" of so many movies out there. I am tired of the "stupid funny" movies that make me feel like I have lost brain cells while watching them so this was a nice I don't know what movie some of you were watching but my boyfriend and I loved this movie as did all of my friends who have seen it. It has actual humor instead of the slap stick, punch people in the nuts "comedy" of so many movies out there. I am tired of the "stupid funny" movies that make me feel like I have lost brain cells while watching them so this was a nice change...it's whitty comments and sarcasm and off the wall one liners where enough to keep us laughing and quoting them in our own coversation. It had a good storyline which was an extra bonus as some comedies do not. It's my new favorite movie! Expand
  36. JoyceC.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Jason Reitman's Juno written by Diablo Cody, is a deeply refreshing teenage comedy flick, with its sassy kick, you'll remember Juno as a funny and breathtaking performance by Ellen Page. It's a genuine classic.
  37. RichardP.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    This movie was perfect. The writing and acting were absolutely fabulous, and it was a joy to watch.
  38. JonasH.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This film is great. I have no idea how to academically categorize this movement within film-making that is suddenly appearing in titles like this, Superbad and Rocket Science, but something about its increased (but not complete) social and psychological realism makes me love it.
  39. FayH
    May 5, 2008
    10
    GREAT! Funny! Juno McGuff is al all-american sarcastic teenager! Bleeker is an all-american geek (who is cute!)! Jennifer Garner was perfect for the role of Venessa. I can watch it over and over again!!! *Claps for JUNO!!!*
  40. dariana.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I can't believe they mentioned dario argento. I'm 14 years old and everytime I mention him to someone their clueless maybe because he's foreign. I love "suspiria", "the bird with the crystal plummage", "opera", "demons", "creepers", "unsane" and I can't wait for the new suspiria. I was so impressed to see Juno know dario argento. He's legendary. Some Teens love I can't believe they mentioned dario argento. I'm 14 years old and everytime I mention him to someone their clueless maybe because he's foreign. I love "suspiria", "the bird with the crystal plummage", "opera", "demons", "creepers", "unsane" and I can't wait for the new suspiria. I was so impressed to see Juno know dario argento. He's legendary. Some Teens love old stuff and finally a main character represents that, about time. Very refreshing. Im ecstatic theres a main character repesenting all sorts of different point of views. Totally bitchin. great movie. Collapse
  41. Sarahl.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Love this movie. I am a single mother that is passionate about this movie. Very great a. Single parent can be just as good or better than parents. Good job Juno, I love you.
  42. gilmorechili
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Watching movie was the best time had all year long in a movie theater. I luaghed a little bit, felt good the entire time, felt new because I felt influenced by a movie so original and fresh. Can't wait till this movie hits tv so more people that didnt care will give a chance since it would be more convenient to see. I'm still extremely happy from the experience.
  43. mike
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Sweet, tender and comedic. A gem.
  44. MarkM.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This movie has to be the funnest moive i have seen in 2007, i love the cast and how they work together!! i would tell any one to come and see it. I didnt like 40 year virgen or super bad, but i loved this movie -Go see it!
  45. ChadS.
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    Indie-dom needs more movies like "Juno", a sort of antidote to the similarly themed "Stephanie Daley". Juno(Ellen Page) is grace under pressure personified; she's unflappable rather than angst-ridden. Juno is a nice, decent girl who just happens to be pregnant. Some might quibble that her dialogue is over-written, but you could argue that her sublime delivery of words is just a Indie-dom needs more movies like "Juno", a sort of antidote to the similarly themed "Stephanie Daley". Juno(Ellen Page) is grace under pressure personified; she's unflappable rather than angst-ridden. Juno is a nice, decent girl who just happens to be pregnant. Some might quibble that her dialogue is over-written, but you could argue that her sublime delivery of words is just a defense mechanism against alienation and depression. Some people really are this smart. Paulie(Michael Cera), her boyfriend and a real stand-up guy, would've made a good father; a much better father than Mark(Jason Bateman), the prospective adoptive parent who's twice Paulie's age. "Juno" is slyly subversive in its suggestion that a teen would make a better parent than some guy in a suit and tie. "Juno" might not be an entirely realistic film, but it may only seem that way because adoption might not be an avenue most teen girls ever consider. Expand
  46. JennyO
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Juno was funny where it needed to be and uncomfortable where it needed to be. To those who find it unrelateable, you are in the minority. This movie wonderfully handles the mid-Western suburban teen family life and condition. The acting was excellent by all parties (even Jennifer Garner, from whom I did not expect anything) and I can't wait to see it again.
  47. louisB.
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    A quirky,well acted and surprisingly poignant film.ellen Page has a bright future and so does Michael Cera.J.k Simmons and Allison Janney gave their usual fine performances.Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner were perfect as the adopting parents.I agree with most of the critics;Juno is well worth the time.
  48. JoshS.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Superbly acted with rapid-fire dialogue that is both witty and endearing. Juno breaks from the cliched high school comedies that focus on cliques and naivete. It is sweet without being unbelievable and funny without being crude. Probably the best comedy of the year, possibly the best film of the year.
  49. StephenN
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Jonah T. doesn't know music. Cat Power and Belle and Sebastian and fantastic bands. Overall an amazing soundtrack - and movie.
  50. Ehead
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    All the grumps and naysayers on here are of course right... the dialog is far too sharp, witty, and sarcastic to have any pretensions of realism. And yes, the movie flirts with being precious at times (in a decidedly irreverent way) . When a movie is this funny though, who cares? Sometimes you have to just stop with the mental masturbation and let yourself enjoy a movie. If you're a All the grumps and naysayers on here are of course right... the dialog is far too sharp, witty, and sarcastic to have any pretensions of realism. And yes, the movie flirts with being precious at times (in a decidedly irreverent way) . When a movie is this funny though, who cares? Sometimes you have to just stop with the mental masturbation and let yourself enjoy a movie. If you're a Belle and Sebastian fan, you'll love this film. Expand
  51. JoshF
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Amazing. Easily one of the best films I've seen in theaters all year. Loved the acting, directing, and especially the screenplay.
  52. TeddyP.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    this is touching, smart and everything a movie of this kind should be and even more. not to mention that Ellen Page's performance was near perfect. by now it is my favorite movie of this year, it is just ... it has heart, which a lot of nowadays movies lack of.
  53. CussR.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    Get it while it's ripe. This is the rare movie you'll be happy to see before everyone else. It will, indeed, prove worthy of its hype. Unfortunately, most viewers will be tainted by that very ballyhoo before Juno has the chance to truly soften & surprise them. For the lucky ones, though, the bun in this oven has been baked to perfection.
  54. LukeA.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    A non-sterotypical movie, with realistic and appealing characters.
  55. DonnaL.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie very much. I hope this movie will help the youth understand that there are more options then throwing you child in a trash can.
  56. CharethC.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    A beautiful, unashamedly honest film that is extremely well scripted and acted by all involved. It was refreshing that nobody was painted as a bad guy, or a good guy or any other strung out cliche. It just said here, these are some things that happened and here's how the people involved dealt with it. In the words of Shakin' Stevens, lovely stuff.
  57. Johnw
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    Exceeded my expectations! Very witty with great acting and interesting plot twists.
  58. DennisD.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    I agree with Genny T. You need to have a decent education to appreciate it.The dialogue is fast, fresh and funny. I hate predictability and this film's snappy banter kept me on my toes. Ellen Page is great.
  59. LindaL.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    I was fully prepared to disdain this movie. (Have kids barely out of their teens; am not thrilled with the idea of "teen pregnancy" as entertainment.) But it really did entertain me, charm me and touch me. Winning performances, and Ellen Page as Juno not only makes you want to chuckle at her wisecracks, but share a hug and a few tears with her as she tries so hard to do the Right Thing. I I was fully prepared to disdain this movie. (Have kids barely out of their teens; am not thrilled with the idea of "teen pregnancy" as entertainment.) But it really did entertain me, charm me and touch me. Winning performances, and Ellen Page as Juno not only makes you want to chuckle at her wisecracks, but share a hug and a few tears with her as she tries so hard to do the Right Thing. I think some reviewer called the movie "this year's 'Little Miss Sunshine.' I agree. Expand
  60. Dr.C.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Not only is this the BEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN 5 YEARS!! -- JUNO is also the most true, honest & real movie I have seen in years and years. The actors are perfectly cast... the script is a beautiful gemstone... and the director is wise beyond his years. This is not a crappy Hollywood Movie-About-Teen-Pregnancy... It's an intelligent, funny, moving coming of age story that I will be Not only is this the BEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN 5 YEARS!! -- JUNO is also the most true, honest & real movie I have seen in years and years. The actors are perfectly cast... the script is a beautiful gemstone... and the director is wise beyond his years. This is not a crappy Hollywood Movie-About-Teen-Pregnancy... It's an intelligent, funny, moving coming of age story that I will be thinking about long after I have forgotten about most of the other junk that I saw in the past few weeks (MICHAEL CLAYTON... ATONEMENT... THERE WILL BE BUCKETS OF BLOOD... augghhhh) Ok Ok: Daniel Day-Lewis WAS brilliant... but that movie was an over-rated dud. Courage. Expand
  61. JeffS.
    Jan 5, 2008
    9
    I found this to be a very enjoyable, funny, and entertaining movie on several levels. At first glance, it seems like a teen comedy, with a crude, sophomoric joke here and there. However, it's actually quite deep, and I found the acting to be very sincere. I can't see how someone would say that the characters "are not relatable"... I found the performances of the two lead I found this to be a very enjoyable, funny, and entertaining movie on several levels. At first glance, it seems like a teen comedy, with a crude, sophomoric joke here and there. However, it's actually quite deep, and I found the acting to be very sincere. I can't see how someone would say that the characters "are not relatable"... I found the performances of the two lead teenagers to be very relatable, and it was nice to see the leading couple be one other than the stereotypical "blonde hot cheerleader and starting football quarterback" couple that plagues similar movies. The movie nicely balances being light-hearted yet sincere and serious, without being too frumpy, silly, or boring. I'm much happier sitting through this movie than many others currently out. Expand
  62. JDRamsay
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Both of us loved it. The writing, directing and performances are excellent. The dialogue is so quick and witty that you are drawn into their world and want to see what they will do. A great, honest film.
  63. Katie
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Kind of perfect.
  64. KarlStadnicki
    Jan 6, 2008
    9
    a great movie.
  65. ChrisE.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    I went into it wanting to love it and I absolutely did! Sorry for the haters out there but this blew Little Miss Sunshine out of the water!
  66. KenanH.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    I loved the feel of this movie and the only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because there was not enough Michael Cera in it.
  67. NoraR
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    In some ways I can understand why some people wonder if this movie is overrated. Today there are so many excellent movies, well made, well directed, well edited, well acted. Just every now and then something is made that is a little bit 'fresh' and from a different viewpoint, and I would guess that is why Juno has attracted the attention it has received. For me the best thing In some ways I can understand why some people wonder if this movie is overrated. Today there are so many excellent movies, well made, well directed, well edited, well acted. Just every now and then something is made that is a little bit 'fresh' and from a different viewpoint, and I would guess that is why Juno has attracted the attention it has received. For me the best thing about this movie is the unusual character of Juno, who is the sum of the witty writer and the great actor who created her. She is both a typical and atypical teenager. I wonder if the writing is influenced by woody allen or oscar wilde? Though it may seem strange to compare, both of these writers are witty and intelligent, but it sometimes seems strange to hear the exact same kind of language coming from every characters mouth. Yet for me, the uniqueness is what makes the movie, even though its still realistic enough to be believable. One of the best 'coming of age' movies of the noughties. The soundtrack is superb and really 'fits' the movie. Cant wait to buy it! Expand
  68. MichaelC
    Feb 18, 2008
    9
    I see some mentions here and there about Jennifer Garners performance, so when I finally saw the film today, I was expecting to me enamored with Ellen Page. Shes great, but I found Jennifer Garner to be the most heart wrenching character. I dont understand how she was not even considered award worthy. Ellen was great and had GREAT dialogue. Jennifer Garner did so much from so little. I I see some mentions here and there about Jennifer Garners performance, so when I finally saw the film today, I was expecting to me enamored with Ellen Page. Shes great, but I found Jennifer Garner to be the most heart wrenching character. I dont understand how she was not even considered award worthy. Ellen was great and had GREAT dialogue. Jennifer Garner did so much from so little. I have a new found respect for her. Shes the real star of this film in my eyes. Expand
  69. MarioJ.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    This movie is more witty and more well written than I expected. Juno herself has a very witty humor that is amusing to watch onscreen, and the movie has an unexpected depth to it. Certainly much better than "Knocked Up" and much better thought out. The soundtrack is also very well done.
  70. JonathanF.
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    I adore this movie. I really can't find anything wrong with it. The naysayers just want to go against the grain. This movie is joyous.
  71. LonnieH.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Delightful, sweet and amazingly amusing. Great cast
  72. IvyB.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Wow! Simple little story, well acted by all the principals. Diablo Cody wrote a real heartwarming story about a unique girl Juno and her unplanned pregnancy. Ellen Page really deserves the nom for her performance, she's just brilliant. If things don't ring true to most people, then I wish they'd remember this is a movie! It doesn't deal with big political or social or Wow! Simple little story, well acted by all the principals. Diablo Cody wrote a real heartwarming story about a unique girl Juno and her unplanned pregnancy. Ellen Page really deserves the nom for her performance, she's just brilliant. If things don't ring true to most people, then I wish they'd remember this is a movie! It doesn't deal with big political or social or psychological issues. There's no big message being drilled at you contrary to the haters out there, really there isn't. Its entertaining and leaves most folk feeling good for having seen a well crafted story and good performances. PS that Matt Ties is a psycho. Expand
  73. Marc.D.
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    I don't usually make it a point to respond to fellow user reviews...but Sadf d. has absolutely no idea what he/she is talking about. If there is one unassailable area of Juno...it is the pitch perfect soundtrack. As for the other points raised...well...he/she is wrong on all other accounts as well.
  74. Brandon
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Heartwarming and hilarious from start to finish. I could watch this over and over again. Ellen Page was robbed by the academy!
  75. KateB.
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    This is a quirky film with great characters and good use of humour. I like the unusually anti-Hollywood scripting and directing. Plus, unlike most teen flicks, the actors were picked for acting ability and style rather than whether they had muscles/large breasts. Respect for that.
  76. Nick
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Wow, you people that rated this movie poorly must either be: 1. trying to express your individuality by rebelling against the obvious 2. acting overly critical to get "attention" 3. truley unable to appresiate creativity, in which case I am sorry, for you will not enjoy your life.
  77. BusterB
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Wow, what's with all the negative reviews? This is undoubtedly one of the best movies of 2007. If I didn't know any better, Ellen Page should have won the Oscar. The supporting cast was perfect: J.K. Simmons and Alison Janney were excellent as Juno's parents, Michael Cera was sweet as the confused boyfriend, and you had to feel sympathetic for Jennifer Garner as the wishful Wow, what's with all the negative reviews? This is undoubtedly one of the best movies of 2007. If I didn't know any better, Ellen Page should have won the Oscar. The supporting cast was perfect: J.K. Simmons and Alison Janney were excellent as Juno's parents, Michael Cera was sweet as the confused boyfriend, and you had to feel sympathetic for Jennifer Garner as the wishful adoptive mother. People, please, don't think too hard during the movie. This is a fun movie that doesn't take itself too seriously. The script, as others have already praised, is witty and clever, thanks to ex-stripper Diablo Cody. Give her credit: it is her first screenplay, for which she won an Oscar for. Anyways, this movie resembles another wonderful indie flick: Little Miss Sunshine. If you liked that indie flick, I can't imagine you won't like this. Expand
  78. SaraM
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    LOVED this movie. Inspriational, witty, clever and Ellen Page fits her role perfectly.
  79. RK
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    I'm giving this a ten... and I'm male.
  80. Erin
    May 6, 2008
    10
    A comical look into the all-too-real life of a pregnant teenager. Dripping with sarcasm, this film makes you laugh, makes you cry, and makes you want to see every Ellen Page movie.
  81. FelicityJ
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    A sincere film that doesn't conform to typical female stereotyping but rather promotes determined, independent yet thoughtful females, especially in the character of Juno. It is very easy to watch and it is one of those films that sits with you long after the viewing. A very refreshing view of adolescence.
  82. robertthomas
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I believed that this file is the best i have seen. the acting is flawless. Diablo Cody is an excellent writed and that is probably the reason this film won best original screenplay at the 2007 oscars. Ellen Page is one of the if not best actress of my generation. Her creation of juno is perfect right down to her facial expressions and her walk. i have seen this movie about 10 times andI believed that this file is the best i have seen. the acting is flawless. Diablo Cody is an excellent writed and that is probably the reason this film won best original screenplay at the 2007 oscars. Ellen Page is one of the if not best actress of my generation. Her creation of juno is perfect right down to her facial expressions and her walk. i have seen this movie about 10 times and haven't gotten tires of it. Just abut every aspect of this film whether it be directing acting, writing, or editing is just perfect. i strongly this movie should have won best picture and best actress at the oscars because of such a relatively low budget of 6 milliion it is better than all of the other big budget films like The Dark Knight. Overall it was a grat film that pretty much everybody should watch at least once. Expand
  83. RobertT
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    It was a great movie. I have watched it about 10 times and have never gotten tired of it. I though that every aspect whether it be directing, acting, editing, or writing was perfect. Also Ellen Page play Juno to perfection. She is without doubt one of, if not the best actress of my generation. Diablo cody is a great writer and she really earned the best original screenplay oscar, and i It was a great movie. I have watched it about 10 times and have never gotten tired of it. I though that every aspect whether it be directing, acting, editing, or writing was perfect. Also Ellen Page play Juno to perfection. She is without doubt one of, if not the best actress of my generation. Diablo cody is a great writer and she really earned the best original screenplay oscar, and i also believed that Ellen Page should have won best actress, and the film should have won best picture.Overall i believe that the majority is in favor of the movie. Expand
  84. juliam.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let's get one thing straight, pregnancy isn't the hard part raising the child is. People stop complaining about how the baby struggles weren't highlighted enough. It was great. She bike down. Didnt ppl see that scene. Douche-y-douches.
  85. trueblood
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    A feel-good movie thats like a happy ending strectched into a movie. The music isn't my taste but works well in the movie. Wouldn't touch It without the movie. Love everything else though.
  86. peelingonions
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Look at her sit down next to leah. Makes me want to suck her toes. I love the scene where leah says I love woody Allen just to impress the teacher. I know kids that do that.
  87. gleem.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let it be known, Juno has entered and she's damn fine. Like a hooker. You use her and use her and feel great afterwards( not cheap like the who're) and no std's were transmitted and she'll always come back when you want. It also for free, Perfect.
  88. JunoM.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    the best movie of 2007. No country for old men has no ending and the title is confusing(no big deal though). Juno seems so realistic to me. I know this girl that's just like her, she's in my music class. I live Juno the character and the movie is brilliant. It doesn't rely on shocking jokes, or jokes that usually get an easy laugh or talk about subjects that can easily be the best movie of 2007. No country for old men has no ending and the title is confusing(no big deal though). Juno seems so realistic to me. I know this girl that's just like her, she's in my music class. I live Juno the character and the movie is brilliant. It doesn't rely on shocking jokes, or jokes that usually get an easy laugh or talk about subjects that can easily be funny. Its old-fashioned with its comedy. It genuinly is creative and even if you don't laugh you can appreciate its originality. Its uniqueness makes it classic. Perfection. Expand
  89. nikel
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Don't cry for me Argentina because I'm safe with Juno. This is witty and creative. The plot is common but the dialog doesn't belong to this universe. People who complain that Juno isnt realistic. To some people this actually is real and relatable. Besides shed a fictionalized charaecter. How can you complain she's to witty. Thats like saying someone to rich or a tree Don't cry for me Argentina because I'm safe with Juno. This is witty and creative. The plot is common but the dialog doesn't belong to this universe. People who complain that Juno isnt realistic. To some people this actually is real and relatable. Besides shed a fictionalized charaecter. How can you complain she's to witty. Thats like saying someone to rich or a tree is too wooden. Whats the problem. Expand
  90. movincars
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is marvelous. I'm astonished by how much I love this movie. I always thought the oscars was dumb to nominate this thing then give it an oscar. The trailer looked horrible even mott the hopple was in it. I missed something but not anymore. It ,ni question in my mind, deserved it oscar win. If it won all four if its nominations I'd be more than happy but out of all the This is marvelous. I'm astonished by how much I love this movie. I always thought the oscars was dumb to nominate this thing then give it an oscar. The trailer looked horrible even mott the hopple was in it. I missed something but not anymore. It ,ni question in my mind, deserved it oscar win. If it won all four if its nominations I'd be more than happy but out of all the nominations it really deserved best screenplay. Good for you diablo(wats with the name) and I now love ellen page. Expand
  91. unbelievable
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I've watched this 75 times and I still love. Since I've bought on DVD I've watched it everynight. Its a fu***** wonderful movie. Im looking forward to future diablo works but jennifers body seems kinds stupid but I'll find out miself.
  92. pulpfiction
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    to be honest, this is great. I heard all the raving or people saying its "overrated" so when I watched I already had a bias opinion. But at the end of the movie I was mesmerized by the dialogue. Ellen page is my favorite actor of all-time because of this movie. I'm grateful this classic has been made. "my pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow" I love that line. Its not the best one to be honest, this is great. I heard all the raving or people saying its "overrated" so when I watched I already had a bias opinion. But at the end of the movie I was mesmerized by the dialogue. Ellen page is my favorite actor of all-time because of this movie. I'm grateful this classic has been made. "my pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow" I love that line. Its not the best one but its cool. I found a new God. Expand
  93. Stevenr
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I'm lucky, I've watched"Nobody Knows", "Goodfellas", "Pans Labyrinth", "Hard Candy", "Pulp Fiction", and now "Juno". Its a good life.
  94. oliviatl
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let us hail olivia thirlby! She is completely underrated in this movie. Not one time have I seen a critic mention besides putting her name in parenthesis next to the name leah when saying junos best friend. She was great. My favorite. I loved every scene she was in. She was playful understanding excepting and helpful to Juno. I never see a user review her performance. What the hell? Ellen Let us hail olivia thirlby! She is completely underrated in this movie. Not one time have I seen a critic mention besides putting her name in parenthesis next to the name leah when saying junos best friend. She was great. My favorite. I loved every scene she was in. She was playful understanding excepting and helpful to Juno. I never see a user review her performance. What the hell? Ellen page was good but olivia deserves some of the spotlight. She handled the dialogue very good, like ellen. I wonder how she would handled Juno if she had that role. She was great. People Pay More Attention To Olivia Thirlby. All hail olivia thirlby. Expand
  95. paddym
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I love the name Juno. It is so perfecto for her. It really is memorable. Its easy to remember the movie for its genuine originality and its main character. I'm proud that hollywood could promote thus and distribute it to many people everywhere. Thank you, for once, and a FEW more times.
  96. finnedd.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is much better than whatever fox has ever put out. This is hilarious. Katrina devoorts face had me on the floor. Really had a good time. Regained my respect with the oscars. If course its a ten.
  97. breakfastbeatsdinner
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Had me smiling the whole time. Don't know why people say this movie had a pro-life agenda. Just because she didnt go through with the abortion doesnt mean she pro-life. Pro-choice means you chose and you are open-minded to both options. So if you chose not to FET the abortion it doesnt mean a if a sudden your pro-life. Anyway the movie was moving, new, and entertaing all the way till Had me smiling the whole time. Don't know why people say this movie had a pro-life agenda. Just because she didnt go through with the abortion doesnt mean she pro-life. Pro-choice means you chose and you are open-minded to both options. So if you chose not to FET the abortion it doesnt mean a if a sudden your pro-life. Anyway the movie was moving, new, and entertaing all the way till the end of the credits. The vampire dong is horrible but all the young dudes by Mott the hoople and sea of love by cat power are amazing songs. Expand
  98. b-radjones
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Love the dialogue and how the mom says to bleeker how they have breakfast for dinner which is his favorite. So true for me also. "My pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow"- Juno.
  99. hobbitmother
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    "Juno (the roman god) was suppose to be really beautiful but really mean like diana Ross."- Juno I appreciate that line alot, that bitch. GO Juno. Wonder what diana thought if she watched this movie.
  100. Venicebeach
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Good, out-of-the-box dialogue that captured my attention till the end. Very moving also. Good movie.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. A blithe charmer balanced somewhere between a life-should-be-so-neat fairy tale and a life's-a-real-bitch tragicomedy, leaves political debate at the ticket counter and focuses solely on what it's like for Juno MacGuff to be Juno MacGuff.
  2. It’s the writer, Diablo Cody, and the director, Jason Reitman, who have screws loose. Or maybe they’re just desperate to make their film a chick "Rushmore" or "Garden State."
  3. 88
    There's a special kick that comes in finding a new star. So step up, Ellen Page, and take your bows.