Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: October 12, 2007
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 203 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
177
Mixed:
11
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CarolGDec 30, 2008
I absolutely loved this heartwarming tale about a community coming to support one of its own. I recommended this film to all of my friends and they loved it too. I thought it should have gotten best picture in 2007.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
PGApr 10, 2008
it's really good... better than you'd think. great ideas, beautifully shot and some of the best acting you'll see in something with a little comedy in it. enjoy it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ChrisCApr 30, 2008
Very odd, yet utterly compelling film - apparently the part of Bianca was originally written for Paris Hilton, but her acting wasn't quite up to scratch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HughieOct 16, 2007
Sweet and smart and very well cast. Paul Schneider, Emily Mortimer and Patricia Clarkson all just wonderful, as is Ryan Gosling. VV gets it wrong again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarstenS.Apr 8, 2008
This is an amazing movie. Ryan Gosling performance is extra-ordinary. The sweetness and openness of the movies character creates a warm heart-felt surrounding where the story blossoms. In the last third of the movie the pace is a little too This is an amazing movie. Ryan Gosling performance is extra-ordinary. The sweetness and openness of the movies character creates a warm heart-felt surrounding where the story blossoms. In the last third of the movie the pace is a little too slow but still one of the best 'romantic' movies I have seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
shareecMay 29, 2008
I absolutely loved this film. I found myself falling in love with the beauty and support of the entire community in order to help Lars rise above his emotional baggage. In the real world, I think we all could learn something from them.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LindaL.May 7, 2008
A film with unusual sweetness and quirky charm, with excellent acting all around. Yeah, there's an air of fable about it; you have to go with the flow. It occurred to me later that these not-quite-believable people might possibly A film with unusual sweetness and quirky charm, with excellent acting all around. Yeah, there's an air of fable about it; you have to go with the flow. It occurred to me later that these not-quite-believable people might possibly populate the odd little town of St. Olaf, which Rose of "Golden Girls" was always telling quirky stories about. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarianneB.Oct 15, 2007
Lovely movie. Laughed. Cried. Satisfied. Ryan Gosling was spectacular.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LiamNov 9, 2007
That this film works so beautifully is a measure of its grasp on deeper truths. A lovely parable. The rare negative reviews are from those who are terrified that their own most tender and real feelings will be laughed at.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarleneS.Dec 2, 2007
One of the most original movies I've seen in a long, long time. I laughed my head off and was deeply touched all at the same time. What I sweet story. I was never bored for a second.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TiffanyK.Apr 18, 2008
this is an awesome movie. it is cute, funny, sad and moreover a clean cut flick that will keep you in interest from start to finish. you never know what to expect next. it's a must see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Apr 6, 2008
Wonderfully offbeat. Excellent performances from everyone, especially Ryan Gosling and Patricia Clarkson. The writing is excellent, and the characters are very rich and well developed. Creatively directed. It does go over the top at times, Wonderfully offbeat. Excellent performances from everyone, especially Ryan Gosling and Patricia Clarkson. The writing is excellent, and the characters are very rich and well developed. Creatively directed. It does go over the top at times, but it's quite worth while. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayP.May 23, 2008
Thoughly enjoyed. It was funny yet poignant without being sickenly mawkish. A Canadian gem.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TomF.May 3, 2008
Excellent and thoughtful movie. Ryan plays his part with excellence and the rest of the cast is great too. If you can get past the fake girl you might learn something about the introverts in your life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndersonMay 5, 2008
One of the most thoroughly engaging films I have seen in a long time. One of those films that stays with you. Even a learning experience in parts - and that is unusual!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LizWMay 9, 2008
This is one of the sweetest, funniest movies I've ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LinkerNov 10, 2007
I loved this movie. I was laughing and crying through most of it, and I almost never do that. It was sweet, wacky, hilarious, and touching. If you let yourself get into it, and enjoy the kindness and the emotions portrayed in the film, it I loved this movie. I was laughing and crying through most of it, and I almost never do that. It was sweet, wacky, hilarious, and touching. If you let yourself get into it, and enjoy the kindness and the emotions portrayed in the film, it can be a wonderful experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMOct 15, 2007
Lars and the Real Surprise - This is real story telling, a fable if you like, that stands a perverted premise on its head. As true a vision of life in a small, northern town as I have seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulL.Dec 16, 2007
A completely disarming film that you think is going to be a one-note, one joke film that is instead a very sincere, sweet, touching movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoshBDec 9, 2007
The premise is indeed strange, but this is one of the best movies of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichelleMDec 18, 2007
I thought it was extremely thought-provoking, wonderfully strange, and ultimately redemptive.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ScottS.Dec 23, 2007
Strange and beautiful, if a tad Hallmark. Nonetheless, Gosling is great and Bianca, played by a Real Doll, is certainly a better actress than Keira Knightley and Scarlett Johansson.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaryNov 2, 2007
Critics underrated this one. A real gem. A great exercise in suspension of disbelief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeZOct 27, 2007
Delightful... WOW an entertaining film for adults that isn't stupid, predicable, cliche-ridden or poorly written and directed (ie FEAST FOR LOVE and DAN IN REAL LIFE )... not a false note by any actor in the entire film -- Gosling is Delightful... WOW an entertaining film for adults that isn't stupid, predicable, cliche-ridden or poorly written and directed (ie FEAST FOR LOVE and DAN IN REAL LIFE )... not a false note by any actor in the entire film -- Gosling is TERRIFIC! Who would have thought with a plotline like that? WONDERFUL! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Oct 27, 2007
If you think long and hard about the final act, "Lars and the Real Girl" is not the feel-good movie it purports to be. How many husbands, how many boyfriends had this same fantasy when their eyes wander towards an upgrade? "Bianca" is If you think long and hard about the final act, "Lars and the Real Girl" is not the feel-good movie it purports to be. How many husbands, how many boyfriends had this same fantasy when their eyes wander towards an upgrade? "Bianca" is paralyzed. Thankfully, the film spares us the spectacle of animate/inanimate object sex. What if Lars(Ryan Gosling) wants a partner who can move? What if Lars is like the Edward Norton character in "Primal Fear"? The film seems largely unaware that a darker interpretation can be laid upon Lars' actions. Still, this deadpan comedy can be uproariously funny. It should've stayed in this register rather than tug on the heartstrings, although some strings do get tugged. "Lars and the Real Girl" is "River's Edge" meets "Opal Dream". Like the adaptation of "Pobby and Dingan"(the Ben Rice novel on which "Opal Dream" was based), the townsfolk participate in the delusional person's fantasy life. But in "Opal Dream", the cracked person is a young girl. Sure, we buy it. But a 37-year-old man? I don't know. We believe in Karin's devotion(Emily Mortimer) towards her brother-in-law, however. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RogerS.Nov 2, 2007
A very upbeat movie. It makes me think about holding a stuffed animal or playing with dolls. When our imagination takes over the whole world and I got into this feel good movie. Makes you feel good. A few moments it was not real but then A very upbeat movie. It makes me think about holding a stuffed animal or playing with dolls. When our imagination takes over the whole world and I got into this feel good movie. Makes you feel good. A few moments it was not real but then again that was the point. It's not real. You'll get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Nov 3, 2007
I'll keep this short and simple, Lars and the Real Girl is a cinematic MIRACLE!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
waynh.Oct 28, 2007
Warms my heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Oct 30, 2007
'Lars' is a wonderful, tidy little gem that melts hearts and lights glee with its tender story and gentle, kindhearted protagonist. In his rookie year as a director, Craig Gillespie (also of this year
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EssiS.Apr 10, 2009
Lars and the Real Girl has an amazing script and cast. Ryan Gosling is slowly but surely becoming one of my favorite actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TuckerM.Nov 1, 2007
I adored this film, and was blown away by the degree to which it takes an utterly outlandish premise and spins it into gold. No, it's not realistic, and yes, it's a fairy tale. But to me, it represents real humanity at its best. I adored this film, and was blown away by the degree to which it takes an utterly outlandish premise and spins it into gold. No, it's not realistic, and yes, it's a fairy tale. But to me, it represents real humanity at its best. And the understated power of the uniformly superb acting (particularly from Patricia Clarkson) is simply not to be missed. Bravo, Craig Gillespie, Ryan Gosling, Emily Mortimer, Paul Schneider and Nancy Oliver; you broke my heart, then made it whole again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeithOct 19, 2007
I've been surprised by some of the negative reviews. I consider myself to be a skeptical movie lover, and even I find some of these reviews to just be plain snarky and off the mark. Yes, maybe the small town depicted here is idyllic. I've been surprised by some of the negative reviews. I consider myself to be a skeptical movie lover, and even I find some of these reviews to just be plain snarky and off the mark. Yes, maybe the small town depicted here is idyllic. Maybe the conceit is somewhat hard to buy. If you can accept a world of wizards and hobbits, why not a town where people respond to Lars with kindness and acceptance? The movie, I think, exists as a sort of fable about how fragile we are and how kindness and love can heal. Frankly, I'm not sure I'd want to know someone who can see this movie and not respond to it positively. What's next? It's a Wonderful Life is bunk, manipulative, and schmaltzy because it's about an angel? Come on. Lighten up. I found the movie very satisfying with performances that registered as utterly authentic and sincere. The screenwriters and director do a wonderful job of maintaining a consistent tone that never tilts too far to mockery or quirkiness. Ultimately, it's Gosling's triumph. The movie succeeds largely because we, like the townspeople, love him. That Gosling also makes us laugh without seeming to try to do so is a wonder. Lovely, irresistible, touching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
trudyh.Oct 21, 2007
Not to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Oct 24, 2007
Wonderful, genuine, moving performances. The most unexpectedly moving film I've seen this year. Gosling is amazing. I wonder whether someone who can not enjoy this movie actually possesses a soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelL.Oct 27, 2007
I loved this film. Unlike some "over-inlflated" critics,drunk on their own self-importance, it's simple and sweet. How refreshing to see a movie where people are kind to each other, instead of awash in irony. Don't know about you, I loved this film. Unlike some "over-inlflated" critics,drunk on their own self-importance, it's simple and sweet. How refreshing to see a movie where people are kind to each other, instead of awash in irony. Don't know about you, but I'm sick to death of irony. Gosling is breathtaking--sweet, damaged, and so real. The supporting cast is uniformly excellent--particularly Patricia Clarkson, as a psychologist/MD who doesn't need to hit us over the head with pop psychology. "Lars" respects its audience as much as his town respects Lars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LH.Oct 29, 2007
Unusual movie that may turn you off at first but should leave you delighted and choked up by conclusion. Cast is terrific. Who is "the real girl"?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigA.Aug 10, 2008
Just incredible. I am in awe of Ryan Gosling's acting abilities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianeM.Nov 5, 2007
I have seen this movie three times now. The cast is flawless, as is the writing. A movie about healing that includes God, family, community, and kindness. A breath of fresh air in a dismal movie year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlieJ.Oct 17, 2007
Very cute, adorable w/o being pandering, typical or trite. Gosling's comedic & tragic timing is nearly perfect. He can create a scene in one breath that just tickles you then makes you feel sadder than you've ever felt in your Very cute, adorable w/o being pandering, typical or trite. Gosling's comedic & tragic timing is nearly perfect. He can create a scene in one breath that just tickles you then makes you feel sadder than you've ever felt in your life...for just a second though so don't freak out. Good movie...very sweet...it's nice to have a happy film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleCOct 28, 2007
Only Ryan Gosling could keep the emotional element in this film from becoming comical. He is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KingmushMar 23, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/lars-and-real-girl.html

Talk about a weird concept for a movie. If you don't know of this movie, basically it's about a guy who legitimately falls in love with a doll. I know, told you it's weird.
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/lars-and-real-girl.html

Talk about a weird concept for a movie. If you don't know of this movie, basically it's about a guy who legitimately falls in love with a doll. I know, told you it's weird. But what seems to be a weird, gimmicky, and even stupid movie, actually turns out to be something quite nice.

The movie delves deeper into the storyline than just guy falls in love with a doll and goes into territories of family issues, ignored love interests, mental illness, and support for one another. This movie sure does pack a punch and you will find yourself feeling the same emotions as the main character.

Overall this movie is a weird concept but things like this have happened so it's not that far fetched, and for what it is this movie sure does it well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlexSAug 9, 2011
Gosling once again proves that he's one of the greatest actors of his generation.He's equally subtle and charming in this funny,touching and rewarding movie.It's undoubtedly a risky premise and yet it never fails to move and amuse it'sGosling once again proves that he's one of the greatest actors of his generation.He's equally subtle and charming in this funny,touching and rewarding movie.It's undoubtedly a risky premise and yet it never fails to move and amuse it's audience.It's a portrait of a quiet and lonely man that finds happiness in a blow-up doll.The script is very strong and the characters are completely believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EleniJun 5, 2012
From a brief summary of the film â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AngelikiCoconiJun 9, 2012
From a brief summary of the film â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
By its end, one of the most satisfying films ever made. Lars and the Real Girl is certainly a modern oddity - with feelings we all possess and share. Ryan Gosling vividly portrays a character which we grow to love and care for deeply, despiteBy its end, one of the most satisfying films ever made. Lars and the Real Girl is certainly a modern oddity - with feelings we all possess and share. Ryan Gosling vividly portrays a character which we grow to love and care for deeply, despite any peculiarity. It's blasphemy to not have given Gosling that Oscar nomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rachiebabieApr 1, 2014
Heart touching. Sweet. Uplifting. Ryan Gosling gives an incredible performance as Lars, an emotionally stunted man who deep down is dying to connect with the people around him. I hardly watch movies twice, but I've seen this one more than 5X,Heart touching. Sweet. Uplifting. Ryan Gosling gives an incredible performance as Lars, an emotionally stunted man who deep down is dying to connect with the people around him. I hardly watch movies twice, but I've seen this one more than 5X, and catch myself smiling through out. It's sheer perfection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 4, 2016
Lars and the Real Girl is a truly interesting and compelling film that offers an entirely painful and authentic look at mental illness. Even better, it never truly mocks its protagonist and chooses to instead force the audience to feelLars and the Real Girl is a truly interesting and compelling film that offers an entirely painful and authentic look at mental illness. Even better, it never truly mocks its protagonist and chooses to instead force the audience to feel sympathy and embrace him for who he truly is. Ryan Gosling gives a fantastic performance in the lead role as the disconnected and certainly ill Lars. Emily Mortimer and Paul Schneider are also both very good here in their roles. The film's writing feels incredibly real and never exploitative and honestly rips your heart out as frequently as it makes you feel physical pain with how awkward and sad some of the scenes are. The film is very well-written with all of the characters quite well fleshed out and very, again, authentic. Everybody feels real and nobody feels like some character written for a film. Instead, they feel like real people with real problems. Overall, Lars and the Real Girl is a very good film with a lot of heart that will certainly touch yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Sep 10, 2015
Delicately straddling the line between quirky comedy and awkward drama, "Lars And The Real Girl" acts as a sufficient vehicle for Ryan Gosling's superior creative talents and Craig Gillespie's sure-handed directorial style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 8, 2013
At first I saw a commercial for this that looked like a new fashioned comedy. It could not be farther from that. Ryan Gosling proves why everybody likes him. When the therapist puts her hands on him I couldn't even handle it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RLB1024Jan 5, 2014
Quirky story about how sometimes we need a little "make-believe" to help ease us into what can be a scary real-world. Very likable characters and made you feel good about humanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 8, 2016
The movie was charming, funny, sad and entertaining all at once. It was well acted, interesting and original. Even though the last 5 minutes were the most disappointing thing in the movie and it was not always very realistic, it was still aThe movie was charming, funny, sad and entertaining all at once. It was well acted, interesting and original. Even though the last 5 minutes were the most disappointing thing in the movie and it was not always very realistic, it was still a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
manicsalchowDec 6, 2014
An emotional roller coaster into the world of a "special" person. Beautifully weird. Exceptionally strong. As it cultivates hope and miracle to happen throughout the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FlickLoverMay 31, 2015
Lars and the Real Girl: "The search for true love begins outside the box." A very good movie that allowed me to see "outside the box" as I watched it. I was moved as I watched a community help with the healing of one of their number. ThisLars and the Real Girl: "The search for true love begins outside the box." A very good movie that allowed me to see "outside the box" as I watched it. I was moved as I watched a community help with the healing of one of their number. This film was a refreshingly unorthodox view of showing and finding love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
Lars and the Real Girl is a film that could easily degenerate into a coarse joke because of its seemingly titillating premise. However, screenwriter Nancy Oliver explores the psychology of an introverted man and the small Wisconsin communityLars and the Real Girl is a film that could easily degenerate into a coarse joke because of its seemingly titillating premise. However, screenwriter Nancy Oliver explores the psychology of an introverted man and the small Wisconsin community which embraces his idiosyncratic denial instead of going for cheap laughs. Ryan Gosling gives Lars an innocence and decency which allow the audience to embrace Lars' behavioral disorder as his family and friends do.
Worth your time, top of the Netflix queue.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CasuallyJan 17, 2017
Against all odds Lars and the Real Girl slowly earns your attention and trust as Bianca earns hers in the community. Endearing to the end it dodges obvious plot lines and cheap laughs and instead portrays strong morals. Maybe a little slow inAgainst all odds Lars and the Real Girl slowly earns your attention and trust as Bianca earns hers in the community. Endearing to the end it dodges obvious plot lines and cheap laughs and instead portrays strong morals. Maybe a little slow in places but altogether necessary to tell the story. An outstanding one man performance from Ryan Gosling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews