Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 21, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 420 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
380
Mixed:
22
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
hoops2448Feb 2, 2012
Who said sarcasm is the lowest form of wit? Kiss Kiss Bang Bang would beg to differ as it thrives off of laughing at other peoples mistakes. It seems cruel but the film does it in a way that makes it acceptable by only employing it betweenWho said sarcasm is the lowest form of wit? Kiss Kiss Bang Bang would beg to differ as it thrives off of laughing at other peoples mistakes. It seems cruel but the film does it in a way that makes it acceptable by only employing it between the two leads Harry (Robert Downey Jr) and Perry (Val Kilmer). The film is a dark twisted buddy cop film, which is what you would expect from Lethal Weapon writer Shane Black in his directorial debut. However the difference between Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and Lethal Weapon is the fact that Harry and Perry hate each other, they really do. Thatâ Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesAug 29, 2014
Thanks to its charming cast and supreme action, this energetic, gloomy film is not only thoroughly entertaining but it's also funny. Robert Downey Jr and Val Kilmer are the men.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
DamienA.Nov 12, 2005
Great movie if you think two guys kissing is hilarious... or two guys seeing an 'ugly and fat' mental patient naked puts you in stitches... or if a gay investigator's cell ringtone being a gay anthem (I Will Survive?) is your Great movie if you think two guys kissing is hilarious... or two guys seeing an 'ugly and fat' mental patient naked puts you in stitches... or if a gay investigator's cell ringtone being a gay anthem (I Will Survive?) is your idea of HA HA.... What I hate about this film is that it presents itself as so 'knowing' and 'ironic' that it thinks it can do anything it wants without copping any flack... GOD! I felt ill a lot of the time with the stupid jokes... and finding out that it's directed by the guy who wrote the lethal weapon franchise makes a lot of sense... Yes, perhaps I'm a film snob but I really think this is a film by a macho, sexist, elitist, juvenile mind. Yes there are good things in the film.. the acting, the energy, some of the jokes... but I really feel that this film really is just an updated Lethal Weapon made to please a cynical modern audience. I don't see many Hollywood films... but I thought this might be in the quality of Pulp Fiction, Usual Suspects, Mullholland Dr... How wrong I was. More Naked Gun than anything else I can think of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
This odd-ball noir spoof is absolute sardonic heaven.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JohnG.Aug 1, 2006
Just Hee-Haw funny and very clever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
etAug 24, 2007
This movie is laugh out loud funny! With brilliant performances by all. A must watch for anyone who likes smart, irreverent films.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
PaulWNov 27, 2005
Just awful..plain boring. You just don't care what happens to the characters in the film and whats the story with the script ??!! Kilmer looks like hes put three stones on and is just going through the motions in this film..east money Just awful..plain boring. You just don't care what happens to the characters in the film and whats the story with the script ??!! Kilmer looks like hes put three stones on and is just going through the motions in this film..east money for him as hes doesnt even have to try and act in this turkey.. Avoid at all costs...I actually want to leave the cinema it was that bad...go and watch "Crash" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Lambo442May 29, 2016
Couldn't get pass the first five minutes of this gimmicky nonsense. It jumps from scene to scene, from plot thread to plot thread so rapidly, you completely lose any sense of continuum. The narrator addresses the viewer directly, which isCouldn't get pass the first five minutes of this gimmicky nonsense. It jumps from scene to scene, from plot thread to plot thread so rapidly, you completely lose any sense of continuum. The narrator addresses the viewer directly, which is jarring and takes you out of the fictional world, reminding you you're watching a film. It's also very unbelievable and hohoho Val Kilmer plays a gay man - how novel and funny. The first scene he's in involves another man discussing his gayness with him, just a hint of the hijinks to come. The Nice Guys looks like it will be much better than this pretentious crap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JayC.Dec 2, 2005
Laugh out-loud funny. Good thriller story with many twists as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarylS.Jan 4, 2006
Involving, engaging, accessible, and some very funny moments. It had the feel of a movie that made visiting the cinema an event. The narration was a masterstroke, and while the articulate hoi-polloi would say "it sucks" I disagree with them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterS.Jan 5, 2006
Jody T has it right: "... one of the funniest films I have seen for a long long time." Witty, irreverent, violent, literate, clever. One of Kilmer's best performances, and Downey continues to shine. I hope he's saying off drugs. I Jody T has it right: "... one of the funniest films I have seen for a long long time." Witty, irreverent, violent, literate, clever. One of Kilmer's best performances, and Downey continues to shine. I hope he's saying off drugs. I don't want to lose that talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessiePJan 6, 2006
Witty hard-boiled dialogue, mystery, suspense and violent twists and turns. This film both parodies and pays homage to Chandler's novels, and actively involves the audience. "Sex. Murder. Mystery. Welcome to the party."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickS.Feb 15, 2006
This is the best movie I have seen in 2005. I probably wouldn't have said that had the competition been better but to be honest most oscar nominations I believe were better than average movies (Brokeback Mountain,Memoirs of a Geisha This is the best movie I have seen in 2005. I probably wouldn't have said that had the competition been better but to be honest most oscar nominations I believe were better than average movies (Brokeback Mountain,Memoirs of a Geisha etc...). I do accept some of the bad critisism themovie got: You can see it kind of in love with its own cleverness and the plot is unbelievably confusing. But hey, it was clever and the plot makes sense however unbelievable it is. Pure entertainment and good laughs. Has plenty of replay value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KAJul 11, 2006
Worth renting if you like quirky self-aware comedies. The performances are fun and the dialogue is snappy and ironic. Obviously some folks aren't going to like this type of comedy: its the kind of movie that asks the viewer to watch and Worth renting if you like quirky self-aware comedies. The performances are fun and the dialogue is snappy and ironic. Obviously some folks aren't going to like this type of comedy: its the kind of movie that asks the viewer to watch and listen carefully to get all of the jokes. I cant believe someone recommended the utterly banal Barbershop over this fun and edgy comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Jul 18, 2006
This is the only movie in three years that I have gone out of my way to recommend to people. It's everything a movie should be, smart, funny, totally watchable and because it turns the conventions of hard-boiled noir on it's This is the only movie in three years that I have gone out of my way to recommend to people. It's everything a movie should be, smart, funny, totally watchable and because it turns the conventions of hard-boiled noir on it's ear--it's totally RE-watchable. Black is a master of dialogue, character, pacing and tone. If you have a friend who doesn't like this film, you should consider ending the friendship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamD.Jul 30, 2006
Just short of brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FredG.Jul 9, 2006
I didn't get it. It tries to do too much, and in the end, really does nothing. IMO - there's a lot of wasted talent in this one, and I'm not surprised that it didn't do better in the box office. Save your money, and more I didn't get it. It tries to do too much, and in the end, really does nothing. IMO - there's a lot of wasted talent in this one, and I'm not surprised that it didn't do better in the box office. Save your money, and more importantly, save your time. One reviewer recommended Crash, which is a much better film, but not a comedy. If you're looking for a better comedy, rent Barbershop or Road Trip. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReeceS.Jan 31, 2007
Excellent laugh out loud movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryD.Nov 11, 2005
This movie is GREAT! Perfect casting, great acting, brilliant directing, and non-stop laughs. Who cares if the plot is so twisted that you have trouble following it. That isn't the point. This is, pure and simple, great fun and great This movie is GREAT! Perfect casting, great acting, brilliant directing, and non-stop laughs. Who cares if the plot is so twisted that you have trouble following it. That isn't the point. This is, pure and simple, great fun and great entertainment. Don't think about it -- enjoy it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxM.Nov 13, 2005
Best film of the year so far! It felt so good to laugh so hard... and thank goodness it wasn't just me. THAT would have been embarrassing. Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr should commission a sequel pronto.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Nov 18, 2005
Definately recommended. Performances were great by Kilmer and Downey Jr. But the script was for the most part together, and the quick wit was very funny throughout the whole pic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJayNov 23, 2005
Smart, Complex, excellent acting, very funny...hot, hot film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KelvinLNov 24, 2005
Very funny, slickly shot and intelligent! Downey and Kilmer have great screen chemistry, and Michelle Monaghan who plays Harmony is gorgeous! The movie has good pace and good action scenes as well as piercing black comedy. A very pleasant Very funny, slickly shot and intelligent! Downey and Kilmer have great screen chemistry, and Michelle Monaghan who plays Harmony is gorgeous! The movie has good pace and good action scenes as well as piercing black comedy. A very pleasant suprise! So much better as it turned out than the original movie that we wanted went to see, The Constant Gardener (It was sold out) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuketheDukeNov 4, 2005
Great job done by all. Downey is back with a vengeance. Michelle Monaghan is in perfect Harmony. And even Val Kilmer exceeds expectations. Perfect casting, great script, lots of fun. The story develops a fairly good mystery, delivering loads Great job done by all. Downey is back with a vengeance. Michelle Monaghan is in perfect Harmony. And even Val Kilmer exceeds expectations. Perfect casting, great script, lots of fun. The story develops a fairly good mystery, delivering loads of hilarious, well-timed and perfectly delivered lines, with dry wit and plenty of laughs. Not a great film, but a very good one, and highly enjoyable as long as the frequent use of the "f" word does not dismay the viewer. I thought the film was pretty f***ing good, and very f***ing funny! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
shschDec 20, 2005
This film tried much too hard to be cute and it didn't work for me. I thought the hero/narrator played by Robert Downey Jr was especially irritating and the plot overly confusing and stupid. If you're looking to waste a couple of This film tried much too hard to be cute and it didn't work for me. I thought the hero/narrator played by Robert Downey Jr was especially irritating and the plot overly confusing and stupid. If you're looking to waste a couple of hours at a comedy, go see the Ice Harvest. Not a much better movie, but at least I found John Cusack somewhat sympathetic, not obnoxious, as the hero here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanM.Dec 6, 2005
I wasn't sure about this movie in the first 5 minutes, but it quickly proved to be time well spent! The acting was great, and the story line (although a bit complicated) was imaginative and cool. I was happy to go and see something I wasn't sure about this movie in the first 5 minutes, but it quickly proved to be time well spent! The acting was great, and the story line (although a bit complicated) was imaginative and cool. I was happy to go and see something different, it's nice to know there is still some originality left in Hollywood!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdR.Oct 28, 2005
This movie is so bloody funny,and so much fun that I'm stunned that the New York Times and the LA Times didn't get it. It didn't "wear me out", unless you think being a bit tired from laughing for two and a half hours is a bad This movie is so bloody funny,and so much fun that I'm stunned that the New York Times and the LA Times didn't get it. It didn't "wear me out", unless you think being a bit tired from laughing for two and a half hours is a bad experience. It's cool, hilarious, brilliant, and the funniest movie I've seen in about five years. The script,actors and direction are all dynamite.At the screening I went to the entire audience was roaring with laughter. If you're at all literate go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thegoochOct 29, 2005
Hilarious, no...EFFIN HILARIOUS...I haven't laughed like that in a movie in years. Smart, funny and pitch-perfect dialogue. Val Kilmer is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattSDec 9, 2005
Just not very interesting. The narration was annoying and the ending was silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Jan 18, 2006
loved this movie, thought it was very funny and great acting can not wait for this one to come to dvd deffinatly worth a purchase.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MeaghanC.Jun 17, 2006
It was too clever for it's own good. Robert Downey Jr. rocks, though, and Val Kilmer is not loathsome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomY.Jul 5, 2006
I love this movie. It's very witty, and if people argue that it is in love with itself, it's only because they don't get the joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanC.Sep 17, 2006
This is just
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
leefMar 5, 2008
Had a good premise, but i turned it off after 30 min...like ebert said...it was spinning its wheels, but for me the dialogue wasn't funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottHJun 26, 2009
Great modern day noir!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
charlypNov 22, 2005
Madre mia, increíble que esta palícula no esté rompiendo taquilla de una manera destacada. Mierdas como Doom estrenándose en 3000 cines y esta maravilla pasando de puntillas por el cine. Un guión excelente, Madre mia, increíble que esta palícula no esté rompiendo taquilla de una manera destacada. Mierdas como Doom estrenándose en 3000 cines y esta maravilla pasando de puntillas por el cine. Un guión excelente, una dirección hábil y sobretodo dos protagonistas bien calzados en sus papeles, mostrando una complicidad absoluta y una comicidad total.....joder, pero si hasta me tuve que quitar las gafas para secarme los ojos de tanto reir......grande shane....absolutamente grande....ahora sólo hace falta que el resto del planeta se entere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaNov 7, 2005
Great movie!! hysterical!!! one of the most clever and quick witted movies i've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JodyT.Dec 12, 2005
This really is the one of the funniest films I have seen for a long long time. I was crying with laughter. Great, go watch it I urge you!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillD.Dec 2, 2005
Maybe someone can help me. This is easily the most entertaining movie I've seen this year. The two male stars are great here, as always; and the female lead, Michelle Monaghan, is fresh,funny and sexy. The movie has action, a fast pace Maybe someone can help me. This is easily the most entertaining movie I've seen this year. The two male stars are great here, as always; and the female lead, Michelle Monaghan, is fresh,funny and sexy. The movie has action, a fast pace and some very big laughs. Here's where I need the help: Why was this movie showing on only 226 screens in each of the last two weeks? Hollywood buries this movie, shows "Derailed" on ten times as many screens, and wonders why ticket sales are down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkSOct 23, 2005
Funny, smart murder mystery with great performances all around, especially Val Kilmer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EricD.Oct 15, 2006
I wanted to like this movie, but it didn't happen for me. I like Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr. but thought this was just plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliciaS.Oct 16, 2006
This movie was non stop humor. By far Robert Downy Jr.'s best performances yet! Great movie, I would recommend it to anyone! Watch it. You will LOVE IT! I know I did!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
C.LawrenceJun 21, 2006
I went in skeptical and left delighted, a perfectly enjoyable picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JHJul 23, 2006
I really enjoyed this movie. It was very funny, very witty, and features two great performances from two great actors, Kilmer and Downey. Rent this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Jw.Sep 15, 2007
Does own some of the funniest scenes in talking pictures. But it also steals a scene (blatantly) from Garden State. See if you can find it. For the most part it settles for being emotionally hollow. Vacuous, even. You won't notice this Does own some of the funniest scenes in talking pictures. But it also steals a scene (blatantly) from Garden State. See if you can find it. For the most part it settles for being emotionally hollow. Vacuous, even. You won't notice this until the dialogue slows down and your eyes refocus. So why 8? A delirious, nonsensical performance by Robert Downey, Jr. that should be seen just because. Shane Black owes him big. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chaninderb.Nov 22, 2005
Amazingly clever and funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronNov 23, 2005
Best movie of the year. Original story & clever. Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr rock. Can't believe it only got limited release in theatres. Monaghan is hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
S.GoldDec 21, 2005
Although entertaining, Mr. Kilmar almost single handedly saves the film from its otherwise pitfalls. Robert Downey Jr. is funny, but that narration sucks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RhettW.Dec 28, 2005
Actors had more fun than I did. I will not forget Michelle Monaghan. That is what you call a break-out performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Andys_ReviewsJul 26, 2013
Lots of profanity, lots of deaths and some great comic one-liners; I have to admit I liked this one to a large extent. It’s well shot and very slick, keeping a decent pace although it does drop here and there. All the performances were veryLots of profanity, lots of deaths and some great comic one-liners; I have to admit I liked this one to a large extent. It’s well shot and very slick, keeping a decent pace although it does drop here and there. All the performances were very good; Downey Jr, Kilmer and Monaghan all did a great job. I did find, however, that Downey Jr’s character, Lockhart, did begin to get a tad annoying towards the end. Over all though a pretty enjoyable watch; quite original in its makeup and well worth a look.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 7.2/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJan 23, 2013
A hilarious and dark comedy that you should consider watching. It's one of Robert Downey Jr.'s and Val Kilmer's best. Very well thought out, not perfect, but well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
This reminds me of nothing more than The Singing Detective (the original, although RDJ did coincidentally star in the hamfisted Hollywood remake). A funny, sharp, knowing film which repays repeated viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlexSAug 10, 2011
Fun,breezy and downright hilarious.Robert Downey Jr,Val Kilmer and Michelle Monaghan all do great work.Easily one of the slickest and most stylish movies in a while.Consistently entertaining,funny and inventive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanSep 1, 2011
While he's no stranger to acting and screenwriting, Shane Black has also made a very impressive directorial debut with Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. It's classic Black - full of snappy dialogue, with an energetic plot and plenty of dark comedy. ItWhile he's no stranger to acting and screenwriting, Shane Black has also made a very impressive directorial debut with Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. It's classic Black - full of snappy dialogue, with an energetic plot and plenty of dark comedy. It also features Robert Downey, Jr. and Val Kilmer in roles that will long be considered highlights of their career. Downey does what he does best - he's confident, charming and verbally agile, and Kilmer demonstrates a rarely demonstrated gift for comic timing. The story is engaging to begin with, and the film is pleasingly self-aware, but it does run out of steam a little towards the end. Black is perhaps guilty of throwing one too many plot twists into the mix too quickly, and it's therefore all too easy to lose your way if the smallest snippet of information is missed. It can come across a little convoluted at times, but Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is an enjoyable ride all the same. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
This movie came right out of left field and made me laugh my ass off. Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr. are fantastic together and the plot is perfectly done. Story wise it's nothing you haven't seen before but it's done in a way that willThis movie came right out of left field and made me laugh my ass off. Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr. are fantastic together and the plot is perfectly done. Story wise it's nothing you haven't seen before but it's done in a way that will actually keep you one your toes. If you get the chance sit down and watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMar 15, 2013
Shane Black's writers block was perhaps the best thing that ever happened to him, because if all that built up creativity led to this sort of film more often, then we all need a case of these mental blockages, as this film, written andShane Black's writers block was perhaps the best thing that ever happened to him, because if all that built up creativity led to this sort of film more often, then we all need a case of these mental blockages, as this film, written and directed himself, is possibly the best work of his career.
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is told as a mash up of different film genres, noir, comedy and all around criminal behaviour, and Robert Downey Jr makes one of the best returns to form as small time thief Harry Lockhart, who stumbles accidentally into an audition, which he is praised for after the events which had just occurred.
He is introduced to Perry "Gay Perry" van Shrike, who is played convincingly and humorously by Val Kilmer, and Perry and Harry soon set off on massive adventure of murder and mystery, all with the beautiful wit of the well written script in toe.
Downey Jr narrates an outsider point of view of the film, explaining to audiences about certain aspects of the film, even rewinding at parts he thinks he has left out, all circling towards a very unique and stylised form of story-telling.
The humour is sharp-tongued and often crude, and it is clear form the beginning that Shane Black has a particular audience in mind, not necessarily those of the crime capers, but those who are accustomed to an unorthodox style of cinema, and those who are willing to keep up with the ever expanding story.
Robert Downey Jr is excellent as Harry Lockhart, simply pacing through the movie as a good but bad guy having a bad day, while Val Kilmer is the opposite, a real life PI who is asked to help Lockhart prepare for his film role when things start to become too realistic, his acting capabilities are soon showing as his character becomes less and less cool.
Michelle Monaghan, Corbin Bernsen and Rockmund Dunbar also make up a very expansive and interesting cast, all of whom play a pivotal part in the telling of the story and are beneficial as to how all the stories become intertwined.
The film is full of dark humour and witty gags from start to finish, but with the acting of Downey Jr and Kilmer at the helm, the film is grounded to create an enjoyable and excellent piece of filmmaking that leave you laughing and shocked for a considerable amount of time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 28, 2014
A bit confusing at places (something a second watch cured).

Witty characters, plot, and just too much bad luck for you to keep your face straight while watching. Of course, no bad luck comes without good planning... Val Kilmer is
A bit confusing at places (something a second watch cured).

Witty characters, plot, and just too much bad luck for you to keep your face straight while watching. Of course, no bad luck comes without good planning...

Val Kilmer is brilliant, and Robert Downey Jr. isn't bad, either. They work very well together.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMar 28, 2014
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang was certainly a very unique experience. Witty humor coupled with an interesting mystery thriller typically makes for a solid movie and this one is no exception. I really enjoyed the three leads; Robert Downey Jr., ValKiss Kiss Bang Bang was certainly a very unique experience. Witty humor coupled with an interesting mystery thriller typically makes for a solid movie and this one is no exception. I really enjoyed the three leads; Robert Downey Jr., Val Kilmer, and Michelle Monaghan. All of them did a good job and contributed positively to the film. Overall, one of the most enjoyable aspects of this film for aside from the laughs is the constant parallels drawn between the story of the film and a series of books mentioned frequently in the film. It is interesting while watching to see these parallels unfold throughout. Overall, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is certainly not a masterpiece, but what is nice to see is that it was creative. The plot, while I did enjoy it, is pretty straightforward and not exactly earth shattering. However, the added humor, especially from Downey and Kilmer, really elevated it above a cliched mystery thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BazeNov 25, 2012
Clever, funny, Downey & Kilmer are incredible. One of my favorite movies, no doubt.
Well, what do you expect, go watch, now !
High five Shane Black !
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
So unique you just cannot help but love every single moment of it, "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang" is a dark, satirical, and side-splittingly funny neo-noir dramedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticSep 5, 2014
A clever spoof of crime films with two leads that have surprisingly hilarious and brilliant chemistry. Robert Downey Jr has his second most watcheble performance; those wo love him don't need to ask what the first is. Val Kilmer is smart,A clever spoof of crime films with two leads that have surprisingly hilarious and brilliant chemistry. Robert Downey Jr has his second most watcheble performance; those wo love him don't need to ask what the first is. Val Kilmer is smart, witty, sarcastic, and a rather odd gay. Sharp, resolute, and bolstering a heavy amount high-octane laughter, those who love crime films will get one hell of a laugh out of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJan 16, 2016
This film is a clever and original crime thriller that contains some of the best dialogue I've seen in a long while. The pulp-like atmosphere is also something I wish more films had nowadays.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
Stylish, smarty-pants mystery thriller from the way-glib pen of Shane Black. A film at the adrenaline level of the manic character he wrote for Mel Gibson in "Lethal Weapon," and the H'wood setting provides an excuse for a wise-ass insiderStylish, smarty-pants mystery thriller from the way-glib pen of Shane Black. A film at the adrenaline level of the manic character he wrote for Mel Gibson in "Lethal Weapon," and the H'wood setting provides an excuse for a wise-ass insider tone. Warner Bros. release looks poised for a modest theatrical life, with likely prolonged cult status among hardcore fans in home formats.

Taking its title from James Bond and Pauline Kael, hyperventilating pic has the perfect put-upon lead in Robert Downey Jr. as a no-account New York actor whose ad hoc pose as a private dick on a trip to Los Angeles leads him into very deep and murky water. First seen as an outsider at a chic Hollywood Hills party, Downey’s Harry Lockhart explains in playfully confidential narration how he ended up here at the behest of Gay Perry, an upfront and funny character played in what can modestly be termed an extreme change of pace by Val Kilmer; jokey gay banter abounds, which may amuse and bewilder different viewers in equal measure.

Harry also expounds on his forlorn history with a long-lost high-school heartthrob who reportedly got it on with nearly every boy in his small-town Indiana class except for him. So who should catch his eye at the party but a slinky lady who turns out to be the very same woman, Harmony (Michelle Monaghan), now a pulp-fiction aficionado whose sassy rap recaptures Harry’s fancy. In the first of several hilarious/awful mishaps that prevent him from finally scoring with her, Harry manages to take Harmony and her plain Jane girlfriend home, only to get so wasted he sleeps with the wrong woman.

As nicely set up as it is, however, the Harry/Harmony reunion presents a major problem, simply because Downey looks about 15 years older than Monaghan, with both characters briefly repped by child actors of the same age; the issue continues to dog the film throughout.

Party and club talk is so deft and mordant you get the feeling Black could write it all night, and nobody could deliver it better than Downey, with a deadpan, sometime sad-sack tone that contains a delicious mix of self-deprecation and bad-boy impudence.

But not content to toss off one-upping dialogue at a dizzying clip, Black must finally get around to laying out a plot, and here things get quickly tangled.

While waiting for what he hopes will be a career-altering movie role, Harry gets into the sleuthing business. It’s all far too complicated to explain, even if you could; Gay Perry gives it a go at the very end, and only affirms the inscrutability of the yarn in the process. But it involves Harry’s discovery of a succession of female corpses, the identities of which are jumbled; Harmony egging him on to solve the mysteries because she’s convinced he’s a detective; Harry and Perry bickering while they help each other out of jams; Harry becoming detached from the same finger twice; significant humor stemming from the location where Perry carries a secret Derringer; a reasonably outrageous action climax set on a freeway overpass; and an epilogue cut short as Harry reassures, “Don’t worry, I saw ‘Lord of the Rings.’ I’m not going to end this 17 times.”

To no particular point other than paying homage where homage is due, pic is divided into five chapters named after Raymond Chandler titles, beginning with “Trouble Is My Business” and concluding with “Farewell My Lovely.”

Once again making a diverting but insubstantial movie look better than it is, Downey, with haggard charm to burn, is winning all the way. Kilmer is riotous at times as an impeccably groomed, businesslike guy keen to assert his orientation at every opportunity. Monaghan handles the cascading dialogue with aplomb but can’t eradicate the sense of mismatch with Downey.

Visual style is enjoyably nimble and slick, and musical choices are smart.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OberratedOct 20, 2016
'Kiss Kiss Bang Bang' was definitely a fun one to view. The team of RDJ, Val, and Michelle have a chemistry that works very well on screen and the story develops well as the run time continues, creating an ever changing engagement to the plot'Kiss Kiss Bang Bang' was definitely a fun one to view. The team of RDJ, Val, and Michelle have a chemistry that works very well on screen and the story develops well as the run time continues, creating an ever changing engagement to the plot from the audiences' perspective... Easily, Robert Downey Jr. is a fan favorite within the film. Viewing this movie for the first time while watching many other more recently released RDJ movies, it is clear to see how fantastic of an actor he is and how compelling he is as he demands attention with every word or action he projects. On the flip-side of things, he as the narrator made me laugh on multiple occasions... Comparing 'The Nice Guys' to 'Kiss Kiss Bang Bang', this film easily beats 'The Nice Guys' out in my book where I simply found this far more entertaining than it.

A very comedic and compelling film for your viewing pleasure. Fun from start to finish yet very clever and intelligent as well.

--Oberrated--
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews