Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 533 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In this film about a one-night stand with unexpected consequences. Judd Apatow takes comic look at the best thing that will ever ruin your best-laid plans: parenthood. (Universal)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    100
    Ultimately, what makes Knocked Up a terrific film--one of the year's best, easily--is its relaxed, shaggy vibe; if it feels improvised in places, that's because Apatow trusts his actors enough to let them make it up as they go, like the people they're playing.
  2. 100
    Ridiculous comedies can be fine, but the ones that matter creep up close to the truth. This one lives in it.
  3. 90
    Turns out to be not just rude, crude and outrageously funny but a deceptively sophisticated meditation on moral agency -- with pot jokes!
  4. Sweep aside the gross-outs and you've got the family values comedy of the year.
  5. 80
    On the surface, Apatow's films are about sex--obsessively, exclusively, and exhaustively. (This one lasts more than two hours.) But that is a clever feint, for their true subject is age.
  6. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    Knocked Up touches places most comedies wouldn't dare, some of them scarily biological, some of them scarily accurate. It's the sleeper hit of the summer, but don't worry: it's much better than that.
  7. Reviewed by: Josh Rosenblatt
    50
    Like most of Apatow's work, Knocked Up walks a perilous line between sarcasm and sentimentality, and though it's extremely funny in bursts, the movie flirts once too often with schmaltz before toppling into melodrama in its third act. The fault lies as much with Apatow's casting as his writing.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 267
  1. KatieD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Excellent in every way.
  2. NathanL.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    This was freakin' hilarious, who cares if the f word was said a lot, i actually couldn't breathe through half of the movie it was This was freakin' hilarious, who cares if the f word was said a lot, i actually couldn't breathe through half of the movie it was so funny. if you care that much about profanity maybe next time you should go to a G movie, save yourself from having to leave your comfort shell, go watch shrek 3 or something. It has the whole theater cracking up, brilliant movie Expand
  3. MichelleS
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    I have read a few very bad reviews, and apparently they were watching a different movie because this one is freaking hilarious! I have seen I have read a few very bad reviews, and apparently they were watching a different movie because this one is freaking hilarious! I have seen it over and over again, and still laugh just as hard every time. Seth and Katherine are so funny together and I think they make a cute couple. Yes, there were some gross funny parts and stupid funny parts, but I personally think that makes a comedy really funny, a variety of types of jokes. If you haven't seen it, give it a chance. And to those of you who gave it a zero or one, you must not have a sense of humor at all...I understand if you didn't love it, but it deserves more than that. Expand
  4. DaveF.
    Jun 12, 2007
    8
    Not free of schmaltz, but uncommonly honest and nearly as hilarious as 40YOV. If you are uncomfortable with eking comedy from such Not free of schmaltz, but uncommonly honest and nearly as hilarious as 40YOV. If you are uncomfortable with eking comedy from such ickily-real situations as pregnant sex, for the love of God stay home and watch Look Who's Talking, Too. Expand
  5. DerrickF.
    Jun 17, 2007
    5
    I give this movie a 5 because I only laughed about 50% of the time. The other half was spent digesting the gravity of the genuinely serious I give this movie a 5 because I only laughed about 50% of the time. The other half was spent digesting the gravity of the genuinely serious topics raised regarding parenthood and relationships. Expand
  6. NickK.
    Mar 28, 2008
    2
    Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to keep the child mean she has to start dating the father, who she previously (and accurately) wrote off as an ambition-less stoner with no social graces? We are given no basis for their relationship - they have nothing in common and she clearly finds even his speech repulsive - they're just suddenly in love. It's absolute rubbish and the critics are falling over each other to praise it's modernity, presumably because it's not a traditional hollywood romcom. Just because they mention google doesn't make this the f**king 'zeitgeist'! Expand
  7. Isaac
    Jun 2, 2007
    0
    Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental crap and completely pointless plot diversions. Expand

See all 267 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: March 26, 2015
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.