User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 305

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    One of the most refreshing vampire films you'll see this decade. The story is poetic yet disturbing and the leads are well cast. Watching it with good friends will only improve the experience.
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. Too many films rely on things like SFX, creative camera-work, bright colors and flashy visuals to draw audiences into the film's world. Here, there's almost none of that. All you have is the writing and the characters. And, shockingly, those two things alone amount to, literally, the best film than I have ever seen. No joke. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Captures the quiet eeriness and beauty of the Swedish landscape just as well as it confidently maps the contours of human sociality. The combination of the two geographies sears itself more deeply into memory than the pomp and circumstance of more ambitious (but less effective) films. Redeems chocolate as a symbol for love.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    A perfect movie. Went in expecting a decent vampire flick. Was totally blown away. It wasn't just a great vampire movie, it was a great movie in general. I highly recommend this to any cinema lovers out there.
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Overall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of the new "Teen Vampire" fad. It was a beautiful movie about companionship and the true nature of evil. Could not have been a better cast selected for these children. Everyone should see this movie, because it's difficult to describe what it makes you feel. Definitely a unique experience. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    As a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to the vampire mythology and this puts Stephanie Meyer's Twilight to shame since both the book and film were released after Let The Right One In. It proves that international features are fresh. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    It achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to either necrophilia or bestiality -- but also artistically and masterfully elicits the subjects of loneliness, romance, and horror. From the vista that is the cinematography ubiquitous in black nights and white snow, to the authentic performances displayed therein, Let The Right One In, again, is a masterful film. Expand
  8. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    The first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together in my head. The settings for the film are so bleak in that 70'ies building complex, in the dead of winter and so completely devout of colors that it can't but make an impression. The feeling of impending doom is everywhere from the start - first in Oskar being followed and bullied, then in a young vampire's struggle for survival and even in her helper's struggle to help her. And this feeling of doom that stuck with me throughout the film stayed with me afterwords. I keep reading that the Swedish director knows exactly what childhood is all about and that his way of portraying this is without comparison - I'm happy to say that my childhood was nothing like what is portrayed in this film and keeping the feeling this film installed in me in mind, I'm very grateful for this. I quite simply love this film. Expand
  9. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    This is perhaps the best movie I've seen in the past two years.. It is sober and powerful, beautifully acted and directed, everything is just right. Absolutely not to be missed.
  10. Apr 9, 2014
    9
    A crisp, tasteful adaptation of a vastly layered story. Simply told and smoothly acted, Let The Right One In is the perfect companion piece to the original book.
  11. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Creepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as much about love and loneliness as it is about vampires. Expand
  12. May 31, 2011
    10
    I'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost in its attempt for bigger, better action and special effects. All the actors and actresses in this work of art (yes, it is literally that and much more) are superb, but the best? Lina Leandersson. The girl can project more emotion with her eyes than most can using speech and every other tool. Expand
  13. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the Swedish language anyway. So I took up the task of watching the film without English subtitles. I do NOT regret it. Never in any film I had witnessed prior to viewing "Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' had I seen two polar opposites such as death and love combined in such a magnificent way that it almost brought me to tears. I've watched the film three times since my original viewing and it only gets better each time. The performance(s) of Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were simply stunning. All in all, ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' takes the classic vampire story and turns it into a beautifully woven modern tale of love, death, and adolescent challenges faced by people everyday. I would say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' is one of (if not the) greatest film(s) I have seen in the past twenty years. I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and I truly say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' (Or ''Let the Right One In,'' as Americans have come to know it as) is a film you need to see before you die. Expand
  14. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, and you can't help but cheer for the vampire girl, even though she's a "monster" inside, as well as the ever bullied Oskar, whom you cheer for when he's bullied and hope the bastards get what's coming. And the payoff, is well over any expectation. Expand
  15. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    http://mikesharkey.blogspot.com/2009/04/lat-den-ratte-komma-in-let-right-one-in.html
    Hoyte van Hoytema
  16. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    this movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it is not only a horror movie! the movie works great in general, and the drama was so real. lovers of drama will love this movie the most. Expand
  17. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli. While not as ground-breaking as people suggest, Let the Right One In is no less emotionally fulfilling. The film is mainly shown by Oskarâ Expand
  18. May 9, 2013
    10
    What can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of the pool) and an innocent love and tender that is able to kneel horror. This movie should have been paid a lot and we should not consider it as twilight because this film is much, much better than the "story" of love. This movie makes you feel wonderful emotions and recommend it to everyone, absolutely everyone to watch it because it's worth it. Expand
  19. Zal
    Jan 11, 2012
    10
    I adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to death and turns it into something simple yet effective. Expand
  20. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    My favorite movie of all time. I saw it on my birthday the year it came out and it has stuck with me since. Never have I been so connected to characters.
  21. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Hands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie that shows that just because a vampire and a human can become friends and later on lovers, dosenĀ“t mean that it must be a boring and stupid romantic movie (like Twilight). "Let The Right One In" does feature a little romance, but its also a disturbing and a scary movie. Expand
  22. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    When i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far my favorite vampire flick to date. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Elena Oumano
    80
    A coolly balanced and utterly compelling examination of alienation and love.
  2. If random arty blood thrills are your cup of fear, perhaps you'll enjoy Let the Right One In, a Swedish head-scratcher that has a few creepy images but very little holding them together.
  3. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    70
    Calling to mind the work of Anne Rice and Stephen King, atmospheric adaptation of Swedish author John Ajvide Lindqvist's bestseller is well directed by his countryman Tomas Alfredson ("Four Shades of Brown") and should click with cult and arthouse auds.