Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Espen Sandberg
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Biography, Drama, History
  • Rating: Not Rated
  • Runtime: 118 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 25, 2013
    80
    This terrific film certainly contains the spark of discovery.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    May 2, 2013
    75
    Kon-Tiki reminds us how important it is to expand our horizons by making discoveries, exploring new worlds and pushing ourselves to the absolute limits of human endurance.
  3. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    There is little more to Kon-Tiki than a fun, handsomely-mounted, old-style adventure story. And as impressive a feat as that is to achieve, especially outside of Hollywood, which kind of specialises in this sort of thing, those looking for something with more depth from this category may come away a little disappointed.
  4. Reviewed by: Donald Liebenson
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    While the wind goes out of its sails a few times along the way, this is a ravishingly photographed, old-fashioned man-against-the-elements adventure epic propelled by human-scaled heroics.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    May 29, 2013
    67
    Although a Norwegian production, the film has a muted Hollywood sensibility that keeps things real. It’s an absorbing and often lyrical piece of storytelling that doesn’t overembellish the facts or rely on a pumped-up score or whiplash editing to heighten the dramatic action.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    Roenning and Sandberg never dig deeply into the real, underlying motivating force behind Heyerdahl's voyage aboard the Kon-Tiki -- the name of his visually unimpressive but ultimately seaworthy raft -- other than relying on the fact that he wanted to prove his theory correct.
  7. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 25, 2013
    30
    There’s no denying the real Heyerdahl’s bravery, but if this movie is to be believed, his voyage was largely bereft of tension and interesting conversation.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    This is a wonderful movie! It's the best film I've seen all year. Reminded me of "Life of Pi" but better.
    The action is riveting with special
    effects that enhance rather than exploit the narrative. It's nice to see a return to intelligence in special effects movie making. But call me old fashioned; I like movies that tell a story.
    And everyone knows it's a great story. This film is just an energy boost from beginning to end. And the music and acting are superb. I think this film will get some Academy Award notice. The Weinstein brothers nail it again. Bravo!
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    Very good film, kept my attention from the begginning to the end. The historical background is very nice, and the personality of the characters, especially that of the protagonist, are very interesting. For me it was impossible to not be thrilled by the thoughts of being in their place, in the most isolated place in the oceans, with just a wooden balse, and travel thousands kilometers with that sometimes crazy leader. It is the kind of movie that I want to tell everyone I know to watch. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Great Norwegian movie about Thor Heyerdahl. The movie is exciting as well as dramatic, one of the best Norwegian movies ever made in my opinion. Must watch! Expand
  4. May 25, 2013
    8
    This was a moving experience to view. Mr. Heyerdahl had a clear goal to prove by his efforts that Polynesia was settled by sailors from Peru on rafts 1500 years ago and not by sailors from Asia. He had many doubters and obstacles to overcome but his faith was unshakable. When he finally reached his destination after a long and dangerous journey (101 days), he wept when he touched the ground. So did I.
    Now I understand why Oslo, Norway built a museum to permanently house Heyerdahl's raft as a fitting tribute to the courage of this man.
    Collapse
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    5
    Based on a great story and beautifully shot, but the acting is overly theatrical and I can't remember the last time I saw so many clichés packed into one film. Very unsubtle. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    Kon Tiki suffers a little from being released too closely to Life of Pi (a much better film). There are similarities between the two films. The version I saw also felt choppy, as though it was edited to take out most of the slow parts, so you don't get the character development that makes for a better film. The theater where I saw it advertised it as being 118 minutes long, but it was only 1 hr 25 minutes long. It always had that feeling like I've seen it before. There were no relationships developed between the men at all. The men all seemed to have the same temperament and personality and were indistinguishable. The best part of the film for me was the cinematography and special effects. Expand
  7. May 18, 2013
    4
    When I found out that this a film nominated for an academy award for Foreign film about a true story of an explorer's epic crossing of the Pacific on a balsa wood raft in 1947, i thought it would be at least dramatic if not intense. Instead I felt completely disengaged and completely bored by the whole experience. Only worthwhile moment of the film where the camera pans up all the way to space and back to the raft. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers