Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 562 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
367
Mixed:
77
Negative:
118
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
NickK.Mar 28, 2008
Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to keep the child mean she has to start dating the father, who she previously (and accurately) wrote off Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to keep the child mean she has to start dating the father, who she previously (and accurately) wrote off as an ambition-less stoner with no social graces? We are given no basis for their relationship - they have nothing in common and she clearly finds even his speech repulsive - they're just suddenly in love. It's absolute rubbish and the critics are falling over each other to praise it's modernity, presumably because it's not a traditional hollywood romcom. Just because they mention google doesn't make this the f**king 'zeitgeist'! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeoMay 23, 2008
This movie was by far one of the funniest movies of all time. And Katherine Heigl is the new moddern day Jullia Roberts with better breast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulJ.Jun 17, 2008
The funniest film since 40-year-old virgin. Why can't all comedies have this much substance?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanOAug 13, 2008
A perfect example why you should never trust critics' reviews of 'comedies'. After painstakingly reaching the end of this film, I had to double-check the category to confirm that it was, in fact listed as a comedy. I A perfect example why you should never trust critics' reviews of 'comedies'. After painstakingly reaching the end of this film, I had to double-check the category to confirm that it was, in fact listed as a comedy. I don't recall a single moment that I came close to laughing. It was that dull. It has a mildly amusing premise and a whole lot of annoying and unfunny banter. That's it. It has been a long time since I've seen a 'comedy' this bad. Avoid at all cost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJan 12, 2009
I laughed so hard!!! Hey Jimmy K. How can this be a ripoff of a book that was relapsed 6 months before? DO you know what the screenwriting, Filming and post production time is? And then distribution? At least 2 years from start to finish. I laughed so hard!!! Hey Jimmy K. How can this be a ripoff of a book that was relapsed 6 months before? DO you know what the screenwriting, Filming and post production time is? And then distribution? At least 2 years from start to finish. The lady that claimed that often sues people with vaugly similar ideas. She is a crackpot and the case was immediately thrown out. So STFU. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukaszC.Jul 19, 2009
An great film with an nice story and two great actors . I liked Seth Rogen before but i didnt know that Kathrine Heigl could play so well . The story how about a loser and an up an coming star have an baby and then try to work out is very An great film with an nice story and two great actors . I liked Seth Rogen before but i didnt know that Kathrine Heigl could play so well . The story how about a loser and an up an coming star have an baby and then try to work out is very funny , very thoughtful and its entertaining . Great film you have to watch it . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ttJan 27, 2010
Actually 8.5, but no decimals allowed! What most impressed me about this movie is that, on paper, it's as hackneyed and dumb as movies get, but that isn't how it comes out on screen. I shouldn't have been surprised with Apatow Actually 8.5, but no decimals allowed! What most impressed me about this movie is that, on paper, it's as hackneyed and dumb as movies get, but that isn't how it comes out on screen. I shouldn't have been surprised with Apatow at the helm, who gives his movies more real, human complexity than any of these user blurbs suggest, just as he did with with his F&G television show. No more misogynist than anti-male, and neither, really. Etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
hcOct 11, 2007
I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems closer to a 50). This film's female lead feels thrown in, as if at the last moment Heigl demanded a bigger part. It almost felt misogynist (or ignorance in writing women)-- I don't know. But having a film about getting some prego really requires you know, a woman. And I think Aptow is pretty bad at writing women. And as some other reviewers pointed out there wasn't a real emotional core to this film---and if you had to try, it would be the sister and her husband. Also, though some of the jokes were funny--- at the same time, the context felt contrived---as if Aptow had great jokes for a certain context, but how to actually craft that context in a real plot-line wasn't really important. In other words, a bit comedy writer who writes skits, but not whole stories. I really liked The 40 year old virgin, but this just didn't work at all for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaryNov 2, 2007
Critics were way off on this stupid movie. Not worth the money - not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
YvetteOct 12, 2007
I am so glad to see that other ppl that did not see the humor of this movie. Both my husband and I sat through over 2 hours of couples screaming at each other at the top of their lungs, super loser weedheads, lines that make you smile not I am so glad to see that other ppl that did not see the humor of this movie. Both my husband and I sat through over 2 hours of couples screaming at each other at the top of their lungs, super loser weedheads, lines that make you smile not laugh and overall unrealistic scenarios ie wife throws husband out because he was caught playing 'fantasy baseball'.. r u kidding? Also how realistic is an on screen TV personality giving an unemployed, quasi-porn site producer, who, during an earthquake, grabbed a bong and ran out ahead of her, a true chance to be with her? Anyway, all the raving reviews this movie is getting makes no sense, unless you like to watch a fanciful movie about ppl who argue alot. King of Queens arguing is clever, this movie is an overwhelming bore. p.s. the editor needs to be fired! Perhaps the movie could have been saved had some of the scenes been slimmed down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
carinbairdNov 23, 2007
wow. this is among the worst movies i have ever seen. hey new york times, the onion, and other people giving apatow a ratings blowjob....did we even watch the same thing? it's depressing that people find this funny. truly makes me sad towow. this is among the worst movies i have ever seen. hey new york times, the onion, and other people giving apatow a ratings blowjob....did we even watch the same thing? it's depressing that people find this funny. truly makes me sad to be a human being. beyond that, i am choking on the gooey family values messages shoved down my throat. it's really nice that young impressionable girls can see this film and discover that if they do accidentally not use mr. jimmy hat, then no worries! odd couple will fall in love and everyone will support each other. baby and mother will be fine! abortion? who needs it!
oh and congratulations apatow-you're a brilliant person. it takes a lot to fill a movie with weak and time-sensitive pop culture references that EVERYONE will get (well, right now.) at least you know your audience. unfortunately, i decided to be part of that for nearly two hours that i want back, NOW!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
mikegOct 17, 2007
I'm pro-life and this movie was not funded by pro-lifers John R. First of all, we all know that E news reporters are liberal and abortion is their birthright. Pro-lifers don't endorse one night stands, lack of condom use, and I'm pro-life and this movie was not funded by pro-lifers John R. First of all, we all know that E news reporters are liberal and abortion is their birthright. Pro-lifers don't endorse one night stands, lack of condom use, and irresponsibility. A father that doesn't own anything, smokes pot and doesn't have a job will end up in jail or on child support. John R, I think that the 'Drug Warriors' funded this movie. and if anyone laughs at this review, that's more than I got out of the whole movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MaryJ.Oct 19, 2007
The only laughs we got from this movie were reading the critic's rave reviews after we saw it. It was a dreadful movie. None of the characters were likable, believable, or anything but painful to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LauraMay 31, 2007
Realistic dialog among guys was excellent. Same w/ dialog between spouses or significant others. HOWEVER. Lots of drug use, lots of very foul language and explicit scenes that I got tired of or uncomfortable with or just bored with. Bottom Realistic dialog among guys was excellent. Same w/ dialog between spouses or significant others. HOWEVER. Lots of drug use, lots of very foul language and explicit scenes that I got tired of or uncomfortable with or just bored with. Bottom line: some very funny stuff, some over the top-too much drug and F--word stuff. If you are 17-24 Male-you'll will love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BjJ.Jun 11, 2007
Disgusting movie. A few funny lines, but a total waste of time and money. Why would someone as talented and beautiful as Katherine Heigl want to be associated with something so low-class??? That, I could not understand. Can Hollywood not be Disgusting movie. A few funny lines, but a total waste of time and money. Why would someone as talented and beautiful as Katherine Heigl want to be associated with something so low-class??? That, I could not understand. Can Hollywood not be any more creative with language than to have to use the F-word for practically every other word in the script. Must be scraping writers from the bottom of the barrel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianP.Jun 11, 2007
I feel compelled to vote to help this film's rating rise above the criminally low 7.9 it has at this moment. This is easily the best movie I have seen in a very long time. The writing and the cast are truly brilliant. I don't think I feel compelled to vote to help this film's rating rise above the criminally low 7.9 it has at this moment. This is easily the best movie I have seen in a very long time. The writing and the cast are truly brilliant. I don't think I've laughed harder in a movie theater, but the real draw of the film is the reality. This movie has so much heart. My wife cried multiple times -- and it's because the story is presented with such reality. The leading male role is not a good guy. He has many problems and is in no way ready to be a father. Had Apatow made the character more sympathetic, the movie would feel cheesey and fake. This movie shows truth and heart and for the record is leaps and bounds better than the 40 Year Old Virgin. I loved 40YOV, but it was very absurd and existed in an absurd world. This movie takes a completely different turn. Don't listen to the 0's and 1's. Go see for yourself what a wonderful movie this is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WalterS.Jun 11, 2007
Wow... Really disappointed with this one. Characters were generally one-dimensional and unlikeable. The two main relationships were unconvincing. The language and glorification of drug use became tired after about 15 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Jun 12, 2007
This was freakin' hilarious, who cares if the f word was said a lot, i actually couldn't breathe through half of the movie it was so funny. if you care that much about profanity maybe next time you should go to a G movie, save This was freakin' hilarious, who cares if the f word was said a lot, i actually couldn't breathe through half of the movie it was so funny. if you care that much about profanity maybe next time you should go to a G movie, save yourself from having to leave your comfort shell, go watch shrek 3 or something. It has the whole theater cracking up, brilliant movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisS.Jun 12, 2007
Waste of time, makes me want to stop watching movies for awhile. I will be more cautious about trusting the metacritic rating system in the future!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveF.Jun 12, 2007
Not free of schmaltz, but uncommonly honest and nearly as hilarious as 40YOV. If you are uncomfortable with eking comedy from such ickily-real situations as pregnant sex, for the love of God stay home and watch Look Who's Talking, Too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnJun 14, 2007
Just awesome. Best comedy so far this year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jun 15, 2007
Hysterical. If you feel like laughing, go see this. It's got enough sappy heartstring tugging stuff to give this extra audience reach.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterR.Jun 16, 2007
So people either give it a 10 or a 1. Seems simple: if you are not comfortable with vulgarity, stay home. If you liked the more edgy parts of the "40 Year Old Virgin" then you'll love this film. I thought it was over the top, silly, So people either give it a 10 or a 1. Seems simple: if you are not comfortable with vulgarity, stay home. If you liked the more edgy parts of the "40 Year Old Virgin" then you'll love this film. I thought it was over the top, silly, brazen and very, very funny. I don't look at movies as a social barometer, I just want to see something well written and funny. This film is not for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarterC.Jun 16, 2007
The scum of all movies...PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MIND, YOUR EMOTIONS, YOUR SOUL, YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY....UTTERLY DEPLORABLE!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CareyK.Jun 17, 2007
The situation of unexpected pregnancy with a one night stand is much too heavy to list this movie as a comedy. Funny in bursts, depressing in others. It is difficult to buy the happy ending with such an unlikely pairing as a TV career woman The situation of unexpected pregnancy with a one night stand is much too heavy to list this movie as a comedy. Funny in bursts, depressing in others. It is difficult to buy the happy ending with such an unlikely pairing as a TV career woman meets a unemployed stoner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DerrickF.Jun 17, 2007
I give this movie a 5 because I only laughed about 50% of the time. The other half was spent digesting the gravity of the genuinely serious topics raised regarding parenthood and relationships.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LaurenceM.Jun 18, 2007
Repulsive and mindless. If you want to watch unbathed male lower primates wallow in shit this is the movie for you! I can only describe the first half. Went home and took a shower.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MitchM.Jun 18, 2007
When you consider the rating given to this movie, you realize how low this country values have fallen. The story is not believable for a moment, the characters shallow, the language appalling, there is no redeeming value in this production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Jun 19, 2007
Ten years ago, who would have predicted or guessed that the person behind the most intelligent, entertaining, touching and emotionally resonant romantic comedies of the 21st century would be the same one who stuffs them to near-bursting with Ten years ago, who would have predicted or guessed that the person behind the most intelligent, entertaining, touching and emotionally resonant romantic comedies of the 21st century would be the same one who stuffs them to near-bursting with gags about bodily secretions, excretions and hair? Or that Judd Apatow's movies would be so effortlessly and uniquely centrist, tying together red- and blue-state ways of thinking? Both Apatow's previous effort, the instant classic The 40 Year Old Virgin, and Knocked Up know that sex is as enormously enjoyable as it's possible for any activity to be, but is fraught with potential pitfalls and regrets, and is best experienced within a committed relationship. Although mostly (and necessarily) framed from a male viewpoint, both movies value, even treasure, their female characters, and both stress the necessity of a man entering into an intimate relationship (in every way, not just physical) with a woman growing up first (Virgin's Andy by selling off his vast action-figure collection, Knocked Up's Ben by getting a real job, moving out of the house he shares with his slacker buddies and putting down his bong). Of course, in spending too much time discussing subtext, there's always the danger of not spending enough time discussing how riotously funny, genuinely romantic and completely endearing Apatow's movies are, so let's quickly move on to the miracles that he works with his actors across the board, especially in light of how other writers and filmmakers have far less advantageously displayed them. Katharine Heigl as Alison, a budding Entertainment Tonight-type on-air personality dealing with the very long-term effects of her one-night stand with Ben (a guy she never, never would've chosen under any circumstances other than being extremely bombed), has long endured the silliest and most unbelievable plot twists Gray's Anatomy has to offer. The wonderfully likable Seth Rogen, who also shone as Andy's horniest pal in Virgin, was criminally misused and wasted as a henpecked husband in last year's loathsome You, Me & Dupree. (That minority of moviegoers and critics who mystifyingly believe Knocked Up to be misogynistic, of all things, might well consider the fact that said 2006 Owen Wilson debacle despised and feared women so much that it didn't show any of the female characters' faces onscreen, except of course for Kate Hudson's.) As Alison's less-than-totally-happily-married brother-in-law Pete, Paul Rudd (also a comic revelation in Virgin) erases once again all memories of how truly obnoxious he was as Phoebe Buffay's self-centered husband in the final seasons of Friends. The rest of the cast similarly blossoms under Apatow's tightly planned but improvisation-rich style, but Leslie Mann, who's the real Mrs. Apatow, demonstates that on rare occasions it really does pay for an actress to sleep with the director; her brittle but deeply insecure and vulnerable Debbie is worthy of Oscar consideration. (Not to sound like a broken record, but Mann was brilliant in--surprise!--Virgin, being both heartbreaking and spit-out-your-drink funny as Andy's drunken pickup.) Apatow's incidental or throwaway scenes often cut deeper than the centerpieces in most current American films: there's a sequence at a club involving Allison, Debbie and a put-upon Black doorman (Craig Robinson) that says as much in five minutes about various contemporary prejudices and "-isms" as even a very good film like Crash managed to in a couple of hours. Apatow's shortest suit continues to be the niceties of 100% believable plot construction; for the sake of an arbitrary third-act conflict in Virgin he had Trish (Catherine Keener) find a box of porno that a friend gave Andy, left out for all to see, when we all know that Andy is so self-conscious and meticulous that he would've kept it very well-hidden...buried, even. In Knocked Up, Allison has to be almost ready to break her water on the air before her employers (who had earlier given her a stringently p.c. lecture about avoiding weight gain) even begin to notice. But if this is the biggest area for improvement in the work of a comic near-genius as classically talented and original as Apatow, then God bless him...and give us many more like him, flaws and all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinJun 19, 2007
As I am about to leave to see this movie for the 4th time, I feel the urge comment on it's greatness. After seeing Hot Fuzz, I didn't think I'd see a funnier movie all year, but then Knocked Up comes along. It's was As I am about to leave to see this movie for the 4th time, I feel the urge comment on it's greatness. After seeing Hot Fuzz, I didn't think I'd see a funnier movie all year, but then Knocked Up comes along. It's was hilarious, well acted, and full of heart. Judd Apatow/Seth Rogen are like the modern comedy version of Martin Scorscese/Leonardo DiCaprio. I hope they continue their hot streak of gut-busting, heartfelt comedies for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnthonyJ.Jun 23, 2007
A good, but not great, movie. Really, really funny in spots, and a little stupid in others, but more of the latter than the former. P.S. A lot of the things people are complaining about in their comments (the swearing, the way guys talk A good, but not great, movie. Really, really funny in spots, and a little stupid in others, but more of the latter than the former. P.S. A lot of the things people are complaining about in their comments (the swearing, the way guys talk amongst themselves) are the most authentic parts of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CathyL.Jun 24, 2007
A very crude movie at times bordering on pornographic. Bad character development - the major players have personality changes from one scene to the next. I am shocked that critics seemed to think this was a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomJun 26, 2007
Absolutely hilarious. Watched this with my nine-month-pregnant wife and she was laughing as hard as I was (well, maybe not during the delivery scene as that hit a little close to home). Seems like the naysayers here are coming from the same Absolutely hilarious. Watched this with my nine-month-pregnant wife and she was laughing as hard as I was (well, maybe not during the delivery scene as that hit a little close to home). Seems like the naysayers here are coming from the same point of view - the Christian Right. If you don't count yourself one of them, you'll love it. I'd bet most of the critics are coming here via a right-wing website. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatF.Jul 14, 2007
It's rare that I leave a movie before it's over, but this "pro life baby movie" was one of the worst. The many ultra sounds starting with the 6 week fetus's heartbeat which clinches the decision for the ill-mated couple to go It's rare that I leave a movie before it's over, but this "pro life baby movie" was one of the worst. The many ultra sounds starting with the 6 week fetus's heartbeat which clinches the decision for the ill-mated couple to go through with this pregnancy and the silliness of the whole dialogue was too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LesRJul 19, 2007
We all know someone like Seth Rogen's character and I can really imagine that's how someone like him would act if he impregnated someone. Judd Apatow really captures this generation (not mine, by the way). He' s poignant We all know someone like Seth Rogen's character and I can really imagine that's how someone like him would act if he impregnated someone. Judd Apatow really captures this generation (not mine, by the way). He' s poignant without being schmaltzy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffW.Aug 17, 2007
Funny adult humor, a bit much on the drug use but I guess it was germain to the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AjJ.Aug 18, 2007
Any other reviewers that compare this movie to pornography need to go out and get some new porn, because that's an insult to hardworking pornographers everywhere. The acting in porn movies is much better than the acting in this godawful Any other reviewers that compare this movie to pornography need to go out and get some new porn, because that's an insult to hardworking pornographers everywhere. The acting in porn movies is much better than the acting in this godawful clunker, and the plots in porn are usually a lot more believable too. Best of all, porno movies don't usually drag on for over 2 hours with no point at all. Which is to say, I really didn't like this film much at all. Sorry I forgot to warn you all sooner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamLAug 19, 2007
The negative comments on this film are hilarious! "By far the worst film I have ever seen"...well apparently you haven't seen many movies at all. "The theme of this movie is hurtful to the realities of society"...you mean YOUR reality, The negative comments on this film are hilarious! "By far the worst film I have ever seen"...well apparently you haven't seen many movies at all. "The theme of this movie is hurtful to the realities of society"...you mean YOUR reality, maybe. "I could have walked out after 10 minutes and saved an hour of my life"...well, yes, if the movie had been and hour-and-10-minutes long. Humans are funny creatures, eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MalachaiT.Aug 25, 2007
fantastically real and funny - best American comedy since 40 yr old virgin Atapow and Rogen are comic geniuses (is that a word).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SharonM.Aug 26, 2007
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Certainly the most disgusting. Katherine degrades herself beyond belief...why does she need to go so low? One would think that the beautiful successful woman she plays would use some discretion One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Certainly the most disgusting. Katherine degrades herself beyond belief...why does she need to go so low? One would think that the beautiful successful woman she plays would use some discretion before even talking to, much less copulating with a slovenly, jobless, drinking drug addict. But the characters in this film use as much brain power and moral judgment as the alley cats they emulate. I give it a 1 for acting, although there wasn't much dialog to remember as most sentences started and ended with F... . I guess the movie critics see it as a morality film because the slob 'supported" her through the pregnancy as he continued drinking and drugging in his Animal House life. So this is an "A" movie ; the film critics must be stoned out of their minds ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jedcSep 26, 2007
Two HOURS AND TEN MINUTES????? Are they kidding? Where are all these "laughs" I kept reading about? I love stupid comedy (Animal House, etc) but come on. Are stupidly snobby stoners really so fresh and funny anymore? It's a bore and Two HOURS AND TEN MINUTES????? Are they kidding? Where are all these "laughs" I kept reading about? I love stupid comedy (Animal House, etc) but come on. Are stupidly snobby stoners really so fresh and funny anymore? It's a bore and been done to DEATH! And the plot makes literally NO sense. Why is she having this baby? What would this girl EVER see in this loser other than possibly a casual frienship at best? What the hell are all thse critics talking about??????? This is "a realistic depiction of life today" as one critic said? Oh come on. And I could forgive everything if it were actually funny, but it isn't. AND TWO HOURS AND TEN MINUTES?!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WadeT.Sep 27, 2007
Knocked Up takes the most cliche of situations, the one night stand, and adds enough layers to make a revealing tale about the consequences of treating adult situations with immature motivations. A career stoner with no career aspirations Knocked Up takes the most cliche of situations, the one night stand, and adds enough layers to make a revealing tale about the consequences of treating adult situations with immature motivations. A career stoner with no career aspirations gets lucky one night and has bad drunken sex with a hot television personality. What Apatow does brilliantly is paint the scene beforehand with enough character information to make the situation seem plausible. Katherine Heigle's character isn't in a relationship, chooses to live with her sister and her husband despite a seemingly well paying career and therefore might be as emotionally clueless on the inside as Seth Rogen's stoner is on the out. Therefore giving into temptation after finally getting her big television break seems like a likely things to happen, especially after downing a healthy amount of alcohol (dear ladies, be honest, you've all put on the beer googles at one point or another and wound up kissing, dating, being intimate with or at least being interested in, someone who you never thought you would). Apatow takes this chance encounter and runs to the extreme conclusion of pregnancy that wacks both people into adulthood. The fears, insecurities and general cluelessness about how to face this unlikely development in today's world allows Apatows to spend time with each characters whole list of influences that inevitable lead to an embrace of what some might call adulthood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RighteousBrotherJan 27, 2008
Right-wing pro-life propaganda crap, wrapped up as "comedy". So unfunny, fake, and boring! And it's an insult to reason and and taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelRMar 15, 2008
I hated the the 40 year old Virgin and Superbad but I really liked this movie.Its funny from beginning to end and a great moral story.Its much better then I thought.By watching the trailer I thought it would be decent but it was surprisingly great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GerhardL.Mar 28, 2008
The relationship between the two lead characters is simply not credible and the woman's inexplicable decision to not only have the baby, but to do so together with a man with whom she is completely incompatible, patronises the audience The relationship between the two lead characters is simply not credible and the woman's inexplicable decision to not only have the baby, but to do so together with a man with whom she is completely incompatible, patronises the audience in the worst possible way. The third act collapses into sentimentality, which can be seen a mile off and detracts from the few laughs this movie offers to begin with. At the end, the question that begs asking is: Why does an intelligent and successful woman choose to be with a moronic bum over say, abortion? Because she'd be lost and frightened without a man's help, of course. Great message for the girls - keep 'em coming, boys. In short, it's not big and it's not clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VeronicaM.Jun 19, 2008
I can't even fathom why this movie is getting such critical acclaim. Seriously, I feel like I'm in Bizarro world. What an overrated piece of crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeS.Jan 25, 2009
Most overrated movie in the past 10 years. Corny conservatism masquerading as corny pot head humor. People say they like it because they "identify" with the characters -- If that's true, the country, if not the world, is doomed. The Most overrated movie in the past 10 years. Corny conservatism masquerading as corny pot head humor. People say they like it because they "identify" with the characters -- If that's true, the country, if not the world, is doomed. The whole film was basically a pro life, family values, sexist piece of garbage. I would let that go if the jokes were funny, but they weren't. Every single one had long been exhausted since my middle school days. And while the slacked themes were supposed to seem rebellious, they weren't ( I only say "supposed," because so many critics have lauded them as such). Pot is not edgy, nor is a website that shows boobs. Why not make the main character a heroine addict, but still funny? Why not have him and his mates make a hardcore porno site, but still be funny? Lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JaneJun 24, 2009
I'm shocked that this movie got such great reviews from the critics. How much were the critics paid off?! This is a disgusting tasteless movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChristieD.Nov 24, 2007
This is the worst movie I have ever seen. The jokes and story were very old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mrcriticSep 24, 2010
I thank this movie, not only for giving Katherine Heigl, Seth Rogen, Paul Rudd, & Leslie Mann their movie start, I thank this movie for being ridicuolously funnt and clever. One of the funniest movies of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 22, 2011
I think the long run time takes away from the overall value but the film is actually rather good. I think the entire cast gave a solid perfomance. It wasnt as realistic as it could have been either. Still featured quite a few hilariousI think the long run time takes away from the overall value but the film is actually rather good. I think the entire cast gave a solid perfomance. It wasnt as realistic as it could have been either. Still featured quite a few hilarious moments and was well worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
I guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjureI guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjure up are based off of some baked character who laughs at anything someone says. Rogen has some talent but he needs to separate himself from anything Apatow and focus in on some real comedy rather than his stoner roles. I am just not seeing peoples fascination with Apatow I have yet to see a movie of his that was quality and Knocked Up just continues the trend of unfunny writing that is just used to glorify pot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheDaveHimselfJul 11, 2011
Judd Apatow is creating a dynasty for comedy. This is easily one of the funniest movies to come out in the past ten years, only rivaled by Apatow's other films or productions. 2007 was a great year for going to the movies. It was also a greatJudd Apatow is creating a dynasty for comedy. This is easily one of the funniest movies to come out in the past ten years, only rivaled by Apatow's other films or productions. 2007 was a great year for going to the movies. It was also a great year for comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
spadenxDec 9, 2011
Far too long imo and it could have been a lot shorter. Also it wasnt that funny and actually a bit depressing at times. The acting was below average and I expected far better. It just wasnt that good, Very overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
Oh joy... Seth Rogen playing yet another unappealing, pot-headed loser. What a huge leap for him. The worst blow to the audiences' collective intelligence comes in the joke of the third act when beautiful, clean-cut Katherine Heigl ends upOh joy... Seth Rogen playing yet another unappealing, pot-headed loser. What a huge leap for him. The worst blow to the audiences' collective intelligence comes in the joke of the third act when beautiful, clean-cut Katherine Heigl ends up falling for this offensive monkey-turd of a human being because the writers were too scared to do something bold. Completely fake bullcrap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
I'm waiting for when Seth Rogen will grow out of the stoner comedy phase of his career... I think he might actually be talented. For now, I just don't quite get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleFeb 27, 2016
While Knocked Up can be a very unique look at unexpected pregnancies and its impact on people, as well as a nice take on marriage and relationships, it falls flat. Despite those strengths, Knocked Up is quite unfunny and actually boring. IWhile Knocked Up can be a very unique look at unexpected pregnancies and its impact on people, as well as a nice take on marriage and relationships, it falls flat. Despite those strengths, Knocked Up is quite unfunny and actually boring. I never expected to be bored here, but it just keeps on going and going, yet does very little with its runtime. In Knocked Up, it appears that the writers thought they could avoid making a compelling story and replace that with movie references. However, I am afraid to report that movie references in themselves are not a story. This may be shocking to those who wrote this one. Director Judd Apatow does do a decent job and there are a few scenes that are funny, but it is largely an exasperating and pointless experience. The only saving grace is the unique and interesting perspectives on this situation brought to the table by the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Aug 22, 2015
Pretty funny and certainly endearing, it's no wonder why "Knocked Up" marked the resurgence in the careers of Seth Rogen and the rest of the Judd Apatow crew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticMay 25, 2014
It has a few situational laughs, but otherwise it's sentimental to a fault, and many unsympathetic and sometimes even annoying characters. Judd Apatow has skill with raunchy comedies. I feel he should keep his preference to films that lack aIt has a few situational laughs, but otherwise it's sentimental to a fault, and many unsympathetic and sometimes even annoying characters. Judd Apatow has skill with raunchy comedies. I feel he should keep his preference to films that lack a heart more than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysFeb 1, 2015
Knocked Up is an honest, well-made Apatow comedy that actually has real meaning. The writing is spectacular, and many of the scenes are laugh-til-your-side-hurts funny. Besides this, the movie features Seth Rogen's first feature film role,Knocked Up is an honest, well-made Apatow comedy that actually has real meaning. The writing is spectacular, and many of the scenes are laugh-til-your-side-hurts funny. Besides this, the movie features Seth Rogen's first feature film role, and he delivers. Katherine Heigl, on the other hand, can't act for her life.

Overall, the movie is a success, and a great one for group watching. This is the best Apatow production as of yet.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
najlepszaNov 1, 2013
As a rule, I don't like movies with half-witted, lecherous jokes. but... In case of it, we have an exception :D Warm and jolly movie, with deeper meaning. Adorable Heigl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
I went into this expecting a great film, and who wouldn't: a Seth Rogen fueled comedy about parenthood. It just turned out to be a softer side of Rogen with a lot of romance and mediocre humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jishin75Sep 7, 2014
Funny movie, in a way a classic of hit's genre. A lot of future stars and a nice way to spend a lovely evening watching a sarcastic movie with a lot of gross people, but definitely a good one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 11, 2014
judd apatow is like a guy knows your problems and tries to make a movie about life and makes it funny . but it takes to long . leslie mann was better in this is 40 then this one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJun 11, 2014
Many people will complaint that Apatow movies are just about sex obssesive, marijuana obssesive losers, but this film is very funny and has a nice way to mix romance, comedy and a little bit of drama. Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl have greatMany people will complaint that Apatow movies are just about sex obssesive, marijuana obssesive losers, but this film is very funny and has a nice way to mix romance, comedy and a little bit of drama. Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl have great chemistry. It's also a nice and funny take on unplanned pregnancies Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeSep 1, 2014
The story of this Judd Apatow's movie is simple.A girl who wants to do a career on tv meet a guy without a job and they do a one night stand.But the guy makes her pregnant and they are stuck with each others.There are a lot of laughs and theThe story of this Judd Apatow's movie is simple.A girl who wants to do a career on tv meet a guy without a job and they do a one night stand.But the guy makes her pregnant and they are stuck with each others.There are a lot of laughs and the movie is not disappointing because the actors are really good except for Katherine Heigl. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
diogomendesSep 7, 2014
With a script that occasionally falls flat with its jokes much less than it doesn't, "Knocked Up" is an ably acted film with enough wit and entertainment to satisfy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
Seth Rogen shows he's the real deal with this movie. Judd Apatow releases another great film. He is easily the best comedy director around at this point in time. Its a simple story but its so effective. Its full of laughs and I think I needSeth Rogen shows he's the real deal with this movie. Judd Apatow releases another great film. He is easily the best comedy director around at this point in time. Its a simple story but its so effective. Its full of laughs and I think I need to watch it again, its been awhile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MrBlackTronJul 28, 2014
Nefis Film. Komedi Drama ve Romantizm herşey var. Tempo düşmüyor kurgu başarılı espriler yerli yerinde hoşça iki saat geçirmek için ideal..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews