Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Jan 31, 2014
    38
    Actors of the caliber of Brolin and Winslet can do nothing but the best with what they're given, struggling to find nuance and humanity in romance-novel archetypes.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jan 30, 2014
    38
    Labor Day feels like a belabored, sappy slog.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jan 30, 2014
    38
    The movie’s a somber affair, but if you see it in the right frame of mind, it’s the guilty-pleasure hoot of the season.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jan 30, 2014
    30
    The movie’s principal saving grace is Ms. Winslet’s convincing portrayal of Adele, a despairing woman of low self-esteem just a twitch away from a nervous breakdown. In almost every other respect, this overbaked romantic hokum is preposterous.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 30, 2014
    30
    Labor Day, adapted from a novel by Joyce Maynard, is the kind of movie that turns clarity into stultification; everything is perfectly clear and almost everything — pie-making excepted — is perfectly lifeless.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jan 28, 2014
    30
    Labor Day is so self-conscious and phony, it must be the work of a pod person. Humans, film lovers, and fans of Reitman's till-now-flawless filmography: We've gotta fight back.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Jan 10, 2014
    3
    I'll admit that Jason Reitman is just not my guy. It does hit some odd tones along the way, which is something I generally enjoy. But there's an intense corniness to the melodrama of this movie that I find to be a strikeout, even if he was swinging for the fences by trying something offbeat. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    Labor Day has a familiar vibe to it, I have seen bits and pieces of the story before, and I have seen similar characters on the big screen and on the small screen, but it is all about the direction and how the director decides to create deep characters, effective story and a heartbreak, Jason Reitman succeeds in all these things, thus making Labor Day one of the best movies of 2013. Labor Day is highly recommended! Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    With a special narration by Toby Maguire and despite a predictable ending, Labor Day successfully presents a melodrama film without too-over emotional. Another good performance from Kate Winslet. Full Review »