Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 16, 2013
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 632 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
426
Mixed:
141
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 22, 2016
Ok.. because the first Kick-Ass was great enough, we didn't need a sequel to this. It's just a rehash from the first movie blending in camouflage so you wouldn't even notice it every single second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryAug 16, 2013
I looked up my review of the original and was more disappointed that I remembered. This sequel amplifies the serious side to the detriment of surprise and warped comedy. The titular character (nerdy cute and super cut Aaron Taylor-Johnson) isI looked up my review of the original and was more disappointed that I remembered. This sequel amplifies the serious side to the detriment of surprise and warped comedy. The titular character (nerdy cute and super cut Aaron Taylor-Johnson) is back as a human "superhero," who's in a moral dilemna with his purple-haired partner (Chloë Grace Moretz). Should they give up their vigilante crime fighting or amp it up? The drama takes even more prominence to the detriment of the action. There's almost none of the original's fun and the fights are flashy, but cruelly violent. This film isn't sure what it wants to be, so it's a leaden dud. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for one more bad gag. Expand
8 of 26 users found this helpful818
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJul 31, 2014
Like many sequels in the movie world this is just missing that special something that made the first so excellent. What I liked so much about the first movie is that it was a teenager trying to be a superhero in the real world. This sequelLike many sequels in the movie world this is just missing that special something that made the first so excellent. What I liked so much about the first movie is that it was a teenager trying to be a superhero in the real world. This sequel takes the first movie's real world and males it feel more like a comic book world. Due to that I feel it loses something.

Don't get me wrong the movie is still awesome and fans of the first like myself are going to have a blast. The characters are just as likable as ever, even if the new ones aren't as memorable. There's plenty of humor to go with the violent and now more over-the-top action. So without a doubt if you're a fan of the first than check this one out. If you haven't seen the first I recommend you do before checking this out, so that way everything will make more sense. My total score for the film is a 7.8/10-Good.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Aug 18, 2013
It never quite reaches the level of emotional weight that its predecessor did, but "Kick-Ass 2" is still a worthy addition to a lovably irreverent franchise filled with perpetually characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticSep 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Kick-Ass it was vulgar, violent, and original with a good director in Matthew Vaughn. Unfortunately this is a bad sequel that is terribly paced with to much shaky cam and some really awful scenes involving vomit and the potential raping of a woman. A big disappointment. D+ Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonAug 16, 2013
Overall, Kick-Ass 2 is a “good” but not “great” followup to Vaughn’s surprisingly smart, stylish and witty original. The sequel will be more enjoyable for those fans wanting to revisit the world and characters for another romp through aOverall, Kick-Ass 2 is a “good” but not “great” followup to Vaughn’s surprisingly smart, stylish and witty original. The sequel will be more enjoyable for those fans wanting to revisit the world and characters for another romp through a twisted version of the DC and Marvel comic book universes but beyond that, all you’re getting is a standard action film with a B-movie feel. If it wasn’t Kick-Ass or Hit-Girl headlining, there would likely be little excitement and even less payoff from the Kick-Ass 2 experience. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Aug 22, 2015
"Kick Ass 2" is a watered-down version of its original film, as the quality of both the script and choreography seems to have stepped down a notch; but for some reason it still manages to be a enjoyable action-comedy film to watch.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeNov 9, 2015
It may be not as funny as the other one but,it was way more violent and action packed than the first.Overall, the movie was not as good as the first but, it's still a solid sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
Kick Ass 2 is just as good as the first film. Its a super hero movie that is slightly different from all the comic book movies out there. Kick Ass is full of some great young actors. I would've liked to have seen more of Jim Carey but heKick Ass 2 is just as good as the first film. Its a super hero movie that is slightly different from all the comic book movies out there. Kick Ass is full of some great young actors. I would've liked to have seen more of Jim Carey but he didn't appear to show much interest in this movie. There are a few twists scattered all over in this movie and it may not exactly work out the way you expect it. Kick Ass is just as good as any Marvel film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
marcmyworksDec 2, 2013
This film is decent and entertaining. The main flaw is the message that these characters are real heroes and not in a comic book and yet the action, dialogue and characters seem right out of a cartoon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuDec 14, 2014
Kick-Ass 2 is a fun, throwaway sequel. Is it as good as the original film? No. But there is still a whole bunch of fun stuff on offer here. Christopher Mintz-Plasse in particular is a riot as the main super-villain. A fun yet slightlyKick-Ass 2 is a fun, throwaway sequel. Is it as good as the original film? No. But there is still a whole bunch of fun stuff on offer here. Christopher Mintz-Plasse in particular is a riot as the main super-villain. A fun yet slightly inferior sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleSep 1, 2013
Every aspect of the film is a bit more extreme than you expect it to be, but that's exactly what it's going for. I simply don't think it's much better than the first film, which didn't particularly thrill me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Aug 20, 2013
Kick-Ass 2 is a very good movie but it fails to capture the essence of the first film. The first movie was successful for two main reasons. For one, the brutality and in-your-face factor was incredibly high and created a certain "shock andKick-Ass 2 is a very good movie but it fails to capture the essence of the first film. The first movie was successful for two main reasons. For one, the brutality and in-your-face factor was incredibly high and created a certain "shock and awe" that left a lasting impression on the audience. The second was the film's refreshing take on the superhero concept. Both of these elements were either lost or severely diminished in this sequel. To cover the shock and awe, it just didn't have it. There were nowhere near as many scenes that made your peel away and get engaged at the same time. I think a big reason for this was the diminished role of Hit Girl. That's not to say that Chloe Grace Moretz' character, Mindy Macready, doesn't get appropriate screen time. If anything, the opposite is true. At times it almost felt as though she was the main character and the driving force of the film. The problem is that Mindy Macready, though Moretz is a fantastic young actress, is not refreshing or profane enough to deliver the effect Hit Girl does. As for the superhero perspective, while the first film felt refreshing, this film almost felt "spoofy" at times. In both cases, I think the directorial and screenplay change from the first film are at fault. Jeff Wadlow clearly had a different vision than many fans, including myself. One last negative, I hated the break in continuity from the movies by changing two characters, albeit they are fairly minor. Detective Marcus Williams (the black cop and friend of Big Daddy who becomes Mindy's care-taker at the end of the first film) and Todd (the less-important friend of Dave) are both played by different actors and neither feels right. Overall though, I hope it doesn't sound like I didn't enjoy this film. Moretz was amazing and Aaron Taylor-Johnson and Christopher Mintz-Plasse both do adequate jobs in the more tradition protagonist and antagonist roles, respectively. The action was really cool and the plot had tons of potential and largely lived up to it with the exception of the aforementioned flaws, in my opinion. If you loved the first film, you'll still probably enjoy this one quite a bit. If you found the first movie offensive, that feeling will not change here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Movie1997Aug 17, 2013
This is a movie where I truly disagree with the critics. This movies is fun and exciting, it's not great but it's still a fun movie. Overall, it you're a fan of the first Kick-A** movie, then for sure you'll love this one. Be sure to checkThis is a movie where I truly disagree with the critics. This movies is fun and exciting, it's not great but it's still a fun movie. Overall, it you're a fan of the first Kick-A** movie, then for sure you'll love this one. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
NerdConsultantDec 19, 2014
I really don't get why this film gets as much hate as it does. to me it was same great Kick-Ass style story that I enjoyed the first time. granted it's not as great as the first one and there was room for improvement but the action sequencesI really don't get why this film gets as much hate as it does. to me it was same great Kick-Ass style story that I enjoyed the first time. granted it's not as great as the first one and there was room for improvement but the action sequences and villains were good and i actually can tolerate Jim Carey for the short amount of time he's on screen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hoops2448Sep 10, 2013
Kick Ass was a risque superhero movie that pushed boundaries and created controversy. Kick Ass 2 tones it down and by doing so loses some of the flair that made the original as great as it was. When Dave Lisewski (Aaron Taylor Johnson)Kick Ass was a risque superhero movie that pushed boundaries and created controversy. Kick Ass 2 tones it down and by doing so loses some of the flair that made the original as great as it was. When Dave Lisewski (Aaron Taylor Johnson) returns to his alter ego Kick Ass, he joins a new league of heroes including Colonel Stars and Stripes (Jim Carrey) and Night (Liddy Booth). Meanwhile Hit Girl (Chloe Grace Moretz) tries to fit in during high school while fighting her desire to suit back up. Kick Ass 2 is a very different monster with a similar filming approach to the first one but the characters are different, the writing isn't as sharp and Hit Girl isn't quite as impressive as she was 4 years ago. The new characters pale in comparison as Carrey's Stars and Stripes is more of a cameo than a supporting role and Night while amusing plays almost exactly the same role as Lyndsy Fonseca's from the first film (she does return for a blink and you will miss it cameo but its not the same). While not dire, Director Jeff Wadlow's idea of this world is Kick Ass Lite with toned down violence as to appear sanitized, insults that sound rude but cannot compare to the controversial and ballsy ones of the first. It's all half measures as to be safe enough to sell the film to a younger audience who probably shouldn't be seeing it. Ultimately its story is good and the film does take a few risks that really shock but its all a little late as the heart and soul of Kick Ass has been ripped out thanks to the directors odd decision. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Kick-Ass 2" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: The general idea is still there and that's a good thing. Chloe Grace Moretz once again stole the show while donning her Hit Girl gear. Jim Carey was awesome with the little screen time
"Kick-Ass 2" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: The general idea is still there and that's a good thing. Chloe Grace Moretz once again stole the show while donning her Hit Girl gear. Jim Carey was awesome with the little screen time he had.

The Bad: Not even close to the standard that the original film set. Gravity-defying violence in a film dedicated to super-hero "realism" leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Hit Girl and Jim Carey's Stars and Stripes both have precious little actual screen time. The first film mixed violence and humor well, but this one crams the violence down your throat ... albeit in Wyle E. Coyote fashion. Just a misguided and poorly directed mess.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's not quite as good as the first, but it still offers us plenty of crude humor and violent action. The thing is they don't really combine the two elements together as well as its predecessor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Aug 28, 2013
I'm a big fan of the first Kick-Ass and to say that this was an improvement on that one is quite big! More Action, more characters and more entertaining; everything was improved and the end result was one very impressive sequel! The youngI'm a big fan of the first Kick-Ass and to say that this was an improvement on that one is quite big! More Action, more characters and more entertaining; everything was improved and the end result was one very impressive sequel! The young talents of both Aaron & Chloë are amazing and they lead this film, but its also the characters that make the film what it is. It's also still quite violent for a film that seems aimed at teenagers. Overall highly impressive and well worth checking out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
I’d not heard great things about Kick-Ass 2 prior to watching but for me it delivered pretty much what you’d expect from a sequel, namely much of the same thing. Of course that means it doesn't have the originality of the first movie, andI’d not heard great things about Kick-Ass 2 prior to watching but for me it delivered pretty much what you’d expect from a sequel, namely much of the same thing. Of course that means it doesn't have the originality of the first movie, and overall it is not as entertaining or funny, but it provided a decent hour and a half of entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Tanta expectativa em volta desse filme que fiquei decepcionado com o resultado, o primeiro foi interessante esse aqui uma humilhação para obra original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
chwJul 17, 2014
Kick-Ass 2 was an alright film, although it was so incredibly bizarre for a superhero film. I'd say it was just a parody, if there wasn't a comic it was based on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Sadly I had high hopes for this movie but after hearing that Matthew Vaughn was leaving and having Jeff Wadlow replace him i knew that the film was going to be lacking from the first installment and i was right. Story was weak but that's notSadly I had high hopes for this movie but after hearing that Matthew Vaughn was leaving and having Jeff Wadlow replace him i knew that the film was going to be lacking from the first installment and i was right. Story was weak but that's not really what this movie is about. The fight scenes is what we came to watch and with that this movie does deliver. Jim Carrey was great he did an awesome job i don't get why he tried to distance himself from this movie sure it's violent but at least it's better then anything he has been in a couple years. Again Chloe Moretz was the best part of this movie she is just so amazing. If you loved her in Kick-Ass then you are going to love her in this sure she isn't in her costume the whole time but if was cool seeing her in high school acting like a somewhat normal kid.

Overall i give it a 7.0 I'll be buying it on blu ray but i don't really think ill be watching it all that much unless it starts to grow on me
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SwatiSep 10, 2013
While the violence that made the first movie so memorable is there, the charm is clearly lacking. Big Daddy is replaced with another engaging character, Colonel Stars and Stripes, who is underutilized. Hit-Girl is grown up and looks good.While the violence that made the first movie so memorable is there, the charm is clearly lacking. Big Daddy is replaced with another engaging character, Colonel Stars and Stripes, who is underutilized. Hit-Girl is grown up and looks good. Kick-Ass himself has worked out and it shows. But the positives end here. The main villain is sort of funny but is not very compelling. The plot goes nowhere. The fight scenes are good but not up to the level of the first movie. The movie lacked direction. There was no overarching story that bound all the pieces together. It was a mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineSep 14, 2013
The movie is pretty average in the first half, all of that predictable stuff about teenage life, promises, giving up and so on. But later it becomes better and better. Overall not as good as the first one though. There are some new coolThe movie is pretty average in the first half, all of that predictable stuff about teenage life, promises, giving up and so on. But later it becomes better and better. Overall not as good as the first one though. There are some new cool characters like Mother Russia or Colonel Stars and Straps. Don't know what else to say, just slightly worse than the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Knicksfan7Aug 21, 2013
I'll start by saying I enjoyed this one more than the first and I was a big fan of the first. The story isn't as strong as the first, but it's also not bad. The action and humor is even better which wasn't to be expected. Kickass 2 is pureI'll start by saying I enjoyed this one more than the first and I was a big fan of the first. The story isn't as strong as the first, but it's also not bad. The action and humor is even better which wasn't to be expected. Kickass 2 is pure entertainment. If you enjoyed the first then you will love this one. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed, the critics are wrong on this one (like usual) so don't pay any attention to them. 7.5/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheDude-Jun 29, 2015
Kick ass 2 is an exceptional film I never really understood the critical backlash it has a lot of fun with the concept of a kid in high school becoming a super hero, kick ass 2 provided really likable characters and some very funny moments,Kick ass 2 is an exceptional film I never really understood the critical backlash it has a lot of fun with the concept of a kid in high school becoming a super hero, kick ass 2 provided really likable characters and some very funny moments, the action was also competently choreographed and filmed extremely well.
Overall: kick ass 2 is a great action comedy that is a ton of fun
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
python2000Sep 8, 2013
Kick-Ass 2 may be disappointing to some, but it was never going to be as good as the first movie. Never at any point was I bored and even if some scenes were cheesy (and one disgusting) it's still a very good film. Mainly because of theKick-Ass 2 may be disappointing to some, but it was never going to be as good as the first movie. Never at any point was I bored and even if some scenes were cheesy (and one disgusting) it's still a very good film. Mainly because of the brilliant cast especially Christopher Mintz Plasse as The Mother F*cker. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JohnMasterLAug 7, 2015
Kick-Ass 2 es decepcionante, aburrida y un mal chiste. Todo el humor negro, todo lo bizarro, todo lo violento y todos los personajes son arruinados en esta segunda parte, se siente como si fueran 2 películas en una, primero esta Kick-Ass (unaKick-Ass 2 es decepcionante, aburrida y un mal chiste. Todo el humor negro, todo lo bizarro, todo lo violento y todos los personajes son arruinados en esta segunda parte, se siente como si fueran 2 películas en una, primero esta Kick-Ass (una trama aburrida y absurda) y después esta Hit Girl (intenta ser una chica normal, y las situaciones son ridículas) las escenas de acción son mas violentas pero la coreografía y la edición son un desastre. Kick Ass 2 me decepciono, tiene uno que otro momento interesante (Como la escena del coche) pero solo eso, una película que prometía mucho y solo nos dejo decepción y mal sabor de boca. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DarkCriticAug 18, 2013
It's a waste of time for making this sequel way too far. Kick-Ass only deserves a good superhero movie with the good purpose is that the protagonist must face his issues of being a superhero. In this bad purpose of Kick-Ass 2, the protagonistIt's a waste of time for making this sequel way too far. Kick-Ass only deserves a good superhero movie with the good purpose is that the protagonist must face his issues of being a superhero. In this bad purpose of Kick-Ass 2, the protagonist is coming back as a bad superhero with bad attitude, no heart, still fighting with bad guys, acting a like sick jerk, cheating with your true love, and being selfish. It must be so hard that the creators didn't know how they didn't make a strong point of what purpose did Kick-Ass ended. Do they forgotten? Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodAug 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a good squeal, not as good or hard hitting then the first one, and im kinda pissed about the ending of the movie with Mindy and Dave kissing, really didn't seem necessary because i believed that the relationship between Mindy and Dave seemed more like a brother sister thing, in fact that is what i kinda wanted it to be, also i didn't like the fact that they kept the Dog Decapitation out of the film for i believe that moment in the comic book was hard hitting, overall Kick Ass 2 is a great squeal not as good as the first yet still accomplices and has the same feel as the original movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
SimpleMethodAug 20, 2013
Kick Ass 2 is riddled with problems. The core of these problems is director Jeff Wadlow, who clearly does not know how to shoot an action sequence. All the action in this movie looks bad and is filmed with shaky cam, compared to the smoothKick Ass 2 is riddled with problems. The core of these problems is director Jeff Wadlow, who clearly does not know how to shoot an action sequence. All the action in this movie looks bad and is filmed with shaky cam, compared to the smooth originals of the first. Overall just an utter disappointment. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
Viper8787Jun 24, 2014
Not as good as the first one but still a bit entertaining. Some good action and violent scenes, but not nearly as many as in the first movie. Could have been way funnier than it was. It had Jim Carrey in it who is really funny so they couldNot as good as the first one but still a bit entertaining. Some good action and violent scenes, but not nearly as many as in the first movie. Could have been way funnier than it was. It had Jim Carrey in it who is really funny so they could have added many more jokes and it would have made the movie great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theofficeAug 26, 2013
I was expecting more of a comedy (based on previews) and what I got was actually a really violent movie with a pretty weak story. Obviously they try to be "stupid" with the story as if it supposed to be part of the comedy act but it reallyI was expecting more of a comedy (based on previews) and what I got was actually a really violent movie with a pretty weak story. Obviously they try to be "stupid" with the story as if it supposed to be part of the comedy act but it really isn't funny at all... I did laugh a few times but overall was weak. The characters are decent enough but the movie falls flat. I say pass until it's done with theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RevRonDec 3, 2013
I really dug the first film and was excited for this one. Despite hearing some bad talk about it and seeing Jim Carrey disown the film due to his own morals and ethics, I have to say I thought this movie was just as slick, cool andI really dug the first film and was excited for this one. Despite hearing some bad talk about it and seeing Jim Carrey disown the film due to his own morals and ethics, I have to say I thought this movie was just as slick, cool and entertaining as the first one. It was nice to see new faces added to the world of “Kick-Ass” and it was nice seeing Aaron Taylor-Johnson get to be a bigger presence in the story (let’s face it, Hit-Girl stole the first movie). I also really dug the evolution of the characters of Kick-Ass and Hit-Girl and the hyper-violent fight and action scenes are just expected from this franchise but just as entertaining as they were the last time around. While the story got a lot darker than it did in the last movie (of course, the comic gets even darker), I still thought “Kick-Ass 2” was a great sequel to an already cool movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SuperheroMoviesSep 22, 2013
Despite some brutal action scenes, this film is generally barren of the ironic twists that made the first film successful, and relies on more gag humor this time around, and a rehashed script that's been pulled off more effectively in the past.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesAug 16, 2013
I really liked the first one. It was fresh and great seeing an R rated superhero film. But this time around it feels almost derivative. It's still fun watching everyone kick the crap out of each other, but the pacing and forced plot pointsI really liked the first one. It was fresh and great seeing an R rated superhero film. But this time around it feels almost derivative. It's still fun watching everyone kick the crap out of each other, but the pacing and forced plot points take a lot away. Still enjoyable, just nowhere near as good as the first time around. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
3
dyshpoMar 12, 2014
unoriginal sad redo of the same tricks of a already over done concept . Super fans ya'll need to learn to be objective just because you like it doesn't mean it's a good movie . My favorite movies are Godzilla movies and they are not filmed orunoriginal sad redo of the same tricks of a already over done concept . Super fans ya'll need to learn to be objective just because you like it doesn't mean it's a good movie . My favorite movies are Godzilla movies and they are not filmed or acted good . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Aug 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kick-Ass 2 is an action film of 2013 directed by Jeff Wadlow (Never Back Down) with Chloe Grace Moretz, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Christopher Mintz-Plasse and Jim Carrey.
After defeating Frank D'amico, Mindy and Dave try to live like normal people in high school but Priam can not be comfortable and prefers to remain vigilant on the streets in the guise of Hit-Girl and the other, tired of monotony of their lives as normal teenager, initially decides to join the team with Mindy but after the latter retires, Kick-Ass decides to become a part of the Justice Forever commanded by Colonel Stars and Stripes (Jim Carrey). Meanwhile, Chris D'Amico, in revenge for the death of his father, he decides to become the first super villain of the story with the name of and to enlist the criminals in his gang.
In comparison to other sequel, Kick-Ass 2 does not disappoint and is proving an excellent film. Wadlow's direction is not the same level of Vaughn but it can boast of being able to do the choreography really spectacular (especially when fighting Hit-Girl) and manage well the crowd scenes (the final battle). The main focus of this film is Chloe Moretz and the psychological relationship Mindy Hit-Girl. Also excellent in the role that improves Johnson of Kick-Ass, Mintz-Plasse who with his manages to entertain a lot and Jim Carrey who always manages to leave a mark. Also note the great fidelity to the original comic although the most violent scenes have been removed.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
About midway through Kick-Ass 2, the sequel to 2010’s normal-guy-becomes-a-crime-fighter fantasy, a budding archrival corners the new girlfriend of his costumed nemesis. “You’re done banging superheroes, baby,” he sneers at the terrifiedAbout midway through Kick-Ass 2, the sequel to 2010’s normal-guy-becomes-a-crime-fighter fantasy, a budding archrival corners the new girlfriend of his costumed nemesis. “You’re done banging superheroes, baby,” he sneers at the terrified teen. “It’s time to see what evil dick tastes like.” That line, pulled verbatim from Mark Millar’s Kick-Ass comic-book series, tells the uninitiated everything they need to know about the franchise’s controversy-courting mastermind. A savvy huckster provocateur, blessed with Jerry Bruckheimer’s blockbuster instincts and Bret Easton Ellis’ gift for pissing people off, Millar has conquered the cape-and-cowl industry by putting "edgy," attention-grabbing spins on superhero mythos. This second adaptation of his flagship title pulls back a little on the showy repugnance of its source material; the unsavory scene described above, for example, ends with a performance-anxiety joke instead of a rape. Yet even with its edges sanded down, Kick-Ass 2 is unmistakably Millaresque—a juvenile comedy of excess, in which skewering adolescent power fantasies looks an awful lot like indulging in them.

As before, the diamond in the rough is Chloë Grace Moretz, reprising the role of foul-mouthed, adolescent vigilante Hit Girl. Determined to honor her father’s dying wishes, the orphaned avenger hangs up her mask and blades, turning to face the equally daunting obstacles of high-school. (Her rivalry with the mean girls culminates in a quintessentially Millar money shot.) Left to clean up the streets alone, the titular everyhero (Aaron Taylor-Johnson, bland as ever) falls in with a motley crew of fellow costumed civilians, led by a born-again bruiser (Jim Carrey, on movie-star duty in Nicolas Cage’s absence.) On the other end of the good-to-evil divide is Christopher Mintz-Plasse, still hurt about the way Kick-Ass blew his mobster father up with a bazooka. Slipping into black-leather bondage gear, he reinvents himself as the world’s first supervillain **** and begins assembling an army of thugs. The film can’t seem to decide if his character is a joke or a genuine threat, and that’s a pity because there are hints of actual menace in Mintz-Plasse’s volcanic hissy fits.

Like most second chapters in comic-book series, Kick-Ass 2 is better than its predecessor, though there was really no place to go but up. New writer-director Jeff Wadlow (Never Back Down) handles the jarring shifts from vulgar banter to Peter Parkerish hand-wringing to blood-spurting carnage no better than Matthew Vaughn did. The tonal schizophrenia extends to the film’s world, which is meant to be realistic—note the references to Twitter and viral videos, as well as a focus on the medical consequences of playing hero—but often feels as cartoonishly outsize as Joel Schumacher’s Gotham. Building to a deeply underwhelming battle royale, Kick-Ass 2 stumbles every once in a while, as if by accident, into a poignant moment. There’s something oddly endearing, for instance, about the scene in which every member of the amateur Justice League runs through his or her traumatic backstory. And then there’s Moretz, whose character is suddenly afflicted with the inconvenient emergence of hormonal desire. The actress once again makes the most of her part—though not even Hit Girl could overcome the awfulness of Millar-approved mouthfuls like “I’m gonna go Saudi Arabia on your ass.”
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
PStakhivAug 19, 2013
Jeff Wadlow decided to take a different approach than the first Kick-Ass, and he made a terrible mistake. The dialog in this movie an absolute disaster, plot is stupid, action & acting is alright. There are couple of funny joke, which isn'tJeff Wadlow decided to take a different approach than the first Kick-Ass, and he made a terrible mistake. The dialog in this movie an absolute disaster, plot is stupid, action & acting is alright. There are couple of funny joke, which isn't enough. Also unnecessary violance all over the place. So, it's a huge disappointment Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
6
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
Kicks nearly as much ass as it's predecessor, but isn't quite as original. What makes it worth the watch is what made the first one good, great fight scenes and dark humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
A7sus4Aug 18, 2013
I loved the first one, it was way better than I ever would've imagined. This one however lived up to how crummy I thought the first one would be. I'm not much for reviews and long winded opinions so I'll simply say that it was a poorlyI loved the first one, it was way better than I ever would've imagined. This one however lived up to how crummy I thought the first one would be. I'm not much for reviews and long winded opinions so I'll simply say that it was a poorly written and uninspired movie that failed to carry any of the genuine humanity established in the first episode. Disappointing. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
Nobilis1984Aug 25, 2013
A film in the category "Unnecessary continuations".
The actors carry the lousy film on her slender shoulders and have to resist the bad script and the story grottigen. But they lose the fight and try to save even one of the worst films of
A film in the category "Unnecessary continuations".
The actors carry the lousy film on her slender shoulders and have to resist the bad script and the story grottigen. But they lose the fight and try to save even one of the worst films of the year.
Mission failed.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jlplattenAug 17, 2013
I love the first Kick Ass, and even though this sequel wasn't as good, Kick Ass 2 was still a very entertaining movie. I would say the biggest downfall was that the director completely missed the heart of the original. However, the action wasI love the first Kick Ass, and even though this sequel wasn't as good, Kick Ass 2 was still a very entertaining movie. I would say the biggest downfall was that the director completely missed the heart of the original. However, the action was great, and the humor just as good. I really liked all the new characters in this film, because each was unique and brought a different perspective on vigilante super heroism. Of course, Hit Girl was the best part, but I would disagree with many that she was the only good part. If you are a fan of the first, I guarantee that you'll like this one. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
a7xfanAug 16, 2013
Kick-Ass 2 was definitely a film for the fans, if you aren't familiar with the Kick-Ass series then this movie wouldn't be for you. Having said that I am a fan of the comics and this movie was awesome. The fight scenes were crazy and Hit-GirlKick-Ass 2 was definitely a film for the fans, if you aren't familiar with the Kick-Ass series then this movie wouldn't be for you. Having said that I am a fan of the comics and this movie was awesome. The fight scenes were crazy and Hit-Girl always runs the show. I hate that the critic scores are low but I honestly kind of figured they would be and I see why they made it so low, to a film's core this film wouldn't be looked at as a masterpiece, and they couldn't exactly retain the same shock factor the first one had because Hit-Girl was only 11 or 12 years old in it. But all things aside this was a pretty entertaining film and I think most people would really enjoy it. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
7
RtheomAug 16, 2013
I enjoyed this movie, but I was also disappointed in it. It was good, acting was great, effects good, story okay, but it just didn't meet the magic of the first one. Where the first one was a completely unexpected anti-hero story, thisI enjoyed this movie, but I was also disappointed in it. It was good, acting was great, effects good, story okay, but it just didn't meet the magic of the first one. Where the first one was a completely unexpected anti-hero story, this actually turned out to be mostly cliche and lacking in originality. It felt like what the first Kick Ass would have been had a producer gotten hold of the script before it went to production. Unfortunately, I think that is what happened here.

An enjoyable movie and one worth seeing in the theater, but nowhere near as good as the original.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
6
GuillermoBMJan 12, 2015
Summary: Kick-Ass 2 is not as genuine as its predecessor, but it's still entertaining, violent and funny. 61/100 [C+]

Kick-Ass 2 is a comedy/action film directed by Jeff Wadlow. It was one of my most anticipated films of 2013. I'm a huge
Summary: Kick-Ass 2 is not as genuine as its predecessor, but it's still entertaining, violent and funny. 61/100 [C+]

Kick-Ass 2 is a comedy/action film directed by Jeff Wadlow. It was one of my most anticipated films of 2013. I'm a huge fan of the first one. This sequel is not as epic as its predecessor but I enjoyed it for the most part, it was entertaining and hilarious. The laughs are constant and the action sequences are thrilling enough. It delivers a satisfying balance between black humor and action. The cast is good as always, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Chloe Grace-Moretz and Christopher Mintz-Plasse did an amazing job. Olga Kurkulina was awesome too, she's an Israeli actress and her character "Mother Russia" is one of my favorites. It also boasts an impressive ending, wide open for a sequel.

Jim Carrey was outstanding too, his performance was quite enjoyable, although it would have been awesome if he were a main character in the film. On the downside, it has way too much CGI on its action sequences, some effects are kinda laughable and crappy; also, there's a huge lack of the cast of the first installment. So, in conclusion Kick-Ass 2 is not as good as its predecessor but it's still entertaining, bloody and the new characters are likable. It is a decent sequel, but it could be so much better. I recommend it if you liked the tone of the first film, this second one delivers more large amounts of black humor, violence and profanity. It's just a pop corn flick, do not expect a masterpiece. [C+]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
film_bugSep 2, 2013
While it was hard to ignore some of the cheesy lines, this movie managed to capture my attention the whole way. What a great cast. It was an all-round hilarious movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Jack_SunshineSep 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awash in a summer of sequels and comic book movies comes Kick-Ass 2, sequel to the well received cult classic of three years ago. But where Man of Steel or The Wolverine take themselves seriously Kick-Ass offers something of a deconstruction of the superhero genre, whilst fulfilling every comic book fan's fantasy of donning a costume and taking to the streets.

The vast majority of the cast return, Aaron Taylor-Johnson topping the bill as Kick-Ass himself, though looking a little too old to play a high school senior. Though he ostensibly holds the title role, Kick-Ass takes a back seat to the continuing development of breakout character Hit Girl (Chloë Grace Moretz), who after vowing to hang up the cape after her father's death, must now become plain old Mindy MacReady and deal with the trials and tribulations of puberty and fitting in at high school.

Christopher Mintz-Plasse, returns as Chris D'Amico, who is pushed over the edge fairly quickly, first by the death of his mother, who meets her demise in a manner more befitting a Final Destination film than a supposedly light-hearted superhero flick. But that's not really what Kick-Ass is. It's lewd, crude, and graphically violent, and the worst is still ahead. There's something disturbing about a teenager dressing up in his deceased mother's bondage gear, especially considering the moniker he swiftly adopts. It's all played for laughs, of course, but perhaps it highlights just how unhinged and lost the character has become.

The next ultimatum is delivered by D'Amico's Uncle Ralph, who has become the new head of the crime family. Still in prison, he steals his only scene with all the ruthlessness of The Sopranos' Richie Aprile. In retaliation, D'Amico ups his game, using his financial status to hire a motley crew of mercenaries: MMA fighters, Triads, and ex-KGB. D'Amico gives new monikers to his villainous team: a series of racist stereotypes which he defends as "archetypes".

The protagonists are likable, and you are concerned for their survival, but the butchering of otherwise despicable goons is grim enough to stay the unconditional rooting for the good guys. The brutal massacre of ten New York police officers by a six foot Russian cannibal was particularly unpleasant. I'm not sure anyone in the cinema was laughing along with the comically fast paced Russian national anthem that played throughout. This is not an abject condemnation of violence in film. Tarantino's great, it's easy to sit through Django Unchained or Pulp Fiction, and many a plot has been moved forward when the death of a character ups the ante. There was just something about this film's attitude that did not resonate.

This is all true to the source material, and the comics go much further in the sadistic displays committed by some characters. The comic is sold on the back of sickening violence and crude language, and that's just the way the fans like it. They've even complained that the original story's integrity has been diminished by these omissions.

The narrative is split between the three leads, and Kick-Ass, looking to get back on the streets, joins a league of superheroes calling themselves "Justice Forever". They are led by Colonel Stars & Stripes, in a fantastic turn by Jim Carrey. Unfortunately, the film suffers from a character dump at this point in the form of the bland members of "Justice Forever", all of whom are utterly eclipsed by Carrey.

Hit Girl spends most of her arc locked in a generic high school movie. Treading the water at a saccharine slumber party, popular queen Brooke at first takes Mindy under her wing; exposing her to the heady delights of British pop music. The tide swiftly turns when a nervous Mindy uses her Hit Girl skills to unintentionally upstage Brooke at a dance try out, resulting in a disproportionate retribution of soul destroying (for a teenage girl) proportions. Brooke is treated to a crude comeuppance that seems weirdly out of place. Yet this high school coming of age story, whilst reasonably well crafted on its own, seems like small potatoes compared to the extremity of the other challenges faced, and is diminished as a result.

I'm not a huge follower of comic books in general, but I enjoy the aesthetic, and in this, Kick-Ass holds true, with its bright colours, fast paced action, and satisfyingly euphoric soundtrack. Scene changes are greeted with comic book style panel inserts ("Later that day…") and a scene involving a Chinese prostitution ring is cleverly subtitled using speech bubbles.

Perhaps I misunderstand the appeal of Kick-Ass. Maybe I do, and it's just not for me. The original, violent and thoroughly enjoyable film stirred none of these sentiments. You can't expect two films called Kill Bill to end without someone called Bill biting the bullet, and you can't expect to watch a film called Kick-Ass (or even Kick-Ass 2) without some asses getting kicked.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
shpostalAug 18, 2013
Most movie goers are leery of sequels, and with good reason. Hollywood tries to take the easy route when a movie becomes a hit especially these comic book hero types, and while it attempts to recreate the freshness and wit of theMost movie goers are leery of sequels, and with good reason. Hollywood tries to take the easy route when a movie becomes a hit especially these comic book hero types, and while it attempts to recreate the freshness and wit of the original, Kick Ass 2 just doesn't get it done.
The film's strong suit is Chloe Moretz, the adorable actress who plays Mindy McCready aka Hit Girl. There are a few scenes of more normal teen age behavior where she can pull at your heart strings, especially at the hands of a particulary vicious popular girl.
I predict good things for Moretz in the future. The rest however is a mixed bag that has a very irritating super villain who calls himself which is more pointless than offensive. His lisp, whether intentional or not is very annoying.
Jim Carrey has a relatively small role as a former mob hit man who finds Jesus and trains the good guy bunch led by Kick Ass. Even his presence is downplayed, and he doesn't have a huge role.
While I didn't miss the message of superheroes being just regular brave folk doing what's right, Kick Ass falls on its ass due to cliche after cliche and gratuitous violence meant to give it an edge, but in this case is used to try to give the film some extra oomph if you will. Sorry. This is another clunker in a summer season full of unusually disappointing movies.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
LelandskellDec 23, 2013
Kick-Ass 2. The sequel to my favorite movie, Kick-Ass. Although Kick-Ass is tied with Donnie Darko. Anyways, Kick-Ass2, I expected some great things from this movie, because of how good the first movie was, but, Matthew Vaughn did not returnKick-Ass 2. The sequel to my favorite movie, Kick-Ass. Although Kick-Ass is tied with Donnie Darko. Anyways, Kick-Ass2, I expected some great things from this movie, because of how good the first movie was, but, Matthew Vaughn did not return to direct, but, he was a producer. This was a bit concerning, as I noticed that the new director was none other then Jeff Wadlow, who directed Never Back Down and Cry Wolf, both of which were pretty bad. There were more positives than negatives in this movie. I liked how they developed the relationship between Dave and Mindy, plus the introduction of 'The Motherf*cker' and 'Coronel Stars and Stripes' was pretty cool. Although this movie seemed a bit dumbed down, and much like 2 Fast 2 Furious, it feels as if they tried to do too much at once. Developing many characters and side events in a fairly short amount of time, leaving you out of breath trying to analyze everything that is happening. The main problem with this movie is that much of the comedy was replaced with profane and unnecessary violence, that takes away from the original vibe of the first movie. This seems to have been done for shock value, when really it is just gratuitous and unsettling, it is kind of a buzz kill actually. In the end, this movie was a decent sequel, that fell short from the original, but was still enjoyable, 7/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
xolveJun 17, 2014
A light-hearted comedic romp into the pseudo-super-hero genre that quickly descends into torture-porn at an alarming rate. Anybody who is this desensitised to violence to find this funny should take a serious look at their life and make changes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FedelcaJan 5, 2014
La primera entrega de Kick-Ass fue muy entretenida, uno de esos proyectos que se quedan contigo y te sientes identificado por su alta gama de personajes cómicos y además es muy divertida. A todas esas personas que han sentido lo mismo que yoLa primera entrega de Kick-Ass fue muy entretenida, uno de esos proyectos que se quedan contigo y te sientes identificado por su alta gama de personajes cómicos y además es muy divertida. A todas esas personas que han sentido lo mismo que yo les digo: Ni se les ocurra ver esta segunda parte porque quedarán muy decepcionados. Está bien; lo grotesco, la violencia intensa, los personajes graciosos, los diálogos que daban risa, directamente, todo a la basura, ésta vez Kick-Ass no pudo justificar su contenido, estoy consiente que, ni siquiera Hit Girl podría salvar esta película de su atroz destino. Una decepción Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
UltimateBubFeb 10, 2015
I have mixed feelings about "Kick-Ass 2". The film doesn't hold up as well as its predecessor, for example. The action is OK I guess, but the plot is just really weird. Maybe the story isn't the problem: the execution is. The humor is again,I have mixed feelings about "Kick-Ass 2". The film doesn't hold up as well as its predecessor, for example. The action is OK I guess, but the plot is just really weird. Maybe the story isn't the problem: the execution is. The humor is again, really weird: you don't know whether to laugh or look away in disgrace. The cast is pretty fine, but some of the many, many new characters are just unnecessary and/or boring. Or stupider. "Kick-Ass 2" is not the kind of movie you hate, more like the movie you just don't watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aznassassinOct 6, 2013
A highly solid sequel that tops the original in every way and form. The action is satisfying, the humour is timed well, the plot flows well and the violence hit the sweet spot between strong and sadistic. High recommended even if you didn'tA highly solid sequel that tops the original in every way and form. The action is satisfying, the humour is timed well, the plot flows well and the violence hit the sweet spot between strong and sadistic. High recommended even if you didn't really have a thing for the first movie. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LTRAug 16, 2013
This movie is AMAZING!The story is great,the characters are funny and in some points very serious.If you want to have a movie that has ll in one package,watch this movie.
26 of 43 users found this helpful2617
All this user's reviews
10
Gamer147Oct 11, 2014
Not even going to pretend the pretentious so-called 'critic reviews' are worth even a small particle of my attention. They suck huge monkey balls, and that's just that. This movie is by far one of the greatest movies I've seen the entireNot even going to pretend the pretentious so-called 'critic reviews' are worth even a small particle of my attention. They suck huge monkey balls, and that's just that. This movie is by far one of the greatest movies I've seen the entire year, comes real close to the first. Which leads me to think, if you liked the first, you'll love the second. Go for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
George-rootsAug 26, 2013
After watching "Kick-Ass 2", you begin to realize how much this franchise is making it's own rules, deviating from source material isn't necessary uncommon traits in superhero flicks, but for as silly as this franchise gets I'm still having aAfter watching "Kick-Ass 2", you begin to realize how much this franchise is making it's own rules, deviating from source material isn't necessary uncommon traits in superhero flicks, but for as silly as this franchise gets I'm still having a very fun time.

One of the biggest so on so charms, coming back to this series, is to see how these actors careers have flourished extraordinary well in such a short 3 years and how much that shows no one else really could play these characters. With the addition of Jim Carrey perfectly casted, all these heavy hitters really come back and hit hard in their own kooky style.

Serious themes of revenge came across wonderfully cartoonish, the violence really pushed the 15 rating to its limit, to an extent where I would say beware who "should" see this, but thankfully it never gets to the level of violence in its comic counterpart.

All in all I really enjoyed it, it's hard to go to such serious depth with these kinds of movies, and I really wish not to write a list trying to justify violence, or what makes this a superior sequel, something ultimately just works.

Final Verdict: It's not high art, It's not utter garbage, It's just very self aware comic fun, and that isn't exactly a bad thing, If that's what you're after your in for a treat 8/10.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
JunghovaAug 18, 2013
Not a perfect movie by any means, but it was still good. Pros: Kickass and Hit Girl were both just as good, if not better than the first movie; action was good, Christopher Mintz-Plasse was great as MF. Cons: iffy script issues (like TaylorNot a perfect movie by any means, but it was still good. Pros: Kickass and Hit Girl were both just as good, if not better than the first movie; action was good, Christopher Mintz-Plasse was great as MF. Cons: iffy script issues (like Taylor suddenly knows who Kickass is and is then suiting up only "main villain" to get any real screen time was Mother Russia (the other villains got next to no screen time, let alone any lines). Despite the cons, the movie turned out much better than I feared. If you like the first Kickass, there is no doubt you will enjoy this one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ninja_dolphinAug 16, 2013
If you enjoyed the first film then don't hesitate to see this one. It is filled with the same profanity and hyper violence as the original. The humor is still there even if it's even darker than the original and there are a few scenes thatIf you enjoyed the first film then don't hesitate to see this one. It is filled with the same profanity and hyper violence as the original. The humor is still there even if it's even darker than the original and there are a few scenes that can be seen to be in bad taste if you take the movie too seriously. Overall it's a worthy sequel that has fantastic performances from the majority of actors with Jim Carrey and Christopher Mintz-Plasse standing out in particular. If you liked the first film then there is no reason why you wouldn't enjoy this one to so give it a try! Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
7
ElucidateDec 13, 2013
Although it doesn't quite match up to the original Kick Ass, this sequel still keeps an excellent mix of action, bloody violence, and humour. What needs to be realised is that Kick Ass 2 is meant to be a fun movie more than a drama, althoughAlthough it doesn't quite match up to the original Kick Ass, this sequel still keeps an excellent mix of action, bloody violence, and humour. What needs to be realised is that Kick Ass 2 is meant to be a fun movie more than a drama, although some of the lines are quite inexcusable... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DuffladAug 19, 2013
If you were a fan of the comicbook series, be aware of the fact that the violence is not as prevalent in the film translation, also there's a mildly awkward love story between two characters.

If you were a fan of the first film SEE THIS
If you were a fan of the comicbook series, be aware of the fact that the violence is not as prevalent in the film translation, also there's a mildly awkward love story between two characters.

If you were a fan of the first film SEE THIS ONE. I wasn't a fan of the first one, and all the issues I had with the first one were pretty much fixed in the second. My friends that liked the first one left being happy with the film.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
McLaughlinViewsAug 17, 2013
Kick-Ass 2, even though not as good as the original was still a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I was worried that perhaps without Mathew Vaughn in the directing chair it wouldn't feel like a Kick-Ass movie. I'm glad to say I was wrong, JeffKick-Ass 2, even though not as good as the original was still a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I was worried that perhaps without Mathew Vaughn in the directing chair it wouldn't feel like a Kick-Ass movie. I'm glad to say I was wrong, Jeff Waldow did a very good job in creating this highly anticipated sequel. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the delicate side to Hit-Girl and her going through the vulnerable side at being a teenager. Moretz gives another fantastic performance, in this series just as she gives a great performance in all her movies. Aaron Taylor-Johnson slips back into his role easily as does Christopher Mintz-Plasse who is hilarious in this film as well. Carrey is almost unrecognizable in this production which is good because I feel he was no longer playing yet another version of himself as he has been doing lately but I real character who you actually feel for. All in all this was a great follow up to Kick-Ass, I wouldn't mind if they made enough, but then I'd be satisfied with this ending. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
jetstarAug 19, 2013
The first Kick-Ass told the story of what will happen if you choose to put on a costume and fight crime, it was a realistic version of a superhero story and those were the reasons why I loved the first Kick-Ass. So I was really excited forThe first Kick-Ass told the story of what will happen if you choose to put on a costume and fight crime, it was a realistic version of a superhero story and those were the reasons why I loved the first Kick-Ass. So I was really excited for the sequel, the movie was really good but don't expect it to be better than it's predecessor. The shows that Kick-Ass and Hit-Girl have started a revolution, there were a lot of superheroes popping out and some of those heroes, are joining the team that was formed by Jim Carrey's character. Kick-Ass joins his team and they started to clean the streets but unfortunately Christopher-Mintz-Plasse is still pissed at Kick-ass for what he did to his dad and decides to create his own army. Aaron Johnson is still good at playing his character and he was also good with the dramatic scenes. Jim Carrey was good as well even though he didn't like this movie but he should be proud of himself for playing an awesome character. Christoper-Mintz-Plasse was also good on playing the villain, but the one that always steals the show like with the first movie is Chloe Moretz. She was really good on the dramatic and action sequences and she always steals the show in every scene that she's in. The action scenes were good but some overused shakey cam and I still don't know why they used that thing. The movie was a bit rushed and that's why some dramatic scenes didn't work for me. Kick-Ass 2 was still a good movie but not better than the first one, I am going to give Kick-Ass 2 a 9/10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
TheRyanMcNeilAug 29, 2013
The original Kick-Ass was new, funny and original. Kick-Ass 2 is the same old stuff from the first one. Boring and to be honest, not that funny. It seems as if the writers ran out of material and just decided to kill everyone. It'sThe original Kick-Ass was new, funny and original. Kick-Ass 2 is the same old stuff from the first one. Boring and to be honest, not that funny. It seems as if the writers ran out of material and just decided to kill everyone. It's predictable and a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JekSpaceyMay 3, 2014
Like many, I was not convinced of the commercial gimmick to make a sequel to Kick-Ass , given that the director had been entrusted to Jeff Wadlow ( director of the abomination of Never Back Down ) and that the original was already a perfectLike many, I was not convinced of the commercial gimmick to make a sequel to Kick-Ass , given that the director had been entrusted to Jeff Wadlow ( director of the abomination of Never Back Down ) and that the original was already a perfect movie , without the need for any sequel.
I am , therefore, entered the room with no expectations relatively high, but while watching I had to change my mind widely .
Jeff Wadlow was able to direct a film by the incredible pace, but especially from the script fresh , modern , one with a few bumps here and there, but also with a truly enviable lightness trash .
 I am still faithful to the first chapter , which primarily on a technical level can not be higher than that , but I find it completely unfair to criticize Kick-Ass 2 only for its flaws (which are not even many) , and completely neglecting its positives .
Surely the most unjust and ignorant criticism that is moved is that concerning the use of violence , given free of charge.
Yes, because in the film are beaten only innocent people , not rapists or criminals who deserve all the evil of this world.
Maybe I can share the criticism made director of Wadlow , but I find it unfair , however , it certainly is not Vaughn, but you have to admit that the action scenes are shot and battles with a good degree of accuracy without too much fuss .
In my opinion the only flaws are the beginning of the film a bit ' too hectic , and some passages of the script, which is still very well developed . I would have also liked a more complete characterization of some characters, among them the Colonel Stars and Stripes, who has a background too skimpy and too short a stay . The work done by Jim Carrey was still great , as well as from the rest of the cast, from Aaron Johnson until you get to Chloe Moretz, who at times seems to be the real protagonist of the film.
In conclusion , the first Kick-Ass remains inviolate , but this sequel is definitely not to be underestimated.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
idohakerAug 20, 2013
the movie is funny as hell, I never see so people laughing every second, me and my friends laughed all the movie, the movie isn't an improvement from the first one in story sure. but the so many funny part,
the great characters and the
the movie is funny as hell, I never see so people laughing every second, me and my friends laughed all the movie, the movie isn't an improvement from the first one in story sure. but the so many funny part,
the great characters and the action parts making this movie very good. so suck the critics go and see this movies, ohhhhhhh and yes you got dog on your bolas. lol you will understand it when you will see the movie
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
BWETMatangiAug 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was pretty good, but it showed unnecessary violence. A Russian she-male lawnmows a guys head off. That's pretty violent. Lots of cussing. It's not that funny, either. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
jacobmmmcccDec 22, 2013
good movie. its funny and violent and the story is cool. It is not as good as the first one but it is still really good. if you liked kick ass 1 you will probably like kick ass 2
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Stabs_with_PudzApr 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first one was awesome and funny while still acting seriously, it was really unique in terms of its premise, script and soundtrack and the fact that some of the stuff managed to shock so many people, it had great acting and really awesome action scenes, even if it had a low budget it rarely showed it. You go from that to Kick Ass 2 where it borrows from everything other movie, there is not as much gore, the acting of almost everyone was laughable - talking to you Christopher Mintz Plasse, the soundtrack was pretty lame compared to the first movie, the action sequences were average at best (mostly just boring full shots of everyone with a lot of camera shake added for "intensity"), the fact that the writing is so stupid and all over the place, any new characters added seemed to turn into stereotypes (Brooke and co' turn into the typical Queen Bees to the point of ridiculousness), and the characters from the first movie get completely changed (for the worst) Dave goes from a typical comic book nerd to a knobjock douchebag, Mindy has completely softened in terms of viciousness (say goodbye to the sadistic little girl from the 1st movie), Katie, the really nice supporting girlfriend suddenly does a face heel turn and turns into a psychotic **** and Todd (who was recast) goes from the quiet kind of dumb guy to an extremely stupid, perverted creep. And I would like to add that with the exact same budget of the first movie, the second one felt like B grade direct to dvd flick all the way through. Lazy, lazy, LAZY film making.
Why does this happen? I really hope they tell Jeff Wadlow to get the **** out of the Director's chair for the next one (if there is one).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CantandresJul 31, 2015
This movie, while an entertaining piece of mind candy, is inferior to the first Kick ass movie. While Aaron Taylor Johnson, Chloe Grace Moretz and the rest of a good cast try valiantly to make this movie go, no actor in the world couldThis movie, while an entertaining piece of mind candy, is inferior to the first Kick ass movie. While Aaron Taylor Johnson, Chloe Grace Moretz and the rest of a good cast try valiantly to make this movie go, no actor in the world could overcome the dialogue given them.
Both Moretz, and Johnson are fine actors and both are terrific in the scenes involving their athleticism, both seemed lost in the trite lines given them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adrenilinmattAug 16, 2013
Guys, this is one of those movies with which you have to see it yourself to see why the critics are just being stupid. It happened with man of steel earlier in the year. The user scores where far better than the critic scores. This is becauseGuys, this is one of those movies with which you have to see it yourself to see why the critics are just being stupid. It happened with man of steel earlier in the year. The user scores where far better than the critic scores. This is because we seem to know more what to look for in a movie these days. My faith in critics has died. I only ever judge a movie after I see it for myself. And kick ass 2 is fantastic. Of course, it was never quite gunna be the movie the original kick ass was, but it left me with the same grin on my face and uplifted feeling in my gut. Go see this movie. It is better than you think. I guarantee it. Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
8
CharlieBrown8Sep 9, 2013
Not sure why the critics bash this movie so much. Of course it lacked the awesome surprise element of the first movie, but it was a consequential evolution of the story line, hit girl was still awesome, and I was greatly entertained!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BUTCHYPIEAug 21, 2013
Fun popcorn film. Not necessarily as good as the first Kick Ass, but that was a hella-good movie and hard to equal.

Well worth the ticket price and a good time.

Wish they would have shown that photo of Nick Cage a few more times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MB1097Sep 18, 2013
In a continued exploration of ultra violence and cartoon emotion, Kick Ass 2 leaps into action without a full sense of self awareness. Never fear, though. It manages to find itself in the second half. There's not much in the way of surprise,In a continued exploration of ultra violence and cartoon emotion, Kick Ass 2 leaps into action without a full sense of self awareness. Never fear, though. It manages to find itself in the second half. There's not much in the way of surprise, but you if the first film did it for you, this one has the same elements in spades. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
njkkAug 31, 2013
For a movie called kick ass, it is pretty average. The reason why it is average is because very large sections of the movie are taken up by trivial teenage/family/friend issues and it is kind of slow and boring. In addition, this kind ofFor a movie called kick ass, it is pretty average. The reason why it is average is because very large sections of the movie are taken up by trivial teenage/family/friend issues and it is kind of slow and boring. In addition, this kind of leads to a lack of action scenes and it does not necessarily help define the villains in the film either. What I liked about the movie were the scenes involving the justice forever team and Jim Carrey added a lot to that as well. In conclusion, there are things to like about this movie, but there are too many unnecessary slow parts (no action) and it is why it is difficult to say that this movie is kick ass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JoseloSep 11, 2013
La vibra del universo de la primera parte de esta aventura se perdió y se convirtió en una cuestión muy comercial y genérica. Por tal razón, es que al mismo tiempo le reconozco al director y escritor su conocimiento en cuanto al fluido delLa vibra del universo de la primera parte de esta aventura se perdió y se convirtió en una cuestión muy comercial y genérica. Por tal razón, es que al mismo tiempo le reconozco al director y escritor su conocimiento en cuanto al fluido del mercado de esta industria. Y es que lo comercial a la mayoría de las personas le agrada, pero hay que entender que es un acto poco original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Paulo_JorgeDec 9, 2013
I think some people don't know the style of Kick Ass and think that the movie it's so action, action and action, but in Kick Ass 2 you have a "bonus" of the first Kick-Ass, it's a very good continuation, the movie continue the story veryI think some people don't know the style of Kick Ass and think that the movie it's so action, action and action, but in Kick Ass 2 you have a "bonus" of the first Kick-Ass, it's a very good continuation, the movie continue the story very well, but in Kick-Ass style, ahh, one thing that is important, Chloe Moretz ;D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Beast73Aug 21, 2013
I thought the first Kick ass film was good.

Kick ass 2 is much better, its funny, heartbreaking, serious, violent and has lots of new characters. I cant remember the last time i enjoyed a film as much as this. I was humming with
I thought the first Kick ass film was good.

Kick ass 2 is much better, its funny, heartbreaking, serious, violent and has lots of new characters. I cant remember the last time i enjoyed a film as much as this.

I was humming with laughter for the first half then had tears in my eyes for the second half which is more serious. This film is great entertainment, it thrilled me, it excited me, it made me laugh and it made me cry with laughter and in genuine heartfelt grief.

Note: i watched it on a 15 certificate in the UK, this film should be an 18.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
LagamedogAug 17, 2013
This movie was better then expected. I expected this movie to have more bad words in it but in the movie they tried to stop saying those words in the movie The transitions we're like comic transitions. The only bad part about this movie wouldThis movie was better then expected. I expected this movie to have more bad words in it but in the movie they tried to stop saying those words in the movie The transitions we're like comic transitions. The only bad part about this movie would have to be the violence. There was a lot more violence then the first movie. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
solecookie18Oct 18, 2013
This is as real as a superhero movie can get, this is freaking awesome and I can't wait to see hit-girl and kick ass in part 3. It's time to end the series on a high note.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CheapSeatsJan 15, 2014
Kick-Ass 2 is an insane, fun ride, even if it doesn't compare to the original, this one lacking shock value. The performances are decent, the stand-out being Chloe Grace Moretz who is one of the best young actresses working in the industryKick-Ass 2 is an insane, fun ride, even if it doesn't compare to the original, this one lacking shock value. The performances are decent, the stand-out being Chloe Grace Moretz who is one of the best young actresses working in the industry today, and the story is fun. It's easy to have a great time at Kick-Ass 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rushmasterAug 18, 2013
A very entertaining movie, that holds up well after the first one. It delivers all of the same things we love about the first one and a few new things as well. Very good movie.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
ilovemovieSep 19, 2013
why is this got so many low rating on both rotten tomatoes and metacritic it's entertaining from start to finish the only problem is the shaky cam and the one liners ain't as good as the processor but other then that just a reallywhy is this got so many low rating on both rotten tomatoes and metacritic it's entertaining from start to finish the only problem is the shaky cam and the one liners ain't as good as the processor but other then that just a really entertaining summer film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RandallAudrainAug 18, 2013
One of the worst sequels of the past decade.Absolutely atrocious. Jeff Wadlow doesn't do anything even half as well as Matthew Vaughn. Anyone who actually enjoyed this "film" doesn't know anything about quality cinema.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
GFCAug 21, 2013
This movie was fantastic! I was a huge fan of the first Kick-Ass movie and when I first heard the rumors of Kick-Ass 2 Balls To the Wall I was excited. The acting was great especially from The Kick-Ass himself seems like a better hero thanThis movie was fantastic! I was a huge fan of the first Kick-Ass movie and when I first heard the rumors of Kick-Ass 2 Balls To the Wall I was excited. The acting was great especially from The Kick-Ass himself seems like a better hero than he ever was before and Hit Girl is still a bad ass. Jim Carreys performance was great but he wasn't in the movie enough. I'd say he had twenty minutes of screen time which was a big disappointment. A big problem with this movie is that they entered so many new characters but they never had any character progression. But even with that you don't even notice it.

Just a quick message I would like to see the final Kick-Ass movie come out so please support the movie by buying it instead of pirating it online.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
BirdshtAug 27, 2013
The attack of the hollywood sequel strikes again. Not sure if it was blind luck the first time around but I have watched the original a dozen times. One of my favorite movies. Kick Ass 2 is an absolute failure from beginning to end. How theyThe attack of the hollywood sequel strikes again. Not sure if it was blind luck the first time around but I have watched the original a dozen times. One of my favorite movies. Kick Ass 2 is an absolute failure from beginning to end. How they could sully the spirit of the first film with such a pathetic follow up is beyond me. The person who wrote this movie should never get work again. Not sure what all these glowing reviews are about. Starting to wonder if these are paid shill reviews. Noone could have possibly liked the movie that much. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Horsey007Aug 18, 2013
There are often times where a critics review can prove invaluable and times where the review bears no relation to the movie, the latter is very much the case with Kick Ass 2.
Kick Ass 2 follows directly on from where the last one left off,
There are often times where a critics review can prove invaluable and times where the review bears no relation to the movie, the latter is very much the case with Kick Ass 2.
Kick Ass 2 follows directly on from where the last one left off, both in tone and style, and delivers magnificently, the journey for kick ass to find his path in the world is both humorous and painful, and as in the original, there are many sacrifices to be made which gives the film a serious undertone and contrives to dispel the image that a superheroes life is one of glamour and giving the bad guy an easy whooping.
Again, kick ass shows that despite his much improved physique, he is still very much out of his league when it comes to taking on bad guys, but this is the charm of these movies, that the good guy is faced with the ridiculous situation of what to do when faced with criminals, he still has fear, he still takes a beating, but despite this, still believes he can change the world he lives in for the better, this sentiment is glaringly missed by critics who have completely overlooked the films whole take on the superhero genre.
At the end of the day, if you found the first film to be outstanding, then this movie will take you right back there, it will put you back in kick ass' shoes.
If of course you want to know what happen to Hit Girl, then you will not be disappointed, she has a greater role to play in kick ass' development as a character, while riding a very emotional roller coaster and having to make a choice of what world a 15 year old belongs in, but fear not, her skills have been finely honed and she is much more dangerous, but much more impressive teen, she makes Buffy the vampire slayer look like a complete novice, Chloe Moretz's character provides a lot of the over hyped violence seen in the movie with several spectacular set pieces in true Hit Girl style.
I almost took notice of the critics nonsense and stayed away, I am so happy I ignored the drivel they wrote and chose to believe that sequel befitting the original kick ass would be in the offing, I can only assume that many of the magazines/ web sites top critics had taken the day off, leaving the rabble and those keen to make a name for themselves were left in the office on review day, because I can find no fault with this movie on any level.
Lastly, special mention to Jim Carrey, despite his stance on the violence (he had his reasons which many can sympathise), his character was an integral part to kick ass' character arc, flipping the situation that kick ass arrived at and looking it at from a bad guy turned goods perspective, but still showing that no matter what your background, there is a price to pay in standing up and fighting for what's right.
I enjoyed this movie thoroughly, the right blend of comedy and serious undertone right throughout the movie makes kick ass 2 a resoundingly pleasing sequel.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
sonic4presidentNov 11, 2014
Just as good as the first film to be honest. Although this film feels a little rushed with some characters being hard to get attached to, I personally really like this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
zachary99May 16, 2016
the first film was good and then the second one just made it the best film ever it has an excellent story line and it brings in more people who were excellent and chloe grace moretz playing hit girl her role in the film is just good becausethe first film was good and then the second one just made it the best film ever it has an excellent story line and it brings in more people who were excellent and chloe grace moretz playing hit girl her role in the film is just good because she has a sense of humor witch is funny and one of the funniest parts of the film is when she is at school and zaps those girls to make them throw up and poo them self. so chloe grace moretz once again you have made an excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cFRESHlechnerSep 2, 2013
Half-ass 2 should be the name of this horrible sequel. A huge fan of Kick-Ass I went in with the lowest expectations possible off the crappy trailer. The only thing worth seeing this for is Jim Carey. His very limited screen time was the onlyHalf-ass 2 should be the name of this horrible sequel. A huge fan of Kick-Ass I went in with the lowest expectations possible off the crappy trailer. The only thing worth seeing this for is Jim Carey. His very limited screen time was the only thing that kept my interest. Steer clear of this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RakkulAug 27, 2013
I've noticed that in most cases, critics give poor scores to movies/games deserving good scores and they give good scores to movies/games deserving poor scores. Basically, whatever the critics say, expect the opposite. Kickass 2 was aI've noticed that in most cases, critics give poor scores to movies/games deserving good scores and they give good scores to movies/games deserving poor scores. Basically, whatever the critics say, expect the opposite. Kickass 2 was a brilliant successor to Kickass. It was the "good" wanna-be's vs the "bad" wanna-be's which is exactly what I was hoping it would be. The only thing that threw me off was the disappearance of Kickass' girlfriend. She was never really mentioned in this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
fungifeetAug 16, 2013
his film is a have to see. The critics are being utter retards. Watch it and decide for yourself. It definitely recaptures the feel of the first film and just is the perfect sequel.
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
0
TimeisCerealAug 17, 2013
Probably the year's second worst film other than GI Joe. The movie is filled with a stupid plot and even stupider dialogue, with every line trying to be a cheesy one liner. Cliche action scenes that are thrown in for no reason whatsoever makeProbably the year's second worst film other than GI Joe. The movie is filled with a stupid plot and even stupider dialogue, with every line trying to be a cheesy one liner. Cliche action scenes that are thrown in for no reason whatsoever make this a great movie for geeks with low attention spans. Obviously the audience will like this movie, as the audience never has any idea what the hell they are talking about. They want a movie that has no regard for realism, a movie where they can shut there brains off and zone out like a drunk 5 year old, and don't care about any sort of consistency. Bottom line, do yourself a favor and do not see this movie, and if you do see it, don't even trick yourself into liking it. You risk insulting your intelligence. Expand
7 of 29 users found this helpful722
All this user's reviews
10
Luisdark27Aug 19, 2013
This is a great movie, I like it so much, you people have to see this one. Is nothing wrong with this movie, is no the best movie of the year but is excting.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
zzirGrifSep 1, 2013
The sequel was never going to be as good as the original, but I didn't expected to be this flimsy and quite frankly embarrassing at times. Far too many inspirational speeches etc. and not enough genuinely cool moments, the kind that coveredThe sequel was never going to be as good as the original, but I didn't expected to be this flimsy and quite frankly embarrassing at times. Far too many inspirational speeches etc. and not enough genuinely cool moments, the kind that covered Kick-Ass 1 like a very welcome rash. A poor return to the series that has its moments, more bad than good, unfortunately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
arvintaylor138Feb 21, 2014
I think the movie loses the point on whether it wants to be serious or humorous. But even though it mixes a bit of both together, it still works and the movie is still very enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
IlovethemmoviesDec 31, 2013
Kick-Ass 2 packs a serious punch it is filled to the brim with action brings back childhood dreams of one day being a superhero with just a little bit more violence then a child would imagine. Anyway if you like batman type superheros watchKick-Ass 2 packs a serious punch it is filled to the brim with action brings back childhood dreams of one day being a superhero with just a little bit more violence then a child would imagine. Anyway if you like batman type superheros watch this movie. Unfortunately the script writers attempt at humor falls short of what you would from a movie titled Kick-Ass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cypheonuAug 21, 2013
no reason why critics should be bashing it this hard. just another man of steel. critics are seriously just stupid and bitter these days, you cant trust them anymore. just watch it for yourself so you can see what these idiots are talkingno reason why critics should be bashing it this hard. just another man of steel. critics are seriously just stupid and bitter these days, you cant trust them anymore. just watch it for yourself so you can see what these idiots are talking about.

the movie is great, not as good as the first one but still great, jim carrey outshines everyone when he's in a scene. when its bad, its really really bad (sickstick) but when its good, its awesome.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews