The Lone Ranger Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 626 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 45
  2. Negative: 14 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jul 3, 2013
    88
    For all its miscalculations, this is a personal picture, violent and sweet, clever and goofy. It's as obsessive and overbearing as Steven Spielberg's "1941" — and, I'll bet, as likely to be re-evaluated twenty years from now, and described as "misunderstood."
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    Though the story is mostly faithful to the established origin of the character, it's not until the last 15 minutes, when "The William Tell Overture" arrives in its full glory, that this starts to feel a little like The Lone Ranger. But that's too little, too late. And when The Ranger (played here by Armie Hammer) finally shouts "Hi-yo Silver," the moment is spoiled by turning it into a joke.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jul 1, 2013
    55
    The fact that Johnny Depp alone gets top billing above the title, The Lone Ranger, despite not playing said character sums up the generally misguided approach taken by Depp and the creative crew behind the “Pirates of the Caribbean” franchise in bringing last century’s radio and TV hero back to the big screen in a big way.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    The Lone Ranger is a frustrating exercise in overkill, a kind-of, sort-of interesting idea buried in summer-movie excess.
  5. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Jul 12, 2013
    40
    The spirits fly in and out of The Lone Ranger at random. It's nice to see them come and go. I just wish they'd stay for longer.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 2, 2013
    38
    The greater embarrassment is that so many millions of dollars have been wasted on an entertainment that feels so smug, so pointless, and so thunderously empty.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 2, 2013
    0
    It represents 2 1/2 of the longest hours on record, a jumbled botch that is so confused in its purpose and so charmless in its effect that it must be seen to be believed, but better yet, no. Don't see it, don't believe it, not unless a case of restless leg syndrome sounds like a fun time at the movies.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 208
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Hate to disagree, but this movie is a finely tuned work of art. It puts together the best elements of this story and adds in some historicalHate to disagree, but this movie is a finely tuned work of art. It puts together the best elements of this story and adds in some historical significance of how Native Americans were treated during that sad part of our country's history. Plus, there has been some excellent attention to details like Native American humor and Native American perspective. Of course it is a fairy tale, but it has all of the beauty of the best tales as well as great action, human drama, hilarious comedy, and a very good 'moral of the story'.

    Uneducated critics like Mick LaSalle have no business critiquing a fine film like this. They just don't have the knowledge or the sense to understand anything above the level of Hangover part III.
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    Sorry don't need some critics telling me what to see and if I will like a movie or not! It was great and have seen it 3 times and will goSorry don't need some critics telling me what to see and if I will like a movie or not! It was great and have seen it 3 times and will go back; thanks Disney, Jerry, Gore, Johnny and Armie for a fun 2 1/2 hours of entertainment! Collapse
  3. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I felt like I needed to write a review for this because of all the negative press it has been receiving. My wife and I absolutely loved thisI felt like I needed to write a review for this because of all the negative press it has been receiving. My wife and I absolutely loved this movie! We were smiling through the entire movie, and everyone applauded at the end of the movie! My wife wants to buy this movie for her dad for Christmas. We were so glad we did not worry about the "professional" reviewers and tried out this movie it was a great surprise! 10/10 Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2015
    8
    critics naturally get paid to critizise stuff. so a critic who would say "hmk 264th movie of johnny depp is still great" would do a bad job.critics naturally get paid to critizise stuff. so a critic who would say "hmk 264th movie of johnny depp is still great" would do a bad job. instead a good job does the critic who critizes against all odds. what else should he do? still a great movie. but i have to admit johnny depp really saves the day. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    We've been looking forward to the movie's release ever since a visit last summer to the town of Creed where portions of The Lone Ranger hadWe've been looking forward to the movie's release ever since a visit last summer to the town of Creed where portions of The Lone Ranger had recently been filmed. Usually when my expectations are high my disappointment is inevitable. I broke my own rule and read some of the critiques before I saw the movie which mitigated my expectations some. Bottom line... As a family friendly summer flick I found it thoroughly enjoyable. My family like it even more than I did.
    I confess to having mixed feelings about its lack of fealty to the Lone Ranger of my youth. It was a fresh take on the characters and story that should appeal to the younger generation that doesn't have any memory of the masked hero to tarnish. Go see it with the family and enjoy it for what it is.
    Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Lone Ranger effectively made me felt something I have not felt for some time: that awful feeling of having sunk in money to buy tickets to an otherwise lackluster film.

    Johnny Depp here was (supposedly) a secondary character to Hammer's protagonist role, but it seems that the director felt that the film should receive the Pirates charm, and asked him to bring Jack Sparrow front and center in his portrayal. As a result you get all the mannerisms of Sparrow sans the eloquence of the British pirate; the familiar behavior of doing random things as part of a larger plan afoot, the manipulation of people around him for his own goals, the oddities of being mad but secretly brilliant. It made audiences laugh, but this isn't Pirates. The comedy in both Pirates and here was supposed to be icing on the cake, but here the icing covered the cake and pretentiously tried to pass on as the cake itself. Depp was supposed to be background, complementing not overshadowing Hammer.

    Hammer on the other hand, gave a decent portrayal, if somewhat limited by the screenwriter's need to put Depp front and center, and the movie's generally bumpy efforts in presenting a story. The movie could be summed up in two themes: Upholding justice by the book vs. vigilantism, and revenge or redemption for past sins. Straightforward themes that writers surprisingly took their time milking out to the detriment of pacing and boring audiences badly. When you do get to some of the fleshy part of the story, its actually quite shallow, piecemeal and sometimes outright nonsensical.

    This poor pacing issue even infected the action scenes. Never have I seen action scenes so boring despite the amount of napalm being thrown around. And that's because before any scene begins. there isn't a lot of tension being twisted to set up for the scene. When it plays, there is no discernible story to be told, no underlying struggle or emotion that the director is trying to show here. All it serves is to show off Jack Sparrow in a Western setting, coupled with that freakish white horse, and John Reid's awkward efforts of delivering civilised justice, followed by improbable aiming skills with a single shot. In short, the scenes were alien, not even trying to be integral to the story.

    One good thing that should be noted was the chemistry between the leading duo. You get the sense of both characters representing what the underlying themes are, and the struggles of being an effective duo here is played somewhat decently, if not sometimes mired by the and giggles that were sometimes too distracting.

    The use of flashback and unreliable narrator tropes here actually serves no purpose in the movie at all. The point of using them here was to supposedly show off Tonto's supernatural abilities, that certain missing parts of the story were actually out of divine/supernatural origins. Quite distracting, and frankly a waste of time that could have been used to flesh out a bit more back story, like that of John Reid and that forgettable damsel-in-distress character, which was placed there as a stereotypical damsel-in-distress given how shallow her characterisation was.

    In short, if you enjoy turning off your brain at the door of the theater walking in, or you like to see Depp as Jack Sparrow in a Western, or indulge in occasional nonsensical slapstick comedy mixed with average action scenes, go ahead and watch, Otherwise save up your money for more decent films, or at least rent this movie if you're so tempted to watch, coz really, I don't want to even recommend it as a matinee.
    Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    Born in 1966 I was privileged to grow up watching the Lone Ranger on TV, I was unable to catch the movie in the theaters and was anxious toBorn in 1966 I was privileged to grow up watching the Lone Ranger on TV, I was unable to catch the movie in the theaters and was anxious to see it on DVD, I can honestly say the critics got this one correct. This movie was awful and I am offended that they made the Lone Ranger character out to be this buffoon and the Tonto character a bumbling idiot. I figured the whole story out 30 minutes into it and was exhausted and stun afterwards I only sat through it because of my kids and I explained to them that this movie was a farce, it should have never been made. I am normally not hard on movies but considering myself a serious movie buff, I am completely appalled. Disney was wondering why the critics dogged it because like me they remember the Lone Ranger as a smart, charismatic man of truth and justice with a keen mind and sense of valor with his trusty sidekick ready to assist and keen as well. I think I am done now, this movie was simply bad. Expand

See all 208 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget

    24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget Image
    Published: April 25, 2016
    Even good actors have a few duds on their resumes. We look at 24 highly forgettable roles from some of Hollywood's biggest stars.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: May 24, 2013
    Catch up on the week's movie news and watch over a dozen newly released trailers, including the first for Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s directorial debut and new looks at "Man of Steel," "The World's End," "The Lone Ranger," "Wolverine," and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: October 5, 2012
    Check out new trailers for "The Lone Ranger," "A Good Day to Die Hard," "Movie 43," "The Guilt Trip," and more, and catch up on all of the week's movie news.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.