Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 555 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
361
Mixed:
76
Negative:
118
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
CraigSJul 22, 2007
2 slight giggles is all I got. juvenile humour. unrealistic characters and story. I could have walked out after 10 minutes and saved an hour of my life
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DonKJul 23, 2007
Adolescent humor at its worst. My friend and I both had the same feeling, of wanting to leave in the middle of the movie. Women and men are treated in an unflattering stereotypical manner with the same message of moves made 60 years ago, Adolescent humor at its worst. My friend and I both had the same feeling, of wanting to leave in the middle of the movie. Women and men are treated in an unflattering stereotypical manner with the same message of moves made 60 years ago, women will transform men and civilize them, and men are children and unreliable cads and women just do not understand or want to understand men, and men do not know what women want. Old themes handled in a demeaning manner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisOJul 24, 2007
Filthy language and druggy ambiance ruin what could have been a cute movie. For the early teenage crowd only -- oops! R-rated so an adult will have to accompany them. Sorry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JennySJul 28, 2007
Katherine Heigl betrays good judgment in accepting this role & betrays all girls in playing house with a loser-stoner who would have left her ass high and dry with her pregnancy. This move is just so pitifully unbelievable with a strong Katherine Heigl betrays good judgment in accepting this role & betrays all girls in playing house with a loser-stoner who would have left her ass high and dry with her pregnancy. This move is just so pitifully unbelievable with a strong pro-life theme including sonar photos at 4 weeks into gestation. Insulting to the medical community in their apparent "insensitivities" to her unreasonable needs. Some laughs are worthwhile, but the theme of this movie is hurtful to the realities of society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidSJul 30, 2007
I really liked this movie very funny and I would have rated it a bit higher except that I got annoyed by too much swearing in the end. It was a bit too much and made the last 20 minutes just too much really, I found myself thinking when are I really liked this movie very funny and I would have rated it a bit higher except that I got annoyed by too much swearing in the end. It was a bit too much and made the last 20 minutes just too much really, I found myself thinking when are they going to stop swearing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Jul 3, 2007
Knocked up was an absolute knock out. I have not seen a comedy this good since little miss sunshine. It is as lewd and dumb in its humor as Old School but has close to the depth of Little Miss Sunshine. The film mimicked the pot culture and Knocked up was an absolute knock out. I have not seen a comedy this good since little miss sunshine. It is as lewd and dumb in its humor as Old School but has close to the depth of Little Miss Sunshine. The film mimicked the pot culture and what it is like to be on shrooms suspiciously accurate. Little details like why the pot heads they had a ninja sword and the possession of green soccer ball where quite telling of their knowledge. Knocked Up had so many laughs that many might find over the top. But what rang true about this film is what we were laughing about stayed eerie close to real life. Maybe if you lead a sheltered life you might not get it but I remember being around and even being like some of these guys and gal. The stoner gal was perfect. I don't know who she was but she got stupid down to a science. Kudos for her acting job. As foreshadowed before not only did Knocked up have a gaggle of laughs true to life but the story actually went somewhere positive with the story. Somethings that dare I say could be a model for living in a modern world. I totally did not expect it but this movie seemed to value life something Hollywood does not always promote concerning pre-borns. And though the couple was far for perfect, coming many times just about crashing and burning in their relationship, they worked through the difficulties. I felt the message incredible positive in a more than entertaining cradle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScooterLJul 5, 2007
I tend to like these kinds of movies more than the critics. Not here. Seemed like the whole thing was recycled, with some bonus cheesy sh-- thrown in. Disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Rev.R.Jul 8, 2007
In spite of the "too good to be true" threads woven into this hilarious tapestry, this film performs the remarkable: beneath the laughter the viewer is awakened to the pain and struggle of this dilemma. Moral choices, cultural expectations, In spite of the "too good to be true" threads woven into this hilarious tapestry, this film performs the remarkable: beneath the laughter the viewer is awakened to the pain and struggle of this dilemma. Moral choices, cultural expectations, the ability to love as choice have as much substance as the moments of comedy. This movie is a classic "tragedy within comedy"; a current rarity. The ensemble of characters are wildly diverse, yet bound together by either deeply committed friendship, or a marriage teetering on the brink of dissolution. We are allowed to gaze into two drastically different forms of "family" as each seeks to rescue one of its own. This film has many layers of noteworthy substance and is worth the viewing. Though this is an ensemble movie, Seth Rogen snares our interest from the beginning and never relinquishes it. Judd Apatow offers us a refreshing look at a very old problem in the post-modern age. As in any good film of substance related to real life experiences, it is the beauty of life itself that reconciles all brokenness, and redeems a potentially destructive circumstance. Kudos to Apatow! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CarolynW.Jul 8, 2007
Male junior high humor with few redeeming qualities. Totally unbelievable story line, with characters that weren't even likeable. Sorry I wasted the $7.50.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LarryJul 9, 2007
I agree with Carolyn W--"Male junior high humor with few redeeming qualities. Totally unbelievable story line, with characters that weren't even likable." What a waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BradleyBAug 26, 2007
Wow, this was a really poorly done movie. I am bewildered by the strong "critic" reviews. There were a handful of laugh-out-loud moments in this movie, which gets it a 1. In between, there was horrible dialog, a plot that made no sense, Wow, this was a really poorly done movie. I am bewildered by the strong "critic" reviews. There were a handful of laugh-out-loud moments in this movie, which gets it a 1. In between, there was horrible dialog, a plot that made no sense, scenes dragging on forever, characters suddenly angrily screaming for no reason...it was a really oddly written film. This is the type of poorly written crap that critics give perfect scores to? Yikes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeYSep 26, 2007
don't get it...it's like the "Beck" or "White Stripes" phenomenon...where your supposed to like them and say how brilliant they are, and everybody follows suit - like sheep...but in reality it's just not good at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FabienL'amourSep 30, 2007
can't believe people find this film original... the acting sucks so bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Sep 3, 2007
I had free tickets so maybe my review is colored by the fact that it didn't cost me a penny but this movie was suprisingly good. I went in worried (my sense of humor is some what low-brow/ stupid is funny) but the moment I saw a guy I had free tickets so maybe my review is colored by the fact that it didn't cost me a penny but this movie was suprisingly good. I went in worried (my sense of humor is some what low-brow/ stupid is funny) but the moment I saw a guy smoking a blunt with a fish bowl on his head I knew I was O.K. It wasn't as "senseless" as Anchorman (a great movie) but it still was just as good in it's own more "grown up" way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamieP.Sep 6, 2007
Very disappointed. It doesn't add up in the slightest. She would have had an abortion in a lightning flash, and quite rightly so too. Casting was dire.Seth Rogan is not attractive, he's not charismatic, he's got nothing about Very disappointed. It doesn't add up in the slightest. She would have had an abortion in a lightning flash, and quite rightly so too. Casting was dire.Seth Rogan is not attractive, he's not charismatic, he's got nothing about him. He screams 'Supporting Actor' (and not a particularly good one at that). That's not because of physical attributes. Woody Allen screams 'Leading man', for instance. It's just because it feels like his being funny and drawing people towards him is a surprise to him rather than an expectation. Heigl is wooden and unbelievable. You can almost see her remembering her lines. And far too pretty for a role like this tbh. Film was 30 minutes too long, and even then utterly failed, as someone else pointed out, how these two are supposed to be in love. It was just stupid. That all said, could have been excellent, and much of the film was very funny and acutely observed. They just failed to get the basics right - casting, plot and editing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanRJan 2, 2008
American comedy with funny bursts but with schmaltz...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JadeBFeb 15, 2008
Its infuriatingly bad! I'm a big fan of 40 Year Old Virgin & Superbad so I guess I was really disappointed in this movie. The comedy is pretty good to OK but its the underlying story and drama that are just really senseless and weak. A Its infuriatingly bad! I'm a big fan of 40 Year Old Virgin & Superbad so I guess I was really disappointed in this movie. The comedy is pretty good to OK but its the underlying story and drama that are just really senseless and weak. A highly successful 20 something buxom, blond hottie has a drunken 1 night stand with some nice, funny, unemployed, chubby, stoner... she gets pregnant and of course decides to keep the baby and risk her blossoming career AND! and have it with the chubby unemployed stoner whose also an illegal alien from Canada. I'm ok with this to a degree I mean Anchorman & Old School aren't exactly Pride & Prejudice. But Knocked Up isn't content to be a wacky over the top satire, nope it tries to be the poignant 'life lesson' movie. It isn't even a chick flick. Women are portrayed to be irrational crazed assholes and men soulless & gutless bumblers. In short the movie doesn't have any real heart, not enough to get married and have a kid together IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AzjaegerMar 30, 2008
This movie is genius, reminds me of a Kevin Smith movie in that it ran on the dialogue. Surprised noone gets it...it's a satire on the modern world. All the characters are spouting the cliches of current thinking, a bunch of immature This movie is genius, reminds me of a Kevin Smith movie in that it ran on the dialogue. Surprised noone gets it...it's a satire on the modern world. All the characters are spouting the cliches of current thinking, a bunch of immature not -too-bright pop culture mavens from the upper middle class who worry about their self-development and feelings above all things because they don't really have to worry about money and don't seem to have to work very hard for it. The man and woman get along because basically they are both ditzes from the same cultural-economic background. They are more alike than they are different. This is brilliant satire..must have gone over a lot of people's heads. Just the "E" executives alone are worth the price of the movie. It's not a comedy in the sense of a Will Ferrell movie, or even a Borat movie...more one where every so often someone speaks a line where you just wince and laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyK.Mar 31, 2008
most disgusting movie I have ever seen. Complete junk and should havenever been made. Advocates disrespect for humanity and completely lacks a hint of dignity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HaroldCAug 22, 2008
not bad acting, but lets not discuss that part. instead - seriously the rest of the film is lacking something i rilly dont understand why people enjoy watching Other people have sex thats so gross to my opinion - however this movie does have not bad acting, but lets not discuss that part. instead - seriously the rest of the film is lacking something i rilly dont understand why people enjoy watching Other people have sex thats so gross to my opinion - however this movie does have a few funny parts. I should note i didnt like superbad either, however i am a huge fan of Eastern Promises. an no i am not homosexual Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattZOct 1, 2007
Best comedy I have watched in a long time. This film had me laughing hard many times. The drug use and language was a little too much at times which lowered my rating on this film. The film had a terrific theme and the ending made me nearly Best comedy I have watched in a long time. This film had me laughing hard many times. The drug use and language was a little too much at times which lowered my rating on this film. The film had a terrific theme and the ending made me nearly cry - I love children! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BekahS.Oct 11, 2007
it was pretty sweet, I liked it a lot
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatthewL.Dec 15, 2007
Funny and sweet. Not as good as others think it is. A little too long, sappy, and sentimental at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
andyOct 22, 2007
40 yr old virgin it is NOT. After 20 minutes we were done. How can the press reviews be that good for this piece of crap?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveCDec 29, 2007
Utterly and unforgivably dire. The script wasn't funny, the characters were one dimensional and unconvincing. Haven't seen a film this bad for ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RayOct 23, 2007
Improv doesn't always mean entertaining. Not funny at all. I rented it and stopped it almost at the end, realizing that it was never going to get better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MJ88Oct 23, 2007
Amazing. Very, very funny. Pretty much PERFECT. (don't listen to the guys below me... they probably think The Comebacks and Epic Movie were hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomD.Dec 4, 2007
Some good moments but other moments are funny as long as they involve weed. Take the weed out and this is a boring chik flik. Sorry not impressed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JackM.Oct 25, 2007
A few laughs, with Seth Rogan a welcome presence, but ultimately it was predictable, boring in spots, and sentimental. 40 Year Old Virgin was great. This is most certainly not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FelixK.Oct 27, 2007
This could have been a lot funnier !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
chrisjOct 27, 2007
Surprisingly bad. Some good lines but not worth the investment. Stay away from the directors cut as it's too bloated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Oct 29, 2007
Knocked Up is a total script of humor. Judd Apatow never gives up on his comedy, sometimes you felt like it was going to be a letdown but just stayed at a right pace and a good balance. Apatow tried to jab in some drama, but once those quick Knocked Up is a total script of humor. Judd Apatow never gives up on his comedy, sometimes you felt like it was going to be a letdown but just stayed at a right pace and a good balance. Apatow tried to jab in some drama, but once those quick scenes popped in, it kind of gave you a yawn. Although, I'd have to say, most adults may not enjoy it because the story involves 95% around sex. But from my opinion, after I saw cool adds on the film in the paper and after watching a couple of interviews on the cast, I had to watch it. The best Romantic Comedy of the year. And I'm not just saying that just to pull off a good gimmick, it actually is really good. A must see for all movie-goers. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GeorgeFOct 29, 2007
Teeeeeedious! Come on fellas, if you look like that, act like that, you ain't getting that. Only a dork holding out desperate hope would call this touching or plausible. Hollywood is striking fast while Rogen's t 40 Year Old Virgin Teeeeeedious! Come on fellas, if you look like that, act like that, you ain't getting that. Only a dork holding out desperate hope would call this touching or plausible. Hollywood is striking fast while Rogen's t 40 Year Old Virgin performance remains current in peopleâ??s memories. Save your money. Truly lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MartinR.Oct 4, 2007
Unoriginal, boring, overrated, full of cliche, overall waste of time and energy. It is a sad statement about current state of mainstream comedy and its reviewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LindaL.Oct 7, 2007
I'm really puzzled by the raves over this movie -- they must come from the same folks who think "Two and a Half Men" is brilliant, classic TV comedy. I've enjoyed films like "The Royal Tenenbaums" and "The 40-Year-Old Virgin," and I'm really puzzled by the raves over this movie -- they must come from the same folks who think "Two and a Half Men" is brilliant, classic TV comedy. I've enjoyed films like "The Royal Tenenbaums" and "The 40-Year-Old Virgin," and I enjoyed some of this flick's pop culture references. But it made me laugh out loud only once. Everyone's selfish and stupid, till the sappy ending. And the string of cliches -- house full of wacky losers, grueling birth scene, doe-eyed-blonde goes for the funny guy -- are ones we've all seen before. Dumbest of all is the theme: You can have careless sex with a stranger, make a baby, and it's all gonna Work Out Fine! Riiiiiiight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeOct 8, 2007
Boring, not funny, predictable avoid this movie! and don't count on the critics because they were way off on this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TriciaJun 11, 2007
Yes, this movie has some very funny parts but what is wrong with Hollywood that they think they need to add the "F" word in every sentence. Were you not listening to how many times they said "F". It added nothing to the story line. Sorry I Yes, this movie has some very funny parts but what is wrong with Hollywood that they think they need to add the "F" word in every sentence. Were you not listening to how many times they said "F". It added nothing to the story line. Sorry I wasted my hard earn money to hear "F" "F" 'F" . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherD.Jun 1, 2007
Not to be too presumptious, but I think this might be the funniest movie of the year. It is on par with Little Miss Sunshine and Borat, my favorite comedies from last year. The movie was consistently entertaining with some of the best Not to be too presumptious, but I think this might be the funniest movie of the year. It is on par with Little Miss Sunshine and Borat, my favorite comedies from last year. The movie was consistently entertaining with some of the best characters in any comedy I've seen in a long time. Debbie Matenopoulos, who I guess is little more than a real life E! correspondent, plays herself in the movie and almost steals the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeHaddadJun 1, 2007
I am a 17-24 year-old male and I did love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennaJun 1, 2007
Be sure not to offend Laura... She's impressionable:)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenB.Jun 1, 2007
This was easily one of the funniest movies I have ever seen! I can't remember the last time I laughed this hard... I need to see it again for all the lines i missed while laughing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DwightC.Jun 1, 2007
I love this ensemble....great timing, realistic relationships and hilarious running bachelor buddie jokes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyencokeJun 1, 2007
This is probably going to be the funniest movie of the year. People who honestly didn't like this movie, have no sense of humor or can't handle swearing/crudeness. There isn't really any movie that make me laugh, and this one did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidM.Jun 13, 2007
It's disgusting that people gave this film a 1 or a 0 simply because of frequent F-bombs. If it bothers you that much, see why it's rated "R," and don't spend your money on it if "Language" is listed. This film is fantastic: It's disgusting that people gave this film a 1 or a 0 simply because of frequent F-bombs. If it bothers you that much, see why it's rated "R," and don't spend your money on it if "Language" is listed. This film is fantastic: the writing, acting, and characters are nearly perfect, catching real life and comedy at the same time. It's heartfelt, beautiful, and hysterical. Hollywood needs more films like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Jun 13, 2007
This movie was hilarious. I would advise the previous posters (i.e., those complaining about the movie's use of the "F" word) to watch a movie THAT ISN'T RATED R if they have such delicate sensibilities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GHJun 13, 2007
You failed to mention that every other word was the F word! Even my husband was sick of hearing it. We saw 3 ladies get up and leave. It would have been a really good show had it not been for that!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tupacshakurJun 14, 2007
I don't understand how anyone could not like this movie. I guess it isn't realistic that the hot girl would go for Ben, but that doesn't take away from the fact that this movie is hilarious. Also, as a lot of other people haveI don't understand how anyone could not like this movie. I guess it isn't realistic that the hot girl would go for Ben, but that doesn't take away from the fact that this movie is hilarious. Also, as a lot of other people have said, if you care about them using "The F Word" so much you need to stop being so mormon or go watch a Disney movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlecBousquetJun 16, 2007
wow the ppl who rated this movie bad was it saying the f-word 2 many times is a pussy... big deal some of the greatest movies ever said the 4 word a lot.. pulp fiction, departed, goodfellas, scarface.. this movie wasnt as great as them butwow the ppl who rated this movie bad was it saying the f-word 2 many times is a pussy... big deal some of the greatest movies ever said the 4 word a lot.. pulp fiction, departed, goodfellas, scarface.. this movie wasnt as great as them but damn it was screamingly funny. im glad i wnt 2 c this movie cuhs it was worth it.. and yea who gets offended by language in movies.. u hear it 1,000 times a day in the real world u jus dont know u do cuhs ur not sitting in a theater listening 2 ppl say it... wow grow the hell up Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ToniT.Jun 16, 2007
If any of you males out there that liked this movie ever think that you're going to impress a women with your taste....FORGET IT....Don't know of one single female that found any humor in this (and I am talking about fun, fun, If any of you males out there that liked this movie ever think that you're going to impress a women with your taste....FORGET IT....Don't know of one single female that found any humor in this (and I am talking about fun, fun, classy, intelligent women who are also open-minded). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JerryK.Jun 17, 2007
Terribly overrated by the critics, which led me to a great feeling of disappointment. The plot was far too unbelievable, and while I like Seth Rogen very much in the roles he's done so far, he certainly is not at the point of his career Terribly overrated by the critics, which led me to a great feeling of disappointment. The plot was far too unbelievable, and while I like Seth Rogen very much in the roles he's done so far, he certainly is not at the point of his career where he can carry the load as a romantic lead as required here. The cast playing Seth's friends shine. But there was far too much gratuitous profanity eroding the movie's ability to have viewers buy into the story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.B.Jun 18, 2007
Even with the worst possible seats, sitting in the most uncomfortable position at the theater this film had me loving every minute of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MitchMcNeilJun 21, 2007
Five stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The setFive stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The set up had me hooked - - the collision of two worlds, climaxing in a drunken coupling. The characters, for the most part, were nuanced and real. But as the parents-to-be got more serious and clear-headed about their situation, I begin to experience some form of disconnect. The whole birth thing had me squirming in my seat. Too real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipJ.Jun 2, 2007
One of the best movies I've ever seen, and not just because I look like an arian version of Seth Rogen. I haven't been this impressed by a movie since the 40 Year Old Virgin. Me and my brother saw this movie with two girls who also One of the best movies I've ever seen, and not just because I look like an arian version of Seth Rogen. I haven't been this impressed by a movie since the 40 Year Old Virgin. Me and my brother saw this movie with two girls who also loved it. Easily the best movie of the year so far. Hell, by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonKJun 2, 2007
Absolutely hilarious, yet with a lot of emotion and unexpected depth. The critics aren't wrong with this movie. It was truly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IsaacJun 2, 2007
Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental crap and completely pointless plot diversions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulieS.Jun 2, 2007
I loved it! I loved everyone in it! I loved the story! The bunch of guys reminded me of guys I knew in college! What fun! Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RexJun 22, 2007
3/4 of the movie I cried because I was laughing so hard. The other 1/4 was useless toilet humor for the 15-20 year old boys in the audience to see Katherine Heigl get dry humped by Seth Rogen. Still, one of the funniest movies I have seen in 3/4 of the movie I cried because I was laughing so hard. The other 1/4 was useless toilet humor for the 15-20 year old boys in the audience to see Katherine Heigl get dry humped by Seth Rogen. Still, one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. I would see it again and even buy the DVD. Cheers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ImogeneJun 23, 2007
Better than 40-Year Old Virgin. Hilarious. Our theatre did not stop laughing the whole way through. I fucking loved it. Enough to make me want to go home and smoke a bowl. And, by the way, this is how real people talk. I find it so strange Better than 40-Year Old Virgin. Hilarious. Our theatre did not stop laughing the whole way through. I fucking loved it. Enough to make me want to go home and smoke a bowl. And, by the way, this is how real people talk. I find it so strange what people in this country are offended by... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseG.Jun 26, 2007
Knocked Up is the best movie of 2007 so far and by the end of the year may prove to be the best movie of 2007 period. I know that there have been some really good films this year so if you want to argue against me, I hope you can at least Knocked Up is the best movie of 2007 so far and by the end of the year may prove to be the best movie of 2007 period. I know that there have been some really good films this year so if you want to argue against me, I hope you can at least concede that it has been the best movie so far of a summer filled with big budget low quality sequels. I love Steve Carell but he really should have chosen the smaller paycheck and worked with Judd Apatow and family instead of doing Evan Almighty. Getting back to Knocked Up the film is labeled as a comedy, which it is. The film is practically non stop laugh out loud funny and to label it solely as crude gross out humor is to label oneself as an idiot. Whether you're a college student or parent the film has something for everyone.The film definitely has crude moments, the three money shots at the end may offend some, but they are all hilarious and none of them ever feel cheap. It is also packed with smart witty banter amongst friends that anyone can connect with. The banter may overall be funnier to younger audience members but with reference to John Lennon and Cat Stevens parents and older viewers can easily find things to laugh at. What makes this film better than just a summer comedy is that it has a heart. Looking back to past summer comedies that really made an impact you can look at Little Miss Sunshine and Apatow's own 40 Year Old Virgin. These films are great because the whole ride of the film is that the audience feels comfortable to laugh with and at each character because the laughs never seem to be truly mean spirited. When the guys are raging on Martin they are raging on him but it is instantly clear that the friends are real friends and really like each other. Knocked Up also has very strong female characters which are often missing from comedy. Both Heigel and Mann easily match wits with both Rogen and Rudd, and they in fact may have the funniest scene in the whole film when they are denied VIP access to the night club. Challenged by the Rudd Rogen scene in Vegas with the chairs and Rogen yelling at Cheaper by the Dozen. My only complaint with the film is that opinions amongst the friends aren't very diverse. I missed the Romany Malco character from Virgin. It would have been nice to see someone rip on Martin in a different vein then the rest of the guys. That fact may deduct a 1/2 of a point from Knocked Up. I loved this film and find it hard to believe that someone could hate the film so much to give it a zero. The film is smart, funny, and touching and it is always a real joy to watch. I hope in the near future someone can come up with cool brat pack type name to describe Apatow and his cast of regulars which includes his real family as well as people we have seen on beloved and short lived shows like Freaks and Geeks, Undeclared and The Ben Stiller Show. I can't think of anything other than The Apatow Family, it kind of sounds like Addams Family, but it isn't that good and probably not original to me. But if it is I from here on claim all right to that name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeJun 26, 2007
How would continuing with the pregnancy be an unlikely choice for a women. i really don't think anyone has the right to judge a movie on the choices that they personally wouldn't agree with. i thought this movie was hilarious and i How would continuing with the pregnancy be an unlikely choice for a women. i really don't think anyone has the right to judge a movie on the choices that they personally wouldn't agree with. i thought this movie was hilarious and i find it funny that people are surprised by the crude nature of it all. what did you expect? a heartfelt romantic comedy? if you get so offended by a movie, just remember you made the choice to watch it. rated r and all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonF.Jun 29, 2007
Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the rest of the movie. still funny just not as much fun. most of it was hilarious though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TateW.Jun 3, 2007
This was a great movie and I will be buying it the first day it comes on video. The friends reminded me of my roommates in college. I laughed through the movie and the end was sweet enough to make my pregnant wife cry. We both had a great time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Jun 3, 2007
O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good comedy with capable actors and a smart screenplay a little similar to She's Having A Baby but it is not a classic - it's just, thankfully, not a sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisA.Jun 3, 2007
Completely enjoyed this movie and laughed hysterically throughout. Typically I don't enjoy this genre on first viewing and have to watch them several times before warming up to them (e.g. Anchorman, Old School, 40 year old Virgin, etc). Completely enjoyed this movie and laughed hysterically throughout. Typically I don't enjoy this genre on first viewing and have to watch them several times before warming up to them (e.g. Anchorman, Old School, 40 year old Virgin, etc). Usually it's due to the way they are a bunch of skits tied together. But, this one had me rolling right away. Smart writing, excellent delivery, spot-on timing. Good stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanaM.Jun 3, 2007
I don't walk out of movies too often but this one was a stinker. Absolutely stupid story of this gorgeous woman getting pregnant by a big-time loser, and the rest of the story just adds to how much of a loser this guy really is. I don't walk out of movies too often but this one was a stinker. Absolutely stupid story of this gorgeous woman getting pregnant by a big-time loser, and the rest of the story just adds to how much of a loser this guy really is. Immature drug and sex jokes were just oo much. If you're not a senior in high school don't bother seeing this movie. Save yourself your ten bucks and see Waitress or something more entertaining. Shame on these reviewers for giving this movie a 10. So much for trusting the reviews from Metacritic. [Ed: Metacritic reviews movies?? huh...] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanE.Jun 3, 2007
I was on the floor with laughter. It isn't for everyone, but I'm sure you'll be laughing through out most of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandiJ.Jun 3, 2007
I loved the movie! It was an excellent comedy but also had very real issues that everyone can relate to in some way. I saw it with my sister and am going to see it again with my husband because I think he will love it. Definitely was not too I loved the movie! It was an excellent comedy but also had very real issues that everyone can relate to in some way. I saw it with my sister and am going to see it again with my husband because I think he will love it. Definitely was not too much of a chick flick like I originally thought it may be for him. I recommend this film greatly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeJun 4, 2007
I usually don't like movies that are in this genre, the pseudo-silly humor film. Knocked Up, however, was hilarious the whole way through, had some really insightful moments about relationships and what it means to be happy, and was in I usually don't like movies that are in this genre, the pseudo-silly humor film. Knocked Up, however, was hilarious the whole way through, had some really insightful moments about relationships and what it means to be happy, and was in general just a fun film to watch. Anyone who didn't enjoy this moving must not have been watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LarryN.Jun 4, 2007
This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall story was good, but at the cost of sitting through the gratuitous fowl language, being subjected to some of the worst of Hollywood's stereotypical view of the world, and some of the scenes, what sick mind comes up with this stuff? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanJun 4, 2007
not only funny as all hell, but also tied in is a deep story with real life situations and realistic characters. there is only 1 type of people who will not like this movie. out of touch basement dwelling prudes hiding from the outside world not only funny as all hell, but also tied in is a deep story with real life situations and realistic characters. there is only 1 type of people who will not like this movie. out of touch basement dwelling prudes hiding from the outside world while hating everything they know just for the sake of hating it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeMJun 4, 2007
The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can still be implausible by farce standards, and Knocked Up has a flat, unsympathetic male lead character in a plot that would be better served with a more sympathetic one. The female lead character may be more sympathetic but is so flat as to be little more than a name, a career hopeful and a uterus. As a point of contrast, the leads in Virgin had a more functional 'opposites attract' kind of dynamic. When they did finally fall in love, we knew that it was at least in part because of their ability to accept and support each other. Andy overcomes his fear of intimacy. In Knocked Up, they mostly say 'fuck you' a lot. If they are supposed to be actually in love, as they say they are when they're two months into their non-relationship and she's two months pregnant, we should at least see how they got there. If not, we should see the wishful lie they've told each other. As it was, I was jarred out of the movie, wondering if they're in love because she's pregnant and we're 30 minutes into the story. In a movie that has more than a few very funny moments, the real lynch pin is the fact that they seem to work it out simply because he keeps showing up, no matter how much of a lazy, hurtful unloving slob he is. That the character isn't used to being liked by women should be all the more reason that he actually do and say something that shows character change and decision, rather than a cheap-fix sort of montage with 20 minutes to go. The solution in Virgin is hard-earned to the point that even a sex farce can ring true in its way. In Knocked Up we have a situation that should end with anything but a father sticking around- a single mother, adoption, abortion, any of these are more credible than a quick 5 minute fix-up segment after an hour of complete incompatibility. Doubtlessly, the movie will do well because of the very funny moments and the track record of all involved. Hopefully it won't have the staying power that Apatow's Virgin earned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesD.Jun 6, 2007
no doubt one of the worst I've ever seen too many f words and nasty talk if this show appeals to you your at the bottom of morals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillCJun 6, 2007
Not bad for what it is-- A comedy for teens and young adults. It's rating (R)didn't seem to keep teens out of the theater seats! Yes , the "F" word is used a lot, and it needn't be-The film could have stood up well enough Not bad for what it is-- A comedy for teens and young adults. It's rating (R)didn't seem to keep teens out of the theater seats! Yes , the "F" word is used a lot, and it needn't be-The film could have stood up well enough without them. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpongeeeJun 6, 2007
Friggin Funny! Great one liners...not for the faint at heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeggyRJun 6, 2007
We found the characters and the dialog crude and uninteresting. The movie was a walkout for us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJun 6, 2007
Made me laugh my ass off and has a great cast to go with it. Also for the most part the actors intertwine perfectly with one another.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinNJun 7, 2007
This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor and performances were real and up-to-date. That didn't make it raunchy in my eyes, just contemporary and believable. After reading all of the rave reviews, I thought I was going to laugh more, but I didn't. I thought the 40-Year-Old Virgin was funnier and a little more shocking. The movie's not bad, it's just not a blockbuster comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BenJ.Jun 7, 2007
A couple of laughs for me and my friend, but overall, we just wanted it to end. Much of the conversations were unnatural and 'preachy' which made the story itself unbelievable, wasn't like a window on anyones world. A couple of laughs for me and my friend, but overall, we just wanted it to end. Much of the conversations were unnatural and 'preachy' which made the story itself unbelievable, wasn't like a window on anyones world. Might've just been us though, as plenty others in the audience were laughing enthusiastically throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoelJun 8, 2007
Funny and touching. If you've been following Apatow since Freaks and Geeks then you will have absolutely no problem loving this film as much as I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandyLJun 9, 2007
Absolutely dreadful. I counted 2 minor laughs from the audience the whole miserable way through. A four hour walk around your living room. James Berardinelli, somebody paid you off for giving this movie an 88. I will never trust you again. Absolutely dreadful. I counted 2 minor laughs from the audience the whole miserable way through. A four hour walk around your living room. James Berardinelli, somebody paid you off for giving this movie an 88. I will never trust you again. So if the movie doesn't have a big name actor that can read a script I will not donate my time and loot to the Hollywood Jewish motion picture industry again. Dreadful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
anab.Jul 12, 2007
loved it! went not expecting to. very real characters even if the story was a bit unrealistic. maybe it was my mood but i laughed continually and also felt the warmth and bittersweet of it all. 2 thumbs up!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DougR.Jul 17, 2007
We must have seen a different movie than the critics. No one other than 15-25 year olds should be allowed in. Tasteless language, ridiculous story, unlikable characters. I had to take my wife to see "The Waitress" to make up for this clunker We must have seen a different movie than the critics. No one other than 15-25 year olds should be allowed in. Tasteless language, ridiculous story, unlikable characters. I had to take my wife to see "The Waitress" to make up for this clunker ! Had a few good laughs but that was it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrisv.Jul 18, 2007
One of the funniest movies i've seen in a long time. for the ones who hate it for it's language, hey people, the real world out there people actually talk like this. it's not your typical movie banter and these people One of the funniest movies i've seen in a long time. for the ones who hate it for it's language, hey people, the real world out there people actually talk like this. it's not your typical movie banter and these people can't adjust. great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnRJul 20, 2007
I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process = not so much fun after a while. One has to suspect it was funded by pro-lifers, much like "Weed" was obviously funded by Drug Warriors. Reality gives way to thinly veiled fire and brimstone. Reason be damned, we're gonna make you feeeeel what's right. Yuk. Why is this film so popular with critics? I think they're afraid to lift the curtain, see what the wizard looks like.... Could be bad for business. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GMJul 23, 2007
One of the best comedies in years. Extremely funny with great characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
robsJul 23, 2007
An absurdly hilarious performance full of sarcasm, realism, and compassion. It has a soft side, but the core is just plain raw, unadulterated naked truth. Comedy is never ending as life and reality coincide with its unexpected twisted turns. An absurdly hilarious performance full of sarcasm, realism, and compassion. It has a soft side, but the core is just plain raw, unadulterated naked truth. Comedy is never ending as life and reality coincide with its unexpected twisted turns. Some elements of this film are of course predictable and are not novel -- but this fact does not overshadow the hysterical nature of sex, marriage, and just plain complicated relationships. Katherine Heigl is a knockout in this movie and really shines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NatashaSJul 23, 2007
Utterly unrealistic (really, Katherine Heigl would actually end up with that chucklehead?!) Fans of this movie are mistaking crassness for profundity---not that crassness can't make a profound statement (see Chasing Amy)---but it simply Utterly unrealistic (really, Katherine Heigl would actually end up with that chucklehead?!) Fans of this movie are mistaking crassness for profundity---not that crassness can't make a profound statement (see Chasing Amy)---but it simply didn't work for Heigl, who ended up stooping to what-his-name's level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
sabretJul 30, 2007
Funny, enjoyable, true to life movie but not nearly as good as the 40 year old virgin. Rogen and Heigel do a great job and have good chemistry. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are hysterical. Paul Rudd rules. Unlike the 40 year old virgin, the Funny, enjoyable, true to life movie but not nearly as good as the 40 year old virgin. Rogen and Heigel do a great job and have good chemistry. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are hysterical. Paul Rudd rules. Unlike the 40 year old virgin, the lead character's friends are not funny. Rogen's roommates are just not that funny. Watching people obsess about getting high all day is not funny. With Rogen it worked because he was supposed to be pathetic loser. But all of his friends seem sad and real losers. Also what was up with Rogen's one non jewish friend who looked like Jesus being made fun of the whole movie? Mmm, not sure what that was about, should i be offended. I guess not, It's a comedy, but still that was a little weird. This movie's other problem is that it slows down at the end and loses all momentum. The ending picks up but still the laughs are nearly gone. How many movies can you watch and still think it's funny when women scream in pain in the delivery room. A great 3/4 of the film makes up for a weak final 30 minutes. If they trimmed about 20 minutes and cut some of the time with the friends this could have been a great comedy reaching the level of the 40 year old virgin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulAJul 6, 2007
Wow, this was an over-rated movie! I had high hopes. What I liked best is that the characters lived in a world relatively close to the real one, in that they refer to topical matters like "exit strategy" and real bands and movies (though Wow, this was an over-rated movie! I had high hopes. What I liked best is that the characters lived in a world relatively close to the real one, in that they refer to topical matters like "exit strategy" and real bands and movies (though it's scary that our mostly superficial pop culture is, like, their whole reality) just like we do in real life but they don't (why?) in most Hollywood comedies. Some of the crude guy humor is funny enough (reminiscent of OLD SCHOOL but without the great Vince Vaughn), but not as funny as the last go-round with 40 Year Old Virgin. But while the two lead actors are appealing, the characters are crudely drawn. The secondary male characters especially.This goes bad when the film teeters from broad comedy into heartfelt (or perhaps gag-inducing) drama about aging: the latter only works with more finely drawn characters. A night on mushrooms is thrown in as a long digression that tells us little. A seven for good laughs and appealing leads and smart writing. Grade reduced to to poor plotting, loose characterization, and unearned genre switch. Class dismissed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BethJul 9, 2007
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. I loved "40 Year Old Virgin" and thought this would be similar. But the jokes weren't funny, the main characters were boring and the premise (that a beautiful, successful young woman would One of the worst movies I've ever seen. I loved "40 Year Old Virgin" and thought this would be similar. But the jokes weren't funny, the main characters were boring and the premise (that a beautiful, successful young woman would lust after an ugly loser) made no sense. The only good part of the movie was Paul Rudd - he and the woman who played his wife were very funny. But overall, the movie was really awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jgAug 13, 2007
This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. You could not pay me enough money to watch it again. Poor choice for Katherine Heigl, but then again, she's always blubbering and sobbing on Grey's Anatomy--so this wasn't much This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. You could not pay me enough money to watch it again. Poor choice for Katherine Heigl, but then again, she's always blubbering and sobbing on Grey's Anatomy--so this wasn't much of a step down for her. I couldn't even force myself to laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlB.Aug 28, 2007
Critics getting carried away a bit here. Watchable. Some funny moments. The sheer unbelievability of a beautiful successful woman choosing to spend her life with the Rogen character gets in the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Aug 9, 2007
Comedy done perfect, go see this or own the Unrated DVD in September, it's the best comedy I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MayaB.Sep 10, 2007
So disappointing after the inspired and imaginative 40 year Old Virgin. Nothing but sitcom cliches and old jokes sold by the critics as real side slappers. All men are idiots and all women nag about everything and that is supposed to be So disappointing after the inspired and imaginative 40 year Old Virgin. Nothing but sitcom cliches and old jokes sold by the critics as real side slappers. All men are idiots and all women nag about everything and that is supposed to be hilarious. The cast is appealing, but there is no character depth. What are Ben and Allison so matter of fact about the baby? Do they secretly long for a family? They aren`t religious but still feel abortion is morally wrong? Are they lonely, bored, content or what, when they are not looking cute and/or making fools of themselves for our so called enjoyment? Like New Order said, I think there is no way of knowing... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveC.Sep 23, 2007
Absolutely fantastic, you old farts who can't appreciate this movie or are upset about the language should go back to your delusional lives with your false moral superiority.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NickT.Sep 24, 2007
Not a gross out comedy, not a chick flick, more a slightly amusing soap opera episode stretched out far too long. I just find this "stoner" comedy genre tiresome. It really is too long for the content and the actors in it not up to carrying Not a gross out comedy, not a chick flick, more a slightly amusing soap opera episode stretched out far too long. I just find this "stoner" comedy genre tiresome. It really is too long for the content and the actors in it not up to carrying the light plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Sep 24, 2007
Oh no drugs are scary. You all sound like you grew up on 50s educational films. People smoke pot...Get over it. That doesnt make it a bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartyM.Sep 30, 2007
One of the best movies I've seen in awhile. There were so many recognizable little moments in the film, so may things that felt real that you knew it was written by someone who was married, had kids and struggled trough all the One of the best movies I've seen in awhile. There were so many recognizable little moments in the film, so may things that felt real that you knew it was written by someone who was married, had kids and struggled trough all the complications and sacrifices that these things mean. To then make these moments funny was just icing on the cake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShishJan 22, 2008
I wanted to like this movie, but I didn't--just a few laughs here and there. I felt the same way about Wedding Crashers (and Atonement, but a completely different genre there...). No heart combined with a ridiculous premise. No matter I wanted to like this movie, but I didn't--just a few laughs here and there. I felt the same way about Wedding Crashers (and Atonement, but a completely different genre there...). No heart combined with a ridiculous premise. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn't see that the smart Katherine Heigl character that they sold us would a) sleep with Seth Rogan's character, no matter how drunk she was, and b) go on to actually make nice with him. She must've been an idiot after all. And, I must've been too, as I sat and watched the thing for the whole two + hours waiting for the obvious conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexFeb 10, 2008
That was crap worst movie of the year. I would pay good money to block it from the public's eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful