Leaving Las Vegas

Leaving Las Vegas Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: After being fired, an alcoholic screenwriter (Nicolas Cage) takes his final paycheck to Las Vegas where he plans to drink himself to death. He comes in contact with a prostitute (Elizabeh Shue) who needs to be needed.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Leonard Klady
    100
    The film pulls no punches, takes no prisoners and flies in the face of feel-good pictures.
  2. 100
    Cage and Shue make these cliches into unforgettable people.
  3. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    90
    Mr. Cage digs deep to find his character's inner demons while also capturing the riotous energy of his outward charm. [27 October 1995, p. C3]
  4. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    88
    I don't see how you can get away from calling Cage’s performance a great one. [10 November 1995, Friday, p.C]
  5. What keeps the film (adapted from the late John O'Brien's harrowing semi-autobiographical book) from being completely unbearable are the extraordinary performances.
  6. An amazing, bracing, funny, audacious, tender, and sobering piece of filmmaking. Few movies have ever dared to be this remorseless in their portraits of addiction.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    50
    A movie that may be just a bit too pleased with its own artful bleakness.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    It's deep, surreal, and offers a kind of operatic ecstasy that is both wonderful and heartbreaking at the same time. Nicholas Cage andIt's deep, surreal, and offers a kind of operatic ecstasy that is both wonderful and heartbreaking at the same time. Nicholas Cage and Elisabeth Shue also deliver flawless performances. Expand
  2. JobA.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    I've seen this movie probably 30 times.The acting by cage is really unbelievable.Who ever doesn't like this movie never really paid I've seen this movie probably 30 times.The acting by cage is really unbelievable.Who ever doesn't like this movie never really paid attention to the amazing story and acting.A work of art. Expand
  3. HaroldP.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Won't say it's the finest movie ever made, but it's my favorite ever. This film haunts me days after I watch it. Elisabeth Won't say it's the finest movie ever made, but it's my favorite ever. This film haunts me days after I watch it. Elisabeth Shue's tragic beauty is almost too much to bear. If you've ever loved and lost you understand what I mean.... This is Nicolas Cage's best performance, it's clear he knows his way around the bottle. Depressing, yes, ultimately uplifting...no. Just a small window into the lives of two hurt souls who finally find a lover and friend, even if they both know it's much too late...awesome. Collapse
  4. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    8
    Cage's performance is mesmerizing. This movie will resonate with anyone who has struggled with alcoholism. It can be a downer but the Cage's performance is mesmerizing. This movie will resonate with anyone who has struggled with alcoholism. It can be a downer but the film--and Cage in particular--is so memorable that it's worth watching. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2016
    8
    Nicolas Cage is rocking himself in Las Vegas in Leaving Las Vegas. With it, it shows how much Nicolas Cage can enter his great side in moviesNicolas Cage is rocking himself in Las Vegas in Leaving Las Vegas. With it, it shows how much Nicolas Cage can enter his great side in movies and shows how much he's willing to leave that place forever. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2015
    7
    Dark, depressing, and extremely raw, Leaving Las Vegas is an exquisitely made film that showcases Nicolas Cage and Elisabeth Shue in one ofDark, depressing, and extremely raw, Leaving Las Vegas is an exquisitely made film that showcases Nicolas Cage and Elisabeth Shue in one of the best roles of their careers. Featuring two very troubled individuals who fall in love, Leaving Las Vegas is one that certainly hits you hard and really makes you feel attached and feel a lot of empathy for the characters. Though these people may not be the best human beings ever (in particular Cage's character), you get a sense that there is more to both of them and that they absolutely need one another. A very interesting character study and an interesting look at the seedier parts of Las Vegas, this one does have its negatives. Namely the fact that it can drag a bit. While riveting and a very interesting example of how a film just needs characters, not necessarily a plot to make it successful, this one does slow down at times, which is what made me not enjoy it as much as others. However, overall, it stands tall as a great example of two people on the downslide of life who find each other. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2014
    5
    This is the first movie that has positive reviews and I give it a mixed review. I think the movie is well acted (Nicolas Cage nails it) butThis is the first movie that has positive reviews and I give it a mixed review. I think the movie is well acted (Nicolas Cage nails it) but the rest of movie is entirely depressing, with no compelling characters or storytelling Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered

    Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 12, 2010
    The inimitable star of this week's "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" has been one of Hollywood's most prolific actors over the past three decades, for better and worse. We look in detail at 15 of Cage's movies, including the highs and lows.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.