User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 332

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2014
    8
    Although the script has serious credibility issues, it's a very entertaining film which I enjoyed very much. Bradley Cooper is quite charismatic, and Robert De Niro is very good, in a limited role as one of the villains. I enjoyed this more than the other film of Burger's I've seen--the more recent Divergent. He's decent at science fiction, though he should look for stronger, better constructed scripts in future. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2014
    5
    While Limitless definitely has some intelligence, the whole experience of seeing this movie seems fake. There's something about every perfect little plot point, every twist and turn, and even Bradley Cooper's charismatic and risky performance that makes me think there's a side of this movie that isn't being shown. Watching this left me feeling a little uneasy and suspicious, and I didn't believe a second of the movie. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Limitless may not be the worst film of all-time, but it certainly tries to be. All with the air of seriousness, this movie has one of the stupidest plots I have ever seen, absolutely terrible acting, annoying narration that only makes me hate the protagonist, and a theme that seems to encourage being a terrible human being. This was not a movie to give a happy ending to. This was a movie that should have ended before it put a stain on the careers of everyone involved. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    One of the best movie i ever seen. Great story, great actors and great production. Hope they make Limitless 2 because the story is very great and De Niro was brilliant like usually...
  5. Aug 25, 2013
    6
    The storyline seems intriguing from the beginning, but later I didn't believe what was happening. It was pretty naive and plain and it was pretty obvious to predict some moments, for example when Eddie gets out of medicine. Cooper and De Niro are great though. The ending is way too cheesy. So I wanted to say this move has much more potential than the way it is.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    I read script for "Limitless", and all I have to say is that Neil did great job. Whole movie is interesting and has allot of fun, but second part of the movie is slow and goes in wrong direction. It's limitless at the beginning, but limited at the ending.
  7. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    A very entertaining movie, even if it doesn't reach its highest potential. It's stylish, engaging, well cast, well acted, and very fun. Yet you can feel in the back of your mind that the premise wasn't pushed far enough, that it could have been more creative. It's ending is a far bigger problem. It feels abrupt and it's also very murky. You can't be sure what exactly just happened, and not in a purposeful way like Inception either. Still, there's no denying the rush the movie gives you before the crash, and what a rush it is. Who doesn't wish to become a genius millionaire who rules the stock-markets in just a single week? Who doesn't wish they could instantly remember every fight move they've ever seen and actually use them? Despite its obvious shortcomings I still highly recommend it. Expand
  8. May 26, 2013
    5
    Interesting premise that dwindles in creativeness and excitement minute by minute. It is an easy movie to watch, but whether it is worth sitting through is a different story.
  9. May 25, 2013
    5
    An interesting concept with a good lead by Bradley Cooper but Limitless is certainly nothing to be jumping up and down about. The movie by the mid way point was starting to lose steam and the ending was lazy and weak.
  10. May 3, 2013
    6
    I love the idea and concept of this movie; about a single drug that produces magic in the brain. Bradley Cooper was perfect for this role. However, this movie could've been better. I don't sense any climax & it ends with such a 'perfect' ending. I mean there's got to be more than that. I was curious to find out the running out of NZTs. It was good movie, but definitely not a wow for me.
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    Limitless is about Eddie Morra (Bradley Cooper) a designer drug addict who goes from being a poor writer to becoming a stock-broker, top-criminal, CEO, drug-producer to presidential candidate and everything in between because of the drug he takes. (And television shows he watched as a teenager) Oh, he also gets the girl of his life. A girl that didn't want him when he was poor and stupid. True love. Actually, he's still stupid at the end of the movie but just stupid with a whole lot of psuedo-smart tagged on. Kind of like how you'd describe this movie. The director, who is obviously not a very intelligent person, tried to best depict how us intelligent people function and what we would do. When you're trying to convince the viewer that he's watching someone with a "4-digit-IQ" you better have some darn good writing ready to suspend some serious disbelief. Limitless doesn't have that writing. In fact, they could have left the drugs out and it'd be an interesting story about a gangster with political aspirations rather than a science-fiction story about a lying, thieving, adulterating nobody who seems to come out on top no matter what happens. Did I call it science-fiction? I meant to write just fiction. There's not much science to any of it and even the fiction is barely holding together with plotholes so large you could fit a methadone clinic through. Eddie's superpowers were so ridiculously mundane at times and completely impossible at others that it made me wonder if anyone with an IQ of above 100 ever proof-read the script. Perhaps everyone thinks that's what it likes to be intelligent? It's not. Like someone on IMDB wrote "If you have 20% stupid and turn that into a 100%, you still have only stupid". This movie will insult your intelligence. Expand
  12. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Limitless is one of these rare films, where the preview doesn't give you a clue as to how good it really is. I saw this because the movie I wanted to see wasn't playing until 11, and I honestly didn't expect much from it. What I got was a visual masterpiece, with some of the best camera work I've ever seen, and an amazing story that was so much more than some guy and his magic pill. It's intense, shocking, and unique. Bradley Cooper really makes the movie. He FINALLY lets go of his super cool, good looking guy image, and really shows the audience that he can act! This movie was a breath of fresh air and I can't wait til it comes out on DVD so I can see it again! Expand
  13. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    my greatest commendation of this movie is the fact that it sketches a very attractive scenario. who wouldn't want a pill that would make them super smart? the greatest flaw i spotted in the movie was the fact that there was virtually no character progression. the main character is lame and sad in the beginning, in the end, he may be wealthy and successful, but still lame. we never see what idea the movie had about drugs, or where the man character stands morally. of course, this presents no problem for people who want to have a good time, and i certainly did have a good time. Expand
  14. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    A fun journey from rags to riches for Cooper's characer. De Niro is sleepwalking through his role. Far fetched but from an entertainment perspective, it will leave you very satisfied.
  15. Feb 18, 2013
    6
    Limitless is an above average thriller, not without its flaws, but nonetheless well anchored by Cooper's versatile performance as both bum and success story. The film earns points for its varied cinematography and effects, giving clear distinction between the times when Eddie is experiencing the drugs illumination and not. The plot is a little thin, the ending feels almost tagged on as an afterthought and while Abbie Cornish doesn't really have much to do, Robert De Niro doesn't bring as much gusto as you would expect to his role as the investment kingpin who takes an interest in Eddie's success. Expand
  16. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    Limitless is a good movie. It mixes a unique and creative story with artsy filming. all and all Limitless is a very entertaining movie. It features good performances from the entire cast and has an interesting opinion of the world of experimental Pharmaceuticals.
  17. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    I love the plot even though it is super confusing not to mention a ending that made sorta no sense. But regardless it was a crazy mastermind with what I thought might be one of the craziest cinametographies ever.
  18. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    A really cool movie with an interesting concept, stylish editing, great cinematography, and an electrifying pace. Still not a Bradley Cooper fan, but he's alright here.
  19. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    This film had so much potential but there were just too many holes in it for me to give it a positive rating. It was pretty much as close as you can get to one and I do believe that most people will be entertained throughout the film as I was. Maybe I just couldn't get behind the idea 100% which would have to be the director's fault (though it could just be me).
  20. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    This movie's good stuff. Everything you would want from a Saturday-night rental. Provides thrills and occasionally,good action. The plot's original and the film has a more than average cast, shout out to De Niro.
  21. May 28, 2012
    8
    Cooper gives a top-drawer performance in this enjoyable flick, but it's the stylish and adventurous direction that really sets this film apart from its competitors. It's a little bit uneven, and more than a little bit immoral, but it's compelling and a joy to behold.
  22. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    'limitless' does indeed make a statement. an interesting one. perhaps the film's plot could have been further developed if it hadn't fallen on the sword of its large budget. little comparison to the protagonist's unique situation was available. such availability may have formed more complex conversation.
  23. Feb 19, 2012
    7
    I liked this movie, not necessarily because of the whole concept of the drug and its potential was brilliant. I liked the way Bradley Coopers character acted in a realistic way getting gradually more adventurous rather than going straight into world domination mode. It would have been nice to see Robert De Niro develop into more of a nemesis but this is a minor flaw in an otherwise entertaining movie. Expand
  24. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    Don't get me wrong I was entertained by this movie but there are just too many loopholes in the story and too many convenient things happen to keep the movie going. I wouldn't watch it again.
  25. Dec 8, 2011
    7
    Limitless while not being amazing has enough going for it to be entertaining and worth recommending. The story while being a little too familiar in science fiction was told in an original way and the cast gave good performances. I enjoyed the use of colour schemes in the movie and the dynamic use of the camera positioning and shots were interesting and effective. The movie did stay predictable throughout and unfortunately the ending of the film was not much of a surprise, something that is a little disappointing as there was more potential to this movie. Limitless is worth a watch. Recommended Expand
  26. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    A very good and decent movie, Bradley Cooper proves himself as a flexible actor, and De Niro, always superb.
    The plot is catchy and counts with a wonderfull and different story.
    The film also have a great filmography, witch scene plays, and interesting special effects, on this aspect its very well worked.
    However, the movie is not perfect, of course, the great idea of the story could more
    explored... You leave the cinema with the idea that the movie is not over, that there is something missing... Expand
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    First of all this is really good film. secondly when the guy says at the beginning we only use 20% of our brains that's not actually true. that's just a myth. we use 100%. thirdly the ending sucked. to me it seemed like they tried to cut it short or ran out of ideas. this is a shame because if it went on for another hour and ended differently it would of been better. over all really good film, and i loved the music by the black keys. Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    An adventure worth remembering that will have you craving a dose of NZT. A thriller that does its job to sensate your mind. Limitless incorporates the drug "Ecstasy" transforming a person into a calculator instead of a dance addict.
  29. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    IT'S A MOVIE ABOUT TAKING ADDERALL. HOW DOES NOBODY GET THAT? OH LOOK AT THAT I CAN SUDDENLY FOCUS BETTER. DUHH. THIS MOVIE IS OK. GOOD NOT GREAT. BUT ITS STUPID
  30. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    The movie starts as a 'what if' story, turns into a mystery, and then transforms itself into a thriller. The most interesting aspect of the film to me was its theme, namely the limitless potential of our conscious mind. Is our brain a treasure island full of hidden mental powers? At times we surprise ourselves by being able to recall a seemingly obscure fact deep in our memory vault.

    This
    movie is found by many of the critics as not so good film but viewers do entertain.... And I do too; found this film very very interesting... though in the end I'll say "Great Concept with Sloppy Execution & a Contrived Ending" Expand
  31. Oct 16, 2011
    6
    Though the movie has an ok rhythm to it and very nice camerawork, I have to say that it presents a VERY VERY limited idea as to what it could mean to be able to use/access 100% of your brain. The movie might have made a bit more sense if the pill added lets say an extra 10-20% of brain-potency, which is quite enough to elevate someone to the quite shallow and not that special capabilities portrayed in the movie.

    I mean the man can use 100%(!!!!) of his brain and all you could come up with to portray it is great at casinos and stock market, able to charm ladies into bed and can fight well (in certain situations only, in others the story line dictates that he suddenly "forgets" that he's Jet Li due to his memories of a few scenes from a Bruce Lee movie and a self defense clip, thus getting the crap kicked out of him). I'm thinking the writer of this movie (or more accurately, the author of the book it's based on) should have taken a couple of NZT pills himself before he wrote it.

    Not only are his "unlimited" abilities so limited, in order to make this "thriller" ... well... thrilling, the main character turns out to be the stupidest "extra-smart" man ever. Most of what gets him in trouble are mistakes that could easily be foreseen by my 5 year old nephew, yet this dude with unlimited smarts seems to fall into every pothole along the way.

    In short, enjoyment of this movie all depends on how you approach it. If you're expecting a Friday afternoon no-brainer with ok acting, I'd say this could do the job because from that aspect, it's definitely not bad. On the other hand, if you're expecting what this movie purports to be, you're going to be VERY disappointed (and at some point even quite bored).

    I'd say that the look and feel of the movie and that seed of a great idea (Ah, what Ingmar Bergman could have done with this) are what gained all the rating stars from me.

    Limitless idea, VERY limited, unimaginative and unintelligent execution. What a shame.
    Expand
  32. Oct 5, 2011
    7
    Nice light movie to watch with your girlfriend. Fun, not too simple story about a wish any of us would like to get a hold of in real life. The characters seem real enough to support the concept. Good performances by Bradley Cooper and Robert De niro, good touch from Abbie Cornish. Not much more to say really. It`s just not one of those movies that make you think about stuff. Sure, maybe a nice coffee talk after watching it but later, meh, it goes with all the other such productions and fades away. Expand
  33. Sep 27, 2011
    6
    The point of this cliched, preposterous movie? Don't do drugs.
  34. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Besides the cheesy Matrix ending, this is an entertaining/ popcorn movie. It could have been more poignant and philosophical, but instead it goes for the mass appeal. Regardless, it's good escapism and better than most movies out right now. Expand
  35. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    How many times have you heard this before: a thriller featuring an interesting premise (with a dash of sci-fi), a solid cast (Bradley Cooper, Robert DeNiro, Abbie Cornish), some well-staged action scenes...and an ending that makes you wish it all added up to more than it ultimately does. Still worth watching, but this seemed like it could have been great instead of merely decent.
  36. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    I really found this movie 'Limitless' thought provoking and it made me want to get my hands on a pill like this. They say we only use a small part of our brains so it would meet a need. It makes one wonder whether a pill like this will eventually be developed one day.I remember how far fetched it was to have a mobile phone when we were young and also a flat screen Television, so why not have a pill like this one day. We have pills that help people with depression which are relatively new on the scene. Bradley Cooper was perfect for the part and it was good to see Robert De Niro end up second best in the end. It was also great to have an ending that wasn't disappointing (like so many today) and have the main actor beat all the odds. Expand
  37. Aug 29, 2011
    5
    I have to say that I was genuinely excited about the subject of the movie starring a rising star( Cooper) and a old-timey one(De Niro). Ultimately the movie fell flat not to mention the stupidity of the ultimate scene, it should be noted that the movie failed due to screenplay. Uneven, filled with holes and lacking realism, it proves to be underwhelming specially in contrast to the directing. The high-point of Limitless are the incredible shots provided by Neil Burger and Jo Willems used to describe the effect of the drug or the sensational lingering non stop zooms of New York City. Another positive point is Bradley Cooper's transformation from a failing unsure of himself writer to a brilliant and **** trader, Cooper shows range as well as emotion as the title character. The rest of the cast is quite unmemorable, filled with uninteresting as well as pointless characters. Limitless could have been a great movie if so many details wouldn't have been overlooked : an unfinished script, failure to find material for the supporting characters and a let's start writing the sequel ending. Expand
  38. Aug 28, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How could a movie so well acted with such a great concept that has plenty of nifty tricks up its sleeve go so wrong? Plot holes bigger than the hole in Bin Laden's head.
    Let's not even discuss how his loser brother-in-law would have gotten his hands on the drug to begin with. We'll start with what I believe to be the most obvious and by far the most annoying prolem in the film. If you rub a lamp and a genie pops out, the first thing you are going to ask for is more wishes. If you found a pill that gave you a "4 digit IQ", you would immediately secure an unlimited supply of said pill. Only in this movie, multiple people have taken the pill, and despite being super geniouses, none of them had thought of this. Our main character didn't even think of until last 15 minutes of the flick. And, why would he need to go to a chemist to have the pill made. Surely he is smarter than the chemist. And, I would think the fewer people that know about a pill like this the better.
    Why the hell does he have to borrow money from a Russian Mobster? He wrote what is sure to be the greatest piece of literature of modern times in less than a week. I am sure the publishing company would have been happy to advance him a $100,000 for the rights to his next work. Our super genious also forgets to go pay the mobster back despite having over $2,000,000 in the bank and a perfect memory. This is a slap in the face to audiences' intelligence.
    The holes don't stop there. They just keep a'comin'. Multiple people have taken this drug. All of whom were transformed into geniouses in the process. Yet, he was the only one that realized if you eat and don't drink alcohol there are zero side effects. What? Seriously? You have to be @&!> kidding me. It's that simple? That's it? And he is the only one that figured it out.
    What was really great were the fight scenes where he was able to take on 10 guys at once. All he had to do was channel Bruce Lee via some memory he had of watching the Chinese Connection and Enter the Dragon. Just amazing! Amazing how this apperantly only applied to him. The pill popping genious Russian didn't even notice he had grabbed and was holding a weapon behind his back. Though we don't know how it all went down with the lawyer, I doubt he put up much of a fight either. Sadly, it gets worse. So, he kills the Russian and he is laying there with no more pills when it hits him. He needs to drink the blood of the Russian to get the drug into his system. Even if this were possible, and I highly doubt it is, he would have to drink just about every ounce of blood in the guys body. But our hero just takes two spoonfull size gulps off the tiled floor. And bam! He is back in the action in less than 30 seconds. Just incredible.
    Plenty more ludicrous stuff follows until we finally come to the end, and what is clearly the second most ridiculous event of the movie. De Niro's character comes to meet Cooper's character to let him know that he now controls the supply of the drug. And if he doesn't do what they tell him to do, he will be cut off. Improbably, our super genious hadn't been able to figure out what company made the drug. Even more unlikely than that is the chance of such a meeting ever even occuring. You are telling me that a power hungry, ego maniac has the opportunity to control someone who is taking the drug or just take the drug themself and he chooses the former? Doubt it. De Niro's character would have been popping more pills than Anna Nicole Smith.
    If you want some real entertainment from this movie, buy the dvd and throw it into your fire as you roast marshmellows. That's about as good as it's going to get.
    Expand
  39. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    Rarely ever disappointing, LIMITLESS is the definitive thriller. Bradley Cooper portrays Eddie Morra, a man who is lured into taking a fictitious drug called NZT for his writer's block, but as more and more people begin to find about the drug, writer's block is not the only thing he needs to access 100% of his mind for (as stated quite factually in the film, a normal human can only access 20% of his or her mind). Granted, the film doesn't get too off track with the fact that the drug was originally to cure writer's block, as in the "one year later" segment at the end, Eddie's book is finally released (really, that's not a spoiler, because that segment of the film serves as a comparison to the epilogue of a book). But so far, if there were a list of must-see films of 2011, LIMITLESS just might be in the top three. Expand
  40. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    I liked this film--great story and good story telling. The ending didn't live up to the rest of the movie but it didn't ruin the film. Overall a definite must watch for anyone that likes a thinking man's movie. Did you see what I did there? Hilarious.
  41. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    Une base scénaristique tout simplement géniale, au point de vouloir tester nous même les effets de cette pillule. Avec une telle interprétation (Bradley Cooper et Robert De Niro en tête) et une mise en scène ingénieuse (comme si on subissait les effets de la drogue), le film se laisse voir sans déplaisir. Il est quand même dommage que le sujet soit traîté à fond, se préoccupant plus des situations du héros (ça peut commencer à lasser), orientant le film plus vers la comédie que vers le thriller. Sympathique, mais un peu plus de sérieux n'aurait pas été de refus. Expand
  42. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    Enjoyable and Something New ...'Limitless' has these both ! Cooper is really a good actor . & he actually is perfect for this movie . Story was good . Its New that's we all like . But ending could be better was wasn't bad ! Not De Niro seems a bit off ! other then that good film .

    Story : 1.62 [Good , new and enjoyable]
    Directing : 1.42 [Could make it more better]
    Acting : 1.62 [Amazing
    De Cooper]
    Sound : 1.3 [Was OK]
    Edit & Effect : 1.4 [Was OK]

    OVERALL : 7.3/10
    Expand
  43. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    Interesting story but unnecessarily convoluted with the unneeded subplot of the Russian loan-shark. There are a couple of brilliant takes where the picture zooms through the city that impressed me. Worth watching.
  44. Aug 16, 2011
    2
    The film lacks any sort of direction, pacing or credibility. While I appreciate the fact that Bradley cooper doesn't want to play the stereotypical a**hole in films for the rest of his life, this movie really won't do him any good. Watching the film I didn't feel any sort of sympathy for the character. To me, he's just a looser stealing drugs off a dead guy and cheating on his girlfriend.
    De Niro does his best to salvage the movie, but it's simply not possible.
    Also, the premise is very unbelievable. How would a former drug dealer gain access to a highly sophisticated drug, let alone walk around with a stash on him? To sum up, I didn't care very much for the movie. P.S. relying on voice overs for insight is very very cheap.
    Expand
  45. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    For what this film was - a story about a writer doing drugs - it was interesting. If you over think it and put too much weight into anything other than "a writer doing drugs" - you might find this trite, boring and predictable. I wanted more De Niro in the film, but I guess his performance was decent. Bradley Cooper is believable in this role and his charm is very alluring. Kind of like the film itself. Expand
  46. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    This movie has a creative plot. I highly recommend it especially on DVD or Pay Per View. With all of the abuse of prescription drugs today it is rather timely and rather believable.
  47. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    My favourite movie of this year. Interesting concept and great cinematography. I also liked the acting a lot although the Russian mobster was a bit over the top. But I'm Russian so I may be overly sensitive here :D. Anyway the story is intriguing and the finale will be a positive surprise to viewers sick of "goody" endings.
  48. Jul 31, 2011
    2
    one of the most disappointing movies i've ever seen. great, original concept, but it was just executed poorly. for a 94-minute movie, i pushed the info button on my remote an extraordinary number of times, just to see when it would end.
  49. Jul 27, 2011
    5
    Wow. A lot of users gave this movie a positive review (users, no doubt). I checked it out because I thought the concept was sort of cool, and because De Niro could release a fart and I'd still take a whiff. What ruined the film, was the fact that the lovely Abbie Cornish was made to use an ice skate as a weapon (to cut a bad guy)....which is fine, except for the fact that the skate was on the foot of a child - The child which she picked up and swung, cutting said bad guy. A cheesy, cringworthy moment that prepared me for the ridiculous blood-slurping scene. Expand
  50. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    I have to say Limitless is one of the best films I've seen in a long time. One great thing about the movie is that it is so unpredictable, and by the end you're left thinking 'Wouldn't that be great if it really happened'. With Bradley Cooper (The Hangover, The A-Team) and Robert De Niro (Raging Bull, Goodfellas) at the helm, you know before watching that it's going to be a good film and it fulfils that incredibily. Excellent 10/10. Expand
  51. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Limitless is an alright film. The story is a bit interesting and when he takes the pills and gets knowledge and do what smart people do they were cool scenes. The problems with the film is it could have gone into more detail about how the pills came from and alot of the scenes in the film didnt interest me at all. I would give this film a high rental.
  52. Jul 23, 2011
    0
    Great. What do you get out of watching this movie ? Loser guy swallows a drug and gets super-smart. The perpetual monologues are highly annoying. In addition, the movie starts with the guy telling us that he didn't succeed. All expectation is killed right at the start. I cannot believe a studio actually greenlights this crap.
  53. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Limitless is a fairly gripping thriller. What does this pill do? Doesn't it have everybody's minds racing after watching this movie? Very original film that doesn't have to rely on trends in the movie biz. Cooper is the outright best actor for this thriller. Rough around the edges but smooth, suave and articulate when need be. There is a bone to pick with this movie... the end is unsettling and somewhat disappointing. In fact, when I watch it, I literally sat there thinking, "Really. THIS is how they end this great movie?!?!" All but the ending was incredible. 9/10 Expand
  54. Jul 20, 2011
    6
    One word, shallow. A shame, since the cool starting concept went to waste.[SPOILERS] The glaring hole in plot/character is: if the drug is all-enabling, what differentiates the central character from the thug and any other person on drugs? The answer the movie gave is NOTHING. He didn't have any redeeming qualities, from start to end he was completely reliant on the drug. He may have killed someone, and showed zero remorse or guilt. Aside from running out of the drug, he really didn't run into any problems. I felt the movie had a chance when he was told "you don't have experience, you have talent but you didn't earn it". Unfortunately the director never went down that road. I give the movie 6, because it just doesn't live up to potential. Expand
  55. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    This film seems to be a bit predictable and there is an awful lot of "why didn't he do that..." BUT somewhere quite late in the film things start changing and when you do reach the end (it is a bit long) there are some fairly startling revelations. In fact it puts the whole film into some perspective.
    Well worth watching and probably under estimated as a thoughtful film.
  56. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    A great movie. Kind of in the supernatural world, and I love it. I would be great for all ages, that have a sense of intelligency. Go see it. If you love supernatural. If you love De Niro. Its a must see. Makes you think outside of the box.
  57. Jun 3, 2011
    7
    Beyond my expectation, not brilliant but it's great. Bradley Cooper charismatic performance, Neil Burger visual panache direction, but the script is uneven and the duration is too long. Sci-fi, stock exchange, sex, genius, cool music, that I was talking about.
  58. May 29, 2011
    8
    Cooper is very convincing in this role, proving he is a versatile actor. From struggling writer to junkie to successful businessman - he plays them all. Would happily recommend this movie.
  59. May 28, 2011
    6
    Solid and enjoyable, but too much narration and a slightly flat finale. Nothing wrong with the action scenes and it's ok for a friday night, but could have been more thrilling with the premise.
  60. May 25, 2011
    10
    This movie was phenomenal. I think the concept is interesting enough to see this movie! It's about an unsuccessful writer who comes across an amazing new drug. It has the ability to completely unlock your brain's potential. It definitely changes his life and his outlook on it. Like all drugs that aren't completely kinked out and are illegal, it has side affects. This movie is great from the acting to the way they brighten up the world when he takes it. The ending is great and a bit scary too. I know this review might be a bit late, but please see this movie. It's so great. Expand
  61. May 21, 2011
    7
    all i have to say is wow. this movie shocked me. it was better than what i expected it to be. forget the people who hated on this movie. this movie is decent. the story was very good. the movie takes you for a spin.
  62. May 21, 2011
    8
    Yep its good. Reminds me of Fight club a bit. It does slow down towards the latter half but I really like the ending. It could have been a really really great movie but that been said, its definitely one to watch.
  63. May 20, 2011
    7
    This was a very good film. wasn't expected this movie to be any good. Great Job with the cast and screenwriting. This isn't the type of movie that i will die to see, but when i watch this movie i wasn't upset that i watched it i was glad that I actually found time to watch it , this movie was good. A good movie to watch. This movie probably don't seem good but it is. Good actors and actress. Good job with directing this movie. A well put together movie. The script to this movie was good. Good movie to watch. Expand
  64. May 1, 2011
    0
    I can't believe that someone would like this. So pretentious, full of crap, drug addict obsolete. I mean fear and loath was great movie that promote using drug. This, well, this is bull shi*. I gave it zero, i couldn't give it more, i just can't. I 'm happy that i didn't go to see in cinema i would be frustrated and betrayed. After 15 minutes watching at home i couldn't standed so much stupidity and i quit it. Just stopped and deleted, forever. Expand
  65. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    "Sharp , great dialouge , and a nice and steady pace , Limitless is a breath of fresh air in a year where movies have not been there best. Its simplistic , smart , and very well done and boasts one of Bradley Coopers best performances .. a nice surprise" .. B+
  66. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    Limitless is about the best idea of the year so far. What if there was a pill which allowed you access and use 100% of your brain instead of the usual 20% we may use sans pharmaceuticals? You could recall every single memory, word you read, place you saw, conversation you had, etc... Unfortunately, the pill wears off in the morning and if you use too much of it, you're headed in a downward spiral and a bad ending. The idea of a pill which could produce those effects is wonderfully original and fun for the audience to watch what a guy can accomplish on it. The guy here is Bradley Cooper, a failing and lazy writer. Cooper is not your trypical leading man and it's a far cry from his early 'Alias' episodes. Robert DeNiro also shows up in a supporting role which took me out of the film while I watched Robert DeNiro instead of a character actor who would have most likely kept me more engaged. This is an odd role for DeNiro, very sidelined and not much room to show off. The camera work stood out as well with some nifty tricks as the camera proceeds along the streets of New York in seemingly one shot. What does not work is a gangster plotline which interrupts the flow and throws a wrench a bit into how the smartest guy in the world could forget to pay off a loan shark and other bonehead moves but overall, here a great idea which is explored effectively for most, but not the whole, film. Expand
  67. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    a prime example of how most professional critics are a worthless bunch. this movie is engaging, interesting and full of twists. it all adds up to a good time. watch it.
  68. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    This is an entertaining film, provided that initial expectations of the viewer are not too high. The storyline is relatively predictable, and fails to touch on many of the darker aspects of drug addiction (which is something that this film almost seems destined for). Bradley Cooper is immensely watchable and proves that he is not just a comedy actor, delivering a good performance.

    There
    are a few instances, most notably the opening credits, where a strange camera technique is used to move down a street in a bizarre, flowing motion. This is aimed to show the effect of the drug on the user, yet unfortunately left me feeling sick and dizzy, with the result being that I could not focus on these sections of the film. I should also state that I do not suffer from any illness such as motion sickness that would cause this to occur, so I assume others may be likely to feel the same way when watching these scenes, which can only be described as a horrible design choice.

    Despite this, the film is perfect viewing for a relaxed viewer. The dialogue is often snappy, and the storyline is entertaining. Unfortunately Limitless feels like a missed opportunity, as with more work it could have been a very good film.
    Expand
  69. Apr 17, 2011
    7
    Pros: Looks great; cleverly written and directed; Bradley Cooper and De Niro make for charismatic characters; educative. Cons: A bit formulaic; not the best drama 2011 has offered as of yet.
  70. Apr 15, 2011
    6
    Limitless was a decent movie. Obviously going in you are already suspending disbelief so you can't complain if you thought the movie was a little over the top and ridiculous. (Which it was) Overall Bradley Cooper is fun to watch and makes a good leading man, Deniro is Deniro, he always brings something to the table. Fast paced, decent suspense/action flick. Whatever you want to call it.
  71. Apr 12, 2011
    6
    Limitless was a fantastic idea. Limitless the movie however, came up short for me. The idea of a drug with those kinds of possibilities is a very brilliant idea for a movie. The storyline felt rushed, with too much to explain in too little time. Bradley Cooper's character seems to bottom out while Robert De Niro's never quite takes off. Never the less, the story line is set for a sequel based on the movie's financial success. Bottom line is while this movie is a great one to see, one will not be blown away by it. The idea had a lot of potential that fell short for me. Rent this one and save a few bucks. Expand
  72. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What do you get when you take an original, novel-inspired premise that has "Limitless" potential and injest it with Hollywood flair? A film engaging enough to make you think differently; atleast until you leave the theater. The popcorn thriller delivers, but not to the level it could have. "Limitless" is a film that falls into the unfortunate trap of overcomplexity. With this entrenching influence, comes gaping flaws. Before we examine such flaws, let's start with what we see on the surface. We are introduced to a charming, amiable protagonist in Cooper, who the viewer, can easily take an affinity towards. He is the vehicle for the film's effectiveness. In his role, Cooper is the "face" of the film's every expression, where we see and feel Morra's dissatisfaction with the status quo, and the urgency to make something of ourselves. This connection between character and self will "do" it for some, but that is just the start. Next is the visuals. Once we are embraced by the presence of NZT-48, the filmmakers' efforts to illustrate the endless capabilities of the drug is impressive to say the least. The world becomes bright, the scenery all makes sense, the sounds more resonant, and life's once grim lenses are now pure as ever. You throw in a couple notable supporters, (Abbie Cornish and Robert De Niro) and you have yourself a pretty enjoyable trip to the theaters, right? Perhaps, for some. This is my problem with "Limitless." Once you make your way past the topical layers of the film, (cast, fast pace, visual effects) which are done tediously, there isn't any substance left, and to fill up time, the filmmakers are forced to add unneeded "fluff" that strays from the effectiveness of the film as in the protagonist's moral and internal struggle to weigh the consequences of power, and a desire to revert to "normal life" and make something of himself naturally. This is almost entirely neglected after the premise, where Hollywood's true colors are readily shown. Here is where I begin to lose the direction of the film. Cooper's girlfriend has clearly left him in the beginning of the film, but comes back to him on a whim once he has taken the drug. Now it seems that a drug, said to allow use to use 100 % of your brain has the power to attract and give of pheremones? Interesting, yet silly. What else is ludicrous is the seeminly unlimited supply of the drug. When Morra's ex-brother-in-law dies he finds one bag of pills, yet it seems another two or three bags are spawned over the course of the film. One of the most moronic of all plot flaws is the unnecessary involvement with the Russian loan-shark. Now, if you had the brilliance of Morra and had earned large sums of money in the stock market (which seems a bit unrealistically whimsical as well) where is the logical practicality in borrowing $100,000, and even so, when he had come out on top of the investment ($2.5 million), why would he fail to pay back the amount. The loan-shark's usage of NZT also has little to offer to the film's direction. Recalling instruction on "how" to fight as in the subway, also seems "far-fetched" when taking into account the pill's function: using all one's brain-not muscle memory. Other instances of absurdity take flight when Morra's girlfriend runs across an ice-rink (in shoes-across ice...) and picks up a child while having the strength and reaction (not traits of the drug) to lift a child up and manuever the blade of a skate flawlessly into the path of an intruder. The film's last 10-15 minutes is what really drove me over the edge of sanity. Where does drinking one's blood become a key to safety in suspense? Now granted it is unique, the logic seems suspect. Just when you thought "Twilight" Series couldn't be more of a pop-culture hit....Aside from the many other plot holes and moral ambiguity, "Limitless" is a fun roller-coaster, thriller of a ride that will make you think......only after the credits have rolled. Expand
  73. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Cooper and De Niro surpassed my expectations. The whole chase thing that was going on wasn't so bad either. Sure people got stabbed a few times but it wasn't a crazy gunfight. I like that the overall vibe of the movie remained the same and didn't veer off and lose itself as it easily could have. Expand
  74. Apr 8, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great acting and a great movie. The plot is kind of confusing when it comes to the villains, but overall the story is pretty straightforward. I wouldn't call this a thriller though, because it doesn't have any cliffhangers, or anything that'll catch you by surprise. The movie itself requires very low brain capacity. However, it does fulfill the fantasy needs of the audience, and its unrealistic environment captivates you. Expand
  75. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    There are positives and negatives to this film. The positives are that the cinematography was great along with the great acting by De Niro and Cooper made the film what it was, i thought the film was amazing but when it got to the end i couldn't help but feel that i was given the answers that i wanted however this is a must see!
  76. Apr 6, 2011
    7
    It started out with some original ideas and camera views. At a few points if felt like a thriller on acid. Unfortuanately, the farther on the movie got, the more it felt like an above-average thriller. Great movie, but it would have been better if they maintained that originality through the entire movie.
  77. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    Dumbed down version of Click (2006), except without the moral lessons, and popping pills instead of using a remote control. My how the times have changed. Lots of cliches: struggling writer, russian thug antagonists, mayor / wallstreet bigshot as generic optimal of success.
  78. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    wtf is up with all the people writing its bad. I personally thought it was pretty enjoyable if you like suspense and action its also somewhat slow and leaves you guessing whats going to happen, SOME just some parts were somewhat dull but it was still i good movie
  79. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    well i found this movie to be exausting... and thats not necessarily a good thing. there are a couple of development faults at the beginning that were kinda annoying then after that the movie got ADD. i was never totally sure of what was going on and could only drop my jaw as a women used a little kid as a weapon. some of the stuff was just not that needed. but the acting was good and it was a good story. when it could be followed Expand
  80. Apr 2, 2011
    6
    You get to be the smartest guy on the planet and all you want to do is make money? A great premise ruined by Hollywood's catering to the average movie goer. There's a Jekyll and Hyde quality to the movie but it squanders opportunites to really imagine what a super smart guy might get up to. In the end he's going to be POTUS, when he'd be better off hob nobbing with Buffet and Gates and helping the world. Then study epigenetcis and cure diseases, predict health trends. Crank up green energy sources. All this guy does is go back to an old girlfriend, who would now be oh so boring! And if I had bad guys chasing me I'd now how to make them dissappear. Expand
  81. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the criticism; Limitless is an intensely crafted thriller that is far more intelligent than most these days. An adult aimed thriller, Limitless has some inspired performances, Oscar caliber cinematography and a script that not only keeps you guessing, but entertained, from start to finish. A side note - there aren't any plot holes, anyone who tells you there didn't catch the entire spectrum of NZT and the protagonists' struggles. Expand
  82. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    Show me the dealer! I want some of this. My first thought was a drug is bound to have side effects. I was totally wrong. If you like a mystery thriller with a touch of fantasy. Watch it. Don't over think it, just enjoy.
  83. Apr 1, 2011
    6
    A stylishly paranoid and adrenaline-fueled â
  84. Apr 1, 2011
    5
    This movie was entertaining but it falls into its own trap of being about taking a drug. It is nauseating for the viewer to watch a drug user go through highs and lows. It really is a nasty trip to go along for the ride of a user who is tripping. So, I enjoyed the highs of this movie... and I hated the lows, which should be expected... but it doesn't make it worth recommending.
  85. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    Smart action flick with a great story, great acting and keeps you on your feet. Grabs you in to its world and never lets go. Reminds me of those old SciFi 90s action movies, but better.
  86. Mar 29, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let the eye-rolling begin. It's the customary reaction whenever you tell people you that you're writing a novel. Let their eyes roll, you think, because on a good day, you literally feel like a god, as the words congest the previously white spaces of the page teeming with life; the life that you invented from the brain you would kiss on the cerebellum if the law of physics permitted it. But not everyday spent in Bohemia is a happy one. The prospective writer, just like Eddie Morra(Bradley Cooper), can sit at his desk and produce nothing for hours on end, abiding by the "stay in the room" principle to no avail, while people in the outside world with real jobs lead productive and fulfilling lives. An unsuccessful writer can suck the life out of your very being. Tired of being a "cleaning lady" and "bank", the writer's girlfriend, Lindy(Abby Cornish), indicates her preference for those punch the clock types when she dumps him, even though, you would think, an editor would have more patience than most women, since she is in the book biz. Before things can get any worse, Eddie has a fortuitous run-in with his ex-brother-in-law, Vernon(Johnny Whitworth), who gives him a special pill, a black market substance called NZT, which is designed to maximize the brain's potential, and in Eddie's case, cures his writer's block and allows him to finish the novel. "Limitless" should have stayed on this path, a writing path, instead of veering off into more sexy narrative terrain. With all that access to the brain's potential, Eddie could have started a new religion and be its charismatic spokesperson. "Limitless" could have been a treatise about the dangers of rhetoric, but the film is just not that ambitious, so it settles on being a dumb generic thriller about high financing on Wall Street, conspiracies, and who ultimately has control over the magic pills. The moviegoer doesn't care how NZT affects a Russian loan shark, since, in Vernon's words, "it works better if you're already smart." Turning his back on Bohemia, Eddie becomes a financial wizard, in which "Limitless" then gets bogged down with deadly boring talk about corporate mergers, involving Van Loon(Robert DeNiro), who wants this newbie to restructure his deal. "Limitless" forgets that it had the makings of a pretty nifty science-fiction mindbender. Under NZT, large chunks of time go unaccounted for, and as a result, Eddie may or may not have murdered a socialite in a hotel room. A detective questions him, but he is never formally charged. It's as if he's getting away with murder. Since Eddie, at one point, drinks another man's blood laced with NZT, it's hard not to connect "Limitless" with the Christian Bale character in Mary Harron's ultra-violent "American Psycho", whose Patrick Bateman also gets away with murder. Both films touch on the superficial nature of society. Curiously, "Limitless" is quite limited in its scope. Anybody can make a killing on the market, or run for the senate. With a better script, Eddie would rule the world. Expand
  87. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    I mean, I suppose if you're a child or have an IQ below 100, the plot holes and otherwise sketchy moments that appear, in all seriousness, every 15-20 minutes. A friend, who also thought Battle LA was phenomenal and thinks Transformers 2 is the best movie to date, said "it's a movie" not able to understand that even fictional movies aren't meant to have a flawed storyline, let alone every other scene being questionable. All logic aside, I found it a very boring movie, the whole premise was a lot like Phenomenon but at least Travolta didn't develop his powers through pharmaceuticals and there was a hint of Wall Street to it. It wasn't original, the plot was just silly, and there wasn't nearly enough mindless action to make it fun. All in all, I've seen far worse, but there is no reason to go out of your way and see this. It was a waste of time. Expand
  88. Mar 28, 2011
    7
    If I were rating strictly on the visuals, this film would get a 10. I haven't seen his other films, but director Neil Burger has a good eye and uses visual effects well. The story was interesting enough to keep my attention, but there were a couple of times I rolled my eyes in disbelief. I was never bored, and that's a good sign. The acting in the movie is very good and of course really comes alive when DeNiro is onscreen. Overall, this movie intrigued me enough to want to see other films by this director because of his visual flair. Impressive! Expand
  89. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Great movie! really captured my imagination and thoughts about what it would be like to use 100% of my brain. Added some great entertainment on top of the curiosity factor so I give it a 9 for sure.
  90. Mar 27, 2011
    4
    Not happy with this one. Players fine; effx refreshing and startling at first, then boring; plot flags and eventually peters out. And then it went on. And on. Too long, with nothing new or exciting to say.
  91. Mar 27, 2011
    5
    This was simply a cheap movie with limited appeal. I thought it ran out of steam about half way through. The ending was unexpected and weak. Do not waste your time.
  92. Mar 27, 2011
    5
    When I first saw this film I was left with a little pit of disappointment. After patiently waiting for a month to watch, I felt that the pacing of the film seemed to be very uneven and that the ending had such little impact. However, after being given a chance to digest what I'd seen, this film has been able to grow on me. It feels refreshingly original and has some great visual effects, including a fraction zoom which I'm a big fan of. Some interesting characters as well. Overall, Limitless is a very good watch. Expand
  93. Mar 25, 2011
    8
    This is my first online movie review-- I had to say something because so many critics are giving this around a "6" and I thought it was more like an 8.5. This movie did not disappoint for one minute-- and I meant that: even the opening credits were unusually engaging-- twice during the opening credits I thought "wow, nicely done!". Maybe it's not "epic", but it has no significant flaws: The central concept (take drug/ get really smart/ try to keep things from spinning out of control) is immediately intriguing. The acting has no seriously weak links-- and Bradley Cooper is outstanding. He has at least one very good scene with Robert DeNiro and has a great mix of "inner con artist" mixed with "do the right thing" that play off each other throughout the movie. The special effects felt just right to me-- I got a good sense of what the drug was doing without feeling like the effects were cheesy. And the soundtrack was great. I have rarely been so engaged for an entire film-- and even the ending surprised me. There's really nothing wrong with this movie; it's just not groundbreaking or epic enough to be a 9 or 10...but it's a very solid 8 in my book. Expand
  94. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    there was something about limitless that captured my attention, i liked the story but it lucked something at the end, some twist i waiting for but all in all it was brilliant, bradley cooper suited the role so well and robert was the usual, the whole point seemed impossible but it was a movie and i love such things, though i think content was low....
  95. Mar 21, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's somewhat entertaining, but feels a little too sterile for lack of a better word. I definitely chuckled throughout. When Cooper "realizes" he can fight in the subway, however, it feels like a bad parody of "Chuck". And the end? Pretty weak. No larger lesson for anyone, and it's going for a "Player" ending, but with no savvy or grace. DeNiro is wasted in this as well. Abbie Cornish is solid, and Anna Friel is pretty courageous in a minor part. Expand
  96. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    This was the stupidest movie ever created it was a waste of money, time, and good popcorn. if you wanted a good movie to laugh at you got it. i nearly fell asleep 30 minutes into. dont waste your money on this movie.
  97. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Bradley Cooper plays a New York writer who can't writeâ
  98. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    Not sure how you couldn't love this dazzling ride. But maybe it's one of those I need to have ingested a psychedelic some time in one's life. Anyways The Hangover's Bradley Cooper triumphs again in this unpredictable thriller about an underground drug that happens to vastly enhance cognition. So strap in and get ready to enjoy a great, wild mind-blower, complete with Robert De Niro as an arch Wall Street villain.
    Loved it. A major wow.
    Expand
  99. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    It's rare that a movie whose concept it completely enthrawling and makes me say when sitting in the theater watching it's preview, "I can't wait til that comes out!" But it's even rarer that such a film fulfills that promise and allows me to say when the credits are rolling, "I knew that was gonna be good!" This is such a film.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 24, 2011
    63
    A heck of a ride. On the way to its unpredictable (if less than wholly satisfying) conclusion, it is entertaining, a little silly and visually dazzling.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Mar 21, 2011
    80
    A loopy joy from start to finish, Bradley Cooper proves that he's the real deal.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 19, 2011
    88
    Add it all up, including the nifty twist at the end, and what we have here is a fun Hollywood flick with a good head on its shoulders.