Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 702 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
531
Mixed:
110
Negative:
61
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
gunnyartNov 26, 2012
I'd give it a ten except I am not a Lincoln scholar and can't attest to the historical accuracy. I was moved. There hasn't been a movie about a floor fight in congress since Mr. Smith Goes to Washington that is so engaging and compelling.I'd give it a ten except I am not a Lincoln scholar and can't attest to the historical accuracy. I was moved. There hasn't been a movie about a floor fight in congress since Mr. Smith Goes to Washington that is so engaging and compelling. And to top it off everyone knew how this one was going to end before they stepped into the theater and yet it was riveting. Being a political ideologue myself I left the movie feeling ashamed of myself for my personal intransigence. I have always believed political compromise was a sign of weakness. Shelby Foote in Ken Burns "Civil War" makes the statement that the "genius of the American political system was for compromise and it utterly failed." Post election 2012 we are a divided country again but this time we had better learn to compromise for the good of the country and posterity. The sky is not falling and this country has endured far darker days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amboyDec 20, 2012
It's a serious film, all right, and professional in every way--it's also a bit plodding and didactic. Daniel Day Lewis again gives the kind of performance that wins awards, but as always he seems to be standing alongside theIt's a serious film, all right, and professional in every way--it's also a bit plodding and didactic. Daniel Day Lewis again gives the kind of performance that wins awards, but as always he seems to be standing alongside the character--thinking about him, solving acting problems, but never jumping inside his skin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AliceofXFeb 21, 2016
In a film like this the last thing you would want is for the film makers to be historically illiterate. Usually it takes a sharp eye to catch that but this film takes no time and right at the very start destroys your confidence in the film'sIn a film like this the last thing you would want is for the film makers to be historically illiterate. Usually it takes a sharp eye to catch that but this film takes no time and right at the very start destroys your confidence in the film's accuracy by calling the north free. That put me on the edge and I couldn't just relax and enjoy the rest of the film.

And yet despite that early blunder Lincoln did turn out to be a great film that was superbly acted. It was a film where the main character gave many speeches and told strange tales that went nowhere. Usually saying that would mean criticising the film but here it's made to work. You want to keep watching Daniel Day-Lewis. The movie pulls you in and doesn't let you go until the end.

It also looks spectacular. It has the type of gorgeous visuals that you'd want in a grand historical epic. If only it was one, because while the story is good it is somewhat lacking. Generally politics doesn't make for the most interesting story subject and that maybe the films problem.

But overall Lincoln is the type of film you would expect from Steven Spielberg in terms of quality and I highly recommend it to fans of historical drama.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gfnyNov 16, 2012
If you are looking for action pass this by. The movie is like watching a chess game. Slow thinking, planning and timing
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
As usual, Daniel Day-Lewis shined as he played the character of U.S most prominent president of all time, Abraham Lincoln; and Steven Spielberg, with his passion for making a movie to commemorate his favorite Head of State and powerful,As usual, Daniel Day-Lewis shined as he played the character of U.S most prominent president of all time, Abraham Lincoln; and Steven Spielberg, with his passion for making a movie to commemorate his favorite Head of State and powerful, brilliant direction, successfully delivered a classic biography about president Lincoln's struggle with both unflinching dissent from Democratic Party and disagreement inside his own cabinet during his quest for liberation of black people from slavery for good, while still having to deal with the Civil War reaching its' final moments with escalating casualties for Union army Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 28, 2013
I'm not really into biographies or historical films, however Lincoln just fascinated me. The movie was set at the apex of his career and the film really never got boring. The acting was amazing, the narrative was well told, and it was anI'm not really into biographies or historical films, however Lincoln just fascinated me. The movie was set at the apex of his career and the film really never got boring. The acting was amazing, the narrative was well told, and it was an extremely memorable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dollarsignJan 29, 2013
I wish that Spielberg would have taken a more Hollywood approach with this film. First of all, I feel like I've seen recreations of Lincoln's life and death about a million times bellow the fluorescent lights that projected hours of ho-humI wish that Spielberg would have taken a more Hollywood approach with this film. First of all, I feel like I've seen recreations of Lincoln's life and death about a million times bellow the fluorescent lights that projected hours of ho-hum documentaries in History classes. This film, was no different. I believe that critics were so infatuated with praising this film under the telescope of intellectual scrutiny. I mean, come on, imagine if the Wall Street Journal gave this film a negative review. What "reputable" company would tear apart a film themed around abolition and the Civil War, directed by America's prodigious director, and centered around America's iconic President, Abraham Lincoln? >>Lincoln's death at the end (for people who are angry that I "spoiled" the movie, seriously?) was more of a refreshing release. >>Sally Field's portrayal as Mary Todd Lincoln was so abhorrently hard to watch. The potentially Oscar-winning performance COULD have came from Mr. and Mrs. Lincoln's grand argument about sending their son to war, but it was short lived and BORING since Daniel Day-Lewis was the only one pushing and trying to stimulate tense atmosphere (I can picture Steven Spielberg face palming big time). I almost laughed when Sally Field collapsed onto the ground...I thought the dress was going to eat her. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jlplattenNov 26, 2012
The best aspect of this film is that you see Lincoln the person and not Lincoln the hero. The acting was so superb that you forget you're watching actors. Also, had a great blend of political humor. Amazing film! The only reason I didn't giveThe best aspect of this film is that you see Lincoln the person and not Lincoln the hero. The acting was so superb that you forget you're watching actors. Also, had a great blend of political humor. Amazing film! The only reason I didn't give this movie a ten, was for the fact that it was a bit dialogue heavy, which made it hard to follow sometimes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkApr 19, 2013
This movie succeeds where all films should but often don't: it wholly sucks you in to it's world and story with such finesse that you think you are actually there. The film achieves this in several key areas, firstly, the acting is trulyThis movie succeeds where all films should but often don't: it wholly sucks you in to it's world and story with such finesse that you think you are actually there. The film achieves this in several key areas, firstly, the acting is truly fantastic from everyone involved, not enough credit goes to all the more minor roles in the film who truly transport us into their world. Second, it is beautifully shot and very well choreographed, especially considering it is a film in which people talk in rooms for over 2 hours, this is impressive. Third, the script is great, it is gripping, sometimes funny and it really sets the mood of the film as one not to be missed. All in all though, if what you want in a film is action, this film is not for you, if you're looking for drama, intrigue and suspense to entertain, this film is for you. An expertly crafted film from Spielberg that really puts you in the world of the characters, especially impressive considering the world of the film is history. If you like slow moving character films, great. If not, do yourself a favour and look elsewhere. Fantastic, 90/100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
David_HFeb 4, 2013
Fairly useful and brute force historical depiction of the civil war. it shows how even back in the 1800s, the U.S. congress was all about back room deal-making, but at least then they weren't able to make a career out of being in congress.Fairly useful and brute force historical depiction of the civil war. it shows how even back in the 1800s, the U.S. congress was all about back room deal-making, but at least then they weren't able to make a career out of being in congress. Though Steven Spielberg obviously has made some blockbusters, you still have to wonder with a topic like this; how much of the subtleties were created by the "world according to Spielberg"...? Its also a bit depressing to be so blatantly reminded that our country has not learned from history and in fact has gone backwards in terms of degrading and disrespecting the constitution. You can't walk out of Lincoln without feeling that this country used to have such promise and prosperity... and now it is so deeply bogged down with a bloated federal government, thousands of laws and taxes, and power-hungry career politicians that care only about their next election cycle... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lahaine2012Dec 27, 2012
Not for the impatient; Lincoln triumphs as one of the finest movies in Steven Spielberg
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OroiaelNov 22, 2012
If you want a constant reminder of how Spielberg voted in the last election, then watch this movie. Otherwise, read a solid biography on Lincoln. Spielberg's movie making is about as subtle as a five year-old screaming for candy in your ear.If you want a constant reminder of how Spielberg voted in the last election, then watch this movie. Otherwise, read a solid biography on Lincoln. Spielberg's movie making is about as subtle as a five year-old screaming for candy in your ear. Most of the movie feels wooden and plastic, if that is even possible. On the up side, it is a movie about Lincoln, so there is a fair amount of feel-good American jingoism. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
BartNov 23, 2012
In this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a trainIn this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a train wreck. DDL does a great performance, but Spielberg's politically motivated style kills what could have been a good film, and does a great disservice to a great man. While they got DDL spot on casting wise for Lincoln, did the casting people ever look at a picture of Mary Todd Lincoln? Pass this movie by and take the time to read a good book on Lincoln, you will be better off. Saying this movie is based on historical events is like saying Twilight is a documentary. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
6
moviemongerNov 25, 2012
Lincoln's kindness, quietness and generosity can translate to film in one and only one way if staying true to the man - in a slow boring way. Daniel Day Lewis did a fantastic job playing a non-flashy, quiet, almost emotionless "character".Lincoln's kindness, quietness and generosity can translate to film in one and only one way if staying true to the man - in a slow boring way. Daniel Day Lewis did a fantastic job playing a non-flashy, quiet, almost emotionless "character". I feel quite a few critics have overstated the "thriller" aspect of this film. I felt none. Day Lewis, Tommy Lee Jones and James Spader were top notch. Good acting kept this movie afloat. Like "Titanic", I knew the ending....but, unlike "Titanic" this film did not have me leaving the theater surprised or energized by what I saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EdeltraudDec 24, 2012
I fell asleep three times the tone is so monotonous.Old Honest Abe was a wily fellow and in fact Old "technically" Honest Abe. Sally Field is believable and has some life in her performance. Speillie should have developed the Tommy Lee JonesI fell asleep three times the tone is so monotonous.Old Honest Abe was a wily fellow and in fact Old "technically" Honest Abe. Sally Field is believable and has some life in her performance. Speillie should have developed the Tommy Lee Jones "surprise" story throughout the script...this would have added tension and another layer of humanity. Same with the Bobby story...there's no real insight into that relationship. So instead there's just politics is like making sausage, only more boring. There was no point in ending with the "Titanic sinking" - that was pandering to our scant knowlege and added nothing to the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ScrawnyPunkApr 9, 2013
Not exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerfulNot exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerful study of human behavior what kind of man does it take to make a difficult decision, against all practical odds, with little-to-no support, while balancing "right" against "expedience" over the long term? As with all Spielberg movies, it is well-written, well-filmed, and well-acted (with the exception of Sally Fields, whom I found to be over the top in a needless way).

This should be watched by our high school students perhaps this will bring some life to a number of subjects they find boring (e.g. government, politics, parliamentary procedure, compromise, ethics, etc.).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nauticoNov 17, 2012
Three things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciouslyThree things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciously archaic, sometimes almost Shakespearian in syntax and dialect. (That always makes me wonder how close screenwriters and directors really come to the speech patterns that actually existed back in the day. Since we have no recordings from that era, movie makers must use diaries for clues and examples. That said, I suspect that a) the written word was different from the spoken and b) oratorical speech more different from conversational speech than it is today.)

Thirdly, I thought Speilberg's tone to be a bit didactic, as if he wanted to educate all of us on the mechanics of what it took Abe to get the 13th amendment passed. I found this to be neither good nor bad, just noticeable.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
TrailesqueJan 23, 2017
This does not relate the myth of young Abe Lincoln. There are no stories of long walks thru the snow to get to the courthouse, or him splitting wood for a living, or whatever the heck. No this jumps right into the politics of the LincolnThis does not relate the myth of young Abe Lincoln. There are no stories of long walks thru the snow to get to the courthouse, or him splitting wood for a living, or whatever the heck. No this jumps right into the politics of the Lincoln presidency, and focuses especially on the issue of the repeal of slavery, which was apparently a difficult political struggle despite the fact that the Civil War was raging all around. This shows us Lincoln the master politician and negotiator. Lewis is brilliant as usual and some of the other actors are fine too, like Strathairn as Seward. The look is gloomy, sombre, and astonishingly believable. I felt like this is the closest to sitting down at a table with Abraham Lincoln as anyone could ever experience. No doubt some fidgety viewers will have a hard time taking in the whole thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MouthofSauronDec 5, 2012
"Lincoln" is a triumph. Here is a historical film that is heavy in dialogue, but never strays into idleness or melodrama. Intelligent and powerful filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
poetreviewerDec 29, 2012
This movie is worth seeing for the acting alone. Daniel Day Lewis becomes Lincoln. Sally Field shows Mary Todd's humane rather than crazy side. Realizing all the historical facts the film's creators had to sort through and choose between,This movie is worth seeing for the acting alone. Daniel Day Lewis becomes Lincoln. Sally Field shows Mary Todd's humane rather than crazy side. Realizing all the historical facts the film's creators had to sort through and choose between, makes the movie even more amazing. Some might find it a tad slow, but it's worth every detail. The movie is a masterpiece. After seeing it is, one may become more aware of the spineless leadership our country has today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ClayMerrittJan 26, 2013
The history in this film was such an amazing view on the world in the civil war era. It really captured the struggle it took for Lincoln to get the slavery bill passed. This will probably go down as the greatest Lincoln film to ever beThe history in this film was such an amazing view on the world in the civil war era. It really captured the struggle it took for Lincoln to get the slavery bill passed. This will probably go down as the greatest Lincoln film to ever be produced. Spielberg couldn't have picked a better Lincoln than Daniel Day Lewis. Lewis really let Lincoln consume him because he perfected the man that was Abraham Lincoln. What made me not give this movie a 9 was the ending. The ending was purely a let down. It would have been nice to see Lincoln get assassinated, and I know that sounds hateful in a way, but that is my only criticism. Many Lincoln movies have been made and they never show Lincoln getting shot in the back of the head. Capturing that part in the movie would have been pivotal in such an already great movie. Close the book! Show the assassination. I just hope this movie ends the infatuation of Abraham Lincoln. Nobody could have made this movie better than Stephen Spielberg. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
reddave2Feb 25, 2013
I find this a very hard movie to judge. It's lacking in any real drama or suspense, has a mostly plodding script and there is no real visual excitement either from set design, set pieces or even camera work. Spielbergs work of lot (anythingI find this a very hard movie to judge. It's lacking in any real drama or suspense, has a mostly plodding script and there is no real visual excitement either from set design, set pieces or even camera work. Spielbergs work of lot (anything after Saving Private Ryan) has had a mostly sterile feel for me very well executed but nothing special and Lincoln falls into that as a film overall. Yes, Day Lewis is strangely captivating as Lincoln but only in some scenes where he gets to cut loss. The film seems to hold the Lincoln character on too high a pedestal. We only get glimpses into what may be a slightly more selfish side to him. When it comes to the messy side of politics, the film keeps Lincoln at very much an arms length approach. This may or may not be true, I'm no history buff but I would have thought it unlikely that any high ranking politician would be able to keep such a distance. The other characters really only work as plot points. There's no bad acting but its all so dull and, well, predictable (I know odd for a true story). Granted, the film cant change what happened but the South are predictable drawn as out and out bad guys. General Ulysses is, like Lincoln, far too upstanding. There's no surprises anywhere and the film wont question any views you may have going in. Not that it has to but when the main flow of the film is, essentially, very dull lobbying it would be nice to have something else to keep the attention.

As it is, I feel this follows many of Spielbergs other works into the "fine, but nothing more" column for me. Worth a look? Maybe, but don't expect too much to amaze you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Lincoln is an extraordinary picture that takes us into the world of politics as we have never seen it before, and Spielberg shows that he still is one of the greatest directors in the history of cinema, and that Daniel Day-Lewis is one of theLincoln is an extraordinary picture that takes us into the world of politics as we have never seen it before, and Spielberg shows that he still is one of the greatest directors in the history of cinema, and that Daniel Day-Lewis is one of the finest actors of all-time. Steven Spielberg has always been my favorite director, his films such as Schindler's List and E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial are one of the main reasons that I fell in love with movies in the first place. He has been planning to make this movie for a very long time, and now that it Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
aozetaJan 24, 2013
This film has the best Lincoln as perfectly portrayed by Daniel Day-Lewis. While the performances are trophy-worthy along with production design, the screenplay enjoys the benefit of the doubt. Nevertheless, this one deserves to join the rollThis film has the best Lincoln as perfectly portrayed by Daniel Day-Lewis. While the performances are trophy-worthy along with production design, the screenplay enjoys the benefit of the doubt. Nevertheless, this one deserves to join the roll of best history movies. Worth-watching.

http://movienotesbook.blogspot.com/2013/01/movies-2012-lincoln-2012.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PuciferJun 9, 2013
A great movie that makes American history come alive, with wit, humor, and pathos. Excellent acting overall and especially from Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, and Tommy Lee Jones. I am usually not a big fan of John Williams but his music hereA great movie that makes American history come alive, with wit, humor, and pathos. Excellent acting overall and especially from Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, and Tommy Lee Jones. I am usually not a big fan of John Williams but his music here was superb. I also admired the art and production design and especially the cinematography by Janusz Kaminski, who is an artist. I've read other reviews that complain about the movie's pacing etc. but I think the editing and Spielberg's direction are perfect I was enthralled from beginning to end. My only quibble with the film is that it depicts Connecticut congressmen voting against the 13th Amendment, which is simply not true. But in today's dysfunctional, even pathological political climate, this movie brings to life the most troubled period in U.S. history and manages to miraculously restore our faith in the U.S. political process. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jimboesqDec 1, 2012
A grand sweeping historical epic that illuminates the passing of the 13 th amendment. The story is, of course, political but like Lincoln, Stephen Spielberg tells stories of deep human significance laced with humor. I wondered if theA grand sweeping historical epic that illuminates the passing of the 13 th amendment. The story is, of course, political but like Lincoln, Stephen Spielberg tells stories of deep human significance laced with humor. I wondered if the smallish Daniel Day Lewis could fully inhabit the great man the way that Raymond Massey did. He mostly succeeded but perhaps more importantly Day-Lewis gives Lincoln the soul that Massey attempted. This is due in significant part to the words-the great script- by Tony Kushner who brings the book by Doris Kearns Goodwin upon which the movie is based-to full life-and empathetic and plausible psychological insight into Mary Todd Lincoln (Sally Field) and her troubled marriage to the President. Hal Holbrook, James Spader, David Strathairn and Tommy Lee Jones are excellent in support-as are the many, many unknown character actors in this film. Finally, as in all (?) Spielberg films the score is by John Williams and is excellent. The only reason I did not give this movie a 10 was the calculated attempt at a tear-jerking ending needlessly followed by an extraneous 2 minute speech. A mere quibble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NavQJan 30, 2013
Storyline: President Lincoln, played brilliantly by Daniel Day-Lewis struggles to gain enough votes to allow the 13th Amendment to pass. Even knowing the outcome still didn't stop me from holding my breath at the end .

Acting: First off,
Storyline: President Lincoln, played brilliantly by Daniel Day-Lewis struggles to gain enough votes to allow the 13th Amendment to pass. Even knowing the outcome still didn't stop me from holding my breath at the end .

Acting: First off, Daniel Day-Lewis became Lincoln. It could have been played well by a few others but when DDL puts on the famous hat he actually becomes. Powerful stuff. Sally Field was not bad as Mrs Lincoln but for me Tommy Lee Jones was a huge surprise as Thaddeus Stevens with one of his best performances. Joseph Gordon-Levitt did a good job as well playing Lincolns son.

Direction: Stephen Spielburg at his best telling us an important story in America's history and telling it well. He rarely gets it wrong but when it's right it's amazing.

Production: $65 million was put to excellent use because actors flock to these projects so more money probably goes on sound stages and props. It shows here as you are taken back to 1865 and honestly you can almost smell the horse dung and death the detail is so good. The highest quality.

Conclusion: Spielberg in full swing with a brilliantly done Historical Drama that had me glued to the screen. Highly Recommended.

Score: 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DQ_SlotkinsDec 19, 2012
When the lights came up after Spielberg's Lincoln the packed audience began exiting in an overly courteous and orderly manner. It was eerie. It felt like we were playing a formally dressed audience leaving an opera house after a beautifulWhen the lights came up after Spielberg's Lincoln the packed audience began exiting in an overly courteous and orderly manner. It was eerie. It felt like we were playing a formally dressed audience leaving an opera house after a beautiful ceremony. But it wasn't until I was walking up to my car that I remembered we had come for a movie. I remembered being excited about the movie. I remember 30 minutes of horrendous previews. I remember the opening credits and the low murmurings of the Chicago Symphony's brass section improvising Aaron Copland riffs. I remember Abraham Lincoln telling me to relax ... relax ... count backwards from ten ... then the feeling that I'm floating somewhere above the mid 19th Century. James Spader floats by eating crabs, and then David Strathairn in a Chinese robe. In the parking lot I have a faint feeling that I had just enjoyed myself. I think I ate a piece of hard candy Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
PaganostaghettiNov 26, 2012
With most biopics, the reason we are so interested in them is because they threaten to take their star down from his powerful placement in history, and show him as human rather than god. This year we get two hotly anticipated films which willWith most biopics, the reason we are so interested in them is because they threaten to take their star down from his powerful placement in history, and show him as human rather than god. This year we get two hotly anticipated films which will attempt to do just that: **** and Lincoln. Both men have contributed so much in their respective fields that they are rarely seen in a bad light, nor are people ecstatic to see them portrayed as mere men. However, I can definitely say Lincoln attempts to show Abraham Lincoln as one of us, and not merely an icon placed upon an unreachable pedestal. With incredible acting on the part of everyone, but especially Sally Field and Daniel Day-Lewis, and writing by Tony Kushner that is both enticing and fitting for the period, Lincoln is a concrete example of how to make a biopic flourish while still being faithful and engrossing. Read the rest of the review at http://independentcinema.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/lincoln-scratches-his-beard-just-like-any-other-man/ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AngusBarbudezAug 26, 2016
"Como conseguir el oscar facilmente sin hacer mucho esfuerzo por Steven Spielberg"

1- Pones "Steven Spielberg" en la pelicula 2- Cogemos el modelo de guión -"Ganar Oscar modelo 001232"-, del archivador 3-Contratar a un reparto y que
"Como conseguir el oscar facilmente sin hacer mucho esfuerzo por Steven Spielberg"

1- Pones "Steven Spielberg" en la pelicula
2- Cogemos el modelo de guión -"Ganar Oscar modelo 001232"-, del archivador
3-Contratar a un reparto y que suelten discursos ñoños y solemnes que rocen la vergüenza ajena
4-Protagonista caracterizado casi rozando la deformación total del actor y que sobreactue y haga el subnormal lo recargue con actitudes extrañas como lo hizo en la última película que ganó con ella, el Oscar.

Esto sería resumidamente lo que es Lincoln, la última turulez infantil del señor Spielberg. Es lamentable que este señor , que precisamente no es un mindundi en el cine, haya hecho solemne acto de estupidez donde resalta quizás lo peor de él. Aun flipo que esto haya ganado 2 putos Oscars y encima a mejor actor.

¿Por donde empiezo?, la película no se si considerarla un biopic, ya que como tal no es, simplemente la película está contando un hecho crucial y critico de la historia de Estados Unidos, que fue la aprobación de la 13º enmienda, que es la abolición de la esclavitud, de la que Abraham Lincoln fue artífice y de como consigue los apoyos, mientras debe conseguir la paz tras 4 años de Guerra Civil. No cuenta tanto sobre la vida de este señor, ni como consigue ganar las elecciones, o su vida anterior como cazador de vampiro...digo de su vida como abogado.

El gran problema de la película, es que es una película de Spielberg con sus taras potenciadas a cotas que rozan la ñoñería y la mamarrachez, omites desgraciadamente la sobresaliente factura técnica y algunas escenas dirigidas de manera soberbia, (no nos olvidemos que este señor es un buen director) porque tenemos a algunos personajes que se comportan de maneras anómalas como si estuviesen actuando en una obra de Shakespeare o de Lope de Vega, donde les vemos recitando una prosa rematadamente recargada, que te hace pensar dos cosas, o que el señor Spielberg tiene demasiado mitificado a Lincoln o directamente quiere hacernos creer que Abraham Lincoln se creía el mismo que era "un personaje histórico", la escena de la discusión con la mujer es simplemente ridícula, de lo patética que le queda, con esa verborrea tan forzada (luego entrare en detalle con el protagonista y algunos del reparto, que tiene miga), después vemos como muchos actores de la película, se dedican a soltar discursos moñas, moralina de parvulario con intentos de pasar a la posteridad, por supuesto aderezada con una musiquilla acorde, para que quede mas serio y solemne y no parezca una parodia, da la sensación que Spielberg recicló diálogos o añadió diálogos desechados de "Amistad".

Algo hiriente y doloroso que tiene esta película es la manipulación histórica y moral de Spielberg para con Lincoln, todos los personajes están totalmente extremizados, es decir, o son MUY buenos o MUY malos, donde los actos de los buenos se perdonan o se justifican, y el presidente cercano, campechano, pero las cosas malas o corruptas... ¡no son para tanto hombre!, por ejemplo lo de conseguir los 20 senadores que voten si a la enmienda ¡¡¡SOBORNANDOLOS CON TRABAJOS BIEN PAGADOS!!! O ¡EL PRESIDENTE COMETIENDO PERJURIO ANTE LA CÁMARA DEL SENADO!, encima Spielberg lo vende como que lo ha hecho bien, éticamente correcto. Ya sabemos a quien no hay que venderle la historia de Bárcenas o la de los ERES de Andalucía, para que haga una película.

Retomando al personaje de Lincoln, es el mas perjudicado de todo, Daniel Day Lewis ha descubierto como conseguir el Oscar: llenarse de látex y pelucas hasta quedar irreconocible o hacer el anormal, por si acaso, el hace las 2 cosas a la vez. Lewis nos vende a un "Abuelo Cebolleta" que en los momentos mas tensos o de gravedad te cuenta una anécdota chorra, sin venir a cuento o momentos de ridículo donde vemos a un señor de 45 años haciendo a un señor de 55 años comportándose como un señor de 70 años senil y diciendo frases chorras con "profundidad", pero claro Spielberg no se queda ahí, dejándole a Lewis la libertad total de interpretar a su personaje favorito, sino que además lo vende como un señor campechano, padre que tiene ojos para su hijo menor, y sobreprotector con el primogénito, para que no muera en la guerra y su mujer se vuelva loca total.

Conclusión, vergonzosa, ridícula, ñoña, infantil, una película i
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews