New Line Cinema | Release Date: October 6, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
18
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
StevenF.Oct 9, 2006
Wonderful, rich, intelligent, reminds us of what we used to think directing was. So many deep and powerful images, wonderful performances, lovely and complex.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Jan 7, 2008
Just in case you're impervious to irony, "Little Children" gives you one last chance to reconsider that adjective and noun, "little" and "children", when Brad(Patrick Wilson) and his skateboard part ways; when Lucy offers her mother Just in case you're impervious to irony, "Little Children" gives you one last chance to reconsider that adjective and noun, "little" and "children", when Brad(Patrick Wilson) and his skateboard part ways; when Lucy offers her mother some comforting words and a pat on the back. Yes, "Little Children" has its false moments; none more so than Sarah's insecurity about her beauty in comparison to Kathy(Jennifer Connelly), since we can all see that Kate Winslet is in the same ballpark as Connelly, a "knockout"(Brad's description of his wife) in her own right. But for the most part, "Little Children" is a smartly written, smartly acted film about, yes, angsty affluent white people, but the film is never whiny, never static, because the "little children" grow up, especially the "bully" who picks on Ronnie(Jackie Earle Haley). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CuculizaO.Dec 9, 2006
Hands down, the best movie of the year. The screenplay is intelligent and well-written, the direction visionary and secure, and the performances are all superb. This movie goes in unexpected ways. Chilling and perfect. Don't miss a Hands down, the best movie of the year. The screenplay is intelligent and well-written, the direction visionary and secure, and the performances are all superb. This movie goes in unexpected ways. Chilling and perfect. Don't miss a chance to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexAOct 3, 2006
Worth seeing for Winslet alone. Her performance is touching; lost, warm, human, utterly real... she is quite simply our finest actress. Jackie Earle Hailey is also extraordinary. Overall an engrossing if uneven movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueJan 6, 2007
Nothing less than a masterpiece. Wonderful actig and direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougD.Feb 9, 2007
Wow, I really am surprised to see this movie with such a low user score. I hardly ever give a movie a 10 but Little Children blew me away. It's a character study much like Punch Drunk Love, which specializes in combining melodrama with Wow, I really am surprised to see this movie with such a low user score. I hardly ever give a movie a 10 but Little Children blew me away. It's a character study much like Punch Drunk Love, which specializes in combining melodrama with tense, frightening scenes. Certainly slow to build, but if you appreciate the satire riddled throughout the film you don't mind. The best I saw in 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SilasP.Nov 3, 2006
Oh, brother; a couple of the posters here seem to have big, fat chips on their shoulders. This is a gripping, haunting film, exquisitely written, filmed, and performed. It is a fairy tale for adults, with a profound, existential moral. Oh, brother; a couple of the posters here seem to have big, fat chips on their shoulders. This is a gripping, haunting film, exquisitely written, filmed, and performed. It is a fairy tale for adults, with a profound, existential moral. Field, Perrotta, and the actors do a virtuoso job of making these characters sympathetic, hateful, complex - in a word, human. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeA.Oct 15, 2006
I love this movie and everything about it. Start campaigning for the Oscars!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AvrilK.Dec 3, 2006
Best Performance of the year by far!!! Kate Winslet will blow you away!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryG.Oct 5, 2006
Masterful and moving, beautiful to watch and remarkably funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelixG.Oct 8, 2006
Unflinching in it's satirical approach to suburbia Field has created a character study that resonates long after an initial viewing. Winslet is top-notch in this film and is destined for her 5th nom. Wilson, Emmerich and Haley also add Unflinching in it's satirical approach to suburbia Field has created a character study that resonates long after an initial viewing. Winslet is top-notch in this film and is destined for her 5th nom. Wilson, Emmerich and Haley also add to Todd's tapestry of cinematic genius with career defining performances. This is not a film for everyone but it is definitely one that will stay in the mind and may even pose questions about perception that we dare not even ask ourselves. A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyL.Feb 4, 2007
A gem of a film. Wonderful acting, great direction and cinematography. Richly layered, a sleeper that surprised me as I hadn't really heard any buzz on it. One of the best films I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherW.May 6, 2007
I was certainly hearing more than echoes from the more well received and, in my opinion, superior 'American Beauty' with this film. Fine performances from a stellar cast, and a piquant narrative structure draw one into this I was certainly hearing more than echoes from the more well received and, in my opinion, superior 'American Beauty' with this film. Fine performances from a stellar cast, and a piquant narrative structure draw one into this suburban canvas. The 'story book' voiceover narration provides telling details much like a novel, but could indeed be annoying and diverting to those who do not share such cinematic sensibilities. Definitely not for all tastes, but still well worth checking out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertI.Jun 3, 2007
Unsettling in the way that the best drama can be. Everything in this so-familiar tale seems freshly told and personally resonant. Bold filmmaking, a strong narrative, today's lens.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CurtisS.Jun 4, 2007
The title of this Kate Winslet movie is a triple pun, and it may take you a while to figure out how... There is "brief simulated and suggested graphic sexuality" in this film, but it is not overlong. While strictly speaking it is The title of this Kate Winslet movie is a triple pun, and it may take you a while to figure out how... There is "brief simulated and suggested graphic sexuality" in this film, but it is not overlong. While strictly speaking it is unnecessary, artistically it does fit the story. One of the puns, and the great value of this film is to show that committing adultery is immature, sinful, and *childish.* The use of a narrator makes this film very much like a novel, in that we know the thoughts of the characters. The "childish" theme is a great and original idea, and it is illustrated strongly in the final scenes. This one is worth checking out, and thinking about. The dvd cover proclaims it as the best film of the year. This is one of those films that stays in your head for a few days, and hits you hard as you realize the the implications of the theme and plot. Very dramatic, and really holds your attention. Dramatically, this film could be compared to AMERICAN BEAUTY and CRASH. Strongly recommended, with the above caveat. C The most important truths: "...the Word (Jesus) was God..." "...the Word (Jesus) became flesh..." >>John 1:1;14. "He who believes in the Son (Jesus) *has* everlasting life; and He who does not believe the Son (Jesus) shall not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him." >>John 3:36. For by *grace* you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the *gift* of God, *not* of works, lest anyone should boast. >>Ephesians 2:8,9. Believe in Jesus: that He is God, that He suffered and died on the cross for all of your sins: past, present and future; that He was buried, that He physically rose from death on the third day--and you will be immediately forgiven, saved forever, and go to Heaven the minute you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
agusSMay 16, 2010
This is a really good movie, idiots!!!!! the end is amazing if you want to see a movie where everything is fucking perfect go see Cinderella.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
robNov 18, 2006
Memorable and chilling, kate winslet is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
robertxxxNov 7, 2006
Brilliant; a tale of deception and discontent, made all the more gripping because of the way a single misstep can push someone to the edge....fearless and revealing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KitchM.Dec 12, 2006
In my mind this is, by far, the best American film of the year. Mr. Field has crafted yet another Masterpeice. A truely engrossing and sobering look into the human condition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.R.Dec 18, 2006
This is one of my favorite films of all time. Subversive, funny, and full of almost unbearable heart-break.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelHDec 24, 2006
Dense, wonderfully acted. Surprising turns with interesting juxtapositions. Is it perfect? No. There are a pacing problems in certain subplots but the strengths more than make up for them. Winslet is riveting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveOct 25, 2006
Excellent performances all around. Definitely no sophomore jinx for Todd Field, I suspect this film will receive many awards at the end of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeWayneP.Oct 9, 2006
This is a film about puzzles, puzzles with emotional pieces where people keep
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisU.Oct 9, 2006
I saw this movie 2 days ago and can't stop thinking about it. Smart writing and complex characters are brought vividly to life by Director Field and his gifted cast. The end result is a haunting resonance that sticks with you like that I saw this movie 2 days ago and can't stop thinking about it. Smart writing and complex characters are brought vividly to life by Director Field and his gifted cast. The end result is a haunting resonance that sticks with you like that sound of an unseen train and its warning whistle rushing somewhere in the dark night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JulienJan 12, 2007
Wonderful direction and screenplay. Little Children is a very intense movie, full of sincere human feelings that can help you to see the world differently. The actors are amazing, and some of them deserve awards for their work here (Kate Wonderful direction and screenplay. Little Children is a very intense movie, full of sincere human feelings that can help you to see the world differently. The actors are amazing, and some of them deserve awards for their work here (Kate Winslet and Jennifer Connelly). "Little Children" is a very good mix between "American Beauty" and "Sex, lies, and videotape". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottS.Jan 7, 2007
Imperfect, but at least it attempts greatness, which is more than can be said with most everything released during 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulS.Feb 23, 2007
Excellent look at suburban disfunction. Very good movie. Deserves more play time than it got in the local theathers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NadieFeb 24, 2007
Well directed and acted. Sometimes slow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamMar 19, 2007
Great performances and a steady pace overshadows the long running time. Overall, this was just an outstanding, and emotionally moving movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaA.May 1, 2007
A film which reflects the harsh realities of life and everyday society. It shows life from each perspective and leaves you speechless. Little children is one of the rare films that can handle harsh topics and bring them to your attention in A film which reflects the harsh realities of life and everyday society. It shows life from each perspective and leaves you speechless. Little children is one of the rare films that can handle harsh topics and bring them to your attention in a way that only your own experiences could tell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful