Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 449 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: "Justin Bieber: Never Say Never" is the inspiring true story and rare inside look at the rise of Justin from street performer in the small town of Stratford, Ontario to internet phenomenon to global super star culminating with a dream sold out show at the famed Madison Square Garden in 3-D."Justin Bieber: Never Say Never" is the inspiring true story and rare inside look at the rise of Justin from street performer in the small town of Stratford, Ontario to internet phenomenon to global super star culminating with a dream sold out show at the famed Madison Square Garden in 3-D. (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 9, 2011
    83
    If this is what it sounds like when a new millennium goes pop, I'll take it.
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Feb 10, 2011
    75
    On stage variously with Boyz II Men, Jaden Smith, Miley Cyrus, and Ludacris, Bieber carries himself like a squeaky-clean homeboy with an angelic voice. On him, swagger looks sweet.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    As much a legitimate documentary as it is a 3D concert film and teen girl squeal-delivery device, the film possesses surprising moments of candor on the toil of teenage superstardom.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 9, 2011
    60
    Chu does his best to humanize his subject, showing him surrounded by devoted friends and family, and wringing much drama from an on-the-road vocal-cord strain.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    What we do see is mom, dad, Braun, Usher, vocal coach Mama Jan Smith and the burgeoning Team Bieber claiming they only want the best for the boy as he goes through a punishing 84-date concert tour. Group hug.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    It's a disappointment to see the teen pop star hop in a tour bus. This is a boy who should be traveling across rainbows on the back of a unicorn.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Feb 8, 2011
    20
    It is draggily paced and lacks felicity of form; the 3-D is a rip-off and the songs are pap, save a snippet of Etta James singing "At Last" while Bieber's glossy fringe sways in slow-motion.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 147
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Enjoyed watching this movie with the whole family. I am suprised at the very low rating. We thought it was very interesting to see how farEnjoyed watching this movie with the whole family. I am suprised at the very low rating. We thought it was very interesting to see how far this kid has come in the last couple years. He sold out Madison Gardens in 22 minutes. Collapse
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    Music brings joy. This film shows a remarkably gifted toddler with a pronounced gift for music-making, who pursues his passion for musicalMusic brings joy. This film shows a remarkably gifted toddler with a pronounced gift for music-making, who pursues his passion for musical performance with determination, passion, grit and optimism. In the process, he becomes a pied piper to mostly young girls, who fawn over his boyish charm and impossibly cute hair. But at bottom, he is a real musician, and a damned good one. The skillfully edited film shows the magnitude of joy that music can bring, even when accompanied by pop boy band production values. I don't much like pop music, and I really don't like young pop stars who are highly produced and thrust into media by the entertainment industry. But I loved this movie, and came away really liking and admiring Justin Bieber. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    2
    This is a movie?Even gram' could do it better...
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    0
    Okay, I tried not to be influenced by my hatred for Justin, but the film speaks for itself. Extramamente dowdy, but their obsessed fans willOkay, I tried not to be influenced by my hatred for Justin, but the film speaks for itself. Extramamente dowdy, but their obsessed fans will love. He has the same age to have a documentary about him? Spare me! Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2015
    0
    Justin Bieber and this movie suck! Bieber has awful music and he is terrible. This movie is awful even with the story. They've also got MileyJustin Bieber and this movie suck! Bieber has awful music and he is terrible. This movie is awful even with the story. They've also got Miley Cyrus who sucks too. This is a piece of garbage and avoid this at all costs unless you are one of those Beliebers. Worst documentary ever. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2011
    0
    When i was going to see this movie i expected a documentation about a young teenie star. But what i got was an anthem of a little boy whoWhen i was going to see this movie i expected a documentation about a young teenie star. But what i got was an anthem of a little boy who would like to be the new Elvis. I dont know why someone reallys produces movies like that. Worst movie i have ever seen! Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2011
    0
    this is horrible. no efense to any of the beiber fans or i shall say beaver again no efense. i think jb has no talent and his movie wasnt goodthis is horrible. no efense to any of the beiber fans or i shall say beaver again no efense. i think jb has no talent and his movie wasnt good at all horrible Expand

See all 147 User Reviews

Trailers