The Last Stand

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 194
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    3
    Movie was eh. Don't like seeing Arnold old, just doesn't pump me up like he use to. Movies like this makes me long for the days of Total Recall, Terminator, and Predator.
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    3
    "The Last Stand" 10 Scale Rating: 3.5 (Bad) ...

    The Good: Some of the action sequences are at least decent. While he was out of place and saddled with a horrible script, Arnold still has a lot of charisma. The Bad: Cheesy and full of awful one-liners, "The Last Stand" is a cringe-worthy effort. Under-developed and cliche characters (even for an action flick!) litter the screen. Not
    "The Last Stand" 10 Scale Rating: 3.5 (Bad) ...

    The Good: Some of the action sequences are at least decent. While he was out of place and saddled with a horrible script, Arnold still has a lot of charisma.

    The Bad: Cheesy and full of awful one-liners, "The Last Stand" is a cringe-worthy effort. Under-developed and cliche characters (even for an action flick!) litter the screen. Not the best premise with over-acting reaching epic levels, especially from Arnold, Peter Stormare, and Forest Whitaker. Lastly, Johnny Knoxville's character (who seems like a lot of Knoxville's characters) was irritating at best.
    Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    3
    There is nothing special about this movie NOTHING beyond the fact that Arnold is in this movie and his action scenes are no where what they used to be. Everything corny that you hate from C- 80s/90s action flicks are in The Last Stand from the feeble guy whom you really don't care for anyways that dies, to the ridiculous guy that won't die, the Mr. Bad Guy don't mess with me is present,There is nothing special about this movie NOTHING beyond the fact that Arnold is in this movie and his action scenes are no where what they used to be. Everything corny that you hate from C- 80s/90s action flicks are in The Last Stand from the feeble guy whom you really don't care for anyways that dies, to the ridiculous guy that won't die, the Mr. Bad Guy don't mess with me is present, some cheap attempts at humour which fall flat on their face, suspense where the outcome is painfully obvious, a storyline which is there only as an excuse to give the action some meaning and to the paltry car explosion scene that you've seen a million times in past movies. The acting is all around terrible too (Arnold) except for Johnny Knoxville who talks with his mouth as well as his facial expressions. He was a pleasure to watch in a non-homosexual way. Action was terrible outside of the chaingun scene (which lasts 10 seconds) and the whole time I was waiting for Arnold to do something amazing but no...nothing happened. Just a corny ending and me feeling bad I had to pay for this on a Tuesday night. Watch this movie if you want your crying family to read on your coroner's report: "central nervous system necrosis and subsequent apnea due to boredom" as the cause of death. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2013
    3
    Schwarzeneger's back! And if you think that's a good thing, you're one of the many people I don't understand. I'm sorry, but I didn't find this film entertaining at all. Not to mention it has about as much depth as a Jessica Simpson music video.
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    It could have been a great action flick but Ji-woon Kim botched it. There was enough crazinessin the trailers to suggest a success but the movie is far from what you could have expected
    The casting is okay regarding the supporting roles, I love Shwarzy even when his acting is as vivid as a piece of meat full of steroid (he actually have some nice scenes) so I can't complain, Knoxville is
    It could have been a great action flick but Ji-woon Kim botched it. There was enough crazinessin the trailers to suggest a success but the movie is far from what you could have expected
    The casting is okay regarding the supporting roles, I love Shwarzy even when his acting is as vivid as a piece of meat full of steroid (he actually have some nice scenes) so I can't complain, Knoxville is (or should have been) the star of the show but Eduardo Noriega is one of the worst villain I've seen lately, Luis Guzmán first half of the movie completely kill the other half and Forest Whitaker is THE least believable FBI coordinator I've ever seen
    I was enthusiast about the scenario but it appear dull after only 20mn into the movie.
    To continue about the craziness, it's all I was excpecting from this movie (I was seriously envisioning some kind of Machete/Tarantino-like freakshow) but even the few scenes that aim for that touch fall flat from poor acting or terrible editing
    I can't say that I did not enjoyed some of the scenes (seeing terminator bring his last german souplex was heartwarming) but overall, this is not what I expected and even trying to watch it frome the 2nd, 3rd and 4th degry didn't work for me
    I'll finish with some of the effect or choices that really buried the movie in my opinion (no spoilers hopefully)
    ° The overuse of the basic timetable (white letters on blurry screen) is annoying, there were so many creative way to use it in the movie
    ° The ''revenge for the good guy'' cliché, there were so many reasons to send Shwarzy after bad guys, why settle for a bad one?
    ° The obvious lack of originality (maybe the director had his hand tied, maybe he wasn't in the mood) but if all the good scenes of the movie can be sumed up in a 2mn trailer, why bother?
    ° The stupid-a*s backstory or the lack of them (''At age 3 he had his first mercedes, at age 5, his father built him a closed circuit in his backyard, at age 12 he was a competitive sport driver, at age 23 he is a drug lord and I drive him aroud Las Vegas with no intention whatsoever to make sure he doesn't escape, herp derp durp heurp'' (and the cuty can aim a sniper rifle without being trained by her step-father who'se a long lost Shwarzy friend, just saying)
    ° The horrible casting choices... Chris Tucker would have made a better mexican sidekick, Cheech Marin a way scarier bad guy and Giancarlo Esposito a trustworthy, calm, professionnal FBI agent with a sad backstory (''goddamn I won't loose another agent'' (see usefull backstory up there)) Ps guess which one I would have choose for the actual role
    Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    2
    A small time sheriff is called up to the plate when an escaped fugitive tries to drive through his town......and of course he steps up to the plate with his rag-tag bunch of deputies and puts on a great "Last Stand". The story line is as painfully dull as the characters and the dialogs and the acting. There are a few good action scenes and car chases, but other than that, Arnold's greatA small time sheriff is called up to the plate when an escaped fugitive tries to drive through his town......and of course he steps up to the plate with his rag-tag bunch of deputies and puts on a great "Last Stand". The story line is as painfully dull as the characters and the dialogs and the acting. There are a few good action scenes and car chases, but other than that, Arnold's great comeback is nothing more than big giant muscular cliche. Collapse
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 26, 2013
    58
    The bloodshed speaks volumes enough, though, even if it takes some time getting to the mayhem proper.
  2. 38
    It's a junky, crowd-pleasing movie of sidekicks – Guzman and Knoxville – bad acting, over the top shootouts, and catch phrases.
  3. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    If only Kim had a sense of humor to match his visual wit. Instead, we get rusted gags and rubbery acting.