Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 564 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
368
Mixed:
77
Negative:
119
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
anab.Jul 12, 2007
loved it! went not expecting to. very real characters even if the story was a bit unrealistic. maybe it was my mood but i laughed continually and also felt the warmth and bittersweet of it all. 2 thumbs up!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DougR.Jul 17, 2007
We must have seen a different movie than the critics. No one other than 15-25 year olds should be allowed in. Tasteless language, ridiculous story, unlikable characters. I had to take my wife to see "The Waitress" to make up for this clunker We must have seen a different movie than the critics. No one other than 15-25 year olds should be allowed in. Tasteless language, ridiculous story, unlikable characters. I had to take my wife to see "The Waitress" to make up for this clunker ! Had a few good laughs but that was it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrisv.Jul 18, 2007
One of the funniest movies i've seen in a long time. for the ones who hate it for it's language, hey people, the real world out there people actually talk like this. it's not your typical movie banter and these people One of the funniest movies i've seen in a long time. for the ones who hate it for it's language, hey people, the real world out there people actually talk like this. it's not your typical movie banter and these people can't adjust. great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnRJul 20, 2007
I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process = not so much fun after a while. One has to suspect it was funded by pro-lifers, much like "Weed" was obviously funded by Drug Warriors. Reality gives way to thinly veiled fire and brimstone. Reason be damned, we're gonna make you feeeeel what's right. Yuk. Why is this film so popular with critics? I think they're afraid to lift the curtain, see what the wizard looks like.... Could be bad for business. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GMJul 23, 2007
One of the best comedies in years. Extremely funny with great characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
robsJul 23, 2007
An absurdly hilarious performance full of sarcasm, realism, and compassion. It has a soft side, but the core is just plain raw, unadulterated naked truth. Comedy is never ending as life and reality coincide with its unexpected twisted turns. An absurdly hilarious performance full of sarcasm, realism, and compassion. It has a soft side, but the core is just plain raw, unadulterated naked truth. Comedy is never ending as life and reality coincide with its unexpected twisted turns. Some elements of this film are of course predictable and are not novel -- but this fact does not overshadow the hysterical nature of sex, marriage, and just plain complicated relationships. Katherine Heigl is a knockout in this movie and really shines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NatashaSJul 23, 2007
Utterly unrealistic (really, Katherine Heigl would actually end up with that chucklehead?!) Fans of this movie are mistaking crassness for profundity---not that crassness can't make a profound statement (see Chasing Amy)---but it simply Utterly unrealistic (really, Katherine Heigl would actually end up with that chucklehead?!) Fans of this movie are mistaking crassness for profundity---not that crassness can't make a profound statement (see Chasing Amy)---but it simply didn't work for Heigl, who ended up stooping to what-his-name's level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
sabretJul 30, 2007
Funny, enjoyable, true to life movie but not nearly as good as the 40 year old virgin. Rogen and Heigel do a great job and have good chemistry. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are hysterical. Paul Rudd rules. Unlike the 40 year old virgin, the Funny, enjoyable, true to life movie but not nearly as good as the 40 year old virgin. Rogen and Heigel do a great job and have good chemistry. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are hysterical. Paul Rudd rules. Unlike the 40 year old virgin, the lead character's friends are not funny. Rogen's roommates are just not that funny. Watching people obsess about getting high all day is not funny. With Rogen it worked because he was supposed to be pathetic loser. But all of his friends seem sad and real losers. Also what was up with Rogen's one non jewish friend who looked like Jesus being made fun of the whole movie? Mmm, not sure what that was about, should i be offended. I guess not, It's a comedy, but still that was a little weird. This movie's other problem is that it slows down at the end and loses all momentum. The ending picks up but still the laughs are nearly gone. How many movies can you watch and still think it's funny when women scream in pain in the delivery room. A great 3/4 of the film makes up for a weak final 30 minutes. If they trimmed about 20 minutes and cut some of the time with the friends this could have been a great comedy reaching the level of the 40 year old virgin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulAJul 6, 2007
Wow, this was an over-rated movie! I had high hopes. What I liked best is that the characters lived in a world relatively close to the real one, in that they refer to topical matters like "exit strategy" and real bands and movies (though Wow, this was an over-rated movie! I had high hopes. What I liked best is that the characters lived in a world relatively close to the real one, in that they refer to topical matters like "exit strategy" and real bands and movies (though it's scary that our mostly superficial pop culture is, like, their whole reality) just like we do in real life but they don't (why?) in most Hollywood comedies. Some of the crude guy humor is funny enough (reminiscent of OLD SCHOOL but without the great Vince Vaughn), but not as funny as the last go-round with 40 Year Old Virgin. But while the two lead actors are appealing, the characters are crudely drawn. The secondary male characters especially.This goes bad when the film teeters from broad comedy into heartfelt (or perhaps gag-inducing) drama about aging: the latter only works with more finely drawn characters. A night on mushrooms is thrown in as a long digression that tells us little. A seven for good laughs and appealing leads and smart writing. Grade reduced to to poor plotting, loose characterization, and unearned genre switch. Class dismissed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BethJul 9, 2007
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. I loved "40 Year Old Virgin" and thought this would be similar. But the jokes weren't funny, the main characters were boring and the premise (that a beautiful, successful young woman would One of the worst movies I've ever seen. I loved "40 Year Old Virgin" and thought this would be similar. But the jokes weren't funny, the main characters were boring and the premise (that a beautiful, successful young woman would lust after an ugly loser) made no sense. The only good part of the movie was Paul Rudd - he and the woman who played his wife were very funny. But overall, the movie was really awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jgAug 13, 2007
This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. You could not pay me enough money to watch it again. Poor choice for Katherine Heigl, but then again, she's always blubbering and sobbing on Grey's Anatomy--so this wasn't much This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. You could not pay me enough money to watch it again. Poor choice for Katherine Heigl, but then again, she's always blubbering and sobbing on Grey's Anatomy--so this wasn't much of a step down for her. I couldn't even force myself to laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlB.Aug 28, 2007
Critics getting carried away a bit here. Watchable. Some funny moments. The sheer unbelievability of a beautiful successful woman choosing to spend her life with the Rogen character gets in the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Aug 9, 2007
Comedy done perfect, go see this or own the Unrated DVD in September, it's the best comedy I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MayaB.Sep 10, 2007
So disappointing after the inspired and imaginative 40 year Old Virgin. Nothing but sitcom cliches and old jokes sold by the critics as real side slappers. All men are idiots and all women nag about everything and that is supposed to be So disappointing after the inspired and imaginative 40 year Old Virgin. Nothing but sitcom cliches and old jokes sold by the critics as real side slappers. All men are idiots and all women nag about everything and that is supposed to be hilarious. The cast is appealing, but there is no character depth. What are Ben and Allison so matter of fact about the baby? Do they secretly long for a family? They aren`t religious but still feel abortion is morally wrong? Are they lonely, bored, content or what, when they are not looking cute and/or making fools of themselves for our so called enjoyment? Like New Order said, I think there is no way of knowing... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveC.Sep 23, 2007
Absolutely fantastic, you old farts who can't appreciate this movie or are upset about the language should go back to your delusional lives with your false moral superiority.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NickT.Sep 24, 2007
Not a gross out comedy, not a chick flick, more a slightly amusing soap opera episode stretched out far too long. I just find this "stoner" comedy genre tiresome. It really is too long for the content and the actors in it not up to carrying Not a gross out comedy, not a chick flick, more a slightly amusing soap opera episode stretched out far too long. I just find this "stoner" comedy genre tiresome. It really is too long for the content and the actors in it not up to carrying the light plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Sep 24, 2007
Oh no drugs are scary. You all sound like you grew up on 50s educational films. People smoke pot...Get over it. That doesnt make it a bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartyM.Sep 30, 2007
One of the best movies I've seen in awhile. There were so many recognizable little moments in the film, so may things that felt real that you knew it was written by someone who was married, had kids and struggled trough all the One of the best movies I've seen in awhile. There were so many recognizable little moments in the film, so may things that felt real that you knew it was written by someone who was married, had kids and struggled trough all the complications and sacrifices that these things mean. To then make these moments funny was just icing on the cake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShishJan 22, 2008
I wanted to like this movie, but I didn't--just a few laughs here and there. I felt the same way about Wedding Crashers (and Atonement, but a completely different genre there...). No heart combined with a ridiculous premise. No matter I wanted to like this movie, but I didn't--just a few laughs here and there. I felt the same way about Wedding Crashers (and Atonement, but a completely different genre there...). No heart combined with a ridiculous premise. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn't see that the smart Katherine Heigl character that they sold us would a) sleep with Seth Rogan's character, no matter how drunk she was, and b) go on to actually make nice with him. She must've been an idiot after all. And, I must've been too, as I sat and watched the thing for the whole two + hours waiting for the obvious conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexFeb 10, 2008
That was crap worst movie of the year. I would pay good money to block it from the public's eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickK.Mar 28, 2008
Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to keep the child mean she has to start dating the father, who she previously (and accurately) wrote off Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to keep the child mean she has to start dating the father, who she previously (and accurately) wrote off as an ambition-less stoner with no social graces? We are given no basis for their relationship - they have nothing in common and she clearly finds even his speech repulsive - they're just suddenly in love. It's absolute rubbish and the critics are falling over each other to praise it's modernity, presumably because it's not a traditional hollywood romcom. Just because they mention google doesn't make this the f**king 'zeitgeist'! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeoMay 23, 2008
This movie was by far one of the funniest movies of all time. And Katherine Heigl is the new moddern day Jullia Roberts with better breast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulJ.Jun 17, 2008
The funniest film since 40-year-old virgin. Why can't all comedies have this much substance?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanOAug 13, 2008
A perfect example why you should never trust critics' reviews of 'comedies'. After painstakingly reaching the end of this film, I had to double-check the category to confirm that it was, in fact listed as a comedy. I A perfect example why you should never trust critics' reviews of 'comedies'. After painstakingly reaching the end of this film, I had to double-check the category to confirm that it was, in fact listed as a comedy. I don't recall a single moment that I came close to laughing. It was that dull. It has a mildly amusing premise and a whole lot of annoying and unfunny banter. That's it. It has been a long time since I've seen a 'comedy' this bad. Avoid at all cost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJan 12, 2009
I laughed so hard!!! Hey Jimmy K. How can this be a ripoff of a book that was relapsed 6 months before? DO you know what the screenwriting, Filming and post production time is? And then distribution? At least 2 years from start to finish. I laughed so hard!!! Hey Jimmy K. How can this be a ripoff of a book that was relapsed 6 months before? DO you know what the screenwriting, Filming and post production time is? And then distribution? At least 2 years from start to finish. The lady that claimed that often sues people with vaugly similar ideas. She is a crackpot and the case was immediately thrown out. So STFU. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukaszC.Jul 19, 2009
An great film with an nice story and two great actors . I liked Seth Rogen before but i didnt know that Kathrine Heigl could play so well . The story how about a loser and an up an coming star have an baby and then try to work out is very An great film with an nice story and two great actors . I liked Seth Rogen before but i didnt know that Kathrine Heigl could play so well . The story how about a loser and an up an coming star have an baby and then try to work out is very funny , very thoughtful and its entertaining . Great film you have to watch it . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ttJan 27, 2010
Actually 8.5, but no decimals allowed! What most impressed me about this movie is that, on paper, it's as hackneyed and dumb as movies get, but that isn't how it comes out on screen. I shouldn't have been surprised with Apatow Actually 8.5, but no decimals allowed! What most impressed me about this movie is that, on paper, it's as hackneyed and dumb as movies get, but that isn't how it comes out on screen. I shouldn't have been surprised with Apatow at the helm, who gives his movies more real, human complexity than any of these user blurbs suggest, just as he did with with his F&G television show. No more misogynist than anti-male, and neither, really. Etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
hcOct 11, 2007
I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems closer to a 50). This film's female lead feels thrown in, as if at the last moment Heigl demanded a bigger part. It almost felt misogynist (or ignorance in writing women)-- I don't know. But having a film about getting some prego really requires you know, a woman. And I think Aptow is pretty bad at writing women. And as some other reviewers pointed out there wasn't a real emotional core to this film---and if you had to try, it would be the sister and her husband. Also, though some of the jokes were funny--- at the same time, the context felt contrived---as if Aptow had great jokes for a certain context, but how to actually craft that context in a real plot-line wasn't really important. In other words, a bit comedy writer who writes skits, but not whole stories. I really liked The 40 year old virgin, but this just didn't work at all for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaryNov 2, 2007
Critics were way off on this stupid movie. Not worth the money - not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
YvetteOct 12, 2007
I am so glad to see that other ppl that did not see the humor of this movie. Both my husband and I sat through over 2 hours of couples screaming at each other at the top of their lungs, super loser weedheads, lines that make you smile not I am so glad to see that other ppl that did not see the humor of this movie. Both my husband and I sat through over 2 hours of couples screaming at each other at the top of their lungs, super loser weedheads, lines that make you smile not laugh and overall unrealistic scenarios ie wife throws husband out because he was caught playing 'fantasy baseball'.. r u kidding? Also how realistic is an on screen TV personality giving an unemployed, quasi-porn site producer, who, during an earthquake, grabbed a bong and ran out ahead of her, a true chance to be with her? Anyway, all the raving reviews this movie is getting makes no sense, unless you like to watch a fanciful movie about ppl who argue alot. King of Queens arguing is clever, this movie is an overwhelming bore. p.s. the editor needs to be fired! Perhaps the movie could have been saved had some of the scenes been slimmed down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful