Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 560 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
365
Mixed:
77
Negative:
118
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MikeYSep 26, 2007
don't get it...it's like the "Beck" or "White Stripes" phenomenon...where your supposed to like them and say how brilliant they are, and everybody follows suit - like sheep...but in reality it's just not good at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FabienL'amourSep 30, 2007
can't believe people find this film original... the acting sucks so bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JadeBFeb 15, 2008
Its infuriatingly bad! I'm a big fan of 40 Year Old Virgin & Superbad so I guess I was really disappointed in this movie. The comedy is pretty good to OK but its the underlying story and drama that are just really senseless and weak. A Its infuriatingly bad! I'm a big fan of 40 Year Old Virgin & Superbad so I guess I was really disappointed in this movie. The comedy is pretty good to OK but its the underlying story and drama that are just really senseless and weak. A highly successful 20 something buxom, blond hottie has a drunken 1 night stand with some nice, funny, unemployed, chubby, stoner... she gets pregnant and of course decides to keep the baby and risk her blossoming career AND! and have it with the chubby unemployed stoner whose also an illegal alien from Canada. I'm ok with this to a degree I mean Anchorman & Old School aren't exactly Pride & Prejudice. But Knocked Up isn't content to be a wacky over the top satire, nope it tries to be the poignant 'life lesson' movie. It isn't even a chick flick. Women are portrayed to be irrational crazed assholes and men soulless & gutless bumblers. In short the movie doesn't have any real heart, not enough to get married and have a kid together IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyK.Mar 31, 2008
most disgusting movie I have ever seen. Complete junk and should havenever been made. Advocates disrespect for humanity and completely lacks a hint of dignity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
andyOct 22, 2007
40 yr old virgin it is NOT. After 20 minutes we were done. How can the press reviews be that good for this piece of crap?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveCDec 29, 2007
Utterly and unforgivably dire. The script wasn't funny, the characters were one dimensional and unconvincing. Haven't seen a film this bad for ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RayOct 23, 2007
Improv doesn't always mean entertaining. Not funny at all. I rented it and stopped it almost at the end, realizing that it was never going to get better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JackM.Oct 25, 2007
A few laughs, with Seth Rogan a welcome presence, but ultimately it was predictable, boring in spots, and sentimental. 40 Year Old Virgin was great. This is most certainly not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FelixK.Oct 27, 2007
This could have been a lot funnier !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
chrisjOct 27, 2007
Surprisingly bad. Some good lines but not worth the investment. Stay away from the directors cut as it's too bloated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GeorgeFOct 29, 2007
Teeeeeedious! Come on fellas, if you look like that, act like that, you ain't getting that. Only a dork holding out desperate hope would call this touching or plausible. Hollywood is striking fast while Rogen's t 40 Year Old Virgin Teeeeeedious! Come on fellas, if you look like that, act like that, you ain't getting that. Only a dork holding out desperate hope would call this touching or plausible. Hollywood is striking fast while Rogen's t 40 Year Old Virgin performance remains current in peopleâ??s memories. Save your money. Truly lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MartinR.Oct 4, 2007
Unoriginal, boring, overrated, full of cliche, overall waste of time and energy. It is a sad statement about current state of mainstream comedy and its reviewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LindaL.Oct 7, 2007
I'm really puzzled by the raves over this movie -- they must come from the same folks who think "Two and a Half Men" is brilliant, classic TV comedy. I've enjoyed films like "The Royal Tenenbaums" and "The 40-Year-Old Virgin," and I'm really puzzled by the raves over this movie -- they must come from the same folks who think "Two and a Half Men" is brilliant, classic TV comedy. I've enjoyed films like "The Royal Tenenbaums" and "The 40-Year-Old Virgin," and I enjoyed some of this flick's pop culture references. But it made me laugh out loud only once. Everyone's selfish and stupid, till the sappy ending. And the string of cliches -- house full of wacky losers, grueling birth scene, doe-eyed-blonde goes for the funny guy -- are ones we've all seen before. Dumbest of all is the theme: You can have careless sex with a stranger, make a baby, and it's all gonna Work Out Fine! Riiiiiiight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeOct 8, 2007
Boring, not funny, predictable avoid this movie! and don't count on the critics because they were way off on this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TriciaJun 11, 2007
Yes, this movie has some very funny parts but what is wrong with Hollywood that they think they need to add the "F" word in every sentence. Were you not listening to how many times they said "F". It added nothing to the story line. Sorry I Yes, this movie has some very funny parts but what is wrong with Hollywood that they think they need to add the "F" word in every sentence. Were you not listening to how many times they said "F". It added nothing to the story line. Sorry I wasted my hard earn money to hear "F" "F" 'F" . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GHJun 13, 2007
You failed to mention that every other word was the F word! Even my husband was sick of hearing it. We saw 3 ladies get up and leave. It would have been a really good show had it not been for that!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ToniT.Jun 16, 2007
If any of you males out there that liked this movie ever think that you're going to impress a women with your taste....FORGET IT....Don't know of one single female that found any humor in this (and I am talking about fun, fun, If any of you males out there that liked this movie ever think that you're going to impress a women with your taste....FORGET IT....Don't know of one single female that found any humor in this (and I am talking about fun, fun, classy, intelligent women who are also open-minded). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IsaacJun 2, 2007
Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental crap and completely pointless plot diversions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanaM.Jun 3, 2007
I don't walk out of movies too often but this one was a stinker. Absolutely stupid story of this gorgeous woman getting pregnant by a big-time loser, and the rest of the story just adds to how much of a loser this guy really is. I don't walk out of movies too often but this one was a stinker. Absolutely stupid story of this gorgeous woman getting pregnant by a big-time loser, and the rest of the story just adds to how much of a loser this guy really is. Immature drug and sex jokes were just oo much. If you're not a senior in high school don't bother seeing this movie. Save yourself your ten bucks and see Waitress or something more entertaining. Shame on these reviewers for giving this movie a 10. So much for trusting the reviews from Metacritic. [Ed: Metacritic reviews movies?? huh...] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesD.Jun 6, 2007
no doubt one of the worst I've ever seen too many f words and nasty talk if this show appeals to you your at the bottom of morals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeggyRJun 6, 2007
We found the characters and the dialog crude and uninteresting. The movie was a walkout for us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BenJ.Jun 7, 2007
A couple of laughs for me and my friend, but overall, we just wanted it to end. Much of the conversations were unnatural and 'preachy' which made the story itself unbelievable, wasn't like a window on anyones world. A couple of laughs for me and my friend, but overall, we just wanted it to end. Much of the conversations were unnatural and 'preachy' which made the story itself unbelievable, wasn't like a window on anyones world. Might've just been us though, as plenty others in the audience were laughing enthusiastically throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandyLJun 9, 2007
Absolutely dreadful. I counted 2 minor laughs from the audience the whole miserable way through. A four hour walk around your living room. James Berardinelli, somebody paid you off for giving this movie an 88. I will never trust you again. Absolutely dreadful. I counted 2 minor laughs from the audience the whole miserable way through. A four hour walk around your living room. James Berardinelli, somebody paid you off for giving this movie an 88. I will never trust you again. So if the movie doesn't have a big name actor that can read a script I will not donate my time and loot to the Hollywood Jewish motion picture industry again. Dreadful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DougR.Jul 17, 2007
We must have seen a different movie than the critics. No one other than 15-25 year olds should be allowed in. Tasteless language, ridiculous story, unlikable characters. I had to take my wife to see "The Waitress" to make up for this clunker We must have seen a different movie than the critics. No one other than 15-25 year olds should be allowed in. Tasteless language, ridiculous story, unlikable characters. I had to take my wife to see "The Waitress" to make up for this clunker ! Had a few good laughs but that was it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NatashaSJul 23, 2007
Utterly unrealistic (really, Katherine Heigl would actually end up with that chucklehead?!) Fans of this movie are mistaking crassness for profundity---not that crassness can't make a profound statement (see Chasing Amy)---but it simply Utterly unrealistic (really, Katherine Heigl would actually end up with that chucklehead?!) Fans of this movie are mistaking crassness for profundity---not that crassness can't make a profound statement (see Chasing Amy)---but it simply didn't work for Heigl, who ended up stooping to what-his-name's level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BethJul 9, 2007
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. I loved "40 Year Old Virgin" and thought this would be similar. But the jokes weren't funny, the main characters were boring and the premise (that a beautiful, successful young woman would One of the worst movies I've ever seen. I loved "40 Year Old Virgin" and thought this would be similar. But the jokes weren't funny, the main characters were boring and the premise (that a beautiful, successful young woman would lust after an ugly loser) made no sense. The only good part of the movie was Paul Rudd - he and the woman who played his wife were very funny. But overall, the movie was really awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jgAug 13, 2007
This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. You could not pay me enough money to watch it again. Poor choice for Katherine Heigl, but then again, she's always blubbering and sobbing on Grey's Anatomy--so this wasn't much This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. You could not pay me enough money to watch it again. Poor choice for Katherine Heigl, but then again, she's always blubbering and sobbing on Grey's Anatomy--so this wasn't much of a step down for her. I couldn't even force myself to laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MayaB.Sep 10, 2007
So disappointing after the inspired and imaginative 40 year Old Virgin. Nothing but sitcom cliches and old jokes sold by the critics as real side slappers. All men are idiots and all women nag about everything and that is supposed to be So disappointing after the inspired and imaginative 40 year Old Virgin. Nothing but sitcom cliches and old jokes sold by the critics as real side slappers. All men are idiots and all women nag about everything and that is supposed to be hilarious. The cast is appealing, but there is no character depth. What are Ben and Allison so matter of fact about the baby? Do they secretly long for a family? They aren`t religious but still feel abortion is morally wrong? Are they lonely, bored, content or what, when they are not looking cute and/or making fools of themselves for our so called enjoyment? Like New Order said, I think there is no way of knowing... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShishJan 22, 2008
I wanted to like this movie, but I didn't--just a few laughs here and there. I felt the same way about Wedding Crashers (and Atonement, but a completely different genre there...). No heart combined with a ridiculous premise. No matter I wanted to like this movie, but I didn't--just a few laughs here and there. I felt the same way about Wedding Crashers (and Atonement, but a completely different genre there...). No heart combined with a ridiculous premise. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn't see that the smart Katherine Heigl character that they sold us would a) sleep with Seth Rogan's character, no matter how drunk she was, and b) go on to actually make nice with him. She must've been an idiot after all. And, I must've been too, as I sat and watched the thing for the whole two + hours waiting for the obvious conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexFeb 10, 2008
That was crap worst movie of the year. I would pay good money to block it from the public's eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful