User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 324

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2014
    3
    No, no, no. Why are there movies like this. Have you ever seen good movie with Cage? I havenť yet. This movie has great beginning, but after few minutes is just piece of s****. I can't believe that I saw ending... Great atmosphere, stupid acting, stupid script.. waste of your time
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    " The numbers are the key to everything." - John Koestler

    This movie is one of the best movies i ever seen. Special effects are ok but the story I liked the most.
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    The premise and the beginning of this movie were good. I really wanted to like it, and I did all but for the last half an hour or so... I have to say I was almost mad at how poorly they ended the movie. I can deal with the whole concept, but the execution was so lame that I didn't know if it was supposed to be like a sad joke or not.

    The acting was... decent. The characters and the
    The premise and the beginning of this movie were good. I really wanted to like it, and I did all but for the last half an hour or so... I have to say I was almost mad at how poorly they ended the movie. I can deal with the whole concept, but the execution was so lame that I didn't know if it was supposed to be like a sad joke or not.

    The acting was... decent. The characters and the setting were clearly introduced from the beginning, but it all crash-landed the closer to the ending the movie got.

    Everything about this movie was pretty much perfect before the whole "Whisperer" aspect was brought into it. Sure, the creepy people were seen from time to time, but the truth was so much lamer than what my imagination was cooking up. (My fiend spoiled me before I saw the movie, so I knew what they most likely were... which spared me from further outrage over the **** ending, truth to be told.)

    I keep wishing they would have come to another solution - or labelled this movie differently from the beginning. Now it seemed more like the writers wrote a beginning and then had to hurry while deciding how to end such a great concept.

    Falling plane and crashing subways... for a PG-13 rated movie "Knowing" had a lot of violence: people dying, burning to death, screaming and being crushed beneath masses of metal sliding over them. The details weren't overly gruesome, but the scenes of destruction were well made in my opinion. Touching and poetic in a way, yet filled with truthful and realistic havoc.
    Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    Knowing is depressing, incoherent, quirky, and bad all around. This is one of the worst movies I've seen, as well as being one of Nicolas Cage's worst performances. Not that I'm surprised.
  5. Dec 14, 2013
    4
    The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film.The basic idea of these students which put their drawings of the future in a time capsule, the way Cage understands what the numbers mean, the first disasters.. This is really good. But I would call the whole part of the aliens/angels "inappropriate". Too much confusion. I needed Internet to understand all, and a film who doesn't explain to the viewer all that he needs is not a good film. Don't miss about 120 minutes of your lives. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    3
    Knowing proves that ignorance is bliss.
    The movie begins with an extremely interesting concept, and it continues to succeed with suspense. The acting was bad, but the movie seems to have a good plot going. Then comes an absolutely terrible ending with atrocious writing as if somebodies five year old decided to finish the movie.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    Nicolas Cage proves to be a complete idiot once again; this time in Knowing. Despite it's extremely intriguing concept, it is shattered by other elements. "Whisper people"... enough said. The implied Adam and Eve. Question: why the hell would you make a hearing-impaired kid be Adam? Yeah, lets just pass on the genetic dysfunction of his hearing impairment onto future offspring. TotallyNicolas Cage proves to be a complete idiot once again; this time in Knowing. Despite it's extremely intriguing concept, it is shattered by other elements. "Whisper people"... enough said. The implied Adam and Eve. Question: why the hell would you make a hearing-impaired kid be Adam? Yeah, lets just pass on the genetic dysfunction of his hearing impairment onto future offspring. Totally ideal... NOT!! The movie fails utterly; especially at that precise moment where we are provide EE backwards: "Everyone Else"...

    What the hell was the point of watching this movie when nothing gets solved? We're left with the sun blowing up and a crispy-fried Cage. Disgusting... and why is it not surprising that he once again dies in his movie? It was once again an unwarranted death; a pointless one; as pointless as this movie.
    Expand
  8. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    A cleverly made movie depicting what the end of the world could be like. It has you hanging on all the way through, though the second time I watched this, it wasn't as enjoyable as I already knew what was going to happen. The movie relies heavily on suspense, but at the same time, the plot line's quite clever
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    One of the worst films of 2009, which is weird because Alex Proyas generally is a solid director. The premise behind the film is actually quite interesting, but the ending...the ending is so random; the film builds up to this last moment only to collapse into total garbage. Knowing stole 2 hours from my life. A total disappointment! Avoid.
  10. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    The movie is a slow build up to an ending that is not surprising because the whole movie is building up to the undeniable end that was boring in the first place.
  11. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Made by the Mayas to warn us of the impeding doom, or was it by Summit entertainment to empty our pockets? All joking aside, this exellent doomsday film looks gorgeous in nice desaturated sephia-like tones with razor sharp imagery captured on the RED One camera. The film does take some time to get going but it's well acted (by Mr.Cage), has a brooding atmosphere and a satisfying ending.Made by the Mayas to warn us of the impeding doom, or was it by Summit entertainment to empty our pockets? All joking aside, this exellent doomsday film looks gorgeous in nice desaturated sephia-like tones with razor sharp imagery captured on the RED One camera. The film does take some time to get going but it's well acted (by Mr.Cage), has a brooding atmosphere and a satisfying ending. One of the better Alex Proyas films! Expand
  12. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    I can't actually put my finger on the reason why this film wasn't that good but it wasn't. The plot as a whole is fairly intelligent but I think it must be the acting and could even be something as minor as the soundtrack. Anyway sorry for the lack of information in this review, I am genuinely confused by this film.
  13. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    An atrocious mess of plot threads that go no where, a pathetic use of the bait-and-switch tactic, and cringe worthy performances from all of the main leads - especially Nicolas Cage. Why do people keep casting him in serious roles? Give him more roles like Kick Ass, he's actually good at those! There is absolutely no consistency in the film's stupid attempt at a mystery-thriller story. ToAn atrocious mess of plot threads that go no where, a pathetic use of the bait-and-switch tactic, and cringe worthy performances from all of the main leads - especially Nicolas Cage. Why do people keep casting him in serious roles? Give him more roles like Kick Ass, he's actually good at those! There is absolutely no consistency in the film's stupid attempt at a mystery-thriller story. To slightly paraphrase A.O. Scott, - you will long for the end of the world watching this movie. Expand
  14. May 23, 2012
    6
    First of all, the plot was not that good. I do love the concept of the movie. But I was disappointed with Nicholas Cage's performance. I gave a 6 because the special effects from the accidents was amazing and its supporting cast did a nice job. But because of the lead actor's poor performance and the lack of excitement and surprise in the plot, the special effects and the supporting castFirst of all, the plot was not that good. I do love the concept of the movie. But I was disappointed with Nicholas Cage's performance. I gave a 6 because the special effects from the accidents was amazing and its supporting cast did a nice job. But because of the lead actor's poor performance and the lack of excitement and surprise in the plot, the special effects and the supporting cast was overshadowed............ Expand
  15. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Why such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a largeWhy such a graphic, horiffic air plane crash? And at Logan Int'l Airport, 100 miles from where I live, no less. I've flown more than a few times-I know flying is safe-but I'm flying in less than 4 months..I can't get the scene, the jet chrashing, multiple explosions, burning, screaming people, out of my head. Millions of people fly..Why include such a graphic scene to such a large demographic? Poor taste.To those of you who fly, please avoid this movie. Rated XXX for graphic, horiffic violence. Expand
  16. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    Knowing is smart and suspenseful. It keeps you guessing and it is scary when it needs to be. One of the most important things about this movie is that it will make sense once you understand the mystery of it all.
  17. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    The first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and anThe first half is enjoyable enough, except for Cage's acting, which is a shame since he's in every shot of the movie. However, as events unfold they become more and more ridiculous until the jaw-droppingly idiotic last ten minutes, which abandons any pretense of intellectualism and, rather than produce some explanatory rabbit out of its hat, plumps for hokey pseudo-religious imagery and an orgiastic bout of SFX. In the film's final moments, disbelief isn't just suspended, it's hung, drawn and quartered on the alter of stupid CGI. Expand
  18. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    Even though knowings ending is somewhat preposterous and flawed one cannot put down a entire film that was quite well done. The movie had attachment to its characters and lots of depth to the story and themes. The film was visually stuning. Although the ending for some and myself included feels preposterous it fits with the themes and is also visually stuning.
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    This is a good film, but it wonders too and fro throughout a hectic plot far too much. It starts out solid, gets lost in the muddle in between, and then comes back strong for the finish. It's in that middle ground that this film fails to captivate and keep the viewer satisfied. As always, Cage is believable and entertaining, but even his spazzoid performance could not keep the core of thisThis is a good film, but it wonders too and fro throughout a hectic plot far too much. It starts out solid, gets lost in the muddle in between, and then comes back strong for the finish. It's in that middle ground that this film fails to captivate and keep the viewer satisfied. As always, Cage is believable and entertaining, but even his spazzoid performance could not keep the core of this film from sagging. The aliens are nothing new, but their presence throughout the film is intriguing and spooky. All in all, a stronger center would have sky-rocketed this film to a much higher critique. Expand
  20. Oct 31, 2011
    2
    OMG, that was such a bad movie! Even though my expectations were not very high (just watching an entertaining movie), I was so disappointed and bored! Nicolas Cage is annoying, not to say unbearable. The storyline is a mix of cliché ideas and could be summarized in three lines! The characters have no depth, the story is always floating on a surface... the many questions raisedOMG, that was such a bad movie! Even though my expectations were not very high (just watching an entertaining movie), I was so disappointed and bored! Nicolas Cage is annoying, not to say unbearable. The storyline is a mix of cliché ideas and could be summarized in three lines! The characters have no depth, the story is always floating on a surface... the many questions raised throughout the movie are really not answered, not to mention all inconsistencies (it's ok to have some but here it seem the writers did not even care about making sense!). The 10 minutes finale scene is useless... you can just take this time to make some more tea and chose the next movie so you won't have the impression you have completely wasted your evening! Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an excellent movie with decent acting, editing, and camera, with a good suspense buildup. What went wrong? The ending. It just threw EVERYTHING good about it into the rubbish bin. It came out of nowhere, made no sense, was over-dramatized, and turned the entire thing into a religious film. Expand
  22. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I thought this movie was amazing, the best I've seen in a while. The plotline was cool and the special effects were amazing. Nicolas cage and Rose Byrne were awesome in it. I can't believe how some people didn't like this movie.
  23. Apr 3, 2011
    6
    I think it not SO BAD. Cheesy and absurd plot I admitted but this flick still make us believe earth will destroy someday. Nicholas Cage not wrong picks, well if you jump to 2011, you will see how bad Season of The Witch.
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty good at the beginning, I thought the storyline was really cool. But then it involved Aliens. The ending was horrible like what is Nicholas Cage supposed to tell the authorities....."Oh, I just let my son and my friends daughter go on an Alien spacecraft" Overall a pretty stupid movie. Expand
  25. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    Over time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap operaOver time it seems Nicholas Cage's acting has got worse and worse. His movies quickly following. A plot filled with so many horrendous plot holes I couldn't even start, bad SFX, terrible acting, failure to suspend disbelief, an ending that has gone a million miles off track from where it began. Seriously it starts as a grade B horror film, then turns into some kind of overdone soap opera episode, and then finally into a certain very famous Spielberg movie (you'll know when you see it). Some of the dialogue is almost the same by the end. The audience was laughing all the way out of the theater at how moronic the whole thing was. so for those theater leaving laughs I will bump this movie up to a 1/10 Expand
  26. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it
    What exactly was the purpose of this film? I could have found better uses for the millions spent on this horrible movie. I really can't believe any one gave this a high rating.

    This movie is completely hosed from the start and spends the entire time mixing myths and folklore with religious undertones, special effects and wishful thinking. The story has no believability and I find it very difficult to suspend my disbelief system in order to enjoy this movie.

    Don't get me wrong, I like Nicolas Cage, but Jesus dude, couldn't you pick a better script than this? Oh, yeah, tax issues, gotta pay the man.

    When I first saw this movie I thought it was from the same people who made The Happening, but I see that it was from another moron who knows every thing about the technical side of movies but nothing about good scripts and directing.

    I don't think a 1,000 writers with a 1,000 re-writes could have made this a good enough movie to waste money on and it is a good thing I got to see it for free.
    Expand
  27. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome film!! They did a great job of mixing Religion and science together. It is very rare for anyone to tell a story of these two coexisting but yet, this movie did! Just awesome! Ending was very satisfying and it did not let you down like most films do.
  28. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    This movie was really interesting from the getgo. It was suspenseful, sci-fi, interesting, and damn it had potential. Each minute it was building up on its strong premise really nicely. And when i first saw it it was pretty scary at times. The only flaw: the ending. It completely fell apart and it went from Knowing to, frolicking in a meadow. This really hurt my enjoyment of the film. ButThis movie was really interesting from the getgo. It was suspenseful, sci-fi, interesting, and damn it had potential. Each minute it was building up on its strong premise really nicely. And when i first saw it it was pretty scary at times. The only flaw: the ending. It completely fell apart and it went from Knowing to, frolicking in a meadow. This really hurt my enjoyment of the film. But hey, it still is enjoyable. Expand
  29. Oct 3, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Knowing's writer needs to have an IQ check. While the film was enjoyable, the logic was just horrible. if your going to make aliens come to preserve the human race, then they either shouldn't predict the future, except maybe the solar flare, or they just shouldn't be aliens. The aliens were a little bit unexpected after you see the pictures of God and the sun or the priest dad. Otherwise, great film. Expand
  30. Sep 25, 2010
    9
    The film starts out as a sort of silly cliché idea about the ability to see the future. It expands into so much more, though. Everything throughout is intense and well-designed. The dialogue is nothing to write home about, but the actual characters are very human. You never know what is going to happen next, despite the inevitable being made pretty obvious with the wholeThe film starts out as a sort of silly cliché idea about the ability to see the future. It expands into so much more, though. Everything throughout is intense and well-designed. The dialogue is nothing to write home about, but the actual characters are very human. You never know what is going to happen next, despite the inevitable being made pretty obvious with the whole "code-that-forsees-disasters" thing. The best thing about the film is its philosophical parts. Much of its story is very symbolic of Biblical tales. By no means is it preachy, but it certainly provides ideologically sensitive material. Overall, this film is not perfect, but its unique journey through humanity and their reaction to the impending end of the world is brilliant. Expand
  31. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie starts up as an interesting story, how the professor, Cage, discovers the true story about the letter. It gets kind-a creepy when the "men in black" enter the scene. It uses the normal cliches to create unneeded tension, AKA "mysterious men who disappear when you look back" and so on.
    The story keeps going down slowly through the film, but it isn't a bad film to watch.
    Just remember that this is not the "ultimate" film you will remember after years have past.
    Or you might remember the end. It just plain sucked. Yea.
    Expand
  32. Aug 27, 2010
    3
    The plot errors and bad writing seem to be the least of this movie's worries, and considering the movie's flaws, that's saying a lot.... Nicolas Cage has never looked so ridiculous (ok, that's a lie, but I need to fill the 150 character count)
  33. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Analisado com o devido escrutinio e bom-senso, o enredo focado no debate sobre a regencia do Universo pelo determinismo ou pela aleatoriedade carece de sentido. Isso pouco importa ante a precisao com a qual o responsavel pelo visionario "Cidade das Sombras" manipula nossas expectativas, sujeitando-nos a visoes aterrorizantes de catastrofes misteriosamente profetizadas, que eclodem na telaAnalisado com o devido escrutinio e bom-senso, o enredo focado no debate sobre a regencia do Universo pelo determinismo ou pela aleatoriedade carece de sentido. Isso pouco importa ante a precisao com a qual o responsavel pelo visionario "Cidade das Sombras" manipula nossas expectativas, sujeitando-nos a visoes aterrorizantes de catastrofes misteriosamente profetizadas, que eclodem na tela de maneira inesperada. Entre cada sequencia de destruicao, e mantida uma atmosfera de inevitabilidade, misterio e ameaça, fazendo com que nenhum segmento da narrativa esmoreca em folego. Cliches flagrantes como o relacionamento complicado entre o pai viuvo (Cage) e seu filhinho precoce adquirem verossimilhanca gracas ao texto bem lapidado. "Pressagio" alcanca estados sublimes de imageria sci-fi em seu derradeiro ato, consolidando Proyas como o midas do genero desde que se lancou em meados dos anos 90. Expand
  34. Aug 16, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. okay, the film was nicely made and the story worked for itself and it was quite simple but catching and tense. but there is one big problem. why on earth would the aliens play with people by giving them cryptic messages, being mysterious weirdos and throwing black stones around for fifty years, if they can simply come, take the kids and go away?! ah, i know, then there wouldn't be any movie... Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. 50
    Science fiction fans will feel gypped, disaster movie fans will appreciate about 10 minutes of screen time and be bored by the rest, and no one else will care.
  2. 100
    Knowing is among the best science-fiction films I've seen -- frightening, suspenseful, intelligent and, when it needs to be, rather awesome.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    30
    What would a Christian Apocalypse movie look like with a big budget, a talented director, and star power of higher wattage than a discount Baldwin brother? Here comes the answer: like a glum hybrid of the "Final Destination" movies, an Irwin Allen disaster bash, and the kitschiest parts of Darren Aronofsky's "The Fountain."