Lionsgate | Release Date: April 16, 2010
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1086 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
966
Mixed:
75
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
m0trenurtApr 30, 2010
The critics obviously need a lesson in whats good about a movie. No one cares about your moral outrage or your political correctness. Im just glad you lot werent in the focus greoup for this film. This film is fun and thats one of the most The critics obviously need a lesson in whats good about a movie. No one cares about your moral outrage or your political correctness. Im just glad you lot werent in the focus greoup for this film. This film is fun and thats one of the most important things about main stream media. If this movie offends you, you need to take along hard look at what your life has become. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Apr 16, 2010
Original, funny and violent - this is a superb film. Watch out for the fabulous use of the songs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardKApr 16, 2010
Switch off your brain for a while and just enjoy what is a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisApr 17, 2010
Any of the critic´s who gave this a score lower then 60 doesn't know what a good movie is when they watch it! This movie is ultra-violent, it got amazing stunts, and is very very funny! This movie is defiantly on the number 1 spot Any of the critic´s who gave this a score lower then 60 doesn't know what a good movie is when they watch it! This movie is ultra-violent, it got amazing stunts, and is very very funny! This movie is defiantly on the number 1 spot on Movie Of The Year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianM.Apr 18, 2010
A movie which defies catagorization. Is it violent? -- excessively. Is it vulgar? -- extremely. Is it obscene? -- undoubtably. But what seperates it from other low-brow movies is its surprising and ironic sense of charm and warmth. A movie which defies catagorization. Is it violent? -- excessively. Is it vulgar? -- extremely. Is it obscene? -- undoubtably. But what seperates it from other low-brow movies is its surprising and ironic sense of charm and warmth. Satirizing the whole superhero concept, "Kick-Ass" delivers some interesting characters (however morally ambigous) as well as some gripping action sequences. The movie intends to shock -- but not for the purpose of offending, but rather to celebrate and laugh at the absurd (ala Camus). All and all, "Kick-Ass" builds a gradual momentum of excitment culminating in some of the best action scenes since "The Dark Knight" -- a thoroughly entertaining experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielCApr 20, 2010
Seriously, average review of 66? This film was funny, had some of the best action sequences I've ever seen, and was presented very well, some amazing song choices for the soundtrack. Its hard hitting in places too. I was genuinely Seriously, average review of 66? This film was funny, had some of the best action sequences I've ever seen, and was presented very well, some amazing song choices for the soundtrack. Its hard hitting in places too. I was genuinely surprised to see the fairly average score of 66 on here. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
9
AndrewW.Apr 20, 2010
This movie was a blast! Nicolas Cage was THE man and even though the main character was just ok (seeing how he is just a normal dude), it made the parts with big daddy and hit girl all that much more awesome. Definitely worth seeing if your This movie was a blast! Nicolas Cage was THE man and even though the main character was just ok (seeing how he is just a normal dude), it made the parts with big daddy and hit girl all that much more awesome. Definitely worth seeing if your a fan of over the top, self-aware, thrill rides. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DersApr 22, 2010
Aaron Johnson shows some serious promise in his role as the awkward, identity-seeking Lizewski, but it's Chloe Moretz and Nicholas Cage who really steal the show. Cage's overly dry portrayal of a sociopathic father is on par with Aaron Johnson shows some serious promise in his role as the awkward, identity-seeking Lizewski, but it's Chloe Moretz and Nicholas Cage who really steal the show. Cage's overly dry portrayal of a sociopathic father is on par with his performance in Bad Lieutenant, and Chloe Moretz demands attention as the psychopathic Hit Girl, ripping through bad guys like a hot knife through butter. Ultra violent, humorous, and just enough dramatic emotional moments make this comedy-meets-Dark Knight super hero flick a real keeper. On top of competent work of the actors, the film has some seriously awesome cinematography; perfect use of wide-angle and diminished shots make the film look and feel like a comic book from the very opening scene. Add a great soundtrack, well-paced editing, and a decent script and what you get is an all around well-made film. Vaughn really makes up for Stardust while on the helms Kick-Ass, and I look forward to seeing his future films. ***I have not read the comics (I will now!) so I cannot comment on how true this movie sticks to its source material. But if the movie is half as good as the comic series, then I'm in store for a pleasant surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanSApr 23, 2010
Kick-Ass kicked ass. Real life superheroes - what a concept! Nicolas Cage and the little girl were the best crime-fighting duo I have ever seen. Nicolas Cage got to act crazy and over the top and it was a joy to watch. Seriously one of the Kick-Ass kicked ass. Real life superheroes - what a concept! Nicolas Cage and the little girl were the best crime-fighting duo I have ever seen. Nicolas Cage got to act crazy and over the top and it was a joy to watch. Seriously one of the best movies so far this year. Bring on the Blu-ray! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteelR.Apr 30, 2010
Don't go in expecting to see a serious superheroes movie along the lines of Ironman. This is a very tongue in cheek/ hard hitting film that rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanMay 2, 2010
Such a good movie. The acting, story, and style of the movie could not be beat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeriNMay 6, 2010
Fantastic movie. If you can't stand gore and cursing, don't watch it. If a child cussing and blowing out someone's brains would make your stomach turn, don't watch it. If you have the bits to watch a little girl in a Fantastic movie. If you can't stand gore and cursing, don't watch it. If a child cussing and blowing out someone's brains would make your stomach turn, don't watch it. If you have the bits to watch a little girl in a messed up situation being genuinely awesome while remaining lovable, instead of a sweet and innocent little victim, watch it. If you like comic books. Watch it. And darnit, if you like a good movie, WATCH IT! Ten stars! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DesmondM.Apr 16, 2010
This movie is an all-out riot, you will have a great time watching it. Hit girl is the coolest and most badass little person I have ever seen. A definite must see! and has awesome soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougEApr 16, 2010
This is a Disney movie where kids have adult roles and are powerful, and a Tarantino ultraviolent movie. I loved hearing the Banana Splits song. again One of the best action movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregF.Apr 16, 2010
Saw it at South by Southwest, and loved it even more the second time. Just an awesome movie. Mertz is an amazing little actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanSApr 17, 2010
Hit girl freaking owns!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianN.Apr 17, 2010
It was as violent and funny as I expected it to be. While they disappointed me a little by the alteration from the comic, I know why it was done. Just as I had hoped, Hit-Girl stole the show. Moretz played one mean, cute, little girl. She It was as violent and funny as I expected it to be. While they disappointed me a little by the alteration from the comic, I know why it was done. Just as I had hoped, Hit-Girl stole the show. Moretz played one mean, cute, little girl. She definitely brought Kill Bill to my mind on more than one occasion. A must-see, especially if you haven't already read the comics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeNApr 17, 2010
Entertaining and violent as can be. I haven't laughed so hard in a long time! Not for kids under 17.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnLApr 18, 2010
Went in looking for an entertaining action movie. Left the theater with that and more. A pleasant surprise to say the least. Ignore the "pro"-critics. What do they know anyway?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanK.Apr 18, 2010
The first half of this movie is great. It's very faithful to the comic, and sets everything up really well. The second half of the movie is an abomination. It completely ruins the point of the comic. It's supposed to be about what The first half of this movie is great. It's very faithful to the comic, and sets everything up really well. The second half of the movie is an abomination. It completely ruins the point of the comic. It's supposed to be about what would happen if people dressed up as super heroes in the real world. Apparently the director got bored with this theme and decided he wanted to make an actual super hero movie, complete with magical jet packs with shoulder mounted chain-guns. If you've read the comic, stay far far away. If you haven't read the comic, you might enjoy this movie a little more. I suggest reading the comic instead though. It's much better. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
10
VerApr 18, 2010
Greatly entertaining movie. Definitely check it out!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SnoopyblueApr 18, 2010
This movie was bad-ass so entertaining and fun to watch. Go see this movie you haven't yet. It is def worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Apr 19, 2010
This movie is f***ing awesome. there are parts where it drags but they usally throw a joke to even it out. but hitgirl and big daddy really steal the show. whenever they are one screen there is only one word "EPIC". their sub-plot although This movie is f***ing awesome. there are parts where it drags but they usally throw a joke to even it out. but hitgirl and big daddy really steal the show. whenever they are one screen there is only one word "EPIC". their sub-plot although designed as a plot device for the main plots execution probably could have been its own movie had they wanted to develop it fully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Apr 19, 2010
The Atari 2600 hit the marketplace in 1977. Two years later, Barbara Ann Spencer, a schoolgirl, opened fire on a group of elementary-aged children as if they were space invaders. Shortly after the killing spree, Spencer was quoted as saying, The Atari 2600 hit the marketplace in 1977. Two years later, Barbara Ann Spencer, a schoolgirl, opened fire on a group of elementary-aged children as if they were space invaders. Shortly after the killing spree, Spencer was quoted as saying, "I did it for the fun of it. I don't like..." In "Kick-Ass", the first-person shooting game is co-opted into film language, as Mindy(Chloe Grace Moretz in a bravura performance) uses night-vision goggles(like Buffalo Bill in Jonathan Demme's "The Silence of the Lambs") to pick off her targets. Donning her Hit Girl getup, Mindy is practically a cipher: an Xbox, X chromosome avatar who for the most part shows no remorse toward her victims. Despite being bad guys, the young girl's emotional detchment throughout each bloody ordeal makes Mindy seem more like a psychopath than a superhero. Spencer, who was the inspiration for The Boomtown Rats' new wave classic "I Don't Like Mondays", is inadvertently evoked through Hit Girl's purple wig, in which purple, the color most associated with Prince, brings us back to Monday. (Prince wrote "Manic Monday" for The Bangles.) With Mindy's violent upbringing, the "enfant terrible" shouldn't be anywhere near school perimeters, but "Kick-Ass" is a comic book movie(albeit a superior one) and doesn't factor in such realities of child development. Since the anti-social girl has little regard for the sanctity of human life, there's always the possibility of Mindy summoning up her alter-ego to protect the weak from a mean cheerleader or surly jock with cataclysmic results. In the classic new wave song, Geldof, who could be describing Big Daddy(Nicolas Cage) as he takes aim at his daughter, writes: "And school's out early and soon we'll be learning/And the lesson today is how to die." Dave(Aaron Johnson) is not a licensed psychotherapist; he can't teach Mindy how to live. As for the profanity, Moretz has nothing on Natalie Portman, who in Ted Demme's "Beautiful Girls", says, "So you're the alcoholic high school buddy s*** for brains," to a chagrined Michael Rappaport. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillieR.Apr 19, 2010
Chloe Moretz is deserving of a Oscar nomination for sure. This movie if nothing else teaches there are always repercussions for our actions. Great action, good story and the fall-out from Kick-ass
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterNApr 21, 2010
I wasn't a fan of the fighting/violence but the interesting characters kept the movie fun for me
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoshFApr 20, 2010
What was Matthew Vaughn thinking???? Movie of the moment, which will be mocked and laughed about in the future.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
7
mikecApr 22, 2010
I wanted to like this film much more than I actually did. The whole thing just seemed a little awkward and never really hit full stride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ReaganRApr 22, 2010
I must confess that I agree this film is extremely entertaining...a well made, well choreographed, fresh spin on the super hero genre. Moreover, I like the sly satirical spin of the film, taking two takes on what the "reality" of a superhero I must confess that I agree this film is extremely entertaining...a well made, well choreographed, fresh spin on the super hero genre. Moreover, I like the sly satirical spin of the film, taking two takes on what the "reality" of a superhero would look like, a wannabe who ultimately gets his ass kicked or psychotic vigilantes who are as messed up as the "villains" they kill. Having said all that -- and I know I'm in the minority here -- but I just had this nauseated feeling after the film was over; that is, I don't care about the graphic violence but having an 11 year old _be_ an adult with all that entails in the film was just a boundary that I personally can't cross. Why oh why couldn't they have at least made her a teenager! One other small grip: Too many penultimate final moments, e.g., too many last minute saves! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NateH.Apr 20, 2010
Anyone who doesn't feel something when Kick-ass saves that guy from being beaten and explains his motives is dead inside. Stop being uptight and enjoy the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful