Miramax Films | Release Date: April 16, 2004
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 683 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
565
Mixed:
64
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
JoeyK.Aug 8, 2005
It's all the interest of the premise of the first one, with all the answers to the questions of the first one, with half the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KendoJJun 10, 2009
7.6 Perfect sequel to a very cool movie. Alternately hilarious and excruciating. Pai Mei is a brilliant caricature.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GavinCJul 27, 2009
Less action, more talking but it somehow lives up to the original's standards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Oct 11, 2004
The preferred alternative to taking a child custody battle through the courts. Quicker, simpler, cheaper, and though bloodier a lot less painful. Tarantino gives us an homage to Kung Fu that also provides rich inferences to today's The preferred alternative to taking a child custody battle through the courts. Quicker, simpler, cheaper, and though bloodier a lot less painful. Tarantino gives us an homage to Kung Fu that also provides rich inferences to today's domestic relations, and he continues to employ his cadre of devoted actors to assert his alternative universe as a look at our world with new eyes (except for Elle, of course). Not since Kubrick has a filmmaker consistently provided us movies that are entertaining in their attention to detail and stunning as creations of fine art. This is in spite of all the negative commentary he accumulates, which is all true. And let's face it, Bill and Beatrix are one dysfunctional parenting team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabeD.Apr 12, 2004
Quentin Tarantino does it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GordoV.Apr 13, 2004
Best movie eva.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanF.Apr 13, 2004
Excellent Thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekM.Apr 16, 2004
There's a major difference between unintentional stupidity and intentional artistic stupidity. This movie will get a lot of bad reviews because many can not tell the difference. If you don't like movies about movies. Skip this, There's a major difference between unintentional stupidity and intentional artistic stupidity. This movie will get a lot of bad reviews because many can not tell the difference. If you don't like movies about movies. Skip this, cause it's a an ode to old b movies. Otherwise it's a must see. It doesn't have a great plot, it's not particularily intense, just perfectly directed, and filled to the brink with fun. A great gem of an action film that reminds me of the days when action films didn't have to suck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeM.Apr 16, 2004
A brilliant work of art by Tarantino; anyone who thinks otherwise, I truly feel sorry for - you'll never get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyC.Apr 16, 2004
Amazing film, great dialogue, and great action. Reminds me of why I ever started watching movies in the first place. Anybody who would say otherwise or recommend "The Whole Ten Yards" over Kill Bill needs to consider not watching movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredSSApr 16, 2004
Absolutely great! I now honestly believe that Quentin Tarantino is God! Once both volumes are combined to create the "Kill Bill Saga", it'll quite possibly be the coolest and most entertaining piece of filmmaking you'll ever see in Absolutely great! I now honestly believe that Quentin Tarantino is God! Once both volumes are combined to create the "Kill Bill Saga", it'll quite possibly be the coolest and most entertaining piece of filmmaking you'll ever see in your life. Ridiculously recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianApr 17, 2004
Brilliant. Sure, it's not as action-packed as the first film, but by slowing down the action, Tarantino has created the perfect complement to Vol. 1. It makes the work as a whole much more substantial than the original, putting it on Brilliant. Sure, it's not as action-packed as the first film, but by slowing down the action, Tarantino has created the perfect complement to Vol. 1. It makes the work as a whole much more substantial than the original, putting it on the same level as QT's best work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottK.Apr 17, 2004
Quentin does not disappoint! David Carradine was great! The strip bar scene was mildly enjoyable, but I have to admit that it could've been cut, it didn't really reveal that much about Bud.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VincentV.Apr 17, 2004
Utterly Incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdK.Apr 17, 2004
After a director delivers a masterpiece such as the Kill Bill saga, a War movie (one of Tarantino?s next plan) sounds totally boring. Actually, after watching Kill Bill Vol. 2 every other movie sounds boring. It almost feels like cinema is After a director delivers a masterpiece such as the Kill Bill saga, a War movie (one of Tarantino?s next plan) sounds totally boring. Actually, after watching Kill Bill Vol. 2 every other movie sounds boring. It almost feels like cinema is over. Nothing can be more entertaining, thrilling, breathtaking and full of adrenaline as KILL BILL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillC.Apr 17, 2004
One of the best times I've ever had at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonR.Apr 18, 2004
9 Only because this movie should never have been split in two. Fantastic story of deep emotion and sweet revenge. Maybe because I'm fascinated by emotions and consequences, but that is what this movie is all about, and I'm all over that!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SupaDipaApr 18, 2004
Vince H. says this is "one of the 10 best movies I've seen this year". I would say this is one of the 10 best movies (and top 5) I've seen in my entire life. And I've been watching movies from every single part of the world Vince H. says this is "one of the 10 best movies I've seen this year". I would say this is one of the 10 best movies (and top 5) I've seen in my entire life. And I've been watching movies from every single part of the world for my entire life... well, maybe I'm still under the whole Kill Bill effect, but how many movies have such a lasting effect on its viewers?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomB.Apr 18, 2004
Wow. That's pretty much what I was thinking as I walked out of the theater this afternoon. Now if you don't like to view scenes of violence in a film and if you've seen any of Quentin Tarantino's previous films (such as Wow. That's pretty much what I was thinking as I walked out of the theater this afternoon. Now if you don't like to view scenes of violence in a film and if you've seen any of Quentin Tarantino's previous films (such as Reservoir Dogs or Pulp Fiction) and didn't like them then you probably wouldn't like either Vol.1 or 2 of Kill Bill. On the other hand, if you do enjoy the type of movies that Tarantino makes you'll love this one. Everyone in this film is perfectly cast and the action scenes leave you with your mouth gaping open. Vol. 2 answers many questions that one may have been asking (and several that would've never even occurred to you) after viewing Vol. 1 although I'd say that even if you haven't seen the first Kill Bill movie the second one will still stand on it's own as there are enough references to what transpired in the previous film that you won't feel lost. Of course since Kill Bill Vol. 1 is now out on DVD I'd suggest renting it prior to seeing the second installment (if you haven't seen it already) just to get the full effect. Just as Pulp Fiction did for John Travolta, Samuel Jackson and Bruce Willis, I could easily see this movie reviving a few careers. I have to admit that I had no idea that Daryl Hannah could really act (which she does in a BIG way in this film) nor did I think that David Carradine could ever project the kind of bigger-than-life presence that he did as the title character. I could easily rant about this movie all day but I won't. Instead I'll just give it two thumbs and and two big toes up as high as I can get 'em and add Kill Bill to my top ten list of favorite films of all time. I plan on seeing it at least once more while it's still in theaters and won't hesitate to purchase the DVD when it comes available. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeApr 18, 2004
Superior film. Light and heavy all at once. Fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LexLuthorApr 22, 2004
Wow, this movie is unbelievable. I definitely could not have come up with a better ending to such an origanal plot. I contemplated much about the ending and seeing how it turned out, twice as good as my best thought, i was awe struck. I mustWow, this movie is unbelievable. I definitely could not have come up with a better ending to such an origanal plot. I contemplated much about the ending and seeing how it turned out, twice as good as my best thought, i was awe struck. I must also note that this movie is far less violent and serves to be more of a philosophical tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.May 12, 2004
Quite possibly one of my favorite films of all time. Kill Bill 1 was an omage to the Kung Fu genre...Kill Bill 2 is a straight up Kung Fu movie. people who say it's boring are just those who don't appreciate wonderful dialogue. All Quite possibly one of my favorite films of all time. Kill Bill 1 was an omage to the Kung Fu genre...Kill Bill 2 is a straight up Kung Fu movie. people who say it's boring are just those who don't appreciate wonderful dialogue. All the Quentin is praised for about his dialogue comes to its pinnacle in this movie. yes, it's a lot of talking...but it's to make up for the lack of character development in the first movie. Every character was perfect. Best casting I've seen in so long. Every character that appeared on the screen was that character. it was the actor playing the character... it WAS that character... awesome movie. I'll stop gushing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianW.May 26, 2004
People like the Washington Post's Ann Hornaday and those dried husks from the two New York magazines must've died a little inside years ago to be so blind to movie that is so alive and filled with love. Love for its characters, People like the Washington Post's Ann Hornaday and those dried husks from the two New York magazines must've died a little inside years ago to be so blind to movie that is so alive and filled with love. Love for its characters, even the villains, love of life and love of the art of cinema. This movie, for me encapsulates everything that's good about film and life in general. It's inspired and inspiring. Experience it - it'll do your heart good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NinjaMafiaJun 29, 2004
Kill Bill (both volume one and two combined) is possibly my favorite action movie of all time, if not my favorite overall movie of all time. However, both volume one and two raise up some pretty interesting facts. Before anything, let me say Kill Bill (both volume one and two combined) is possibly my favorite action movie of all time, if not my favorite overall movie of all time. However, both volume one and two raise up some pretty interesting facts. Before anything, let me say that I am fifteen years old. Let's start with Kill Bill volume one first. My favorite film of 2003 was taken in pretty well by critics. It wasn't overwhelming praise from them but they still said it was pretty good. However, most of the public didn't care to go see it, and those that did were most likely over the age of twenty. What I then discovered was that the youth of today thought the commercials looked like the movie was stupid. Strange, the commercials, combined with Quinten Tarantino's interview on the Iron Monkey DVD, made me really want to see this movie. Kill Bill volume one then comes out on DVD and the entire youth loves it. However, they unfortunatley love it just because it was hyper violent. They failed to see all the homages it paid to old samurai flicks, thus making me believe they didn't get the whole picture. However, that's the new age generation for you, not wanting to see older flicks just because their won't be buckets of blood or expensive CG or explosions every two seconds. I however, was in love with old asian movies before I saw this movie, and when Sonny Chiba appeared on the screen I just got giddy with excitement. The gushing blood was also a homage to old samurai flicks, which I do like that Quinten added this little extra. Now comes Kill Bill volume two, getting amazing praise from critics and getting alot more youth seeing it than Kill Bill volume one. What's this though? The youth doesn't like it as much as volume one, and how come? Simple, it isn't ultra-violent. The movie takes its time to develope a storyline and three dimensional characters, which is obviously more than what most of todays youth can't grasp. Which also brings me to why the critics love this movie more than volume one. Volume two is more of a homage to westerns while volume one is a homage to old asian grindhouse flicks. I bet you that more critics have seen westerns than samurai movies and thus understand volume two a lot more. Which is also why the youth of today like volume one more than volume two. Take a survey of your local school and tell me how many students actually like westerns. What's this? Not alot you say? My point exactly. While I myself can't say that I am partial to westerns, I do try to keep an open mind when I walk into any movie. However, while I do like samurai and asian flicks better than westerns, I find myself liking Kill Bill Volume two more than one. Mainly because it builds upon an almost non-existent storyline from volume one. Thus making me care for the characters and their dilemmas. When The Bride and Bill finally do meet, their conversation opens up a whole new level of perspective for the movie. The consequences of revenge are revealed and questioned. Everything comes together and in a big bang of a finale, the whole story wraps up in an ending which may seem cliche and overdone, but works for this particular film. Kill Bill is a perfect revenge story played out with tons of homages to old films and told with a new age twist which in the end creates one of the coolest movies. This is the new age movie for people who like old movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobM.Jul 14, 2004
Uma Thurman is such a great actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LockneP.Aug 15, 2004
Kill Bill, Volume 2 is an excellent follow up to Volume 1. While Kill Bill, Volume 1 is the question, Volume 2 is the answer. Quentin Tarantino's directing in this motion picture is outstanding. Tarantino succeeds in having the audience Kill Bill, Volume 2 is an excellent follow up to Volume 1. While Kill Bill, Volume 1 is the question, Volume 2 is the answer. Quentin Tarantino's directing in this motion picture is outstanding. Tarantino succeeds in having the audience feeling emotional even when the Bride succeeds at eliminating her final target. The mix of dialogue, music, and style makes Kill Bill one of the best movies of the 21st century. The performances given from Uma Thurman and David Carradine are spectacular, and Kill Bill shouldn't be missed by anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BigCAug 15, 2004
Awesome answer to volume 1 by QT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregT.Aug 16, 2004
The entire Kill Bill 1 and 2 were strange movies from the outset, but were greatly entertaining. Loads of action and a plot and an underlying tension that is refreshing. Uma is all that and kicks ass literally, and actually she is a real The entire Kill Bill 1 and 2 were strange movies from the outset, but were greatly entertaining. Loads of action and a plot and an underlying tension that is refreshing. Uma is all that and kicks ass literally, and actually she is a real actress and not just an action bimbo. If you rent this movie, you have to see Kill Bill No. 1, before. It is well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MollyS.Aug 17, 2004
Best movie I've ever seen! Kill Bill volume 1 and volume 2 put together make a great combination, making them the two most brilliant films ever! Always my favorite!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryccePAug 22, 2004
Mr. HOWELL who gave this movie a 0 appears to have some violent tendencies in hinself as well. He needs to first take a chill pill, and second review his classics. Some of the greatest pieces of literature of history have always had violent Mr. HOWELL who gave this movie a 0 appears to have some violent tendencies in hinself as well. He needs to first take a chill pill, and second review his classics. Some of the greatest pieces of literature of history have always had violent qualites. The Count of Monte Criste was written in 1800's, is required reading in most high schools, and is all about one mans quest for revenge...hmmm. And for anyone who tries to read Shakespeare, they would know that he has a talent at writting very bloody plays. Macbath has dozens of sword fights, severed heads, and gore. Romeo & Juliet, a romance, also happens to have almost everyone die in it one way or another. This is a tiny list of the violent literature that are considered classics. As to Kill Bill, i won't deny that its a highly stylized but simple story. The protagonist survives her attmepted murder and loses her family, and decideds to take revenge. Thats the story in a nutshell. But some of the best stories aren't complicated and often are more simply told. And one more thing, Kill Bill is a movie! A story, a tall tale. No way would this ever be realistic. From the 100 body count fights, to the fact that she regains her entire bodys strength in 13 hours, the story makes no sense in almost a thousand ways, like all movies. This is just an entertaining movie with no real important meaning behind it. Its just an entertaining film. A Thrilling, Creative, Romantic, Bloody, Insanely good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaigeMar 22, 2005
I loved Kill Bill Vol. 2. It provides closure to an otherwise unfinished story. I can only hope that Tarantino will expound on the story and create a Vol. 3.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayF.Feb 19, 2006
Like volume one, "A truly beautiful and violent piece of filmwork from Quentin Tarantino".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkG.May 18, 2007
What's not to love about this movie? Fair enough, its not your type of film, but why even bother attempting to critisize the very elements that make is fantastic?? Tarantino, a self confessed comic book geek throws a comic book story at What's not to love about this movie? Fair enough, its not your type of film, but why even bother attempting to critisize the very elements that make is fantastic?? Tarantino, a self confessed comic book geek throws a comic book story at us on the big screen. Sharp, trademark, witty dialogue and adrenaline fuelled action scenes make this film two and a half hours of simple Tarantino fun. The Kill Bill franchise is one of a kind, and prehaps instead of 'know-all so-called film reviewers' condemning this film for its lack of realism and over-stuffed scenes, they should sit back and actually look at a piece of work that stands out brilliantly against the bleak and bland overly-used hollywood plot formulas. Great film. Great director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Scrat2015Apr 21, 2016
A very good movie, I think that it was better than vol. 1 because it has more story than violence and the blood effects were better but I still think that the story is a bit simple and I dont like the music, but it's a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews