Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: July 26, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 590 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
449
Mixed:
42
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
FritzmeisterDec 28, 2006
Horrible ! The movie depends on curse words, drug addiction and freaks that are supposingly portraying an American family....A dark comedy and critics loved it ? Excuse me ? I weep for the future .... A waste of time. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
hsDec 31, 2006
In no way was this a comedy. The only art that was humorous was the very end. It is not worth struggling though just to get to that point. When it was over both my girlfriend and I looked at each other and asked how could this get good In no way was this a comedy. The only art that was humorous was the very end. It is not worth struggling though just to get to that point. When it was over both my girlfriend and I looked at each other and asked how could this get good reviews. Sometimes methinks that people give good reviews to lousy movies jsut so they can think they are semi-intelligent or highbrow. Watch ANY movie but this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyRussellJul 26, 2006
Great movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 12, 2006
This movie was amazing. I have not laughed this hard for a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YaronS.Aug 12, 2006
Best film of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeM.Aug 13, 2006
HORRIBLE. Forced story line, cliche...junk!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ElenaAug 17, 2006
Your typical dysfunctional family on the treadmill to nowhere. A few chuckles but not much else. Tons of problems, everything goes wrong. In the end, still tons of problems everyone loves everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GregM.Aug 17, 2006
I didn't think mainstream indie comedies could be worse than "Garden State". Boy was I wrong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanC.Aug 18, 2006
Good stuff, understated and fun with some inspired comic moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DeanaM.Aug 18, 2006
We walked out!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Aug 19, 2006
An all-around excellent movie. Hilarious and inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanS.Aug 21, 2006
This was an excellent time at the movies. It definitely had good timing anyway--the light-heartedness would have been lost on a serious winter-release crowd. Summer movie-goers are always more ready for simple plots, and that's what This was an excellent time at the movies. It definitely had good timing anyway--the light-heartedness would have been lost on a serious winter-release crowd. Summer movie-goers are always more ready for simple plots, and that's what this is. It's a road trip movie, simply; pretty predictable dysfunctional family bonding. But it's really, really, really funny. And contains some stupendous actors--when you've got Alan Arkin, you know you're going to have a good time. And Abigail Breslin is way too cute in those enormous glasses. I would see this in the theater, because I think some of the fun would be lost as a rental, in addition to some of the southwest cinematography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolF.Aug 21, 2006
Wonderful, touching, funny, great ensemble. Best movie this year. I loved all of the extremely fallible main characters in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Aug 25, 2006
Little Miss Sunshine is what going to the movies is all about! It's like taking a time-released sunshine pill when you buy the ticket that peaks in the last 15 minutes then stays with you all day. Everyone in the ensemble is perfectly Little Miss Sunshine is what going to the movies is all about! It's like taking a time-released sunshine pill when you buy the ticket that peaks in the last 15 minutes then stays with you all day. Everyone in the ensemble is perfectly cast and at the top of their game. Alan Arkin proves that old actors don't die, they don't even fade away, they become acting Gods! The story is beautifully written, like The Royal Tanenbaums on the road, at times touching, at times hilarious, but always real. The music is pitch perfect and keeps the movie flowing along with the beautiful cinematography. In a summer of over-hyped disappointing blockbusters we finally get a little shot of "Sunshine" to remind us of why we love movies. Bravo! Encore! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankieJ.Aug 25, 2006
Best Movie I've seen this year so far... Also the funniest. Definitely a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Aug 26, 2006
Little Miss Sunshine was incredible. I laughed throughout the whole movie. It was so good the audience actually clapped in the end. The plot of the movie centers around a family caught in the cultural race to success but come to find their Little Miss Sunshine was incredible. I laughed throughout the whole movie. It was so good the audience actually clapped in the end. The plot of the movie centers around a family caught in the cultural race to success but come to find their sincere selves throwing off a system of rules that has dysfunctions of its own. Now this is not a movie for young children as there are adult themes and plenty of explicatives liberally sprinkled about. Don't blame the movie if you do not do your research first. Though this is not a movie for kids or prudes I found this movie to be rich in the existential issues that surround having to be alive in this world. I was prodded to think many times and I saw real spiritual change in the characters by the end of the movie. Little Miss Sunshine was no simple comedy, but had real heart. I cannot recommend this movie enough. If you like to laugh, be provoked to think, as well as to identify with something most people in this culture have to face, then this movie is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Aug 27, 2006
Fun movie. Well worth the price of admission. Rated R for strong language but not excessive. Recommended for adults. Interesting insight of young girl beauty pagents.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayK.Aug 27, 2006
Great characters,great acting (can Alan Arkin get any better?) and a very funny story. I want to see it again. Much better that most of the crap that came out this summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesAug 31, 2006
Very sweet and funny. But I wonder if the filmmakers have seen "Rolling Family" (2004) by Argentinean filmmaker Pablo Trapero. It's just getting a theatrical release in North America now and people will think it's ripping off LMS, Very sweet and funny. But I wonder if the filmmakers have seen "Rolling Family" (2004) by Argentinean filmmaker Pablo Trapero. It's just getting a theatrical release in North America now and people will think it's ripping off LMS, which is too bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimC.Aug 31, 2006
Little Miss Sunshine has got to be the best movie in decades. A true masterpiece in casting, acting, and cinematography. The Hoover family is THE true American family- definately far from perfect. But that is what makes them and families Little Miss Sunshine has got to be the best movie in decades. A true masterpiece in casting, acting, and cinematography. The Hoover family is THE true American family- definately far from perfect. But that is what makes them and families like them, realistic. I can't think of any other movie that portrays what a real family is, except National Lampoon's Vacation and Christmas Vacation. (Europeon and Vegas don't count) It's going to be tough to top Little Miss Sunshine for best movie of 2006. Stop reading these reviews and go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveC.Sep 12, 2006
Although I a lot of craft went into this. It was all in the name of manipulating the audience. [***SPOILERS***]The faux-iconography of the dysfunctional family traveling in a VW minivan was pathetic and embarrassing. Characters with whom we Although I a lot of craft went into this. It was all in the name of manipulating the audience. [***SPOILERS***]The faux-iconography of the dysfunctional family traveling in a VW minivan was pathetic and embarrassing. Characters with whom we should apparently be sympathizing (i.e. Dwayne and Frank) are relegated to the film's narrative periphery very early on. Even My Big Fat Greek Wedding was more "indie" than this. What use is this film to anybody PAYING to see it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinaD.Sep 14, 2006
Unbelievable film. So smart, and capable of eliciting so many different emotions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewT.Sep 16, 2006
Enjoyable "indie" style comedy, a road movie with plenty of laughs plus some rewarding insights on the human condition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZoeM.Sep 17, 2006
Aside from some forced plot twists, this is an unusual comedy that navigates some darkness and some sunshine, and it deftly manages to steer its way through both in an entertaining fashion. It's not one of those "I have to think about Aside from some forced plot twists, this is an unusual comedy that navigates some darkness and some sunshine, and it deftly manages to steer its way through both in an entertaining fashion. It's not one of those "I have to think about it to enjoy it" type of movies. It's entertaining merely at face value, and yet as you think on it, you remember more and more aabout the characters and their motivations. I highly recommend this movie and will definitely be buying it on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KamboL.Sep 19, 2006
Funniest movie ever! Giggle
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MatC.Sep 21, 2006
I don't get it. Clichéd to absurdity, this movie is as pointless as Napolean Dynamite, but without the wit. This is more of a "put 6 strong characters in a blender", and "hilariousness ensues". Unfortunately, the jokes are I don't get it. Clichéd to absurdity, this movie is as pointless as Napolean Dynamite, but without the wit. This is more of a "put 6 strong characters in a blender", and "hilariousness ensues". Unfortunately, the jokes are predictable and lack depth. A few gags had some fun in them, but Gramps doing homo jokes doesn't excite me. Maybe when I was 14, but not anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlinhosB.Sep 22, 2006
Smart, minimalist, AMAZING screenplay, get ready for the OSCARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NaomiSep 22, 2006
I loved this movie. It reminded me that we all fall apart sometimes. I loved, loved, LOVED Olive! Yay, give the best actress Oscar to Abigail Breslin, not Dame Helen Mirren!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyZ.Sep 23, 2006
Really wonderful. I was weepy throughout, though this wasn't maudlin or sentimental. This film is filled with nice quiet touches, alternating with laugh-out-loud absurdity. A sweet, honest, brutal movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BusterPoindexterSep 26, 2006
Reading the reviews for this flick are making me sick. Zach Braff is to blame for all of this. He makes a film like 'Garden State' and suddenly everyone hopes aboard the quirky train and hundreds of these teenage-marketed filmsReading the reviews for this flick are making me sick. Zach Braff is to blame for all of this. He makes a film like 'Garden State' and suddenly everyone hopes aboard the quirky train and hundreds of these teenage-marketed films come out. Winter Passing, Life Aquatic, Thumbsucker, Elizabethtown, will it ever end? Since when is a $40 million dollar studio film starring eight accomplished actors considered indie? The worst of the worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KhoaSep 28, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaveZSep 29, 2006
This acting was good, but the movie feel so fake even it is supposed to be silly comedy to make some points. Every funny plots are so forced that I feel the writers and the director are not very serious about their work. It is the most overThis acting was good, but the movie feel so fake even it is supposed to be silly comedy to make some points. Every funny plots are so forced that I feel the writers and the director are not very serious about their work. It is the most over rated movie this year if not longer. If this movie gets the nomination for Oscar, I will really going to puke... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshB.Jan 12, 2007
One of my favorite films of all time. Hilarious, laugh-out-loud funny movie (for people who don't take themselves so seriously). Also heart-warming and touching. Overall, a very satisfying experience at the movies in 2006 that One of my favorite films of all time. Hilarious, laugh-out-loud funny movie (for people who don't take themselves so seriously). Also heart-warming and touching. Overall, a very satisfying experience at the movies in 2006 that can't be topped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenB.Nov 30, 2007
While this movie does have flaws, they are not enough to compensate for the 7.4 this movie earns under User Score. This movie is dry, amusing, inane yet endearing, and just plain fun. I do not know a single person who disliked this film, and While this movie does have flaws, they are not enough to compensate for the 7.4 this movie earns under User Score. This movie is dry, amusing, inane yet endearing, and just plain fun. I do not know a single person who disliked this film, and the conclusion is genuinely funny, heartwarming, and moving. The main criticism users seem to have for this movie was that it was nominated while their favorite movies weren't. Please, if you like a movie, then comment on it as opposed to ranting about your (generally wrong) opinions up here. This movie is a rewarding experience, and well worth the price of either a DVD rental or a theater ticket. In the future, let's please leave the Oscar nominating up to the professionals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheriK.Jan 19, 2007
Quirkiest dark comedy I have seen in years. Never realized a disfunctional family could be so hilarious. Must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TerryR.Jan 21, 2007
Horrible ending, in true "independent" film manner. Amusing but puh-leese, not a "best of" in any sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelK.Jan 23, 2007
Looking at the people who gave this movie bad reviews, I think they wanted this movie to be a straight-forward comedy. But it's not. It's really saterical and tonge-in-cheek. People who dont find this movie funny are jus idiots who Looking at the people who gave this movie bad reviews, I think they wanted this movie to be a straight-forward comedy. But it's not. It's really saterical and tonge-in-cheek. People who dont find this movie funny are jus idiots who dont hav a high enuff IQ to get the jokes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AntonH.Jan 27, 2007
Watching Abigail Breslin act like an eight year old girl was terrific! The movie captured the joy of her innocence, and how it eventually brought a family who was traveling in different directions together. The cast had real chemistry, and Watching Abigail Breslin act like an eight year old girl was terrific! The movie captured the joy of her innocence, and how it eventually brought a family who was traveling in different directions together. The cast had real chemistry, and was really impressed with Steve Carell's choice of movie after the 40 Year Old Virgin. Alan Arkin was superb as the grandfather. His love for his granddaughter was real, and the shot at child beauty pageants was really funny! This isn't the age of Ozzie and Harriet, but what you see in this movie is the love of a real American family. This movie will make you smile as much as you laugh, because it felt so real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanE.Jan 27, 2007
I don't understand how people could give this movie a 9 or 10? It's just plan bad! Read Happy Killmore he's right on the money about this stinker. Bad is bad and this movie is bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
N.F.Jan 28, 2007
This was a great move. It was funny-at times- but I was much more pleased with the great characters like the Grandpa(Alan Arkin) and the fabulous preformance by Steve carrel. All in all, I loved it, and I would totally reccomend it. I just This was a great move. It was funny-at times- but I was much more pleased with the great characters like the Grandpa(Alan Arkin) and the fabulous preformance by Steve carrel. All in all, I loved it, and I would totally reccomend it. I just don't understand why it's getting 1's and 0's, it was a really fun movie to watch. Rent it, watch it, love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GlennS.Jan 29, 2007
Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. Shocked at all the good reviews. Never cracked a smile once neither did the other 3 people I saw it with. Awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickM.Jan 31, 2007
im sorry, i just cannot understand the huge attraction to this movie. there was maybe one or two funny moments, but that was it....the jokes were stupid, and the whole thing was boring....at the end it seemed like they would end the movie im sorry, i just cannot understand the huge attraction to this movie. there was maybe one or two funny moments, but that was it....the jokes were stupid, and the whole thing was boring....at the end it seemed like they would end the movie with a good message, but then the movie disappointed me again, it couldnt even end on a good note....I WANT MY MONEY BACK! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaniS.Feb 23, 2007
I loved this movie. It was a movie that I would describe as refreshing. It was unlike most movies and it made me laugh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
A film that I love because it asked interesting questions, like, "After your singular dream is shattered into a trillion pieces... then what??" How fascinating a question is that? Most dreamers think the question shouldn't even be A film that I love because it asked interesting questions, like, "After your singular dream is shattered into a trillion pieces... then what??" How fascinating a question is that? Most dreamers think the question shouldn't even be asked, but reality is taken head on in this film. I didn't love the grampa; his attitude was ridiculous to me, but the rest of the film was inspiring and had a ring of exciting truth in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedJ.Mar 25, 2007
i hate this movie. wow, the family is a bunch of fucked-up losers! they have quirks! how HONEST and REAL. how about trite? plus, the message of the film lacked any subtlety or nuance, a staple of today's lackluster cinema. it's justi hate this movie. wow, the family is a bunch of fucked-up losers! they have quirks! how HONEST and REAL. how about trite? plus, the message of the film lacked any subtlety or nuance, a staple of today's lackluster cinema. it's just in-your-face, film-as-prozac film-making at it's... best? yes, the girl is very cute and does an excellent job in her role. but i especially hated alan arkin's performance and character. ooh, this grandpa is so badass, he doesn't give a fuck, and he curses and talks about having sex and shoots smack. that's really hilarious and profound. i am not surprised that mr. arkin won an oscar because his role is typical academy fodder: bullshit. it reminds me of why i also hated american beauty. suburban angst, nuclear family dysfunction, broken (american) dreams... that's all fine subject matter, but if that's your interest, you're better off seeing Little Children or Happiness, because little miss sunshine, like crash, affects genuine feeling, but, really, just bashes your skull in with its cloying sentimentality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesV.Apr 25, 2007
Perfect balance of insight, character and humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfyT.Apr 29, 2008
Wonderful film and good film. I have not seen film like this. I liked Olive very much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FrancisC.Jul 11, 2009
Although the movie has some good points, there was too much shouting, and the ending was very poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamJDec 13, 2006
This film had such an intriguing and interesting cast of characters that once it got rolling, it had me glued to the seat. The dialogue is great, and the people cast did their roles with great conviction. My only real complaint was a This film had such an intriguing and interesting cast of characters that once it got rolling, it had me glued to the seat. The dialogue is great, and the people cast did their roles with great conviction. My only real complaint was a somewhat strange (though still plausable) twist involving the Grandfather... it leads to a morbid laugh, though. On that note, it should be noted that this film covers a wide variety of human emotion, which it should definitely be lauded for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillyP.Dec 19, 2006
Overrated, calculated "indie" flick, with a great cast that overcomes the pat characterizations and second-hand plot twists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottS.Dec 25, 2006
Not quite what everyone is making it out to be, but it keeps your attention and is well worth watching
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryanS.Dec 25, 2006
An incredibly solid comedy that is, at times, both hilarious and quitely brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EldonDec 29, 2006
Just awesome, really. That is if it doesn't go over your head, as it clearly has with some reviewers here. Geez, get a clue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasperV.Dec 29, 2007
Wow. I'm stunned. Every once in a while a movie comes along that is jaw-droppingly horrible to the point that it leaves your mouth hanging open. I lack sufficient terms to express how trite and repellent I find this simpering movie. Wow. I'm stunned. Every once in a while a movie comes along that is jaw-droppingly horrible to the point that it leaves your mouth hanging open. I lack sufficient terms to express how trite and repellent I find this simpering movie. It's an exhausted "human spirit" movie so cloying that it needs to be taken off life support. From the first time I saw the TV commercial which featured the hackneyed ruse of getting the whole family in one vehicle for the duration of a movie, I suspected the script would have difficulty making that premise believable. It certainly fails there, but that's the least of its problems. But still, the wealth of good reviews drew me to buy a ticket. My initial reservations were right. This script is an inept piece of garbage long before you evaluate it on moral grounds, where it collapses spectacularly. The family here is a mix of characters so drippy and dense that they never realize their dumpy, uncoordinated, bespectacled daughter isn't the Junior Miss type. It takes them exactly one pageant (following a needless cross country trip) to figure that out. The same family doesn't realize that a heroin-snorting, horndog grandfather shouldn't be the one teaching their adolescent daughter her beauty pageant dance number. Why not go all the way and include a "funny scene" of grandpa molesting her? The setup is practically there; a scene so distasteful feels like it's just off-screen (or on the cutting room floor) in this wholly objectionable movie. Long after a ridiculously unbelievable "chance meeting" in a gas station, long after paper-deep villains have been thrown at the screen, long after the annoying Murphy's Law plot line is exhausted, comes the most sick, saccharine, crappy moment in all of film history which involves a family attempting to redeem their seven-year old daughters failed, inappropriate talent routine (a strip tease) by joining her on stage. Sexualizing a seven year old girl without her being developmentally able to understand it... mmm, that's comedy gold. This "edgy material" is about as palatable as a cup of bleach. I'm not one to look for messages but here we've got something like "Let's all support each other as we swim up the cr*p river of life!" I'm sure it's supporters think I've missed the point and that the humor is just dark. It's not dark. Making a dark comedy is an art. This comedy has no edge in it's delivery. It's filmed straight. It's acted and presented ineptly. It's about as edgy as a smutty episode of Seventh Heaven. This is the rotten family-values homily to end them all. Drawing big saccharine payoffs to support a family values theme also places this squarely in mainstream whitebread entertainment. It makes perfect sense that idiotic Hollywood would nominate this tripe for a bunch of Oscars, but I can't believe I respect people who like this atrocity. The Oscars have become so gratingly self-impressed, and the nominees so limp, that all you can really do anymore is root against films you don't want to have any further influence on the culture. I am so glad it lost the Best Picture award ; Now it starts a long descent to the bottom of time's toilet, exactly where it belongs, where it will be forgotten. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
8
katelynmccJun 17, 2012
This film was an excellent treat. The cast was superb, with strong performances from the youngest to the smallest Hoover. The movie offered up tear-jerking moments galore, but the humor never failed to peak through. The balance was just rightThis film was an excellent treat. The cast was superb, with strong performances from the youngest to the smallest Hoover. The movie offered up tear-jerking moments galore, but the humor never failed to peak through. The balance was just right to present a truly entertaining movie that still provided a deeply engaging human element. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews