User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1262 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rex
    Dec 19, 2005
    1
    Peter Jackson says, "The original only had one dinosaur, so let's make it two! We need to be bigger, no ginormous compared to the first." The studio says "but three t-rex's will get more people in the seats, make it more . . ."Peter Jackson interjects,
  2. I'mSorryMsJackson
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and where I lost a lot of weight. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created an exciting atmosphere on set, one where noone knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Expand
  3. PcFan
    Dec 20, 2005
    8
    Very entaining movie very polished and keeps you entertained from start to finish. only a complete idiot who has nothing better to do would give this movie a 3/10.
  4. GaryF.
    Dec 20, 2005
    0
    Are you kidding me? Refund! This is about the lamest alleged blockbuster I have ever seen. It is boring and without dialogue. The actors especially Jack Black are simply awful. And the middle part in Jurassic Park land are you kidding. Invisible machine gun bullets. T-Rex's hanging from a vine doing their impersonation of the WWF and those natives in blackpaint? C'mon give me a Are you kidding me? Refund! This is about the lamest alleged blockbuster I have ever seen. It is boring and without dialogue. The actors especially Jack Black are simply awful. And the middle part in Jurassic Park land are you kidding. Invisible machine gun bullets. T-Rex's hanging from a vine doing their impersonation of the WWF and those natives in blackpaint? C'mon give me a break. The story was totally implausible. Do you think Peter Jackson went to Steven Spielberg and said I can make a moron movie worse than War Of the Freakin Worlds? Let me tell you it is very close to that abomination. People were booing and laughing and then walking out of the theater. And don't bother coming during the first seventy minutes unless of course you need to catch up on your sleep. This is a disaster beyond all imagination. Expand
  5. SchpilkyBluey
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    The best movie I have seen a long while.
  6. FatimaI.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    The movie was the second best movie I ever saw. at the end the movie was so sad. everyone in my family saw it and they all said it was the best movie ever.
  7. SteveC.
    Dec 20, 2005
    8
    Yeah its long in strange places, short in others, but still a fantastic movie . CG were good to excellent, acting a bit cheesy at times (Black, Watts at the start) but why do we go to movies? to analyse or be entertained? hmmm...
  8. MichaelL.
    Dec 23, 2005
    6
    Only one hour too long.
  9. AurelioS.
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    great film, una pasada.
  10. JoshuaS.
    Dec 23, 2005
    5
    Insulting in its attempt to subvert the racism inherit in the story, sub-Jurrasic Park level dinosaur effects. Too long by 45 minutes and yet still mildly entertaining.
  11. Jack
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    By the general public, this movie is extremely underrated. Peter Jackson does an AMAZING job of keeping to the original storyline as precisely as possible, but still making it his own. With amazing CGI, awsome performances by Naomi Watts and Jack Black, and a completely orignal and untampered storyline, this movies becomes larger than life. The orginal plot is based around King By the general public, this movie is extremely underrated. Peter Jackson does an AMAZING job of keeping to the original storyline as precisely as possible, but still making it his own. With amazing CGI, awsome performances by Naomi Watts and Jack Black, and a completely orignal and untampered storyline, this movies becomes larger than life. The orginal plot is based around King Kong's love for Naomi Watts character, and Peter Jackson does an amazing job at keeping that aparrent in his movie. All who dislike this movie are just pretentious pricks who dislike any movie that gets aclaim, or really is just plain blind. It's amazing, it certifies Peter Jackson as a genious auture. Expand
  12. JoseC.
    Dec 26, 2005
    8
    The is long much longer then it needed to be. However, it is still a good movie. if you can't sit still or have finite attention spans. stay home
  13. RichardD.
    Dec 29, 2005
    3
    It was not believable enough and too long.
  14. LarryS.
    Dec 29, 2005
    3
    Aww come on! Do we really need another remake. Another King Kong. Yikes what a stupid idea by the American movie industry. Here's an idea how about an original idea with some good writing that makes you think. Special effects were poorly done considering the technology available. Naomi Watts what were you thinking! Another non stop action movie with nothing to say. Ugggghhhh! A movie Aww come on! Do we really need another remake. Another King Kong. Yikes what a stupid idea by the American movie industry. Here's an idea how about an original idea with some good writing that makes you think. Special effects were poorly done considering the technology available. Naomi Watts what were you thinking! Another non stop action movie with nothing to say. Ugggghhhh! A movie for tweenies!!! Expand
  15. Matt
    Dec 8, 2005
    8
    The first hour is so bad, you'll think it's an elaborate joke
  16. Martin
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable!
  17. JonR.
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    Stunning. Jaw-dropping. Emotional. Adrenaline-rushed. Need I go on? Just go and see it. You'll be amazed.
  18. AmberA.
    Dec 9, 2005
    7
    This film did not need to be three hours long. There were many parts that could've been cut and it would've made a much tighter movie. Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park. Also, you may note that the first people to die when they are traipsing around the jungle are the black man and the chinese man. Some editing incontinuties were hard to missThis film did not need to be three hours long. There were many parts that could've been cut and it would've made a much tighter movie. Some scenes on the Island were a little too reminiscent of Jurassic Park. Also, you may note that the first people to die when they are traipsing around the jungle are the black man and the chinese man. Some editing incontinuties were hard to miss - such as when Ann and Jack fall into the water from a giant bat's leg, and are both shown in the next scene with completely dry hair flowing in the wind. However, the relationship between Ann and King Kong is touching and well-captured. And the Empire State Building Scene is riveting-especially if you're scared of heights. My summary: this is a perfect Blockbuster film: lots of action, amazing special effects, bad dialogue, and almost no character development or depth (except maybe in King Kong) . Expand
  19. JimP.
    Dec 9, 2005
    8
    Very well done and exciting, with Kong an amazing creation. The Skull Island adventures eventually drag on a bit -- the excitement become a bit dulled by repetition -- and there are are few others infelicitious moments and repetitions, but if you are a moviegoer at all inclined towards this type of movie, you will be quite satisfied by the movie.
  20. LoreenaT.
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    I just want to say, that this movie should win Oscars, precious!. Goooood.
  21. Socrates
    Jan 1, 2006
    0
    Wow. I couldn't have asked for a worse New Years Eve party than going to to see this movie. It was long and boring as hell, and nothing felt connected; everything seemed like a short, stupid scene that had no relation to the next ("We're running from dinosaurs! Now we're shooting at King Kong!"). The CGI felt as weightless and lifeless as all CGI in almost every movie Wow. I couldn't have asked for a worse New Years Eve party than going to to see this movie. It was long and boring as hell, and nothing felt connected; everything seemed like a short, stupid scene that had no relation to the next ("We're running from dinosaurs! Now we're shooting at King Kong!"). The CGI felt as weightless and lifeless as all CGI in almost every movie I've seen does. Jackson shows just how truly literal and thoughtless he is with this film, for here he could have made any number of important statements regarding a slew of problems in the world. Instead, he opts to make a complete remake of the original film, complete with all the racial stereotypes of the time. Entertainment Weekly just said that Jackson is the new Spielberg, and since Spielberg isn't even done yet, I guess we can all be excited for twice as many overbloated, self serious and cranially incapacitated movies each year. Joy. Expand
  22. TylerD.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    King Kong is one amazing achievement. Kong himself was animated beautifully, and the atmosphere of the movie is incredible. Highly reccomendable. This isn't the same at home. It needs to be seen in theaters.
  23. AndyT.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    My favorite of 2005, Excelent direction of Art.
  24. DavidR.
    Jan 1, 2006
    1
    This movie is an oppressive three hours of cinematic effects, and noise. Just further proof that Hollywood is not only lacking in originality, but is increasingly throwing computer generated effects at the hoi poloi. This is more proof that real art (in the movies) in Holloywood is dead. All we get anymore, so it seems, is noise and excitement. If you want real art, go and see live This movie is an oppressive three hours of cinematic effects, and noise. Just further proof that Hollywood is not only lacking in originality, but is increasingly throwing computer generated effects at the hoi poloi. This is more proof that real art (in the movies) in Holloywood is dead. All we get anymore, so it seems, is noise and excitement. If you want real art, go and see live theater. At least you can see some talent. Expand
  25. IvancitoL.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    This is the movie of the year 2005!, has everything and full of brightness, funny, scary and emotional.
  26. Annalisa
    Jan 1, 2006
    4
    While there were great suspense gasping-for-air, mind blowingstuff happening in the movie, it was way too long - from getting to the island to being on the island. I was like "Hurry up and get to New York already!!"- Animal attacks overdone, and by the time he was on top of the tower, it was like "kill him already". There could have been more deleted scenes.
  27. PavonG.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    I already want to buy the DVD, is one of the best I have ever seen, and I have seen thousands.
  28. SamD.
    Jan 1, 2006
    5
    Great special effects. Jack Black was good. An hour to long.
  29. Chipytita
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    Wonderfull and Fantastic, thats why I like to go to the movies, to see this kind of movies.
  30. ChongKokH.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I think it's a very good movie if you can get what it tries to tell from the movie. I may not understand it completely or may have thought too much. But it's very touching. Imagine a lonely child trying to protect something he loved and died tragically when he try to give the best to his beloved.
  31. DouglasK
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    A Terrific film.
  32. rostokov
    Oct 19, 2006
    4
    Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and grew a beard. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was Thanks for watching my brilliant movie. What a lot of people don't know is how much work I put in, especially with my 'method' style of direction: I spent many months caged in an Auckland zoo, where I learned what it is to be a primate, and grew a beard. When I had achieved a true monkey mentality, Universal shipped me under anaesthetic to the Kong sets, whereupon I was released under strict supervision. The actors were often unable to understand my various grunts, but I felt this created and exciting atmosphere on set, one where no one knew what they were doing. I also tended to throw the camera around when I got bored, but I think this adds to the film's dynamism. It is a shame that I accidentally urinated on the motion control rig, because it created a constant crane loop, sorry about this. Unfortunately the editing room was too small to contain my monkey vitality and we lost one editor cos I chewed on his nose and bashed on his ballsarea. This may have given the film an irregular tempo, but one I'm sure hairy animals will enjoy. On a personal note, I chose to keep the movie long to reproduce how I felt when I was caged in downtown Auckland. There were a few regrettable incidents, like when I threw Jack Black cos I mistook him for a log, but my only real regret is there hadn't been such a debilitating shortage of bananas when we wrote the script. Expand
  33. Nuttybaby
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    One of my favorites af all time.
  34. RoxannA.
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim female role that is alive and well in contemporary cinema is revised here. Mankind is as cruel and apathetic to Kong as he is to most creatures on our 3 hours went by fast! What an adventure ride! This is the coolest Kong ever. Naomi Watts does the impossible, she's brilliant. I'm sure she played to green screen. Such compassion with few words. Thank God the helpless, victim female role that is alive and well in contemporary cinema is revised here. Mankind is as cruel and apathetic to Kong as he is to most creatures on our planet today. U know what a horrible ending it will be for Kong, and it's heartbreaking to watch. King Kong is a parable about man's rapacious approach to nature and animals. The laws of Darwin no longer apply today, everything lives or dies based on its relationship or value to man. Here on skull island man is reminded that he's part of the food chain! This is a great adventure story but what made it a great movie is the bond of equals between the blond and the beast. An impossible, poignantly drawn love affair . This was the soul of the movie for me. It was heartbreaking to see Kong die and to know we treat gorillas, wolves and other creatures the same in our world today. Can't be missed on the big screen! Expand
  35. Steph
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    I thought this film was great, all the effects were excellant and the cast was brill! I didnt know what to expect and was on the edge of my seat the whole time during the film. It has something for everyone and it is defiantly a must see!!! I would definatly get it on dvd when it comes out, one of the best films of the year!!!
  36. WeldonN.
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    Probably great for ages 6-12. If you are 13 or over, don't go because your snoring will probably disturb the kids.
  37. Rod
    Jan 28, 2006
    5
    Disappointing effort from the team which made 3 great Lord of the Rings films - but it always was a juvenile choice. The New York settings were pretty good but the island based scenes were generally terrible - so bad that I was close to leaving the theatre and I have never done that before. PJ's worst excesses are when he lets CG get in the way of good story telling (think the Disappointing effort from the team which made 3 great Lord of the Rings films - but it always was a juvenile choice. The New York settings were pretty good but the island based scenes were generally terrible - so bad that I was close to leaving the theatre and I have never done that before. PJ's worst excesses are when he lets CG get in the way of good story telling (think the Legolas as super hero bounding across the oliphant in LOTR by way of example). The scenes with Kong and the T-rexs, plus general chit-chat while dinosaurs stomp over the top while our heros run down the path were just plain silly. For anyone who hasn't seen it try out Jackson's amazing 1994 film Heavenly Creatures. Expand
  38. CurtisS.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    This movie kicked ass and got to the point. this was the best movie that was based on the book ever. the director is the sh.t.
  39. Fred
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies of all time, in my honest opinion. The love between Kong and Ann is very well represented to the point that you feel it; heck, you SEE it. In fact, this is probably my favorite "romantic" movie ever because there's no cheesy dialogue that nobody in their right mind would ever say. This is real. There is no need for dialogue between Ann and Kong. Their love is One of the best movies of all time, in my honest opinion. The love between Kong and Ann is very well represented to the point that you feel it; heck, you SEE it. In fact, this is probably my favorite "romantic" movie ever because there's no cheesy dialogue that nobody in their right mind would ever say. This is real. There is no need for dialogue between Ann and Kong. Their love is shown in their emotion and their actions and that's far more believable than two characters saying, "Aw, I love you like the wind loves the..." blah, blah, blah. This is a love that anybody can relate to: well-spoken or not. It's true this film is long, but the long setup simple makes the ending that much more powerful. Would 'The Great Gatsby' be great if it were one page long? Some works of art need setup. King Kong certainly could have been made into a 90-minute Hollywood Special, but it wouldn't have had any emotional impact and it would have been the equivalent of Jurrasic Park: all the action, with none of the meaning. King Kong is a must-see for all. Expand
  40. 360bob
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Just like Titanic you know how it ends but its the journey there and its better than other monster flicks out there like Godzilla or free willy.
  41. DunceCap
    Jan 3, 2006
    0
    Fred you don't have an honest opinon. You sound as if you are ten years old so I will cut you some slack. But opinions are like pie holes as everyone has one including me. For my money this movie was the pits. Peter Jackson is definitely in need of some professional counseling if this is the best he can do with a budget of two hundred million dollars. The acting was bad. The Fred you don't have an honest opinon. You sound as if you are ten years old so I will cut you some slack. But opinions are like pie holes as everyone has one including me. For my money this movie was the pits. Peter Jackson is definitely in need of some professional counseling if this is the best he can do with a budget of two hundred million dollars. The acting was bad. The directing even worse. And as for the dialogue what little there was well let's just say it was poor. The CGI was good in spots and horrid in others. Over all this movie was a total bomb. A turkey. Thanksgiving rather than Christmas would have been more appropriate to present this lame turkey with all the stuffing. Way toooo long and boring. Expand
  42. Justin
    Jan 30, 2006
    0
    First 20 minutes were entertaining. The subsequent 2,450 truthfully made me long for the most painful and lengthy suicide imaginable. Any reputable reviewer listed above should be ashamed of themselves for giving this thing any form of praise (Onion AV club, I'm particularly disapointed!). Having $200 million and a vivid imagination for creating mutant bugs does not equal a good First 20 minutes were entertaining. The subsequent 2,450 truthfully made me long for the most painful and lengthy suicide imaginable. Any reputable reviewer listed above should be ashamed of themselves for giving this thing any form of praise (Onion AV club, I'm particularly disapointed!). Having $200 million and a vivid imagination for creating mutant bugs does not equal a good film, please remember that when some asshole decides to remake Godzilla...oh wait, they did that. Expand
  43. RodS.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a good old adventure story that is meant to entertain, this movie shines. For three hours I was totally immersed in another world, with all the Most movies serve to either entertain, or to tell a story, many doing both. The question is, how well a movie accomplishes the above. P. Jackson's "King Kong" obviously is not "documentary" in the sense of the story-telling, but for a good old adventure story that is meant to entertain, this movie shines. For three hours I was totally immersed in another world, with all the romaticism and excitement reminiscent of my childhood escapist daydreams. I was enthralled by the images, the color palette, the action, the nail-biting suspense . . . This is a great movie that opens up a world of wonder and excitment, what I believe movie making originally was meant to be. Expand
  44. AdamL
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Great Movie, the length is necessary and the effects are amazing.
  45. SueM
    Jan 4, 2006
    3
    Eh.
  46. Angie
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    Simply Amazing, but if you didn't like Lord of the Rings you aren't going to like this either.... Peter Jackson makes movies for people who actually have attention spans.
  47. DanC.
    Jan 4, 2006
    8
    The best scenes in the movie are when Kong and Ann are together: they showed a development in their relationship, and the special effects are terrific. Sadly, the movie is too LONG, extremely LONG, there a lot of scenes that could been cut and if wouldn't affect anyhow the plot; scenes such as the battle with the giant insects!!!
  48. RockyL.
    Jan 4, 2006
    1
    Paul F. said it best when he said the overload of special effects finally made him numb to the experience. And that is part of the problem. Peter Jackson got so excited with his new toys that he forgot to leave some of the CGI on the cutting room floor. The editing was awful. As for the acting, Naomi Watts is certainly easy on the eyes but did anyone see any chemistry with Adrian Brody. I Paul F. said it best when he said the overload of special effects finally made him numb to the experience. And that is part of the problem. Peter Jackson got so excited with his new toys that he forgot to leave some of the CGI on the cutting room floor. The editing was awful. As for the acting, Naomi Watts is certainly easy on the eyes but did anyone see any chemistry with Adrian Brody. I for one did not. As for Jack Black he was simply miscast. He is one dimensional and should have never been given the role. As for the script, Peter Jackson took the basic concept but by the time we get to Skull Island with the illogical action scenes all credibility is lost. By the time we get back to NYC who really cares? The supsense is gone as we all know the big ape is going to climb up the Empire State Building to take his eventual swan dive for hopefully the third and final time. As a judge as he dives into the pool I heard the audience gasp 1.0, 1.5, 0.2, 0.5 and thus my 1 rating. The dialogue was awful, the writing terrible, the length of the movie about an hour too long, and the acting and directing abysmal. Other than that this was the BEST movie I have ever seen. Now I feel like one of these ten year olds who say this should win BEST PICTURE of THE YEAR? Give me a break. Expand
  49. Bill
    Jan 4, 2006
    1
    This was absolutely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The acting was terrible and the dialogue was sappy. If not for the special effects, it could easily be ranked as one of the worst movies of all time. The fact that it is 3.5 hours, when it should have been 90 minutes, puts it in a class all by itself.
  50. Jared
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    I have only one question for Peter Jackson. Your version of King Kong was so childish where was Godzilla and Mothra? That's all that was missing from that ridiculous implausable Skull Island where Jackson lost all credibility. His remake of King Kong and Jurassic Park was just a farce. There was the Big APE holding Naomi in one hand while fighting three T-Rex's at the same time. I have only one question for Peter Jackson. Your version of King Kong was so childish where was Godzilla and Mothra? That's all that was missing from that ridiculous implausable Skull Island where Jackson lost all credibility. His remake of King Kong and Jurassic Park was just a farce. There was the Big APE holding Naomi in one hand while fighting three T-Rex's at the same time. Preposterous. Then when the Captain arrived swinging on a vine machine gunning spiders without any of the bullets penetrating Adrian Brody and Jack Black well that was just too much. But when the Bats attacked King Kong with two humans standing and watching without being attacked with Adrian catching a BAT by the tail and gently hang gliding Naomi and him down the mountain, well, at that point the audience started laughing. As for getting Kong back to NY without destroying the boat let's not even go there. The NY debacle could not come fast enough as it was a joke. Where was that damn BAT when Kong needed him atop the Empire State Buidling? Preposterous movie without any suspense, believablity, acting or directing. Expand
  51. FedUp
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    When are these bought and paid for professional critics have to answer for their actions? I work hard for my money. I don't want to throw it away on absolutely worthless junk. There is no point rehashing what others have said about this trash. The acting, casting, directing and script were sorely lacking. I walked out with several others after the Jurassic Park adventure ride. It was When are these bought and paid for professional critics have to answer for their actions? I work hard for my money. I don't want to throw it away on absolutely worthless junk. There is no point rehashing what others have said about this trash. The acting, casting, directing and script were sorely lacking. I walked out with several others after the Jurassic Park adventure ride. It was as preposterous as the first hour that was crude and just plain boring. There are no words to ever express my outrage that I was played for a sucker by a critic that is paid to report the truth. If any critic wants to take me on one on one point by point be my guest. To give this film a score next to perfect means that the critic had to (A) have been bought and paid for or (B) had a lobotomy and is grossly unable to perform the duties for the paper that hired him or her. Be warned this is a juvenile film of the lowest order. Peter Jackson is a disgrace. Expand
  52. SimonC.
    Jan 5, 2006
    7
    >Now if you want to explain any of these plot holes be my guest but you won't be able to. OK. Since you asked, I'll try to address a couple of point you have raised. >And sure a small bottle of chloroform will put that Big Ape to sleep. Well, it was an entire flagon of it, and it hit him right on the nose. Would that be enough to put a 25 foot gorilla to sleep? I don't >Now if you want to explain any of these plot holes be my guest but you won't be able to. OK. Since you asked, I'll try to address a couple of point you have raised. >And sure a small bottle of chloroform will put that Big Ape to sleep. Well, it was an entire flagon of it, and it hit him right on the nose. Would that be enough to put a 25 foot gorilla to sleep? I don't know, but it's debatable, and therefore hardly a glaring plot hole. >Can anyone explain how he did not drown or how they lifted him on the damged little tug boat that could? When he fell unconscious, his was clearly shown resting on a rock, not in the water. Who knows how they got him to the boat. They may have been able to bring the ship closer and winch him aboard. Perhaps this is unlikely, but again, I wouldn't consider it to be a glaring plot hole. It's not a documentary, you know. >And if you want to believe that how did they feed him or contain him on his journey back to NYC? Do you want to tell me that they magically obtained steel chains that tied him to the damaged boat? Is it inconceivable that a boat and crew that specialises in capturing wild animals would have chains and sufficient food on board? I'd suggest they rigged up a cage and chains on the main cargo deck. >Well, if that's not bad enough when he arrives in NYC they had to have rehearsals before the native dance number with the blonde, not Ann Darrow, sacrifice right? How come he never reacted that entire time. I guess he waited for opening night to destroy NYC? The flashbulbs from the press clearly triggered his rage. The press would not have been there for rehearsals, only for opening night. > And if that wasn't enough, the ending in the winter with Ann without a coat in a light spring dress with high heels ascending up the ladder to the top of the tallest building in NYC was just the icing on the cake. So she was wearing the costume from that chorus girl show she was in, and didn't put on a cold because she ran outside in a rush after hearing the commotion. Is that such a big deal? >And by the way, where did the natives disappear to? Remember that they risked life and limb to kidnap Ann for Kong but somehow vanished when he got hit with a little teenie weenie bottle of chloroform. A) They cleared out when the sailors arrived with guns. B) I assume they would have cleared even further out when they heard Kong smashing the gate down. They weren't trying to feed Darrow to Kong because they love him, you know. It was a sacrifice. They were terrified of him. They wouldn't stick around to see what happened after he knocked the gate down. >You people raving about this trailer trash of a movie are totally insane. You are desparately in need of some professional help. I didn't think the movie was fantastic at all. I thought the compositing between CG and live action was often poor, and I loathe the jerky motion effect Jackson uses in the first encounter with the island natives, but most of the issues you have raised here are non-issues, given the fantastic premise of the film. If you want it to adhere stictly to the limits of reality, there would be NO 25 foot ape! Expand
  53. PeterS.
    Jan 5, 2006
    6
    Delightful, full of surprises, but way too long and repetitive. Jackson didn't know when to quit. Certainly half-an-hour sooner than he did.
  54. Howard
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    Special Effects were good not great. As for the rest of the flick it was just too awful to be beleived. I love a good fantasy story as much as the next person but the script, the plot holes, the poor choice in casting and the unediting was simply terrible. The directing and meaningful dialogue were nonexistant. All in all if this was made for TV channels would be switching stations in Special Effects were good not great. As for the rest of the flick it was just too awful to be beleived. I love a good fantasy story as much as the next person but the script, the plot holes, the poor choice in casting and the unediting was simply terrible. The directing and meaningful dialogue were nonexistant. All in all if this was made for TV channels would be switching stations in about 20 minutes. Terrible effort by an otherwise talented Mr. Jackson. Expand
  55. John
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    This is an unbelievable movie on nearly every conceivable level. Furthermore, I am aghast at how many people have rated this a zero. Have the seen the original?!? Roger Ebert was right in saying that it is "like the flowering of all the possibilities in the original classic film." I want to see it again.
  56. KINKYC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Well!, there are many comments here!, some hate movies and enter here to give a Zero!, and persons like me who love Fantasy movies, over all if it is done with all the love like Peter J. can put in this amazing project, one of the best for 2005.
  57. ChukC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I agree with most o real critics no with those who would like to be a real one. Because no one movie deserves a 0 , well no one like this. This is simply an excelent picture, I give it more than 10.
  58. DrakeR.
    Jan 9, 2006
    1
    Quite possibly the biggest bomb next to War Of The Worlds this past year. Peter Jackson should have left about an hour and a half of this film on the cutting room floor. It is an amateur production with laughable action scenes that are ridiculous. About the only one this trash appeals to is juveniles with attention spans of a gnat. Avoid at all costs. No wonder word of mouth caused it to Quite possibly the biggest bomb next to War Of The Worlds this past year. Peter Jackson should have left about an hour and a half of this film on the cutting room floor. It is an amateur production with laughable action scenes that are ridiculous. About the only one this trash appeals to is juveniles with attention spans of a gnat. Avoid at all costs. No wonder word of mouth caused it to drop out of Number One at the Box Office after only 2 weeks. Bad acting, directing and no dialogue. Other than that and being way tooooo long it was wonderful. Expand
  59. JohnR.
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    The most under appreciated movie of all time. though the movie overall was hailed in with alot of critical approval when it opened, the media like a double edge sword set out to squash this movie like an ant with such criticisms as length, slow start, Jack Black being miscast etc. Love it or hate it this is one movie everyone needs to see for themselves I have seen it ten times now and The most under appreciated movie of all time. though the movie overall was hailed in with alot of critical approval when it opened, the media like a double edge sword set out to squash this movie like an ant with such criticisms as length, slow start, Jack Black being miscast etc. Love it or hate it this is one movie everyone needs to see for themselves I have seen it ten times now and honestly can't wait for the dvd release. If I had to sum this movie up with one short sentence then that would be to say that this movie is simply beautiful an action adventure yarn with at its core a pure and gentle heart. Expand
  60. IsaiahR.
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    A must see for fans of the original 1933 version or movie fantasy lovers everywhere. Why on earth anyone would rate this movie a zero is beyond me. I have seen this movie 10 times with my Dad and each time I have seen this movie it just gets beter and better. Awesome special effects the best I have seen to date on film, and if anyone doubts this then just watch the vine scene again most A must see for fans of the original 1933 version or movie fantasy lovers everywhere. Why on earth anyone would rate this movie a zero is beyond me. I have seen this movie 10 times with my Dad and each time I have seen this movie it just gets beter and better. Awesome special effects the best I have seen to date on film, and if anyone doubts this then just watch the vine scene again most of the shots with Naomi are not the work of a stunt double but a CGI double this goes the same with all the scenes featuring New York, an amazing set peice built on an industrial lot in the Hutt Valley in New Zealand otherwise completely CGI and if you are still not convinced then watch the production diaries for yourself. Man who would have thought that a 25 foot CGI Gorilla named Kong could bring so many people to tears simply awesome in much the same way that a human bonds with a family pet, and as for Naomi Watts 10 out of 10 for her acting opposite Kong to convey such emotion, when for majority of the filming you would have had to imagine your 25 foot co star opposite you what a feat and she pulls it off beautifully. LONG... LONG hmmm you know after 10 times you would think that I would agree but HELL NO!!!!, a good story needs good characterizations to back it up and Mr Jackson does this perfectly though my only complaint would be the scene with Naomi and the old guy outside the closed theatre they once worked together at, a little over the top and a bit longer than it needed to be. Yet even this does not cause me to rethink my rating of this film as this is movie perfection at its best the finest movie I have seen to date... which leaves me to ponder how on earth Chronicles of Narnia could have ever made so much more at the box office than Kong when Kong is definately a far more entertaining movie from start to finish. If there is anything that leaves me with a foul stench in my mouth about this movie it would be how on earth this movie did not get an oscar nomination for best film, best actress, best director or best composer of a movie score, obvously there is no justice in the world. Expand
  61. RichardM.
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    i was beguiled into absorbed escapism by Jackson's entrancing enchanting fantasy romance i still drift into reflective journeys thru scenes and issues that seem so real and plot issues that urge me to resolve them to me, the paradox of extreme fantasy against absorbed escapism cis the mark of an outstanding movie with its deceptively obvious beginnings, this is surely the least i was beguiled into absorbed escapism by Jackson's entrancing enchanting fantasy romance i still drift into reflective journeys thru scenes and issues that seem so real and plot issues that urge me to resolve them to me, the paradox of extreme fantasy against absorbed escapism cis the mark of an outstanding movie with its deceptively obvious beginnings, this is surely the least appreciated film masterpiece of the decade to date. Expand
  62. Joe
    Feb 5, 2006
    1
    If you like brainless effects movies you will appreciate the technical qualitiies and the wierd out of this world fantasy overgrown insects that make sporadic appearances in this waste of time remake. Otherwise, don't spend your money on dreck!
  63. ArielG.
    Feb 9, 2006
    8
    Entertaining movie, though not memorable. Two things I had to draw my mind away from when I was watching it: I couldn't buy Adrien Brody as the hero - He's much too frail and androgynous looking to be a hero. And Jack Black was very miscast in his role. Naomi Watts was good though. It's great if you're wanting to watch an entertaining popcorn movie where you don't Entertaining movie, though not memorable. Two things I had to draw my mind away from when I was watching it: I couldn't buy Adrien Brody as the hero - He's much too frail and androgynous looking to be a hero. And Jack Black was very miscast in his role. Naomi Watts was good though. It's great if you're wanting to watch an entertaining popcorn movie where you don't have to think too much during and after the movie, and don't mind nonstop action and CGI. Expand
  64. BJN.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I was a nine year old at the movies again. One of the best movies I've seen all year. A great story, and technical wizardry with so much heart. So marvelous to see NYC decades ago. Just magical.
  65. CaptainS.
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    Another wonderful film from Peter Jackson, beautifully filmed and full (mostly) of action. This version of King Kong could possibly be the ultimate version (even more "ultimate" than the original, which for me is a big statement). The effects by WETA Digital are of course top notch and big accolades should be heaped on Andy Serkis for his work as Kong! Yep, you heard me right...Serkis Another wonderful film from Peter Jackson, beautifully filmed and full (mostly) of action. This version of King Kong could possibly be the ultimate version (even more "ultimate" than the original, which for me is a big statement). The effects by WETA Digital are of course top notch and big accolades should be heaped on Andy Serkis for his work as Kong! Yep, you heard me right...Serkis done the movements for the ape, just like he did for Gollum in LOTR. The only snag I found in this movie was that it was a bit too long and that it drug slightly at the beginning. Other than that, this one is wonderful. Nice going Peter Jackson...a winner. Collapse
  66. DaleW.
    Apr 11, 2006
    3
    What a disappointment - 30 minutes just to get on the boat, and an hour before Kong first appears - and special effects that were surpassed by Jurassic Park well over a decade ago. Peter Jackson owes me three hours of my life back.
  67. EddieC.
    Apr 3, 2006
    5
    This is a decent movie, the begining is extremely dull, no action at all, you kinda just "know" whats gonna happen, but you still have to sit through 20-30 mins to see it happen. Then theirs a "boat scene" or should I say, a "boat-half of the movie" where its just a bit of stupid "plot" and you have to wait what seems, or maybe was, an hour or so. Nothing really gets "good" until King This is a decent movie, the begining is extremely dull, no action at all, you kinda just "know" whats gonna happen, but you still have to sit through 20-30 mins to see it happen. Then theirs a "boat scene" or should I say, a "boat-half of the movie" where its just a bit of stupid "plot" and you have to wait what seems, or maybe was, an hour or so. Nothing really gets "good" until King Kong and Skull Island really come in, then still everything, the fight scene, the New York scene, is extremely dragged, the effects are great, everything looks amazing, and their are pretty entertaining scenes, but all in all this movie lacks excitement and loses your attention. Expand
  68. JaredC.
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    This movie is stellar in every way. If they had an award for biggest "badass of the year" other than me, Kong would definitely win. Awesome Movie!
  69. jskim
    May 8, 2006
    10
    This is a truly great movie...so simple, but so effective...it's not complicated - just a tragic story that holds you emotionally and visually from beginning to end. king kong proves that a movie doesn't have to be comlex to keep your attention. it is a perfect update of the original...it keeps everything that was good about the original and improves upon everything else. anyone This is a truly great movie...so simple, but so effective...it's not complicated - just a tragic story that holds you emotionally and visually from beginning to end. king kong proves that a movie doesn't have to be comlex to keep your attention. it is a perfect update of the original...it keeps everything that was good about the original and improves upon everything else. anyone who says the special effects are over-done is a moron...just because there are a lot of special effects doesn't mean they're over-done...if the effects are done right, you can have a lot without it being forced. this is a perfect example of how you use special effects to add to the movie rather than just cramming them in because you can...the emotions displayed by kong really grab you...any movie that makes you feel strongly for a computer generated gorilla is already a huge accomplishment... peter jackson is hands down the best director working right now...he can pull off a big special effects blockbuster without letting the effects overpower the story. thank you peter jackson for being such a skillfull director who hasn't forgotten that the most important part of a movie is its heart. Expand
  70. MarkD
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    I see views and ratings vary wildly for this movie. Some criticisms are just; it was a teeny bit too long and some of the action scenes were poorly done and unnecessary. I get the impression, though, that some people are carping and nit picking while choosing to ignore (or perhaps just not getting) the emotional and moral core at the heart of this movie. The key is in the very last line - I see views and ratings vary wildly for this movie. Some criticisms are just; it was a teeny bit too long and some of the action scenes were poorly done and unnecessary. I get the impression, though, that some people are carping and nit picking while choosing to ignore (or perhaps just not getting) the emotional and moral core at the heart of this movie. The key is in the very last line - and it's heartbreaking. If you don't get it I'm not going to explain it to you but to sum it up, this movie is both exciting and beautiful. This movie is Hollywood at it's very best. Expand
  71. AustinM.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Kong's one the greatest movies ever, excellent special effects, I love every action scene in this movie. After those three hours, it felt like the movie was short, I know most people saw it's long, but I didn't, I wanted at least another half hour.
  72. Matty
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    One of the year's best: intense action, dramatic excellence, nostalgic bits, exceedingly well done....there is no more need for adjectives.
  73. David
    Dec 14, 2005
    3
    Went to a Midnight showing and I think I was out before I had to go to work in the morning. I could have showed up an hour late and probably enjoyed the movie more after all the trailers and 45 minutes of nothing going on! Good action after we actually see Kong.. but by the end I was wishing she would push him off the building herself... so I could go home!
  74. JayJ.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    The best movieyet in this this century.
  75. MatH.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Grand, glorious, and spectacular. Peter Jackson continues to take the American blockbuster to artistic heights it has never seen before.
  76. JeffT
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    I struggle to find faults, yet can find none. Bob p, you are not a paleontologist. I'm a history student, and I'm not freaking out about it.
  77. Dan
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    I'm very sorry, Matt C....Kong is only four tons, which is well within the carrying capacity of any ship half the size of that ship. And if this constitutes a major plot hole to you, then you must have an a mental age of between three to seven years. And if you want to see a movie with a suck-ass story, watch the Ring "Oooh a killer movie! Be afraid! Be very afraid!" But I digress I'm very sorry, Matt C....Kong is only four tons, which is well within the carrying capacity of any ship half the size of that ship. And if this constitutes a major plot hole to you, then you must have an a mental age of between three to seven years. And if you want to see a movie with a suck-ass story, watch the Ring "Oooh a killer movie! Be afraid! Be very afraid!" But I digress from my intellectual mauling of Matt C.'s flawed opinions and assumptions. The movie kicked ass people. See it ASAP. Signing off. Expand
  78. SeanK.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This was the most entertaining and heart stopping film I can remember seeing since Jurassic Park. It made me feel like a kid all over again. It made me laugh, jump out of my seat, squirm in fear, and even tear up. It's a great technical achievement as well as a great personal achievement for Jackson. In other words it confirms that Jackson is the best big budget filmmaker working This was the most entertaining and heart stopping film I can remember seeing since Jurassic Park. It made me feel like a kid all over again. It made me laugh, jump out of my seat, squirm in fear, and even tear up. It's a great technical achievement as well as a great personal achievement for Jackson. In other words it confirms that Jackson is the best big budget filmmaker working Hollywood. I cant wait to see what he does next. This is definitely one of the best films of the year. Expand
  79. SteveN.
    Dec 15, 2005
    1
    Well. I will say the CG was very good. After that the movie has nothing left except large PLOT HOLES. WARNING: THIN STORY LINE REVEALED NEXT! We spend the first hour or so watching Jack Black swindle everyone and no one is smart enough to catch on. Then they finally take a small boat from New York supposedly heading to Singapore! They demonstrate how small the boat is by making Well. I will say the CG was very good. After that the movie has nothing left except large PLOT HOLES. WARNING: THIN STORY LINE REVEALED NEXT! We spend the first hour or so watching Jack Black swindle everyone and no one is smart enough to catch on. Then they finally take a small boat from New York supposedly heading to Singapore! They demonstrate how small the boat is by making Adrien's character stay in one of the cages. Plothole #1. Finally they arrive at (Numb)Skull Island and must navigate through the rocks. The boat is seriously damaged and is taking on water. Plothole #2. Jack Black and his crew sneak off the boat and encounter the natives. The natives speak what sounds like Latin. The natives then begin killing some of the crew for no apparent reason. The captain who said he was leaving them to rot shows up to save them for no apparent reason. Plothole #3. Crew frees the boat from the rocks and instantly is back out to sea. Apparently no longer damaged. Plothole #4. One native is able to pole vault through all of the rocks and capture Naomi. Plothole #5. Not only are the natives fluent in Latin they are also certified brick masons as they were able to build the Great Wall of Skull island without being eaten by all of the monsters. Plothole #6. After feeding Naomi to Kong all of the natives magically disappear. Plothole #7. Captain gives Adrien and Jack 24 hours to get the girl and get back. Brontosaurus and Raptor chase scene involving Jack Black and Adrien Brody and a dozen crew who do not know the correct way to run between the legs of Brontosaurus' while being chased by velociraptors over a cliff that is crumbling. Plotholes #8-12. Loving Kong plays with Naomi then has his feelings hurt and lets her go. Butthole#1. Three T-Rex vs. Kong. Large dinosaurs with vicious teeth that do not puncture monkey flesh. Plothole #13. Two T-Rex swinging from fabulously strong vines hanging upside down and they are still trying to eat Naomi! Plothole #14. Kong shakes crew off of tree over ledge. All minor characters do not know the proper way to fall and die on impact. Jack Black and Adrein Brody and two other crew men ride tree most of the way down to battle giant spiders and tube worms. 25 minutes of shooting spiders off Adrien Brody with a machine gun without hitting him. Captain butt-munch swoops in and saves the day agian. Plotholes #15-20. Kong retreats across the island. Adrien manages to catch up with him in 2 minutes. Plothole #21. Killer bats leave Adrien alone and attack Kong. Plothole #22. Adrien and Naomi escape by hang gliding from a killer bat. Plothole #23. Adrien and Naomi are able to make it all the way back across the island without incident in 30 seconds. Plothole #24. Kong is "captured" by the crew using rocks and rope. He is then given 2 bottles of chloroform with no affect. Plotholes #25-26. Jack Black is able to throw one bottle of chloroform exactly right and knock Kong out. Plothole #27. Story skips to NY as they somehow manage to get a Monkey bigger than their boat back! Plothole #28. I left at this point. If you want to watch a mind numbing piece of garbage listen to the critics and waste your money on this. Expand
  80. ShanaH.
    Dec 15, 2005
    8
    Sounds obvious, but this film is ALL about Kong. It really only comes into its own once he's on screen. And then you're literally in the palm of his hand. If you haven't seen yet, my one recommendation would be - bring kleenex! Jack Black - can you get any more one-dimensional?
  81. BrookeB.
    Dec 15, 2005
    8
    An amazing ride!! Colossal, frightening, and romantic - all in one. A must-see on a big screen. Well done, Peter Jackson, well done.
  82. JamieP.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Peter Jackson is a brilliant filmmaker. This film may drag a little in the beginning according to the MTV low attention span people but it also stakes an investment in the characters. And I'm all for "that's your opinion" and I could understand not thinking this film is brilliant but if you give this movie under 6 you are an idiot.
  83. Jay
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Amazing movie, suspended belief is required for 99% of movies and it seems some reviewers here haven't quite grasped that concept yet. The first hour is long, but the rest of the movie is well worth the wait and long running time. Kong is amazing and the movie as a whole is inspiring and amazingly well done.
  84. AdrianL.
    Dec 16, 2005
    0
    Are you people mad? This is one of the most boring movies of all time. $200M was spend on GCI as for the acting Wooden Indians would have been better. There is no chemistry and other than King Kong and Jurassic Park there is very little else. Not worthy of your time or money.
  85. GlennP.
    Dec 16, 2005
    1
    This movie was like an endurance test. It was like Jackson was asking the audience "Just how long will you put up with this movie?"... The first hour of this film could have and should have been condensed into 20 minutes. The last 15 minutes of the film are absolutely breathtaking filmmaking, but by the time I got there I was so pissed off I couldn't enjoy it. This movie sucked. and This movie was like an endurance test. It was like Jackson was asking the audience "Just how long will you put up with this movie?"... The first hour of this film could have and should have been condensed into 20 minutes. The last 15 minutes of the film are absolutely breathtaking filmmaking, but by the time I got there I was so pissed off I couldn't enjoy it. This movie sucked. and it will suck at the box office too. I'm willing to wager that some of the reviewers listed MUST have been paid off by General Electric, owner of Universal Pictures. I can't describe how disappointed I was in this film. Expand
  86. TaylorS.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    I saw this and my friends were amazed. I thought it was good, but something was missing. I couldn't put my finger on it, until reading other reviews. The movie was out of propotion: the ship scene was way too long, and not enough time was spent in the end at New York.
  87. ConradS.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Ignore all the criticism, Peter Jackson might just walk away with another couple of Oscars.
  88. DanielT.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Ignore the po-faces who use words like "excessive", "indulgent" and "clunky", do these people even like movies? King Kong is a spectacular mega-event movie that should not be missed on the big screen. With over three hours of thrills, action, comedy and compassion, it's the perfect antidote to the banality of modern cinema.
  89. BudS.
    Dec 17, 2005
    7
    The original King Kong is the motion picture equivalent of the cotton gin: a groundbreaking, technical marvel in its time that's now an obsolete relic. With that in mind, I wasn't excited about a remake, but this exceeded my expectations. Frank O. is right, the first act is slow, "Jurassic Park" is a unimaginative knock-off of Kong...but I think this new Kong is really uneven. The original King Kong is the motion picture equivalent of the cotton gin: a groundbreaking, technical marvel in its time that's now an obsolete relic. With that in mind, I wasn't excited about a remake, but this exceeded my expectations. Frank O. is right, the first act is slow, "Jurassic Park" is a unimaginative knock-off of Kong...but I think this new Kong is really uneven. The second act just pounds you senseless with overkill (let's have one...no two...no three...no FOUR dinosaurs!...and before that a STAMPEDE!...) The third act, when Kong gets loose, that's the best part. The action is more impressive, there's some very graceful filmmaking (particularly the quiet moments and the way they're interrupted), and the look of 1930's New York during December is GORGEOUS. (Naomi Watts has also never looked better.) Jackson also does a good job of recreating the memorable climax - justifiably the most famous part of the original Kong. Jackson even achieves more emotion and some deep pathos in this remake. The movie's still hokey in a lot of spots and I'm no fan of cheese. In fact, the movie's final line is taken straight from the original, and half the theater groaned when they heard it. Not a great picture, but the third act saved it for me. Expand
  90. PeterJ.
    Dec 17, 2005
    1
    Am I missing something? Seriously, am I seeing the same movie that every critic seems to think is incredible and breathtaking? All I saw was a movie on par with the likes of Mortal Kombat and The Mummy Returns, chock full of blurry lifeless CGI action and an ape with all the emotional weight of one of those goofy invisible alien dogs from Alone in the Dark. Well, at least all the Am I missing something? Seriously, am I seeing the same movie that every critic seems to think is incredible and breathtaking? All I saw was a movie on par with the likes of Mortal Kombat and The Mummy Returns, chock full of blurry lifeless CGI action and an ape with all the emotional weight of one of those goofy invisible alien dogs from Alone in the Dark. Well, at least all the countless licensed video games, toys and "Xtra Hefty" Grab Trash Bags will help to ensure that we'll be seeing another 31 hour long, bloated, self serious "epic" from Jackson in the near future. Expand
  91. JohnK.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Before rating this movie, I tried something that Metacritic voters usually don't try...I saw the movie. [Ed: Hey now...] It was great, honestly, and if you can't take the length, skip it; while you're at it, skip The Godfather and The Aviator and every other great movie that bulldozed past 2 hours. This is an action classic. The CGI was fantastic, the script was great Before rating this movie, I tried something that Metacritic voters usually don't try...I saw the movie. [Ed: Hey now...] It was great, honestly, and if you can't take the length, skip it; while you're at it, skip The Godfather and The Aviator and every other great movie that bulldozed past 2 hours. This is an action classic. The CGI was fantastic, the script was great (besides a few missteps early on). Bad reviewers, have fun being a niche and a trendster. Everyone thinks you're smart because you can't have a good time. Enjoy the self importance. We'll be over here on the rollercoaster. Expand
  92. LolaA.
    Dec 17, 2005
    2
    CGI special effects were awesome and thus the 2 points. As for the rest of this movie, it was the pits. Way toooooo looong and boring. I fell asleep during the first 70 minutes. They should be selling NO DOZE at the concession stand. And when the action started with a remake of Jurassic Park you had to laugh. It was reminiscent of the old Star Trek in which you knew who was going to die CGI special effects were awesome and thus the 2 points. As for the rest of this movie, it was the pits. Way toooooo looong and boring. I fell asleep during the first 70 minutes. They should be selling NO DOZE at the concession stand. And when the action started with a remake of Jurassic Park you had to laugh. It was reminiscent of the old Star Trek in which you knew who was going to die by the different color uniforms they wore. Well here, the marginal characters were ALPO for the big bad monsters. Ooooooooooh I was so scared. NOT. And the last hour was Peter Jackson playing with old New York of 1933. Great job Peter. Let me know when your horrendous actors even act. As for Jack Black and Adrian Brody they were simply awful. I loved Naomi on top of the Empire State in high heels in the middle of winter without a coat. Such realism? Expand
  93. NancyG.
    Dec 18, 2005
    0
    Very bad! Sentence this one to Cinema Jail with no parole! You'd get more emotion out of playing Halo for 3 hours.
  94. PartyPooper
    Dec 18, 2005
    1
    This was one my most anticipated movies of the year. When the original was made back in 1933 during the depression audiences flocked to it in mass. It was the "Star Wars" of that generation and rightly so. The genius and creativity back then was fantastic. For the special effects in 1933 they used an eighteeen inch puppet as KONG. Turn the clock forward seventy-two years and enter Peter This was one my most anticipated movies of the year. When the original was made back in 1933 during the depression audiences flocked to it in mass. It was the "Star Wars" of that generation and rightly so. The genius and creativity back then was fantastic. For the special effects in 1933 they used an eighteeen inch puppet as KONG. Turn the clock forward seventy-two years and enter Peter Jackson as he decided to make a remake of a remake. That remake in '76 was absolutely laughable. Remember the Empire State Building replaced by the World Trade Center? Peter Jackson is known for his genius with CGI special effects. So what does Peter do? He throws them at the audience ad nauseam but forgets there are other components to a motion picture. He starts by assembling a cast only their mothers could love. Jack Black and Adrian Brody are miscast. He then spends an hour with a slow drawn out introduction dedicated to the GREAT DEPRESSION. In the original no one made any mention of the Depression, but now Jackson decided we had to see it. We didn't learn much but were subjected to this boring stuff for no apparent reason. Yes, Hooverville in Central Park was captured briliantly. And Peter's point is that he had no point. Then we finally arrive at Skull Island or should I say Jurrassic Park. The monsters including the CGI KONG are thrown at us as if Jackson is asking can I top this? By now nothing makes much sense at all. The ruthless natives are there one minute, and poof, they're gone. Where did they go? Well, for that answer we just don't know? After the illogical second act with KONG magically whiffed away to NY on a small damaged boat unventfully, the last act shows us CIRCA NY in 1933. We watch as KONG destroys NYC before taking his swan song exit on cue. And after three hours with absolutely no meaningful dialogue htere's Naomi in a sheer dress with high heels without a coat in the dead of a winter. Oh yes, she's standing atop a two by four circular platform as Adrian Brody joins her. Of course because little else made any sense, the cold and the wind are no problem to Peter Jackson as this dreadful excuse for a movie comes to an end. Now I wish there was some suspense but there can't be. Why? Bbecause it is a remake of a remake and we know the story. I'm sorry but this version is so poor that it would be torture to ever watch it again. That's how bad it is. To enjoy this flick you need to suspend all logic or perhaps had a lobtomy? Avoid at all costs. Expand
  95. MackP.
    Dec 18, 2005
    2
    In a bit of silly characterization, the natives on Skull Island were rolling their eyes as if they were possesed by some overwhelming irrationality. And I can understand. I was rolling my eyes as well. Peter Jackson is indulgent and, frankly, boring. The whole Skull Island action sequences were excruciating to watch. They added nothing to the story. Don't go to see this film. Rent In a bit of silly characterization, the natives on Skull Island were rolling their eyes as if they were possesed by some overwhelming irrationality. And I can understand. I was rolling my eyes as well. Peter Jackson is indulgent and, frankly, boring. The whole Skull Island action sequences were excruciating to watch. They added nothing to the story. Don't go to see this film. Rent it, maybe. Do not support an indulgent and wasteful and bad story teller like Peter Jackson. The best element of the film, its only redeeming quality, is the interaction between Naomi Watts' character and the ape. The critics are crazy and irresponsible to give this film high marks. Expand
  96. MCDB
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    This film is is just great. The effects are incredible, the acting great. Serkis was brilliant as a gorrila and Black balanced funny and serious perfectly. However I do think it is racist. The view of "The native" dates back to the time of the book Robinson Crusoe, the idea was that if you were not Christian, you were some horrible cannableistic savage. However I do think it is possible This film is is just great. The effects are incredible, the acting great. Serkis was brilliant as a gorrila and Black balanced funny and serious perfectly. However I do think it is racist. The view of "The native" dates back to the time of the book Robinson Crusoe, the idea was that if you were not Christian, you were some horrible cannableistic savage. However I do think it is possible that it was less a race thing, just the idea that this was a world still in the past, and it could be more era-bashing as opposed to racism. Apart from that, great. Expand
  97. GalegraS.
    Dec 19, 2005
    0
    Wow, why remake a classic and destroy it with bad acting, worse dialogue and a dragging pointless plot. So what if there was alot of cool effects? Pretty much anyone can do that now.
  98. Netrace
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Great flick. I was riveted the entire time. I am able to do something called suspension of disbelief, so I didn't have the problem that most of the folks giving low ratings had. Thank you Mr. Jackson. And on a side note. I am not a racist, nor did I notice any racist undertones. I would have to agree with the other poster that mentioned something to the effect that if you can see Great flick. I was riveted the entire time. I am able to do something called suspension of disbelief, so I didn't have the problem that most of the folks giving low ratings had. Thank you Mr. Jackson. And on a side note. I am not a racist, nor did I notice any racist undertones. I would have to agree with the other poster that mentioned something to the effect that if you can see racism where it is not, then you are a racist. An ape is an ape. How often have you seen a white ape? Mr. Jackson could have changed it to a white ape and then made it King Abominable Snowman instead of King Kong. That would have made everything better right? You people crack me up. Expand
  99. Supersean
    Dec 19, 2005
    4
    I ended up lauughing the whole time. This movie was so incredibly ridiculous, and then took itself seriously. It reminded me of doom, only doom didn't take it's self seriously. And the last line of the movie was sooooo lame. And nothing made any sense. And the dinosaur fight was like WWE, hahahha this movie is hysterical it's so insanely ridiculous. See it once so you can I ended up lauughing the whole time. This movie was so incredibly ridiculous, and then took itself seriously. It reminded me of doom, only doom didn't take it's self seriously. And the last line of the movie was sooooo lame. And nothing made any sense. And the dinosaur fight was like WWE, hahahha this movie is hysterical it's so insanely ridiculous. See it once so you can laugh at it. Expand
  100. StephenF.
    Dec 19, 2005
    2
    He grabbed a bird and held onto it as he fell! hahahahah. No way. What a piece of junk. "beautiful" that was hilarious! The guy swung from a vine with a machine gun. hahahaha.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.