Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jul 4, 2013
    83
    Unfortunately, Hart seems to have taken the whole ''leave the audience wanting more'' maxim a little too much to heart. The film clocks in at a hair over an hour. That might be enough for an HBO special, but it feels a little thin for a feature film.
  2. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    It’s a brief movie, and perhaps all that preamble is meant to justify the ticket price. The best advice is to walk in about 25 minutes after the lights go down. You’ll still get all the laughs, and you won’t have to hear about Hart’s YouTube hits.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    If you were to judge Let Me Explain purely on its performance portion, filmed at Madison Square Garden during Hart's 2012 tour, the film would merit a full extra star. But at 75 minutes, it feels too skimpy to rave over.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Ryan
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    Let Me Explain finds Hart at the peak of his powers, so the film’s long coronation feels justified, if gaudy. Strip away the preamble and just give him a mic, and he’d earn it all the same.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 4, 2013
    91
    A welcome change of pace and a truly hilarious, heartfelt experience.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    It’s all in the name of comedy, and it mostly works, with a couple of exceptions, including an especially mean-spirited and somewhat violent tirade against a fan he met in an airport.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I have always loved Kevin Hart and his comedy. I laughed really hard a couple of times, it felt like I was gonna die. The parts where he isn'tI have always loved Kevin Hart and his comedy. I laughed really hard a couple of times, it felt like I was gonna die. The parts where he isn't doing his stand-up was kind of a bore to me. He is getting way more successful in his career as he should be and I think he is only gonna get bigger. Pick this up on dvd or wait for Netflix to watch this must-see stand-up concert. Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    Be there to enjoy Hart's performance and the lovely shots but don't be there if you want everything perfect or clichéd. Good performances andBe there to enjoy Hart's performance and the lovely shots but don't be there if you want everything perfect or clichéd. Good performances and heart melting awesomeness. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Let me explain is just as good as his other other stand ups. He is getting that paper because he deserves it. Memorable jokes and straight upLet me explain is just as good as his other other stand ups. He is getting that paper because he deserves it. Memorable jokes and straight up honesty. The funniest man on earth does it again. Prepare to laugh and consider dat ending. Full Review »