Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 27, 2013
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 356 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
270
Mixed:
57
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CriticGuyJan 18, 2014
"Lone Survivor" based on a true story of 4 navy seals on a mission to capture the Taliban leader. This movie was fantastic from the start! This movie was well made and well acted. I just wished there was more character depth to feel very bad"Lone Survivor" based on a true story of 4 navy seals on a mission to capture the Taliban leader. This movie was fantastic from the start! This movie was well made and well acted. I just wished there was more character depth to feel very bad for the men that died in the film. The film was extremely spectacular, when it came to the action it was so intense and very well done! It was super realistic, there were a couple of scenes that can make your stomach turn. Overall this film was very good and showed how much courage these men had, It was way better then what I expected! 10 out of 10 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Jan 29, 2014
After seeing this incredible true story, it really made me wonder what director Peter Berg was thinking when he did the mediocre "Battleship." This film was a great example of war movies done right, like "Saving Private Ryan" and "Black HawkAfter seeing this incredible true story, it really made me wonder what director Peter Berg was thinking when he did the mediocre "Battleship." This film was a great example of war movies done right, like "Saving Private Ryan" and "Black Hawk Down." The acting from the four Navy SEALS was exceptional! Mark Wahlberg was great as usual! "Battleship" star Taylor Kitsch also gave another great performance. Emile Hirsch was really good, as was the highly underrated Ben Foster. The story was really well done and the action was intense and delivered! So overall, this is one war film that's definitely worth checking out, as it portrays the true courage of those SEALS that died that day, as well as all SEALS in general. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Moviefan33Jan 10, 2014
I thought this was an excellent movie. Reading some of the critics reviews here can be misleading. It is evident that those critics who thought negatively about this film we're viewing it through their own political and moral lens. Take inI thought this was an excellent movie. Reading some of the critics reviews here can be misleading. It is evident that those critics who thought negatively about this film we're viewing it through their own political and moral lens. Take in this film objectively and it is a thought provoking, high energy account of what happened. I also suggest you read the book first, I appreciated the additional context it provided. That being said, the film does a pretty good job condensing the book while maintaining its moral and political dilemmas as well as it's heart-felt sentiments. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CurlyJ49Jan 6, 2014
This movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what theseThis movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and their willingness to serve selflessly. Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
10
DanRowanJan 13, 2014
I loved this movie, it was a great tribute to the men that gave their lives in Operation Red Wings. You can tell that they had Marcus Luttrell guiding them and making sure things were not blown out of proportion just to meet HollywoodI loved this movie, it was a great tribute to the men that gave their lives in Operation Red Wings. You can tell that they had Marcus Luttrell guiding them and making sure things were not blown out of proportion just to meet Hollywood standards. Was a great birthday present from my wife and I will definitely buy it once it is released on DVD, hell I even made an account just so I could rate it being a veteran I am very picky about military movies but this was one of the best up there with Saving Private Ryan and We Were Soldiers. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Tazmania32Jan 9, 2014
A film that truly surprised me, in regards to how the cast was going to hold up. I have no doubt with Peter Berg has ability to create a sense of true American realism, as seen in Friday Night Lights and his respective series. The cast wasA film that truly surprised me, in regards to how the cast was going to hold up. I have no doubt with Peter Berg has ability to create a sense of true American realism, as seen in Friday Night Lights and his respective series. The cast was great, however, I felt that we could of saw a little more of them because I didn't feel the emotional connection I thought I should as they fell one by one. But, as I say this, the ending of the movie was the most emotional part of the movie. That, along with the rendition of We Can Be Heroes, was, I can't express how I felt. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
b12arr0Dec 31, 2013
This movie is brutal. There were parts that made me cringe. This movie had me hooked the whole way through. When the fighting begins, it doesn't end until the end of the movie. I didn't think I could have been any prouder of the US MilitaryThis movie is brutal. There were parts that made me cringe. This movie had me hooked the whole way through. When the fighting begins, it doesn't end until the end of the movie. I didn't think I could have been any prouder of the US Military but after watching this film, I was wrong. It made me remember that there are people out there serving this country, making decisions that puts theirs lives in harms way so I can sit here and write a review based on my opinion about a movie that i wasn't sure I was going to like. I loved it. It is one of those movies you watch and it impacts you.

The only change I would make is the title. I don't think it does this movie justice. I would have gone with the mission name instead.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
tumbagaDec 31, 2013
i felt compelled to write a review after seeing some of the absurd reviews written by the professional critics. This is a painful & beautiful & honorable film filled with spirit. From Mr. Berg, to the cast, all the way through even thei felt compelled to write a review after seeing some of the absurd reviews written by the professional critics. This is a painful & beautiful & honorable film filled with spirit. From Mr. Berg, to the cast, all the way through even the effects of Greg Nicotero, the passion is clear and palpable. This film conveys core elements of the human experience in so many complex, unlikely, and ultimately honest ways. And that's what we want from a great movie isn't it? Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
SimpleMethodJan 12, 2014
Lone Survivor is brutal and intensely violent. It'll break your heart. I absolutely love and respect this movie, and it has given me a newfound appreciation and respect for the sacrifices our military makes so that we can live in peace hereLone Survivor is brutal and intensely violent. It'll break your heart. I absolutely love and respect this movie, and it has given me a newfound appreciation and respect for the sacrifices our military makes so that we can live in peace here at home. It's so shockingly realistic and gritty that you'll wince every time one of the main quarter cast gets shot or injured. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
Sandy_Hook_MVPDec 31, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, from the looks of it most of the "Top reviewers" are in some way retarded. This isn't supposed to be some action flick with lots of violence. It's a depiction of real events; if telling the truth is propaganda as the reviewers claim, then DEVGRU really is a modern day Hercules. It'd take a few minutes to fact check the details in the movie to the actual events and they'd realize how dumb they sound.

Three men did die on that mountain, Lt Murphy did sacrifice himself to call for help, a Chinook was shot down, an Afghan man did save Lutrell's life. It baffles me that some people would call any of that propaganda (it tells you something, when the book has near perfect reviews that hollywood reviewers are trash).
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
vthathaJan 11, 2014
Most compelling characters with true dedication towards their nation and duty. Not matter what critics say, this movie is going to win the heart of every living human being.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
mau1133Jan 14, 2014
This movie shows the kind of hell the military has o go through at times, sad sorry of these courageous soldiers that never give up and put their teams interests above their own lives.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
gunnyartJan 10, 2014
I don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction than Lone Survivor. Marcus Luttrell has stated he is 85% satisfied with how it turned out. For HollywoodI don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction than Lone Survivor. Marcus Luttrell has stated he is 85% satisfied with how it turned out. For Hollywood depicting a true story those are pretty high marks in my experience. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone sensitive to graphic violence but if you want to experience heroism and courage without politics this is the film for you. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
mugseyJan 14, 2014
First I have to say I rarely write reviews. Just left the theater and I was compelled to give my opinion of this movie. First and foremost the movie kept my interest from the second it started until the ending credits and beyond...AlmostFirst I have to say I rarely write reviews. Just left the theater and I was compelled to give my opinion of this movie. First and foremost the movie kept my interest from the second it started until the ending credits and beyond...Almost didn't want to leave the theater....one of the most moving movies I've seen in some time. I've read some of the reviews and agreed with most, its as good as a war film with true emotion as ur going to get. In my humble opinion it was as good as Saving private Ryan! Not as meticulous as a Spielberg film but just as enjoyable...I'm not a military guy but after seeing this movie I have a renewed respect for these guys. I almost wished I was younger to join such a Nobel cause....These guys albeit mostly in danger are truly living. Sorry getting off course...acting was very believable and loved the back ground music...Peter Berg did a fine job off telling this unbelievable story of our real life super heroes. However I left the theater hating the enemy and loving the fact that I am an American!!! Although there is a bit of a twist towards the end that gives us food for thought. Sometimes not everyone who we think are our enemies are...I highly recommend this movie! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
SiDizinerJan 7, 2014
There are some flaws. But overall this is a gripping and entertaining movie. I am not an avid movie lover because I usually get bored with the tired stories. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this film. I very much enjoyed it, and highlyThere are some flaws. But overall this is a gripping and entertaining movie. I am not an avid movie lover because I usually get bored with the tired stories. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this film. I very much enjoyed it, and highly recommend it. Be warned, the firefight scenes are intense. It is hard to watch at times, not because it isn't good, but because of the intensity. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonDec 27, 2013
Berg's film is adeptly crafted but without much soul. Bookending it with actual footage of the Navy SEALs contextualizes it as a tribute rather than a dramatic exploration. Which is acceptable young people with hours of Call of Duty underBerg's film is adeptly crafted but without much soul. Bookending it with actual footage of the Navy SEALs contextualizes it as a tribute rather than a dramatic exploration. Which is acceptable young people with hours of Call of Duty under their belts need to see the war games played out in reality. But as a fully formed feature, Lone Survivor prioritizes respect over honesty. Ultimately, it can't achieve either. Lone Survivor director Peter Berg puts the emphasis on action and veneration rather than dramatic exploration and nuance in this fact-based Navy SEALs film. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
roosevelt323Dec 30, 2013
Action.. patriotism...pride...compassion...and appreciation are all you need to know about this movie.
Plots.. sub-plots... acting...dialogue.. etc.. don't really cross your mind when you are watching this movie.
its simply a good time at
Action.. patriotism...pride...compassion...and appreciation are all you need to know about this movie.
Plots.. sub-plots... acting...dialogue.. etc.. don't really cross your mind when you are watching this movie.
its simply a good time at the movie. You will leave the theater feeling enormous pride to live under the same airspace as our military men and women that risk their lives day in and day out
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
SkimanJan 11, 2014
This story is the very definition of Hero, Pain, Love, Brotherhood, Family, Spirit and Humanity coming together regardless of cultures and backgrounds. It put things into perspective for me. These men have families, wives, little ones andThis story is the very definition of Hero, Pain, Love, Brotherhood, Family, Spirit and Humanity coming together regardless of cultures and backgrounds. It put things into perspective for me. These men have families, wives, little ones and yet they volunteer to put there lives on the line for what they believe most. Our freedom. My Wife broke down at the end of the movie and I almost lost my nerves. You FEEL everything in this movie. Best War movie since Saving Private Ryan. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
SlipperJan 11, 2014
It is hard for me to write on this subject. We all know how this film ends before we see it. Only one men survived to tell this true story. To keep things short i gave this movie a ten, because we all need to know that this is dedicated toIt is hard for me to write on this subject. We all know how this film ends before we see it. Only one men survived to tell this true story. To keep things short i gave this movie a ten, because we all need to know that this is dedicated to the men who lost their lives. FOR HONOR AND GLORY Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Jan 12, 2014
This brutal war epic delivers through its action sequences and heart-pounding story. Its suspense keeps the movie going and even have the audience guessing even if they don't anything about the real-life story. One big issue to me was thatThis brutal war epic delivers through its action sequences and heart-pounding story. Its suspense keeps the movie going and even have the audience guessing even if they don't anything about the real-life story. One big issue to me was that there wasn't enough character development (mainly between the supporting roles played by Taylor Kitsch, Emile Hirsch and Ben Foster) other than that "Lone Survivor" is a gripping and intense war film surprisingly directed by the guy that brought us "Battleship", but I won't hold that against him. Overall, this is a good movie to check this month. I give it an A-! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
StevieB212Jan 11, 2014
I'm usually not a fan of flag-waving war movies. But this one had a lot of nice elements. What carried the narrative along, so that it wasn't just a shoot out, (although one of those scenes went on too long for my taste), was careful editing,I'm usually not a fan of flag-waving war movies. But this one had a lot of nice elements. What carried the narrative along, so that it wasn't just a shoot out, (although one of those scenes went on too long for my taste), was careful editing, back and forth between two or three narratives. And what carried the day, was not patriotism, but the the band of men, fighting together. The four men, were admirable, although I wasn't completely happy with either Mark Wahlberg's character or acting, I'm not sure why, I seemed to have the sense that he wasn't in the fight as much as the other men, as if the star needs to be saved at the end, and I dislike having to say that, because I am sure the real life hero fought as bravely as the others. The script and dialog were tight. The film showed war at its bloodiest, most fatal, hand-to-had combat. And also had an interesting plot twist at the end showing the humanity of a culture other than our own. Interspersed with the fighting shots were wide angle natural beauty: supposed to be a mountainous range in Afghanistan; the film was shot in New Mexico. The film's credits at beginning and end - stay all the way to the end - nicely framed the picture in our real country's heroes. The entire theater audience with whom I saw the picture, applauded the film at the end, and at the end of the credits. Films don't often get that kind of praise. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
DarioNozziJan 1, 2014
This movie like most movies has a message to send. It was compelling and moving the way the four actors captured each of their roles, showing the lighter side things, the pride in serving your country as dark as the times may have been. ButThis movie like most movies has a message to send. It was compelling and moving the way the four actors captured each of their roles, showing the lighter side things, the pride in serving your country as dark as the times may have been. But the movie was amazing on many different levels. For one it's inspiring, showing us that we should always look for the good in people and learn how to trust someone even when all seems lost. I really enjoyed this movie for the action, the dialogue, the comedic aspect of the conversations between characters, as well as the camera angles and ideas executed. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticDec 31, 2013
A story foremost about the brotherhood of fighting for one's country and for one another. This film is a very tough film to watch, but a fantastic film no less. A
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
bronowicz2Jan 8, 2014
These so-called 'professional critics' of some are pathetic. To give Lone Survivor a zero or very low score shows that some people think they know it all and they do not. Many movie critics find every way they can to knock a movie and theyThese so-called 'professional critics' of some are pathetic. To give Lone Survivor a zero or very low score shows that some people think they know it all and they do not. Many movie critics find every way they can to knock a movie and they rarely EVER give mid to high scores. So, F- them.
This movie gets 'a pass' bc Berg had the job of re-creating a real true honest story. They go out of their way to re-invent the actual true events and that can be hard. So cut them a break. This movie makes you FEEL. It gives us 'undeserving' a chance to get as close to the action of war as possible. To catch a glimpse of real horrible warfare where U.S. soldiers die fighting to protect our freedom which most people take for granted daily. Seriously, start reading the news, watch you tube videos of live war, real fear, disaster, dead soldiers...get educated about our war history and why our soldiers do what they do to maintain or reduce our enemies/terrorsists from mounting up against us from a far. This is a moving, touching, patriotic movie that deserves respect to the real men and woman who died for you and me during this operation. And so-called 'pro-critics'...who think you are...Go critique fiction and keep your mouths shut! Because we don't want to hear your ignorant thoughts about this movie.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJan 14, 2014
It's obvious from the title that most of the men don't survive, but the operation is what matters. Four Navy SEALs set out to kill a Taliban leader in Afghanistan, but the mission goes horribly wrong. The film takes some time to set up, butIt's obvious from the title that most of the men don't survive, but the operation is what matters. Four Navy SEALs set out to kill a Taliban leader in Afghanistan, but the mission goes horribly wrong. The film takes some time to set up, but once the action kicks in, it's a gripping ordeal (especially those remarkable tumbles down the rocks). Director Peter Berg has crammed the skirmishes with confusion, astounding kills and high-tension pacing. These are some of the best battles in recent filmmaking. The cast is strong (in both senses of the word), while miming moments of emotion. A brutal, well-crafted and stirring tribute. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerJun 14, 2014
A brutal and emotional movie that is only amplified by the fact that it is serving as a tribute to real people and events. The cast is fantastic. Every single one of the actors here bring their best and really sell the horror and pain of theA brutal and emotional movie that is only amplified by the fact that it is serving as a tribute to real people and events. The cast is fantastic. Every single one of the actors here bring their best and really sell the horror and pain of the events. It's one of the best war movies I've ever seen, not because it glorifies the violence, but rather shows the horror of it. This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and I recommend you put it at the top of your must-watch list. I give it a 9.8/10=Amazing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MindSpazJan 12, 2014
This is a really good movie, it stays very true to the events that happened. There was an amazing tribute at the end that showed everyone that died. Very brutal, and bloody.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
quincytheodoreFeb 4, 2014
A visceral display of streaming bullets and gory bloodshed, Lone Survivor follows a botched military operation with relentless intensity. It portrays the unforgiving struggle as the four stranded NAVY SEALs climb and jump for their survivalA visceral display of streaming bullets and gory bloodshed, Lone Survivor follows a botched military operation with relentless intensity. It portrays the unforgiving struggle as the four stranded NAVY SEALs climb and jump for their survival in punishing hostile territory. The movie does a good job of not excessively use special effects, action feels more realistic with restriction on design, make up and practical effect. While it boasts military lingo and thick atmosphere of exclusive brotherhood, the movie manages to convey the sacrifice to the audience.

The movie is a dramatization of an actual failed mission which left the four men team behind enemy line in Afghanistan. Mark Wahlberg is at his element as Marcus Luttrell, he thrives more in an arduous action movie. Stoic and with grit, he produces more natural rendition in this type of role. The cast of recon team could use more characterization as sometimes they might fall into stereotypical macho soldier. However, as the movie progresses and these men engage in battle of attrition and moral, they perform more compellingly in extreme situation.

There is a raw primal feeling at work as they are shot endlessly. It's a grueling and exhausting process; the sensation of utmost emergency is almost as engaging as what Black Hawk Down had to offer, although in smaller scale. The way the shootout is portrayed, by visual and audio, is impeccably organic. Whiffs of nearby bullets sound intimately closely, the flesh tearing hits are even more so. The movie understands how to build up exhilaration while the protagonists fade with every hit they take.

It reaches its height in the second act; the latter part does tend to falter. The pace loses a bit of steam towards the end, even though it makes a decent conclusion. Most time goes to reenact the gruesome battle and it's done justly, but there could be more effort made for the buildup as well. Audience might not follow the mission well as it's peppered with military terminology or the geography of Afghanistan, the movie could clarify the position and movement clearer.

There are flaws, but in essence Lone Survivor succeeds in portraying a courageous act. It's patriotic without being preachy; instead it delivers with tightly packed action and sheer tension.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
wvmoviefanFeb 5, 2014
Berg did for war films what Peckinpah did for westerns with Wild Bunch. You can't leave the theater without remembering the violence of war --- no bloody lipstick for bullet wounds here. The entire film was tension filled even with a tooBerg did for war films what Peckinpah did for westerns with Wild Bunch. You can't leave the theater without remembering the violence of war --- no bloody lipstick for bullet wounds here. The entire film was tension filled even with a too predictable conclusion. What would have been better than knowing only one survived as indicated by the title would have been if it were someone other than Mark Wahlberg. I really like him, have seen most all of his films, he played the part well, but it made the ending as to which one was to survive even more predictable. What could have been a great movie, therefore, wasn't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheRyanMcNeilJan 14, 2014
I didn't expect too much from this film, that may be why I liked it. But none the less, this movie tells an amazing true story, with action! Drama! Not a lot of comedy...barely any, but that's a war movie right?
This isn't the kind if movie
I didn't expect too much from this film, that may be why I liked it. But none the less, this movie tells an amazing true story, with action! Drama! Not a lot of comedy...barely any, but that's a war movie right?
This isn't the kind if movie to dazzle at the awards ceremonies, but. It will dazzle to everyone who watches it. This year, or any year. People will continue to watch this movie. Much like Zero Dark Thirty.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews