User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 846 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 846
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanK.
    Apr 18, 2010
    0
    The first half of this movie is great. It's very faithful to the comic, and sets everything up really well. The second half of the movie is an abomination. It completely ruins the point of the comic. It's supposed to be about what would happen if people dressed up as super heroes in the real world. Apparently the director got bored with this theme and decided he wanted to make The first half of this movie is great. It's very faithful to the comic, and sets everything up really well. The second half of the movie is an abomination. It completely ruins the point of the comic. It's supposed to be about what would happen if people dressed up as super heroes in the real world. Apparently the director got bored with this theme and decided he wanted to make an actual super hero movie, complete with magical jet packs with shoulder mounted chain-guns. If you've read the comic, stay far far away. If you haven't read the comic, you might enjoy this movie a little more. I suggest reading the comic instead though. It's much better. Expand
  2. TomasC.
    Apr 18, 2010
    0
    Wow, this movie really does not deliver on story or violence. I counted just a few minutes of action the rest was boring dialog. I don't know why this movie is rated so high, they seem to be scared of showing the violence. Every scene they cut the blood and limb's shown within a fraction of a second. Its like they want to be violent but don't at the same time. This movie is Wow, this movie really does not deliver on story or violence. I counted just a few minutes of action the rest was boring dialog. I don't know why this movie is rated so high, they seem to be scared of showing the violence. Every scene they cut the blood and limb's shown within a fraction of a second. Its like they want to be violent but don't at the same time. This movie is a terrible comic conversion and not only does it not make any sense it's attempts at being senseless come off as derivative and ultimately this movie is complete garbage. Collapse
  3. ScottV
    Apr 19, 2010
    3
    Is this a film about actual superheroes, like Batman and Daredevil, or ordinary mortals pretending to be superheroes? It's based on a Marvel Comic but it doesn't take place in the "Marvel Universe" where costumed superheroes are commonplace. No, it takes place in the actual world. That confusion aside, the worst part of this film (and what made it so unbelievable and tasteless) Is this a film about actual superheroes, like Batman and Daredevil, or ordinary mortals pretending to be superheroes? It's based on a Marvel Comic but it doesn't take place in the "Marvel Universe" where costumed superheroes are commonplace. No, it takes place in the actual world. That confusion aside, the worst part of this film (and what made it so unbelievable and tasteless) is that the most violent scenes are initiated by a foul-mouthed little girl. There's a scene where she enters an apartment full of drug dealers whom she impales with a sword, while dodging their advances with acrobatic stunts. Even worse than that, the audience learns that her father of all people trained her to do this. Towards the end of the film the little girl takes down dozens of armed men single-handedly, and you realize that it would be physically impossible for a little girl (let alone an adult) to do that. So do her impossible stunts prove that this is a superhero film, like Batman and Daredevil? If so, then it Expand
  4. JoshF
    Apr 20, 2010
    3
    What was Matthew Vaughn thinking???? Movie of the moment, which will be mocked and laughed about in the future.
  5. DanW
    Apr 17, 2010
    1
    This movie is not good. It first suggests that a *real* person can become a *real* superhero, then plays absolutely against that with over the top cartoon violence. It doesn't make any sense, and the fact that it involves children is morally questionable at best.
  6. PJ
    Apr 22, 2010
    1
    I am appalled this movie received a 66. This was the worst movie I have seen of all time. It's cheesy, boring, and hardly funny at all. Don't waste your money.
  7. JacobH.
    Apr 17, 2010
    2
    Sometimes flicks are just too damned schizophrenic. Kick-Ass is of those movies. It can't decide if it wants to be a biting satire or a celebration of movie-goers' unquenchable thirst for indiscriminate bloodshed. This results in a film that spends the first third of its story setting up a joke that is then dropped, on a dime, in favor of a second and third act filled with Sometimes flicks are just too damned schizophrenic. Kick-Ass is of those movies. It can't decide if it wants to be a biting satire or a celebration of movie-goers' unquenchable thirst for indiscriminate bloodshed. This results in a film that spends the first third of its story setting up a joke that is then dropped, on a dime, in favor of a second and third act filled with nothing but what the film seemed to want to hate. The Hit-Girl character is the most infuriating aspect of this flick. She kills without remorse, and spouts vulgarities as if she was fathered by Kevin Smith (a less talented Kevin Smith, that is), which is funny. The first time. But nothing is done with this. Nothing of substance analyzed. Nothing of importance poked or prodded at by this character. She is just there to be a tool of that aforementioned indiscriminate bloodshed. Something that wouldn't fly, and would be typically labeled as painfully cliche and pointless; but she is young! So that makes it fresh! And as such, Hollywood's continually deteriorating definition of 'fresh' is exposed once again. I am going to base my theory on what this film's tone was supposed to be upon what I was set-up for in the first act; a satire. This is never capitalized on. This is never even paid attention to. This movie wants so much to be Tarantino-esque. But it doesn't have the the substance, the knowledge, nor the talent to tread those waters, let alone try and dive in. But it did anyway, and was swept under in a heartbeat, ripped apart by whatever lied beneath. What drifts to shore is something so lost, hurt and confused that one's first reaction is to pity it. Then you remember it jumped in willingly. Expand
  8. ZackS
    Apr 19, 2010
    0
    The sad thing about this movie is that Nicholas Cage isn't even the worst thing about it. Think about that for a moment. There are things in this movie worse than Nicholas Cage.
  9. Bart
    Apr 22, 2010
    1
    The title should be changed so that the word "Kick" is replaced with the word "Sucks".
  10. benb
    Apr 23, 2010
    2
    Brief moments of interest amid a sea of dullness.
  11. RickS.
    May 25, 2010
    0
    This is the only movie I have ever gone to see in theaters and ever considered walking out on...Worst Movie I Have Ever Seen In My Life!!!
  12. JorgeA.
    Jun 14, 2010
    2
    Ok, that's a silly movie. Was expecting something bold since the premise is nice. But the execution is flat as a door. Nicolas Cage is ridiculous in the character, clearly under-acting. And the childs are just boring. There's no empathy, no boldness like I thought it would be, no nothing. Just a dry land that resembles something else. All the time. Sad. I had some expectations Ok, that's a silly movie. Was expecting something bold since the premise is nice. But the execution is flat as a door. Nicolas Cage is ridiculous in the character, clearly under-acting. And the childs are just boring. There's no empathy, no boldness like I thought it would be, no nothing. Just a dry land that resembles something else. All the time. Sad. I had some expectations on this one. Expand
  13. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    Unless you think people getting graphically killed is hilarious, and enjoy watching every woman in the movie extremely degraded then I would not recommend Kick-Ass. If I was with anybody other than my best friend I would have got up and walked out, especially if I was with my brother, because how humiliating would it be to sit there and watch some guy jerk off to his teacher acting likeUnless you think people getting graphically killed is hilarious, and enjoy watching every woman in the movie extremely degraded then I would not recommend Kick-Ass. If I was with anybody other than my best friend I would have got up and walked out, especially if I was with my brother, because how humiliating would it be to sit there and watch some guy jerk off to his teacher acting like she was out of a porn video. Watching an eleven year old sociopath murder people and the crowd laughing is not my idea of a good time. Not to mention it was homophobic. The teacher, the gang woman, the girlfriend and her friend, and the bad guys wife. I think thatâ Expand
  14. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    This movie starts off well enough, geeky kid gets crumpled up trying to play superhero, establishes this is the "Real World" we're supposed to be talking about, but then it goes downhill when super-human reflexes, shooting, and agility come in with "Hit girl" and Batm... "Big daddy". These two have some of the most uninspired character designs I've seen in a long time. They look likeThis movie starts off well enough, geeky kid gets crumpled up trying to play superhero, establishes this is the "Real World" we're supposed to be talking about, but then it goes downhill when super-human reflexes, shooting, and agility come in with "Hit girl" and Batm... "Big daddy". These two have some of the most uninspired character designs I've seen in a long time. They look like garbage that would come out of a super hero MMORPG's character creator. Batman clone and anime schoolgirl. This trash is not clever at all. I don't know about the comic this was based on, nor do I care. Had the movie stayed true to the 'real world' ruleset it establishes in the beginning, it may have been better, but it quickly descended into horrifyingly bad when a little girl was zipping around DODGING BULLETS and performing ridiculous kills that would be over the top and showy in any medium. What little attempts at humor present in this movie are vastly overshadowed by how disturbing the father daughter duo's relationship is. The man brainwashes and trains his little girl to be an evil, remorseless killer and somehow these people are supposed to be heros? Final Verdict: This movie is intellectually insulting, shallow, and fails to keep with the rules it sets within itself. Don't waste your time with this one. Expand
  15. Oct 8, 2011
    1
    Generally terrible movie. Amalgam of weird geek sense of humor, action and... This movie left me untouched and it wasted my two hour of my precious life!
    Though my negative opinions there were few good actors and they knew what to do.
  16. Oct 6, 2013
    2
    The character Kick-Ass didn't do remotely anything memorable and epic. They also really up the movie by shoving some irrelevant love relationship upon him. This movie is utterly horrible. Aaron Taylor-Johnson is boring to watch, Chloë Grace Moretz can't act and Nicolas Cage is the rotten cherry that tops this movie. They wasted Mark Strong and the only commendable performance wasThe character Kick-Ass didn't do remotely anything memorable and epic. They also really up the movie by shoving some irrelevant love relationship upon him. This movie is utterly horrible. Aaron Taylor-Johnson is boring to watch, Chloë Grace Moretz can't act and Nicolas Cage is the rotten cherry that tops this movie. They wasted Mark Strong and the only commendable performance was Christopher Mintz-Plasse playing Red Mist. Other than that, this movie made me want to "Kick-My-Own-Ass". Expand
  17. Oct 6, 2014
    0
    its gay because im gay and nic cage is bae. also i got stuck at the one part where i'm supposed to touch my gf but i cant get past it cause i love RAGING BONERS IN MY UTERUS. 0/10 FLOPPY COCKS

    What the **** did you just ****ing say about me, you little **** I’ll have you know I graduated top of my class in the Navy Seals, and I’ve been involved in numerous secret raids on Al-Quaeda, and
    its gay because im gay and nic cage is bae. also i got stuck at the one part where i'm supposed to touch my gf but i cant get past it cause i love RAGING BONERS IN MY UTERUS. 0/10 FLOPPY COCKS

    What the **** did you just ****ing say about me, you little **** I’ll have you know I graduated top of my class in the Navy Seals, and I’ve been involved in numerous secret raids on Al-Quaeda, and I have over 300 confirmed kills. I am trained in gorilla warfare and I’m the top sniper in the entire US armed forces. You are nothing to me but just another target. I will wipe you the **** out with precision the likes of which has never been seen before on this Earth, mark my ****ing words. You think you can get away with saying that **** to me over the Internet? Think again, ****er. As we speak I am contacting my secret network of spies across the USA and your IP is being traced right now so you better prepare for the storm, maggot. The storm that wipes out the pathetic little thing you call your life. You’re ****ing dead, kid. I can be anywhere, anytime, and I can kill you in over seven hundred ways, and that’s just with my bare hands. Not only am I extensively trained in unarmed combat, but I have access to the entire arsenal of the United States Marine Corps and I will use it to its full extent to wipe your miserable ass off the face of the continent, you little **** If only you could have known what unholy retribution your little “clever” comment was about to bring down upon you, maybe you would have held your ****ing tongue. But you couldn’t, you didn’t, and now you’re paying the price, you goddamn idiot. I will **** fury all over you and you will drown in it. You’re ****ing dead, kiddo.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. A clever movie premise based on an obscure comic book has been turned into, okay we’ll say it, a fanboy’s kick-ass wet dream of a movie that could be a surprise Spring smash.
  2. 100
    A ridiculously entertaining, perfectly paced, ultra-violent cinematic rush that kicks the places other movies struggle to reach.
  3. Reviewed by: John Defore
    80
    Its balancing act between innocence and gore perfectly matches the expectations of genre fans, who should embrace the movie.