Miramax Films | Release Date: October 10, 2003
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1237 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,035
Mixed:
64
Negative:
138
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
Kill Bill: Volume 1 keeps a moment to make us all think what to do next. We.... you know it.... kill Bill. (I mean the character in the movie). With the power of kung fu, no one can stop Kill Bill from being a dull movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 2, 2014
Nobody does stylish violence like Quentin Tarantino. Yes, the blood is very much over-the-top, but my God it is just so beautiful filmed I cannot even be bothered by it. Plus, it is absolutely hilarious the way in which some people die inNobody does stylish violence like Quentin Tarantino. Yes, the blood is very much over-the-top, but my God it is just so beautiful filmed I cannot even be bothered by it. Plus, it is absolutely hilarious the way in which some people die in this film. In addition, the battle sequences are 100% gorgeous. The choreography is amazing and thought out. In the lead role, Uma Thurman is perfectly cast and absolutely kills (heh) her role. On the negative side of things, the dialogue can become a tad cheesy at times and make you roll your eyes that they decided to go with that line. On top of that, the violence, while stylish, can be numbing and the death scenes repeat themselves (i.e. many characters die in the same exact way and you see a similar shot of their death). Finally, the weird anime sequence as we got a character's back story was a turn off for me. It just made the film feel disjointed and felt like a very weird turn that was not really necessary.

Overall, Kill Bill: Vol. 1 is a pretty good film. However, as it is simply half of the final product, it does feel unfinished, so you have to take the fact that it is intended to be the first half of the film into account, which is why I do like this one as much as I do. As a lead-in to the second film, it is very successful as I was left with a burning desire to watch part two almost immediately after finishing this one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
A solid movie for Tarantino, and a damn fun one to watch. Uma Thurman comes back for her second Tarantino-directed movie as the bride who wants vengeance, and will do whatever is necessary to get it. The only thing is when you reach the endA solid movie for Tarantino, and a damn fun one to watch. Uma Thurman comes back for her second Tarantino-directed movie as the bride who wants vengeance, and will do whatever is necessary to get it. The only thing is when you reach the end of the movie and she still hasn't "killed Bill", you might get a feeling of regret for wasting your time with this movie. Oh, but just wait until you see Part 2. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscDec 17, 2014
as much as Robert Rodriguez & Tarantino have brought some crazy over ratted fun kick ass movies like
( Dusk Til Dawn, Pulp Fiction), Kill Bill was one of the best movies of Tarantino's career. the writer/ director ( Tarantino) has
as much as Robert Rodriguez & Tarantino have brought some crazy over ratted fun kick ass movies like
( Dusk Til Dawn, Pulp Fiction), Kill Bill was one of the best movies of Tarantino's career. the writer/ director ( Tarantino) has created a heroic characters in his films and Uma Thurman is clearly his best characters yet, thats what makes Kill Bill so special also his crazy work with effects also his camera shots. Grade A
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
Only few would dare to make a movie as insane as this, and Tarantino made it brilliant. A gripping revenge story that doesn't hold anything back. It was all over the place in style, direction, and musically which just made it completelyOnly few would dare to make a movie as insane as this, and Tarantino made it brilliant. A gripping revenge story that doesn't hold anything back. It was all over the place in style, direction, and musically which just made it completely original. Unexpectedly very funny and epic at the same time. One of the best! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobOct 20, 2016
What I love the most about Tarantino is that each and everyone of his films is unique and well written. Kill Bill is just another gem added to his already stellar filmography. Well acted, Great action scenes and a very satisfying plot.What I love the most about Tarantino is that each and everyone of his films is unique and well written. Kill Bill is just another gem added to his already stellar filmography. Well acted, Great action scenes and a very satisfying plot. Couldn't ask for a better movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuMay 29, 2016
Kill Bill: Vol 1 is a lot of fun. It threw me the first time I watched it, because it was so different from Tarantino's previous films. But once I understood the tone and ideas it was going for, Kill Bill became a lot of fun. Good, stupid funKill Bill: Vol 1 is a lot of fun. It threw me the first time I watched it, because it was so different from Tarantino's previous films. But once I understood the tone and ideas it was going for, Kill Bill became a lot of fun. Good, stupid fun guaranteed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobAug 1, 2015
At the end with action that never quite pays off and the film moving by at a brisk pace its hard not to feel a tad ripped off at the end. The shocking reveal at the end does raise interest in the sequel but at the end the film doesn’t’ feelAt the end with action that never quite pays off and the film moving by at a brisk pace its hard not to feel a tad ripped off at the end. The shocking reveal at the end does raise interest in the sequel but at the end the film doesn’t’ feel wholly complete or satisfying. With the lack of meat or excitement this feels more like a pilot/prologue/teaser for a far more exciting film. Hopefully the next film will pay off nicely. This film isn’t bad and is an interesting experiment for Tarintino but action isn’t his strength. A for effort but C+ for end product. Good idea but not great execution. Let’s see if he improves the second time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticMay 31, 2016
I don't take this film seriously most of the time, which I think was Tarantino's purpose. Nevertheless, the allusions to this film are well done; western and martial arts can be a great combination, and Tarantino executes with a unique,I don't take this film seriously most of the time, which I think was Tarantino's purpose. Nevertheless, the allusions to this film are well done; western and martial arts can be a great combination, and Tarantino executes with a unique, Tarantino-esque style. The over-the-top aspect that covers the entire film is what makes it so fun to watch. It's Tarantino at his most fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeJun 25, 2016
One of Tarantino’s finest. It’s one heck of a clever and ambitiously constructed film. The simple focus on basic film-and storytelling is humongous -- it’s so stylish! We follow this, from what it looks like in the beginning; an unknownOne of Tarantino’s finest. It’s one heck of a clever and ambitiously constructed film. The simple focus on basic film-and storytelling is humongous -- it’s so stylish! We follow this, from what it looks like in the beginning; an unknown character -- and it takes time to fully understand her. And that specific wait for understanding is rewarded the longer you wait. It’s a pure revenge story that’s full of twists, blood, action & originality in many different forms – all in a stylish and ambitious way. The film got a very great inside to the antagonist, & just the fact that the film is aware of the sometimes very forced moments – well that’s just hilarious! Sure it might not be a very dialog-driven film, and it does lack character depth & development. But ‘Kill Bill’ is still one of Tarantino’s finest.

Personal rating: 85/100
Critical rating: 80/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFMay 6, 2013
Kill Bill is a film where director and writer Quentin Tarantino tries out various techniques, not to see if they work, but simply for his own enjoyment and to boast of his talent for detail, especially when so many of these techniques areKill Bill is a film where director and writer Quentin Tarantino tries out various techniques, not to see if they work, but simply for his own enjoyment and to boast of his talent for detail, especially when so many of these techniques are used simultaneously, which has created an unforgettable opening of a two part tale.
Uma Thurman stars as a bruised and beaten woman known simply as ‘The Bride’, who is betrayed on her wedding day by her colleagues, a group of dangerous individuals known as the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad, led by Bill (David Carradine).
When they underestimate The Brides will to live, she eventually awakens from a coma and seeks revenge on those who wronged her, and as the opening quote on the screen suggests, “Revenge is a dish best served cold”, and this woman has nothing but cold and calculated on her mind.
Tarantino has told the story in a non-linear fashion, using chapters to split up the story, and incorporating various flashbacks of how exactly the wedding scenario played out. But in regards to the bride, she sets off by making a list of those who portrayed her, and its clear from the beginning that this film was always going to be building to something bigger, does it take anything away from the film? Perhaps a little, it certainly stands on its own two feet, but the fact remains that we are introduced to these various characters but only get a handful of them. Saying that, however, the scenes with these particular members of the Deadly Viper group are fantastically gory, anime and exaggerated tone that only Tarantino is capable of pulling off with such gritty means.
Uma Thurman’s ‘Bride’ is typically cold and in a particular mindset for the film, she delivers her kills with little mercy, perfectly portrayed by Thurman herself, who shows her willingness to throw herself into any role, a junkie in Pulp Fiction and now a deadly assassin.
The final moments of the film, and the build up are quite remarkable. Tarantino utilises his devices including typical Japanese slashers and even Spagetti Westerns to culminate in a massively colourful fight scene, but the final confrontation between the Bride and O-Ren Ishii (Lucy Liu is a beautifully crafted scene, and a true powerhouse in filmmaking.
For what it lacks in finalising a story, Kill Bill Vol. 1 certainly makes up for in its unique ability to combine visually striking scenes of blood splattered marvel, and Tarantino is truly at his best.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanJun 11, 2012
With Kill Bill, Quentin Tarantino continues to do what he does best - elevating supposedly "trashy" film genres to credible cinematic fare. Kill Bill: Vol. 1 is packed full of energy and style, with Tarantino's trademark extreme violence andWith Kill Bill, Quentin Tarantino continues to do what he does best - elevating supposedly "trashy" film genres to credible cinematic fare. Kill Bill: Vol. 1 is packed full of energy and style, with Tarantino's trademark extreme violence and eloquent, machine-gun dialogue. It also has a plethora of film references for cinephiles, mostly from Spaghetti Westerns, Hong Kong martial arts and Samurai films. Tarantino is not afraid to affectionately poke a little fun at the films he is paying homage to, but he never takes it to the extent of parody. Before this film, I'd have never in a million years pictured Uma Thurman as an action heroine, but thankfully Tarantino saw her potential in this role - she is great as the vengeful Bride. It is Lucy Liu and particularly Daryl Hannah who really steal the show performance-wise however, with Liu playing O-Ren Ishii, an honourable assassin-turned-mob leader, and Hannah playing Elle Driver, a considerably less honourable, and far more malicious former assassin. The action is superb, the fight scenes creative, well-choreographed and bloody, notably The Bride's brutal fight with Ishii's schoolgirl bodyguard Gogo (a particularly menacing Chiaki Kuriyama) and the following rather serene and beautiful duel with Ishii herself. Unfortunately, the sequence that links these two truly exceptional one-on-ones, involving The Bride hacking her way through wave after wave of henchmen, is more than a little overblown and excessive - the first dismembered limb and fountain of blood is shocking, but a long succession of the same gets a bit dull. My favourite scene of the whole film was an unexpected Japanese Anime segment that explores O-Ren Ishii's origins, and is an emotionally charged refreshing change of pace from the rest of the film. The first volume of Kill Bill is not only a fine example of a revenge movie that effectively adopts the stylistic conventions of numerous other genres, but it's a brilliant example of exciting film storytelling on its own terms to boot. The extent of Quentin Tarantino's film knowledge is still staggering, and he remains a true auteur gifted in all aspects of filmmaking, from cinematography and editing to screenwriting and selecting tracks for the film's eclectic and brilliant soundtrack. Other than a slightly monotonous grisly extended fight scene, I have incredibly little about Kill Bill Volume 1 to criticise - it's a brilliant, blood-splattered love-letter to the less artistically admired, but no less cinematically important filmmakers, and perfectly sets you up for the stunning conclusion to The Bride's quest for revenge in Vol. 2. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Sep 3, 2014
This is by far my favorite film. It's bloody, highly entertaining, and it is just a fun revenge flick to watch. It is very over-the-top, like most grindhouse films were, which makes it all the more entertaining. I highly recommend this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Oct 7, 2011
Kill Bill Volume 1 is a gripping tale of betrayal and vengeance whose only real fault is that it isn't as detailed or captivating as Volume 2. Kill Bill tells the story of The Bride who was betrayed and left for dead in a church in El Paso byKill Bill Volume 1 is a gripping tale of betrayal and vengeance whose only real fault is that it isn't as detailed or captivating as Volume 2. Kill Bill tells the story of The Bride who was betrayed and left for dead in a church in El Paso by her once lover Bill and how when she awoke from a 4 year coma all she wanted was revenge. However that is not the only thing going for it as it is also a satire and a tribute to Kung Fu films in general. Of course Tarantino brings his own directorial flare to the film as well as his signature dialogue but the first volume plays more like a tribute than a film of its own where as the 2nd shines on its own merits and story. If anything it is the concentration on lesser characters like O-Ren Ishii that brings the film down because she is the weakest of the main group of characters (although Lucy Lui's acting is fantastic as always). This concentration seems like a mistake but in a way it does help set up the 2nd by showing how hard it was to take on only 2 of the 5 targets The Bride goes after. However the Hatori Hanzo section of the film does work especially well as it embraces Kung Fu and Samurai film conventions while also allowing for certain comedic elements and also fleshing out The Bride's excellent character before getting into the more action heavy second half of the film. Overall it is one of Tarantino's best works but is just overshadowed by Volume 2 which just does everything that Volume 1 does but does it better. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Kill Bill is a film where director and writer Quentin Tarantino tries out various techniques, not to see if they work, but simply for his own enjoyment and to boast of his talent for detail, especially when so many of these techniques areKill Bill is a film where director and writer Quentin Tarantino tries out various techniques, not to see if they work, but simply for his own enjoyment and to boast of his talent for detail, especially when so many of these techniques are used simultaneously, which has created an unforgettable opening of a two part tale.
Uma Thurman stars as a bruised and beaten woman known simply as ‘The Bride’, who is betrayed on her wedding day by her colleagues, a group of dangerous individuals known as the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad, led by Bill (David Carradine).
When they underestimate The Brides will to live, she eventually awakens from a coma and seeks revenge on those who wronged her, and as the opening quote on the screen suggests, “Revenge is a dish best served cold”, and this woman has nothing but cold and calculated on her mind.
Tarantino has told the story in a non-linear fashion, using chapters to split up the story, and incorporating various flashbacks of how exactly the wedding scenario played out. But in regards to the bride, she sets off by making a list of those who portrayed her, and its clear from the beginning that this film was always going to be building to something bigger, does it take anything away from the film? Perhaps a little, it certainly stands on its own two feet, but the fact remains that we are introduced to these various characters but only get a handful of them. Saying that, however, the scenes with these particular members of the Deadly Viper group are fantastically gory, anime and exaggerated tone that only Tarantino is capable of pulling off with such gritty means.
Uma Thurman’s ‘Bride’ is typically cold and in a particular mindset for the film, she delivers her kills with little mercy, perfectly portrayed by Thurman herself, who shows her willingness to throw herself into any role, a junkie in Pulp Fiction and now a deadly assassin.
The final moments of the film, and the build up are quite remarkable. Tarantino utilises his devices including typical Japanese slashers and even Spagetti Westerns to culminate in a massively colourful fight scene, but the final confrontation between the Bride and O-Ren Ishii (Lucy Liu is a beautifully crafted scene, and a true powerhouse in filmmaking.
For what it lacks in finalising a story, Kill Bill Vol. 1 certainly makes up for in its unique ability to combine visually striking scenes of blood splattered marvel, and Tarantino is truly at his best.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwAug 16, 2014
Kill Bill Volume 1 is very good, but it's the most bizarre Quentin Tarantino movie because of the stylized Japanese samurai moves, but besides that it's a very good film, way better than the second volume.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Magnificamente montado e surpreendentemente maravilhoso. Kill Bill tem ação, histórias e ótimas doses exageradas de sangue.Magnificamente montado e surpreendentemente maravilhoso. Kill Bill tem ação, histórias e ótimas doses exageradas de sangue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueApr 6, 2014
I was in the middle with this movie. But why a "7" you ask? Because when It comes to Quentin Tarantino you expect more (Something like Reservoir Dogs or Pulp Fiction) in it than others. Kill Bill was good. Fast paced and well acted gives it aI was in the middle with this movie. But why a "7" you ask? Because when It comes to Quentin Tarantino you expect more (Something like Reservoir Dogs or Pulp Fiction) in it than others. Kill Bill was good. Fast paced and well acted gives it a thumbs up. Just not two, not even a half. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Nesbitt10Dec 26, 2012
To the average moviegoer,"Kill Bill" comes across as a nuanced film that appears shallow litered with flamboyant violence. And yet nothing could be further from the truth. Remarkably unique blend of various genres drawing from an abundant ofTo the average moviegoer,"Kill Bill" comes across as a nuanced film that appears shallow litered with flamboyant violence. And yet nothing could be further from the truth. Remarkably unique blend of various genres drawing from an abundant of influences constructing something very much his own. A bride (Uma Thurman) awakes from a long coma no longer carrying the baby before hand. Only revenge motivates her now to hunt down the assassination team that betrayed her, and once a part of. Breathtaking fight scenes function the same as dance numbers would in a musical. Stunningly beautiful and completely innovative. Highly-stylized, magnificent musical score, dynamic performances all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLJul 21, 2015
No tengo palabras para expresar lo que siento cada vez que veo esta obra maestra, Kill Bill Vol 1 es una joya, completamente divertida, brutal y única. Las secuencias de acción son un bello homenaje a las películas de Kung-Fu antiguas,No tengo palabras para expresar lo que siento cada vez que veo esta obra maestra, Kill Bill Vol 1 es una joya, completamente divertida, brutal y única. Las secuencias de acción son un bello homenaje a las películas de Kung-Fu antiguas, mezcladas con una historia original y con un guion que solo Quentin Tarantino lo puede hacer. Esta primera parte es magnifica. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodAug 23, 2013
Its ok, very slow until the end where gets ballistic, kinda reminds me of anime that's kinda the whole reason i like the movie, ALSO GOT A REALLY WEIRD ASS CRAZY STORY 7/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Viper8787May 30, 2014
I enjoyed the second one better than this one but still an awesome movie. Easily the most gory movie I have ever seen, the scene where she fights all of the assassins is great. With a pretty good ending to lead into the next one made me enjoyI enjoyed the second one better than this one but still an awesome movie. Easily the most gory movie I have ever seen, the scene where she fights all of the assassins is great. With a pretty good ending to lead into the next one made me enjoy it a lot also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sinadoomApr 21, 2013
The most violent, most sexy and most pure brawler action movie I've seen. The story, like Pulp Fiction, is as minimal as possible; only existing to explain the motives behind all the violence. Uma Thurman looks stunning in this film, and theThe most violent, most sexy and most pure brawler action movie I've seen. The story, like Pulp Fiction, is as minimal as possible; only existing to explain the motives behind all the violence. Uma Thurman looks stunning in this film, and the combat scenes are not only directed with style and perfection, but they're also quite comical at points. It's almost like a Jackie Chan cartoon only with sharp-edged weapons and a lot of uncensored violence. In fact, the amount of blood and gore can seem a bit too much given the cartoony style of the film. But the scenes are top notch. Quentin Tarantino sure knows how to direct action scenes well. The only criticism I have is that there's no real story, so you're just watching a compilation of action scenes rather than a movie experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
Super violent, with great visual style and one heck of an ending. Tarantino delivers by blending genres perfectly, but jeez, he definitely has a thing for feet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Sep 17, 2011
whatever you have t say about quentin tarantino, you can't say he doesn't know how to make a good action scene. kill bill is all about the action. it is a roller coaster of action scenes that are worth watching 'till the last drop of blood.whatever you have t say about quentin tarantino, you can't say he doesn't know how to make a good action scene. kill bill is all about the action. it is a roller coaster of action scenes that are worth watching 'till the last drop of blood. the gore was maybe a bit overdone, and if you don't like actio, than the rest won't please you either. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
joef123Nov 24, 2012
I purchased Kill Bill volumes one and two on bluray at black Friday. Today I watched the first Kill Bill and this is what I have too say. The kung fu/ action scenes were a 10 out of 10. The acting was 7 out of 10. And the directing andI purchased Kill Bill volumes one and two on bluray at black Friday. Today I watched the first Kill Bill and this is what I have too say. The kung fu/ action scenes were a 10 out of 10. The acting was 7 out of 10. And the directing and writing were a 9 out of 10. I enjoyed how sociopathic the movie was, and Thurmans performance. Overall I give this movie a 10 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shpreaJul 16, 2014
Kill Bill: Vol. 1 is not complicated. It's about a woman going on a revenge driven rampage. Honestly, that's all I ever needed in a movie.
This movie is so stylish and so fun to watch that you forget its lack of depth. I can honestly say
Kill Bill: Vol. 1 is not complicated. It's about a woman going on a revenge driven rampage. Honestly, that's all I ever needed in a movie.
This movie is so stylish and so fun to watch that you forget its lack of depth. I can honestly say that I was never once bored the whole time watching this movie.
Also, that ending fight scene was amazing.
This is just Tarantino being Tarantino. And I wouldn't have it any other way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bullet97Aug 27, 2010
This movie rocks!! Tarantino brilliantly directs this tale of revenge, honor, blood, action, drama, and kung fu!! Its not for everyone, but I highly recommend it to fans of Tarantino and kung fu!!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
One of those films that you either love or hate. I personally love it and all its stylistic changes, switching back and forth from a spaghetti western to a samurai revenge film in the matter of minutes. The violence is terrific and most ofOne of those films that you either love or hate. I personally love it and all its stylistic changes, switching back and forth from a spaghetti western to a samurai revenge film in the matter of minutes. The violence is terrific and most of the time completely hilarious, and the storytelling is brilliant throughout. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JudgeHoldenSep 9, 2012
A unique blend of movie genres with a superb choice of music and a lot of small hints at some well known pictures make of Kill Bill Vol. 1 a must-watch position. Though I'm not a fan of some other Tarantino movies, I enjoyed this oneA unique blend of movie genres with a superb choice of music and a lot of small hints at some well known pictures make of Kill Bill Vol. 1 a must-watch position. Though I'm not a fan of some other Tarantino movies, I enjoyed this one thoroughly and recommend it to anyone. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
The overdone gore surprisingly worked out well with Quentin Tarantino at is best yet again and delivers a vengeful roller coaster right up till the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 23, 2012
I like volume 2 more then volume 1 but it is my favourite film!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
julian_zizzleAug 8, 2011
What?? I watched the best fight scene on my whole life this morning. I couldnt stop and watched vol2 too on the same day. It was total blood bath and i loved it. It would be an insult to to give this movie anything but 10 :)
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
UltimateBubFeb 27, 2015
Kill Bill has a very specific audience. It's for people who like a different kind of movie, a different narrative, different storytelling. It's clearly not suited for children or people who dislike gore. Truth be told, Kill Bill is reallyKill Bill has a very specific audience. It's for people who like a different kind of movie, a different narrative, different storytelling. It's clearly not suited for children or people who dislike gore. Truth be told, Kill Bill is really violent. But also very cool. And quite entertaining. It's very sudden and uneven at times and ultimately suffers a closure problem most "part 1-part 2" films have, but it's sure to be glorified by enthusiast fans like myself, kind of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aznassassinDec 14, 2012
What do u get when u fuse anime-esque characters with interesting yet ultimately mediocre fight scenes that have been done to death in decades of Chinese Wu-Shia films and mix it all with 70's martial arts music and artstyle all packaged in aWhat do u get when u fuse anime-esque characters with interesting yet ultimately mediocre fight scenes that have been done to death in decades of Chinese Wu-Shia films and mix it all with 70's martial arts music and artstyle all packaged in a sloppy plot that acts as merely an excuse for the over-the-top-to-the-point-of-comedic violence? You get Kill Bill Vol 1, the first part of essentially an elaborate revenge, murderous rampage plan of the so-called ex-killer, 'The Bride' Kiddo. In many respects, the violence in some aspects overshoots its intended artistic form and becomes rather disturbing, even for a fully-grown 22 yo male like myself who indulges often in gory video games. Uma Thurman is brilliant and some visual cinematography is brilliant. The homage to Chinese Wu-Shia and Japanese Samurai films will provide nostalgia for many (like myself, who is 1/4 Japanese and 3/4 Chinese) while if you're not really into those types of films, you may be disappointed. Kill Bill Vol. 1 is very much just a violent showcase of bloodlust and dismembering fetish, where you will laugh, grimace, cringe and get high all at the same time. Its an experience, an unique one that's not for the faint-hearted. If you're expecting a crime/mafia revenge tale, this is not the film you're after. If you want to watch a single, Caucasian blondie cut her way through dozens of human beings all in great, bloodthirsty detail with the occasional backstory, this is that film. Kill Bill Vol. 1 is not a movie. Its a visual, bloodfest with chaotic martial arts sequences that at times, just dont feel fluid or flow as well as the the major martial arts blockbusters from China or Japan. Save this for those drunken nights where you have ran out of anime to watch (unlikely), manga to read (even more unlikely) or decent games to play (impossible). Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
RobertOBrienFeb 12, 2016
Tarantino is known for taking an axe to linear storytelling. While it worked well in Pulp Fiction, I think Kill Bill could have been arranged differently, in an order that's a bit more satisfying. Or at least an order that would balance wellTarantino is known for taking an axe to linear storytelling. While it worked well in Pulp Fiction, I think Kill Bill could have been arranged differently, in an order that's a bit more satisfying. Or at least an order that would balance well with Volume 2.

Other than that, it's well choreographed, well acted, directed, beautifully shot revenge tale. Paying great tribute to many different genres and filmmakers (the homage to Brian De Palma in the hospital scene is particularly nice) the film is very entertaining, though it's unconventional presentation and over-the-top violence could turn some away.

I think things could have been done to make it better, but Tarantino's passion for film will transcend to any audience member who shares that passion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Paul_YoonSep 20, 2010
The one reason that Kill Bill: Vol. 1 is much superb compared with Kill Bill: Vol. 2 is stylistic action with some Asian martial arts style, and entertaining battles.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AGKJan 1, 2014
awesome movie with.... drum roll please! (drum roll) no love story! isn't it wonderful? and the action was probably the best that I've seen out of any movie. I want more of this stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HyliadOct 7, 2011
Smart, funny, very well performed and directed, a reference in the non-asiatic ninja film history. Like always with Tarantino, all the characters are awesome, and you can do a spin-off with every one of them. Really.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
danceordieJun 11, 2013
when i saw this movie for first time i felt instant love. it's so strange, so crazy and well done. even when it's an action movie, it has feelings and such good actors. actually best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jools123Aug 4, 2014
I personally liked it, but it didn't need all that cheesy violence, but Quentin Tarrintino is still awesome. This movie had some cheesy action scenes but is carried by fine acting and nice character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
elreader46Mar 4, 2012
Visually stunning and magnificently gory, KIll Bill Vol. 1 is one of Tarintino's best films in my opinion. After The Bride, Uma Thurman, was betrayed by her boss, Bill, she is slapped in to a coma and left to wonder what happened to herVisually stunning and magnificently gory, KIll Bill Vol. 1 is one of Tarintino's best films in my opinion. After The Bride, Uma Thurman, was betrayed by her boss, Bill, she is slapped in to a coma and left to wonder what happened to her baby. With an interesting story to complement beautiful violence, Kill Bill Vol. 1 is a true masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KPHooksApr 7, 2013
This film is a combination of everything I love: Japanese cultural aspects, swordplay, a revenge plot, philosophy, and above all else, wit. Definitely one of the greatest films I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Azid_AlexDeSmalApr 8, 2013
Quentin Tarantino, a formidable filmmaker in Hollywood, who has masterminded great pictures like RESERVOIR DOGS and PULP FICTION, is also hugely responsible for the greatness behind KILL BILL: VOLUME 1 (KB1). KILL BILL was at first beingQuentin Tarantino, a formidable filmmaker in Hollywood, who has masterminded great pictures like RESERVOIR DOGS and PULP FICTION, is also hugely responsible for the greatness behind KILL BILL: VOLUME 1 (KB1). KILL BILL was at first being scheduled for a single movie, but that single movie exceeds a running time of over four hours. The decision to separate the source into two parts was favourable KB1 was released in late 2003 while its sequel, KB2, was released in early 2004.

To me, KB1 is a cinematic masterpiece. Everything in the movie was being meticulously orchestrated, right from the start of the movie to the end of it. I would say the movie is just tight. You would wish to imagine a tight, ripped body of a person, that's KB1. Editing of this movie is just sharp and great writing too. An element which caught my attention is the camera work itself I would say they are highly artistic and imaginative. In one particular scene, Tarantino exploited a long impeccable tracking shot with no cuts, and it is brilliant.

Beyond the near-perfect cinematic experience which Tarantino has given us, Uma Thurman's performance deserved a praise too. She manipulated her character extremely well which I think it is being overlooked, her performance is decent. Her character in the film is boiling with sadness and anger and for example, in one scene, you could witness that pain or anger through Thurman's expression on her face that marks the work of a great actress.

As a whole, this movie is daringly beautiful. The plot is simple, but Tarantino's clever navigation for this movie is excellent. Could I say it? Kill Bill Vol 1 is bloody, darkly comical, and unforgettable.

[4.5/5]

Facebook (http://facebook.com/alex.desmall) Twitter (@Alex_DeSmall) (http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/AlexDesmall)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NimbleReviewJun 18, 2013
Outrageous, bloody, wrenching, etc. Kill Bill has one of those stories that not only constantly gives you something to look forward to, but delivers whether it comes to the great action, epic showdowns, and more emotional moments. AnOutrageous, bloody, wrenching, etc. Kill Bill has one of those stories that not only constantly gives you something to look forward to, but delivers whether it comes to the great action, epic showdowns, and more emotional moments. An extremely entertaining film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SixellaDec 5, 2010
My favourite movie ever. Tarantino has delivered a wonderful cult-style film with a fluent mixture of samurai and western style. The one thing I really noticed was how easily it was to sympathize with almost all of the charaters, especiallyMy favourite movie ever. Tarantino has delivered a wonderful cult-style film with a fluent mixture of samurai and western style. The one thing I really noticed was how easily it was to sympathize with almost all of the charaters, especially The Bride and Bill Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
levitt_jrAug 29, 2013
uma thurman powerful, khas tarantino sangat terasa dan beberapa komedi segar yang menambah serunya film ini, beberapa adegan pertarungannya sungguh unik, i like this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
schyguy96Dec 14, 2013
A wonderful film, by most metrics. Tarantino is an incredible filmmaker, but his prestige advanced beyond great screenwriting into great direction for this film. A stylized revenge flick is what it is, so to take it as more than that isA wonderful film, by most metrics. Tarantino is an incredible filmmaker, but his prestige advanced beyond great screenwriting into great direction for this film. A stylized revenge flick is what it is, so to take it as more than that is ludicrous, and for what it is it is nearly perfect. I do not believe Tarantino intended to create the greatest film of all time, I believe that he intended to create an entertaining movie that combines his favorite genres, and it works. The acting, the screenplay, the direction, and the countless homages to kung fu, spaghetti western, and exploitation movies make it a massively entertaining watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MonstrosityNov 8, 2012
8.0 for lots of people dying. The story isn't that bad either and it was kinda funny though the whole thing just came out funny for me. It's pretty entertaining to say the least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SuperkidNov 24, 2014
Kill Bill Vol. 1 is AWESOME! It has Way better action than the second one. Now, I'm not saying that Kill Bill Vol. 2 is a bad movie believe me it is awesome and I gave that a 10 also but this introduces the characters and explains why sheKill Bill Vol. 1 is AWESOME! It has Way better action than the second one. Now, I'm not saying that Kill Bill Vol. 2 is a bad movie believe me it is awesome and I gave that a 10 also but this introduces the characters and explains why she wants to kill the people on her death list and of course, Bill. I truly love this movie and it deserves a 10 undoubtedly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
opixSep 10, 2010
Two thumbs up for this movie ! Professor Tarantino is a genius ! I first noticed Tarantino's name in Nirvana's album "In Utero"..I love Kurt Cobain also...they are both awesome in art !
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LegalsNov 8, 2010
This movie was great! It was funny and action packed! From a blood hungry bride to a Japanese schoolgirl who can wield a ball and chain it was a great movie. Very good storyline too I believe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SplashMagikarpJun 26, 2013
For those unfamiliar to Tarantino's work this movie might be 'unrealistic'. Tarantino's films usually go for some kind of cartoon-ish funny-ish action style script which is nothing but the way he likes to direct. The user score and theFor those unfamiliar to Tarantino's work this movie might be 'unrealistic'. Tarantino's films usually go for some kind of cartoon-ish funny-ish action style script which is nothing but the way he likes to direct. The user score and the meta-score seem way too low. Although I must say vol. 2 is much better than vol. 1. Yet again I consider Kill Bill Vol 1 and Vol 2 as one and only masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spazzinmekonNov 17, 2010
This and the sequel to this movie are still my favorite movies of ALL TIME. Loved everything about it. yes it's rather gory, but it almost doesn't seem that gory given that's it's given in such a cartoon-ish way, which i Love. I'm utterlyThis and the sequel to this movie are still my favorite movies of ALL TIME. Loved everything about it. yes it's rather gory, but it almost doesn't seem that gory given that's it's given in such a cartoon-ish way, which i Love. I'm utterly amazed that the critics for this movie are so low, i can't get enough of the movie. GREAT fight scenes, and i love how they add little funny tidbits throughout that story, as well as add quirky sounds throughout the movie, it really keep my attention every single time i watch it. Thumbs WAY up!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
lherman22Dec 4, 2010
I think this is my favorite Tarantino film. I've seen so many review saying "it was so gory" and the "violence was cheap and fake looking." These comments always make me laugh. You don't get it. This is a homage to kung-fu flicks of the 60'sI think this is my favorite Tarantino film. I've seen so many review saying "it was so gory" and the "violence was cheap and fake looking." These comments always make me laugh. You don't get it. This is a homage to kung-fu flicks of the 60's and 70's; they WERE cheap and exaggerated. Most of all they were FUN! If you don't like kung-fu flicks then why on earth would you watch this movie? This is not a soul searching drama, this is KUNG-FU! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LuksRokzApr 8, 2013
Damn, if you where to watch vol 2 before this one (like i did) you would LOVE kill bill vol 1. I can see why people wouldn't like it, seeing how its mostly shooty shooty bangy bangy and very little plot in between (most of this plot is laterDamn, if you where to watch vol 2 before this one (like i did) you would LOVE kill bill vol 1. I can see why people wouldn't like it, seeing how its mostly shooty shooty bangy bangy and very little plot in between (most of this plot is later found in vol 2). But hey, i love it. What can i say, it was one of the first Tarantino movies i ever watched and i love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
curiousbystandrJun 6, 2015
Quentin Tarantino definitely tops my list of 'let's get a bucket of popcorn and a movie we are guaranteed to enjoy' movies and Kill Bill is in exception. It is well paced, beautifully filmed and packs a punch in all the rightQuentin Tarantino definitely tops my list of 'let's get a bucket of popcorn and a movie we are guaranteed to enjoy' movies and Kill Bill is in exception. It is well paced, beautifully filmed and packs a punch in all the right places...BUT....is all that gore absolutely necessary? I mean how many limbs can be chopped off in 30 seconds? There is blood spraying literally everywhere in this movie and I'm not sure of the point.
The scenes were so well staged, however, the music so in sync and the interspersed humor so enjoyable that I cannot say the gore ruined it for me. However, I think there could have been a tad less.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ozcodeNov 16, 2011
I recently just watched both movies for the first time i have to by it self this movie is not much to talk about, but seeing vol.2 the movie was extremely better. Its hard to say whats Quentin Tarantino's best film but this ranks up there.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TaediumJul 22, 2011
Kill Bill isn't supposed to be believable. Kill Bill is: gory, ridiculous, It's pure, unfiltered Tarantino. Kill Bill is: Cool. Brilliant, timeless classic, which is exactly what to expect from Quentin. Vol 1 and 2 are one of those kind ofKill Bill isn't supposed to be believable. Kill Bill is: gory, ridiculous, It's pure, unfiltered Tarantino. Kill Bill is: Cool. Brilliant, timeless classic, which is exactly what to expect from Quentin. Vol 1 and 2 are one of those kind of movies that I have to watch every time I see it on cable. It just never gets old. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MrMallardApr 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a bloody good time: lots of fake blood, sword fighting and limbs being cut off. The story is threadbare, but Volume 2 gives us the full story and compliments Volume 1, making it better if you ask me. Ms Thurman's acting was admittedly a bit wooden at times, but when she's good, she's good. That scream at the start, where she wakes up in the hospital? PURE GOLD.

And the MUSIC! Twisted Nerve was... well, to put it lightly, it was irritating. The rest of the music is absolutely amazing; i've saved most of it into a playlist on Youtube. One song in particular stands out: The Lonely Shepard. It sounds like a fusion between East and West, incorporating a flute in to begin with and bringing in guitars and trumpets... It's the most triumphant song I have ever heard. Look it up, NOW.

And the CAST! Uma Thurman brought her best, finally breaking into the lead spot after her part in another Tarantino affair Pulp Fiction. DAVID **** CARRADINE plays the titular Bill. Lucy Liu, who was the hottest thing in the world after the Charlie's Angels movie skyrocketed, plays this movie's "antagonist". Sonny Chiba is by far the most charming character in this film, playing portly little Hattori Hanzo. Michael Madsen is in Vol. 2! No-one brings a cast together like Quentin Tarantino, and I don't care who you are or what you smoke, but that's a fact you can't deny.

On its own, it's a marvelous little gore flick. Watching it again after Vol. 2 brings something completely new to it. You just can't lose, unless you're a Fundy looking for a Boogeyman. Give this movie a go, and if you don't like the blood and swearing, go pick up "Ultraviolet" instead.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EdgarcinemaJun 22, 2013
La venganza puede ser el arma mas mortal en el ser humano, misma que nos lleva a cometer cosas con la finalidad de satisfacerla. El largometraje nos muestra la venganza en primer termino y en segundo como se lleva a cabo.
Baños de sangre,
La venganza puede ser el arma mas mortal en el ser humano, misma que nos lleva a cometer cosas con la finalidad de satisfacerla. El largometraje nos muestra la venganza en primer termino y en segundo como se lleva a cabo.
Baños de sangre, peleas mortales, y una historia que contar nos muestra el guion y los cuadros. Una dirección, que la hace diferenciar de las otras. Buena historia y rescatables actuaciones, aunque a su paso deja preguntas sin contestar auque aun falta ver volumen 2.
En si una pelicula para la historia.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MaxwellS.May 9, 2004
Maybe I had too high of expectations, but the first half of this film let me down a bit. Still a great story with an amazing cliffhanger (although the movie should just be one long three hour experience). Not as good as the gold of Resevoir Maybe I had too high of expectations, but the first half of this film let me down a bit. Still a great story with an amazing cliffhanger (although the movie should just be one long three hour experience). Not as good as the gold of Resevoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, and True Romance, but the Quentinescence is there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LavanyaJJun 9, 2005
Bang bang he shot me down bang bang that awful sound the best campy movie ever! its a classic tarantino!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KelvinL.Aug 29, 2005
Stylish and exciting with a great soundtrack! I smell a rat, some reviews which gave this film 0 look remarkable similar! This gives me reason to suspect that they were penned from the same indivdual! For those complaining against the Stylish and exciting with a great soundtrack! I smell a rat, some reviews which gave this film 0 look remarkable similar! This gives me reason to suspect that they were penned from the same indivdual! For those complaining against the violence, just what were you expecting! The clue is in the title! Any film with "kill" in is not going to be Mary Poppins! As for those comments saying most of the audience left halfway through the film with only 25% capacity, I guess it depends where you live, my cinema was packed to capacity and not one person left early! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlcoholicOct 11, 2003
Tarantino has done it again!I didn't wait for this movie for nothing. Good mix of great dialogue, unrealism and realism. Go and see it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnoldR.Jan 6, 2004
One hell of a movie to come back with, excellent, kept me on the edge of my seat while laughing my arse off, can't wait untill volume 2 comes out in Feb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GalS.Jan 9, 2004
i have the movie on DVD, and every time I watch it I wanna be in the movie (wtf?!)......it is good!!!!!! although this movie is very bloody its also bloody good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheRoninS.Feb 4, 2004
All these people whining about the violence...even squeamish critic Leonard Maltin understood it's overwhelmingly cartoonish nature.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadH.May 10, 2004
Best movie of the year for SURE! i cant wait for the second one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DillB.May 30, 2004
This is one of the greatest movies of all time. Just the way that they set up the scenes and then execute all of the cool scenes. I am saying this from a director's point of view and this has to be one of the greatest movies of all This is one of the greatest movies of all time. Just the way that they set up the scenes and then execute all of the cool scenes. I am saying this from a director's point of view and this has to be one of the greatest movies of all time. I have already seen it about 200 times and it is still one of my favorite movies and it hasn't gotten old yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanJul 1, 2004
Amazing. If you enjoy action at all, you will love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marshallmOct 20, 2005
Hands down, one of my favorites, but kill bill vol. 2 is even better! and this one is hard to top.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JoeyK.Aug 8, 2005
I'm not a huge enthusiast of Tarantino or this movie, but I liked it and I'm shocked it got as low as a 69. I expected high 70's at the lowest to high 80's at the best. It's a good movie, with interesting style, and I'm not a huge enthusiast of Tarantino or this movie, but I liked it and I'm shocked it got as low as a 69. I expected high 70's at the lowest to high 80's at the best. It's a good movie, with interesting style, and plenty to keep your attention. Tarantino screws with reality, it seems, but that's what movies are for, aren't they? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnEOct 9, 2006
Absolute classic revenge movie, Tarantino gives the genre the respect it reserves. This was obviously a tribute to films that have inspired him, but still had Tarantino's signature touches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelY.Apr 6, 2007
The most exciting moviegoing experience I have ever had in the theater...I don't know whether that makes it a great movie, but it can't hurt. Tarantino pulls out all the stops, showing all of his skills, and gives the audience a The most exciting moviegoing experience I have ever had in the theater...I don't know whether that makes it a great movie, but it can't hurt. Tarantino pulls out all the stops, showing all of his skills, and gives the audience a helluva ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricC.Oct 11, 2003
This movie is probably the closest I've seen any movie come to imitating a japanese anime. And for me, that's a very good thing. Kill Bill is just surrounded in so much style, it practically puts the film in a league of its own. This movie is probably the closest I've seen any movie come to imitating a japanese anime. And for me, that's a very good thing. Kill Bill is just surrounded in so much style, it practically puts the film in a league of its own. The action scenes are the best I've seen since Matrix: Reloaded. This film is very bloody, but not like a Jason movie. It would be more accurate to say the over-the-top blood content helps increase the feel of Kill Bill. The acting is top-notch, and without a doubt, Uma Thurman performs fantastically. I could've easily watched vol. 1 and 2 together for three hours straight. I never got bored of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeFlexOct 11, 2003
Kill Bill may not have been the greatest movie I've ever seen, but it is, wthout a doubt, one of the coolest. For the first time, Tarantino's direction takes the lead over his script and it pays off in the best movie of his career Kill Bill may not have been the greatest movie I've ever seen, but it is, wthout a doubt, one of the coolest. For the first time, Tarantino's direction takes the lead over his script and it pays off in the best movie of his career not named Pulp Fiction. Besides, all you needs a sense of humor and a love of Sonny Chiba. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulM.Oct 10, 2003
This movie is like a cinematic roller-coaster, and you ride a roller coaster for the thrill of pounding down a track at breakneck speeds and for the spray of adrenals...in that it succeeds majestically...to require this movie to do anythingThis movie is like a cinematic roller-coaster, and you ride a roller coaster for the thrill of pounding down a track at breakneck speeds and for the spray of adrenals...in that it succeeds majestically...to require this movie to do anything else is to shortchange it...Bravo Quentin...this baby rocks at 90 miles an hour... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UterNov 20, 2003
The plot is very simple, but the style and action are superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NoelT.Oct 13, 2003
Well you have to realize that we have only seen half of the movie. Can't judge Citizen Kane, or Casablanca if you only saw half of it. God forbid they have an intermission. Imagine what Akira Kurosawa's film Seven Samuri would be Well you have to realize that we have only seen half of the movie. Can't judge Citizen Kane, or Casablanca if you only saw half of it. God forbid they have an intermission. Imagine what Akira Kurosawa's film Seven Samuri would be like if it was released today. Would they break it into 3 sections. Seven Samuri Vol. 1, 2 and 3? Or would distributor really want people to sit though a 4.5 hour long movie with a 15 min. intermission? My only complaint is I wish they would show what "the bride" was while a-mother-to-be and a-wife-to -be. So we can great an idea of how good her life was and how bad it got so quickly. If they did this more people would be cheering for black mambo. Who knows they might have some of that in the other half. Go see it now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IshiiOct 13, 2003
Yes, my last name is Ishii - same as O-ren Ishii in the film. Anyhoo, this movie kicked ass. It's all about Uma Thurman going around ruining everyone's sh.t. 100% great entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaW.Oct 14, 2003
Forget Uma Thurman's quest for justice, Tarantino is back with his own vengeance in Kill Bill. Every year there's mabye 5-10 films that are worth while, and only about half of those are cinematic gems at that. Kill Bill is Forget Uma Thurman's quest for justice, Tarantino is back with his own vengeance in Kill Bill. Every year there's mabye 5-10 films that are worth while, and only about half of those are cinematic gems at that. Kill Bill is certainly one of those gems. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredS.Oct 15, 2003
Wow! This truly is a movie buffs wet dream! I wouldn't have seen this movie four times in three days if I didn't mean that, and I'm prime to see it again. Volume 2 now has a lot to live up to, but you know as well as I do, Wow! This truly is a movie buffs wet dream! I wouldn't have seen this movie four times in three days if I didn't mean that, and I'm prime to see it again. Volume 2 now has a lot to live up to, but you know as well as I do, that Tarantino can pull it off. Bravo, QT! Continue your legendary career with whatever you'd like, because if this is the result, long live the king! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OrpheusfixOct 17, 2003
If anything else, a celebration of pop culture. (One of the guys below gave the movie a 0 after walking out on it 30 minutes into the movie. That's kind of stupid ain't it? Why not see the entire movie and then rate it for what one If anything else, a celebration of pop culture. (One of the guys below gave the movie a 0 after walking out on it 30 minutes into the movie. That's kind of stupid ain't it? Why not see the entire movie and then rate it for what one thought it should deserve.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IntroducingTheHardlineAccordingToGilbertMulroneycaOct 17, 2003
Pure. There's a one word review for you: pure. Not morally pure, or spiritually pure, cinematically pure. Like 2001: A Space Oddysey, Kill Bill is not about things, it is things. At first glance, it's a little Pure. There's a one word review for you: pure. Not morally pure, or spiritually pure, cinematically pure. Like 2001: A Space Oddysey, Kill Bill is not about things, it is things. At first glance, it's a little style-over-substanceish, but delve deeper and it's clear that it's ALL style, to the extent that the style IS the substance. It must be said, though, that this makes for something of a cocktail in too small a glass, with so many tricks and stylistic doodahs going off at the same time. QT is palpably drunk on filmmaking - but it still works. Think of it as his 1941, only better. Besides, the director of 1941's gone on to do alright for himself. It's really difficult to recommend Kill Bill - critics in this country have savaged it, partly because they miss the point, but also because it's a very Marmite sort of film - so the best I can say is, if you like this sort of thing, this sort of thing you like. And even if you don't, it's brilliant, in its own slightly psychotic way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnOct 24, 2003
Kill Bill is absolutely one of the best, if not the best movie out so far this year. The people giving it 0's obviously can't get over the violence factor to appreciate its unique style and all the great detail brought in from the Kill Bill is absolutely one of the best, if not the best movie out so far this year. The people giving it 0's obviously can't get over the violence factor to appreciate its unique style and all the great detail brought in from the movie genres that this movie is based on. Although gory, it's the kind of over-the-top gore and violence that begins to become desensitizing on purpose. If Tarantino had wanted, he could have made the gore 100 times more realistic. Instead he is poking fun and paying homage to those kung fu movies, and revenge flicks where all these elements (simple plot, fake gore, no character development) are done just by accident as a result of bad filmmaking. Here it is all done on purpose...some people understand that and can smile, and some people can't. On another note, I really appreciated Uma's performance in this, being someone who has never thought she was that pretty nor talented, but she really shines in this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LuisC.Oct 28, 2003
This and Lost in Translation are thest films of the year so far. Bring on ROTK!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanC.Oct 9, 2003
A really awesome, unbalanced, bloody, mean, funny, twisted, cliched, sexy, awkward, ice cold, boundary-pushing, ass-kicking action flick. Expect Jackie Brown and prepare for disappoinment. Expect kung fu and get your socks rocked off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArtherS.Oct 9, 2003
This movie is awesome. And I shoud know, cuz I'm really smart at judging these kind of things! It is awesome. What can I say!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RadicalJan 16, 2004
Its worth noting how strong people's reactions are to this film. One one hand, critics say they left feeling nothing and claim the film succeeds in being powerfully emotive; however, they are quick to exhibit extremely harsh reactions Its worth noting how strong people's reactions are to this film. One one hand, critics say they left feeling nothing and claim the film succeeds in being powerfully emotive; however, they are quick to exhibit extremely harsh reactions to the film. While the film celebrates violence on screen, it appears to be no greater than the violence of the critic's tongue. With that being said, I feel that there is a trend of expectations developing in our critical eye that is damaging to what film represents: film does not need a social agenda -- by requiring it to satisfy your own personal belief systems, you are sacrificing your ability to objectively analyze and study the art. This is clearly a powerful film, with gorgeous imagery, fantastic pacing and tone, and possesses sufficient depth for contemplative and satisfying analysis. Tarentino is a powerful visionary, director auture of our day, and his work should be studied within his own context, not yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephM.Jan 8, 2004
Don't take this movie too seriously and it is a pretty good time. I don't remember ever seeing this much blood in a movie since Charlton Heston turned the waters to blook in The Ten Commandments... This movie is an instant classic Don't take this movie too seriously and it is a pretty good time. I don't remember ever seeing this much blood in a movie since Charlton Heston turned the waters to blook in The Ten Commandments... This movie is an instant classic in the martial arts genre and I look forward to volume 2! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.Feb 10, 2004
This movie splits people up. Either you "Get it" or you dont. If you don't, then I feel sorry for you. But if you do, "get it", then this movie will go down as one of the most entertaining, laughable, over the top, crazy movie you will This movie splits people up. Either you "Get it" or you dont. If you don't, then I feel sorry for you. But if you do, "get it", then this movie will go down as one of the most entertaining, laughable, over the top, crazy movie you will ever see. Its a conundrum of sorts. Its slow, and fast. Its serious and silly. Its shocking and hilarious. What Kill Bill really is... Its art. Its visionary. Its a dream brought to life. Its simple yet intriguing. Its mind-bendingly brutal, but its all taken in jest. I have never laughed so much at such over the top silliness, but it held together without losing one ounce of magnetism for the intrigued watcher. Its like nothing you ever seen before, but at the same time, you have probably seen everything within it before. Its a conundrum. And Quentin Tarantino brings together the whole parody of B-movies to a different level. Its a work of sheer brilliance, and it will go down as being one of the greatest cult films ever made. Absolutely brilliant. I just feel sorry for those who don't "Get it"... But then again, who cares about them anyways? Kill Bill is an amazing film, and one that is unique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RenanB.Feb 21, 2004
As Ebert said in his review, there is not a real story here, but there is storytelling. It's not so deep or intelligent. IT'S PURE FUN. IT'S ABOUT HAVING FUN. If you don't get this, too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.Feb 25, 2004
I agree with John C on this one... I got it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TelySFeb 3, 2004
Tarantino contiues his exploration into the arts of plagerism with his latest. While I'll take any old school Japanese/Hong Kong action film over Kill Bill, Bill is fun in a way that only Q.T. can make it. Ironicly, the best, most Tarantino contiues his exploration into the arts of plagerism with his latest. While I'll take any old school Japanese/Hong Kong action film over Kill Bill, Bill is fun in a way that only Q.T. can make it. Ironicly, the best, most original sequence in the film is also the least nessesary, the anime backstory of O-Ren. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
UterMar 1, 2004
It's well done, but the plot is ultra simple. I like the style though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RomanMar 3, 2004
To make a movie that does not have any type of plot and still succeeds the way this does shows that QT knows how to tell a story. Of course this movie is violent and if that is the only reason people dont like it, then they are too dumb for To make a movie that does not have any type of plot and still succeeds the way this does shows that QT knows how to tell a story. Of course this movie is violent and if that is the only reason people dont like it, then they are too dumb for this anyways. This is QT's way of showing us the styles of movies that influenced him and most americans dont "get it". This movie is pure fun and the young japanese girl steals every scene she is in. This movie is full of violence from beginning to end but it tells it in a way that is articulate and inventive. None of this just shoot the other guys like bad boys or some stupid crap like that. This is storytelling at its best and the anime in the middle proves that most people look at movies and most other things i might add with a narrow point of view and cannot expand their mindset. This was brought to you by a liberal college student with a 3.8 gpa. For the dumbasses who "dont get" this movie, ill take my groceries in plastic please. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Apr 14, 2004
Wow! I haven't been this excited about an action movie in a long time. Kill Bill is an extraordinary take on the martial arts action style. It does what last year's Matrix films attempt to do for fight scenes. The scenes are Wow! I haven't been this excited about an action movie in a long time. Kill Bill is an extraordinary take on the martial arts action style. It does what last year's Matrix films attempt to do for fight scenes. The scenes are choreographed brilliantly, and the use of cinematography is exceptional. However, as no movie is perfect, it would be unfair to all the movies I bash to not point out Kill Bill's faults. Dialog in parts of the movie is severely lacking (especially for Tarantino), and the concept of the movie itself (a tale of revenge) is painfully linear. The movie seems to move along as expected with no real twists, even though there are plenty of shocking parts. Overall, I think Vol. 1 did a great job setting up this story. Tarantino has said that we "really haven't seen anything, yet," so I'm incredibly anxious to see where Vol. 2 takes us. I recommend this film for anyone who was a fan of Tarantino's previous work, along with anyone longing for a film to return substance to the action genre after last year's crapfest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinU.Apr 21, 2004
This movie was outstanding, the connection Vol. 1 makes with Vol. 2 makes the two movies perfectly come together, as a martial artist myself I do work with the Katana and it was put to good use in this fantastic movie. The blood spray is This movie was outstanding, the connection Vol. 1 makes with Vol. 2 makes the two movies perfectly come together, as a martial artist myself I do work with the Katana and it was put to good use in this fantastic movie. The blood spray is just QT's way of showing his famous dark comedy and some people don't understand that. It's supposed to be over done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DerekM.Apr 8, 2004
The movie rides on pure cinematic flare. It's as if Tarantino is trying to prove that he can make a good movie out of a terrible script. Although I have to be honest. I had a lot of fun watching this film. Most action movies bore me to The movie rides on pure cinematic flare. It's as if Tarantino is trying to prove that he can make a good movie out of a terrible script. Although I have to be honest. I had a lot of fun watching this film. Most action movies bore me to no end, but not Kill Bill. I sat mesmerized throughout. Overall this movie is just a mindless good time, that you don't have to be mindless to enjoy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful