Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 554 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
360
Mixed:
76
Negative:
118
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MichelleSMar 14, 2009
I have read a few very bad reviews, and apparently they were watching a different movie because this one is freaking hilarious! I have seen it over and over again, and still laugh just as hard every time. Seth and Katherine are so funny I have read a few very bad reviews, and apparently they were watching a different movie because this one is freaking hilarious! I have seen it over and over again, and still laugh just as hard every time. Seth and Katherine are so funny together and I think they make a cute couple. Yes, there were some gross funny parts and stupid funny parts, but I personally think that makes a comedy really funny, a variety of types of jokes. If you haven't seen it, give it a chance. And to those of you who gave it a zero or one, you must not have a sense of humor at all...I understand if you didn't love it, but it deserves more than that. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
8
FDT44Jan 6, 2011
An immensely absurd and psychedelic gander into the long-term consequences of poor, irrational decision-making. "Knocked-Up" meshes as its plot takes on the real-world pandemic of unwanted pregnancies and the painstaking path of staying loyalAn immensely absurd and psychedelic gander into the long-term consequences of poor, irrational decision-making. "Knocked-Up" meshes as its plot takes on the real-world pandemic of unwanted pregnancies and the painstaking path of staying loyal to your partner and child despite the stigmas linked to the causes of one's attempt for seemingly harmless fun. Mission accomplished! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jul 21, 2013
A hilarious film packed full of great supporting characters that add so much flavor to this sincere story. Raunchy and sweet have never mixed so well together.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Apr 2, 2012
The movie was decent, but definitly a step down from the previous film The 40 year old Virgin. A little too long, sappy, and sentimental at times. But its was enjoyable to watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CoDFatherSep 11, 2010
This is Seth Rogen's/ Katherine Heigl's best movie ever. The storyline of an accidental pregnancy, and combined with the humor of the century, makes the perfect movie for people of a certain humor. I love Judd Apatow, because of his humorousThis is Seth Rogen's/ Katherine Heigl's best movie ever. The storyline of an accidental pregnancy, and combined with the humor of the century, makes the perfect movie for people of a certain humor. I love Judd Apatow, because of his humorous mind, and his perfect choice of actors to play in his movies, such as Paul Rudd, Jason Segel, Martin Starr, Jonah Hill, and others. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JayKJun 4, 2007
Extremely clever, genuine, and enjoyable movie. Very fulfilling. Similar in feel, quality, and style to 40-Year-Old-Virgin. It was also fun to see some of my "Freaks and Geeks" homeboys. I agree that the relationship between the main Extremely clever, genuine, and enjoyable movie. Very fulfilling. Similar in feel, quality, and style to 40-Year-Old-Virgin. It was also fun to see some of my "Freaks and Geeks" homeboys. I agree that the relationship between the main characters was a bit forced, but I didn't realize it at the time; I just loved every minute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WeiJun 15, 2007
This is probably going to be on one of those "Top 3 Comedies of 2007" lists anytime now. It's a brilliant movie and the characters are developed so well that even the absurd moments seem everyday logical. It's hilarious and dragged This is probably going to be on one of those "Top 3 Comedies of 2007" lists anytime now. It's a brilliant movie and the characters are developed so well that even the absurd moments seem everyday logical. It's hilarious and dragged only a minute bit but eventually dragged itself back up from not very far down and headed right back into hilarity. And the language thing will be a problem if you are particularly offended by certain words and cannot ignore them out of some excruciatingly persistent morality row. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Jun 22, 2007
As far as comedy goes this is a great one. Consistently making everyone in the room laugh. Movie can be crude at times. Katherine Heigl is trying really hard not to be a bitch and at times she is successful. Overall a very funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisD.Jun 8, 2007
I'm giving this film a nine because despite a certain Hollywoodish ending it is fresh and rewrites the romantic comedy with a hell of a lot more honesty than I have yet to see. The beauty is that it does this like a good conman would, I'm giving this film a nine because despite a certain Hollywoodish ending it is fresh and rewrites the romantic comedy with a hell of a lot more honesty than I have yet to see. The beauty is that it does this like a good conman would, so that you feel good even after you know you've been ripped off a bit. The main cast is stellar. It's funny and celebrates life. There's maybe a few holes but overall it's worth ten bucks now and twenty later when it comes out on dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.Nov 10, 2007
One of my favorite comedies of all time!!! Not quite as good as superbad, but it is so fun to watch a movie with characters that speak like real guys and real girls. Apatow is truly a genius for being able to present this style in such a One of my favorite comedies of all time!!! Not quite as good as superbad, but it is so fun to watch a movie with characters that speak like real guys and real girls. Apatow is truly a genius for being able to present this style in such a hilarious movie.... 100% satisfied!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieW.May 31, 2007
Funny as hell. Better than 40 year old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendanJun 1, 2007
Of course there's lots of foul language, sex jokes, and drug use. The title of the movie is "Knocked Up". Why anyone would complain that this film contains TOO MUCH of this stuff when it clearly states in the preview that this is a Of course there's lots of foul language, sex jokes, and drug use. The title of the movie is "Knocked Up". Why anyone would complain that this film contains TOO MUCH of this stuff when it clearly states in the preview that this is a result of a DRUNKEN ONE-NIGHT STAND is beyond me. R rating plus title Knocked Up equals DUH! They talk about sex. What else did you expect? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertJun 2, 2007
HAs cracked my greatest comedies of all time list...way up there...its passed 40 year old Virgin..Into Grandma's Boy territory..haha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Jun 2, 2007
Easily one of the best movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyP.Jun 2, 2007
Excellent film, couldn't stop laughing quite frequently.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonV.Jun 2, 2007
Solid laughs. good flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattK.Jun 3, 2007
The best movie i've seen all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AllistairP.Jun 3, 2007
First off, if you love F&G/Undeclared then the cast here should pull you in and you will enjoy this THAT much more. After the funny but not all that poignant Judd Apatow, it seemed almost certain that he would go further into the hollywood First off, if you love F&G/Undeclared then the cast here should pull you in and you will enjoy this THAT much more. After the funny but not all that poignant Judd Apatow, it seemed almost certain that he would go further into the hollywood comedy field with Will Farrel staring in his next film. Yet, here we are with one of the most moving, honest, hilarious, and visionary (not in a pompous way, just as in "its a guy's vision") films of 2007 (in fact, the only one). The dialogue is so sweet and charming that it takes a real soaring talent to write and the actors are so damn good (we loved them in F&G for a reason!) Judd Apatow really has pulled off the impossible since F&G went off air, he encapsulated a decade for us that seemed to be nothing more than a hodge podge of clever references to past decades. He is this generations John Hughes or Kevin Smith. Hype could kill this movie, so I hope you actually didn't read this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Jun 3, 2007
It's not often that I say this but anybody who didn't enjoy the movie would only do so because they have a large stick implanted between their buttocks. As a 23 year old on the verge of marriage and parenthood, the movie spoke to It's not often that I say this but anybody who didn't enjoy the movie would only do so because they have a large stick implanted between their buttocks. As a 23 year old on the verge of marriage and parenthood, the movie spoke to me in a way no movie has since I was 16 and saw Almost Famous. Fantastic writing and beautiful characterization. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColleenM.Jun 3, 2007
This movie was Hysterical! The funniest movie I have seen in years. It has been a long time since there has been a comedy out where you are actually laughing outloud in the movie theater. I would recommend this movie to everyone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JefframoneJun 3, 2007
After "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" there was a huge margin for disappointment. Judd Apatow and Seth Rogan lived up to every positive expectation I had about what this movie should be. This movie is non-stop laughter and like "Virgin", just as After "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" there was a huge margin for disappointment. Judd Apatow and Seth Rogan lived up to every positive expectation I had about what this movie should be. This movie is non-stop laughter and like "Virgin", just as sweet and endearing. But I think that the each time it careened toward the precipice of over-sentimentality it's juvenile stoner antics and sharply realistic male behaviors put the breaks on. In my opinion this film is a perfect balance of the two. My only negative criticism is that like "Virgin" it might be just slightly too long, but I'd be hard pressed to say what should be cut. This is nearly a perfect comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobD.Jun 4, 2007
This movie was fantastic. Funny, dry, heartfelt and a lot more cohesive than The 40-year-old Virgin." The only small quibble I had was with the set-up for the romance between Ben and Alison. Not well established, even though by the end of This movie was fantastic. Funny, dry, heartfelt and a lot more cohesive than The 40-year-old Virgin." The only small quibble I had was with the set-up for the romance between Ben and Alison. Not well established, even though by the end of the movie I bought it...but at 2 hours I'm not sure how much more set up I would be willing to endure. Still, funny as all get out, no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SarahB.Jun 4, 2007
Really good movie. Although high on the raunchiness scale, not out of the realm of behavior I've seen from my husband's friends back at that age. Also covered situations very realistically, not the typical Hollywood treatment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlisonGJun 4, 2007
If you "IMDB" this movie, you'll see that the cast are no strangers . . . they have starred together in productions as far back as Freaks and Geeks. You could tell that there was massive chemistry between the castmates because this If you "IMDB" this movie, you'll see that the cast are no strangers . . . they have starred together in productions as far back as Freaks and Geeks. You could tell that there was massive chemistry between the castmates because this movie was HILARIOUS. I haven't had sidepain during a movie EVER from laughing so hard . . . until now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCJun 6, 2007
If this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have not actually seen "Knocked Up" or have been spoiled enough by all the dumb, cheap trick comedies to come outIf this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have not actually seen "Knocked Up" or have been spoiled enough by all the dumb, cheap trick comedies to come out of Hollywood ("Click," "Wild Hogs") that they can't appreciate something that truly is HUMOROUS. I won't say "Knocked Up" is a masterpeice, but it is one of the better comedies this year, and deserves to be seen. In fact, f*** what anyone says about it and just go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllisonR.Jun 6, 2007
I thought "Knocked up" was hilarious. The whole thing just had a feel-good vibe to it, and just about every part of the movie kept me laughing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobP.Jun 7, 2007
Hilarious. Instantly vaults itself into my top 5 movies of all time. Hard to imagine a movie funnier than this ever being made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferKJun 7, 2007
Great movie. I was rolling around laughing my ass off practically the whole time. "Dude, there are 5 different types of chairs in this hotel.... WHY ARE THEY ALL HERE??" Haha definitely a must see. Anyone who doesn't see the humor in Great movie. I was rolling around laughing my ass off practically the whole time. "Dude, there are 5 different types of chairs in this hotel.... WHY ARE THEY ALL HERE??" Haha definitely a must see. Anyone who doesn't see the humor in this movie is probably a stuck up christian, and probably also a virgin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeS.Jun 8, 2007
Balanced perfectly. Finally a chick flick that guys can appreciate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielC.Jul 4, 2007
Knocked up aims to be and succeeds at being one of the best comedies coming out this winter. The reason why this comedy works is because all the characters work. Ben's frat friends work well, the awkward moments between the married Knocked up aims to be and succeeds at being one of the best comedies coming out this winter. The reason why this comedy works is because all the characters work. Ben's frat friends work well, the awkward moments between the married couple, Ben and Allison add some good moments while the conversations between Allison and her boss work well too. For all of those who are bemoaning the level of swearing, grow up. That's right, grow up. You sound like a bunch of kids going Did he say the p word? Oh! Jeez. People swear, and people especially swear in moments such as these. If you don't like comedies with a little spice on the side, stick to the cartoons, us normal people will be reveling in a great movie which aims to celebrate relationships and the trials and tribulations of them, and succeeds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackP.Jan 9, 2008
This movie is not a teen movie or a main stream comedy for me and it hurt close to home about the questions of love and the mistakes we take as we age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThismoviehitVeryClosetoHomeMay 23, 2008
Okay I loved it. I'll admit it wasn't quite a masterpiece but very real. Some of the other comments on here actually make me really mad because it is very similar to my own life story about my husband and my daughter. So its a Okay I loved it. I'll admit it wasn't quite a masterpiece but very real. Some of the other comments on here actually make me really mad because it is very similar to my own life story about my husband and my daughter. So its a shame that SOME people on here obviously know nothing about love and family. Its not that unreal because I really lived it-and she doesn't give up anything-remember-she still works at E!- very good movie and NOT THAT FAR FETCHED AFTERALL. (although I am from the midwest were people are a little less shallow than L.A.) And yah it wasnt a slapstick kind of movie-real life is funny, too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnF.Aug 2, 2008
Oh my god its so unbelievable! Jesus people its a movie, its not supposed to be believable and completely realistic. I thought this movie was absolutely hilarious, Ive watched it probably 10 times and it gets funnier every time. Lighten up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ilarik.Oct 2, 2007
Down-to-earth, warm, humane and blunt, just the opposite of your average comedy, highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leeh.Oct 3, 2007
A very funny, astute, intelligent, raunchy, and, adult comedy. it stands out like an oasis in a desert of childish, boorish attempts by other Hollywood efforts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JTerzinoMay 31, 2007
Saw it at a free screening and it was freaking hilarious!!!!!!!! Going again tomorrow to give them my money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonDanahyJun 10, 2007
Great movie wouldn't have changed a thing. Perfect balance of heart and crude humor. Wife loved it just as much as I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredJun 10, 2007
One of the funniest movies i've ever seen. Ranks up there with movies like Old School, 40 Year Old Virgin, Dodgeball and Wedding Crashers on my list.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleJun 1, 2007
This movie was much more than just a comedy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieD.Jun 1, 2007
Excellent in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeotisH.Jun 1, 2007
Tremendous. Off-the-charts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BCSJun 1, 2007
Amazing. Hilarious every minute but still sliding seamlessly through the plot, and having a good ratio of seriousness and funny...ness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenL.Jun 13, 2007
I laughed so hard my sides hurt. Apatow brings a refreshing burst of realism to comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErinJun 15, 2007
Ok I thought this was hilarious. like 40 year old virgin, but more relaxed/natural flow of humor. every line was funny... i was cramped up from laughing so hard. and for those who were bothered by people smokign pot (oh gee!) or dropping f Ok I thought this was hilarious. like 40 year old virgin, but more relaxed/natural flow of humor. every line was funny... i was cramped up from laughing so hard. and for those who were bothered by people smokign pot (oh gee!) or dropping f bombs (gosh!), or having sex (oh my!), um thats why its rated R. get a life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCJun 17, 2007
This movie is hilarious - the whole way through I was laughing hysterically, and I'm the kind of girl who usually loves drama and romance. It was a dose of reality with a whole lot of comedy, and the whole theater was laughingThis movie is hilarious - the whole way through I was laughing hysterically, and I'm the kind of girl who usually loves drama and romance. It was a dose of reality with a whole lot of comedy, and the whole theater was laughing throughout the movie! Definetly my new favorite movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DougJun 2, 2007
The whole premise of the movie is great. Certain scenes were lol funny but they pushed the envelope a bit too much with the drug use and cursing. I too can appreciate the cursing when necessary but when it is in every other line it just The whole premise of the movie is great. Certain scenes were lol funny but they pushed the envelope a bit too much with the drug use and cursing. I too can appreciate the cursing when necessary but when it is in every other line it just seems that the script was lacking in true dialogue and clever humor. the editing was poor and music was forced. overall there was minimal character development and unrealistic connections . it does not deserve an 85 rating but there are note worthy scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregC.Jun 2, 2007
This was an overall terrific movie that couldnt have been made any differnently. Judd Apatow did a great job directing this movie and one thing he does better than any other director is he trusts his actors enough to let them do some This was an overall terrific movie that couldnt have been made any differnently. Judd Apatow did a great job directing this movie and one thing he does better than any other director is he trusts his actors enough to let them do some improvising. This was easily one of the funniest movies I have ever seen, and for those complaining about the sex jokes, vulgarity, and drug use in the movie, then dont go see it. You can infer from the title and the R rating that it is going to have it in their and if you have seen the 40 year old virgin, than that is another clue. This movie portrays real life relationships very well and how to oppsites can completely attract to eachother. Overall a terrific movie with realism, excilent commedy, good acting, and a TON of laughs!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Jun 2, 2007
A very funny and raunchy film, but also honest and heartfelt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewK.Jun 27, 2007
Hahahaha. Stupid people with your morals. I'm so glad that I'm such an immoral person because it doesn't hurt me to hear someone use a dirty word. For real, why did you even go to this movie? Are you so lacking in perception Hahahaha. Stupid people with your morals. I'm so glad that I'm such an immoral person because it doesn't hurt me to hear someone use a dirty word. For real, why did you even go to this movie? Are you so lacking in perception that you actually thought this was a family film? And why do people think that "Hollywood" is some anthropomorphised entity that creates every film that comes out and is somehow a moral barometer for America? See, there are actually many individual and actual human beings who work on movies. It's not this fictional force known as "Hollywood," and they're not out to tear down your morality. And the random Jew basher can go going Mel Gibson. And another thing. There's an actual movie to talk about here. It was great. I personally think 40 Year Old Virgin was better and funnier, but I think this movie is a more well constructed film. It's tighter. It doesn't have constant obvious improvisation. Everyone in it is hilarious. And how bout that random Asian chick? She was so bizarre and hilarious at the same time. Schmaltz? I don't think so. Real emotion and real issues that are important but ought to be taken along with some good humor. Yeah, those moments with the baby crowning were a little shocking, but I like surprises. I wonder how they did that. It looked pretty real. Seth Rogen can totally carry a film. See this movie if you like to laugh and you're not an uptight prude. Oh and also, "Crash" is one of the worst films ever made. Just thought you all might like to know that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobJ.Jun 29, 2007
The movie was alright. It had its funny moments. . . I'll admit thats its a great rental, but I wouldn't feel like I'm missing out if I didn't see it in theatres.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jun 2, 2007
Bad editing, boring directing, weak plot development, uneven drama, irrational character actions/reactions, and cheap shots(a GYNO that mistakes the anus for the vagina). However, funny as hell. Apatow never resorts to low brow. Most Bad editing, boring directing, weak plot development, uneven drama, irrational character actions/reactions, and cheap shots(a GYNO that mistakes the anus for the vagina). However, funny as hell. Apatow never resorts to low brow. Most impressively in an age where it seems every comedy starts with a good hour and crumbles in the last half hour; Knocked Up is consistent for its whole 2+ hour runtime. That alone is worth seeing this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinR.Jun 3, 2007
A very funny comedy that reminds us how to make a very intense, life-changing experience into something more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackR.Jun 3, 2007
I rarely post on metacritic, but I had to comment on this film. Judd Apatow takes what are the most basic, shallow-minded formulatic hollowood plotlines and somehow infuses them with originality, freshness & emotional depth. The film is I rarely post on metacritic, but I had to comment on this film. Judd Apatow takes what are the most basic, shallow-minded formulatic hollowood plotlines and somehow infuses them with originality, freshness & emotional depth. The film is screamingly funny with great characters. It reminded of the film Sideways, in that extemely funny things happen on the surface, but it is also a deeply funny film with amusing insights into human nature. Judd Apatow is a true magician. A very impressive movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZakF.Jun 3, 2007
I laughed my ass off threw 90% of the movie, and so did the rest of the PACKED movie theater. Great plot, great B actors, great improv acting, and just outstanding directing. Great to see with friends, and I'll definitely be picking I laughed my ass off threw 90% of the movie, and so did the rest of the PACKED movie theater. Great plot, great B actors, great improv acting, and just outstanding directing. Great to see with friends, and I'll definitely be picking this one up on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckyoJun 3, 2007
The movie is a little overrated (it's not as funny as 40-Year-Old Virgin), but it was still well worth the money!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeM.Jun 3, 2007
I've never laughed more consistently through a 2hr movie in my life. There were chuckles every 2 minutes and hysterical comedic nuggets through out the film. An awesome look into some of the ramifications the "hook up" culture of I've never laughed more consistently through a 2hr movie in my life. There were chuckles every 2 minutes and hysterical comedic nuggets through out the film. An awesome look into some of the ramifications the "hook up" culture of Generation X & Y has created for itself. Great comedy, great film. Older people (50+) might not "get it." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RS.Jun 3, 2007
All of the people giving this movie a low score need to lighten up. It was a romantic comedy that was not mean to have some deep plot. I thought it was funny and the actors did a great job. I wish more comedies could be this good. I was All of the people giving this movie a low score need to lighten up. It was a romantic comedy that was not mean to have some deep plot. I thought it was funny and the actors did a great job. I wish more comedies could be this good. I was laughing out loud - even in places where I was embarresed to be laughing out loud. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeR.Jun 3, 2007
It was O.K. Its not the "funniest movie ever" as people and reviewers make it out to be. I did laugh and enjoyed the story. Thats it. A lot of hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinG.Jun 3, 2007
1, 1! Are you serious? There is a reason this movie is one of the best reviewed of the year. If anyone tells you it is bad do not trust anything this person says ever again. They are more then likely on meth and cannot under any 1, 1! Are you serious? There is a reason this movie is one of the best reviewed of the year. If anyone tells you it is bad do not trust anything this person says ever again. They are more then likely on meth and cannot under any circumstances be trusted for advice or child care. Best comedy in years and even better than 40 Year Old Virgin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoanG.Jun 4, 2007
It was really great, really, really funny, but not quite as special as 40YOV. For me, this very truthful movie was missing some very important truth at its core. We were given zero reason to believe or understand why Alison would love Ben It was really great, really, really funny, but not quite as special as 40YOV. For me, this very truthful movie was missing some very important truth at its core. We were given zero reason to believe or understand why Alison would love Ben and actually plan to begin a life with him. (I would say "and visa versa," but Alison is so beautiful, smart, and successful that someone like Ben would simply be stunned that she had anything to do with him at all, and wouldn't care about whether they had anything in common.) It's not that Ben isn't lovable, but the movie never shows you any way that their personalities actually fit together. This is a big difference from Virgin, where one of the beautiful things about the movie was how much sense the relationship made. Moreover, even if Alison's personalty was more compatible with Ben's -- if, for example, we had learned that she had been a bit of a slacker herself before she went into TV and "grew up" -- in real life Alison would be much, much, MUCH more freaked out by Ben's lack of a job or any prospects at all. This is another thing that Virgin did much better -- the Catherine Keener character talks to Steve Carrell bluntly about whether he wants to be a sales clerk all his life, and they come up with a plan that makes perfect sense for him. I think they could have done a couple things to fix this problem in Knocked Up, with a few very tiny changes. For example, after the one-night stand, Alison could have seen Ben as a fun, guilty pleasure, someone who reminded her of her more fun college days -- but someone that she would never take seriously today. And then she finds out that she is pregnant by this lovavble loser, and totally freaks out. On the Ben side, we could have seen some teeny tiny indication that he might have some genuine brains or talent or creativity -- maybe -- and Alison could alternate between hope and despair at his prospects. Almost all the jokes save a couple could stay, and the stuff I'm suggesting would create its own humor, I still love Judd Apatow, but turns out he can't fully see the woman's point of view here. In both relationships in this movie, guys who would still like to remain boys marry women whose primary (only?) characteristics are: (1) They're beautiful and (2) They're all serious and grown-up. The idea that a man and a woman in a relationship should have something fundamental in common (even if they are outwardly very different) does not seem to enter anyone's mind. Oh, well. It was still a hilarous, sweet movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jun 4, 2007
I am 23, married, and about to start trying for a baby. This movie hit the nail on the head of this stage in life. It's a little preposterous, but so is life. And I am really grateful for how mature and sensible my husband is after I am 23, married, and about to start trying for a baby. This movie hit the nail on the head of this stage in life. It's a little preposterous, but so is life. And I am really grateful for how mature and sensible my husband is after seeing this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamA.Jun 4, 2007
Uneven and far from perfect, but far more comic gold than can possibly be counted, and all of it with heart. it wasn't quite as good as the hype, but when I compare to anything of remotely the same genre, there really isn't any Uneven and far from perfect, but far more comic gold than can possibly be counted, and all of it with heart. it wasn't quite as good as the hype, but when I compare to anything of remotely the same genre, there really isn't any comparison. avoid the hype machine, but absolutely positively go sit down and see this movie if it even remotely appeals to you. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregM.Jun 5, 2007
Good movie though I could find no reasonable explanation for her tryst with Seth Rogen--none. In real life, I'm sorry, it wouldn't have happened, and it bothered me that no one jumped on Seth about his unemployed status. To Larry: Good movie though I could find no reasonable explanation for her tryst with Seth Rogen--none. In real life, I'm sorry, it wouldn't have happened, and it bothered me that no one jumped on Seth about his unemployed status. To Larry: sorry for the 'fowl' language, I guess, but I didn't see any ducks in the movie? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradJun 6, 2007
Great movie made me laugh so hard I cried and farted at the same time, which I thought to be as nearly impossible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexD.Jun 7, 2007
I was surprised by how much I liked it. Easy going and cleverly written! Better than most films that try to succeed in the "great guilty pleasures" category!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieNJun 8, 2007
This was definitely the best comedy of 2007 so far! I loved it and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveKJul 10, 2007
I can't believe how low the ratings are from other viewers. This is by far the best comedy of the year thus far. Though the movie was filled with some "teen" humor, it was refreshing to have an adult theme. These things happen and in I can't believe how low the ratings are from other viewers. This is by far the best comedy of the year thus far. Though the movie was filled with some "teen" humor, it was refreshing to have an adult theme. These things happen and in crazy circumstances, incredible results can occur. I highly recommend this flick, though I suspect some teens will find it boring after the opening half hour. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanCJul 19, 2007
At this point, I know personally tons of people who have gone to see this movie, and it's really turning into a kind of litmus test. What do I mean by that? Everyone who saw Knocked Up and didn't like it (or rather hated it with a At this point, I know personally tons of people who have gone to see this movie, and it's really turning into a kind of litmus test. What do I mean by that? Everyone who saw Knocked Up and didn't like it (or rather hated it with a passion -- there aren't many who don't feel very strongly one way or the other) very visibly share some character qualities: they're pedantic, snobby, and ultra-conservative -- the kind of people who would typically like something a lot more if everyone else didn't like it first. If you don't want to waste your time reading the negative reviews, I'll sum up their complaints: one complains about the language (and, fair enough, if you really can't stand the "F" bomb, it's probably not for you); another complains that it is "pro life" (which is truly a ridiculous thing to say, as this issue is far from central to the movie) and that there are ultrasounds in it (sorry?); and another claims that Heigl's character "lusts after" Rogen's (which is completely not the case and really makes it sound like she didn't actually see it). If you pick apart every joke, they're not all 10s, but to call the humor in this movie "male junior high" level is to compare it to the crap in the back catalogs of Adam Sandler or Jimmy Fallon, and that's just absurd. The bottom line is that you should go see Knocked Up, not because every moment is flat-out hilarious, but because it's an engaging and cohesive American comedy that makes you feel like you've seen something thoroughly good by the end of it, and how often does that happen? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Jul 1, 2007
This film was hilarious. My wife and I went to see it, and I initially thought I was being dragged to see a chick flick. Boy was I surprised. The entire theater was laughing out loud hysterically throughout the entire film. Great surprise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
vannieJul 20, 2007
Hahaha. funny as heck. what makes it so funny is that we all have friends that are dorky and we can relate to these guys. the only people who wouldn't find this funny are people who either ARE the dorks or have no friends at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidSJul 30, 2007
I really liked this movie very funny and I would have rated it a bit higher except that I got annoyed by too much swearing in the end. It was a bit too much and made the last 20 minutes just too much really, I found myself thinking when are I really liked this movie very funny and I would have rated it a bit higher except that I got annoyed by too much swearing in the end. It was a bit too much and made the last 20 minutes just too much really, I found myself thinking when are they going to stop swearing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Jul 3, 2007
Knocked up was an absolute knock out. I have not seen a comedy this good since little miss sunshine. It is as lewd and dumb in its humor as Old School but has close to the depth of Little Miss Sunshine. The film mimicked the pot culture and Knocked up was an absolute knock out. I have not seen a comedy this good since little miss sunshine. It is as lewd and dumb in its humor as Old School but has close to the depth of Little Miss Sunshine. The film mimicked the pot culture and what it is like to be on shrooms suspiciously accurate. Little details like why the pot heads they had a ninja sword and the possession of green soccer ball where quite telling of their knowledge. Knocked Up had so many laughs that many might find over the top. But what rang true about this film is what we were laughing about stayed eerie close to real life. Maybe if you lead a sheltered life you might not get it but I remember being around and even being like some of these guys and gal. The stoner gal was perfect. I don't know who she was but she got stupid down to a science. Kudos for her acting job. As foreshadowed before not only did Knocked up have a gaggle of laughs true to life but the story actually went somewhere positive with the story. Somethings that dare I say could be a model for living in a modern world. I totally did not expect it but this movie seemed to value life something Hollywood does not always promote concerning pre-borns. And though the couple was far for perfect, coming many times just about crashing and burning in their relationship, they worked through the difficulties. I felt the message incredible positive in a more than entertaining cradle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Rev.R.Jul 8, 2007
In spite of the "too good to be true" threads woven into this hilarious tapestry, this film performs the remarkable: beneath the laughter the viewer is awakened to the pain and struggle of this dilemma. Moral choices, cultural expectations, In spite of the "too good to be true" threads woven into this hilarious tapestry, this film performs the remarkable: beneath the laughter the viewer is awakened to the pain and struggle of this dilemma. Moral choices, cultural expectations, the ability to love as choice have as much substance as the moments of comedy. This movie is a classic "tragedy within comedy"; a current rarity. The ensemble of characters are wildly diverse, yet bound together by either deeply committed friendship, or a marriage teetering on the brink of dissolution. We are allowed to gaze into two drastically different forms of "family" as each seeks to rescue one of its own. This film has many layers of noteworthy substance and is worth the viewing. Though this is an ensemble movie, Seth Rogen snares our interest from the beginning and never relinquishes it. Judd Apatow offers us a refreshing look at a very old problem in the post-modern age. As in any good film of substance related to real life experiences, it is the beauty of life itself that reconciles all brokenness, and redeems a potentially destructive circumstance. Kudos to Apatow! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Sep 3, 2007
I had free tickets so maybe my review is colored by the fact that it didn't cost me a penny but this movie was suprisingly good. I went in worried (my sense of humor is some what low-brow/ stupid is funny) but the moment I saw a guy I had free tickets so maybe my review is colored by the fact that it didn't cost me a penny but this movie was suprisingly good. I went in worried (my sense of humor is some what low-brow/ stupid is funny) but the moment I saw a guy smoking a blunt with a fish bowl on his head I knew I was O.K. It wasn't as "senseless" as Anchorman (a great movie) but it still was just as good in it's own more "grown up" way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanRJan 2, 2008
American comedy with funny bursts but with schmaltz...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AzjaegerMar 30, 2008
This movie is genius, reminds me of a Kevin Smith movie in that it ran on the dialogue. Surprised noone gets it...it's a satire on the modern world. All the characters are spouting the cliches of current thinking, a bunch of immature This movie is genius, reminds me of a Kevin Smith movie in that it ran on the dialogue. Surprised noone gets it...it's a satire on the modern world. All the characters are spouting the cliches of current thinking, a bunch of immature not -too-bright pop culture mavens from the upper middle class who worry about their self-development and feelings above all things because they don't really have to worry about money and don't seem to have to work very hard for it. The man and woman get along because basically they are both ditzes from the same cultural-economic background. They are more alike than they are different. This is brilliant satire..must have gone over a lot of people's heads. Just the "E" executives alone are worth the price of the movie. It's not a comedy in the sense of a Will Ferrell movie, or even a Borat movie...more one where every so often someone speaks a line where you just wince and laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattZOct 1, 2007
Best comedy I have watched in a long time. This film had me laughing hard many times. The drug use and language was a little too much at times which lowered my rating on this film. The film had a terrific theme and the ending made me nearly Best comedy I have watched in a long time. This film had me laughing hard many times. The drug use and language was a little too much at times which lowered my rating on this film. The film had a terrific theme and the ending made me nearly cry - I love children! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BekahS.Oct 11, 2007
it was pretty sweet, I liked it a lot
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatthewL.Dec 15, 2007
Funny and sweet. Not as good as others think it is. A little too long, sappy, and sentimental at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MJ88Oct 23, 2007
Amazing. Very, very funny. Pretty much PERFECT. (don't listen to the guys below me... they probably think The Comebacks and Epic Movie were hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Oct 29, 2007
Knocked Up is a total script of humor. Judd Apatow never gives up on his comedy, sometimes you felt like it was going to be a letdown but just stayed at a right pace and a good balance. Apatow tried to jab in some drama, but once those quick Knocked Up is a total script of humor. Judd Apatow never gives up on his comedy, sometimes you felt like it was going to be a letdown but just stayed at a right pace and a good balance. Apatow tried to jab in some drama, but once those quick scenes popped in, it kind of gave you a yawn. Although, I'd have to say, most adults may not enjoy it because the story involves 95% around sex. But from my opinion, after I saw cool adds on the film in the paper and after watching a couple of interviews on the cast, I had to watch it. The best Romantic Comedy of the year. And I'm not just saying that just to pull off a good gimmick, it actually is really good. A must see for all movie-goers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherD.Jun 1, 2007
Not to be too presumptious, but I think this might be the funniest movie of the year. It is on par with Little Miss Sunshine and Borat, my favorite comedies from last year. The movie was consistently entertaining with some of the best Not to be too presumptious, but I think this might be the funniest movie of the year. It is on par with Little Miss Sunshine and Borat, my favorite comedies from last year. The movie was consistently entertaining with some of the best characters in any comedy I've seen in a long time. Debbie Matenopoulos, who I guess is little more than a real life E! correspondent, plays herself in the movie and almost steals the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeHaddadJun 1, 2007
I am a 17-24 year-old male and I did love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennaJun 1, 2007
Be sure not to offend Laura... She's impressionable:)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenB.Jun 1, 2007
This was easily one of the funniest movies I have ever seen! I can't remember the last time I laughed this hard... I need to see it again for all the lines i missed while laughing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DwightC.Jun 1, 2007
I love this ensemble....great timing, realistic relationships and hilarious running bachelor buddie jokes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyencokeJun 1, 2007
This is probably going to be the funniest movie of the year. People who honestly didn't like this movie, have no sense of humor or can't handle swearing/crudeness. There isn't really any movie that make me laugh, and this one did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidM.Jun 13, 2007
It's disgusting that people gave this film a 1 or a 0 simply because of frequent F-bombs. If it bothers you that much, see why it's rated "R," and don't spend your money on it if "Language" is listed. This film is fantastic: It's disgusting that people gave this film a 1 or a 0 simply because of frequent F-bombs. If it bothers you that much, see why it's rated "R," and don't spend your money on it if "Language" is listed. This film is fantastic: the writing, acting, and characters are nearly perfect, catching real life and comedy at the same time. It's heartfelt, beautiful, and hysterical. Hollywood needs more films like this. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jun 13, 2007
This movie was hilarious. I would advise the previous posters (i.e., those complaining about the movie's use of the "F" word) to watch a movie THAT ISN'T RATED R if they have such delicate sensibilities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tupacshakurJun 14, 2007
I don't understand how anyone could not like this movie. I guess it isn't realistic that the hot girl would go for Ben, but that doesn't take away from the fact that this movie is hilarious. Also, as a lot of other people haveI don't understand how anyone could not like this movie. I guess it isn't realistic that the hot girl would go for Ben, but that doesn't take away from the fact that this movie is hilarious. Also, as a lot of other people have said, if you care about them using "The F Word" so much you need to stop being so mormon or go watch a Disney movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlecBousquetJun 16, 2007
wow the ppl who rated this movie bad was it saying the f-word 2 many times is a pussy... big deal some of the greatest movies ever said the 4 word a lot.. pulp fiction, departed, goodfellas, scarface.. this movie wasnt as great as them butwow the ppl who rated this movie bad was it saying the f-word 2 many times is a pussy... big deal some of the greatest movies ever said the 4 word a lot.. pulp fiction, departed, goodfellas, scarface.. this movie wasnt as great as them but damn it was screamingly funny. im glad i wnt 2 c this movie cuhs it was worth it.. and yea who gets offended by language in movies.. u hear it 1,000 times a day in the real world u jus dont know u do cuhs ur not sitting in a theater listening 2 ppl say it... wow grow the hell up Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.B.Jun 18, 2007
Even with the worst possible seats, sitting in the most uncomfortable position at the theater this film had me loving every minute of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipJ.Jun 2, 2007
One of the best movies I've ever seen, and not just because I look like an arian version of Seth Rogen. I haven't been this impressed by a movie since the 40 Year Old Virgin. Me and my brother saw this movie with two girls who also One of the best movies I've ever seen, and not just because I look like an arian version of Seth Rogen. I haven't been this impressed by a movie since the 40 Year Old Virgin. Me and my brother saw this movie with two girls who also loved it. Easily the best movie of the year so far. Hell, by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonKJun 2, 2007
Absolutely hilarious, yet with a lot of emotion and unexpected depth. The critics aren't wrong with this movie. It was truly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulieS.Jun 2, 2007
I loved it! I loved everyone in it! I loved the story! The bunch of guys reminded me of guys I knew in college! What fun! Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RexJun 22, 2007
3/4 of the movie I cried because I was laughing so hard. The other 1/4 was useless toilet humor for the 15-20 year old boys in the audience to see Katherine Heigl get dry humped by Seth Rogen. Still, one of the funniest movies I have seen in 3/4 of the movie I cried because I was laughing so hard. The other 1/4 was useless toilet humor for the 15-20 year old boys in the audience to see Katherine Heigl get dry humped by Seth Rogen. Still, one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. I would see it again and even buy the DVD. Cheers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ImogeneJun 23, 2007
Better than 40-Year Old Virgin. Hilarious. Our theatre did not stop laughing the whole way through. I fucking loved it. Enough to make me want to go home and smoke a bowl. And, by the way, this is how real people talk. I find it so strange Better than 40-Year Old Virgin. Hilarious. Our theatre did not stop laughing the whole way through. I fucking loved it. Enough to make me want to go home and smoke a bowl. And, by the way, this is how real people talk. I find it so strange what people in this country are offended by... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseG.Jun 26, 2007
Knocked Up is the best movie of 2007 so far and by the end of the year may prove to be the best movie of 2007 period. I know that there have been some really good films this year so if you want to argue against me, I hope you can at least Knocked Up is the best movie of 2007 so far and by the end of the year may prove to be the best movie of 2007 period. I know that there have been some really good films this year so if you want to argue against me, I hope you can at least concede that it has been the best movie so far of a summer filled with big budget low quality sequels. I love Steve Carell but he really should have chosen the smaller paycheck and worked with Judd Apatow and family instead of doing Evan Almighty. Getting back to Knocked Up the film is labeled as a comedy, which it is. The film is practically non stop laugh out loud funny and to label it solely as crude gross out humor is to label oneself as an idiot. Whether you're a college student or parent the film has something for everyone.The film definitely has crude moments, the three money shots at the end may offend some, but they are all hilarious and none of them ever feel cheap. It is also packed with smart witty banter amongst friends that anyone can connect with. The banter may overall be funnier to younger audience members but with reference to John Lennon and Cat Stevens parents and older viewers can easily find things to laugh at. What makes this film better than just a summer comedy is that it has a heart. Looking back to past summer comedies that really made an impact you can look at Little Miss Sunshine and Apatow's own 40 Year Old Virgin. These films are great because the whole ride of the film is that the audience feels comfortable to laugh with and at each character because the laughs never seem to be truly mean spirited. When the guys are raging on Martin they are raging on him but it is instantly clear that the friends are real friends and really like each other. Knocked Up also has very strong female characters which are often missing from comedy. Both Heigel and Mann easily match wits with both Rogen and Rudd, and they in fact may have the funniest scene in the whole film when they are denied VIP access to the night club. Challenged by the Rudd Rogen scene in Vegas with the chairs and Rogen yelling at Cheaper by the Dozen. My only complaint with the film is that opinions amongst the friends aren't very diverse. I missed the Romany Malco character from Virgin. It would have been nice to see someone rip on Martin in a different vein then the rest of the guys. That fact may deduct a 1/2 of a point from Knocked Up. I loved this film and find it hard to believe that someone could hate the film so much to give it a zero. The film is smart, funny, and touching and it is always a real joy to watch. I hope in the near future someone can come up with cool brat pack type name to describe Apatow and his cast of regulars which includes his real family as well as people we have seen on beloved and short lived shows like Freaks and Geeks, Undeclared and The Ben Stiller Show. I can't think of anything other than The Apatow Family, it kind of sounds like Addams Family, but it isn't that good and probably not original to me. But if it is I from here on claim all right to that name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeJun 26, 2007
How would continuing with the pregnancy be an unlikely choice for a women. i really don't think anyone has the right to judge a movie on the choices that they personally wouldn't agree with. i thought this movie was hilarious and i How would continuing with the pregnancy be an unlikely choice for a women. i really don't think anyone has the right to judge a movie on the choices that they personally wouldn't agree with. i thought this movie was hilarious and i find it funny that people are surprised by the crude nature of it all. what did you expect? a heartfelt romantic comedy? if you get so offended by a movie, just remember you made the choice to watch it. rated r and all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonF.Jun 29, 2007
Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the rest of the movie. still funny just not as much fun. most of it was hilarious though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful