Summit Entertainment | Release Date: March 20, 2009
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 355 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
187
Mixed:
81
Negative:
87
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
JordanR.Mar 22, 2009
just...wow. Intelligence profoundly insulted, I'm even a Nick Cage fan.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
MikeSMar 29, 2009
Trite. Tomato-surprise ending. Fails to suspend disbelief. Plot holes you could drive an asteroid through. Characters you don't care about. And on and on.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ZachridW.Apr 3, 2009
This is one of the most boring and most predictable movies I've ever seen. In fact "Knowing" is the perfect title for it, because I _knew_ the whole story 10 seconds after the boy opened the envelope. So this whole thing was a waste of This is one of the most boring and most predictable movies I've ever seen. In fact "Knowing" is the perfect title for it, because I _knew_ the whole story 10 seconds after the boy opened the envelope. So this whole thing was a waste of time. [THIS CONTAINS SPOLIERS!] It's a far below-average "The world ends next Thursday"-flick. And perhaps the plot-twist, that judgement day is upon Nicolas Cage, would have been surprising to someone, if they haven't already given it away in the movie-posters. You know that the world will end, that there is nothing Mr.Cage can do about it, you know that these guys are aliens and you know that they will take the kids with them and blahblahblah... the whole story seems to be assembled out of a "screenplay-construction-kit" or they just pulled cards with tags like "aliens", "end of the world" and "foresight" on it, and filled the gaps with special-effects. ...oh ok, well the special effects are good. So the movie feels like something M. Night Shyamalan and Roland Emmerich threw up on a tequila driven night. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
ChristofRApr 7, 2009
Nice action sequences - That's all. Ridiculous plot. Ridiculous acting. So many cinematic mistakes. Don't watch it - It isn't worth any money to spent!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TimHJul 10, 2009
This movie scared me straight! I now believe in Jesus and couldn't be happier!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
CharlesDJul 9, 2009
This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of this film is dire, the first 30 minutes are quite good, which is why this film gets 2 stars instead of 0, but after that the plot decends into madness and the director manages to get out of his own labyrinthine plot by using aliens/angels and explaining nothing very well at all. do not waste your money on this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ScottV.Aug 1, 2009
Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% pointless once you see the ending, so why did I waste all of my time trying to understand the meaning of everything happening up to the ending, because I was stupid to rent it! I won't spoil the ending for you just in case you feel like wasting almost 2 hours of your life but the only highlight of the movie was a cgi plane crash somewhere in the middle of the movie (again, this was totally pointless to the ending). Even the critics were kind in their reviews! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
joehJan 18, 2010
It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the other you have gaping holes so big you'd think they were made by a Boeing 747. Not only is it stupid, but pretentious at the same time, talk about a real winning combination. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JenniferMOct 17, 2009
This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses was horrible. the story was even strange & choppy, special effects looked so fake, and it feels like they were trying too hard.. I watched with with an 11year old who even said how horrible this movie was. It's too bad. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
WilliamW.Aug 29, 2009
I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel through space, etc, then why choose all this weird ambiguous whispering and symbolic nonesense to get people to do as they're told. It makes less than no sense. Plot wise this is complete drivel, only some ok CGI saves about five minutes of this movie. Cage is terrible, mostly because his lines are so stupid, at times he actually explains plot points out loud as if the audience were as dim witted as the writers. Avoid. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
kgmMar 28, 2009
Cage plays a MIT professor in possession of a secret code that seems to predict disasters with unerring accuracy. The setup to this is actually fairly well done and the movie works well but then it drifts into some sort of pseudo-religious, Cage plays a MIT professor in possession of a secret code that seems to predict disasters with unerring accuracy. The setup to this is actually fairly well done and the movie works well but then it drifts into some sort of pseudo-religious, pseudo-alien mumbo jumbo and as Revelation 3:16 so eloquently states: Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PeterApr 1, 2009
This is quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen, patronising and confusing at the same time. Without giving away any spoilers the end just doesn't make sense and there's a nasty anti science subtext (He's a bad This is quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen, patronising and confusing at the same time. Without giving away any spoilers the end just doesn't make sense and there's a nasty anti science subtext (He's a bad father because he's a scientist?). On top of this the effects and acting are seriously sub par. There is also the somewhat offensive use of real life disaster-esque footage for entertainment purposes with far too many essentially pointless shots of horrific daths. I can't even recommend this as a so-bad-its-good film. I honestly don't understand how anyone thought this was good. It's not entertaining, thought provoking or inspiring. It's just bad. I want my money, and worse, 2 hours of my life, back. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JimFApr 4, 2009
Given the presence of Nicholas Cage, who can go under the radar and succeed, as he did in last year's way-underrated "Next", and Alex Proyas, who has shown himself to be an innovative, often visionary director of action, "Knowing" has Given the presence of Nicholas Cage, who can go under the radar and succeed, as he did in last year's way-underrated "Next", and Alex Proyas, who has shown himself to be an innovative, often visionary director of action, "Knowing" has to be considered a major disappointment. Is Hollywood so clueless about real religious experience that it thinks it proceeds from depression to complete skepticism to fanatical certainty based on some numbers scrawled by a young girl and placed in a time capsule 50 years earlier. It;s enough to give credibility and substance to Bill Maher's adolescent view of religion in "Religulous". However, Proyas can still direct a great action sequence. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
muhammadsApr 6, 2009
I KNOW never to let my idiot friends choose what movie to watch next time!!! black stones, albinos, aliens and spaceships, and nicolas cage (bad acting -same thing- ). seriously, why is nicolas cage acting when he can't act??? This movieI KNOW never to let my idiot friends choose what movie to watch next time!!! black stones, albinos, aliens and spaceships, and nicolas cage (bad acting -same thing- ). seriously, why is nicolas cage acting when he can't act??? This movie was only half as bad as i had expected it to be up till the part where you find out that the albinos are actually aliens, who are actually god, and who are trying to save the human race from it's apparent doom according to whispers that only two children can hear, and a series of numbers only nicolas cage can interpret... don't watch this movie even if you are tied to a chair with your eyes held open and a gun pointed to your head with the threat that if you don't watch your head will be blown off... it's that bad. and i'm not saying that just because i don't like nicolas cage. ok maybe a little. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DenisdodokonyeroApr 9, 2009
Full or flaws but a damn good movie. OMG, the effects of the accident scenes....blew my mind.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
caporegimeJun 15, 2009
This is like your inside the mind of an elementary student daydreaming.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Lauren2Jul 10, 2009
One thing's for sure, if Armageddon every actually does happen, it couldn't possibly be as bad as this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NRJul 27, 2009
This movie is confusing, illogical and rife with poor acting. Worst, it's slow moving and boring. This movie makes me sad for the state of Hollywood.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RonaldS.Mar 21, 2009
"But it is Caleb's father, professor John Koestler, who makes the startling discovery that the encoded message predicts with pinpoint accuracy the dates, death tolls and coordinates of every major disaster of the past 50 years. As Ted "But it is Caleb's father, professor John Koestler, who makes the startling discovery that the encoded message predicts with pinpoint accuracy the dates, death tolls and coordinates of every major disaster of the past 50 years. As Ted further unravels the document's chilling secrets," In Metacritics synopsis, who the heck is Ted? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DaveWMar 23, 2009
Too many plots to develop one working story with disturbing high-budget disaster scenes you'd expect to see in a Final Destination flick.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StevenWMar 24, 2009
This is seriously one of the worst movies I have seen. The plot was stupid, the acting was terrible, and the script was also bad. It might seem good to those children in the range of 10 to 13 years old simple because of the special effects This is seriously one of the worst movies I have seen. The plot was stupid, the acting was terrible, and the script was also bad. It might seem good to those children in the range of 10 to 13 years old simple because of the special effects and a few eerie scenes but other than that it is terrible. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NancyB.Mar 28, 2009
Absolutely awful. Cage is a joke with his wide eyed wonderment. Plot made no sense, they couldn't figure out if they wanted aliens or angels. Gave it a 1 instead of 0 because, for some unknown reason, I didn't walk out.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TomDMar 29, 2009
Terrible film. I think at one point i caught a glimpse of the release date of the movie on that list of his.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoeS.Apr 1, 2009
God-awful. Just horrific. How can anybody like this?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RKZApr 30, 2009
So, a genius mathematician uses a white board to track the number progression when he could throw it into the computer and get a quick answer? And a 10-year-old boy doesn't know enough not to approach a car with a stranger driving? And So, a genius mathematician uses a white board to track the number progression when he could throw it into the computer and get a quick answer? And a 10-year-old boy doesn't know enough not to approach a car with a stranger driving? And the ending is even worse! Not much here to recommend--bad writing, bad writing, and walk-through performances. Did I say bad writing? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulWApr 3, 2009
This movie is much better than the meta score given by the "critics." I was going to blow the movie off, based on the OVERWHELMING poor reviews. But then I saw that Roger Ebert, one of the three critics whose reviews I value, rated it This movie is much better than the meta score given by the "critics." I was going to blow the movie off, based on the OVERWHELMING poor reviews. But then I saw that Roger Ebert, one of the three critics whose reviews I value, rated it highly. I was pleasantly surprised. The story line was interesting, the CGI off the chain, and the ending somewhat surprising. In truth, I believe the conflict between the users overall score and the metacritic score turns on the anti-religious posturing of many media critics. I'm not making any value judgments for or against religion or spirtuality - merely commenting on most media critics response to movies with underlying spiritual themes (see the LA Weekly review). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EnzoP.Jun 22, 2009
Pathetic! The start and the middle of the movie were ok. But, the ending is so stupid you would never want to even talk about the movie. Knowing is probably the worst movie of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MissyMouseJun 24, 2009
Good start . Epic failure ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DanielV.Jul 10, 2009
Can not say that I enjoyed this movie to its fullest, or anywhere close to it. To be honest, it wasn't very good, and parts of the plot was ridiculous. However, not a terrible movie. Ill recommended for a buy, unless you really want to; Can not say that I enjoyed this movie to its fullest, or anywhere close to it. To be honest, it wasn't very good, and parts of the plot was ridiculous. However, not a terrible movie. Ill recommended for a buy, unless you really want to; So, renting it would be better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DOJul 27, 2009
Pathetic...this was one of the most stupid, predicted movie I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful