Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 564 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
368
Mixed:
77
Negative:
119
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
anab.Jul 12, 2007
loved it! went not expecting to. very real characters even if the story was a bit unrealistic. maybe it was my mood but i laughed continually and also felt the warmth and bittersweet of it all. 2 thumbs up!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
robsJul 23, 2007
An absurdly hilarious performance full of sarcasm, realism, and compassion. It has a soft side, but the core is just plain raw, unadulterated naked truth. Comedy is never ending as life and reality coincide with its unexpected twisted turns. An absurdly hilarious performance full of sarcasm, realism, and compassion. It has a soft side, but the core is just plain raw, unadulterated naked truth. Comedy is never ending as life and reality coincide with its unexpected twisted turns. Some elements of this film are of course predictable and are not novel -- but this fact does not overshadow the hysterical nature of sex, marriage, and just plain complicated relationships. Katherine Heigl is a knockout in this movie and really shines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulJ.Jun 17, 2008
The funniest film since 40-year-old virgin. Why can't all comedies have this much substance?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ttJan 27, 2010
Actually 8.5, but no decimals allowed! What most impressed me about this movie is that, on paper, it's as hackneyed and dumb as movies get, but that isn't how it comes out on screen. I shouldn't have been surprised with Apatow Actually 8.5, but no decimals allowed! What most impressed me about this movie is that, on paper, it's as hackneyed and dumb as movies get, but that isn't how it comes out on screen. I shouldn't have been surprised with Apatow at the helm, who gives his movies more real, human complexity than any of these user blurbs suggest, just as he did with with his F&G television show. No more misogynist than anti-male, and neither, really. Etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnJun 14, 2007
Just awesome. Best comedy so far this year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jun 15, 2007
Hysterical. If you feel like laughing, go see this. It's got enough sappy heartstring tugging stuff to give this extra audience reach.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Jun 19, 2007
Ten years ago, who would have predicted or guessed that the person behind the most intelligent, entertaining, touching and emotionally resonant romantic comedies of the 21st century would be the same one who stuffs them to near-bursting with Ten years ago, who would have predicted or guessed that the person behind the most intelligent, entertaining, touching and emotionally resonant romantic comedies of the 21st century would be the same one who stuffs them to near-bursting with gags about bodily secretions, excretions and hair? Or that Judd Apatow's movies would be so effortlessly and uniquely centrist, tying together red- and blue-state ways of thinking? Both Apatow's previous effort, the instant classic The 40 Year Old Virgin, and Knocked Up know that sex is as enormously enjoyable as it's possible for any activity to be, but is fraught with potential pitfalls and regrets, and is best experienced within a committed relationship. Although mostly (and necessarily) framed from a male viewpoint, both movies value, even treasure, their female characters, and both stress the necessity of a man entering into an intimate relationship (in every way, not just physical) with a woman growing up first (Virgin's Andy by selling off his vast action-figure collection, Knocked Up's Ben by getting a real job, moving out of the house he shares with his slacker buddies and putting down his bong). Of course, in spending too much time discussing subtext, there's always the danger of not spending enough time discussing how riotously funny, genuinely romantic and completely endearing Apatow's movies are, so let's quickly move on to the miracles that he works with his actors across the board, especially in light of how other writers and filmmakers have far less advantageously displayed them. Katharine Heigl as Alison, a budding Entertainment Tonight-type on-air personality dealing with the very long-term effects of her one-night stand with Ben (a guy she never, never would've chosen under any circumstances other than being extremely bombed), has long endured the silliest and most unbelievable plot twists Gray's Anatomy has to offer. The wonderfully likable Seth Rogen, who also shone as Andy's horniest pal in Virgin, was criminally misused and wasted as a henpecked husband in last year's loathsome You, Me & Dupree. (That minority of moviegoers and critics who mystifyingly believe Knocked Up to be misogynistic, of all things, might well consider the fact that said 2006 Owen Wilson debacle despised and feared women so much that it didn't show any of the female characters' faces onscreen, except of course for Kate Hudson's.) As Alison's less-than-totally-happily-married brother-in-law Pete, Paul Rudd (also a comic revelation in Virgin) erases once again all memories of how truly obnoxious he was as Phoebe Buffay's self-centered husband in the final seasons of Friends. The rest of the cast similarly blossoms under Apatow's tightly planned but improvisation-rich style, but Leslie Mann, who's the real Mrs. Apatow, demonstates that on rare occasions it really does pay for an actress to sleep with the director; her brittle but deeply insecure and vulnerable Debbie is worthy of Oscar consideration. (Not to sound like a broken record, but Mann was brilliant in--surprise!--Virgin, being both heartbreaking and spit-out-your-drink funny as Andy's drunken pickup.) Apatow's incidental or throwaway scenes often cut deeper than the centerpieces in most current American films: there's a sequence at a club involving Allison, Debbie and a put-upon Black doorman (Craig Robinson) that says as much in five minutes about various contemporary prejudices and "-isms" as even a very good film like Crash managed to in a couple of hours. Apatow's shortest suit continues to be the niceties of 100% believable plot construction; for the sake of an arbitrary third-act conflict in Virgin he had Trish (Catherine Keener) find a box of porno that a friend gave Andy, left out for all to see, when we all know that Andy is so self-conscious and meticulous that he would've kept it very well-hidden...buried, even. In Knocked Up, Allison has to be almost ready to break her water on the air before her employers (who had earlier given her a stringently p.c. lecture about avoiding weight gain) even begin to notice. But if this is the biggest area for improvement in the work of a comic near-genius as classically talented and original as Apatow, then God bless him...and give us many more like him, flaws and all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinJun 19, 2007
As I am about to leave to see this movie for the 4th time, I feel the urge comment on it's greatness. After seeing Hot Fuzz, I didn't think I'd see a funnier movie all year, but then Knocked Up comes along. It's was As I am about to leave to see this movie for the 4th time, I feel the urge comment on it's greatness. After seeing Hot Fuzz, I didn't think I'd see a funnier movie all year, but then Knocked Up comes along. It's was hilarious, well acted, and full of heart. Judd Apatow/Seth Rogen are like the modern comedy version of Martin Scorscese/Leonardo DiCaprio. I hope they continue their hot streak of gut-busting, heartfelt comedies for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LesRJul 19, 2007
We all know someone like Seth Rogen's character and I can really imagine that's how someone like him would act if he impregnated someone. Judd Apatow really captures this generation (not mine, by the way). He' s poignant We all know someone like Seth Rogen's character and I can really imagine that's how someone like him would act if he impregnated someone. Judd Apatow really captures this generation (not mine, by the way). He' s poignant without being schmaltzy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffW.Aug 17, 2007
Funny adult humor, a bit much on the drug use but I guess it was germain to the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamLAug 19, 2007
The negative comments on this film are hilarious! "By far the worst film I have ever seen"...well apparently you haven't seen many movies at all. "The theme of this movie is hurtful to the realities of society"...you mean YOUR reality, The negative comments on this film are hilarious! "By far the worst film I have ever seen"...well apparently you haven't seen many movies at all. "The theme of this movie is hurtful to the realities of society"...you mean YOUR reality, maybe. "I could have walked out after 10 minutes and saved an hour of my life"...well, yes, if the movie had been and hour-and-10-minutes long. Humans are funny creatures, eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WadeT.Sep 27, 2007
Knocked Up takes the most cliche of situations, the one night stand, and adds enough layers to make a revealing tale about the consequences of treating adult situations with immature motivations. A career stoner with no career aspirations Knocked Up takes the most cliche of situations, the one night stand, and adds enough layers to make a revealing tale about the consequences of treating adult situations with immature motivations. A career stoner with no career aspirations gets lucky one night and has bad drunken sex with a hot television personality. What Apatow does brilliantly is paint the scene beforehand with enough character information to make the situation seem plausible. Katherine Heigle's character isn't in a relationship, chooses to live with her sister and her husband despite a seemingly well paying career and therefore might be as emotionally clueless on the inside as Seth Rogen's stoner is on the out. Therefore giving into temptation after finally getting her big television break seems like a likely things to happen, especially after downing a healthy amount of alcohol (dear ladies, be honest, you've all put on the beer googles at one point or another and wound up kissing, dating, being intimate with or at least being interested in, someone who you never thought you would). Apatow takes this chance encounter and runs to the extreme conclusion of pregnancy that wacks both people into adulthood. The fears, insecurities and general cluelessness about how to face this unlikely development in today's world allows Apatows to spend time with each characters whole list of influences that inevitable lead to an embrace of what some might call adulthood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CoDFatherSep 11, 2010
This is Seth Rogen's/ Katherine Heigl's best movie ever. The storyline of an accidental pregnancy, and combined with the humor of the century, makes the perfect movie for people of a certain humor. I love Judd Apatow, because of his humorousThis is Seth Rogen's/ Katherine Heigl's best movie ever. The storyline of an accidental pregnancy, and combined with the humor of the century, makes the perfect movie for people of a certain humor. I love Judd Apatow, because of his humorous mind, and his perfect choice of actors to play in his movies, such as Paul Rudd, Jason Segel, Martin Starr, Jonah Hill, and others. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
mrcriticSep 24, 2010
I thank this movie, not only for giving Katherine Heigl, Seth Rogen, Paul Rudd, & Leslie Mann their movie start, I thank this movie for being ridicuolously funnt and clever. One of the funniest movies of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
diogomendesSep 7, 2014
With a script that occasionally falls flat with its jokes much less than it doesn't, "Knocked Up" is an ably acted film with enough wit and entertainment to satisfy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AnonymousMCJun 6, 2007
If this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have not actually seen "Knocked Up" or have been spoiled enough by all the dumb, cheap trick comedies to come outIf this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have not actually seen "Knocked Up" or have been spoiled enough by all the dumb, cheap trick comedies to come out of Hollywood ("Click," "Wild Hogs") that they can't appreciate something that truly is HUMOROUS. I won't say "Knocked Up" is a masterpeice, but it is one of the better comedies this year, and deserves to be seen. In fact, f*** what anyone says about it and just go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielC.Jul 4, 2007
Knocked up aims to be and succeeds at being one of the best comedies coming out this winter. The reason why this comedy works is because all the characters work. Ben's frat friends work well, the awkward moments between the married Knocked up aims to be and succeeds at being one of the best comedies coming out this winter. The reason why this comedy works is because all the characters work. Ben's frat friends work well, the awkward moments between the married couple, Ben and Allison add some good moments while the conversations between Allison and her boss work well too. For all of those who are bemoaning the level of swearing, grow up. That's right, grow up. You sound like a bunch of kids going Did he say the p word? Oh! Jeez. People swear, and people especially swear in moments such as these. If you don't like comedies with a little spice on the side, stick to the cartoons, us normal people will be reveling in a great movie which aims to celebrate relationships and the trials and tribulations of them, and succeeds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckyoJun 3, 2007
The movie is a little overrated (it's not as funny as 40-Year-Old Virgin), but it was still well worth the money!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoanG.Jun 4, 2007
It was really great, really, really funny, but not quite as special as 40YOV. For me, this very truthful movie was missing some very important truth at its core. We were given zero reason to believe or understand why Alison would love Ben It was really great, really, really funny, but not quite as special as 40YOV. For me, this very truthful movie was missing some very important truth at its core. We were given zero reason to believe or understand why Alison would love Ben and actually plan to begin a life with him. (I would say "and visa versa," but Alison is so beautiful, smart, and successful that someone like Ben would simply be stunned that she had anything to do with him at all, and wouldn't care about whether they had anything in common.) It's not that Ben isn't lovable, but the movie never shows you any way that their personalities actually fit together. This is a big difference from Virgin, where one of the beautiful things about the movie was how much sense the relationship made. Moreover, even if Alison's personalty was more compatible with Ben's -- if, for example, we had learned that she had been a bit of a slacker herself before she went into TV and "grew up" -- in real life Alison would be much, much, MUCH more freaked out by Ben's lack of a job or any prospects at all. This is another thing that Virgin did much better -- the Catherine Keener character talks to Steve Carrell bluntly about whether he wants to be a sales clerk all his life, and they come up with a plan that makes perfect sense for him. I think they could have done a couple things to fix this problem in Knocked Up, with a few very tiny changes. For example, after the one-night stand, Alison could have seen Ben as a fun, guilty pleasure, someone who reminded her of her more fun college days -- but someone that she would never take seriously today. And then she finds out that she is pregnant by this lovavble loser, and totally freaks out. On the Ben side, we could have seen some teeny tiny indication that he might have some genuine brains or talent or creativity -- maybe -- and Alison could alternate between hope and despair at his prospects. Almost all the jokes save a couple could stay, and the stuff I'm suggesting would create its own humor, I still love Judd Apatow, but turns out he can't fully see the woman's point of view here. In both relationships in this movie, guys who would still like to remain boys marry women whose primary (only?) characteristics are: (1) They're beautiful and (2) They're all serious and grown-up. The idea that a man and a woman in a relationship should have something fundamental in common (even if they are outwardly very different) does not seem to enter anyone's mind. Oh, well. It was still a hilarous, sweet movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregM.Jun 5, 2007
Good movie though I could find no reasonable explanation for her tryst with Seth Rogen--none. In real life, I'm sorry, it wouldn't have happened, and it bothered me that no one jumped on Seth about his unemployed status. To Larry: Good movie though I could find no reasonable explanation for her tryst with Seth Rogen--none. In real life, I'm sorry, it wouldn't have happened, and it bothered me that no one jumped on Seth about his unemployed status. To Larry: sorry for the 'fowl' language, I guess, but I didn't see any ducks in the movie? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Rev.R.Jul 8, 2007
In spite of the "too good to be true" threads woven into this hilarious tapestry, this film performs the remarkable: beneath the laughter the viewer is awakened to the pain and struggle of this dilemma. Moral choices, cultural expectations, In spite of the "too good to be true" threads woven into this hilarious tapestry, this film performs the remarkable: beneath the laughter the viewer is awakened to the pain and struggle of this dilemma. Moral choices, cultural expectations, the ability to love as choice have as much substance as the moments of comedy. This movie is a classic "tragedy within comedy"; a current rarity. The ensemble of characters are wildly diverse, yet bound together by either deeply committed friendship, or a marriage teetering on the brink of dissolution. We are allowed to gaze into two drastically different forms of "family" as each seeks to rescue one of its own. This film has many layers of noteworthy substance and is worth the viewing. Though this is an ensemble movie, Seth Rogen snares our interest from the beginning and never relinquishes it. Judd Apatow offers us a refreshing look at a very old problem in the post-modern age. As in any good film of substance related to real life experiences, it is the beauty of life itself that reconciles all brokenness, and redeems a potentially destructive circumstance. Kudos to Apatow! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AzjaegerMar 30, 2008
This movie is genius, reminds me of a Kevin Smith movie in that it ran on the dialogue. Surprised noone gets it...it's a satire on the modern world. All the characters are spouting the cliches of current thinking, a bunch of immature This movie is genius, reminds me of a Kevin Smith movie in that it ran on the dialogue. Surprised noone gets it...it's a satire on the modern world. All the characters are spouting the cliches of current thinking, a bunch of immature not -too-bright pop culture mavens from the upper middle class who worry about their self-development and feelings above all things because they don't really have to worry about money and don't seem to have to work very hard for it. The man and woman get along because basically they are both ditzes from the same cultural-economic background. They are more alike than they are different. This is brilliant satire..must have gone over a lot of people's heads. Just the "E" executives alone are worth the price of the movie. It's not a comedy in the sense of a Will Ferrell movie, or even a Borat movie...more one where every so often someone speaks a line where you just wince and laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattZOct 1, 2007
Best comedy I have watched in a long time. This film had me laughing hard many times. The drug use and language was a little too much at times which lowered my rating on this film. The film had a terrific theme and the ending made me nearly Best comedy I have watched in a long time. This film had me laughing hard many times. The drug use and language was a little too much at times which lowered my rating on this film. The film had a terrific theme and the ending made me nearly cry - I love children! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Oct 29, 2007
Knocked Up is a total script of humor. Judd Apatow never gives up on his comedy, sometimes you felt like it was going to be a letdown but just stayed at a right pace and a good balance. Apatow tried to jab in some drama, but once those quick Knocked Up is a total script of humor. Judd Apatow never gives up on his comedy, sometimes you felt like it was going to be a letdown but just stayed at a right pace and a good balance. Apatow tried to jab in some drama, but once those quick scenes popped in, it kind of gave you a yawn. Although, I'd have to say, most adults may not enjoy it because the story involves 95% around sex. But from my opinion, after I saw cool adds on the film in the paper and after watching a couple of interviews on the cast, I had to watch it. The best Romantic Comedy of the year. And I'm not just saying that just to pull off a good gimmick, it actually is really good. A must see for all movie-goers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DwightC.Jun 1, 2007
I love this ensemble....great timing, realistic relationships and hilarious running bachelor buddie jokes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonF.Jun 29, 2007
Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the rest of the movie. still funny just not as much fun. most of it was hilarious though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukaszC.Jul 19, 2009
An great film with an nice story and two great actors . I liked Seth Rogen before but i didnt know that Kathrine Heigl could play so well . The story how about a loser and an up an coming star have an baby and then try to work out is very An great film with an nice story and two great actors . I liked Seth Rogen before but i didnt know that Kathrine Heigl could play so well . The story how about a loser and an up an coming star have an baby and then try to work out is very funny , very thoughtful and its entertaining . Great film you have to watch it . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveF.Jun 12, 2007
Not free of schmaltz, but uncommonly honest and nearly as hilarious as 40YOV. If you are uncomfortable with eking comedy from such ickily-real situations as pregnant sex, for the love of God stay home and watch Look Who's Talking, Too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterR.Jun 16, 2007
So people either give it a 10 or a 1. Seems simple: if you are not comfortable with vulgarity, stay home. If you liked the more edgy parts of the "40 Year Old Virgin" then you'll love this film. I thought it was over the top, silly, So people either give it a 10 or a 1. Seems simple: if you are not comfortable with vulgarity, stay home. If you liked the more edgy parts of the "40 Year Old Virgin" then you'll love this film. I thought it was over the top, silly, brazen and very, very funny. I don't look at movies as a social barometer, I just want to see something well written and funny. This film is not for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelRMar 15, 2008
I hated the the 40 year old Virgin and Superbad but I really liked this movie.Its funny from beginning to end and a great moral story.Its much better then I thought.By watching the trailer I thought it would be decent but it was surprisingly great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 22, 2011
I think the long run time takes away from the overall value but the film is actually rather good. I think the entire cast gave a solid perfomance. It wasnt as realistic as it could have been either. Still featured quite a few hilariousI think the long run time takes away from the overall value but the film is actually rather good. I think the entire cast gave a solid perfomance. It wasnt as realistic as it could have been either. Still featured quite a few hilarious moments and was well worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FDT44Jan 6, 2011
An immensely absurd and psychedelic gander into the long-term consequences of poor, irrational decision-making. "Knocked-Up" meshes as its plot takes on the real-world pandemic of unwanted pregnancies and the painstaking path of staying loyalAn immensely absurd and psychedelic gander into the long-term consequences of poor, irrational decision-making. "Knocked-Up" meshes as its plot takes on the real-world pandemic of unwanted pregnancies and the painstaking path of staying loyal to your partner and child despite the stigmas linked to the causes of one's attempt for seemingly harmless fun. Mission accomplished! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jul 21, 2013
A hilarious film packed full of great supporting characters that add so much flavor to this sincere story. Raunchy and sweet have never mixed so well together.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysFeb 1, 2015
Knocked Up is an honest, well-made Apatow comedy that actually has real meaning. The writing is spectacular, and many of the scenes are laugh-til-your-side-hurts funny. Besides this, the movie features Seth Rogen's first feature film role,Knocked Up is an honest, well-made Apatow comedy that actually has real meaning. The writing is spectacular, and many of the scenes are laugh-til-your-side-hurts funny. Besides this, the movie features Seth Rogen's first feature film role, and he delivers. Katherine Heigl, on the other hand, can't act for her life.

Overall, the movie is a success, and a great one for group watching. This is the best Apatow production as of yet.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
najlepszaNov 1, 2013
As a rule, I don't like movies with half-witted, lecherous jokes. but... In case of it, we have an exception :D Warm and jolly movie, with deeper meaning. Adorable Heigl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jishin75Sep 7, 2014
Funny movie, in a way a classic of hit's genre. A lot of future stars and a nice way to spend a lovely evening watching a sarcastic movie with a lot of gross people, but definitely a good one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJun 11, 2014
Many people will complaint that Apatow movies are just about sex obssesive, marijuana obssesive losers, but this film is very funny and has a nice way to mix romance, comedy and a little bit of drama. Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl have greatMany people will complaint that Apatow movies are just about sex obssesive, marijuana obssesive losers, but this film is very funny and has a nice way to mix romance, comedy and a little bit of drama. Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl have great chemistry. It's also a nice and funny take on unplanned pregnancies Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeSep 1, 2014
The story of this Judd Apatow's movie is simple.A girl who wants to do a career on tv meet a guy without a job and they do a one night stand.But the guy makes her pregnant and they are stuck with each others.There are a lot of laughs and theThe story of this Judd Apatow's movie is simple.A girl who wants to do a career on tv meet a guy without a job and they do a one night stand.But the guy makes her pregnant and they are stuck with each others.There are a lot of laughs and the movie is not disappointing because the actors are really good except for Katherine Heigl. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
Seth Rogen shows he's the real deal with this movie. Judd Apatow releases another great film. He is easily the best comedy director around at this point in time. Its a simple story but its so effective. Its full of laughs and I think I needSeth Rogen shows he's the real deal with this movie. Judd Apatow releases another great film. He is easily the best comedy director around at this point in time. Its a simple story but its so effective. Its full of laughs and I think I need to watch it again, its been awhile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DougJun 2, 2007
The whole premise of the movie is great. Certain scenes were lol funny but they pushed the envelope a bit too much with the drug use and cursing. I too can appreciate the cursing when necessary but when it is in every other line it just The whole premise of the movie is great. Certain scenes were lol funny but they pushed the envelope a bit too much with the drug use and cursing. I too can appreciate the cursing when necessary but when it is in every other line it just seems that the script was lacking in true dialogue and clever humor. the editing was poor and music was forced. overall there was minimal character development and unrealistic connections . it does not deserve an 85 rating but there are note worthy scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewK.Jun 27, 2007
Hahahaha. Stupid people with your morals. I'm so glad that I'm such an immoral person because it doesn't hurt me to hear someone use a dirty word. For real, why did you even go to this movie? Are you so lacking in perception Hahahaha. Stupid people with your morals. I'm so glad that I'm such an immoral person because it doesn't hurt me to hear someone use a dirty word. For real, why did you even go to this movie? Are you so lacking in perception that you actually thought this was a family film? And why do people think that "Hollywood" is some anthropomorphised entity that creates every film that comes out and is somehow a moral barometer for America? See, there are actually many individual and actual human beings who work on movies. It's not this fictional force known as "Hollywood," and they're not out to tear down your morality. And the random Jew basher can go going Mel Gibson. And another thing. There's an actual movie to talk about here. It was great. I personally think 40 Year Old Virgin was better and funnier, but I think this movie is a more well constructed film. It's tighter. It doesn't have constant obvious improvisation. Everyone in it is hilarious. And how bout that random Asian chick? She was so bizarre and hilarious at the same time. Schmaltz? I don't think so. Real emotion and real issues that are important but ought to be taken along with some good humor. Yeah, those moments with the baby crowning were a little shocking, but I like surprises. I wonder how they did that. It looked pretty real. Seth Rogen can totally carry a film. See this movie if you like to laugh and you're not an uptight prude. Oh and also, "Crash" is one of the worst films ever made. Just thought you all might like to know that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobJ.Jun 29, 2007
The movie was alright. It had its funny moments. . . I'll admit thats its a great rental, but I wouldn't feel like I'm missing out if I didn't see it in theatres.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jun 2, 2007
Bad editing, boring directing, weak plot development, uneven drama, irrational character actions/reactions, and cheap shots(a GYNO that mistakes the anus for the vagina). However, funny as hell. Apatow never resorts to low brow. Most Bad editing, boring directing, weak plot development, uneven drama, irrational character actions/reactions, and cheap shots(a GYNO that mistakes the anus for the vagina). However, funny as hell. Apatow never resorts to low brow. Most impressively in an age where it seems every comedy starts with a good hour and crumbles in the last half hour; Knocked Up is consistent for its whole 2+ hour runtime. That alone is worth seeing this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeR.Jun 3, 2007
It was O.K. Its not the "funniest movie ever" as people and reviewers make it out to be. I did laugh and enjoyed the story. Thats it. A lot of hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidSJul 30, 2007
I really liked this movie very funny and I would have rated it a bit higher except that I got annoyed by too much swearing in the end. It was a bit too much and made the last 20 minutes just too much really, I found myself thinking when are I really liked this movie very funny and I would have rated it a bit higher except that I got annoyed by too much swearing in the end. It was a bit too much and made the last 20 minutes just too much really, I found myself thinking when are they going to stop swearing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanRJan 2, 2008
American comedy with funny bursts but with schmaltz...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatthewL.Dec 15, 2007
Funny and sweet. Not as good as others think it is. A little too long, sappy, and sentimental at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillCJun 6, 2007
Not bad for what it is-- A comedy for teens and young adults. It's rating (R)didn't seem to keep teens out of the theater seats! Yes , the "F" word is used a lot, and it needn't be-The film could have stood up well enough Not bad for what it is-- A comedy for teens and young adults. It's rating (R)didn't seem to keep teens out of the theater seats! Yes , the "F" word is used a lot, and it needn't be-The film could have stood up well enough without them. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
sabretJul 30, 2007
Funny, enjoyable, true to life movie but not nearly as good as the 40 year old virgin. Rogen and Heigel do a great job and have good chemistry. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are hysterical. Paul Rudd rules. Unlike the 40 year old virgin, the Funny, enjoyable, true to life movie but not nearly as good as the 40 year old virgin. Rogen and Heigel do a great job and have good chemistry. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are hysterical. Paul Rudd rules. Unlike the 40 year old virgin, the lead character's friends are not funny. Rogen's roommates are just not that funny. Watching people obsess about getting high all day is not funny. With Rogen it worked because he was supposed to be pathetic loser. But all of his friends seem sad and real losers. Also what was up with Rogen's one non jewish friend who looked like Jesus being made fun of the whole movie? Mmm, not sure what that was about, should i be offended. I guess not, It's a comedy, but still that was a little weird. This movie's other problem is that it slows down at the end and loses all momentum. The ending picks up but still the laughs are nearly gone. How many movies can you watch and still think it's funny when women scream in pain in the delivery room. A great 3/4 of the film makes up for a weak final 30 minutes. If they trimmed about 20 minutes and cut some of the time with the friends this could have been a great comedy reaching the level of the 40 year old virgin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulAJul 6, 2007
Wow, this was an over-rated movie! I had high hopes. What I liked best is that the characters lived in a world relatively close to the real one, in that they refer to topical matters like "exit strategy" and real bands and movies (though Wow, this was an over-rated movie! I had high hopes. What I liked best is that the characters lived in a world relatively close to the real one, in that they refer to topical matters like "exit strategy" and real bands and movies (though it's scary that our mostly superficial pop culture is, like, their whole reality) just like we do in real life but they don't (why?) in most Hollywood comedies. Some of the crude guy humor is funny enough (reminiscent of OLD SCHOOL but without the great Vince Vaughn), but not as funny as the last go-round with 40 Year Old Virgin. But while the two lead actors are appealing, the characters are crudely drawn. The secondary male characters especially.This goes bad when the film teeters from broad comedy into heartfelt (or perhaps gag-inducing) drama about aging: the latter only works with more finely drawn characters. A night on mushrooms is thrown in as a long digression that tells us little. A seven for good laughs and appealing leads and smart writing. Grade reduced to to poor plotting, loose characterization, and unearned genre switch. Class dismissed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnthonyJ.Jun 23, 2007
A good, but not great, movie. Really, really funny in spots, and a little stupid in others, but more of the latter than the former. P.S. A lot of the things people are complaining about in their comments (the swearing, the way guys talk A good, but not great, movie. Really, really funny in spots, and a little stupid in others, but more of the latter than the former. P.S. A lot of the things people are complaining about in their comments (the swearing, the way guys talk amongst themselves) are the most authentic parts of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
csw12Apr 2, 2012
The movie was decent, but definitly a step down from the previous film The 40 year old Virgin. A little too long, sappy, and sentimental at times. But its was enjoyable to watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Aug 22, 2015
Pretty funny and certainly endearing, it's no wonder why "Knocked Up" marked the resurgence in the careers of Seth Rogen and the rest of the Judd Apatow crew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MrBlackTronJul 28, 2014
Nefis Film. Komedi Drama ve Romantizm herşey var. Tempo düşmüyor kurgu başarılı espriler yerli yerinde hoşça iki saat geçirmek için ideal..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TimE.Dec 2, 2007
I has a few great moments but the rest of it seems like a glorified American Pie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JosephN.Jun 24, 2007
Pros: 1. If you like crude humor, this is great. 2. One liners that make you chuckle. Cons: 1. About 95% of the movie isn't funny at all, only a slow decline into a failed depressing save. 2. Not many comedies can pull of the 2 hour Pros: 1. If you like crude humor, this is great. 2. One liners that make you chuckle. Cons: 1. About 95% of the movie isn't funny at all, only a slow decline into a failed depressing save. 2. Not many comedies can pull of the 2 hour thing, and this movie is a clear sign that they shouldn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LauraP.Jun 7, 2007
A comfy, reassurring promise for the underachieving, developmentally arrested nebbish whose worst nightmare results after a Cinderfella night with his wildest dreams. A man's version of "having it all," leaves nothing for the woman. A comfy, reassurring promise for the underachieving, developmentally arrested nebbish whose worst nightmare results after a Cinderfella night with his wildest dreams. A man's version of "having it all," leaves nothing for the woman. Humorous at times, but tragic overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Jun 3, 2007
O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good comedy with capable actors and a smart screenplay a little similar to She's Having A Baby but it is not a classic - it's just, thankfully, not a sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinNJun 7, 2007
This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor and performances were real and up-to-date. That didn't make it raunchy in my eyes, just contemporary and believable. After reading all of the rave reviews, I thought I was going to laugh more, but I didn't. I thought the 40-Year-Old Virgin was funnier and a little more shocking. The movie's not bad, it's just not a blockbuster comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnRJul 20, 2007
I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process I found the film funny at times, with a few 3-dimensional characters--at least at first--but then it becomes a wonders-of-motherhood and growing-up-may-hurt-but-its-wonderful flick and begs an awful lot of real-life questions in the process = not so much fun after a while. One has to suspect it was funded by pro-lifers, much like "Weed" was obviously funded by Drug Warriors. Reality gives way to thinly veiled fire and brimstone. Reason be damned, we're gonna make you feeeeel what's right. Yuk. Why is this film so popular with critics? I think they're afraid to lift the curtain, see what the wizard looks like.... Could be bad for business. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillH.Jun 4, 2007
There was nothing wrong with this movie, but there was nothing really right about it either. I didn't find it nearly as funny as the reviews are making it sound, but there were a few laughs. It would have been better if it was about 30 There was nothing wrong with this movie, but there was nothing really right about it either. I didn't find it nearly as funny as the reviews are making it sound, but there were a few laughs. It would have been better if it was about 30 minutes shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PeterANov 8, 2008
I'm down the middle. Yeah, there were some laughs, but they were all centered around the beard bet. The premise isn't totally unbelievable, but I just didn't buy that she'd both want to keep the baby and stay with him. I'm down the middle. Yeah, there were some laughs, but they were all centered around the beard bet. The premise isn't totally unbelievable, but I just didn't buy that she'd both want to keep the baby and stay with him. And I thought the writing flagged around the second trimester. I guess what annoys me most about Apatow is he's obviously a really smart, clever guy who can't quite purge all the sophomoric impulses from his movies...the pot-smoking and potty mouth stuff seems geared to 12-year-olds, who clearly aren't equipped to handle the grown-up issues here. But maybe that's why it made a ton of money -- he's figured out a way to appeal to a pretty broad demo without actually satisfying them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
HaroldCAug 22, 2008
not bad acting, but lets not discuss that part. instead - seriously the rest of the film is lacking something i rilly dont understand why people enjoy watching Other people have sex thats so gross to my opinion - however this movie does have not bad acting, but lets not discuss that part. instead - seriously the rest of the film is lacking something i rilly dont understand why people enjoy watching Other people have sex thats so gross to my opinion - however this movie does have a few funny parts. I should note i didnt like superbad either, however i am a huge fan of Eastern Promises. an no i am not homosexual Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JerryK.Jun 17, 2007
Terribly overrated by the critics, which led me to a great feeling of disappointment. The plot was far too unbelievable, and while I like Seth Rogen very much in the roles he's done so far, he certainly is not at the point of his career Terribly overrated by the critics, which led me to a great feeling of disappointment. The plot was far too unbelievable, and while I like Seth Rogen very much in the roles he's done so far, he certainly is not at the point of his career where he can carry the load as a romantic lead as required here. The cast playing Seth's friends shine. But there was far too much gratuitous profanity eroding the movie's ability to have viewers buy into the story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MitchMcNeilJun 21, 2007
Five stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The setFive stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The set up had me hooked - - the collision of two worlds, climaxing in a drunken coupling. The characters, for the most part, were nuanced and real. But as the parents-to-be got more serious and clear-headed about their situation, I begin to experience some form of disconnect. The whole birth thing had me squirming in my seat. Too real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeMJun 4, 2007
The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can still be implausible by farce standards, and Knocked Up has a flat, unsympathetic male lead character in a plot that would be better served with a more sympathetic one. The female lead character may be more sympathetic but is so flat as to be little more than a name, a career hopeful and a uterus. As a point of contrast, the leads in Virgin had a more functional 'opposites attract' kind of dynamic. When they did finally fall in love, we knew that it was at least in part because of their ability to accept and support each other. Andy overcomes his fear of intimacy. In Knocked Up, they mostly say 'fuck you' a lot. If they are supposed to be actually in love, as they say they are when they're two months into their non-relationship and she's two months pregnant, we should at least see how they got there. If not, we should see the wishful lie they've told each other. As it was, I was jarred out of the movie, wondering if they're in love because she's pregnant and we're 30 minutes into the story. In a movie that has more than a few very funny moments, the real lynch pin is the fact that they seem to work it out simply because he keeps showing up, no matter how much of a lazy, hurtful unloving slob he is. That the character isn't used to being liked by women should be all the more reason that he actually do and say something that shows character change and decision, rather than a cheap-fix sort of montage with 20 minutes to go. The solution in Virgin is hard-earned to the point that even a sex farce can ring true in its way. In Knocked Up we have a situation that should end with anything but a father sticking around- a single mother, adoption, abortion, any of these are more credible than a quick 5 minute fix-up segment after an hour of complete incompatibility. Doubtlessly, the movie will do well because of the very funny moments and the track record of all involved. Hopefully it won't have the staying power that Apatow's Virgin earned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlB.Aug 28, 2007
Critics getting carried away a bit here. Watchable. Some funny moments. The sheer unbelievability of a beautiful successful woman choosing to spend her life with the Rogen character gets in the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WalterS.Jun 11, 2007
Wow... Really disappointed with this one. Characters were generally one-dimensional and unlikeable. The two main relationships were unconvincing. The language and glorification of drug use became tired after about 15 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CareyK.Jun 17, 2007
The situation of unexpected pregnancy with a one night stand is much too heavy to list this movie as a comedy. Funny in bursts, depressing in others. It is difficult to buy the happy ending with such an unlikely pairing as a TV career woman The situation of unexpected pregnancy with a one night stand is much too heavy to list this movie as a comedy. Funny in bursts, depressing in others. It is difficult to buy the happy ending with such an unlikely pairing as a TV career woman meets a unemployed stoner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DerrickF.Jun 17, 2007
I give this movie a 5 because I only laughed about 50% of the time. The other half was spent digesting the gravity of the genuinely serious topics raised regarding parenthood and relationships.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CristinaJun 24, 2009
Misogynistic crap. A schlubby male fantasy.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
SpangleFeb 27, 2016
While Knocked Up can be a very unique look at unexpected pregnancies and its impact on people, as well as a nice take on marriage and relationships, it falls flat. Despite those strengths, Knocked Up is quite unfunny and actually boring. IWhile Knocked Up can be a very unique look at unexpected pregnancies and its impact on people, as well as a nice take on marriage and relationships, it falls flat. Despite those strengths, Knocked Up is quite unfunny and actually boring. I never expected to be bored here, but it just keeps on going and going, yet does very little with its runtime. In Knocked Up, it appears that the writers thought they could avoid making a compelling story and replace that with movie references. However, I am afraid to report that movie references in themselves are not a story. This may be shocking to those who wrote this one. Director Judd Apatow does do a decent job and there are a few scenes that are funny, but it is largely an exasperating and pointless experience. The only saving grace is the unique and interesting perspectives on this situation brought to the table by the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticMay 25, 2014
It has a few situational laughs, but otherwise it's sentimental to a fault, and many unsympathetic and sometimes even annoying characters. Judd Apatow has skill with raunchy comedies. I feel he should keep his preference to films that lack aIt has a few situational laughs, but otherwise it's sentimental to a fault, and many unsympathetic and sometimes even annoying characters. Judd Apatow has skill with raunchy comedies. I feel he should keep his preference to films that lack a heart more than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
I went into this expecting a great film, and who wouldn't: a Seth Rogen fueled comedy about parenthood. It just turned out to be a softer side of Rogen with a lot of romance and mediocre humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CharlesM.Jun 4, 2007
Eh.. That's how this struck me. Meh. Not very funny, not especially well acted. Not much to say really, unlike the rabid defenders/detractors. Just kinda OK with shadings towards the stinky side. Seth Rogen certainly cannot carry a Eh.. That's how this struck me. Meh. Not very funny, not especially well acted. Not much to say really, unlike the rabid defenders/detractors. Just kinda OK with shadings towards the stinky side. Seth Rogen certainly cannot carry a leading role, and Paul Rudd was poorly utilized. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScooterLJul 5, 2007
I tend to like these kinds of movies more than the critics. Not here. Seemed like the whole thing was recycled, with some bonus cheesy sh-- thrown in. Disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamieP.Sep 6, 2007
Very disappointed. It doesn't add up in the slightest. She would have had an abortion in a lightning flash, and quite rightly so too. Casting was dire.Seth Rogan is not attractive, he's not charismatic, he's got nothing about Very disappointed. It doesn't add up in the slightest. She would have had an abortion in a lightning flash, and quite rightly so too. Casting was dire.Seth Rogan is not attractive, he's not charismatic, he's got nothing about him. He screams 'Supporting Actor' (and not a particularly good one at that). That's not because of physical attributes. Woody Allen screams 'Leading man', for instance. It's just because it feels like his being funny and drawing people towards him is a surprise to him rather than an expectation. Heigl is wooden and unbelievable. You can almost see her remembering her lines. And far too pretty for a role like this tbh. Film was 30 minutes too long, and even then utterly failed, as someone else pointed out, how these two are supposed to be in love. It was just stupid. That all said, could have been excellent, and much of the film was very funny and acutely observed. They just failed to get the basics right - casting, plot and editing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomD.Dec 4, 2007
Some good moments but other moments are funny as long as they involve weed. Take the weed out and this is a boring chik flik. Sorry not impressed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LarryN.Jun 4, 2007
This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall story was good, but at the cost of sitting through the gratuitous fowl language, being subjected to some of the worst of Hollywood's stereotypical view of the world, and some of the scenes, what sick mind comes up with this stuff? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NickT.Sep 24, 2007
Not a gross out comedy, not a chick flick, more a slightly amusing soap opera episode stretched out far too long. I just find this "stoner" comedy genre tiresome. It really is too long for the content and the actors in it not up to carrying Not a gross out comedy, not a chick flick, more a slightly amusing soap opera episode stretched out far too long. I just find this "stoner" comedy genre tiresome. It really is too long for the content and the actors in it not up to carrying the light plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
hcOct 11, 2007
I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems I agree with a lot of the points the LA Times reviewer Carina Chocano brought up--which is probably a failure on Metacritic's site for rating her review a 70, when it doesn't really match the tone or criticism of her piece (seems closer to a 50). This film's female lead feels thrown in, as if at the last moment Heigl demanded a bigger part. It almost felt misogynist (or ignorance in writing women)-- I don't know. But having a film about getting some prego really requires you know, a woman. And I think Aptow is pretty bad at writing women. And as some other reviewers pointed out there wasn't a real emotional core to this film---and if you had to try, it would be the sister and her husband. Also, though some of the jokes were funny--- at the same time, the context felt contrived---as if Aptow had great jokes for a certain context, but how to actually craft that context in a real plot-line wasn't really important. In other words, a bit comedy writer who writes skits, but not whole stories. I really liked The 40 year old virgin, but this just didn't work at all for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LauraMay 31, 2007
Realistic dialog among guys was excellent. Same w/ dialog between spouses or significant others. HOWEVER. Lots of drug use, lots of very foul language and explicit scenes that I got tired of or uncomfortable with or just bored with. Bottom Realistic dialog among guys was excellent. Same w/ dialog between spouses or significant others. HOWEVER. Lots of drug use, lots of very foul language and explicit scenes that I got tired of or uncomfortable with or just bored with. Bottom line: some very funny stuff, some over the top-too much drug and F--word stuff. If you are 17-24 Male-you'll will love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
spadenxDec 9, 2011
Far too long imo and it could have been a lot shorter. Also it wasnt that funny and actually a bit depressing at times. The acting was below average and I expected far better. It just wasnt that good, Very overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MarcA.Jun 20, 2007
"Oh, snap! The clever stoner's having a baby!" That's the audience reaction aimed for in Knocked Up. There are some brilliant moments (including every second of Kristen Wiig), but the plot is sloppy, unbelievable and completely "Oh, snap! The clever stoner's having a baby!" That's the audience reaction aimed for in Knocked Up. There are some brilliant moments (including every second of Kristen Wiig), but the plot is sloppy, unbelievable and completely ignorant of real-world class distinctions. A house full of unemployed stoners -- who somehow have a comfortable, worry-free lifestyle -- intersect the clean, judgmental world of an even richer and more comfortable family, and then they all start spouting glib self-help cliches and quoting their favorite movies. Apatow's dialogue is best in its few moments of dry wit, but too often his characters sound like standups at a party, jabbering on with cynical references to pop culture. If you like that stuff, you'll also enjoy the heavy burden of blatant product placement -- more than in a Superbowl broadcast. Seth Rogen is really funny, but it would be more impressive had his talent been used in service of a greater purpose, rather than just going, "Hey, look how quippy Seth Rogen is!" for two hours. Knocked Up could have worked if it had either gone for broad and crazy, or aimed for an organic, realistic story. It fails largely because it tries clumsily to split the difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TonyC.Jun 24, 2007
This movie was just not funny and other audience members by their lack of reaction appeared to agree with me. The plot was dependent on a series of unlikely choices by the female lead - being attracted to this stoner, continuing with the This movie was just not funny and other audience members by their lack of reaction appeared to agree with me. The plot was dependent on a series of unlikely choices by the female lead - being attracted to this stoner, continuing with the pregnancy, wanting to build a relationship, living with her sister and husband, etc. the writing and casting also let the movie down badly Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnD.Jun 5, 2007
I don't know what the big deal it about this film. I went to it this afternoon and I can probably count on one hand the laughs I heard. It was cute, but too long and melodramatic. The second half was painful to sit through... by the one I don't know what the big deal it about this film. I went to it this afternoon and I can probably count on one hand the laughs I heard. It was cute, but too long and melodramatic. The second half was painful to sit through... by the one hour point you are waiting for the movie to end.... quickly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeYSep 26, 2007
don't get it...it's like the "Beck" or "White Stripes" phenomenon...where your supposed to like them and say how brilliant they are, and everybody follows suit - like sheep...but in reality it's just not good at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FabienL'amourSep 30, 2007
can't believe people find this film original... the acting sucks so bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JadeBFeb 15, 2008
Its infuriatingly bad! I'm a big fan of 40 Year Old Virgin & Superbad so I guess I was really disappointed in this movie. The comedy is pretty good to OK but its the underlying story and drama that are just really senseless and weak. A Its infuriatingly bad! I'm a big fan of 40 Year Old Virgin & Superbad so I guess I was really disappointed in this movie. The comedy is pretty good to OK but its the underlying story and drama that are just really senseless and weak. A highly successful 20 something buxom, blond hottie has a drunken 1 night stand with some nice, funny, unemployed, chubby, stoner... she gets pregnant and of course decides to keep the baby and risk her blossoming career AND! and have it with the chubby unemployed stoner whose also an illegal alien from Canada. I'm ok with this to a degree I mean Anchorman & Old School aren't exactly Pride & Prejudice. But Knocked Up isn't content to be a wacky over the top satire, nope it tries to be the poignant 'life lesson' movie. It isn't even a chick flick. Women are portrayed to be irrational crazed assholes and men soulless & gutless bumblers. In short the movie doesn't have any real heart, not enough to get married and have a kid together IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveCDec 29, 2007
Utterly and unforgivably dire. The script wasn't funny, the characters were one dimensional and unconvincing. Haven't seen a film this bad for ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FelixK.Oct 27, 2007
This could have been a lot funnier !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
chrisjOct 27, 2007
Surprisingly bad. Some good lines but not worth the investment. Stay away from the directors cut as it's too bloated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MartinR.Oct 4, 2007
Unoriginal, boring, overrated, full of cliche, overall waste of time and energy. It is a sad statement about current state of mainstream comedy and its reviewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GHJun 13, 2007
You failed to mention that every other word was the F word! Even my husband was sick of hearing it. We saw 3 ladies get up and leave. It would have been a really good show had it not been for that!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jedcSep 26, 2007
Two HOURS AND TEN MINUTES????? Are they kidding? Where are all these "laughs" I kept reading about? I love stupid comedy (Animal House, etc) but come on. Are stupidly snobby stoners really so fresh and funny anymore? It's a bore and Two HOURS AND TEN MINUTES????? Are they kidding? Where are all these "laughs" I kept reading about? I love stupid comedy (Animal House, etc) but come on. Are stupidly snobby stoners really so fresh and funny anymore? It's a bore and been done to DEATH! And the plot makes literally NO sense. Why is she having this baby? What would this girl EVER see in this loser other than possibly a casual frienship at best? What the hell are all thse critics talking about??????? This is "a realistic depiction of life today" as one critic said? Oh come on. And I could forgive everything if it were actually funny, but it isn't. AND TWO HOURS AND TEN MINUTES?!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JaneJun 24, 2009
I'm shocked that this movie got such great reviews from the critics. How much were the critics paid off?! This is a disgusting tasteless movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
I guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjureI guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjure up are based off of some baked character who laughs at anything someone says. Rogen has some talent but he needs to separate himself from anything Apatow and focus in on some real comedy rather than his stoner roles. I am just not seeing peoples fascination with Apatow I have yet to see a movie of his that was quality and Knocked Up just continues the trend of unfunny writing that is just used to glorify pot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
sprinkillFeb 6, 2011
This movie is a corny chick-flick. There's no dark humor in it at all. If that's what you're into, have a blast. If not, then try "Observe and Report," or "Pineapple Express."
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
I'm waiting for when Seth Rogen will grow out of the stoner comedy phase of his career... I think he might actually be talented. For now, I just don't quite get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JimmyK.Aug 13, 2008
This movie is a complete rip-off of a book that came out 6 months before. Plagiarism at its best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful