CBS Films | Release Date: November 1, 2013
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
35
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BHBarryNov 3, 2013
“Last Vegas” stars Michael Douglas, Robert De Niro, Morgan Freeman and Kevin Kline in what can best be described as a senior citizen’s “Hangover” where, as in that film, lifelong friends also experience a bachelor party in Vegas. That,“Last Vegas” stars Michael Douglas, Robert De Niro, Morgan Freeman and Kevin Kline in what can best be described as a senior citizen’s “Hangover” where, as in that film, lifelong friends also experience a bachelor party in Vegas. That, however, is where the likeness ends for “lifelong” in this film means men who have been friends for over 60 years and have gone through many of life’s trials and tribulations together. This movie is geared for and will be enjoyed most by older movie goers who can identify with Cholesterol and PSA numbers versus baseball statistics and who can understand that phone calls from friends you haven’t heard from in many years don' always bring happy news. Well directed by Jon Turteltaub with a screenplay by Dan Fogelman, Messrs. Douglas, De Niro, Freeman and Kline get a chance to display their comedic and dramatic talents while ably abetted by a sparkling and charming Mary Steenburgen, all while in the venue of Las Vegas and, more specifically, Binion's Hotel and the Aria Resort complex. Though the jokes may be old, they are delivered well and make for a relaxed and nice viewing experience. This is not a great film nor will it win many awards but it does give the audience an opportunity to sit back and enjoy the exploits of these senior citizens as they seek new goals, heal old wounds and cement quality relationships. I give the film a 7 and recommend it to all who believe that life doesn’t necessarily end but can, in fact, begin over 70. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
analogkid280Nov 2, 2013
Pure fantasy for people who need to escape. This is a story of what happens when everything goes right in Vegas. It does not all have to make sense or be completely believable because it is all about having fun and solving a few issues in thePure fantasy for people who need to escape. This is a story of what happens when everything goes right in Vegas. It does not all have to make sense or be completely believable because it is all about having fun and solving a few issues in the process of having all that fun. That being said if you also want to have a great time in Vegas just see this movie. The real life stories usually don't end with you leaving the table with 120 grand, and you don't have to wait on your plane to arrive at the airport. Movie ticket much cheaper than real Vegas every time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysNov 10, 2013
Last Vegas might look a little incompetent and stupid at first glance, but give it a chance. There are truly hilarious moments (not just in the trailer), and a deep, relatable message about friendship and loyalty that went deeper on emotionalLast Vegas might look a little incompetent and stupid at first glance, but give it a chance. There are truly hilarious moments (not just in the trailer), and a deep, relatable message about friendship and loyalty that went deeper on emotional levels than I thought it would. Also, it's funny to see these classic actors make fun of themselves like this. It's not every day you see Morgan Freeman drunk-dancing! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JoeMan4529Nov 3, 2013
A movie for the ages, meaning over 50. Funny movie that keeps a smile on your face throughout and quite few burst of loud laughter. I enjoyed it very much. The young might have difficulty in relating.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinNov 8, 2013
The most surprising thing about "Last Vegas" was that I laughed a few times and enjoyed it. You know going in that with a story about 4 old men who were childhood friends back in Brooklyn are now in Las Vegas where one of them is marrying aThe most surprising thing about "Last Vegas" was that I laughed a few times and enjoyed it. You know going in that with a story about 4 old men who were childhood friends back in Brooklyn are now in Las Vegas where one of them is marrying a girl Lisa (Bre Blair) more than half his age what the jokes will be about and they are. There are the Viagra, prostate and genital jokes. There will be very busty women all over the place, a lot of leers and plenty of old men jokes. The men are in Las Vegas to throw a bachelor party for Billy (Michael Douglas) the Peter Pan of the group.

Giving him the party are Archie (Morgan Freeman), who has recently had a stroke and is living with his son Ezra (Michael Ealy), his daughter-in-law Karen Ceesay and his granddaughter, along with widower recluse Paddy (Robert De Niro) and Sam (Kevin Kline) whose wife gave him a condom and Viagra pill when letting him off at the airport and telling him that what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.

As can only happen in a Hollywood movie, Archie wins $102,000 at blackjack and the guys are given the huge luxurious penthouse suite and a host, Lonnie (Romany Malco) who is to see to all their needs. We also meet Dean (Jerry Ferrara) a mouthy kid who has to be taught a lesson, Maurice (Roger Bart) a straight cross dresser there with his wife and an assortment of female impersonator entertainers.

Last, and most important, we meet Diane (Mary Steenburgen) who gave up her past life to become an aging lounge singer and changes the life of two of the men, probably the only 'spoiler' that can be in a film of this genre.

The direction by Jon Turteltaub and the screenplay by Dan Fogelman. The four stars deliver with their charisma and professionalism while Las Vegas is shown at its glittery best.

The main reason to see this movie is to catch Morgan Freeman when he shows his dance moves which are guarenteed to put a smile on your face!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonNov 1, 2013
Taken as a dramedy for older folks, though, Last Vegas at least offers that demo enough relatable situations and moments to make for passable entertainment. We'll never know what it would it have been like to have seen the De Niro of the DeerTaken as a dramedy for older folks, though, Last Vegas at least offers that demo enough relatable situations and moments to make for passable entertainment. We'll never know what it would it have been like to have seen the De Niro of the Deer Hunter and Raging Bull era opposite the Douglas of his China Syndrome and Wall Street years, but at least we'll always remember that sequence in Last Vegas when a guy in a thong shakes his junk in Robert De Niro's face. That's got to count for something in cinematic history, right? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RJLilleyNov 10, 2013
"Last Vegas" is based on a concept done to death, but for some reason, I loved it. Kevin Kline played my favourite character in the film, and although a lot of the plot is over-the-top, I felt it worked. There are some great "lessons" in the"Last Vegas" is based on a concept done to death, but for some reason, I loved it. Kevin Kline played my favourite character in the film, and although a lot of the plot is over-the-top, I felt it worked. There are some great "lessons" in the film, and although some of the plot just works out "too perfectly", I dug it. I wish movies trying to be like "The Hangover" would copy this instead. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Aug 20, 2015
When you take the plots of two successful movie franchises, and blend them into one, often the results are mixed, but this time, thanks to an all-star cast, The Hangover meets Grumpy Old Men in Last Vegas, and the results are hilarious. BillyWhen you take the plots of two successful movie franchises, and blend them into one, often the results are mixed, but this time, thanks to an all-star cast, The Hangover meets Grumpy Old Men in Last Vegas, and the results are hilarious. Billy (Michael Douglas) is 70 years old and about to marry a college student. While he seems content with his new life, he desires one last vacation with his three best friends from the old neighborhood. Reluctantly putting aside old quarrels, the men meet in Las Vegas for Billy's bachelor party, and once things get going, these guys prove that they are anything but over the hill. It's hard to go wrong with a cast of Academy Award winners that have literally hundreds of films under their belts, but a film like Last Vegas really does come down to the writing. If it's not hilarious, in the eyes of the audience, the cast will seem as over the hill as their characters. Thankfully, that wasn't the case, as simply the chemistry between these guys leads to some hilarious moments, that I'd be willing to bet were completely unscripted. Each actor brings their own unique style and brand of humor to the part and when they finally come together in Las Vegas, this film takes off. It isn't an exaggeration to say that this is one of the funniest films I've seen all year. Just the guys reaction to the things associated with modern day Las Vegas, like the technology, thugs, rap music, and strippers is absolutely priceless. The ancient cast and a PG-13 rating turned a lot of people off to this film, but the cast is a complete throw back trapped in a modern party town, leading to some epic scenes. Last Vegas is an absolute comedy gem, that somehow fell under most peoples radars, but it is every bit as good as the Hangover was, and maybe even more so, thanks to the experience of the cast and their tremendous chemistry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ROFLoomNov 5, 2013
This film was one of the best times I have had at the movies recently. I'm a 19 year old student filmmaker that's been studying film, analyzing it, making it, but through all of that I forgot what going to the movies is really about; having aThis film was one of the best times I have had at the movies recently. I'm a 19 year old student filmmaker that's been studying film, analyzing it, making it, but through all of that I forgot what going to the movies is really about; having a good entertaining time. I believe movies should do several things; have a great story: this one's story was not AMAZING but the background the characters had with each other played a huge part in the film's story. A good film should have great messages; this one had some of the best messages I have seen in recent films, something that actually made me feel so much better and just all around happy; and the film should be entertaining. The jokes were laugh out loud funny (I won class clown and my father is a stand up comedian, it's not easy to make me laugh) but the humor in this movie was great. Although older audiences might get more from it, it made me so appreciative to have my whole life ahead of me, and know that I will never be too old to have a dumb good time with my buddies. The film also captured Vegas pretty well, maybe not every aspect, but enough to the point where it made you feel like you were there. I'm sick of critics only giving good scores to these long boring movies like Gravity, or Prisoners, because it's "more intelligent" or whatever. Screw that, I would take this film over films like that any day, because this is what going to the movies is about; laughs, cries, heartbreaks, in this case some awkward groaning and moaning sounds (I was the only non-grey haired person in the audience) but this film did it's job. The cast was hilarious together, I'd say this is one of the funniest films of the year, one of the funniest films about Vegas (yes, funnier than the Hangover) and a film for ALL ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeMar 18, 2014
Recently I have seen some good movies based on a gang of old people. 'Stand Up Guys', 'Quartet', 'Song for Marion', 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel' et cetera the list goes on where aged people rule. It's nice to see old guys are stillRecently I have seen some good movies based on a gang of old people. 'Stand Up Guys', 'Quartet', 'Song for Marion', 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel' et cetera the list goes on where aged people rule. It's nice to see old guys are still capable to handle the responsibility in the entertainment business. Those movies I saw were really awesome including this movie.

After the opening scene which lasted for a couple of minutes the next commencing portion of the story was very ordinary. Just like a copy and paste of todays movie theme based on young people who fancy LAs lifestyle. It was until the beginning of the last quarter of the movie. That is the segment I began to love it. The love triangle with strong emotions. In one word to describe, it was an ordinary opening, but ended in a style.

It is hard to point out who had a greater role and who excelled their parts. In my view, all the four + one were equally performed good. The flaw was in the story which made no sense in many scenes regarding casino and their guest. Except those it was highly entertaining, especially the first half was fun and the rest were about heartbreaking love and friendship.

It was kinda envious because someday I am gonna be an old and a similar kinda situation may occur to me. It might not be my story, but looks like those four are gonna be me and my friends someday. This movie might not be a reality, but stays closer to your heart in emotionally. It was not a great movie as well not rejectable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
fuulveNov 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To see this movie more than once bad choice.
If you have enough time and would like to spend it that film is good for it and that abundant.
Dialogs logical and simple at same time. You will see some great episodes, but only a few.
Sort of kind movies with awesome start as Douglas, De Niro, Freeman and Kline and only one minus, they are playing in a boring movie and on average, it makes an average movie with a great ending.
Paradox is, one of the best moments in this movie you will see in the end, that isn't happy ending or etc., it is vitally ending.
Of course everyone need to make their own decision to see or not to see this movie
I only suggest, not to see. See it only for vitally ending is not rational.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AnotherGamerFRANov 3, 2013
Although the movie lacks many things a good comedy should be, our four musketeers make a satisfying appearance. Recommended for anyone that enjoys old fashioned comedy movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VolbeatNov 20, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Last Vegas is about a group of long-time childhood friends who meet in Vegas for a weekend because one of them is getting married. This film was great with cameos by LMFAO and 50 cent. Michael Douglas, Robert De Niro, Morgan Freeman, and Kevin Kline did a great job acting and it's hard to believe these 4 great actors have never worked with each other before and they should definatly work together again on future films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 7, 2014
its cool rembering what you did as a child back in the day i love this movie it is funny and great . it is just like grown ups movie expect its about old people .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
malcMar 18, 2014
Anybody who doesn't find this movie marginally short of excellent has no sense of humour whatever their age. I feel sorry for csw12 and more so for Proteus who must be sad and boring soles. Take my advice and see this movie, it is well worthAnybody who doesn't find this movie marginally short of excellent has no sense of humour whatever their age. I feel sorry for csw12 and more so for Proteus who must be sad and boring soles. Take my advice and see this movie, it is well worth the entrance money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mindie777Jun 25, 2014
Fantastic funny film - it's for more of an older audience, which is why it has some low reviews, as the youngsters today .... Blah blah lol. but I couldn't stop laughing - although my 22 yr old son watched it too and he was collapsed withFantastic funny film - it's for more of an older audience, which is why it has some low reviews, as the youngsters today .... Blah blah lol. but I couldn't stop laughing - although my 22 yr old son watched it too and he was collapsed with some of the one liners. It was brilliant - really was Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
I wasn't expecting to enjoy this film because I thought I was a bit too young for it, but I was surprised. All four of the main characters were hilarious and they all worked so well off of each other. It seems like they like they know eachI wasn't expecting to enjoy this film because I thought I was a bit too young for it, but I was surprised. All four of the main characters were hilarious and they all worked so well off of each other. It seems like they like they know each other pretty well behind the camera. Last Vegas is just a great buddy comedy. It doesn't matter how old you are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lucbevibrasilDec 27, 2016
The movie, yes, is like The Hangover of the old mans, but it's lighter and in a way more touching, but still fun. The production is simple, with a light and loose script, right music and correct cinematography. I think the director did notThe movie, yes, is like The Hangover of the old mans, but it's lighter and in a way more touching, but still fun. The production is simple, with a light and loose script, right music and correct cinematography. I think the director did not have to have had so much work with the cast, with a very strong quintet, each with his Academy Awards. Perhaps most surprising is Mary Steenburgen, great on the scene, but the leading quartet does not leave to be desired, even Morgan Freeman superior sense in several moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews