Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 11, 2010
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 244 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
152
Mixed:
54
Negative:
38
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MonkiReviewsMay 30, 2017
I enjoyed it a lot surprisingly. I thought the acting was impressive even when they were young. The story was fun to see what happened though sadly, some of it was predictible. A pretty good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyDec 11, 2016
Karate Kid overall is a good film. I like the casting choices, I think young Jaden Smith did a good job with the role. The story is also good and overall its just fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
shadowguy654Oct 12, 2016
This movie is good but I have 2 problems that I can't get over it.The problems are that this movie got some scenes that are stupid and just boring.But this movie is funny,awesome and got good action.So I am giving this film a 7.3/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bardhanjoyMay 15, 2016
The Karate Kid [2010] is undoubtedly has the push towards a family movie watching evening with the popcorn and the coke, if one puts his/her nostalgic feel aside. it's a brand new movie, so there is no reason to compare it with the earlierThe Karate Kid [2010] is undoubtedly has the push towards a family movie watching evening with the popcorn and the coke, if one puts his/her nostalgic feel aside. it's a brand new movie, so there is no reason to compare it with the earlier versions other than the name which is absolutely irrelevant with the film [cliche cliche cliche]. It followed the skeleton of the movie from 1984 also, but in the end it never mattered a great deal.

Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan did the full justice to the characters, so did all the other castings. The film started with a kid [Jaden] and his mother [Taraji P. Henson] moving to China to have a new life, where the kid was never satisfied and the mother was in "must be satisfied" kind of mindset. Later on same old bullies, same but not so same[my god !] Mr Miyagi kind of Mr Han saved the kid, same Dojo [Japan, I miss you !] visiting, same challenge, same climax and the story ends. Sounds really boring but it's not because in the way all those things were put together. The film came out in a new wrap.

Mr Han was not like Mr Miyagi who leaves the student polishing, painting alone.....rather This Sifu prefers to stay with his student holding an umbrella just behind him, when he was tiredly practicing the "putting on and off" the jacket in the rain. This student never did hush-hush to make his drunk mentor to sleep when he was down by the unfortunate past, rather he dragged him to practice to make him feel strong. This is the true spirit of Kung Fu. Channelize your every action into a defense or offense aka effective move....everything is Kung Fu. Chinese landscapes, Shaolin touch, smart story line helped the long old story to be uttered in a brand new way. It's like chewing a burger and the taste is different, new and good. The kid's crush Mei Ying was so so until the dancing act which displays the hidden wildness under the restricted social shell.

Beside all those new ingredients and the consciousness of the modern taste, the story became the weak part, because it had nothing new to offer. If the kid loses the tournament yet wins the hearts and defeats the bullies in the streets, leading a cool life, using Kung Fu as a self defending technique only....it would have been a revolution. It is always not important to win the competition to win the battle. In this point, it looses it's chance to be elevated to the standards like "Rocky" and "The Million Dollar Baby" but it surely had a possibility. In this point, it became just a good entertaining movie with a bunch of people complaining about the name issue, comparing with the old Karate Kid. The Karate Kid[2010] Had a chance to be one of the great films but the plot and the name selection ruined it all. so it became just another tea time movie in the holidays.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 9, 2016
It deserves to be renamed because karate is not a Chinese origin. That's Kung Fu.... despite the erroneous mistakes, this Karate Kid does what it does to live up to the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
YorkManJan 16, 2016
On 'The Island Of Completely Unnecessary Remakes' there is a shrine for this film where the others go to pay homage.
Not only is it a terrible film, but it basically rips the heart out of the original and spits it in the audience's face.
On 'The Island Of Completely Unnecessary Remakes' there is a shrine for this film where the others go to pay homage.
Not only is it a terrible film, but it basically rips the heart out of the original and spits it in the audience's face.
Jaden Smith can't act, Tariji P. Henson can't act. Every other child actor in the film.... Can't act.
The original is a cult classic for a reason, it actually makes some sense. Teenagers abusing their karate skills, picking on the outsider who's just moved to town. The unlikely love interest that creates the emotional bridge between them all, and the morality tale about overcoming one's own fears to bring about that positive change.
The main problem with this film is changing the core cast from 17-18 years olds, and making them 12-13 year olds. The audience has to accept that pre-pubescent children can develop the same emotional/sexual bonds when applied to the 'love' interest. As well as the idea that the parents of the 'bad kids' are happy with their children going out and beating other kids up, as well as their 'sifu' being a completely sociopathic bastard!
There's no basis in reality for this movie, and even if you go in with your thinking cap firmly wedged in your pocket.... The atrocious acting, mediocre choreography, terrible musical score and by the book direction will make you wish you'd chosen any other film on whichever format you might have found this one on!
The only bright spark in the film is Jackie Chan, but he's given very little scope in terms of character development. 'Mr Miyagi', the man lamenting a past life he gave up in Japan, he ain't!

All I can say is that this is a film to avoid like the plague. I watched it solely out of curiosity, and I really wish I hadn't bothered.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Jollyjoe1000Jan 16, 2016
it is pretty meh most of it is not that good.But the tournament battles were entertaining and helped make the movie a bit better then just a terrible remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoDec 9, 2015
The Karate Kid was an amazing movie of 1984 , in 2010 , was slightly exciting, but surprisingly, also certainly entertaining, good job of Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MadMaxFuryRoadSep 24, 2015
Absolutely touching movie almost made me cry at times. The karate was done very well, and the acting was also very impressive. At 2 hrs. 20 min, the film feels so short and I want to watch Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan make another movie together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lukechristianscMay 17, 2015
The original 80's flick was heartwarming, this remake is in china and has one terrible actor Jaden Smith. I did not believe his acting, the only person who saves this movie is Jackie Chan. It's cliche'd and it copies off of the original sceneThe original 80's flick was heartwarming, this remake is in china and has one terrible actor Jaden Smith. I did not believe his acting, the only person who saves this movie is Jackie Chan. It's cliche'd and it copies off of the original scene to scene. Grade C Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
I have to say it followed the typical kid becoming something story plot. Boy moves to new place, meets girl, then bully. That being said, maybe I'm just too picky about remakes or maybe its too high of a shoe to fill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuDec 23, 2014
The Karate Kid reboot is a surprisingly great film full of color, meaning and heart. The Chinese location also adds a nice travel-porn element to the proceedings as well. The Karate Kid is superior to the original in pretty much every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesDec 13, 2014
It doesn't have any kind of originality, but "The Karate Kid" still brings a satisfying update on the original while also delivers some decent performances from its cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
commish_guyNov 21, 2014
It SHOULD have been called the Kung Fu Kid. It's not even Karate!!!! And the casting was a little silly with Dre Parker's love interest (Awkward for a 12 year old anyways) was obviously too old for him. Jaden Smith was 11 in the making ofIt SHOULD have been called the Kung Fu Kid. It's not even Karate!!!! And the casting was a little silly with Dre Parker's love interest (Awkward for a 12 year old anyways) was obviously too old for him. Jaden Smith was 11 in the making of this and his female love interest, Wenwen Han was 15 for most of it. I just couldn't buy them together, or even in the same grade for that matter.

This isn't even a remake. They were just trying to draw in Karate Kid fans. Jackie Chan isn't even close to Mr. Miyagi, not in the same league. Jackie Chan was good in this but don't compare him or his character to Mr. Miyagi.

I think it could have been a little bit longer.

The movie overall was interesting and pretty good.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
f3l1p3Oct 4, 2014
Filme muito bem feito e muito bem dirigido. Pegou o melhor de Jaden Smith na atuação e mandou ver. Jackie Chan também fez uma ótima atuação, assim como os outros.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
canyigiterolApr 12, 2014
Film çok güzel sadece okul sahnesi biraz az çocuk eğitime başlayınca ilk arkadaşı bidaha film'de gözükmüyor Bilmiyorum ama İnallah 2. film çıkar
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysJan 17, 2014
The average remake of a classic, the new "Karate Kid" is less exciting and entertaining and more Jaden Smith trying to get his shoe in the door. See it if your kids want to, but not for yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 11, 2013
Not having watched the original, I found this film entertaining and has a good winning spirit. The casting was great: Jaden Smith was excellent at his role, and surprisingly works really well with Jackie Chan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
georgezJul 21, 2013
horrible. a 12 year old kid moving to china from america is unrealistic. the chinese education system would kill anyone raised in american education system. the plot is also cliche some guy comes to china,he gets bullied,a kung fu teacherhorrible. a 12 year old kid moving to china from america is unrealistic. the chinese education system would kill anyone raised in american education system. the plot is also cliche some guy comes to china,he gets bullied,a kung fu teacher magically pops up and teaches him karate(??? karate isn't kung fu derps nor is it chinese or japanese),he uses the karate to kick the bully's ass. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Favorable over the original.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Jan 26, 2013
I loved it! I did not think it would be so good. Loved the story, and I think the kids a great actor! Most of the people who hate it, are just mad about a child hood movie being redone. It`s good enough to watch again!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
A well-acted family film that falls down and gets back up far too many times to be believable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Huey_FreemanJun 26, 2012
Jaden Smith's first star vehicle The Karate Kid (the movie was sold out since the 11:15am show when I saw it) and....wow. I was truly impressed as I only went in with modest expectations. Not only was it a very good remake, it's the bestJaden Smith's first star vehicle The Karate Kid (the movie was sold out since the 11:15am show when I saw it) and....wow. I was truly impressed as I only went in with modest expectations. Not only was it a very good remake, it's the best movie so far this summer, and it stands on it's own two feet and surpasses the original in a lot of ways (which one is better will probably be generational. From the standing ovation these kids at the theater I attended gave this film I'm pretty sure from 15 or so on down, it will be this one.) But first off, let me start by saying this: To anyone who doubts that Jaden Smith can act (which he ironically already proved in The Pursuit of Happyness), is a star, or deserved this movie: See The Karate Kid. I don't care how you see it. Pirated. Bootleg. Or the old fashion way (like I saw it cause I'm cool like that) by buying a frickin' ticket and sitting in an auditorium with a bunch of cheering 10 year olds (I swear I've never seen kids give a movie a damn near standing ovation like they did during this film's finale). Jaden Smith has just silenced his haters. From here on out, if you don't like Jaden Smith: fine. Whatever petty reason you've given yourself to make you not like an innocent 10 year old. Fine. But you can't say he's not talented. Cause he is. If nothing has proven it to you before, THIS will. He carries the film on his little shoulders, shows leading man qualities (has a 10 year old ever done that?!?!? And Im being serious here). Has a ten year old ever acted in a film and not only carried it but possessed the charm, charisma, quick wit, comedic timing, dramatic presence and physicality of a hero all in the same movie?!?!? I shutter to think, I couldn't think of any leaving the theater. If they have, please point them out to me so I can say bravo to them to. His performance was truly great and the fact that he did all of his own stunts and clearly learned kung fu and looks not only believable but in command of the craft is some sort of a mini-miracle. This little dude is miniature Will Smith of the highest caliber. He WILL be a star (pun, intended). Only thing can stop that is, well, him. Barring any personal issues, the kid will go far. Very far. He has it all. And as cliche as it may sound the biggest development to come out of the Karate Kid is that "A Star is Born". Don't believe me: watch it for yourself. But I digress, I only spent so much time on the Jaden issue because all the unwarranted hatred thrown his way is beyond disturbing. I have never seen such vitriolic speech directed towards a kid in my life. Not even the kid from Problem Child and he was a certified a-hole! But anyway, the movie is good. Jackie Chan was surprisingly really good (and I mean really really good like Oscar-nominee good) in a dramatic turn as Dre Parker's mentor. The action was better than the original's and the heart and soul was just as engaging and entertaining. Though lacking the iconic "wax on, wax off"-moment what they do with "jacket on, jacket off" was truly surprising and pretty good stuff when you realize what Mr. Han was really teaching him. Instead of the "Crane Kick" we do have another pose and it's pretty damn good too. To me, the original will always be special. I remember Daniel-son, and Mr. Miyagi is a fuggin' legend in every sense of the word. I'm actually utterly surprised this remake was so well made and engaging. Even though every one in the theater knew the outcome, everyone was still cheering and/or elated and moved by the movies "big moments". That in itself is pretty impressive. It's like if people were still surprised even though they knew who the killer(s) were in Scream 4 before seeing it. Could you imagine that? Yea, I couldn't either. Which is why I'm surprised at how good this remake was. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
GRFSisawesomeJun 13, 2012
sexy beast movie id like to have sex with it jayden is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooootttttttttttttt
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
A terrible movie with terrible acting, an obscure plot, a horrible soundtrack and a whole lot of dreadful karate. The original one is way better than this one..........
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMay 11, 2012
They did the best job possible to try and make this into a good remake of the older Karate Kid movies, and it succeeds for the most part, because the story was handled pretty well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jdude1006Dec 16, 2011
Although I haven't seen the original Karate Kid, I loved this one. It's full of action, love, and interesting facts about Kung Fu that make me want to learn more about it. Its long, but the pacing is great, I felt like this was going to beAlthough I haven't seen the original Karate Kid, I loved this one. It's full of action, love, and interesting facts about Kung Fu that make me want to learn more about it. Its long, but the pacing is great, I felt like this was going to be like Avatar where the start and the end would be great, but the middle would be boring, that doesn't happen here, the entertainment is throughout in the Karate Kid. The experienced I had with this movie couldn't have been experienced by someone who watched the original, because by the end of the film, I didn't know who was going to win the final fight, and I found myself really in the moment, and at that point I realized what a great film this is. Add Heart and a great story with great music, sound effects, special effects, and all of that, this makes for one hell of a movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jboy2468Nov 28, 2011
This movie is a great remake of an awesome movie. It paves a decent story and has a pretty good set of characters. The film changes the background of the original, and does it well. The choice of using kids instead of teenagers wasn't good,This movie is a great remake of an awesome movie. It paves a decent story and has a pretty good set of characters. The film changes the background of the original, and does it well. The choice of using kids instead of teenagers wasn't good, and makes the movie slightly takes a downside turn. This movie is great otherwise and is very underrated. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
iAGRNov 16, 2011
Another great movie. I haven't seen the original version from 80s, but judging by the other reviews it's a great remake. I can't see why anyone would watch the movie because of Smith's kid, since this one is worth watching for Jackie Chan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
boissonOct 29, 2011
I was a little surprised when I heard that Columbia were making a reboot of the Karate Kid series set in China, and so, being someone who never watched the series as a kid, thought I'd indulge myself when it screened on HBO OnDemand. It wasI was a little surprised when I heard that Columbia were making a reboot of the Karate Kid series set in China, and so, being someone who never watched the series as a kid, thought I'd indulge myself when it screened on HBO OnDemand. It was terrible. Coming as someone who grew up at an age where films for younger audiences actually had some semblance of meaning and purpose, the Karate Kid struck me as nothing short of a cheap thrill created for no other purpose than to create a big bang at the box office. With a plot riddled with cliches, and stir together a cast of characters with as little emotional depth as a canker-riddled prostitute in a gay bar, the Karate Kid is the epitome of everything wrong with the generation of children we have today. Parents who have children at home, do yourself a favor and do not bother watching this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"The Karate Kid" is a pretty good remake of the 1980's version. Jackie Chan is always cool, but unfortunately he is the only person that handles the movie wisely. Don't expect anything from Smith's kid.
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
8
CRLAug 26, 2011
(I'll preface this by saying I have NOT seen the original). Karate Kid, more correctly called Kung-fu Kid, was a fun, attention-holding and, at some points, surprisingly deep film that uses Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith to the fullest it(I'll preface this by saying I have NOT seen the original). Karate Kid, more correctly called Kung-fu Kid, was a fun, attention-holding and, at some points, surprisingly deep film that uses Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith to the fullest it possibly could. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Spielberg00Aug 23, 2011
The 2010 version of THE KARATE KID was a fairly decent way to re-imagine the 1984 classic--with an African-American tween, in China, with Jackie Chan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDJun 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was very good. But I still think the original was better because to be honest, they imitated every single thing that happened in the original. But it's still a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrCinnamonJun 21, 2011
I'll be honest, I was expecting this to be a waste of my time. i was pleasantly surprised. there are some moments of awfully wooden acting from side characters, but overall a well planned and executed movie. I enjoyed watching the film and II'll be honest, I was expecting this to be a waste of my time. i was pleasantly surprised. there are some moments of awfully wooden acting from side characters, but overall a well planned and executed movie. I enjoyed watching the film and I would recommend this film to anyone who wanted a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuJun 19, 2011
A good job updating a movie that was never a classic but was an iconic movie of the 80's, The fight scenes are more believable and arguably it is Jackie Chans best role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Chrislake94Jun 17, 2011
It's safe to assume that People who gave this film a mixed or negative review have obviously compared it to the original Karate Kid. The original Karate Kid is a classic and it is way better than this Version, I won't deny that, but I stillIt's safe to assume that People who gave this film a mixed or negative review have obviously compared it to the original Karate Kid. The original Karate Kid is a classic and it is way better than this Version, I won't deny that, but I still love this Film. People expectations are too high for this film. No remake or reboot is going to replace the original Karate.

I love Jaden and Jackie's performance in this film. This still is a great reboot version of the Film. It may not be a classic but it is still favorable for me.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
As it is turning out, 2010's almost a nice year for remakes (Predator. The Crazies). But when I first heard of the remaking of Karate Kid, I dissed it off almost completely. I mean, does the John Avildsen classic need a makeover when the 1984As it is turning out, 2010's almost a nice year for remakes (Predator. The Crazies). But when I first heard of the remaking of Karate Kid, I dissed it off almost completely. I mean, does the John Avildsen classic need a makeover when the 1984 film itself is so iconic? Can we really like the changes (wax to jacket, white kid to black kid, Pat Morita to Jackie Chan) and call it a standalone remake? Will Jackie Chan give a strong supporting role? Is Jaden Smith going to give a performance that'll mark his name in the Young Hollywood A-list? Will it show off fighting scenes that could match the original's? Will there be tweeny kissing scenes (eww)? Is it going to be inspirational? Is Lady Gaga included in the soundtrack? The answer to all these, my friends, is yes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sreekiranMay 17, 2011
movie was good. i say good not best because of the boring first half. nearly initial 40 minutes has been wasted without getting involved in the script. the next 20 minutes was beginning to pick the momentum. but again movie went on slow side.movie was good. i say good not best because of the boring first half. nearly initial 40 minutes has been wasted without getting involved in the script. the next 20 minutes was beginning to pick the momentum. but again movie went on slow side. the last 30 minutes was amazingly surprising. climax was amazing. jackie chan and jade smith on screen chemistry was perfect as a teacher and student especially after the car scene, where jade picks up jackie and training begins. good in parts and boring first half. you can watch the movie for second half. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerApr 9, 2011
The new Karate Kid movie is just as good as the original, while I thought that having Jaden Smith curse was uncalled for, and some of the things they added were cheesy, it's still a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Mar 22, 2011
I've never watched any of the Karate Kid movies, but I have heard that they made a remake of the original. So, I got it on dvd for christmas almost three months ago. I watched it once and I really liked it. The character development wasI've never watched any of the Karate Kid movies, but I have heard that they made a remake of the original. So, I got it on dvd for christmas almost three months ago. I watched it once and I really liked it. The character development was amazing, The actors were amazing, The music score from James Horner has heart and emotion, and the Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan make a great screening team in this awesome and powerful remake. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
stakan_kefiraMar 11, 2011
dsfbffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
IqbalMar 9, 2011
Will Smith's son cannot act. This movie takes away all meaning from the original and blows it up with special effects and horrible acting. If you loved the orginal, you will hate this!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
EinardurJan 26, 2011
A remake of such a popular film as the original 'Karate Kid' is risky business, but luckily this 2010 edition actually surpasses it, and probably the most ingenius thing about it, was the casting of Jaden Smith in the leading role. He is aA remake of such a popular film as the original 'Karate Kid' is risky business, but luckily this 2010 edition actually surpasses it, and probably the most ingenius thing about it, was the casting of Jaden Smith in the leading role. He is a charming, sympathetic, funny and charismatic young guy, and throughout the film he actually shows some good acting chops too. The film is perfect in its approach to the material, as it doesn't take itself too seriously and all of the more mellow scenes are done with a good balance. One of the most entertaining films of 2010! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJan 16, 2011
Finally and at least for me, thiz is the best Jackie Chan acting of all time, especially in Hollywood movies. Commonly, he always performed comical elements into his characters. But on thiz one, he turned successfully into deep and seriousFinally and at least for me, thiz is the best Jackie Chan acting of all time, especially in Hollywood movies. Commonly, he always performed comical elements into his characters. But on thiz one, he turned successfully into deep and serious character. I think Jackie also realize he cannot depend on his martial arts forever (since SHINJUKU INCIDENT (2009)), considering his age which is 56 thiz year. Yes, it is still using the same formula. It is what we saw on THE KARATE KID quadrilogy (1984-1994). In the other hand, the Casts are amazing, to put Will Smith son, Jaden Smith to become the disciple and Jackie Chan as the master. It is spectacularly ingenious combination. Beside of that, the setting in China was exotic and wonderful. They kept the famous title, but actually it is all about Kung Fu. I did not understand why most of critics underestimated thiz movie. What I observe, everything is already maximized. The plot was the same, but the atmosphere was renew and absolutely refreshing. The movie is not just fills with great action scenes but also thoughtful life philosophies inside. -Life will knock us down,.. But we can choose to get back up- is definitely will be one of the memorable quotes. It is not Jaden Smith best performance, but what amazed me is how his attitude and body language looks similar to his father on some moments. The scene stealers are two chinese kids around Dre character (Smith). First one is a girl who becomes Dre lovely friend, Meiying (Wenwen Han) and Cheng (Zhenwei Wang) as Dre furious foe who appears with firm performance. I will watch closely what development may comes to thiz potential young Action Actor in coming years. The film directed by Harald Zwart, The Dutch Director, nothing is special on him. In fact, many of his directing was corny and typical children movies, such as: AGENT CODY BANKS (2003) and THE PINK PANTHER 2 (2009). In thiz case, it is exactly what we need to make thiz new Karate Kid. In thiz movie, the story telling has detailed chronology. As a consequence, the film duration is practically a little bit long. But every scene, every character, and every action was fantastic. It wont bore us at all. Bcoz everything is Kung Fu!

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
digitalbeachbumJan 9, 2011
This movie could have been a really good movie if they didn't use the title of Karate Kid and if they didn't use Will Smith's son.

Yeah, I'm a traditionalist, but understand that Jackie Chan was in this movie because they told him it would
This movie could have been a really good movie if they didn't use the title of Karate Kid and if they didn't use Will Smith's son.

Yeah, I'm a traditionalist, but understand that Jackie Chan was in this movie because they told him it would be The Kung Fu Kid and not The Karate Kid. Yep, in other countries it was different, but in America, some young hot shot idiot thought it would be a good idea to make some money off the old series.

Yet, it was all Jackie Chan who carried the movie and I'm glad to see he won't be making another version of it (at least it seemed that way).

As for Smith's acting career, he'll make movies just as long as he has his dad and mom helping him out. He'll get support from them until he has made enough millions on his own, but if he continues to act like his father then he will end up being the same old boring, one dimensional, wise ass.

This movie isn't worth the time or money to see. It is far too full of plot holes and poor execution. While the scenery is some times worth the view, I can get the same awe inspiring look at China from a National Geographic special.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
PYRiAHDec 13, 2010
Remakes are always a touchy subject. Especially when it is done with a movie people cherish and love like "The Karate Kid." When I heard that it was going to be remade, I was personally excited because I didn't grow up with the originalRemakes are always a touchy subject. Especially when it is done with a movie people cherish and love like "The Karate Kid." When I heard that it was going to be remade, I was personally excited because I didn't grow up with the original "Karate Kid" movie. I can see however how it might upset some people that someone is messing with one of their childhood memories. I must admit though, I did have mixed feelings when I found out who would be playing the lead roles. I was excited to hear that Jackie Chan was playing Mr. Miyagi, but I was a little worried when I heard that Jaden Smith would be taking on the role of Daniel-san.

Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pete409Dec 9, 2010
If you had never saw the original, then this would have been an even better movie than the 8 I am giving it. Granted, it was predictable, but still done really well. Jaden Smith is a very talented actor, and does a tremendous job in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AedmanNov 29, 2010
Jackie Chan as never seen before. The movie is not really about Kung-fu, but the interactions and the filming perspective. There's a particular scene where I defy someone, following the movie, not to have a tear or two well up. I found itJackie Chan as never seen before. The movie is not really about Kung-fu, but the interactions and the filming perspective. There's a particular scene where I defy someone, following the movie, not to have a tear or two well up. I found it appropriate for children to view on several layers. It has a more believable plot than the original, plus it's not as annoying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DukeNov 2, 2010
All in all this remake of the 1984 hit is not nearly as good as the original, but doesnâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
FlorianOct 13, 2010
I didn't enjoy the film very much. It was predictable and boring most of the time. Watching this I felt as if I were a very little child again, it's so childish. Don't watch this as a sensible adult.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AaronMOct 11, 2010
The highest praise, in my opinion, for the new Karate Kid movie would be that it will make this generation's youth as enthused about martial arts as its predecessor. And thus, such praise is in fact appropriate and well-deserved. Very wellThe highest praise, in my opinion, for the new Karate Kid movie would be that it will make this generation's youth as enthused about martial arts as its predecessor. And thus, such praise is in fact appropriate and well-deserved. Very well acted and beautifully directed. Can't wait to own the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"I Was Ultimately Shocked by this Compelling remake , tho running 2 and a half hours , the violence is toned up for a PG movie , but this movie is one of the many feel-good movies of the year , and i enjoyed almost Every second" .. A-
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
UnpopularTruthOct 7, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jackie Chan was great in all of his scenes. Jaden Smith was passable, especially considering how young he is. But what ruined this movie for me was Dre's horrible, ineffective mother. She spends much of the movie being tempermental, abrasive, and neglectful of her son. She often has no idea where he is, letting him wander around on his own and get in trouble in a new country they know nothing about. She is oblivous to his problems for much of the movie and spends the final act cheering as her young son is kicked and punched in mortal combat while other kids are getting beat senseless. She manages to look hesitant after he is seriously injured and then continues to fight, but shows no sign of objecting. In our last view of her at the end of the movie, she's paying more attention to the trophy than to her own son who is still injured and limping around the platform. Someone call family services! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
The original Karate Kid is not necessarily a classic in my eyes, but it is a film that I remember watching it as a child. So I was not too ecstatic watching it except for the fact Jackie Chan was in it, someone who actually has knowledge ofThe original Karate Kid is not necessarily a classic in my eyes, but it is a film that I remember watching it as a child. So I was not too ecstatic watching it except for the fact Jackie Chan was in it, someone who actually has knowledge of martial arts. The film does an adequate job in recreating the "classic" film with its somewhat altered story of the cliched "boy gets girl" and "boy gets revenge." But what makes this film from being a good movie is the age of the characters. While I am not saying Jaden Smith, son of Will Smith, is an unsuited actor, but the age of the children is too young to be effective. Is a 10 year old vengeance really valid, or is it just an act of impulse? What made the original movie lovable was that the audience connected with the main character and ended up rooting for him. It is kind of difficult when the person you are cheering for is fighting for simply a frivolous rivalry. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
RazvSep 21, 2010
I don't know if it's because i set my "mental karate movie bar" to low, or because it is actually a good movie but i liked it. The plot was interesting and the actors played very well, Jaden Smith showing that he has much potential in theI don't know if it's because i set my "mental karate movie bar" to low, or because it is actually a good movie but i liked it. The plot was interesting and the actors played very well, Jaden Smith showing that he has much potential in the acting career and Jackie Chan, being more serious than funny this time, pulled it off and gave a great performance. Good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
In probably one of the biggest reversal of expectations I've had for a movie for a while, I really liked the new 'Karate Kid.' It was similar enough to the 1984 original to conjure nostalgia, but carried its own charm that really made itIn probably one of the biggest reversal of expectations I've had for a movie for a while, I really liked the new 'Karate Kid.' It was similar enough to the 1984 original to conjure nostalgia, but carried its own charm that really made it worthwhile to see. At 140 minutes the movie is long (especially for now when most people complain when a movie is more than 2 hours), but it uses the running time wisely - both to give depth to Dre's character, and do something that summer blockbusters rarely so these days: build anticipation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
EricM.Jun 25, 2010
The only thing wrong with this movie is that they changed if from a teenager in California to a kid in China. Seeing Jackie Chan fight six 12 year olds is silly, not exiting. That about sums up what is wrong with the picture. Whoever wrote The only thing wrong with this movie is that they changed if from a teenager in California to a kid in China. Seeing Jackie Chan fight six 12 year olds is silly, not exiting. That about sums up what is wrong with the picture. Whoever wrote this, never watched the original, just read a treatment. So much is lost. Lost sources of conflict include; rich versus poor, racism against orientals, and the misuse of karate. Also lost humor, pacing, and some great little touches. For example. What does the mother do? In the original she is working in a restaurant and going to become a manager. What happened to the girl's girlfriends? Don't violin prodigies have any friends? As for the principle characters motivation. Changing them from sixteen year teenagers to twelve year old kids makes the story silly. I just can't buy hormone driven behavior in these kids. However, I'll give it points for nice location, and finding all those English speaking actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelMJun 23, 2010
This movie seems to revert to older ways of film making. The story has a moral and the audio actually fits the emotion of the scenes. The story can seem to drag out in some parts (I blame the screenwriter trying to fit too much in), though This movie seems to revert to older ways of film making. The story has a moral and the audio actually fits the emotion of the scenes. The story can seem to drag out in some parts (I blame the screenwriter trying to fit too much in), though the acting is believable from the cast. I feel the movie was appropriately cast and the camera is not too jerky or capturing worthless angles. This is a martial arts movie; if you do not like martial arts movies do not go see it. There are no car chases, big explosions, gun fights, sex scenes, or gore. 7 for not a bad movie, but not brutal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanGJun 23, 2010
This movie is really cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterJun 20, 2010
Loved it. Better than the original.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ShiangH.Jun 19, 2010
I almost died of goosebumps while watching this dreadful movie.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Jun 18, 2010
It was really really good the action was great and i got to say they were all really good actors and my favorite part is when he saw the snake and he was staring at mr han.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JohnSJun 18, 2010
The only guy that did it right (in my opinion)sumarizing the crtic of this movie is Rene from MiamiHerald..."Smith is a cute kid, but fundamentally miscast. The protagonist in the original film was in his mid-teens, a young man in the The only guy that did it right (in my opinion)sumarizing the crtic of this movie is Rene from MiamiHerald..."Smith is a cute kid, but fundamentally miscast. The protagonist in the original film was in his mid-teens, a young man in the making. Here, prepubescent seventh-graders enact heart-thumping romance and bone-thumping beat-downs, which makes for uncomfortable viewing. Ironically, Smith radiates a confidence that makes him seem less vulnerable than his predecessor, Ralph Macchio. " Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonB.Jun 16, 2010
I just want to ask Chad S. what the f*ck a "celluloidal time capsule" is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EliJ.Jun 15, 2010
Terrible, just like the first movie. i know the first karate kid was an 80s movie but I've always thought that movie was total trash. Goonies was my childhood movie, and im sure that will be re created pretty soon as well.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
8
JoshS.Jun 15, 2010
This was a great movie and everyone who is hating on it doesn't know what they're talking about, Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith make for a good teacher and student relationship. The only problem is why didn't they use Jada as the mother?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JakeAJun 14, 2010
Dave J. you are an idiot Jaden Smith is a very talented little kid and this movie was actually really entertaining and enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PhilGJun 14, 2010
Tiresome travelogue; less well acted and written than the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DaveJ.Jun 14, 2010
Horrible, boring movie. Will Smith needs to stop pimping his annoying kid. Sorry Will but he's only your little angel, to everyone else he just a spoiled brat born with a silver spoon in his mouth.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jun 14, 2010
Some things are sacred. With bated breath, you wait for the line, but the line goes unspoken, and you're relieved, because the line can retain its immaculacy and filmic chastity in the celluloidal time capsule. After all, there can only Some things are sacred. With bated breath, you wait for the line, but the line goes unspoken, and you're relieved, because the line can retain its immaculacy and filmic chastity in the celluloidal time capsule. After all, there can only be one "sweep the leg". (Martin Cove circa 1984, still the best.) More importantly, there can only be one crane kick. At the pivotal moment, when victory or defeat hangs in the balance, Jaden Smith does his own thing, allowing Ralph Macchio to keep Danny LaRusso's signature move all to himself. Should the major studios get around to remaking the whole of eighties cinema, even Walter Hill's "Crossroads", in which Macchio outduels Steve Vai like "The Shredder Kid" for his soul, let the new Eugene Martone(aka "Lightning Boy") vanquish Dweezil Zappa instead. Vying with the John G. Avildsen original for bragging rights, this overlong but surprisingly effective(and pertinent) "Karate Kid" rendering has the advantage of its vivid Chinese backdrop, which sets up a fish-out-of-water scenario that any English-speaking moviegoer can identify with. The movie never really answers as to why Sherry(Taraji P. Henson) had to drag his son halfway around the planet, instead of, say, Seattle. China intimidates; China is the new Japan. Economically speaking, China owns us, on account of the borrowed money(three-trillion and counting) lended to us by the hard-charging superpower, which comprises the bulk of our national debt. This simple fact, America's vulnerability to our easterly neighbor, most definitely is ingrained firmly within the narrative. Prior to China joining the WTO(World Trade Organization) in 2001, an American like Trey might have been looked upon with awe, and not treated with such animosity from Cheng(Zhenwei Wang) and his friends, who are so thoroughly brainwashed by the "no mercy" philosophy of their "sensei", they resemble WWII Japanese soldiers descending on Nanking, due to their unflagging single-mindedness for destruction, as Dre becomes the victim to a sort of "Detroit Massacre" when the merciless Cheng nearly kills Dre in a one-against-five confrontation. But then, out of nowhere, it's Mr. Han to the rescue, just like the Ash song "Kung Fu"("C'mon, Jackie Chan/Uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, oh."). No doubt about it, China has come a long way since Mark Salzman's "Iron and Silk", the 1987 film about an American English teacher's adventures in Changsha, Hunan, a more innocent time when the Chinese denizens probably still revered the America lifestyle. Back then. Michael Jackson was "bad", not dead. And Detroit still stood a fighting chance for an economic renewal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TahaA.Jun 13, 2010
A solid movie outing with great action sequences and a strong chemistry between the film's primary protagonists, Smith and Chan. Also, the movie's overriding theme about standing your ground against bullying still carries relevance A solid movie outing with great action sequences and a strong chemistry between the film's primary protagonists, Smith and Chan. Also, the movie's overriding theme about standing your ground against bullying still carries relevance in today's era of "cyber bullying." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Jun 13, 2010
Excellent movie, which succeeds on its own. Beautiful imagery from China. A simple, compelling story, which teaches as well as entertains. Jackie Chan leads as no other modern martial artist does since Bruce Lee. Of course Jaden SmithExcellent movie, which succeeds on its own. Beautiful imagery from China. A simple, compelling story, which teaches as well as entertains. Jackie Chan leads as no other modern martial artist does since Bruce Lee. Of course Jaden Smith sparkles athletically and personally. Waiting now for the DVD to see the outtakes! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NathanL.Jun 12, 2010
I have been to the theater over a thousand times and I have never seen a crowd like I saw this morning. This is the greatest compliment I can give this movie. It is one of the few films that can quite literally be called a crowd pleaser. I have been to the theater over a thousand times and I have never seen a crowd like I saw this morning. This is the greatest compliment I can give this movie. It is one of the few films that can quite literally be called a crowd pleaser. This will not be on my top ten of the year and will not go down in history as some great film altering movie. That said, I will never forget looking over at my children as they stood up cheering along with over 400 people (sold out MORNING crowd) for the wonderful charasmatic Dre (a fabulous Jaden Smith with every bit his fathers talent) as he landed the hard earned punches or thunderous applause as the enemies bowed before Mr. Han (Jackie Chan in a career best performance) in respect. I know these moments are engineered to create these actions in us. Film is largely an art of manipulation. However, it is to be respected when it works as well as this one does. I have never heard such applause in all of my life. I know that every person in that theater loved the character they were rooting for. This is a rare thing and in a summer filled with decent films that seem to be very mixed with audiences it is nice to see an audience fall in love with film again right before your eyes. And they have good reason to here. This is a solid story that borrows its outline from the 1984 original (which I grew up with) but, expands on much of it in wonderful ways. This movie knows when to give you comedy, action, suspense, and emotion. This all comes from a deep rooted love for the central characters. This may have been directed by Mr Zwart (Pink Panther 2 sadly) but, it owes everything to the Smith family. Will has been attempting to create family friendly films with characters we care about for years with minimal success. Here he hits a home run and everyone invloved has the world to thank of him for handing them this wonderful child of his to carry this film. Throw in some beautiful cinematography and a stunnig soundtrack, composed by the great James Horner, and you have a move worth rooting for. This is the biggest surprise of the year to me. I did not expect it but, I can say without a shadow of a doubt that this is the most fun I've had at the movies this summer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BenH.Jun 12, 2010
Kind of disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielF.Jun 12, 2010
I went to see the 2010 Karate Kid remake. I was not expecting much, but let me just give my rating then qualify that. 10/10. I could find absolutely no flaws in this. They treated china and the chinese people with the utmost respect, Jaden I went to see the 2010 Karate Kid remake. I was not expecting much, but let me just give my rating then qualify that. 10/10. I could find absolutely no flaws in this. They treated china and the chinese people with the utmost respect, Jaden Smith was GREAT. I think one of the big reasons he worked so well is he acts like a KID. We have had too many child actors who act like pint-size adults (*cough dakota fanning *cough*). Jaden behaves exactly as you Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DylanH.Jun 12, 2010
I went to this movie thinking it would be some cheap attempt to make money but what i found was one of the best movies I've ever seen. The acting was amazing and if Jaden doesn't get an award for it then something is wrong with I went to this movie thinking it would be some cheap attempt to make money but what i found was one of the best movies I've ever seen. The acting was amazing and if Jaden doesn't get an award for it then something is wrong with this world. People were cheering and laughing through the whole movie so no matter what critics this is going to be called one of the best movies of the year. The critics that don't like it need a dictionary to look up the words "Remake" and "Re imagining" There's a difference you know. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
kyles.Jun 12, 2010
For that low score by kyle smith, i got no problem with the score itself, but ur reason are as stupid as they come, propaganda by the chinese government, have you even watched the movie or just saw the trailers, cause they make the bulliesFor that low score by kyle smith, i got no problem with the score itself, but ur reason are as stupid as they come, propaganda by the chinese government, have you even watched the movie or just saw the trailers, cause they make the bullies and master of the bullies complete ass holes. either you havent watched the movie or you need to learn the meaning of propaganda. as for the movie itself, it has its highs and lows, the fighting is great, especially for little kids. the stunt double for jaden smith was great, and the other kids were great as well. jackie chan had one good fight scene (which i understand, but kinda wished there were more). the training scenes were to be expected so that could either be bad or good depending on your views. the only true problem i have with the film is that it seems to promote jaden smith too much, as opposed to letting him succeed by him self. overall a good movie, still prefer the original tho, just for the simple fact that its the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JamesBJun 12, 2010
I can't believe I wasted 2 hours on this film...The Karate Kid (Jaden Smith), played a horribly acted role in a unrealistic tooth pick physique. Horrible acting and skinny kid aside, the mainstream pop music added to this film made I can't believe I wasted 2 hours on this film...The Karate Kid (Jaden Smith), played a horribly acted role in a unrealistic tooth pick physique. Horrible acting and skinny kid aside, the mainstream pop music added to this film made Bruce Lee roll over in his grave. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LindaT.Jun 11, 2010
I love the movie! I took my granddaughter r Rosalind and she throughly enjoyed it. LJT Stone Mountain, GA.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DreP.Jun 11, 2010
The original was pretty meaningful to me as a preteen, and this came across with a lot less impact and intensity (although it definitely had its moments). A 6 on its own, but I rated this in comparison to the original Karate Kid. It pales in The original was pretty meaningful to me as a preteen, and this came across with a lot less impact and intensity (although it definitely had its moments). A 6 on its own, but I rated this in comparison to the original Karate Kid. It pales in comparison. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful