Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 581 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 45
  2. Negative: 14 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jul 3, 2013
    88
    For all its miscalculations, this is a personal picture, violent and sweet, clever and goofy. It's as obsessive and overbearing as Steven Spielberg's "1941" — and, I'll bet, as likely to be re-evaluated twenty years from now, and described as "misunderstood."
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    Though the story is mostly faithful to the established origin of the character, it's not until the last 15 minutes, when "The William Tell Overture" arrives in its full glory, that this starts to feel a little like The Lone Ranger. But that's too little, too late. And when The Ranger (played here by Armie Hammer) finally shouts "Hi-yo Silver," the moment is spoiled by turning it into a joke.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jul 1, 2013
    55
    The fact that Johnny Depp alone gets top billing above the title, The Lone Ranger, despite not playing said character sums up the generally misguided approach taken by Depp and the creative crew behind the “Pirates of the Caribbean” franchise in bringing last century’s radio and TV hero back to the big screen in a big way.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    The Lone Ranger is a frustrating exercise in overkill, a kind-of, sort-of interesting idea buried in summer-movie excess.
  5. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Jul 12, 2013
    40
    The spirits fly in and out of The Lone Ranger at random. It's nice to see them come and go. I just wish they'd stay for longer.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 2, 2013
    38
    The greater embarrassment is that so many millions of dollars have been wasted on an entertainment that feels so smug, so pointless, and so thunderously empty.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 2, 2013
    0
    It represents 2 1/2 of the longest hours on record, a jumbled botch that is so confused in its purpose and so charmless in its effect that it must be seen to be believed, but better yet, no. Don't see it, don't believe it, not unless a case of restless leg syndrome sounds like a fun time at the movies.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 200
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I and everyone I know loved this movie, no matter what their age. Some even put it in their top ten. It was funny, well acted, informativeI and everyone I know loved this movie, no matter what their age. Some even put it in their top ten. It was funny, well acted, informative (sad to remind people that Native Americans were treated exactly like that by both the greedy 'railroad people' and the military), exciting and all around entertaining. I and the rest of the audience laughed at so much of the creative dialogue. Kudos to the writers. I had read about it being 'boring' mid movie. It never happened. The professional critics expected it to be the old radio or TV series rehashed. Fortunately, it is not. It was a new, wonderful, all around enjoyable movie. PLEASE let there be a sequel... Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece!! Epic!! Perfection!!!! One of the best live action films ever made!!! Do not listen to anyone and watch it!!!! You will reallyA masterpiece!! Epic!! Perfection!!!! One of the best live action films ever made!!! Do not listen to anyone and watch it!!!! You will really enjoy it!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    I felt like I needed to write a review for this because of all the negative press it has been receiving. My wife and I absolutely loved thisI felt like I needed to write a review for this because of all the negative press it has been receiving. My wife and I absolutely loved this movie! We were smiling through the entire movie, and everyone applauded at the end of the movie! My wife wants to buy this movie for her dad for Christmas. We were so glad we did not worry about the "professional" reviewers and tried out this movie it was a great surprise! 10/10 Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    Great entertainment. Not sure what the critics were looking for here, giving such low grades. Action, wonderful filming, love, Indians, guns,Great entertainment. Not sure what the critics were looking for here, giving such low grades. Action, wonderful filming, love, Indians, guns, trains ... great pace and rhythm. Of course, if you are having a "deep" night, you better take a book or choose a different genre, that's all. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    A slick movie like this one coming from Disney has "Pirates of the Caribbean" franchising written all over it, and it probably will.A slick movie like this one coming from Disney has "Pirates of the Caribbean" franchising written all over it, and it probably will. That said, while it isn't the lousy movie so many people seem to be claiming it is, it's not the greatest, either. The high point is Johnny Depp, obviously. Armie Hammer comes across likeable enough but lacking in the charisma department severely.
    The laughs though are plenty, Tonto being a smart ass in particular. One actor playing Butch Cavendish gets the ugly award, and it's obvious it's the same make up department that made "Pirates" alternately enchanting and disgusting. It's not a very deep movie plot wise, so the best idea is to enjoy it for the escapism it was intended to be, perhaps giving latitude as one did when watching the often twisted world of the old TV classic "The Wild Wild West". "The Lone Ranger" is a nice way to get in out of the heat and watch something silly, but not much else.
    Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    4
    While I do not hate The Lone Ranger as much as the critics do I still did not love it. The movie had some good laughs, fun scenes, and a niceWhile I do not hate The Lone Ranger as much as the critics do I still did not love it. The movie had some good laughs, fun scenes, and a nice performance by Johnny Depp; but the interesting characters and story along with an unnecessary 2 hour running time prevent me from recommending this film to anyone. If you wind up seeing this movie though it is not terrible but at the same time there are more entertaining movies out right now that you could be seeing like Despicable Me 2 (which I have softened up a bit on), Monsters University (which made me smile a lot), and Pacific Rim & World War Z (which I have heard are really good). Or you could save up your money for the Wolverine. Again not a terrible movie I mean it is watchable but you can afford to skip this one. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    Born in 1966 I was privileged to grow up watching the Lone Ranger on TV, I was unable to catch the movie in the theaters and was anxious toBorn in 1966 I was privileged to grow up watching the Lone Ranger on TV, I was unable to catch the movie in the theaters and was anxious to see it on DVD, I can honestly say the critics got this one correct. This movie was awful and I am offended that they made the Lone Ranger character out to be this buffoon and the Tonto character a bumbling idiot. I figured the whole story out 30 minutes into it and was exhausted and stun afterwards I only sat through it because of my kids and I explained to them that this movie was a farce, it should have never been made. I am normally not hard on movies but considering myself a serious movie buff, I am completely appalled. Disney was wondering why the critics dogged it because like me they remember the Lone Ranger as a smart, charismatic man of truth and justice with a keen mind and sense of valor with his trusty sidekick ready to assist and keen as well. I think I am done now, this movie was simply bad. Expand

See all 200 User Reviews

Trailers