User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 328 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 328
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2014
    3
    No, no, no. Why are there movies like this. Have you ever seen good movie with Cage? I havenť yet. This movie has great beginning, but after few minutes is just piece of s****. I can't believe that I saw ending... Great atmosphere, stupid acting, stupid script.. waste of your time
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    " The numbers are the key to everything." - John Koestler

    This movie is one of the best movies i ever seen. Special effects are ok but the story I liked the most.
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    The premise and the beginning of this movie were good. I really wanted to like it, and I did all but for the last half an hour or so... I have to say I was almost mad at how poorly they ended the movie. I can deal with the whole concept, but the execution was so lame that I didn't know if it was supposed to be like a sad joke or not.

    The acting was... decent. The characters and the
    The premise and the beginning of this movie were good. I really wanted to like it, and I did all but for the last half an hour or so... I have to say I was almost mad at how poorly they ended the movie. I can deal with the whole concept, but the execution was so lame that I didn't know if it was supposed to be like a sad joke or not.

    The acting was... decent. The characters and the setting were clearly introduced from the beginning, but it all crash-landed the closer to the ending the movie got.

    Everything about this movie was pretty much perfect before the whole "Whisperer" aspect was brought into it. Sure, the creepy people were seen from time to time, but the truth was so much lamer than what my imagination was cooking up. (My fiend spoiled me before I saw the movie, so I knew what they most likely were... which spared me from further outrage over the **** ending, truth to be told.)

    I keep wishing they would have come to another solution - or labelled this movie differently from the beginning. Now it seemed more like the writers wrote a beginning and then had to hurry while deciding how to end such a great concept.

    Falling plane and crashing subways... for a PG-13 rated movie "Knowing" had a lot of violence: people dying, burning to death, screaming and being crushed beneath masses of metal sliding over them. The details weren't overly gruesome, but the scenes of destruction were well made in my opinion. Touching and poetic in a way, yet filled with truthful and realistic havoc.
    Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    Knowing is depressing, incoherent, quirky, and bad all around. This is one of the worst movies I've seen, as well as being one of Nicolas Cage's worst performances. Not that I'm surprised.
  5. Dec 14, 2013
    4
    The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film.The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film. Don't miss about 120 minutes of your lives. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    3
    Knowing proves that ignorance is bliss.
    The movie begins with an extremely interesting concept, and it continues to succeed with suspense. The acting was bad, but the movie seems to have a good plot going. Then comes an absolutely terrible ending with atrocious writing as if somebodies five year old decided to finish the movie.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    Nicolas Cage proves to be a complete idiot once again; this time in Knowing. Despite it's extremely intriguing concept, it is shattered by other elements. "Whisper people"... enough said. The implied Adam and Eve. Question: why the hell would you make a hearing-impaired kid be Adam? Yeah, lets just pass on the genetic dysfunction of his hearing impairment onto future offspring. TotallyNicolas Cage proves to be a complete idiot once again; this time in Knowing. Despite it's extremely intriguing concept, it is shattered by other elements. "Whisper people"... enough said. The implied Adam and Eve. Question: why the hell would you make a hearing-impaired kid be Adam? Yeah, lets just pass on the genetic dysfunction of his hearing impairment onto future offspring. Totally ideal... NOT!! The movie fails utterly; especially at that precise moment where we are provide EE backwards: "Everyone Else"...

    What the hell was the point of watching this movie when nothing gets solved? We're left with the sun blowing up and a crispy-fried Cage. Disgusting... and why is it not surprising that he once again dies in his movie? It was once again an unwarranted death; a pointless one; as pointless as this movie.
    Expand
  8. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    A cleverly made movie depicting what the end of the world could be like. It has you hanging on all the way through, though the second time I watched this, it wasn't as enjoyable as I already knew what was going to happen. The movie relies heavily on suspense, but at the same time, the plot line's quite clever
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    One of the worst films of 2009, which is weird because Alex Proyas generally is a solid director. The premise behind the film is actually quite interesting, but the ending...the ending is so random; the film builds up to this last moment only to collapse into total garbage. Knowing stole 2 hours from my life. A total disappointment! Avoid.
  10. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    The movie is a slow build up to an ending that is not surprising because the whole movie is building up to the undeniable end that was boring in the first place.
  11. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Made by the Mayas to warn us of the impeding doom, or was it by Summit entertainment to empty our pockets? All joking aside, this exellent doomsday film looks gorgeous in nice desaturated sephia-like tones with razor sharp imagery captured on the RED One camera. The film does take some time to get going but it's well acted (by Mr.Cage), has a brooding atmosphere and a satisfying ending.Made by the Mayas to warn us of the impeding doom, or was it by Summit entertainment to empty our pockets? All joking aside, this exellent doomsday film looks gorgeous in nice desaturated sephia-like tones with razor sharp imagery captured on the RED One camera. The film does take some time to get going but it's well acted (by Mr.Cage), has a brooding atmosphere and a satisfying ending. One of the better Alex Proyas films! Expand
  12. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    I can't actually put my finger on the reason why this film wasn't that good but it wasn't. The plot as a whole is fairly intelligent but I think it must be the acting and could even be something as minor as the soundtrack. Anyway sorry for the lack of information in this review, I am genuinely confused by this film.
  13. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    An atrocious mess of plot threads that go no where, a pathetic use of the bait-and-switch tactic, and cringe worthy performances from all of the main leads - especially Nicolas Cage. Why do people keep casting him in serious roles? Give him more roles like Kick Ass, he's actually good at those! There is absolutely no consistency in the film's stupid attempt at a mystery-thriller story. ToAn atrocious mess of plot threads that go no where, a pathetic use of the bait-and-switch tactic, and cringe worthy performances from all of the main leads - especially Nicolas Cage. Why do people keep casting him in serious roles? Give him more roles like Kick Ass, he's actually good at those! There is absolutely no consistency in the film's stupid attempt at a mystery-thriller story. To slightly paraphrase A.O. Scott, - you will long for the end of the world watching this movie. Expand
  14. May 23, 2012
    6
    First of all, the plot was not that good. I do love the concept of the movie. But I was disappointed with Nicholas Cage's performance. I gave a 6 because the special effects from the accidents was amazing and its supporting cast did a nice job. But because of the lead actor's poor performance and the lack of excitement and surprise in the plot, the special effects and the supporting castFirst of all, the plot was not that good. I do love the concept of the movie. But I was disappointed with Nicholas Cage's performance. I gave a 6 because the special effects from the accidents was amazing and its supporting cast did a nice job. But because of the lead actor's poor performance and the lack of excitement and surprise in the plot, the special effects and the supporting cast was overshadowed............ Expand
  15. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Why such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a largeWhy such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a large demographic? Poor taste.To those of you who fly, please avoid this movie. Rated XXX for graphic, horiffic violence. Expand
  16. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    Knowing is smart and suspenseful. It keeps you guessing and it is scary when it needs to be. One of the most important things about this movie is that it will make sense once you understand the mystery of it all.
  17. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    The first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and anThe first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and an orgiastic bout of SFX. In the film's final moments, disbelief isn't just suspended, it's hung, drawn and quartered on the alter of stupid CGI. Expand
  18. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    Even though knowings ending is somewhat preposterous and flawed one cannot put down a entire film that was quite well done. The movie had attachment to its characters and lots of depth to the story and themes. The film was visually stuning. Although the ending for some and myself included feels preposterous it fits with the themes and is also visually stuning.
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    This is a good film, but it wonders too and fro throughout a hectic plot far too much. It starts out solid, gets lost in the muddle in between, and then comes back strong for the finish. It's in that middle ground that this film fails to captivate and keep the viewer satisfied. As always, Cage is believable and entertaining, but even his spazzoid performance could not keep the core of thisThis is a good film, but it wonders too and fro throughout a hectic plot far too much. It starts out solid, gets lost in the muddle in between, and then comes back strong for the finish. It's in that middle ground that this film fails to captivate and keep the viewer satisfied. As always, Cage is believable and entertaining, but even his spazzoid performance could not keep the core of this film from sagging. The aliens are nothing new, but their presence throughout the film is intriguing and spooky. All in all, a stronger center would have sky-rocketed this film to a much higher critique. Expand
  20. Oct 31, 2011
    2
    OMG, that was such a bad movie! Even though my expectations were not very high (just watching an entertaining movie), I was so disappointed and bored! Nicolas Cage is annoying, not to say unbearable. The storyline is a mix of cliché ideas and could be summarized in three lines! The characters have no depth, the story is always floating on a surface... the many questions raisedOMG, that was such a bad movie! Even though my expectations were not very high (just watching an entertaining movie), I was so disappointed and bored! Nicolas Cage is annoying, not to say unbearable. The storyline is a mix of cliché ideas and could be summarized in three lines! The characters have no depth, the story is always floating on a surface... the many questions raised throughout the movie are really not answered, not to mention all inconsistencies (it's ok to have some but here it seem the writers did not even care about making sense!). The 10 minutes finale scene is useless... you can just take this time to make some more tea and chose the next movie so you won't have the impression you have completely wasted your evening! Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie with decent acting, editing, and camera, with a good suspense buildup. What went wrong? The ending. It just threw EVERYTHING good about it into the rubbish bin. It came out of nowhere, made no sense, was over-dramatized, and turned the entire thing into a religious film. Expand
  22. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I thought this movie was amazing, the best I've seen in a while. The plotline was cool and the special effects were amazing. Nicolas cage and Rose Byrne were awesome in it. I can't believe how some people didn't like this movie.
  23. Apr 3, 2011
    6
    I think it not SO BAD. Cheesy and absurd plot I admitted but this flick still make us believe earth will destroy someday. Nicholas Cage not wrong picks, well if you jump to 2011, you will see how bad Season of The Witch.
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty good at the beginning, I thought the storyline was really cool. But then it involved Aliens. The ending was horrible like what is Nicholas Cage supposed to tell the authorities....."Oh, I just let my son and my friends daughter go on an Alien spacecraft" Overall a pretty stupid movie. Expand
  25. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    Over time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap operaOver time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap opera episode, and then finally into a certain very famous Spielberg movie (you'll know when you see it). Some of the dialogue is almost the same by the end. The audience was laughing all the way out of the theater at how moronic the whole thing was. so for those theater leaving laughs I will bump this movie up to a 1/10 Expand
  26. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it very difficult to suspend my disbelief system in order to enjoy this movie.

    Don't get me wrong, I like Nicolas Cage, but Jesus dude, couldn't you pick a better script than this? Oh, yeah, tax issues, gotta pay the man.

    When I first saw this movie I thought it was from the same people who made The Happening, but I see that it was from another moron who knows every thing about the technical side of movies but nothing about good scripts and directing.

    I don't think a 1,000 writers with a 1,000 re-writes could have made this a good enough movie to waste money on and it is a good thing I got to see it for free.
    Expand
  27. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome film!! They did a great job of mixing Religion and science together. It is very rare for anyone to tell a story of these two coexisting but yet, this movie did! Just awesome! Ending was very satisfying and it did not let you down like most films do.
  28. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    This movie was really interesting from the getgo. It was suspenseful, sci-fi, interesting, and damn it had potential. Each minute it was building up on its strong premise really nicely. And when i first saw it it was pretty scary at times. The only flaw: the ending. It completely fell apart and it went from Knowing to, frolicking in a meadow. This really hurt my enjoyment of the film. ButThis movie was really interesting from the getgo. It was suspenseful, sci-fi, interesting, and damn it had potential. Each minute it was building up on its strong premise really nicely. And when i first saw it it was pretty scary at times. The only flaw: the ending. It completely fell apart and it went from Knowing to, frolicking in a meadow. This really hurt my enjoyment of the film. But hey, it still is enjoyable. Expand
  29. Oct 3, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Knowing's writer needs to have an IQ check. While the film was enjoyable, the logic was just horrible. if your going to make aliens come to preserve the human race, then they either shouldn't predict the future, except maybe the solar flare, or they just shouldn't be aliens. The aliens were a little bit unexpected after you see the pictures of God and the sun or the priest dad. Otherwise, great film. Expand
  30. Sep 25, 2010
    9
    The film starts out as a sort of silly cliché idea about the ability to see the future. It expands into so much more, though. Everything throughout is intense and well-designed. The dialogue is nothing to write home about, but the actual characters are very human. You never know what is going to happen next, despite the inevitable being made pretty obvious with the wholeThe film starts out as a sort of silly cliché idea about the ability to see the future. It expands into so much more, though. Everything throughout is intense and well-designed. The dialogue is nothing to write home about, but the actual characters are very human. You never know what is going to happen next, despite the inevitable being made pretty obvious with the whole "code-that-forsees-disasters" thing. The best thing about the film is its philosophical parts. Much of its story is very symbolic of Biblical tales. By no means is it preachy, but it certainly provides ideologically sensitive material. Overall, this film is not perfect, but its unique journey through humanity and their reaction to the impending end of the world is brilliant. Expand
  31. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie starts up as an interesting story, how the professor, Cage, discovers the true story about the letter. It gets kind-a creepy when the "men in black" enter the scene. It uses the normal cliches to create unneeded tension, AKA "mysterious men who disappear when you look back" and so on.
    The story keeps going down slowly through the film, but it isn't a bad film to watch.
    Just remember that this is not the "ultimate" film you will remember after years have past.
    Or you might remember the end. It just plain sucked. Yea.
    Expand
  32. Aug 27, 2010
    3
    The plot errors and bad writing seem to be the least of this movie's worries, and considering the movie's flaws, that's saying a lot.... Nicolas Cage has never looked so ridiculous (ok, that's a lie, but I need to fill the 150 character count)
  33. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Analisado com o devido escrutinio e bom-senso, o enredo focado no debate sobre a regencia do Universo pelo determinismo ou pela aleatoriedade carece de sentido. Isso pouco importa ante a precisao com a qual o responsavel pelo visionario "Cidade das Sombras" manipula nossas expectativas, sujeitando-nos a visoes aterrorizantes de catastrofes misteriosamente profetizadas, que eclodem na telaAnalisado com o devido escrutinio e bom-senso, o enredo focado no debate sobre a regencia do Universo pelo determinismo ou pela aleatoriedade carece de sentido. Isso pouco importa ante a precisao com a qual o responsavel pelo visionario "Cidade das Sombras" manipula nossas expectativas, sujeitando-nos a visoes aterrorizantes de catastrofes misteriosamente profetizadas, que eclodem na tela de maneira inesperada. Entre cada sequencia de destruicao, e mantida uma atmosfera de inevitabilidade, misterio e ameaça, fazendo com que nenhum segmento da narrativa esmoreca em folego. Cliches flagrantes como o relacionamento complicado entre o pai viuvo (Cage) e seu filhinho precoce adquirem verossimilhanca gracas ao texto bem lapidado. "Pressagio" alcanca estados sublimes de imageria sci-fi em seu derradeiro ato, consolidando Proyas como o midas do genero desde que se lancou em meados dos anos 90. Expand
  34. Aug 16, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. okay, the film was nicely made and the story worked for itself and it was quite simple but catching and tense. but there is one big problem. why on earth would the aliens play with people by giving them cryptic messages, being mysterious weirdos and throwing black stones around for fifty years, if they can simply come, take the kids and go away?! ah, i know, then there wouldn't be any movie... Expand
  35. joeh
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the other you have gaping holes so big you'd think they were made by a Boeing 747. Not only is it stupid, but pretentious at the same time, talk about a It felt like this movie was written by a group of brooding college students with too much time on their hands. While on one hand you have plot points so meticulously constructed that you forget there is an actual story unfoldidng, on the other you have gaping holes so big you'd think they were made by a Boeing 747. Not only is it stupid, but pretentious at the same time, talk about a real winning combination. Expand
  36. JackM
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Great movie, way to go on the Christian symbolisms. The pebble is most likely Jesus for without Jesus theres no salvation. Only the children get saved because God requires "child like" faith to enter heaven, the aliens are actually angels come to pickup the faithful before the disaster of the world just like the Rapture event. And only those who hear the call will be saved (call to Great movie, way to go on the Christian symbolisms. The pebble is most likely Jesus for without Jesus theres no salvation. Only the children get saved because God requires "child like" faith to enter heaven, the aliens are actually angels come to pickup the faithful before the disaster of the world just like the Rapture event. And only those who hear the call will be saved (call to Christian salvation) Those who hear the whispers are basically Christians considered by the Godless to be weird even psychotic. Yet in the end they were the ones saved. Expand
  37. KennyO
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    I thought the soundtrack was good. Reminds me of those 1950s horror films. The disaster scenes were very well executed. The story is grim and depressing. For some people/critics who cannot accept such a storyline (end of the world) may ridicule it.
  38. PJC
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    You have to understand bible and bible prophecy to truly appreciate the literary beauty of this film. Study the author and the license he allowed the director to take and you'll appreciate it more.
  39. BenD
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Comedy of the year! The final reel's dialogue is the stuff of comedic genius. Problem is someone should have told the scriptwriter that it wasn't a comedy in the first place.
  40. JenniferM
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses was horrible. the story was even strange & choppy, special effects looked so fake, and it feels like they were trying too hard.. I watched with with This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It didn't flow well and half way in, when you didn't think it could get any worse, It DID! I love Nicolas Cage but I couldn't in this. His acting along with everyone elses was horrible. the story was even strange & choppy, special effects looked so fake, and it feels like they were trying too hard.. I watched with with an 11year old who even said how horrible this movie was. It's too bad. Expand
  41. AminE.
    Oct 9, 2009
    6
    Doomsday coming...! thats the point, no godzilla, no dracula, no zombie. no any ludicrous stranger things. but its like kidding.
  42. DerekL.
    Sep 18, 2009
    4
    If you really hate the Earth, this is a film for you. Set to an odd soundtrack and loosely bound to a very cheezy plot, this film had a good ambition. It also grasped suspense. Instead of jumping when a zombie leaps out of a corner, you know that something will happen, but are genuinely suprised when it happens. Then there are the numerous flaws. Here's the short list: A bad If you really hate the Earth, this is a film for you. Set to an odd soundtrack and loosely bound to a very cheezy plot, this film had a good ambition. It also grasped suspense. Instead of jumping when a zombie leaps out of a corner, you know that something will happen, but are genuinely suprised when it happens. Then there are the numerous flaws. Here's the short list: A bad soundtrack, bad actors, a loose plot, and numerous other flaws abound. Also, in the ending (spoiler) all the movie shows is the Earth getting vaporized and then two kids dropping bunnies and running to a tree. What gives? Let me have my 121 miniutes back, Alex Proyas! Expand
  43. EricE.
    Sep 8, 2009
    8
    I really liked this movie. Not your typical ending but it was a great thrillride on the way in my opinion.
  44. RobertI.
    Sep 5, 2009
    7
    A movie that relies more on psychological doubt than literal representation, it can make your hair stand up. A few scenes, such as a crashing plane, provide enough realism to underscore the unknown. A top-tier psycho-sci-fi.
  45. WilliamW.
    Aug 29, 2009
    1
    I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel through space, etc, then why choose all this weird ambiguous whispering and symbolic nonesense to get people to do as they're told. It makes less I give this a 1 for almost keeping me interested at the start, but it very quickly turns into one of the dumbest big budget films played with a straight face I've ever seen. SPOILER ALERT - if higher beings know the future, can travel through space, etc, then why choose all this weird ambiguous whispering and symbolic nonesense to get people to do as they're told. It makes less than no sense. Plot wise this is complete drivel, only some ok CGI saves about five minutes of this movie. Cage is terrible, mostly because his lines are so stupid, at times he actually explains plot points out loud as if the audience were as dim witted as the writers. Avoid. Expand
  46. MikeH.
    Aug 29, 2009
    0
    Why does nicolas cage keep getting acting jobs? he's dreadful! he displayed one facial expression throughout the entire movie, a movie which would have been terrible even with a decent main actor. albinos, aliens, black pebbles, spacecrafts, adam and eve, and still the most unbelievable part was nicolas cage's acting.
  47. JorgeM.
    Aug 28, 2009
    8
    This movie is probably the most underrated flim of all time its actually awesome and the ending was great!!!!!!!!!!
  48. shaune
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    At no point are you bored. character development is a bit lacking and that's what i imagine the critics are moaning about. otherwise, a suspenseful, fun, original movie. box office doesn't lie.
  49. DeeD
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    I'm not a religion nut...haven't been to church in 20 years......but I look at this film as explaining the crazyness of the Revelations chapter of the bible, in scientific terms........if you read the book of Revelations ...you would think that it doesn't make any logical sense...and it's NO WAY.....if 12 year old kids saw this stuff happening...this is how they mayI'm not a religion nut...haven't been to church in 20 years......but I look at this film as explaining the crazyness of the Revelations chapter of the bible, in scientific terms........if you read the book of Revelations ...you would think that it doesn't make any logical sense...and it's NO WAY.....if 12 year old kids saw this stuff happening...this is how they may remember it, or pass it down to the next generations.......I live in Florida..and some people drive 1000 miles to save some turtles, and Sea World would spend $1,000,000 to try to say a whale....my wife MAKES my save spiders I catch in the house (and put them outside)...and 15 years ago..we were driving, and a cat ran out in front of me....and I hit it...she made me, run around for 20 minutes to catch the cat, and take the cat to a vet and spend $200...also WE can predict some major weather events....wouldn't it seem logical if some advanced life form, could predict our impending doom because of their super advanced scientific knowledge, they would try to save some of us, and help us by moving a few of us to a new safe location, the same as somebody would help a turtle out of a busy road (and its 100% sure death) and relocate it to some safe spot...we are always trying to save any animals from extinction....and spending $millions...I think that advanced life forms would do it too......my view of the movie is that they want you to think that this happened before...maybe 5000 years ago, some children were saved, and their adventure was written into the bible........and to go further......maybe every 5000 years......our planets become useless.... and some super advanced being (just like a zoo keeper, of a pet owner) keeps saving us ,and relocating a few of use to a new world with a "tree of life".....in the movie's story, it happened before to some children.....Adam and Eve, and through their viewpoints and stories passed down...the bible was written.......in the start of the movie, they say millions of planets could support life...so maybe every 5000-10000 years it happens over and over...and these advanced beings are seen as angels, and also you could throw in that they created life in their mirror image (like the bible says)....even thought they only changed thier looks so they did not freak out everyone while they were trying to save some people,they only wanted to blend in......also the part in the bible..those that heard the call were the ones choosen...the whispers were the call...and they chose the ones to be best fit.....and ready soon to start reproducing to start a new world....and there were more spaceships...so other animals and children were saved....some fo these critics say Mr Cage was too serious....I don't think too many MIT professors would be acting like clowns.......I agree with Roger Ebert...100 out of 100...I think the movie was right on target.....the perfect union of science and religion...or explaining religion in more scientific terms....I also give the movie a 100 out of 100 for coming up with a new "End of the World" idea that I never heard of before....why couldn't it happen?....if it happens every 300,000 years... would you be reading about it in some Roman scrolls?...I THINK NOT.....we can't even stop a cold, aids, or swine flu...I'm sure we will not be able to predict the end of the world...and I thought I heard all of the end of the world ideas...this one is original !!!!!!!!!.......most of those critics are CRAZY>>>>>>>> Expand
  50. MikeL
    Aug 20, 2009
    4
    This movie tries to create an M. Night Shyamalan type of "twist"; however, it twists itself too far and becomes confusing and disconnected. The movie never knows whether it is a disaster flick, a horror film, a sci-fi thriller, or a mystery. Unfortunately, it isn't any of them.
  51. ManusA
    Aug 18, 2009
    4
    This was one of the biggest disappointments I have ever seen. It lacked emotion throughout, the performances literally felt non-existent, and the ending DID NOT WORK.
  52. AndrewS
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? What does a rail crash have to do with the apocalyptic end? The destruction of the earth isn't really a new concept and it is brave to go along This film doesn't really figure out what it wants to be. Is it science vs religion? Or just a straight action film? The plot holes are so huge its mind blowing. Why would aliens tell a little girl that bad events are going to happen? What does a rail crash have to do with the apocalyptic end? The destruction of the earth isn't really a new concept and it is brave to go along with it (which I guess is what some of the critics that gave positive reviews are referring to). But the hokum of the aliens taking two children to repopulate a new planet? Why only two? The space ship is massive! And what are the black stones for? This film could have been really good, but just ended up a mess. Its worth seeing for the plane crash and subsequent scene, the rest mmfftt. Expand
  53. ColinC
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    Enjoyable. And creepy. I bumped this film from a seven (for story and acting - okay, not great) up to an 8 based on a couple of awesome set action pieces. Good stuff, especially if you've got a widescreen and surround sound.
  54. SteveW
    Aug 10, 2009
    4
    Mildly entertaining but overall disappointment. Not even worth renting on DVD.
  55. JHH
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    One of the most entertaining family fare we have watched this year! Some scenes too strong for the faint of heart and although the conclusion is predictable, it is nonetheless rewarding.
  56. ScottV.
    Aug 1, 2009
    3
    Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% pointless once you see the ending, so why did I waste all of my time trying to understand the meaning of everything happening up to the ending, because I was Stupid is the best word to describe this movie. After viewing the ending, everything that happened prior to it is totally irrelevant and played NO part in the entire movie! Yes that's right the entire plot of this movie is 100% pointless once you see the ending, so why did I waste all of my time trying to understand the meaning of everything happening up to the ending, because I was stupid to rent it! I won't spoil the ending for you just in case you feel like wasting almost 2 hours of your life but the only highlight of the movie was a cgi plane crash somewhere in the middle of the movie (again, this was totally pointless to the ending). Even the critics were kind in their reviews! Expand
  57. DeanD
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    I was astounded when I noticed Roger Ebert voted this movie a "10' when most other reviewers voted this movie much lower. I read some of the User comments about why they didn't like the movie. Some of them admitting they were unable to understand the movie. I do not think it's wise to broadcast one's intellectual shortcomings on the Internet. Then I read Roger I was astounded when I noticed Roger Ebert voted this movie a "10' when most other reviewers voted this movie much lower. I read some of the User comments about why they didn't like the movie. Some of them admitting they were unable to understand the movie. I do not think it's wise to broadcast one's intellectual shortcomings on the Internet. Then I read Roger Ebert's review in which he substantiated his high score. His review is comprehensive and to me...makes sense. My whole family (ages 9-46) watched this movie and everyone of us enjoyed this movie. Expand
  58. DennisS
    Jul 28, 2009
    0
    Seriously disappointing film. Slow and plodding, unnecessary profanity, poor graphics.. and who wants to see a herd of wildlife on fire? Then there is the whole spiritual mess that the film developed. This is, in my opinion, the worst Cage film I've seen and certainly isn't worth the time or dollars to see it.
  59. DonaldI
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    An almost perfect movie. Striking the right blend between science fiction with a morality play worthy of the old Outer Limits and a 70's disaster flick, this movie, starring Nicholas Cage is a surprising treat. The special effects may draw you in, but this film has so much more to offer than that. Thought provoking and intelligent. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Unless..... you An almost perfect movie. Striking the right blend between science fiction with a morality play worthy of the old Outer Limits and a 70's disaster flick, this movie, starring Nicholas Cage is a surprising treat. The special effects may draw you in, but this film has so much more to offer than that. Thought provoking and intelligent. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Unless..... you don't wish to have any preconceived notions about spirituality you might have be challenged. The movie does tend to draw extreme reactions from some people due to it's subject matter. So much the better. Great films will do that. Expand
  60. DO
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    Pathetic...this was one of the most stupid, predicted movie I have ever seen.
  61. BillH
    Jul 27, 2009
    8
    Surprising to me no critic saw the 4 men in black as The Four Horsemen of the Apocalyspe or made ties to Mayan preditions (numbers) to holocast in 2012 or to the Nostradamus predictions about the end of the earth in 2012. It is also the year scientists say there will be a massive alignment of the planets. Interesting how they tied it into a super-massive C.M.E. (coronal mass ejection).
  62. NR
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    This movie is confusing, illogical and rife with poor acting. Worst, it's slow moving and boring. This movie makes me sad for the state of Hollywood.
  63. JohanJ
    Jul 23, 2009
    8
    Very good movie.
  64. lordolunchl
    Jul 21, 2009
    4
    The movie had some genuinely good moments in it. The disaster scenes looked great, and the final disaster looked almost amazing. It had some really interesting things in it, its just that the dialogue in the movie was AWFUL. I can stand poorly written movies, and this one was super crappy. If it had been better written, it could have been an amazing movie.
  65. TonyB.
    Jul 19, 2009
    6
    This was a pleasant surprise and deserved better treatment from the critics and better support from the public. It would have been even more successful if the lead role had not been given to Nicolas Cage, probably the poorest major actor in America today. Rose Byrne, however, was fine.
  66. HyperS
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    Based on the critics and ratings around the web I appear to be in the minority, but... I really enjoyed this movie. It was everything that I had hoped "The Day The Earth Stood Still" would have been. Suspense, horror, wonderment, a little DaVinci Code tossed in, some pretty cool special effects (when needed), and the balls to go full blown SciFi rather than trot out the standard "Aliens Based on the critics and ratings around the web I appear to be in the minority, but... I really enjoyed this movie. It was everything that I had hoped "The Day The Earth Stood Still" would have been. Suspense, horror, wonderment, a little DaVinci Code tossed in, some pretty cool special effects (when needed), and the balls to go full blown SciFi rather than trot out the standard "Aliens Invade Earth" doomsday flick. Kinda surprised some critics found the pace slow and boring... if anything I thought they needed to tone down some of the more contrived action sequences... a few sequences unfortunately crossed over into the "unintentionally funny" territory, but they can (and should be) overlooked. Flawed film? Yes... but worth one viewing at least. Expand
  67. SteveK
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    This was a hugely entertaining movie. It's gripping, white-knuckle suspense but also a thought-provoking blend of sci-fi with a touch of religious allegory, esepcially when it comes to the end-times. The ending is jarring, unsettling, and thoroughly enigmatic. That it inspired me to think for hours after the movie is reason enough to give it a 10. If you are the kind of sort that This was a hugely entertaining movie. It's gripping, white-knuckle suspense but also a thought-provoking blend of sci-fi with a touch of religious allegory, esepcially when it comes to the end-times. The ending is jarring, unsettling, and thoroughly enigmatic. That it inspired me to think for hours after the movie is reason enough to give it a 10. If you are the kind of sort that want to pull your hair out at anything that even smacks of being religious, then you will probably hate this movie. It's ironic that those that those that are so dogmatically anti-Christian are just as close-minded as the people they peg for being close-minded. There is nothing preachy in the movie; the religious overtones are suggested, but never fully fleshed out. (They never even use the "J" word once.) The haters need to calm down. Have an open mind and you will enjoy this ripping, relentless sci-fi suspense flick about the apocalypse. Remember: its a movie about the apocalypse, what did you expect? Expand
  68. JamesA
    Jul 14, 2009
    5
    Bad acting all around, redundant plot elements, and a foreseeable twist that undoes the entire premise of the movie, without so much as a legit explanation, make this a movie that you can afford to skip.
  69. DavidM
    Jul 13, 2009
    1
    Started off half-decent, but by half way through it started to drag on and I couldn't wait for it to be over.
  70. Patrick
    Jul 13, 2009
    4
    I don't know if A. Proyas thought he could do another alien-related movie as good as Dark City... but he missed it. N. Cage is a great actor but the botox face starts to affect facial expression. I really loved that movie until the last half. I felt the same disappointment that the latest Indiana Jones. It really felt like the writters had no more imagination to finish the movie and I don't know if A. Proyas thought he could do another alien-related movie as good as Dark City... but he missed it. N. Cage is a great actor but the botox face starts to affect facial expression. I really loved that movie until the last half. I felt the same disappointment that the latest Indiana Jones. It really felt like the writters had no more imagination to finish the movie and felt into "clichés" instead of coming up with something new! Expand
  71. JohnB
    Jul 12, 2009
    5
    I didn't hate it. Nick Cage's acting was downright hilarious at times and the special effects were decent. If you've seen "The Day The Earth Stood Still" this movie looks like Citizen Kane compared to that.
  72. Johnny2cents
    Jul 12, 2009
    5
    I'm on the fence on this one. Only because I love Alex Proyas. Two of his past movies have been landmarks in thier genres but I 'm not sure of 2 things here. One, why why why use Nick Cage? His hair and teeth are a constant distraction. Two, shouldn't M. Night Shyamalan sue for infringement? Like many movies they start of with great hope and then fizzle into the hamster I'm on the fence on this one. Only because I love Alex Proyas. Two of his past movies have been landmarks in thier genres but I 'm not sure of 2 things here. One, why why why use Nick Cage? His hair and teeth are a constant distraction. Two, shouldn't M. Night Shyamalan sue for infringement? Like many movies they start of with great hope and then fizzle into the hamster wheel trying to catch up with its self. Grant it the special effects, plane crash in particulair, were pretty cool but Lord the ending was a mish mash of everything you can possibly think of. Speaking of thinking, me is thinking that Alex wasn't thinking but at least it was still better than anything M. Night has done since The Sixth Sense. Expand
  73. IanB.
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    I watch almost every sci-fi film that is released. I love the genre. I also really like the supernatural genre as well. Most films that try to combine these categories stumble in one way or another with unbelievable story-lines, plot holes or hokey concepts, but that is not the case with "Knowing". I can't remember watching a film that was so well paced, gripping and, considering the I watch almost every sci-fi film that is released. I love the genre. I also really like the supernatural genre as well. Most films that try to combine these categories stumble in one way or another with unbelievable story-lines, plot holes or hokey concepts, but that is not the case with "Knowing". I can't remember watching a film that was so well paced, gripping and, considering the material and complexity of the plot, did so well at tying it all together. Cage might be the only drawback as he kind of hams his way through the performance at times. The disaster sequences are spectacular, every one of them. The film generates an ongoing creepy tension that never lets up and the ending works as well as any big budget sci-fi film you will ever see. Roger Ebert got this one right. Two Thumbs Way Up ! Expand
  74. DanielV.
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    Can not say that I enjoyed this movie to its fullest, or anywhere close to it. To be honest, it wasn't very good, and parts of the plot was ridiculous. However, not a terrible movie. Ill recommended for a buy, unless you really want to; So, renting it would be better.
  75. GeorgeM
    Jul 10, 2009
    8
    I've never been a big fan of disaster films...because they often come off as very cliche, but Knowing does something a little different...it melds together a paraoid thriller WITH a disaster film and it actually makes for an entertaining combination. In 1959 a time capsule gets put in the ground, and inside the capsule is a sheet of paper that a little girl (with a "gift") fills with I've never been a big fan of disaster films...because they often come off as very cliche, but Knowing does something a little different...it melds together a paraoid thriller WITH a disaster film and it actually makes for an entertaining combination. In 1959 a time capsule gets put in the ground, and inside the capsule is a sheet of paper that a little girl (with a "gift") fills with random numbers...but in reality these numbers aren't random, they predict diasters that will happen over a 50 year span...Nick Cage's character finds this, and the tension mounts to find out how it will all end. The movie does a decent job of keeping the watcher on edge...things seem uncertain throughout but an alarming dread is there at all times, it gives the film a feeling of uncertainty...that perhaps there is hope but at the same time it just dosent look good for our characters. It gives a very creepy "tingling up the spine" feeling...this is one of the first movies that has ever made me feel helpless and cold inside...that seems bad...but i feel that was the movie's intention to an extent. The movie touches on some subject matter (religion, life in outer space) that many will find "eye-rollingingly" annoying...but i found it to be rather intriguing and many will also find the ending to be rather "hokey", but instead of hokey...i found it refreshingly "different". I've never been a big Nick Cage fan...and his last few outting have been terrible to the point where i felt he was about to go the way of the dodo in Hollywood...but thankfully, he's redeemed himself in this film. RECOMMENDED. Expand
  76. Lauren2
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    One thing's for sure, if Armageddon every actually does happen, it couldn't possibly be as bad as this movie.
  77. TimH
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    This movie scared me straight! I now believe in Jesus and couldn't be happier!
  78. RyanS
    Jul 9, 2009
    8
    Great movie, completely captivating. The special effects were jaw-dropping and the ending was spectacular!
  79. CharlesD
    Jul 9, 2009
    2
    This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of this film is dire, the first 30 minutes are quite good, which is why this film gets 2 stars instead of 0, but after that the plot decends into madness This is just another in a long line of poor Nicholas Cage films, he has apparently had so much botox as to render his facial muscles inoperable and he cannot now make any expression beyond constant mild suprise. Further to this the plot of this film is dire, the first 30 minutes are quite good, which is why this film gets 2 stars instead of 0, but after that the plot decends into madness and the director manages to get out of his own labyrinthine plot by using aliens/angels and explaining nothing very well at all. do not waste your money on this film. Expand
  80. M.J.P
    Jul 7, 2009
    8
    Honestly, I expected a little more drama, minus the aliens that shot beams of light from their mouths like headlights on a truck. The number sequence puzzle was rather creative though, but personally, I was outraged by the way September 11 was used as a source of entertainment. As for Nicholas Cage, whom I have always been a big fan of, I must say that he should stick with children's Honestly, I expected a little more drama, minus the aliens that shot beams of light from their mouths like headlights on a truck. The number sequence puzzle was rather creative though, but personally, I was outraged by the way September 11 was used as a source of entertainment. As for Nicholas Cage, whom I have always been a big fan of, I must say that he should stick with children's movies along the line of Disney. Along with the dreadful speacial effects, some might say that this film was an absolute, epic fail that would make you want to bang your head against a wall with the predictable ending, all in all, it was still entertaining in my perspective, which gives reason to why I gave it such a high rating. Expand
  81. wetwebwork
    Jul 7, 2009
    6
    Knowing isn't as dire as people make out, but... it's too long. Three quarters in and we were ready to start fast forwarding. It really could have done with editing down, because the story isn't bad, and the plane crash and subway scene are stunning. Of course the transcendent Christian ending is appalling, but wouldn't have mattered so much if the film had been tighter.
  82. Philip
    Jul 7, 2009
    0
    Possibly the worst movie ever made - although you might not hate sitting through it as much as some movies which may be better. That may sound like a contradiction but wait until you see it... which you really shouldn't!
  83. JayH
    Jul 2, 2009
    6
    It does have too many coincidences, it is very far fetched and often it is predictable but it sure did keep my interest. Good special effects, the acting is decent. Great pacing throughout.
  84. SamM.
    Jul 2, 2009
    8
    Let me start of by saying i hate nickolas cage as an actor, but i don't have a bad thing to say about this film. it was an original take on something quite old.
  85. MissyMouse
    Jun 24, 2009
    3
    Good start . Epic failure ending.
  86. MatthewG.
    Jun 23, 2009
    4
    Occasionally clever yet still thoroughly predictable. While the film is entertaining, it leaves you feeling depressed and wondering why you sat through it.
  87. EnzoP.
    Jun 22, 2009
    1
    Pathetic! The start and the middle of the movie were ok. But, the ending is so stupid you would never want to even talk about the movie. Knowing is probably the worst movie of the year.
  88. ChrisW
    Jun 22, 2009
    9
    I simply cannot understand how the film critics (if they can call themselves that) can attack this film in the way that they have. Yes, it had a few flaws but I personally thought it was excellent with many underlining meanings. I normally dont pay attention to most of their insane/moronic points of view but in this case, I just think they have been blinded by their own ignorance.
  89. MerlaL
    Jun 20, 2009
    6
    alright...i am sick and tierd of dumba$$ fu*cking movies where the reason for all the events are caused by fuc*king aliens,whether is the problem,solution ect..Next time come up with atleast a good ending or don't even bother...p.s NO MORE CHARACTERS WITH DEMENTIA...peace!..P.S.S...FINAL CONCLUSION THESE MOVIES SUCK BALLS...610 just because the only thing that sucked was the ending...peace
  90. caporegime
    Jun 15, 2009
    3
    This is like your inside the mind of an elementary student daydreaming.
  91. VinaS
    May 25, 2009
    8
    The movie is very great! But, I don't like the ending. Very weird.
  92. CurrenW
    May 19, 2009
    10
    This movie was a lot better than I was expecting! The trailer looked extremely boring to me, but the movie was an entirely different story! Nicholas Cage sends out much more effort than he did in many of his previous films. The action scenes were the scariest I've ever seen in my life. It was also very emotional, and if you've seen the movie, you know what I'm talking This movie was a lot better than I was expecting! The trailer looked extremely boring to me, but the movie was an entirely different story! Nicholas Cage sends out much more effort than he did in many of his previous films. The action scenes were the scariest I've ever seen in my life. It was also very emotional, and if you've seen the movie, you know what I'm talking about. Overall, Knowing was an incredible film, and one of 2009's finest! Expand
  93. SamuelC
    May 10, 2009
    4
    The film itself wasn't bad, it is the ending that ruined it for me, but Nicolas Cage was good and, in my opinion, you should go watch that movie, then leave like 15 minutes before the end.
  94. MikeM
    May 8, 2009
    8
    I wouldn"t say that this movie didn"t have any low points but it kept me engaged the whole time. I think 8.5 would be my rating. My wife agrees.
  95. RKZ
    Apr 30, 2009
    3
    So, a genius mathematician uses a white board to track the number progression when he could throw it into the computer and get a quick answer? And a 10-year-old boy doesn't know enough not to approach a car with a stranger driving? And the ending is even worse! Not much here to recommend--bad writing, bad writing, and walk-through performances. Did I say bad writing?
  96. SteveG
    Apr 25, 2009
    8
    A better film than some critics moaned about; it made some interesting points about destiny and fate and even the need to survive. The special effects weren't as bad as we were led to believe and overall a worthwhile experience that repays some effort at studying the move's "signs" and structure. Maybe Cage was too morose in his part but then there were reasons for him to less A better film than some critics moaned about; it made some interesting points about destiny and fate and even the need to survive. The special effects weren't as bad as we were led to believe and overall a worthwhile experience that repays some effort at studying the move's "signs" and structure. Maybe Cage was too morose in his part but then there were reasons for him to less than happy. Expand
  97. MalloryY.
    Apr 22, 2009
    1
    This movie was TERRIBLE! After watching it my husband and I both wished we had gone to see Monsters v Aliens in place of this. Absolute crap.
  98. RonaldK
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    I saw this without knowing much about it, except that the critics were dissing it. I'm glad I didn't blow it off. I agree with Ebert's score. And I'm glad Proyas took the risk. I wish more studios took risks with science fiction, rather than doing reboots or sequels. At least it gave me something to think about.
  99. RyanK.
    Apr 21, 2009
    9
    Great movie. Action-packed, suspenseful and magnificient special effects and magnificent writing. My favourite scene was the airplane crash scene... that was AWESOME!
  100. Karth
    Apr 19, 2009
    4
    Knowing is a dull uninteresting picture that has brought out some of the worst acting I have seen in quite a while. Some lousy CGI, mixed in with some excellent special effects brings in a mixed opinion on how the film looked. However, the "plot twist" at the end of the film is about as surprising as someone shouting, "The sky is blue!" gives the movie a very anticlimactic feel, along Knowing is a dull uninteresting picture that has brought out some of the worst acting I have seen in quite a while. Some lousy CGI, mixed in with some excellent special effects brings in a mixed opinion on how the film looked. However, the "plot twist" at the end of the film is about as surprising as someone shouting, "The sky is blue!" gives the movie a very anticlimactic feel, along with outright ridiculous twists that will make you want your money back. The worst part about this movie sucking, is that the story is half-way acceptable, but the picture itself does it no justice. Do yourself a favor and avoid this dunce of a movie. Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. 50
    Science fiction fans will feel gypped, disaster movie fans will appreciate about 10 minutes of screen time and be bored by the rest, and no one else will care.
  2. 100
    Knowing is among the best science-fiction films I've seen -- frightening, suspenseful, intelligent and, when it needs to be, rather awesome.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    30
    What would a Christian Apocalypse movie look like with a big budget, a talented director, and star power of higher wattage than a discount Baldwin brother? Here comes the answer: like a glum hybrid of the "Final Destination" movies, an Irwin Allen disaster bash, and the kitschiest parts of Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain."